NGINX Reviews

73 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Gzipping has drastically cut down response sized and subsequently network costs.
  • Out of the box SSL/TLS is incredibly valuable.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2019
Tom Erdman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Having such a powerful open source solution allows us a lot of versatility we wouldn’t have otherwise.
  • Nginx’s versatility allows us to be really efficient, since we can use one well known tool for multiple solutions.
Read Tom Erdman's full review
August 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Nginx has improved performance due to caching
  • Zero downtime in case of some of the application where we can maintain the active production and DR environments.
  • Reduced the cost of maintaining multiple web servers for multiple applications.
  • Load balancing helps at some extent in case of clustered applications.
  • Logging flexibility to configure multiple options brought more clarity in troubleshooting
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2019
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our websites are noticeably faster, causing an increase in customer satisfaction.
  • Nginx has such a low memory/resource footprint that we save money from not needing multiple large, expensive servers.
  • Ability to load balance traffic, have server-redundancy, and have high-availability allows for 100% uptime and provides cost-effective solutions to alternatives that can cost a lot.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
January 23, 2019
L Matthew Blancett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • When we first migrated our primary bidding environment architecture to Nginx, it was under duress due to Apache's inability to keep up when we consolidated away from an HAProxy model to a central HTTP proxy. So we even when we did not know what we were doing, we were able to make it work in a bad situation, and everyone was quite happy.
  • The biggest complaint I have is that I find the module compilation requirements for nginx+ rather burdensome. If we pay for Nginx+, I'd love to see then have pre-built modules for ready for each release of more modules. We are spending our own time engineering an in-house solution for module testing for nginx+ releases, which is disappointing.
  • I've also, as the primary Nginx person at my organization, inserted my expertise into other projects, and have saved our company lots of money getting rid of big $$$ appliances for general SSL proxying.
  • Speaking of Nginx replacing SSL appliances, we had an instance where we had to suddenly enable elliptic-curve SSL ciphers and our big $$$ appliances (you know who they are), were falling over. Even their SSL accelerator cards, after all, are just a few extra cores to process SSL. But in an environment of our size, we use DNS to spread the load to hundreds of frontend proxies with dozens of cores each to spread this load out, all at a lower price than ONE of the appliance pairs running Nginx. We couldn't even tell the change in load in our Nginx architecture when we enabled the ciphers.
Read L Matthew Blancett's full review
February 08, 2019
Shea Bunge | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Easy to write configuration from the ground-up and fine-tune to suit the needs of each site.
  • Able to make use of several features and integrations to drastically reduce site load time.
  • Reduces cost of resources needed to run servers.
Read Shea Bunge's full review
February 18, 2019
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • In one cloud provider, a simple (few directives, relatively low traffic) Load Balancer service would cost USD 25 per month, while the cheapest VM instance costs USD 5 per month. I have set up a Linux instance with just Nginx running as a Load Balancer with automatic SSL configuration using Let's Encrypt and it works pretty well for 1/5 of the price and I got my cheap high availability setup.
  • Web server memory usage stopped being an issue when moved from Apache to Nginx.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
February 08, 2019
Rahul Dhangar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Nginx has helped with solving the quick loading issue for static assets to a great extent for us.
  • Nginx helped us with distributing loads effectively which eventually helped us with converting visitors into customers.
  • Nginx can be a good solution for eCommerce websites whenever there is a sudden spike in traffic which could be handled more effectively using the Nginx solution.
Read Rahul Dhangar's full review
June 14, 2018
Tyler Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • By using Nginx, we can host multiple web services on a single server, keeping our infrastructure costs lower.
  • Nginx maintains our HTTPS connections, allowing us to keep our promise to our customers that their data is safe in transit.
  • Due to Nginx's extremely low failure rate, our web addresses always return something meaningful, even when individual services go down. In sense, this means we are "always online" and allows us to maintain brand and support our customers even in the face of catastrophe.
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
March 03, 2018
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Nginx has decreased the burden of web server administration and maintenance, and we are spending less time on server issues than when we were using Apache.
  • Nginx has allowed more people in our company to get involved with configuring things on the web server, so there's no longer a single point of failure ("the Apache guy").
  • Nginx has given us the ability to handle a larger number of requests without scaling up in hardware quite so quickly.
Read Ben McClure's full review
August 06, 2018
Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • First, the high availability of our operation, in terms of money would be dollars per second.
  • We can make changes in configuration without restart the servers or stop Nginx service. This favors availability.
Read Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica's full review
October 24, 2017
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Lightweight, low CPU and memory utilization, meaning it's cheap to operate.
  • It's easy to configure and industry-standard, so lots of people know how to use it.
  • Helps model lots of scenarios where a more expensive or heavier-weight tool might have been used.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
March 28, 2017
Anand Chhatpar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Improved the reliability of our site. Before using Nginx, with Apache as our app server, there were times when we had to manually go in and restart Apache to bring the site back online. We've never had to do that with Nginx.
  • Made our web server more memory efficient -- Nginx has a very small memory footprint, on the order of under 100 MB. This makes it suitable even for cheap VPS machines.
  • The Nginx community provides online examples of configurations, so it saves us time in writing the config files from scratch.
Read Anand Chhatpar's full review
February 24, 2017
Craig Nash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • NginX has not only boosted my clients ROI, but has also boosted my sales and increased my client base, by allowing me to offer an alternative hosting solution that has the capabilities and performance of a high-end host at the cost of a low-end cookie cutter host.
  • NginX has allowed me to provide high availability server clusters at no additional cost due to it's native load balancing capabilities.
  • I have been able to gain more customers via references by providing a high stable and fast server environment.
Read Craig Nash's full review
May 17, 2017
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Nginx has helped numerous web properties for various clients scale and be served to 100s of thousands of users. It has been an excellent tool in all cases where I have used it.
  • Nginx has slowed down development on a few occasions due to strange gotchas, but these are minor in comparison to the gains in time to market due to easy configuration and a large customer base with many answers to existing issues, plus excellent getting started guides.
  • Nginx has overall had a very positive impact on all of the projects where I have used it by having easy, rapid integration with preferred tools and platforms like Ruby on Rails.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
September 09, 2016
Chris Coppenbarger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Websites experience less crashes and faster speeds so that customers stay on the websites for longer.
  • First time setting up might take longer, but it has a great return as far as speed boosts.
  • Easier configuration leads to long time rewards
Read Chris Coppenbarger's full review
February 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The first phase of implementing Nginx is nearly zero cost. It is easy to deploy and easy to maintain. But as your business grows, you will consider a more enterprise-size server to have better cluster/scaling ability. Therefore, you need to figure out the right point for switching from Nginx to others.
Read this authenticated review

What is NGINX?

According to NGINX, a business unit of F5 Networks since the May 2019 acquisition, NGINX powers over 65% of the world's busiest websites and web applications. NGINX started out as an open source web server and reverse proxy, built to be faster and more efficient than Apache. Over the years, NGINX has built a suite of infrastructure software products, the NGINX Application Platform, to tackle some of the biggest challenges in managing high-load applications.

The NGINX Application Platform is a suite of products that together form the core of what organizations need to create applications with performance, reliability, security, and scale. The NGINX Application Platform includes NGINX Plus for load balancing and application delivery, the NGINX WAF for security, and NGINX Unit to run the application code, all monitored and managed by the NGINX Controller.

NGINX Plus: An all‑in‑one load balancer, web server, and content cache.

NGINX Controller: Centralized monitoring and management for NGINX Plus.

NGINX WAF: Web application firewall, powered by ModSecurity

NGINX Unit: Lightweight application server, with support for multiple languages and a dynamic REST API‑driven configuration.




NGINX Features

Has featureNGINX: Fast, light web server and reverse proxy
Has featureNGINX Plus: All‑in‑one Load Balancer, Web Server, and Content Cache
Has featureNGINX Plus: Security controls, High Availability, Dynamic Modules
Has featureNGINX WAF: Layer 7 Attack Protection
Has featureNGINX WAF: IP reputation and Audit Logging
Has featureNGINX Controller: Centralized Traffic Management and Monitoring
Has featureNGINX Controller: Role-based Access Controls
Has featureNGINX Unit: Multi-language Application Server
Has featureNGINX Amplify: Cloud-based NGINX Monitoring

NGINX Screenshots

NGINX Integrations

Microsoft Azure, Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise), Kubernetes, ForgeRock, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), DeviceAtlas, Google Cloud Platform, OpenStack, Red Hat OpenShift, Cedexis, ModSecurity, IDFConnect, PingIdentity, Phusion Passenger, Stealth Security

NGINX Competitors

NGINX Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
NGINX PlusContact sales teamper instance/enterprise pricing available
NGINX ControllerContact sales team
NGINX App ProtectContact sales team
NGINX AmplifyContact sales team

NGINX Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

NGINX Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

NGINX Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, https://www.nginx.com/products/technical-specs/
Mobile Application:No