NGINX Reviews

73 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 22, 2020
John Reeve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

NGINX's footprint is much smaller than Apache, and it's great for serving up static content. The URL rewriting was not as familiar as Apache, but just as powerful once configured correctly. As a load balancer, it's much more affordable than Citrix ADC. We used the load balancing features for several years as a startup and it served us well.
Read John Reeve's full review
March 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

HA proxy is designed explicitly for proxying requests. It works well for this purpose, handling extremely high volumes with little issue. However, it lacks some of the features NGINX provides for running application servers. For our purposes, NGINX provided us with a high amount of flexibility while still being the more commonly used product which lowered the barrier to entry.
Read this authenticated review
January 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Compared to Apache, NGINX is much lighter on resource consumption, and also far faster as a server, serving static content over twice as fast in most benchmark tests. NGINX doesn't offer as much potential configuration and customization as Apache, however, so if these advanced features are necessary then Apache might be the way to go.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2019
Tom Erdman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nginx is way easier to configure and runs better than Microsoft’s offering, in my opinion, and I’ll take it over Apache for its simplicity.
Read Tom Erdman's full review
August 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nginx's cache mechanism is better than Apache and HAProxy. Also Nginx is very light weight and works for multiple sites with much less work. i.e. As front end proxy server configuration is very easy as compared to other applications. Apache sometimes crashes and is not able to mange a high load as compared to Nginx. Apache Tomcat suits application servers but not for load balancing or cache server or front end proxy or reverse proxy also the same is true for HAProxy. HAProxy's load balancing feature is really good but comparing other features, Nginx is the best.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2019
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Apache is still widely used by the software community and can accomplish many of the same things Nginx can. Nginx is a better solution when you are serving static content (vs. dynamic content), are on a Unix-system, and have a high-traffic website. In addition, certain things like Load Balancing and Reverse Proxies are easier to setup in Nginx.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
January 23, 2019
L Matthew Blancett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

NetApp, f1, etc., [I've] used them all. I find using commodity hardware across diverse endpoints running software solutions is cheaper while being more available than individual hardware solutions. and I find Nginx to be the best proxy solution that can do everything we need.
Read L Matthew Blancett's full review
February 08, 2019
Shea Bunge | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Apache has the advantage of being very widely supported and well-known, which makes integration with various tools and software simple, whereas Nginx often requires manual configuration to achieve the same thing. However, the ease of use, configurability, and relatively small footprint of Nginx makes up for its smaller support base, as, once configured, it provides better performance and usability than Apache.
Read Shea Bunge's full review
February 18, 2019
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Other Web servers are either not performant enough or locked to a platform. The main competitor in my opinion is the Apache Web Server, that can be extended in functionality through a diverse set of modules to perform almost any task related to a network server. But at scale, I feel Nginx grows more linearly and can be more predictable on resource usage. Apache, specially when using external modules, can be more buggy or memory hungry due to implementation intrinsics of each third party's code.

Other web servers like IIS, J2EE server or even the new .NET Core Kestrel web server are locked to a platform, Windows for IIS, Java or .NET for the other 2. If you don't work with their platforms, they don't have a use case on the architecture.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
February 08, 2019
Rahul Dhangar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft IIS server is not open source and it comes with its own overhead in terms of cost which is not the case with Nginx as we do not need to purchase a handful of other products in order to get an HTTP server up and running. If I compare it to Apache Server, it dramatically is better in serving the pages quickly hence it is very fast and efficient in serving the requests in a more timely manner. Apache lags in speed a lot and implementing an Nginx server can increase the speed of your website up to 10x (no kidding).
Read Rahul Dhangar's full review
February 08, 2019
Nitin Bhadauria | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nginx works on basic operating system principles and what I like the most about it is that even after being feature-rich and easily customizable it uses minimum resources.
Read Nitin Bhadauria's full review
June 14, 2018
Tyler Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used Traffic, Apache, Google Cloud Load Balancing and other managed cloud-based load balancers. When it comes to scale and customization nothing beats Nginx. We selected Nginx over the others because
  • we have a large number of services and we can manage a single Nginx instance for all of them
  • we have high impact services and Nginx never breaks a sweat under load
  • individual services have special considerations and Nginx lets us configure each one uniquely
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
March 03, 2018
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nginx struck the right balance for us of raw speed, power, convenience, and simplicity.

  • I don't like the idea of hosting all of our open source PHP-based websites on Microsoft Windows servers with IIS, so that option was out first.
  • Next, we had experience with Apache already, and were initially considering sticking with that, however it was decided that it would take too much administration time to properly configure and tune the server, especially considering it would need to occur on an ongoing basis.
  • I've personally had experience with Litespeed Web Server, but we wanted something a little bit lower level--we don't need to actually manage our virtual hosts within an admin UI, and we wanted to stick with open source as much as possible. One huge benefit of Litespeed, however, is that it's .htaccess-compatible, meaning it's a much smaller transition from Apache in some cases.
  • LightTPD was the closest contender to Nginx when all was said and done. We chose Nginx because some of us were more familiar with it or had some experience with it, and Nginx seemed to have more documentation and resources online for finding assistance at the time.
Read Ben McClure's full review
April 20, 2018
Rene Enriquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's lightweight and it does not require complex configurations for simple scenarios. If you want you can accomplish some other complicated tasks like reverse proxies which are well supported by the product.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
August 06, 2018
Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we did load and performance testing we got better results with Nginx
Read Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica's full review
October 24, 2017
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nnginx is more light-weight than many other web servers, has a very expressive configuration language, easier to configure than tools like IIS and Apache, easy to install certificates for SSL, much easier to model complex routing scenarios than IIS, easier to configure than Apache. Overall, it's the leanest, best web server for services-oriented architectures (including microservices).
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
March 28, 2017
Anand Chhatpar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Before using Nginx with Passenger, we had Apache servers in front of Mongrel for our rails apps. They would leak memory, and need periodic restarts to stay online. The memory management on Apache and Mongrel was very inefficient. Nginx does great with both speed and memory efficiency, while maintaining uptime and even distribution of load across back-end app servers. This made it an easy choice for us.
Read Anand Chhatpar's full review
February 24, 2017
Craig Nash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nginx is one of the top three web servers and sits in the second position in terms of the amount of servers deployed. The main competition comes from Apache and Apache-based forks on Linux based servers, and less-so from Microsoft IIS on Windows based servers. As stated earlier, a web server is really a "per project" decision, and the server that is best for one project might not be any good for a different project. However, I personally recommend that NginX should deserve a serious consideration for every project, as it continues to become faster, and more capable with each release.
Read Craig Nash's full review
May 17, 2017
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Apache Server, Mongrel, Webrick, Puma, Lighttpd and Mongoose
Nginx is simply the best for static assets and as a front-end for dynamic webservers. Nginx is so easy to set up and get up and running with a scalable, solid asynchronous server that uses far less resources out of the box than the equivalent configuration with, say, Apache Web Server. Nginx is simply the go-to solution for a front end server that is built to handle a massive amount of requests with ease.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
September 09, 2016
Chris Coppenbarger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nginx has easier configuration options and speeds up the time to serve up the websites. Apache is much older and has more complicated configuration options. However, Apache's much broader config files allows for more complex situations, which may make it better in those cases. Overall, I think Nginx is the better suited software for most use cases.
Read Chris Coppenbarger's full review
February 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I selected Nginx because it is easy to learn, use, and maintain. I almost never have to troubleshoot it ever since I deploy it. It just meets my need for a personal learning experience. It works well with PHP and MySQL on Linux. That is why I chose it at first.
Read this authenticated review

What is NGINX?

According to NGINX, a business unit of F5 Networks since the May 2019 acquisition, NGINX powers over 65% of the world's busiest websites and web applications. NGINX started out as an open source web server and reverse proxy, built to be faster and more efficient than Apache. Over the years, NGINX has built a suite of infrastructure software products, the NGINX Application Platform, to tackle some of the biggest challenges in managing high-load applications.

The NGINX Application Platform is a suite of products that together form the core of what organizations need to create applications with performance, reliability, security, and scale. The NGINX Application Platform includes NGINX Plus for load balancing and application delivery, the NGINX WAF for security, and NGINX Unit to run the application code, all monitored and managed by the NGINX Controller.

NGINX Plus: An all‑in‑one load balancer, web server, and content cache.

NGINX Controller: Centralized monitoring and management for NGINX Plus.

NGINX WAF: Web application firewall, powered by ModSecurity

NGINX Unit: Lightweight application server, with support for multiple languages and a dynamic REST API‑driven configuration.




NGINX Features

Has featureNGINX: Fast, light web server and reverse proxy
Has featureNGINX Plus: All‑in‑one Load Balancer, Web Server, and Content Cache
Has featureNGINX Plus: Security controls, High Availability, Dynamic Modules
Has featureNGINX WAF: Layer 7 Attack Protection
Has featureNGINX WAF: IP reputation and Audit Logging
Has featureNGINX Controller: Centralized Traffic Management and Monitoring
Has featureNGINX Controller: Role-based Access Controls
Has featureNGINX Unit: Multi-language Application Server
Has featureNGINX Amplify: Cloud-based NGINX Monitoring

NGINX Screenshots

NGINX Integrations

Microsoft Azure, Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise), Kubernetes, ForgeRock, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), DeviceAtlas, Google Cloud Platform, OpenStack, Red Hat OpenShift, Cedexis, ModSecurity, IDFConnect, PingIdentity, Phusion Passenger, Stealth Security

NGINX Competitors

NGINX Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
NGINX PlusContact sales teamper instance/enterprise pricing available
NGINX ControllerContact sales team
NGINX App ProtectContact sales team
NGINX AmplifyContact sales team

NGINX Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

NGINX Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

NGINX Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, https://www.nginx.com/products/technical-specs/
Mobile Application:No