TrustRadius
Nintex Workflow is designed to work with Microsoft Office365, SharePoint, and Project Server.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qI/np/5LMC36VQBOIW.PNGLimitations Aside Its A-OKWe did use Nintex Workflow to automate data entry or user requests made to different departments inside the company. It was being used by the whole corporation, while not prolific in use, at its height almost all departments used at least one workflow created inside the Nintex platform. The business problems it addressed were basically standardizing communication when working with a business practice or procedure that needed consistency and had to follow a chain of command.,The interface and GUI are top notch and well designed. They make it easy to visualize the workflow. The verbiage and help section of Nintex Workflow make creating what you need very easy to read and understand. The community and forums are terrific and very responsive. You often get answers from people who work at Nintex.,Integration with other systems is poor at best. The limitation of the processes they have in place. An example is a function that will execute a SQL statement will only return a max of 500 records last I used it. Issues with the designer and sometimes their servers seem to be laggy. It is hosted so you are relying on Nintex for some performance overhead.,6,It allowed the company I worked for to create and get up and running with workflows very quickly due to its straightforward GUI. The ROI in my opinion isn't great. There are cheaper alternatives out there. Low Code solution allows more ambitious non technical people to jump in and create their own workflows.,,PowerApps, Azure SQL Database, Visual Studio Test Professional, Wunderlist, TweetDeckPowerful, flexible, great investmentWe use Nintex document generation for several processes within salesforce. As a non profit, we use it to produce customized donor giving statements and to prepare invoices with multiple line items (as related opportunity records). As a membership/partnership focused non profit, we use it to prepare customized statements for each partner with details on different areas of engagement, which are captured through multiple relationships. Finally, we run several team peer-to-peer fundraising campaigns and Nintex document generation helps us produce reports for teams with details on their metrics, including donor names, amounts, and addresses along with pre-filled thank you letter templates. Using Nintex document generation has below us simultaneously reduce administrative overhead while improving relationships and engagement with a more personal and rewarding experience for our constituents. We spend less time "processing" and more time in relationship. We have also started using Mass Loop which has reduced many of or quarterly and annual processes to a fraction of the time.,Flexible and dynamic Easy to use at various levels of experience Easy to scale,We've had issues managing user licenses within salesforce. More, better refined, training resources Email notifications to administrators regarding new releases / updates List of implementing partners. Not sure if there is an implementing partner program or not?,9,We spend far less time building and sending invoices. Spend a fraction of the time we used to preparing and sending end of year donor statements. Spend a fraction of the time we used to preparing and sending quarterly statements to our member / partner organizations.,Save time, money, and time and money.We use Nintex to help with document generation. In order to create a contract within Salesforce, with data existing on multiple objects, it requires a data aggregating solution, like Nintex to help get the job done.,Easy to install Easy to manage licenses Smooth onboarding The documents look perfect,The interface could probably use a refresh,10,Saved a ton of time Very affordable,,Salesforce.com, Basecamp, HubSpotCouldn't live without Nintex!We use Nintex Document Generation for Salesforce to automate the generation of our legal agreement templates (Non-Disclosure Agreements, Master Services Agreements, Statements of Work, Change Orders, etc.) for doing business with out clients. This solution ensures consistency in format and appearance across our organization, provides a level of version control for our organization.,Nintex automates the generation of legal agreements and templates across our salesforce users. Nintex helps us with controlling the version of template being used. Nintex frees-up our legal time because we have established standards. Nintex seemlessly integrates into our salesforce.com org and makes generating agreements so easy for our users (click a button!),Honestly, the only thing I can offer for improvement are around documentation of use cases and some aspects of set up. The back-end functionality is wonderful, and the support team is fantastic, I just think some additional documentation from Nintex might be helpful and reduce some support effort on their part.,10,Nintex has enabled us to manage the version of agreements used. Nintex has enabled us to automate generation of the template with base information filled in from salesforce. Nintex has enabled us to automate part of our governance process. Nintex has made it easy for our users to get to the legal agreements they need quickly and efficiently.,Conga ComposerA tool to automate everythingWe are currently using Nintex Workflow for unstructured processes as well as a few more structured processed across the whole company. We have implemented solutions that will be used by any user, i.e. Company gift and business declaration system, to training requests. We also have solutions in Supply Chain, HR, Engineering, Mining, IT all the way up to our Company Secretary.We also use Nintex to integrate or get data from SAP ERP, our time and attendance system, SQL, Project Server and even Active Directory. We use this information to run certain processes. Recently we even used Nintex to connect to the internet to a messaging server for tracking and sending messages. We don't use Nintex for functionality that exists in a formal ERP. We have the ability to apply the Nintex tool to any department and almost any area.,Approvals. Assign flexi-tasks and State Machines are brilliant actions that allow for and controlling of any approval set up. Speed of development - Because or the drag and drop and quick configuration, it is possible to setup JAD sessions and build the solution with the users around the table. Integration capability - The Execute SQL, Call Web Service and LDAP query actions allow for integration into almost any system. We connected to an IOT database with the EXECUTE SQL action and configured it to ODBC capability. With the web service we connect to our SAP environment, etc. Tracking of workflows - it has nice built-in functionality to help you track the workflow.,Document integration features exist but it is a bit of work to get the doc template ready and update the document through a workflow Debugging a workflow. This is not a problem if the workflow is 5 - 50 actions big but as workflows get bigger and bigger it becomes more difficult to debug through a whole cycle. More standard connectors will help to improve speed of development but not such a big concern.,10,Nintex has an ROI report that analysis all workflows in your environment and time spent on developing the workflows . We have paid off our investment in the first 12 months according to this report. Once you have implemented it, you should probably have more than one person or have plans in place to get more people because the requests will start streaming in.,k2; and Microsoft Flow,Microsoft Office 2016, SAP ERP, MS SharePoint
Windows
Nintex Platform
65 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
TRScore

Nintex Platform Reviews

Nintex Platform
65 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 65 vetted Nintex Platform reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 29)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 22, 2018

Nintex Platform Review: "Limitations Aside Its A-OK"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We did use Nintex Workflow to automate data entry or user requests made to different departments inside the company. It was being used by the whole corporation, while not prolific in use, at its height almost all departments used at least one workflow created inside the Nintex platform. The business problems it addressed were basically standardizing communication when working with a business practice or procedure that needed consistency and had to follow a chain of command.
  • The interface and GUI are top notch and well designed. They make it easy to visualize the workflow.
  • The verbiage and help section of Nintex Workflow make creating what you need very easy to read and understand.
  • The community and forums are terrific and very responsive. You often get answers from people who work at Nintex.
  • Integration with other systems is poor at best.
  • The limitation of the processes they have in place. An example is a function that will execute a SQL statement will only return a max of 500 records last I used it.
  • Issues with the designer and sometimes their servers seem to be laggy. It is hosted so you are relying on Nintex for some performance overhead.
A scenario where Nintex is suited well would be using it for a workflow where emails and signatures/approvals are needed. It makes sending customized emails and formatting them easy, also working with small datasets. Also creating documents inside Nintex Workflow is by far and away the best I have seen. Working with large datasets to evaluate conditions or integrating with outside systems to gather information is where Nintex starts to fall apart. More complicated workflows also seem to crack under their own weight inside Nintex workflow.
Read Damien Dolan's full review
March 09, 2018

Nintex Platform Review: "Powerful, flexible, great investment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex document generation for several processes within salesforce. As a non profit, we use it to produce customized donor giving statements and to prepare invoices with multiple line items (as related opportunity records). As a membership/partnership focused non profit, we use it to prepare customized statements for each partner with details on different areas of engagement, which are captured through multiple relationships. Finally, we run several team peer-to-peer fundraising campaigns and Nintex document generation helps us produce reports for teams with details on their metrics, including donor names, amounts, and addresses along with pre-filled thank you letter templates. Using Nintex document generation has below us simultaneously reduce administrative overhead while improving relationships and engagement with a more personal and rewarding experience for our constituents. We spend less time "processing" and more time in relationship. We have also started using Mass Loop which has reduced many of or quarterly and annual processes to a fraction of the time.
  • Flexible and dynamic
  • Easy to use at various levels of experience
  • Easy to scale
  • We've had issues managing user licenses within salesforce.
  • More, better refined, training resources
  • Email notifications to administrators regarding new releases / updates
  • List of implementing partners. Not sure if there is an implementing partner program or not?
Very appropriate for generating detail reports off of a master record with one or more child object, especially when filter criteria is needed.
Read Matthew Reisdorph's full review
March 21, 2018

Nintex Platform Review: "Save time, money, and time and money."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex to help with document generation. In order to create a contract within Salesforce, with data existing on multiple objects, it requires a data aggregating solution, like Nintex to help get the job done.
  • Easy to install
  • Easy to manage licenses
  • Smooth onboarding
  • The documents look perfect
  • The interface could probably use a refresh
Nintex saved us about 30 minutes per contract, and we are sending out no less than a contract per day.
Read Ryan Rickard's full review
March 09, 2018

Nintex Platform Review: "Couldn't live without Nintex!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex Document Generation for Salesforce to automate the generation of our legal agreement templates (Non-Disclosure Agreements, Master Services Agreements, Statements of Work, Change Orders, etc.) for doing business with out clients. This solution ensures consistency in format and appearance across our organization, provides a level of version control for our organization.
  • Nintex automates the generation of legal agreements and templates across our salesforce users.
  • Nintex helps us with controlling the version of template being used.
  • Nintex frees-up our legal time because we have established standards.
  • Nintex seemlessly integrates into our salesforce.com org and makes generating agreements so easy for our users (click a button!)
  • Honestly, the only thing I can offer for improvement are around documentation of use cases and some aspects of set up. The back-end functionality is wonderful, and the support team is fantastic, I just think some additional documentation from Nintex might be helpful and reduce some support effort on their part.
Nintex is extremely well suited for generation of templated agreements (NDA, MSA, SOW, CO) where you need the flexibility to customize as necessary. It is also integrated with electronic signature solutions, making it even more beneficial (send your agreement straight out for signature). Would also be suited for HR documents (new hire onboarding processes) or any kind of documentation that you need to issue with consistency.
Read this authenticated review
December 06, 2017

Nintex Platform Review: "A tool to automate everything"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are currently using Nintex Workflow for unstructured processes as well as a few more structured processed across the whole company. We have implemented solutions that will be used by any user, i.e. Company gift and business declaration system, to training requests. We also have solutions in Supply Chain, HR, Engineering, Mining, IT all the way up to our Company Secretary.

We also use Nintex to integrate or get data from SAP ERP, our time and attendance system, SQL, Project Server and even Active Directory. We use this information to run certain processes. Recently we even used Nintex to connect to the internet to a messaging server for tracking and sending messages. We don't use Nintex for functionality that exists in a formal ERP. We have the ability to apply the Nintex tool to any department and almost any area.

  • Approvals. Assign flexi-tasks and State Machines are brilliant actions that allow for and controlling of any approval set up.
  • Speed of development - Because or the drag and drop and quick configuration, it is possible to setup JAD sessions and build the solution with the users around the table.
  • Integration capability - The Execute SQL, Call Web Service and LDAP query actions allow for integration into almost any system. We connected to an IOT database with the EXECUTE SQL action and configured it to ODBC capability. With the web service we connect to our SAP environment, etc.
  • Tracking of workflows - it has nice built-in functionality to help you track the workflow.
  • Document integration features exist but it is a bit of work to get the doc template ready and update the document through a workflow
  • Debugging a workflow. This is not a problem if the workflow is 5 - 50 actions big but as workflows get bigger and bigger it becomes more difficult to debug through a whole cycle.
  • More standard connectors will help to improve speed of development but not such a big concern.
Perfect for an approval of any request. Review the data and approve or reject with feedback. It's also very good at managing the process. The workflow is a visual design of a process. Less easy to do data integration from a process and then populating that data in a document. It's possible but slightly more involved process.
Read Francois Crous's full review
December 05, 2017

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex workflow for Business Process Automation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex Workflow and forms to automate many manual business processes. We have cases where 20 people were needed for a process were reduced to two after automating their manual processes with Nintex. This huge cost savings was mainly due to the effectiveness of the Nintex platform. This solution was so recognized, the rest of the organization wanted us to automate their business processes as well.
  • Nintex workflow makes it easy to connect many disparate systems into one cohesive solution.
  • Without having to write custom code, Nintex can pull in live data from many SQL Server sources across our enterprise to dynamically fill in data into forms and workflows.
  • Nintex can out of the box connect with many 3rd party tools so data can be shared from one platform to another to create one automated solution.
  • Moving to Office 365 has proven to be cost prohibitive for us so we are planning on phasing Nintex out for our Office 365 sites.
  • The Nintex workflow history lists become overwhelming in size. We need a parameter we can set to only keep history back 7 days, 1 month etc. To keep these lists from getting into millions of records like ours are. The adversely affect our performance and especially SharePoint search indexing.
Nintex is great for on-premise workflow automation solutions. We automate many business processes where users were having to manually compare data from many disparate sources. With Nintex we can pull the information together on one form saving users to have to manually log onto and compare/check multiple systems. This saves our organization a lot of money in time savings and automation. In many cases, manual/human decisions can be replaced by automated ones increasing speed and reducing opportunity for manual errors.
Read Greg Guth's full review
December 19, 2017

Nintex Platform Review: "NINTEX Workflow Taking Pen and Paper Approvals to the Electronic Age!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization we use NINTEX Workflow for SharePoint across our Americas Division (Canada, United States, and South America countries) across all departments. Nintex Workflow is being used for any processes that require user approvals that used to be done with pen and paper or through email. Some of the processes we used Nintex Workflow for are: performance review, bonus, budget, engineering gate approvals, new vendor approvals, and many more.
  • Nintex Workflow has a really well designed user interface (UI) for creating the workflows. It closely resembles Microsoft Visio which makes designing the workflows easier on the user since it's very visual compared to the out of the box SharePoint workflows which is closer to computer programming.
  • Another example of what Nintex does well is the ability of letting the users and admins delegating the approval tasks to other users. That feature is very beneficial for scenarios when a task needs to get approved, but the user is out due to vacation or sickness.
  • Nintex Workflow history/audit is another great example of a very useful feature. Having a detailed history/audit is great for scenarios when 6-12 months down the road you need to go back and see what was approved or rejected when by who.
  • We dislike the fact that there's no easy way to re-send the task notification email to a user; adding that feature would be great.
  • Another example that could be improved on with Nintex Workflow for SharePoint is that not everything can be migrated when doing a migration of SharePoint 2010 to 2013.
  • Adding the ability of adding "Ad-Hoc" approvers without the need of stopping and restarting the workflow would be great.
Nintex Workflow is well suited for a situation when a process needs 3-6 electronic approvals without the need of adding ad-hoc approvals. For scenarios when the process requires the ability to swap approvers without the need to stop the workflow, Nintex Workflow for SharePoint would be less appropriate. Another scenario that Nintex Workflow would be less appropriate for is when the task approval emails need to be resend.
Read Lukasz Kokot's full review
December 19, 2017

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex WorkFlow for SharePoint 2016"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex WF allows end users to build complex WFs easily for their site or dept without needing to use SharePoint Designer, which opens up backdoors for less experienced users to cause damage to the site. The visual interface is also helpful for other people trying to open up WFs that other people have built and trying to understand what was done, and what changes need to be made to update it. Its integration with Nintex Forms makes it even more powerful. The majority of the new site requests that we receive these days require using Nintex to accomplish the customizations required to meet the specifications.
  • Integration with Nintex Forms to allow prompting users for input to use in the WF, such as allowing end users to click "Create New Project Site", getting a form to filling the Project Number and Project Title, then creating the new site from a Project Template that is configured and populated automatically, running the process with Administrator Permissions so that the end users don't need to be give permissions to create sites themselves outside of the WF process.
  • A single copy item step WF can be added to a page library and added to the item menu in the library so that any page can be clicked on and copied to a new page and then edited. This also keep users out of SP Designer, and it even works on Publishing libraries which don't allow "Open In Explorer".
  • Nintex WF can run a web query, a list query, or an LDAP query. We can pull any information from Active Directory and populate list items on the fly, or just keep the data inside a WF variable such as contacting a person's Manager for an approval, then rolling up to that person's Manager for a secondary approval.
  • Nintex WF is still limited by the SharePoint WF restrictions, for example, a WF definition file larger than 1 MB doesn't open or save with causing an error. With all of the power that Nintex gives us, we are often running into the tiny WF size restrictions.
  • Nintex WF creates error Emails for every error with references and links on what you can go to in order to read about the error, but they are often not helpful in determining the issue. Issues must be troubleshot manually by turning actions off, testing individual actions or sets, creating WF History steps that write variables to the log, etc. Ad even then some errors are very difficult to figure out.
  • The Nintex WF Flexitask, used for an Approval process, will kill the process if one person declines, or, if a majority declines, but does not let you select to have all approvers give their response without terminating the process until the end. That means you don't have a log of who has issues that need to be addressed to remedy the concerns. Creating a separate Flexitask process for each approver allows all to respond, but then the WF size grows past the maximum file limit for SP WF.
Well suited for small to moderate WFs. Not well suited for large WFs or WFs that query and parse a text file from a reporting system and then create/update a SP list every hour, because the Nintex History logs fill up and the system comes to a crawl. You have to continuously work on purging the history lists while being careful not to purge data needed for WFs that are running long-term. There should be a single check box to disable/enable writing to the history instead of needed to edit every single step in the WF one at a time and opening the settings for the step to check that box.
Read this authenticated review
December 06, 2017

Nintex Platform Review: "Say yes to process improvement, say yes Nintex Workflow!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflow is being utilized throughout my organization and has addressed a multitude of issues such as invoice processing, quality alert processing, and retailer applications, to name a few.
  • Nintex Workflow is extremely easy to use via its very user-friendly interface.
  • Nintex Workflow, while easy to use, offers very in-depth technical capabilities such as the ability to utilize variables, branching, and expression generators to name a few.
  • It allows me to implement a custom form via the use of CSS in order to match our custom SharePoint design.
  • In order to view a very lengthy workflow, I often have to expand all action sets, save the workflow and then re-open the workflow in order to scroll to the bottom of the workflow.
  • Variable and notification windows take about a minute to fully load.
  • When looping through a large collection, collection variables can take up to 5 minutes to iterate through.
Nintex Workflow is well suited for the following areas:
  • Finance - Assist teams in prepping for audits.
  • Finance - Save thousands by developing a custom Invoice Processing workflow.
  • IT - Track IT requests and change requests.
  • Quality - Create alerts to send notifications to multiple departments when an issue is triggered.
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2017

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Workflow for Fast and Efficient Workflow Development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Nintex Workflow at multiple companies. In most cases, it is used across the entire organization, but some departments use it more than others. There are many scenarios Nintex Workflow can be useful for since it adds behavior to SharePoint without the need to write code. However, approval processes are one of the most common uses.
  • Nintex Workflow allows users to create workflows very quickly and easily compared to SharePoint Designer. The graphical editor also makes workflows much easier to maintain and troubleshoot.
  • Complex processes that would normally take several steps in SharePoint Designer can be done simply in Nintex Workflow, allowing for more complex workflows and extended functionality. Simple workflows can even be created by users with little IT experience.
  • SharePoint is complex and rapidly changing, so having the ability to easily and consistently create and edit workflows is invaluable. It also empowers business users to create their own workflows, which is very useful. When workflows are done by IT or someone outside of the company, it can be difficult to get the requirements exactly right and a lot of time is spent communicating them. With Nintex and a little training, business users don't need to outsource simple workflows.
  • Nintex allows great tracking and auditing capabilities out of the box that makes monitoring and maintaining workflows much easier.
  • There is a lot of great documentation on the Nintex Connect website to assist with workflow development and troubleshooting. Many business scenarios are also addressed in the forums as well.
  • Nintex workflows are very portable and can be easily exported and imported to other sites.
  • Most of what can be accomplished in Nintex Workflow can be accomplished using SharePoint Designer in some way, so some find it difficult to justify the expense. It is essentially a giant "easy" button for workflows.
  • The Office 365 version of Nintex is missing several features that are available on premises.
  • While Nintex does integrate with InfoPath, it isn't seamless. There are some timing issues and other workarounds needed in many cases, such as adding pauses to a workflow after certain steps due to some actions happening in batch by Microsoft and other actions happening in batch by Nintex.
Nintex Workflow is great for both simple and complex workflows. Simple workflows can even be done by business users with little IT experience. More complex workflows that would take much longer in SharePoint Designer and be harder to maintain can be done with Nintex as well. People new to SharePoint will also be able to learn Nintex Workflow much faster than SharePoint Designer.
Anywhere SharePoint Designer workflows can be used, Nintex is good as well. I have seen some power users prefer SharePoint Designer for certain workflows because they didn't like the way Nintex handled certain actions, but Nintex workflows and SharePoint workflows can be used side by side with no issues.
Read Justin Antczak's full review
March 30, 2017

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Forms"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex forms is utilized by many departments across our organization. It solves various problems ranging from simply improving UI from a traditional SharePoint forms to retrieving data seamlessly from an external data source. Forms can quickly be created and styled to match corporate branding policies. The biggest benefit from Nintex forms is eliminating the need for InfoPath or custom webparts. Nintex is much quicker and easier to implement across sites or farms.
  • Querying external data sources.
  • Quickly generate custom forms for list or libraries.
  • Easily create rules that can autofill forms with minimal to little coding experience.
  • Dependent on JavaScript to get the most out of the form. A form can be made without JS, but to take it to the next level requires a somewhat knowledgeable programmer.
Nintex forms is well suited for list and libraries where many data entry fields are needed. Often Nintex forms can autofill fields based upon logic. Additionally the form can be easily customized to enhance end user experience. Mobile forms can easily be created and customized per device. Instances that require forms to be completed in remote locations without data are great scenarios for nintex. Using their mobile app, users can complete forms and sync back to SharePoint once a data connection is established. Nintex is less appropriate for everyday forms where no logic can help autofill fields or there are very few fields to complete.
Read Parker Petty's full review
December 23, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex - A worthwhile Goliath sized solution, but not without an Achilles heel"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex is a very powerful tool for improved workflow capabilities within SharePoint, but at the same time some key weaknesses must be taken into account before making a large purchase like this (will cover what these are a little later). Having implement the installation and use of Nintex for multiple clients in various industries (HealthCare, Architecture, State Agencies, etc) the general application and use surpasses anything SharePoint can provide out of the box.
  • SharePoint 2013 workflows made some big improvements to match some of the capabilities Nintex has had since it's 2010 version, but in a head to head Nintex wins by a landslide in flexibility and ease of use. It's a workflow platform that can be used from nearly all skill levels, which means an enterprise deployment is not bottle-necked to a select number of "experts" to maintain all workflows. In smaller department deployments it only becomes that much easier from a governance perspective. Visual workflow building is a huge benefit in a technology world where most things are pure code. This provides a lot of flexibility in designing workflows.
  • Nintex also has the great functionality of exportation and importation. This allows a developer to build out workflows in one environment (dev) and import into another (production) after testing and quality assurance has passed. No more rebuilding workflows!
  • In addition, Nintex has a large number of workflow actions that SharePoint (2010) workflows do not include out of the box. Things like web service calls, XML parsing and string building, collection building (think arrays or dictionaries) and list querying! The list goes on and on. Adding additional custom actions is rather easy as well, and there is a large number of supported 3rd party actions out there (such as muhimbi PDF Converter).
  • Site collection settings for workflows allow for one stop shops of managing things like; error notifications, workflow history purging, reporting, and workflow constants (such as a service account accessible for use by end users in their workflows, but restricted enough to prevent the mass spread of username and password across the organization).
  • Nintex is not without its faults and limitations. One of the largest is it's workflow logging. Every single action in a workflow is stored in a database. This is good in theory, but can cause very large problems in practice if Nintex is being used in an organization that runs thousands of complex workflows everyday. The database can very quickly inflate and take up a LOT of disk space. To make matters worst, there is no quick way to clear the database or disable this functionality. Luckily there is a "purge workflow history" option in site collection settings, but remembering to have to periodically purge can be a burden. This comes off as a large limitation to me because the larger the deployment, and the more Nintex is used, the bigger a problem this will become. No company will enjoy having their "wings" clipped like this.
  • Another limitation is in how slow some default actions can take. One action that has great potential but falls flat on implementation is the Stages action. This action allows you to build out different stages within a workflow, and transfer between them based on decisions within the workflow. This has been a great use when building out custom iterative and dynamic feedback or approval workflows, but it can be so slow in triggering! According to my research, the timer jobs related to the action has a number of faults that can cause large pauses between switching stages. I've seen these pauses last anywhere from 5 minutes, to 3 days! This has resulted in having to completely remove stages from a number of workflows, and made development a lot more difficult to figure out. Very unfortunate that such a great feature has such a major flaw. I'm still waiting for a fix on this one...
As mentioned, Nintex works best in a small to medium sized deployment, or in a deployment where very high use (1000+ workflows a day) is not needed. The biggest limitation to Nintex grows the more the product is used on a daily basis.

In addition, Nintex is a good fit if the following is true;
  • SharePoint out of the box workflows cannot do what they need (SharePoint 2013 has a lot of the same features now)
  • There is a need for a large population of end users to be able to build workflows visually.
If either of these cases are true, and the first item mentioned is not a limitation, then Nintex can be a very valuable tool for your organization.
Read Matthew Greene's full review
September 18, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Workflow - More power for the DIY power users"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflow is used throughout our company for many different purposes, from managing document approval processes to exporting list data to Excel. We have over 300 workflows in use in SharePoint 2007 and 2013. As a SharePoint farm administrator, I use Nintex Workflow to manage our site request/creation process and our SharePoint 2007 to 2013 migration process. The beauty of Nintex Workflow is that it empowers our users to address their own business problems in the way that best suits their needs, with only training support from the web services team.
  • Nintex Workflow's UI is far easier to use than SharePoint Designer's UI. You can drag and drop actions to where you want them, move them around, copy them...all in a very intuitive way.
  • SharePoint Designer workflows are linear, which is too inflexible for many of our business process. Nintex Workflow's looping, parallel actions and state machine allow for a very dynamic workflow that can do far more work for you in a single workflow. I particularly like the state machine, which allows you to go forwards and backwards or even jump around in a process based on user responses.
  • With Nintex Workflow, you can query lists for items that match specific criteria then loop through those items to perform actions on them. This workflow can then be scheduled to run at specific times, automating many of the tasks you now do manually. For example, we have document libraries where the documents have expiration dates. We wrote a workflow to alert the owner that the document was going to expire at 180, 90 and 30 days from the expiration date. This workflow runs nightly.
  • Nintex Workflow integration actions extend the workflows outside of the site collection. You can use web service calls to interact with lists and libraries in other SharePoint site collections, even in different web applications or farms. You can query Active Directory to get more user information. You can even make direct SQL calls to bring in more data.
  • We use SharePoint on premises, including Nintex Workflow. Nintex has it's own databases to store the workflows. This has some disadvantages, two of which can be serious issues. First, workflows can become disassociated with their lists, make them useless. Second, in migration, backup/restore and data recovery scenarios, having to deal with two databases complicates things. I'd like to see the workflows stored with the site collection database or have on premises Nintex Workflow servers, like Office Web Apps or SharePoint 2013 workflow.
  • The error messages log to the worfklow history can be less than helpful, in many cases. It would be very helpful to have those provide more detail as to why an error occurred in a step. I find that I have to add a bunch of email notifications to the workflow as I develop it to track where things are going wrong.
  • A minor irritant is that the 2013 version doesn't handle the SharePoint 2013 changes to the format of various variable types. People and Group columns in a claims environment, for example, have odd values (i:0#.w|contoso\chris) that I end up having to write regular expressions to clean up so they work in other actions. It would be nice if Nintex Workflow was more aware of that. I am a bit behind in updates, so this may have already been improved.
If the goal is to provide end users with an easy to use but powerful workflow tool that can be designed through the web, this is the tool for you. It has some performance limitations when it comes to querying large lists, so if you tend to run lists with more than 10,000 items in them, this may not be the best choice. If you want to do heavy integration with internal systems, you'd most likely have to rely on the web services action, which can be slow over http, so, again, you may want to select a different product or develop Visual Studio workflows.
Read Collin Ames's full review
September 18, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex - It Works!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex Workflow across the organization as a tool to automate many of our business processes that were either manual, were once automated by systems that are now decommissioned at the company, and/or new process altogether. Not only do we use Nintex Workflow for automation of processes, it also helps to solve simple to moderate problems that would otherwise require some level of coding thereby simplifying our SharePoint environment.
  • Document Approvals: Nintex Workflow makes it easy to gain approval for documentation that has been submitted via a document library in SharePoint. It has the ability to handle simple approval processes but can also powerhouse through more complex approval processes as well.
  • Notifications: I think this one is worth mentioning although it is simple. Nintex Workflow has the ability to provide a more custom feel for notification than out of the box (OOTB) SharePoint notifications. It has the ability to include information from multiple lists in a site collection and it has the ability to create complex HTML to have a more custom email.
  • Data Processing: I use Nintex Workflow at times for simple data processing: For example, I recently used Nintex Workflow with a SharePoint calendar to create a reservation system. Nintex Workflow plays a key role in the calculation of available time slots and other features in the reservation system.
  • Images in notification are not impossible to accomplish, but because Nintex Workflow (and/or SharePoint) truncates the url for relativity purposes makes it difficult to just add the location of the image to the source editor.
  • Nintex Workflows in my experience do not behave consistently with SharePoint document libraries that require more metadata around a document to entered. The workflow in some instances start once the metadata information have been entered (which is what I expect) and at other times start once the document has been uploaded and prior to entering the metadata.
  • Nintex Workflow conditional start is not always consistent. There have been some instance where I have had a workflow set to start on a condition and when the condition was met the workflow failed to start.
  • Error messages from Nintex Workflow failures are at times vague which makes it difficult to troubleshoot quickly especially in more complex workflows.
I have found Nintex Workflow to be a powerful tool that helps with many of our solutions. Nintex Workflow is well suited for simple to medium complexity solutions or as an addition for complex solutions. It works well for intergroup processes like request processes, documentation approval, etc. It also helps with some simple data processing as well. It doesn't do complex calculation well and tends to fail when the process has a severe level of complexity.
Read John Stepney's full review
September 30, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "Modest workflow with Major results"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Nintex workflow to create approval workflows for the multiple forms on SharePoint. Nintex is connect to the SharePoint and Outlook. We have forms which need multiple levels of approval in them. This is very time-consuming to set up. The challenge was to notify the approver, register the approval, inform the requester of the result and finally document the approval for the future reference. Through Nintex, it’s very simple, fast and very systematized. The process is simple to follow. The notification comes directly to your Outlook inbox after approval rejected / approved the answer will come directly to the requesters inbox. This is very simple and effective and the amount of time saved in this process was really remarkable.
  • Simple and easy interface
  • Connected with the system and cloud integrations
  • Create really complex and simple workflows based on your needs
  • Great usability and end results
  • You can create a simple training video for how to use it. I do not think there are any possibility of the improvements in this product.
  • You could market this product more - very few people knows about it.
  • I love the product and we are very addicted to it at this product.
This product is well suited for the approval process where you have multiple level of approvals. This product works perfectly for for the notification process where many people are involved. It works great with forms which have lots of data in them. It also works great for questions and survey workflow processes.
Read Ruchi Jain's full review
September 30, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "The sweet spot of SharePoint Workflow"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To automate a contracts process for a major state agency. It's initial use was as a deep proof of concept, and has since been leveraged by a number of departments beyond the initial legal department. The primary issue related to lost in process and tracking progress of documents resulting in lost time and efficiency.
  • Simple build, test and deploy process
  • Visual designer
  • Integration with other systems
  • Better documentation or direction on integration with Web Services
Nintex, like other workflow solutions depends heavily on buy in at ALL levels of an organization. It also depends heavily on organizations recognizing process improvement as a major requirement for themselves.
Read Bill Watters's full review
September 30, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Workflow - You can't run SharePoint without it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflow has been crucial in our organization. It is responsible for workflows from approving time off requests to expense reports. We are a consulting firm. So not only we use Nintex, we are also a partner of Nintex. We recommend Nintex on daily basis to clients as well as deploying and training clients on Nintex Workflow. It is a wonder product that was designed to save time developing workflows. It made workflow building a task that can be done by regular users community with little to no training. Without Nintex, workflow development would have to be done highly skilled professionals and at a higher cost and effort. I don't get excited much about third-party products for SharePoint, but if you can only buy one product for SharePoint, this is definitely one to get.
  • Easy to use drag and drop workflow design
  • Easy to follow workflow history visual aid
  • Workflow can be moved from one platform to another - makes deploying to client environment an easy task
  • Some advanced functionalities, such as safe loop and incoming email for lazy approval, can be a little more refined
  • Most actions are available for 90% of uses, but no product is 100% complete, same goes for Nintex workflow
  • Nintex could provide some templates for common workflows, such as leave requests and expense reimbursement
I make recommendations for Nintex every single day. Wouldn't be surprise if Microsoft would build capabilities into SharePoint right out of the box one day.
Read Khanh Hoang's full review
September 25, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "Process automation with Nintex Workflow"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

I implemented Nintex Workflow to help automate several manual processes in our company. One is an onboarding process built fully on Nintex Workflow to eliminate many checklists in several different departments. The most important being all of the necessary Active Directory groups a new user needed to be added to when they start. I have over 40 different switches in the workflow to add a user to a necessary group based on their title or department selected.

Another workflow was created to capture receipts. This process also utilized the Nintex Forms and mobile app. Employees are now able to take a picture of a receipt on their phone and submit to a library that starts an approval process. The success rate of collecting all receipts by end of month is almost at 100% now.

One other big workflow created was an announcement email. Several different employees in our company were in charge of sending out an email to all users for all employee birthdays and work anniversaries. We also have an announcement blog for all employees to add information to versus sending out a company wide email. We automated all of the emails based on a site workflow to capture all new blogs and employee birthdays/announcements happening that day and listing them in one email with a link to the blogs for additional reading.

  • Very user friendly and easy to learn
  • End users no longer need developers to create workflows
  • If you have a manual process that walks through your office, Nintex Workflow can automate it.
  • I really don't have any weaknesses.

Nintex Workflow is a great option when a company has an in house SharePoint server or Office 365 but does not have access to a development team and would like to start automating their manual processes.

If a company does have access to a development team and would like the workflow to reach out across many different software platforms, they might be better with another software or custom solution.

Read Julia Deien's full review
September 28, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "It's worth the upgrade!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflow is being used as an alternative to developing workflows in MS SharePoint Designer.
  • The main strength is the way it "reads" your workflow. It is much easier to understand and develop when compared to the stunted text of a MS SharePoint Developer workflow.
  • I found it sometimes non intuitive to drill down into list items.
The more complicated the workflow desired, the more elegant Nintex Workflow will reveal itself to be.
Read Christopher Turek's full review
August 02, 2014

Nintex Platform: "Happy Nintex User Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I can't speak for the whole company, but in the Research dept, we are using it to automate business processes. For instance, any current approval process on paper is being transferred to SharePoint/Nintex solutions. I am also working on specific processes for time management of Lab technicians and other depts. within the company.
  • Nintex is GUI based which makes it easier to use than the SharePoint workflow in SharePoint Designer. The visual concepts of process are helpful when creating a workflow. The drag and drop feature is nice.
  • Nintex is well suited for not-too-complex workflows: More than just approvals and e-mail notifications, but less than what a developer could accomplish with custom code. Nintex is a great tool for a logical, tech-minded individual without official development skills.
  • Nintex training is somewhat lacking. I was told to go to YouTube and watch the Nintex videos for training. some of them were ok , but most did not provide training as much as they were developed as a sales too to highlight features. More in depth training and explanations of what the actions can do would be helpful.
  • Another training side note, the user guide is difficult to find on the Nintex Connect site. However, once found, it's 75% helpful for learning how to fill out certain fields in the configuration of the action.
  • Most of the time, the discussion board answers are outdated or do not quite pertain to the issues I experience.
Who is going to use this tool? What is their technical level of understanding? Nintex is well suited for tech savvy users to bypass some of the easier IT custom development projects.
Read Kassandra Thompson's full review
July 25, 2014

Nintex Platform Review: "Empower your power users to create custom workflows for themselves with Nintex Workflow."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflow is used in some of our clients SharePoint Online environments. When a customer is in need of automating a business process, my role is to use Nintex to map to their process using the Nintex Workflow actions like approvals, tasks and emails. It's been especially useful with automating processes of the human resources, recruiting and IT teams and really could be used to automate just about any simple to medium complexity processes. A specific example where Nintex Workflow has been a great solutions is with a complicated on-boarding process where there were many approvers and individuals involved that needed to complete some administrative task to complete the hiring of a new employee.
  • Other products require IT Pros or developers to figure out but with Nintex Workflow it is very easy for Power Users to create workflows. The design environment is user friendly and simple to use.
  • Reusing workflows is must have and with Nintex Workflow you get this import/export functionality that's as simple as saving and opening a file.
  • With some of the other workflow tools, you have to use multiple applications to build and view the flow diagram of a workflow. The design panel of Nintex Workflow is perfect for getting a quick overview of what is going on and is the same location where you build the workflow.
  • There are some features available in the Nintex Workflow for on premise SharePoint that are not available in the Office 365 version. This is something that continuously comes up when building a workflow.
  • Trouble shooting can be a bit difficult for end users. There are a few features like variables and log to history that assist with troubleshooting but isn't something that stands out to end users, it requires training them on how to use these features to assist with finding problems.
When the users are likely to be power users rather than developers or IT pros, I would highly recommend Nintex Workflow. If the process you're attempting to automate is simple or has medium complexity, I would also highly recommend the product because of its ease of use and reusability.
Read Amy Sawtell's full review
August 19, 2014

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Forms for SharePoint 2010"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Nintex Forms for many of my SharePoint applications and solutions for our business. We build mini applications that allow users to enter data that can be rolled to our C-Level staff. Nintex Forms works great for these kind of situations. This product creates a big ROI for the company.
  • Integrates and takes over native SharePoint forms
  • Integrates with Nintex Workflows
  • Creates a simple way to deliver collaborative forms
  • Embed your forms into SharePoint webparts
  • Push your Nintex Form to Nintex Live
  • They just released a new Nintex Support Community which is much better than it used to be.
  • Nintex Forms lacks some of the native SharePoint features
  • Cross site lookup needs to be improved
  • Their licensing model is a nightmare
  • Their phone support needs better customer service
  • The support tickets needs a better response time
Nintex Forms works well if you are implementing a Help Desk system or Customer Service modules, and for everyday use.
Read Arron Robles's full review
August 01, 2014

Nintex Platform: "Nintex Workflow Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using in Business Application development. It solves a need for an automated approval system of compliance documents.
  • Planned out and organized. Able to get the exact users the right information at the right time to get business done.
  • Efficient and timely. Allows the business process to flow very quickly by presenting the information and correct documents for approval lightning fast. Speeds up the entire approval process.
  • Easy to use GUI. After only working with the product for a few weeks I was able to pick up many of the strengths of Nintex that allowed me to use all of its specific features to complete the tasks I wanted.
  • Regular expression identifiers. Whenever I was using the state machine in order to pull information out of a database, I needed updating of the regular expression identifiers. Having these built in or having a help tab would be extremely helpful.
  • Less errors. There were still a good amount of bugs that prevented workflows from operating at 100% effectiveness. Getting rid of these would surely enhance the product by allowing the workflows to run smoothly.
  • Better debugging system. If a workflow fails at any point due to user error (not bugs), an improved debugging system should be implemented to help speed up the corrective process taken by the user. This is not a difficult task to develop and would surely solve many headaches for users.
It is well suited for any environment in my opinion. Every department can use automation to its advantage. Nintex provides that.
Read Dmitriy Schwarz's full review
August 19, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "Software Solution Excellent, Support (Today) is not Excellent"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Nintex Workflow for to solve a variety of problems. The most common are approvals; Nintex makes designing a workflow approvals painless. For more complex problems we use a SharePoint list to manage profiles for our employees to a hosted fax solution. The SharePoint list has a workflow that uses LDAP query to find AD Properties and the a site workflow that takes the information from the SharePoint list and exports it to a CSV file. This file is then emailed to the hosted fax solution where they then to a bulk update of our information.

Another complex solution takes where SharePoint has the content organizer and gives it steroids. By having a central library we can upload documents to there and then place additional rules on that library that does web service calls to gather more information from our line of business applications and then creates document sets to place those documents in.

  • Easy of use
  • Intuitive
  • Variety of action
  • Error handling - not all the actions allow for handling errors within the workflow, rather the workflow errors.
  • Support - Back in 2007 their support was amazing, but lately in the last few months it has been difficult to get things fixed in a timely fashion
Once you start building in Nintex, then you never will go back to using built in or SharePoint Designer workflows.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2015

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Workflow from a SharePoint Architects Perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflow is used across various business units primarily for approval workflows, however it is also used to provision SharePoint Site Collections and Sub Sites, manage Active Directory User accounts, and integrate with line of business systems.

Each department is empowered to build and manage workflows on their own sites or enlist IT to either create the workflows for them or assist during the process. Typically we see users work with IT resources on their first couple of workflow projects and then branch out on their own.
  • Nintex Workflow does a great job of providing document approval workflows in SharePoint. The workflows can provide multiple approval steps while accepting feedback along the way. At any point the workflow can be designed to route the document back to the author to make the requested changes and then sent back through the approval process. There's also a variety of ways to branch the logic and even run items in parallel.
  • Nintex Workflow has over 100 workflow actions and does a good job of managing items in SharePoint. For example there are actions to copy, check-in/check-out, delete, and move items. Security can also be managed on the items as they go through approvals. Security can be set at the item level to make the item visible only to those reviewing and approving the item while it's in a draft status. Once the item is approved then Nintex could be used to set the item back to inherit permissions from the parent making it available to a broader audience.
  • Nintex Workflow supports various options to schedule or invoke the workflow. For example a list or document library based workflow could be set to start manually or when items are created and modified. This is similar to SharePoint Designer workflows, however one feature I found useful was the ability to add an entry to the context menu to start the workflow manually. This is more convenient than navigating to the workflows page for the list or document library.
  • The product includes support for site based workflows that includes scheduling options similar to the Windows Task Scheduler. For example you can select a schedule start time, repeat settings, and schedule end (data, number of repeats, indefinite).
  • The vendor has a library of "Connectors" which allow Nintex Workflows to integrate with systems such as Box, O365, Google, Salesforce, Docusign, etc. This is a great value add because it helps extend the reach of SharePoint with other systems.
  • The vendor was late to offer an SDK for SharePoint 2013, but they did release it in early 2013.
  • There are built-in reports provided and also web parts that allow you to display the data in a grid or chart based format. The presentation of the data isn't the greatest and the charts have issues depending on the type of browser being used. I would like to see better reporting capabilities in future versions of the product.
  • Managing and monitoring a large number of workflows across the farm can be a bit challenging. The built-in reports will allow both workflow designers and admins the ability to view workflow history, however a dashboard approach maybe more user friendly. In the 3.1.1 version Nintex did include a Support Console which helps in pulling together information to provide to the vendor for support.
  • Training material is very limited. Documentation provided by the vendor doesn't provide enough information to build out anything but the simplest of examples. There are a few vendors who provide Nintex Workflow training as well as a Nintex YouTube channel, but very little written literature on the topic. For example you won't find a book on how to build Nintex Workflows.
During the selection process it's important to understand what the capabilities of the product are and also the learning curve for Content Managers and Power Users to be able to create their own workflows. I would also make a point of knowing what your options are to extend the product since it's lacking an SDK for the 2013 version. If extending the product is important you may want to look at other solutions.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Dashboards (7)
7.0
Standard reports (7)
7.6
Custom reports (6)
7.3
Process designer (12)
8.8
Process simulation (11)
6.8
Business rules engine (12)
8.0
SOA support (12)
7.9
Process player (8)
7.2
Support for modeling languages (5)
5.5
Form builder (10)
8.7
Model execution (10)
7.9
Social collaboration tools (7)
8.7
Content management (10)
8.3

About Nintex Platform

The Nintex Platform offers a set of intelligent process automation technologies. The Nintex Platform includes capabilities for advance workflow, DocGen™, modern forms, mobile apps, and process intelligence.

The platform promises to enable professionals to automate, orchestrate and optimize business processes with clicks rather than code. According to the vendor, with Nintex, both public and private sector enterprises can design, deploy and manage the best solutions and services possible to ensure customer needs are met and productivity is maximized.

Nintex Platform Features

Process Engine Features
Has featureProcess designer
Does not have featureProcess simulation
Has featureBusiness rules engine
Has featureSOA support
Does not have featureProcess player
Does not have featureSupport for modeling languages
Has featureForm builder
Has featureModel execution
Collaboration Features
Does not have featureSocial collaboration tools
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Content Management Capabilties Features
Does not have featureContent management

Nintex Platform Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Nintex Platform Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
15%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
36%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
49%

Nintex Platform Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Nintex Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web