Nintex Process Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
271 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 149)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 13, 2020
Guy De Backer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex Process Platform for a set of workflows across the company. Going from workflows for simple approval to more complex workflows with cascading decisiontrees. The most of these workflows are used by our human resources department. We for instance have Nintex Process Platform combined with a workflow to do the onboarding of new employees. Another workflow is used to order sandwiches.
  • Visual programming
  • More functionality than the out of the box workflows
  • Sharepoint wide workflows and sitebound workflows
  • Monitoring running workflows
  • Debugging
  • More assistance when using REST-API's
Nintex has good default templates for approval workflows. But it's also well suited for more complex workflows where more logic is needed in the workflow. It can not be used for hybrid setups where a company has an on premise SharePoint environment and an Office 365 SharePoint online tenant. There is no way to setup workflow between these type of hybrid setups.
We use Nintex Process Platform in our on premises Microsoft SharePoint 2013 platform to implement all kinds of workflows. Going from simple approval workflows over complex workflows for onboarding new employees. Or managing the creation of Microsoft SharePoint sites for managing our cross departmental projects.
Thanks to Nintex Process Platform we can develop and roll out implementations for business processes very quickly.
We have a third party supplier assisting us in the use of the product, so they do most of the support tickets. But based on the speed the supplier comes back to us with the right solution, makes us believe the Nintex support is good and swift. Also the support forums are useful.
All in all the Nintex process platform is easy to use, because of the visual nature of the workflow editor it is easy for a non technical person to develop simple workflows. As mentioned earlier, for bigger and more complex workflows the visual interface is a bit more cumbersome to keep a good overview of the whole workflow.
Read Guy De Backer's full review
October 07, 2020
Bob Thorne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We struggled with using out-of-the-box new and edit forms in SharePoint Online. Lack of conditional formatting, end user adoption, etc. Implementing Nintex Forms allows us to create a more user-friendly solution with the security trimming and formatting we looked for. Currently we're using Forms firmwide across a variety of solutions: research requests, information gathering, etc.
  • Security trimming fields, based on SharePoint user groups.
  • Design flexibility.
  • Their modern form template doesn't include functionality that older forms offered, like buttons.
  • Much of their available training focuses on the older template designer.
  • Older template designer is difficult to work in, and end-result "looks" old.
Nintex excels at making user friendly forms.

While forms supports repeating fields, extracting that data after it's submitted is very difficult, to the point I'm reluctant to use it.
SharePoint Online. Very easy to enable and configure, so I'm not wasting time getting to the designer.
Read Bob Thorne's full review
October 06, 2020
HAkeem Olateju | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilise the Nintex Work flow tool to automate the processes within our Case Management Systems on SharePoint. We also use Nintex Forms. Both are used across the organisation.
  • What the platform does so well is handling the workflow efficiently and effectively without errors.
  • It is very visual, you can view the entire process (as a map).
  • An area I'll want to see improvement is the provision of training by Nintex.
  • Another area is the engagement with Nintex, we currently have to go through a 3rd party.
  • On the product itself, it's ensuring the guides are easy to assimilate e.g. in the rare occasion when a workflow gets stuck.
The workflow tool is fantastic! It can be used as 'the engine room' to handle the automated processes for any management system. We currently used it on our Advocacy Management System and Safeguarding Management Systems. I can say it is suitable for any similar system, especially, where work flow automation is required. Nintex Forms is also great all round, it is easy to edit and has a publish functionality that allows you view changes before they are published.
We use Nintex on our on-premise SharePoint setup. As at 5 years ago when we were in the market for a workflow software with a capability internal and external use (public facing), we reached a conclusion that Nintex Forms and Work Flow tool met all our requirements and actually in some areas it provided additional capabilities that were beneficial that we hadn't thought about.
Read HAkeem Olateju's full review
October 06, 2020
Maicon Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Today we use the tool as a workflow solution for payment flow to external customers. The tool is used by all companies in the Brazilian division.
In the past we sent a document by mail to the client, the client signed and stamped the document and returned via mail to the company, today it follows the entire approval flow, both from the client and the manager via workflow at Nintex. In the old process it took us 45 days to pay our customers, today it takes us around 5 days. It was also a complicated process, because with the size of Brazil, the document was lost in the mail, so we had to issue a new document to get all due approvals again.
Today the Manager receives a link from the workflow to approve, he approves, the client receives the document to approve, and is sent to the accounts payable department.
  • Friendly.
  • Easy.
  • Complete.
  • Workflow error - it is bad!
  • Little content on the internet.
  • Many versions.
The Nintex platform I would give a note of 8, although it is very good and complete, the person has to have some knowledge of workflow, some of programming, so that he can evolve well with the tool and bring the benefits that the person expects from the tool.
For example for approval flow it is very good, but when we perform the workflow within Nintex, if the system gives an error and does not send the email requesting approval from the approver, you have to start the flow again. I opened a ticket and that was it information I had, and this is horrible thinking about a big and robust process where there are several requests going on. If it is a high flow of approval, I do not recommend it for this reason, but if it is a small demand, it would help a lot to use the Nintex workflow.
Today I use it in the payment environment, flow of payment approvals from external customers.
We have a project to start all our customer and product masterdata within the tool, making since the registration request, following the registration approvals and uploading the information collected in our systems.
Also for employee reimbursement requests that Microsoft forms are used today.
Read Maicon Silva's full review
August 03, 2020
Thierry Aime | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used by our digital transformation team, which is responsible for reducing costs and improving efficiencies through the use of Nintex forms and workflows. Our use case includes inspection forms for maintenance departments, lab workflow, and form engine to support testing, employee gift cards, employee vacation requests, global approval forms, and host of solutions for specific business areas.
  • Approvals
  • Forms
  • Automations
  • The ability to pass variables through other workflows such as local vs. site workflows
  • The forms should have the ability to display parent and child records such as a relational database.
  • Ability to extract information from standard formatted emails
Nintex Process Platform is well suited when there are no existing systems in place or when information is stored within Excel spreadsheets as opposed to a dedicated system. It can also be used to replace existing paper-based forms or word/pdf forms where the information is difficult to summarize due to the data being relegated to each instance.
I use it in Office 365 and on-premise deployments. It truly depends on the client's deployment infrastructure. Having it available for several SharePoint versions makes it convenient to implement and port over solutions especially during upgrades. There are a few features that are more readily available on the cloud however which is an advantage over on-premise installations.
Read Thierry Aime's full review
July 31, 2020
Jordan Deroubaix | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nintex Workflows (and Forms) in all our internal and external processes: from HR for the annual employee interview, to purchase order but without forgetting sales order approval processes or expert time booking tool.

Based on our Intranet (and Extranet) platform, all users have restricted access to some or all of our applications. We have at least 100 workflows On-Prem, that help users in their daily tasks.

Nintex Workflow has reduced the turnaround time of the purchase order process, with the very appreciated feature "lazy approval."

Our productivity and responsiveness have been improved, and all users are now fully familiar with the Nintex Process Platform.
  • Approval workflow.
  • Lazy approval.
  • SQL queries to external database.
  • Webservices call.
  • Active Directory queries.
  • Nintex Forms simplicity.
  • More integration with External Content Type field.
  • API for custom workflow block.
  • More specific error log.
Nintex is well suited for all approval/management workflows. It is easy to implement and all validations (with forms, or email) are just easy as pie.

Nintex reduces the time of all kind of procedures and we can dematerialize almost all user requests (even the craziest, and trust me, in my company, they have a lot a crazy ideas!).

If you want to build a simple (or complex) purchase order workflow, it is the best solution on the market (we have made a full benchmark to find a suitable solution).
It will be much easier to implement complicated tasks with Nintex compared to the time spent developing them (with hardcoded solution). Nintex has many out of the box features that help meet customer (internal or external) needs.

Based on what has been implemented in our company, we have a "complex" Purchase Order app that allows a key user to dynamically change the process without entering the Workflow Designer. All processes can be updated using SharePoint lists: approvers, criterias of approval.

It is also appropriate if you want to generate document (Word/PDF) based on SharePoint forms for example.
We are using Nintex Process Platform for our Intranet and Extranet platforms. And we have for each platform, 3 environments (dev, quality and production).

Nintex Process Platform's deployment are useful in order to be fully integrated with our system. We have a specific testing process that need to be followed, so deployment between env/platform has to be working fine.

For doing such deployment, we also use an external tool that is fully compatible with Nintex.
Read Jordan Deroubaix's full review
July 23, 2020
Ben Bartlett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We intended Nintex to address problems across the board, however, Sharepoint On-Premise product has been neglected since Nintex was acquired and began getting into other products such as 365 and RPA, as well as there’s much more [customization] necessary than advertised. I would not recommend the product if asked.
  • I honestly cannot think of three things it does well without custom code.
  • Forms need to be more intuitive, too much JavaScript is necessary.
  • Still cannot use SQL and web service calls in the mobile app.
  • Document generation should be free. Not much value when everything is nickel and dimed.
Simple Approval workflows is about all it can handle reliably. I would not recommend it to someone in hopes filling a true application need.
I’ve had a simple issue that’s had a ticket open since April preventing me from moving forward with any upgrades. I just want basic consistency with the quality of the product and I’ve yet to experience this as a customer for 4 years.
Read Ben Bartlett's full review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflow for Sharepoint is being used across the whole organization. It is used for building of business processes. For example, approval processes (vacation, purchase, development of new products), documentation, information boards etc. Over time, we are digitizing more and more bureaucratic tasks. We can no longer imagine using Sharepoint without Nintex Workflow.
  • It is quite easy to learn.
  • It's logical and easy to document.
  • It is flexible.
  • Starting workflows from a specific location (continuing).
  • Debugging.
  • Workflow scheduling.
  • Integration with Active Directory (Windows Domain).
Well suited for workflows building on Sharepoint platform - we already recommended Nintex Workflow to our sister company. They started to use it two years ago. But it is not cheap - I think it is only for larger companies. Suitable only for companies with a high proportion of employees using a computer for work.
I'm not sure if I understood the question correctly. We use Nintex Workflow in the environment of Windows and Sharepoint Foundation 2013. We started using it at Sharepoint 2010, about 4 years ago we migrated. Migration was relatively easy because the Nintex Workflow platform is flexible. Just a few minor adjustments were enough - these were also caused by changes in Sharepoint. However, the truth is also that we do not use very specific modifications of Sharepoint, we adhere to a relatively strict standard.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Process Platform is our primary e-forms and workflow application used across our company. I have implemented over 50 e-forms and workflows across various teams: HR, Finance, Health and Safety etc.
  • Easy to create form solutions.
  • Drag and drop workflow creation.
  • Able to develop form/workflow solutions for our Intranet (SharePoint Online) using Nintex for O365 or standalone cloud-based forms and workflows using Nintex Workflow Cloud.
  • Can quickly improve internal processes by rapidly (within days) replacing manual forms processes with automated e-form and workflows.
  • Happy with the platform - no issues.
Excellent for rapidly automate manual form processes.
There are a number of features provided by Nintex Process Platform that I have not found the time to utilize: eg. Nintex App Studio, Document Generation.
I use Nintex Process Platform in Office 365/SharePoint Online. I have also started using Nintex Workflow Cloud, which is application agnostic.
I manage our company's SharePoint Online Intranet, and have primarily used Nintex Process Platform as it is easy to deploy from SharePoint Lists.
Read this authenticated review
October 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex workflows quite often along with SharePoint services. I feel personally this is helpful to me to built in built process flow within SharePoint sites, libraries and lists.
Majority of the times I used it with InfoPath forms and I see it's more helpful and reliable. I wish to use Nintex forms to replace InfoPath forms, and I see it's more compatible and user friendly using along with Nintex workflows on SharePoint platform.
  • User friendly and easy to understand.
  • More reliable and compatible with SharePoint services.
  • Don't really need prior experience to start with.
  • I personally believe more automated actions would help.
  • Compatibility with automate triggering workflow would help.
I personally feel Nintex is more reliable platform when it comes to SharePoint users.
Both DEV and Live on SharePoint servers we use on a regular basis. It's more important for our teams to communicate on a daily basis and store files on SharePoint. Nintex plays a vital role in submitting forms and sign-off.
Read this authenticated review
October 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex is used within our company to create a series of workflow approvals for different processes that were previously done on paper.
  • Workflow automation.
  • Visual overview of workflow process.
  • Ability to handle multiple workflows.
  • CSS customization could be better.
  • Could be easier to test an edit of existing workflow.
For our purposes automation of workflows, especially workflows that require approval by multiple people is very easy to do with Nintex. This has allowed us to create multiple, complex workflows that have replaced many paper based processes. These workflows are used by all staff within our company (500+ people).

We do wish we could have more control over the look and feel of the interface.
We use Nintex within the SharePoint environment. This was the easiest and most convenient environment for us to implement into. This was due to the fact the environment was already configured for all of our users.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex to generate our proposals and contracts or agreements across a few functions within the organisation, namely sales, client management and marketing.
It helps alleviate manual work, inconsistencies or discrepancies in documentation and meets our objective of meeting audit requirements.
  • Flexibility to customise different sets of documents and formats.
  • Allows users options to generate the type of document they want.
  • Fewer steps to generate one document - we have to click 'download' and 'run document' in order to achieve the same thing.
Suited for fixed standard procedures and templates for documentations. Not so suited for more organic methods of presenting details to prospects or clients.
Proposal/quotation to clients/partners.
Contracts and agreements upon confirmation of sale or negotiations.
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented the Nintex Platform on our SharePoint 2013 On-Prem environment and have been successfully automating processes since 2014. We started small with a few key business processes and expanded over the years across multiple business units and departments. Today we have automated over 100 processes including HR onboarding/offboarding, employee access requests and safety forms to name just a few.
  • Quick to learn if you have some technical ability.
  • Non developers are able to build powerful workflows.
  • Able to quickly deliver results to the business.
  • Support for on premise seems to be slowing down and Nintex is pushing to move to the cloud.
  • Nintex support can be slow to resolve issues with the product.
  • In my experience, non technical users will have difficulty building good workflows.
Nintex is well suited to organizations with well defined, repeatable business processes that are currently manual. Nintex is best suited when used to automate easy to medium complex processes. Our organization made the mistake of automating some highly complex processes early on. While we were able to do it, they became a nightmare to maintain and support (enhancements requested by the business). If your organization is looking for a tool for automating highly complex processes, I would recommend traditional development (.NET for example).
We use Nintex in SharePoint 2013 on-premise. Nintex has really started pushing to migrate users to O365 or their Nintex Workflow Cloud offering. They run under a different pricing model that can be limited to smaller organizations. At the present time, their cloud offerings cannot match all the functionality that exists on-prem which would be one reason that keeps us on-premise.
Support is slow to resolve issues. It seems like tier 1 support is slow to escalate issues. Once escalated, the issues are typically resolved quickly.
Read this authenticated review
August 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization & it mostly resolves our HR related process for approval automation. It has been extensively used by our executive to approve many ideas presented by our analyst & legal team. Employees and managers also used Nintex workflow to approve many employee self-service portal services like leave requests, business requests, expense claims & many more.
  • Ease of use
  • Low code
  • Process automation
  • Flexibillity
  • Allow workflows to be restarted where error happen.
  • Better exception handling.
Nintex is really suited for process automation, where a single process needs multiple levels of approval and logic calculation & subsequent decisions to be made based on this logical conclusion. I don't rate Nintex high on the flexibility of running workflow, which is tedious at best. There is a lot of room where Nintex can improve & there is a long way ahead.
As explained in the previous question, we have used Nintex extensively in HR-related process automation. Nintex Form is very rigid and not very useful in terms of flexibility. As the complexity of the form logic increases exponentially, so should the complexity of designing the form itself. Form maintenance is very hard. If a team member joins there is no straight forward way of passing the info to employee.
Read this authenticated review
July 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Nintex Platform is used primarily as our "Thank You" letter generator for gift acknowledgements by a single user. I have found its integration with Salesforce cumbersome and the ramp-up time to support it overly complicated. For the Salesforce NPSP, a reduced package streamlining an easy step-by-step letter upload/generator process would be greatly beneficial. Certain aspects are still not compatible with Lightning and cost significant time debugging.

Once up, it works fine. But going back in for modifications makes me take a deep breath. Upgrading to the latest version took days.
  • Generates Documents in Bulk
  • Incorporates Salesforce Fields
  • Support is responsive
  • Integration with Salesforce NPSP is overly complicated. Simple interface would be beneficial.
  • Upgrade procedure involves way too many intricate steps.
  • Interface is archaic as Lightning integration is incomplete.
If you want a simple document generation for your Salesforce platform, a word merge is much simpler. Once up and going, through much pain, Nintex performs fairly well unless you have to look under the hood.
We use DocGen exclusively. Its licensing is restrictive as only one user may access it.
Read this authenticated review
October 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization was able to use Nintex workflows to compress processes that previously took multiple steps (with multiple points of opportunity for human and technical errors) into a single step from a user point of view. Being able to eliminate the possibility of any one step being forgotten or bottlenecked was great. Additionally, the automation allows for the system to function independent of any one employee being at work, eliminating the fear of the "person who knows how it works" to leave and take the functionality with them.
  • Easy to pick up, very intuitive
  • Scalable for small tasks or large
  • Transparent operation if troubleshooting is needed
  • If a workflow doesn't work, maybe a button to send the entire workflow to customer service of some sort to debug
  • More gui to enhance the drag and drop functionality
  • Options to automate purging history of workflows

Nintex workflows are best suited for large companies with repetitive tasks. With large groups that often find their members in different physical or geographic areas, there is opportunity for group think. Tasks that are repetitive and time-intensive are often overlooked as each person thinks it's the other person's responsibility to complete said task, resulting in the task not being completed. Additionally, compartmentalization in tasks with large companies leads to subject matter experts (SME) hording their specific knowledge. When they leave, they often take that knowledge with them, setting back workflow processes and requiring "re-invention of the wheel". Since the Nintex Process Platform allows tasks to not only be automated and repeating but assign more than one employee as the owner, it eliminates those hurdles.

Regarding scenarios less suited for this platform, smaller companies where each task is highly different from the last. On any scale, automation is helpful; however with small businesses where there is a high degree of personalization and uniqueness to each transaction, automation might be more trouble than it's worth.

My current usage of the Nintex Process Platform is integrated into a Sharepoint system that my company uses to build team resources and homepage. In a call-center environment, we often have lists of questions to ask in a diverging branch design, where the answer to the previous question dictates which question to ask next. Nintex allow me to create forms that alter their questions in real time, shifting the questions yet to fill out based on the answers to answers already submitted. This real time flexibility allows for more targeted responses without bombarding people with white noise of questions that are not relevant to their individual inquiries and needs.

Another situation the Nintex Process Platform is used is in employee training tracking. We have a list of all our employees, and due to staggered hiring dates, often they are at different stages of training. Nintex allows us to build processes to track their progress and alert us of upcoming milestones, so that we can update their system access accordingly.

I have yet to utilize the formal vendor support, so I cannot speak to it's efficacy. However, I do expect to utilize them eventually, and the links to them via the Nintex Process Platform itself bodes well that the support team is open to helping and willing to assist in my issues.
I truly value the functionality that Nintex Process Platform has afforded me. It has saved me time, and ensured certain multi-step tasks no longer have portions that fall through the cracks due to my human error. Not a perfect score due to a less than comprehensive built-in training mode, but a few YouTube videos can remedy that.
The scalability is really bottlenecked by the imagination of the user. I was able to make processes for my own personal usage, making my daily tasks easier. I was also able to make processes that affected hundreds of employees, making large standardization and efficiency gains. So either way, the system is used the same way, and I was the limiting factor.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2020
kesavamoorthi Rajagopal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. It simplifies converting the typical paper-based forms to digital forms easily and route it for different roles involved in the process. Power users are empowered to automate their needs without looking out for some specialists to implement the form or workflow for them.
  • Browser based WYSIWYG form designer.
  • Lot of actions to suit all needs requirement to model any process.
  • Ability to design a complex step as a user-defined action so that it can be used by normal users across the organization.
  • Seamless workflow/form design and publish experience.
  • For complex form designs, using custom javascript or CSS is not so straight forward. The advanced responsive form is not so flexible for complex requirement needs.
  • Large workflows are not so stable and have performance impact. To get around this, rather than one big workflow, multiple smaller workflows to be created which is not so user friendly while looking at the workflow history.
  • Lack of support to implement multilingual forms in SharePoint platform.
The platform is well suited in an organization where the power users are encouraged to be empowered to automate their needs themselves without a steep learning curve. Organizations that have already invested in SharePoint platform can leverage the Nintex process platform to make most out of their SharePoint infrastructure. The platform would be less appropriate where there is not a lot of process/forms required.
We use the Nintex platform for forms and workflows in SharePoint 2013 and 2019 on-premise environment. The flexibility of deploying the Nintex platform over the SharePoint farm is very good and straightforward. It is very important for us that our SharePoint farm administrator can also easily take care of Nintex platform deployment, configuration, and maintenance activities.
Read kesavamoorthi Rajagopal's full review
July 08, 2020
John Leung, MBA, PMP, CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to develop in-house forms and workflows through Office 365 with SharePoint. It is used across the org and it helps digitize our intake and workflows. We use it for our project management intake process, to take in new initiatives. Having the customization to add and remove fields, and the ability to set controls to collect them has significantly helped our planning and prioritization process.
  • Ease of use
  • Pricing
  • Ease of maintenance
  • Limitations in integration with Microsoft tools.
  • Limitations in the new responsive forms.
  • Defects introduced in the responsive forms.
Well suited for lightweight forms and workflows. Internal processes and digitizing Word and Excel documents. I love the customization ability and no-code approach to minimize any barriers to start. It is less appropriate for complex applications where we need data and apps beyond SharePoint. Although we are using Nintex for O365 at the moment and know there are other offerings.
  • Nintex for Office 365
  • Nintex Forms
  • Nintex Workflow

It is important for us to be able to deploy and publish quickly to handle rapid changes. We love the ability to manage the deployment end to end, without any external vendor for us to publish. Doing so allowed us to create a POC much quicker and without the need for other technical resources.
Read John Leung, MBA, PMP, CSM's full review
June 27, 2020
Anne Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nintex for all departments as part of our digital transformation. In particular, any processes that are still on paper, which in government is a lot. Working from home since the pandemic began has made this a lot more urgent, and Nintex has been a huge help.
  • Forms are really easy to create with the responsive designer.
  • Simple workflows can be created in minutes and save hours of work.
  • Training materials and classes are amazing.
  • We are still unable to get document generation working. It is most likely our configuration, but we can't figure out what specifically to fix.
  • The new Responsive Designer is still missing a lot that's included in the Responsive Designer.
  • I wish there was versioning on workflows.
  • I'd LOVE to be able to test a workflow or section of it without publishing it yet.
Well-suited: our entire digital transformation process has been made so much easier using Nintex, from the ease of building forms to the power of creating flows. Having a consistent interface is really huge too, because so many of our users are not very technologically savvy, so giving them a familiar form makes training easier and lowers resistance to change.

Less well-suited: for just a really "dumb" form that the average user can create, with no workflow behind it, we have them use the O365 forms. That way, they can get a results breakdown without a workflow behind it and we don't have to provide much support for it.
Read Anne Collier's full review
June 17, 2020
Chris Boxall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Nintex Document Generation to generate documents related to fundraising activities in the organization. For example, we'll send a letter when someone signs up to give regularly or signs up on the website to get a copy of our book. We'll also use the filters to decide what kinds of letters are sent based on multiple different factors so that the content is relevant for our supporters.
  • Multi-level merge fields that can get information from several child records.
  • Keeps the formatting of letters from the Word doc.
  • Lots of automation possibilities.
  • Bad compatibility with Salesforce Lightning. Still relies on workflow rules and older layouts; the Lightning layout doesn't have all the tools needed and still relies on flash.
  • Not user-friendly for the everyday user and often requires a deep level of architectural understanding or SOQL to build things well.
  • Can be temperamental, a slight change can break everything.
It does everything you need it to do but doesn't do it in a user-friendly and quick way, so it's difficult to really recommend, however, based on the options out there it's the most cost-effective platform to offer the number of features it does offer. For example, it doesn't work with the Salesforce Process Builder and uses workflows and alerts to handle automations. But letter generation works, however, this side of things can break if the relationships aren't set up properly, which again, takes someone with a good understanding of the platform, so not user-friendly for the everyday user.
Salesforce, but we only use the document generation side of the platform, not the full process side so we rely on the Salesforce platform for the automation and Nintex for the document generation.
Read Chris Boxall's full review
June 17, 2020
Jeffrey Horne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex form generation to generate and send Acknowledgment Letters for our constituents' donations. We also use it to create applications for our Fiscal Sponsorship program. It is being used across the whole organization. It makes the creation of certain documents not only contained within the same system but gives a ease of use when sending via email or snail mail.
  • It lives within Salesforce which has eliminated the need for separate programs.
  • It is easy to not only create the forms but also to setup and build the templates.
  • Customer service has always been top-notch. Quick and useful.
  • I don't have much to say about improvements as the software has always met our expectations. I am excited to see updates and additional functionality.
Our use case is creating forms directly from Salesforce. If anyone is looking for an easy way to create Acknowledgement Letters, send them to the appropriate person, and log that the letter was sent I would highly recommend Nintex.
Salesforce. I have been impressed with the flexibility and have had no issues what-so-ever making it work for our needs.
Read Jeffrey Horne's full review
June 13, 2020
vinay ayinapurapu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Platform is being used by our IT department. We also successfully implemented it with clients and we got very positive feedback on the Nintex Products based upon the following:
  • Ease of design
  • Ease of implementation
  • Ease of maintenance and support
It addresses the complex business problems like serial and parallel approvals, sequential and state approval scenarios, and long-running tasks cases where it takes 3 to 4 months to get approval on requests.
  • Complex approval process.
  • Easing the form design with Nintex Forms.
  • Getting the ROI and usage history using Hawkeye.
  • Inline action debugging which is lacking on online.
  • Workflow error notification for failed items.
Nintex process is well suited for complex approval process and forms. Considering scenario, if we have more than 10 to 12 level approvers and each approver takes time to approve the request and the reporting for approvals needs to be generated via approval dashboard, Nintex Forms with Workflow is well suited for that complex scenario. Also, implementation and maintenance are easy compared to OOTB workflows and other tools coming from the Power Platform. The beauty with Nintex is it is tightly coupled to the Office 365 suite and doesn't leave the scope. Even though there is licensing cost involved, in the end, it saves other development and maintenance efforts that could be caused using OOTB approaches.

If it is a simple approval process, like collecting feedback and simple approvals, and audit approvals are not required, this still can be implemented using Nintex. However, it could be costly because of Nintex's license charge incurred per workflow and on a per-year basis. This kind of scenario can be easily achieved by the MSFT power platform, which comes to users via organization subscriptions.
We mostly implement in Office 365 SharePoint online. As I mentioned, with the tool it is easy to design the complex needs with simple predefined action items and configure the design flow. Migrating from one environment to another environment is easy. Also, it is easy to take up the reusable design and implement it in other requirements. This, in turn, saves money for Development and client resources.
Read vinay ayinapurapu's full review
June 02, 2020
Andrew Dean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Process Platform is being used across the organization as a document generation platform for sales contracts in conjunction with DocuSign. It addresses the need for a seamless system that allows us to automatically generate documents that can be sent to our customers upon completion of an order being placed.
  • Integration with Salesforce
  • Customizability
  • Robust function
  • Larger Community
  • Ease of Use
  • UX Aesthetics
I believe that Nintex Process Platform is well suited to a use case where those who are implementing it are fairly tech and software savvy. The platform is fairly robust and can be customized to a significant degree, but it does take some time to familiarize oneself with it fully. I would say that where it is less appropriate is for users who are not power users and would struggle with customizing the system to adapt to their needs. Such users would likely struggle with the UX and become frustrated.
We use it in Salesforce. The deployment flexibility is important to us because we are a Salesforce-centric business and the ability to implement within the environment easily is very important to our business goals.
Read Andrew Dean's full review
May 25, 2020
Harshit Singhal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a document generation software (as an App Exchange package) in our Salesforce CRM to generate quotes and contracts.
  • Automatically generates contracts.
  • Seamlessly integrates with DocuSign capabilities.
  • Supports multiple document formats.
  • If I run the same package as a single user for more than 1 contract record, I face latency issues when generating documents.
  • SOQL Relationships should take input via a drag and drop capability rather than a text field.
  • Increase Nintex support during India timezone.
This is really well suited because of the following advantages:
1) It instantly transforms data stored in Salesforce CRM into mission-critical documents - like Quotes, Contracts, etc.
2) Very smoothly integrates with a Salesforce CRM org via App Exchange managed package.
3) Support is really good, you get a response within a few hours of raising the case.
I use Nintex with Salesforce CRM to generate contracts and quotes automatically. We maintain more then 40 different packages to run our quotes and contracts. So yes, it would be great if the deployment experience is enhanced as currently we have no mechanism to track changes done to a package and we have to migrate it as a whole by going into Classic view (which is another challenge).
Read Harshit Singhal's full review
May 08, 2020
Ryan Proctor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nintex Process Platform to upgrade the entire intranet site. This includes taking process written in code and migrating them into a newer updated process in Nintex and M365. These are processes that have not been updated in years. This process is just starting and is being taken to bring in a new era of audited actions and compliance.
  • Taskings
  • Document generation
  • Form generation
  • Improvement to hiding the submit on the modern form
This is not my first time using Nintex. I have used it for years and when people ask about Nintex and other systems, I always seem to fall back to Nintex because of the ability it has to make things work. I always tell people that with Nintex, the limit is their imagination. If they can imagine a software process then it can most likely be built into Nintex Process Platform.
I currently use Nintex in Microsoft 365 (recent name change by Microsoft) and it has increased my flexibility because I can easily migrate things over having worked with the system for years using SharePoint on-premises. The ease in which I was able to move from on-prem to online was awesome and I was able to almost immediately start development work once I installed it and set it up correctly. The time for the initial setup was a few hours to get the data connections set up correctly.
Read Ryan Proctor's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Dashboards (70)
6.6
Standard reports (77)
6.7
Custom reports (67)
6.7
Process designer (112)
8.1
Process simulation (11)
6.9
Business rules engine (98)
7.5
SOA support (88)
7.4
Process player (8)
6.6
Support for modeling languages (5)
5.5
Form builder (114)
8.2
Model execution (90)
7.6
Social collaboration tools (7)
8.7
Content management (10)
8.3

What is Nintex Process Platform?

Public and private sector organizations all around the world leverage the Nintex Process Platform every day to quickly and easily manage, automate, and optimize their business processes. The Nintex Process Platform includes capabilities for process mapping, workflow automation, robotic process automation, document generation, forms, mobile apps, process analytics and more, all with an easy to use drag and drop designer. Nintex makes it faster for organizations across every industry to manage, automate, and optimize business processes.

Nintex Process Platform Features

Process Engine Features

Has featureProcess designer
Has featureBusiness rules engine
Has featureSOA support
Has featureForm builder
Has featureModel execution

Reporting & Analytics Features

Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports

Nintex Process Platform Competitors

Nintex Process Platform Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Nintex Process Platform Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
16%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
42%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
42%

Nintex Process Platform Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Nintex Process Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web