New Relic Reviews

163 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We find it important to frequently (yearly) re-evaluate the efficacy of the toolset we provide to our organization to ensure we're meeting engineering needs and staying informed about the latest trends. Each year, New Relic keeps coming out on top. When new technology comes on the scene, New Relic is almost always already working on tools to gather insights. Docker and Kubernetes is a great example of this. I've been using New Relic since before the use of these tools was widespread, so I remember when they didn't have tools to support them. Then, just as I started learning more about these tools, New Relic was proactively reaching out to learn about our strategies to adopt them and provide us with the opportunity to provide feedback into efforts they already had in progress to address those new technology stacks.
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2020
Michael Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used CloudWatch and Data Dog. I appreciate CloudWatch because it's native to the cloud. Spin up resources and your data is collected without having to do anything. However, the UI is lacking in areas and getting alerting in place can be a challenge. It's likely that the AWS provider for Terraform could simplify the creation of monitors, but then there's also the next step of configuring alerting via email and Slack, both of which are simple to do in New Relic.

My use of Data Dog is limited as the team I worked with was in the process of transitioning away from Data Dog to New Relic when I joined them. In my limited exposure, I find that Data Dog seemed to have many of the same features that New Relic provides but I didn't use them long enough to make a determination on how they stack up against each other.
Read Michael Jenkins's full review
March 05, 2020
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Dynatrace is better when it comes to installation and use. Installing the Dynatrace agent is a very simple process. After the installation dependence map is created automatically, the tool starts gathering data and creates its own alerts, baselines, based on metrics. For me as a user, Dynatrace was much easier to use, considering almost zero additional configuration is needed.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We're currently looking nto Microsoft Application Insight. I think Application Insights is much more powerful and easy to use since it gives us the opportunity to add logging and tracing in code. It also gives the opportunity to show realtime load (CPU, RAM, etc).
Read this authenticated review
November 01, 2019
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I prefer New Relic over Datadog. I like their dashboard and I'm used to how it works in general. The price for Datadog is lower though, which makes the company consider it from time to time.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
December 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have looked through dozens of vendors and software solution companies to find the right set of features and then we have verified them to see which one fits our organizational needs. The result was to go with New Relic which has the richest set of functionalities. The solutions which are built on open-source platforms were not suitable for our purposes.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use both Datadog and New Relic in our apps. We find that New Relic provides better dashboards and drill-down into issues, while Datadog is a useful place to aggregate metrics and trigger alarms for on-call developers.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2019
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

New relic let's us have transportation over the entire network infrastructure, which is a very important feature which makes new relic stand out. It provides an extensive monitoring experience, wherein we can compare multiple applications unlike the other tools.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
April 19, 2019
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had originally looked into CloudWatch to monitor our resources since we have our stack built in AWS, but found that it would take additional work to setup the dashboards, alerts, and details that we wanted to see in our reports. It was worth the additional investment for us to get the data we needed with less work.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
April 18, 2019
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I tried AppNetta, Capterra, and a few similar commercial tools when evaluating APM solutions, but NewRelic is so well integrated with so many services and pieces of software that it would have taken a lot more time to implement and support another solution. New Relic worked out great, and we haven't looked back since.
Read Ben McClure's full review
March 20, 2019
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Stackify's pricing was quite a bit better than New Relic, however on the whole New Relic had more features overall that benefitted our team. Overall though however, Stackify is worth checking out, they are improving their application over time and adding more features. It's possible that over time Stackify could surpass New Relic depending on their road map.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
May 28, 2019
Jayson E. Conry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Pricing was the primary factor. The cost associated with New Relic works better within a budget line than either of their competitors.
Read Jayson E. Conry's full review
February 23, 2019
John Grosjean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics is very similar to New Relic, and is probably the only product we evaluated that was competitive. There wasn't a clear winner between these two; we ultimately stayed with New Relic because AppDynamic's support wasn't incredibly impressive, and it didn't seem to have additional data that would provide any extra value. It was a good product, just wasn't worth making the switch.
Read John Grosjean's full review
July 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Although not in the list, Google Stackdriver is also in the competitive landscape for New Relic.

We assessed all 3 of the alternatives above. We found AppDynamics to be the superior product, but with a price tag aligned with that superiority. Datadog was the best infrastructure-focused platform. AppOptics was too new to the game when we did the assessment.

As our Architects like to preach, don't find a product and then build your functional and technical requirements, build your requirements and then find the product that matches. New Relic offers a very nice blend of infrastructure, APM, web, and other services in a single user interface. I would definitely use them again.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Dynatrace was not as easy and solid as New Relic for the first implementation of the APM. We had more issues and we had to spend more time to setup the initial environment. New Relic also has more integrations with existing languages, frameworks, and CMS, and it has a great 24/7 online support that we didn't find in Dynatrace.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

New Relic is more affordable for infrastructure monitoring and had a more mature app monitoring suite (but data dog is catching up). Data dog has better predictive analytics and DB monitoring.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I was using CA Wily before New Relic. Wily is difficult to configure. Requires an application to be installed. Wily provided just basic details and it required a deep analysis to find the issue. Dashboards were also not easy to build.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

New Relic destroys Datadog hands down. The platform is tremendously more powerful and the support is excellent (compared to DD's horrible support).
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Along with New Relic, our engineering and SRE teams also use PagerDuty for setting up alerts, Datadog for APM and AWS CloudWatch for infrastructure level monitoring on AWS.

AWS CloudWatch is available as a service if you use AWS. We use Datadog for things similar to New Relic. A feature of Datadog that I have not seen in New Relic is its ability to visualize across applications and show dependencies of an application across the system. That dashboard is very useful.
Read this authenticated review
March 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Elasticsearch with its Beats technology is open source and has good community support. Amazon CloudWatch is another good alternative if you are using AWS because then the metrics are right there. In fact, I like CloudWatch especially because it is mostly free for basic use and does not eat up a lot of memory from your instance.
Read this authenticated review

What is New Relic?

New Relic is an all-in-one web and mobile application performance management provider for the cloud and the datacenter. They provide 24x7 user monitoring and code-level diagnostics for production apps deployed on dedicated infrastructures, the cloud, or hybrid environments and real time end-to-end monitoring for your iOS and Android app’s.

New Relic provides support for applications written in Ruby, Python, PHP, Java, .NET, Node.js and related frameworks. New Relic also partners with leading cloud management, platform, and hosting vendors to provide their customers with instant visibility into the performance of deployed applications.

New Relic also has an open SaaS platform that enables its community of developers, partners and customers to build plugins using open API’s to monitor any technology of their choice, from databases, networks, caching layers and more.

New Relic provides SaaS Application Monitoring for Ruby, PHP, .Net, Java, Python, iOS, and Android Apps.

New Relic Integrations

New Relic Competitors

New Relic Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Standard$99per user
ProContact sales team
EnterpriseContact sales team
Telemetry Data Platform0.25per GB
Proactive Detection0.25per million app transactions
Incident Intelligence0.50per incident

New Relic Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No