NGINX Reviews

73 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 22, 2020
John Reeve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have used NGINX in several different ways. We've used it as a load balancer, a proxy server, and a web server. Its ability to do one or all three of these jobs is what makes it so useful.
Read John Reeve's full review
February 12, 2020
Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use NGINX to run all of our web servers that are customer public-facing. We replaced using APACHE with NGINX due to the ease of use and highly customizable option.s
Read Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP's full review
March 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

WE use NGINX as a load balancing solution across our department. It provides a simple and easy to manage system for proxying and load balancing requests across an array of worker machines in a reasonable manner. It is low impact, high throughput, and low risk. As a major vendor, it has optional paid support.
Read this authenticated review
January 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use NGINX for two main purposes. The first and foremost is to serve as a reverse proxy to rails applications running on their own servers. This includes making use of gzipping and SSL/TLS encryption. Additionally, it is used to serve compiled react applications as static sites, with the other instance still serving as a reverse proxy to these.
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2019
Tom Erdman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nginx for all of our web services, whether it be straight up websites or applications. It’s open source (free), but so easy to implement while being incredibly powerful.
Read Tom Erdman's full review
August 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is widely used in the whole organization for different applications as a front end hitting web server. It's used generally to benefit the caching mechanism and load the balance of the clustered applications and also used widely to maintain an active environment in case of any node failure or application server failure.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2019
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nginx to serve static content for a few of our applications. Nginx is very effective for us because it's free, scales very well, and can handle millions of requests a second. It has made several of our websites noticeably faster. In addition, its ability to act as a Proxy/Reverse Proxy has been instrumental in fulfilling our specific web hosting needs.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
January 23, 2019
L Matthew Blancett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nginx widely as our primary way of proxying and SSL termination. Specifically, our highly-available architecture used for both a bidding environment and serving ads are designed with Nginx. We have had success building out some applications with deeper Nginx integration as well, our own home-built CDN.
Read L Matthew Blancett's full review
February 08, 2019
Shea Bunge | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ever since discovering Nginx as an alternative to Apache, it has been my web server of choice for a variety of purposes, whether it be creating a versatile development server accommodating a variety of platforms across many different sites, or setting up a high-speed scalable server with integration with a popular content management system for a client. The powerful yet flexible configuration options of Nginx makes it straightforward to configure a server for a multitude of different tasks, and a clear choice for almost any situation.
Read Shea Bunge's full review
February 18, 2019
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is present at different levels across my projects. Sometimes is just a Web Server, others a Load Balancer or an API proxy with SSL/TLS management, it's just great that's so lightweight that you can deploy as many instances as you want, for different purposes and create a services mesh inside your organization's network.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
February 08, 2019
Rahul Dhangar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is an excellent choice for any size company, be it a startup or mid to large scale. iI delivers a well-supported server architecture without much fuss involved. I loved the customer support I received whenever I sought help for several different client projects. Nginx is a great choice for use with AWS EC2 instances as well as I've personally used and configured it without any bottleneck. So I can say that it is a good choice for AWS and similar cloud hosting solutions.
Read Rahul Dhangar's full review
February 08, 2019
Nitin Bhadauria | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is the DEFAULT web server for our organization and projects that we work on. I don't think Nginx as a simple web server but a micro service that is part of the whole application. As a DevOps [solution], it has made us more independent rather than relying on developers for every small requirement. Now we can just write a few lines of code in Lua or js and get our solution ready as a hotfix rather than going back and forth and trying to make developers understand what is needed. In some cases, our few lines of code prove to be a better solution than an application :)

I would suggest having one layer of Nginx on top of your JAVA or Node application. If you never use it as we do it will still handle the web connections better.
Read Nitin Bhadauria's full review
June 14, 2018
Tyler Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nginx as the primary reverse proxy for all of our web services. We manage several dozen web applications, for many different clients, and Nginx allows us to quickly route requests to the correct service. Since we use Kubernetes to manage services, it is fast and simple for us to add new routes to our Nginx service. Nginx also manages our SSL, allowing us to deliver content securely.
Read Tyler Johnson's full review
November 18, 2018
Ilya Popovich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nginx as load balancing for our complex web applications and proxying requests to different applications across the company. It has a small footprint and memory usage, so it's the best choice solution for us.
Read Ilya Popovich's full review
March 03, 2018
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is powering the serving of web content across our entire organization. We used to host over a hundred web servers with Rackspace Cloud all with nginx sitting in front of backend server processes. Now, we host the majority of our sites on Pantheon, who also utilize nginx in their app server layer. We also host a number of custom servers on AWS EC2 which serve web content over nginx. It allows us to squeeze more performance from our web servers much more easily than using Apache.
Read Ben McClure's full review
August 06, 2018
Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nginx Plus Professional as a load balancer and as a reverse proxy with its ModSecurity component - WAF (Web Application Firewall). Nginx supports all the web traffic of the whole organization and some of our clients.
Read Jhonattan Smith Peláez Nimisica's full review
October 24, 2017
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use NGINX as our web-facing server, behind which we have a collection of services serving various parts of our application. NGINX helps us map a single API over a variety of services, and make our API endpoints consistent across the various services. Nginx also helps with uptime, by helping us switch between various instances of the services in near real-time.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
March 28, 2017
Anand Chhatpar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is used as the main web server and load balancer in front of our Rails apps. We use Nginx + Passenger together as part of our stack for production deployments of our Rails apps.

We currently have 5 different deployments of Nginx, and everyone in the company that deploys production apps uses them.

The main business problem addressed by Nginx was definitely speed and load balancing. Before using Nginx + Passenger, we had Apache servers in front of Mongrel for our rails apps, and they not only were slow and memory intensive, the only load balancing strategy available with that setup was round-robin allocation of incoming web requests to different app servers. With Nginx, it acts as a load balancing proxy as well and keeps track of which app servers are free to receive new requests. This resolves bottlenecks in our server's performance.
Read Anand Chhatpar's full review
February 24, 2017
Craig Nash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is my default go-to web server for all Linux web servers (LEMP Stacks) that I currently deploy. I use NginX primarily as one of several pieces of a custom-designed web-server stack in conjunction with Ubuntu or CentOS, Percona XtraDB, and HHVM with PHP7-FPM failover, which is used to power PHP based websites (such as WordPress) which I deploy on entry-level compute packages provided by industry standard cloud services (AWS, Google, BlueMix, Digital Ocean) for our web-design clients. My primary goal with these servers is to provide our clients with their own managed, in-house hosting solution with more power than a standard hosting company can provide, but at a similar recurring cost bracket. Nginx was my choice, as it was designed specifically to win the C10k challenge, which was a challenge to create a web server capable of handling 10,000 simultaneous connections on a single server (which was successful). The biggest challenge I face is designing a stack that can handle a potentially heavy connection load while deployed on low-spec, shared-resource, sub-$20 virtual servers, while avoiding the expensive, constant need for computing resource increases. These challenges require a web server than can handle 1 or 1,000 connections on the initial specs, without an increase in resources, which Nginx was able to accomplish beyond my expectations, allowing me to provide similar and sometimes equal performance on virtual servers as that of higher-cost, WordPress specific hosts, such as WP Engine.
Read Craig Nash's full review
May 17, 2017
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Nginx for years to serve Ruby on Rails applications for a number of clients and with various integrations including Passenger and, more recently, Unicorn. I have found Nginx to be a wonderful choice for both standalone server and layer in front of Unicorn. Nginx excels at serving static files, load-balancing, security (preventing certain exploit attempts) and simply acting as a front end for full-featured application server back-ends.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
September 20, 2016
Will Stern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've used Nginx in several capacities.
- dynamic routing of ingress traffic to Docker containers
- load balancing web applications
- proxying requests to different applications
Read Will Stern's full review
September 09, 2016
Chris Coppenbarger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is a http server software used to serve up websites across the web, similar to Apache httpd. The main difference being that Nginx offers multi-threaded support to serve up websites faster and more efficiently. I implement and use it as often as possible for my websites I build in order to provide the speed and efficiency that is required. It is easy to use one config file to serve up both the http and https versions of the site.
Read Chris Coppenbarger's full review
February 15, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nginx is the main competitor to Apache. It provides stable service. I have been using Nginx for the last four years and it has never gone down even once, which is critical for a web server. I also like the flexibility and compatibility Nginx has with other components in web development. I switched from LAMP to LEMP, which works great as an environment for WordPress and other PHP software. Overall, it is a great choice for a web server.
Read this authenticated review

What is NGINX?

According to NGINX, a business unit of F5 Networks since the May 2019 acquisition, NGINX powers over 65% of the world's busiest websites and web applications. NGINX started out as an open source web server and reverse proxy, built to be faster and more efficient than Apache. Over the years, NGINX has built a suite of infrastructure software products, the NGINX Application Platform, to tackle some of the biggest challenges in managing high-load applications.

The NGINX Application Platform is a suite of products that together form the core of what organizations need to create applications with performance, reliability, security, and scale. The NGINX Application Platform includes NGINX Plus for load balancing and application delivery, the NGINX WAF for security, and NGINX Unit to run the application code, all monitored and managed by the NGINX Controller.

NGINX Plus: An all‑in‑one load balancer, web server, and content cache.

NGINX Controller: Centralized monitoring and management for NGINX Plus.

NGINX WAF: Web application firewall, powered by ModSecurity

NGINX Unit: Lightweight application server, with support for multiple languages and a dynamic REST API‑driven configuration.




NGINX Features

Has featureNGINX: Fast, light web server and reverse proxy
Has featureNGINX Plus: All‑in‑one Load Balancer, Web Server, and Content Cache
Has featureNGINX Plus: Security controls, High Availability, Dynamic Modules
Has featureNGINX WAF: Layer 7 Attack Protection
Has featureNGINX WAF: IP reputation and Audit Logging
Has featureNGINX Controller: Centralized Traffic Management and Monitoring
Has featureNGINX Controller: Role-based Access Controls
Has featureNGINX Unit: Multi-language Application Server
Has featureNGINX Amplify: Cloud-based NGINX Monitoring

NGINX Screenshots

NGINX Integrations

Microsoft Azure, Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise), Kubernetes, ForgeRock, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), DeviceAtlas, Google Cloud Platform, OpenStack, Red Hat OpenShift, Cedexis, ModSecurity, IDFConnect, PingIdentity, Phusion Passenger, Stealth Security

NGINX Competitors

NGINX Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
NGINX PlusContact sales teamper instance/enterprise pricing available
NGINX ControllerContact sales team
NGINX App ProtectContact sales team
NGINX AmplifyContact sales team

NGINX Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

NGINX Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

NGINX Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, https://www.nginx.com/products/technical-specs/
Mobile Application:No