NetFortris (formerly Fonality)

NetFortris (formerly Fonality)

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 6.1 out of 100
NetFortris (formerly Fonality)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Fonality Review

4
September 20, 2019
It is used across the whole organization. It is great for creating different schedules based on different regions of clients.
Read full review

It truly is the Hud!

10
April 20, 2018
We use NetFortris to handle all of our calls, to allow us to transfer calls, pull calls, and monitor calls. It syncs with our Outlook …

Disappointed User

3
July 11, 2017
Fonality is our sole provider of VOIP for our insurance agency. We use the system to support our sales effort and customers service. We …

Great!

7
March 17, 2017
I use Fonality to give customers automated information via telephone and to encourage them to make their purchase online through our …
Read full review

Fonality on campus at SEA

8
March 10, 2017
Fonality is the telephone PBX provider for Sea Education Association, an internationally recognized leader in undergraduate ocean …

TAC loves Fonality!

8
March 10, 2017
We use fonality throughout our entire business, which has offices in Connecticut, Indiana, and Texas. Fonality allows us to seamlessly …

Upgrade to Call Center

9
March 10, 2017
We are a kayak company and primarily use it for booking tours in our office. The softphone feature was key so we could also take calls in …

Popular Features

View all 14 features

Directory of employee names (77)

8.0
80%

Message alerts (77)

7.9
79%

Answering rules (88)

7.8
78%

Call reports (77)

6.0
60%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of NetFortris (formerly Fonality), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Hybrid Software Subscription (Required with Hybrid Premise)

$14.99

On Premise
per user, per month

Essentials Edition

$19.99

Cloud
per user, per month

Professional Edition

$24.99

Cloud
per user, per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • $5 per userRequired
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://www.fonality.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $30 per month

Features Scorecard

Cloud PBX

5.5
55%

Call Management

7.0
70%

VoIP system collaboration

3.6
36%

Mobile apps

6.9
69%

Product Details

What is NetFortris (formerly Fonality)?

Rated PCMag's Editors' Choice for Business VoIP 2016, NetFortris (formerly Fonality) is a leading business phone system provider that bundles its unified communications software for a complete business communications solution. NetFortris says it is known for:

  • Innovating with Heads Up Display (HUD) so users can see who's available, chat, audio and video conference, record calls on the fly, and more
  • Building in fundamental call center features like simple queues
  • Offering advanced features that make enterprise-level call center available at the fraction of the price
  • Including a web phone and mobile app at no additional cost
  • Lowering costs with unlimited calling plans between the U.S. and more than a half dozen other countries and territories
  • Providing 24/7 support - even on holidays
  • Transparency: if there is an issue, they'll tell users

NetFortris (formerly Fonality) Features

Cloud PBX Features

  • Supported: Hosted PBX
  • Supported: Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR)
  • Supported: Call reports
  • Supported: Directory of employee names

Call Management Features

  • Supported: Answering rules
  • Supported: Call recording
  • Supported: Call park
  • Supported: Call screening
  • Supported: Message alerts

VoIP system collaboration Features

  • Supported: Video conferencing
  • Supported: Audio conferencing

Mobile apps Features

  • Supported: Mobile app for iOS
  • Supported: Mobile app for Android

Additional Features

  • Supported: Heads Up Display (HUD) UC applications
  • Supported: 100+ Business Phone System Features
  • Supported: Softphone (Included)
  • Supported: Voicemail Transcription
  • Supported: Call Center Software (Built-in)
  • Supported: On Demand Recording / Record All
  • Supported: Paperless Fax / FaxLync
  • Supported: 24/7 Support

NetFortris (formerly Fonality) Screenshots

Fonality's Heads Up Display (HUD) Web dashboard is home base for connecting with colleagues and customers.Chatting is easy in HUD as they are easily launched by hovering over a fellow user's avatar. Chats are also available within Groups and Conferences.Managers with Fonality's Advance Call Center license can Barge, Monitor, or Whisper with one click. Useful for training, customer insights, and quality assurance. Real-time call queue information is shown in the Dock area to the right.Every Fonality system comes with voicemail boxes for all users, but with optional Voicemail Transcription you'll never have to listen to a voicemail again. Transcribed voicemails are delivered in HUD and via email.

NetFortris (formerly Fonality) Video

NetFortris (formerly Fonality) Integrations

NetFortris (formerly Fonality) Competitors

NetFortris (formerly Fonality) Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)50%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)10%

NetFortris (formerly Fonality) Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesGlobal (99 countries and territories)
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is NetFortris (formerly Fonality)?

NetFortris provides business phone systems using Polycom and Yealink IP phones. They offer three subscription-based pricing plans, all including unlimited VoIP and desktop phone options. Advanced plans include other features such as video collaboration, softphone, and on-demand recording.

How much does NetFortris (formerly Fonality) cost?

NetFortris (formerly Fonality) starts at $30.

What is NetFortris (formerly Fonality)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Call park highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses NetFortris (formerly Fonality)?

The most common users of NetFortris (formerly Fonality) are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees) and the Insurance industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 107)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
September 20, 2019

Fonality Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Support - very helpful when setting up new features
  • Schedules - allows for numerous call schedules
  • Communication - very prompt when issues with the service arise
  • On call scheduling
  • Managing Fonality could be easier - unless you're a consistent back end user, it's not super friendly
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The on-premise server/seat licenses are relatively inexpensive.
  • The configuration interface is not too difficult to navigate.
  • The sales staff is very helpful and not at all overbearing or pushy.
  • Many of these issues might be due to the age of the on-premise server we are using. The config interface can be unbearably slow.
  • Creating call flows/phone trees is slow and inflexible.
  • When we used NetFortris with SIP providers, service was spotty and troubleshooting was difficult -- much of the fault here lies with the SIP providers, but getting important troubleshooting info from NetFortris/the server was next to impossible.
  • Support in general is slow and unhelpful.
  • Server hardware is a Dell Optiplex tower with little in the way of redundancy. They do offer more traditional rack servers as well, but I can't speak to what sort of configuration they deploy with those.
Matthew Guerra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The new handsets we purchased do provide a helpful log of calls -- outgoing, incoming, missed, etc. -- however, I imagine that any VoIP provider can also provide this service.
  • We now use headsets that allow us to move about the office freely while on calls, which we could not do with our old phone system. Again, this probably has more to do with VoIP and the newer handsets than anything provided to us by Fonality/NetFortris.
  • Fonality/NetFortris, for some reason, limits the functionality of the handsets that are compatible with it and which we purchased to compliment it. We are forced to use the HUDweb interface or the HUD desktop app to do simple things like placing calls on hold, transferring calls, and initiating conference calls. In my office, most employees have several windows open at once -- as I'm sure is common in most offices -- and it can be distracting and clumsy to have to minimize windows in order to pull up the HUD to put a call on hold.
  • In addition, the lighted buttons on the handset can be used to indicate when another user is currently on the line, or if they are unavailable (I know this because I have been speaking with another VoIP provider who offers this feature); however, Fonality/NetFortris does not allow us to use this feature. Again, we are funneled into using the HUD desktop app, which does provide the information that we want to have handy, but not where we want it (on the handsets).
  • Customer service has been less that helpful when we call to address our concerns. Ironically, the call quality with customer service is often very poor, and on more than one occasion, I was greeted with someone who did not know how to help me and didn't make any effort to do so.
April 20, 2018

It truly is the Hud!

Bill Boykin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Pulling calls is simple and quick. A click and drag of the mouse and it's done. Very useful in high-stress calls that need a takeover.
  • Monitoring calls is easy and can be done with whispers to the agent on our end, which is extremely useful.
  • It's great for being able to have a pulse on what everyone n the company is doing at any one time.
  • I would like a smaller view, so I don't need the whole screen to see everyone, but that's not needed by everyone.
July 11, 2017

Disappointed User

Andre Garner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Call clarity and service reliability seem to be strong points for Fonality.
  • Affordability is reasonable with Fonality.
  • Fonality's integration with Allstate's eAgent system appears to be a strong point.
  • Fonality's call routing system is too complicated. I have spent hours on the phone with tech service providers trying to get calls forwarded for one hour.
  • I've had multiple instances of calls being forwarded by the tech support team at Fonality that were sent to the wrong phones.
  • I am constantly frustrated by the fact that Fonality has no local tech support representatives available to come to my office to troubleshoot problems.
Claudio Hoffer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The interface is easy to use and it is very simple to program trees.
  • Cost benefit ratio is simply amazing! So powerful and you don't need to have your own pbx locally. For a mid-sized business like ours it is wonderful. We have the power of a full VoIP solution without the need of a technician or hardware more than the basic you already have to be connected to internet!
  • The possibility to record sensitive calls and save them. That provides our customers with an extra layer of security.
  • Sometimes I notice a few problems using Chrome but probably that is something that is caused by the constant changes on browsers.
  • I think that a cool feature could be to create menus and trees graphically like a flowchart. But that's only my crazy idea.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of use. Fonality works as well (if not better than) our previous land-line based phone systems. The transition was incredibly easy thanks to its ease of use - and Fonality's onboarding team was extremely responsive whenever we had a concern.
  • Pricing. Fonality's pricing model is very intuitive and is easily budgetable.
  • The mobile platform allows our on-call teams to give our customers the confidence that their calls will be answered, even if it is after hours, and no one is physically in the office.
  • Id like to see recordings be integrated into Fonality's main CP. Today, these are separate, and make the QC process a bit more labor intensive than it should be. Additionally, the search features are a bit cumbersome.
  • The overall control panel, while very effective, looks dated, an the overall UX is behind some of Fonality's other competitors (CoreDial for example).
  • Proactive support would be nice - with our QOS as part of Fonality's system, it would be nice to receive automated notices whenever a potential issue arises, as opposed to being reactive to a service-impacting issue.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Call Tracking/Reporting. I like that I can log in at any time and track phone calls.
  • Messaging features. The IM portion of HUDweb is GREAT. I can't imagine sending emails all day to my employees and how time intensive that would be.
  • Set up was so simple. As a small business owner I don't have time to do extensive training, and spend time setting the equipment up.
  • I would like more options for my messaging when a caller calls in.
  • I would like to be able to have callers be able to dial extensions when they call in.
Ed Dennen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • From an administrator's perspective, Fonality makes administering the company's phone system easy. Configuration menus and setup options are logically structured and easy to understand.
  • Technical support has been very good. Early on in our deployment, we had some nagging voice quality issues which were network related. Fonality provided exceptional support even though it was not technically their issue. It is important to know ahead of time how well your vendors work with other vendors for integrated services like a VOIP telephone system. Fonality support demonstrated their patience and perseverance in helping us resolve our issues.
  • Although we don't use remote office capabilities much, the ability to set up phones on the system in remote locations has been a significant help to several of our departments.
  • I would like to see a better designed HUD program, the PC and Mac based telephone interface to the Fonality PBX.
Joseph Greaney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Reliability of the system
  • The customization of the inbound call experience
  • Ability to transfer calls to a softphone, hardphone and cell phone
  • Great customer service
  • More clear on the subscription features and costs at time of quotes
  • Remove unusable features from the softphone if subscription does not cover
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • HUD - graphical display of anyone's status
  • Integrates with our CRM solution, Salesforce.com
  • Integrated chat
  • Remote users are sometimes challenging to set up initially
  • Priority support not an option available to us
  • Have had some administrative snafus over time with billing
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • For the most part, the sound quality is great. Some hiccups here and there but good overall.
  • I really do like their HUD and it's better that most out there.
  • If our internet goes down it does not mean you lose everything as you can switch it to another device.
  • They need to provide their sales and install departments with more knowledge of their own system.
  • Give the new user better startup (setup) tools to help implement things in a better format.
  • The ability to switch on the fly your status when on the mobile app.
  • Flexibility in sales in order to help the user if a promo changes within the first year.
  • Can't mass upload your phone book.
Brian Bliss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Impressed with the quality of the equipment provided (Polycom VVX 4 Series handset). Great speakerphone compared to the phone that was provided by the previous provider with a lower overall cost.
  • Like the dashboard and softphone capabilities.
  • Customer service and setup was excellent. Available and willing to take necessary time during the setup phase.
  • The initial setup is a seemed a little challenging (however, the customer service was very patient in stepping through the process).
  • Setting up the remote phone location was a little challenging compared to other lines.
  • Would be nice if the record all function was available at a lower cost.
Robert Duckworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • All my stores are just an extension away.
  • Very easy to forward calls to a cell phone, and get transcripts of voicemail in my email.
  • Calls are very clear and without lag.
  • Initial set up was painful. Many kinks to work out.
  • Tech support is below average. It seems as if our own IT department is more knowledgeable about the system than their employees.
  • Do not like the fact that if you place a call on hold you can't pick it up without it being transferred.
February 24, 2017

Fonality does the job

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Fonality gives you a lot of information about who is calling. This is helpful for tracking leads, storing client data, etc.
  • Fonality is user-friendly and easy to learn, so not a lot of time is wasted on training staff.
  • Fonality makes it easier to transfer calls between office locations or even to cell phones. This allows service professionals to move around and work remotely without any interruption in the client's experience.
  • It took Fonality longer than expected (and promised) to set up the infrastructure required for us to port our numbers over and get started.
  • My staff has been somewhat reluctant to engage with the online videos, etc., for obtaining support. They are "old school" and gravitate more towards phone support, or even the option of having a person come on-site.
Ben Jung Min Suh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Fonality is simple to use, so it's simple to teach as well.
  • The HUB is easy to read and modify as needed. This is helpful when training representatives on answering phone calls.
  • Quick and simple to record phone calls for training purposes.
  • Easy to access recorded calls and call history.
  • The UI seems a little dated.
  • The website is very dated. It reminds me of when Windows first came out.
February 21, 2017

Overview

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Customer service
  • HUD - Heads up Display
  • Bundled features
  • New technology integration...texting
  • Expanding additional services as part of bundled offerings
  • Training
Cora Underhill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The Cloud PBX functionality makes updating the ACD remotely a breeze
  • The ability to view queues from anywhere on the globe is wonderful
  • Offering a softphone solution for offsite work, or a phoneless desk, is a great solution to a common problem: space and price
  • The Cloud PBX frequently shows configuration errors and needs a decent length of time to propagate otherwise simple changes
  • There's no solid desktop replacement to the previous Java-based HUD software, only the new HUDWeb which, while nice, doesn't offer many features that the software-based solution did such as an Always On Top mode
  • I'm completely unable to update the CNAM through the Cloud PBX, and the customer service representatives that I've spoken with have been of unfortunately little help
  • If you use a hardware firewall, you may need to all of the VoIP configuration manually without guided steps, as Fonality does not offer guides for many hardware firewall solutions
February 17, 2017

Click to Dial Enthusiast

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The Click to Dial feature is one of my favorites. Especially because it integrates directly with Blitz Lead Manager - the CRM I am using. Simply clicking the number in the lead or prospect starts the phone dialing. It saves time with every call, adding time to my day.
  • Setting up the phone tree can be a little cumbersome, but it is a great feature. I know that, when a call gets to me, the person on the other end of the line is looking to get a quote for insurance. Once you have a system in place, it works very well.
  • Call quality, thus far, has been more than satisfactory. The calls are clear and consistent
  • The web launcher has been causing me problems. After it did not initially work (despite numerous attempts to set it up), it started to work improperly. It is still not doing exactly what it is intended to do.