Nintex Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
179 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 94)

Matt Varney profile photo
November 25, 2019

The unvarnished opinion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the workflow engine and forms for several processes. One of our major processes is for the request and approval of secure access to our ERP. The form allows users to request access ad based on their choices, the form gets routed through different workflows to get access. Another use we have is with archiving old list items (automatically moving from one list to another).
  • Branching logic in forms - This allows for a single form to cover related processes depending on choices made in the form.
  • Seamless integration with Office 365, allowing us to drive actions in the workflow based on item changes in SharePoint Online
  • The fact that it uses a separate service to offload the processing power instead of having to provide it as part of our organization.
  • The new licensing structure can be confusing.
  • The workflow canvas can get unwieldy to use as the workflow steps and branches expand.
  • More builtin connections to more 3rd party services for data.
Running complex or multi-step workflows is really where Nintex shines, especially if you don't have developer resources on staff. With the WYSIWYG like workflow canvas, you can easily see the logic and build the necessary steps using out-of-the-box controls included in the product. Branching logic or conditional steps are easily supported and the concept of state machines is supported as well.
Read Matt Varney's full review
David Witmer profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for the Fire Dept. Other departments in the city also use the platform. We use it a lot for notification/approval of actions. For instance, if a firefighter desires a vacation day, the enter the request on a Nintex form and workflow is initiated when the form is submitted. The request goes to those authorized to grant the vacation day and record.
  • Approve/reject requests - form is auto-created. Workflow build is fast.
  • Email notifications - simple and fast.
  • Reminders for approval - easy to set up and insures action as required.
  • Getting the name of the responder to an assigned task is cumbersome. Requires strong extraction from string variable as opposed to just reading the name.
  • Determining if a particular document entry is the first or not is fairly complicated. You have to query the list, loop and add to the collection and then count items in the collection to determine how many entries have been made.
Routing requests for approval and notifications are easy and quick to build. Working with documents is not nearly as straight forward. The issue with having to pay extra for document generation is unacceptable.
There is a lot of functionality that I have not been able to take advantage of due to not having the time to study the documentation. Also, the documentation is lacking somewhat. An example or two would make a great difference.
Read David Witmer's full review
Ria Doshi profile photo
July 28, 2019

Tales of Nintex

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex is used across various departments in the organization. It is used to automate business processes and the ability to run weekly scheduled notifications/reminders. We use Nintex to review documents, route documents, perform approvals, receive and approve user access requests, help desk tickets and perform submittal reviews. It is also used to plan tasks and assign action items for employees.
  • Scheduled workflows and reminders work seamlessly. On a weekly basis, we have several of these workflows running without glitches
  • Our help desk ticketing workflow and form used to assign, and resolve tickets works.
  • We create document review workflows, by copying documents from one subsite to another subsite to maintain discretion in reviews and permissions, while keeping the link between the 2 libraries/documents on different subsites in order to respond back appropriately.
  • Action Items workflow and form. This workflow is used by upper management to assign tasks with deadlines, ability to reassign, complete and close out the assignment. This allows us to track metrics for reporting purposes as well and the form allows us to lock down fields per status.
  • The biggest drawback with Nintex online platform is lack of error handling and notification on suspended or failed workflows, even with Hawk-Eye it is not very helpful since it is not integrated.
  • The lack of versioning in workflows limits the ability to revert back to previous working versions during development, even with the export functionality it is not always viable.
  • The online environment does get unstable at times, there have been times where accessing and publishing forms and workflows been major issues.
  • One missing functionality that is in other similar products is the ability to make views visible based on assigned tasks.
Nintex has a lot more superior development capabilities as compared to other products on the market. It drastically reduces the development time for many complex processes. It also has several actions to integrate with other products like DocuSign for digital signature routing. The limitations sometimes are working in an online environment where we do not have control over the stability of the environment.
Read Ria Doshi's full review
Benjamin Stori profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex to automate everything from employee on-boarding, to collecting e-signatures as part of a sales process for employee recognition. We also connect Nintex to other devices like IoT devices to track data provided from the devices. The mobile aspect is top-notch as well because I can disperse online forms or the whole organization without writing a piece of code.
  • Mimic enterprise business logic.
  • Document generation.
  • Makes it easy to build workflows and forms.
  • Drag and drop designer.
  • Some workflow actions could be more robust.
  • Data connections to other systems.
Nintex is well suited for ending paper form-based processes. It is also suited for rapid development to plug and play into other applications.
Read Benjamin Stori's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented the Nintex Platform on our SharePoint 2013 On-Prem environment and have been successfully automating processes since 2014. We started small with a few key business processes and expanded over the years across multiple business units and departments. Today we have automated over 100 processes including HR onboarding/offboarding, employee access requests and safety forms to name just a few.
  • Quick to learn if you have some technical ability.
  • Non developers are able to build powerful workflows.
  • Able to quickly deliver results to the business.
  • Support for on premise seems to be slowing down and Nintex is pushing to move to the cloud.
  • Nintex support can be slow to resolve issues with the product.
  • In my experience, non technical users will have difficulty building good workflows.
Nintex is well suited to organizations with well defined, repeatable business processes that are currently manual. Nintex is best suited when used to automate easy to medium complex processes. Our organization made the mistake of automating some highly complex processes early on. While we were able to do it, they became a nightmare to maintain and support (enhancements requested by the business). If your organization is looking for a tool for automating highly complex processes, I would recommend traditional development (.NET for example).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 03, 2019

Nintex Platform Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex Platform to automate the time management in our organization. This means, the whole process of time stamping correction, holiday and absence requests, approvals, etc. Also, in general, for document and record management in SharePoint, especially when an approval is needed.
  • User management
  • Quasi-looping, list management
  • Access to various object properties
  • Debugging
  • Occasionally workflows will stop with cryptic messages, no real clue why
  • More powerful / object-oriented data manipulation
Any approval process is fairly good with Nintex Platform. One of the issues we faced was the performance of the built-in approval forms: they tend to be quite slow in performance, and the list of the open approvals does not get immediately updated as soon as an approval is given, so the users end up trying to approve already processed items.
The solution we developed was JavaScript based custom approval - it works, but the documentation is rather sketchy and object models are sometimes not really usefully made.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Nintex Platform is being used in our organization for automating business processes across the entire organization that previously relied on paper. Using Nintex for automating our business processes has provided a lot of visibility into the process for the business users. For example, when a request that required multiple approvals was previously submitted, the requester had no idea where their request was at. Using Nintex they are always able to see exactly where the request is at in the approval process.
  • Account provisioning.
  • Approvals.
  • Data collection.
  • Deployment between development, test, and production environments.
  • Restarting workflows that have failed.
  • Workflows failing silently when trying to send notifications to users that are no longer at the company.
Nintex is well suited for automating simple processes that are well defined and don't have a lot of exceptional cases. I've found that it's possible to build complex applications using Nintex, however, given the amount of maintenance those workflows often require causes some of the benefits of using the tool to be lost. As well, given there is a max size that a Nintex workflow can be if you start handling a lot of exception cases for a process, you start having to chain together multiple workflows which also increases the risk of failure.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Document Generation allowed us to merge contact information into letters with only a few clicks. This was a great tool when preparing donor thank you letters and tax receipts. We didn't have to worry about typos due to manual manipulation because we knew our template was correct and the contact information in Salesforce was correct which saved us a lot of time and stress.
  • Ability to use multiple templates and attachments with ease
  • Automatically can save new documents as word doc or pdf or both
  • Tons of merge tags let you incorporate almost any data automatically into your new documents
  • Setting up a new document generator can be a little clunky
  • Steep learning curve
  • All of the options/customizations/capabilities can be a little overwhelming
If you need to create documents based off a template that will include unique user data information then Nintex Document Generator will work for you. I've used it specifically to pull in donor information (contact info, donation amount, donation date) into thank you letters to mail or email after someone has made a donation.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The output of Nintex-powered workflows is being used by our whole organization, but only a small handful of people actually use the Nintex administration interface. It is primarily used to orchestrate workflows from SharePoint lists and inform department reps of internal changes and staff onboarding.
  • Visual Visio-like workflow designs.
  • Dynamic email generation.
  • SharePoint list integration.
  • The web-based interface for designing workflows is extremely slow, and often unresponsive.
  • Formatting of emails in the WYSIWYG GUI is very difficult. Copy/pasting doesn't work as one would expect, and I often find myself having to edit the raw HTML in order to suss out why certain objects are formatted the way they are.
  • Error reporting on why a particular workflow has failed is incredibly difficult to decipher.
It's plenty capable of orchestrating workflows and email generation, but the interface being used to design that process leaves much to be desired.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Nintex Platform for Forms and Workflow across the entire organization. The primary business problem we are solving is the approval process for requests submitted with a form.
  • Contractor approval process.
  • Visitor registration.
  • Pay increase authorization and approval.
  • Camera authorization and approval.
  • SQL control only return one value, rather than a table which could be queried after only one call to the database.
  • In some cases we have to use JavaScript to accomplish seemingly simple validations that should be an option in the control.
  • It needs an easier way to handle the user ID field that returns back as “i:o#.w|DOMAIN\username.”
Nintex is built right into SharePoint, so you are not bolting on a 3rd-party program that works separately from SharePoint. You create a SharePoint list, then click the Nintex Form, and you have a form. The workflows are built into SharePoint as well, and use the SharePoint workflow engine.
Read this authenticated review
Mark Russell profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex products were first selected for review by my company as a replacement to the out of the box SharePoint 2010 designer workflows and to also remove the burden of support for user-designed custom workflows. When evaluating products, my team was impressed with the ease of use, flexibility in workflow design and build turnaround time as well as the implementation of their products. We hand-picked a select user base that we knew were building and designing SPD workflows for evaluation as part of a pilot project. It didn't take long for them to adopt the product and eventually convert their existing SPD workflows to Nintex. SAIC/Leidos was one of the first large organizations to officially use Nintex products and we have a great rapport with our account managers as they are always looking for feedback on how they can improve their products. We've officially used all of their products to date including Nintex 2010 Workflows 2010, Nintex 2013 Workflows and Forms and the latest version of Nintex 2016 Workflow and Forms. Our SharePoint farms are all on-premise and located in our data centers in the U.S., United Kingdom and Australia with a current user base of approximately 40,000 (internal employees and external contractors) supporting over 5000 site collections.
  • Nintex workflows provide a robust interface that's not only intuitive but easy to learn with little to no coding experience.
  • Nintex forms are particularly powerful and provide a great alternative to InfoPath forms which is being deprecated.
  • Upgrading between versions of Nintex is easy to do with their nwadmin tool and robust documentation provided on their support portal.
  • The user adoption rate of their products is extremely high and doesn't require a selling point or an explanation of benefits in converting their existing workflows and forms.
  • Updating Nintex to fix bugs in a production environment can be challenging at times and requires thorough testing in a QA environment first as it doesn't always go smooth.
  • Separating Nintex content databases and moving site collections with large workflows can be a daunting task.
  • Nintex workflow timer jobs can use a lot of server resources at times and application server load balancing should be implemented instead of running on a single server.
Nintex should consider the industry that their products are designed for in that it's not always possible to transmit data to the cloud in order to use some of their advanced features. Leidos is a defense contractor and we are under tight restrictions on what can and cannot be done outside of our data center and some of their features should be made available to on-prem farms. So in our case, Nintex Live cannot be used nor can their document conversion even though our users are constantly asking for these features.
Read Mark Russell's full review
Francisco Falomir profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nintex Platform to automate processes across the whole organization. It includes Safety & Environment, Management of Changes, Improvements Control, Production Events Notification, JRS, Product Liability and so on. In the beginning, the scope was the plant site, but now we are developing workflows and forms for Quality Assurance, Internal Audits, and several administration workflows. In the future, we'll expand to the RRHH area.
  • We are using Nintex for Sharepoint, but using SQL connectors you can easily connect with other sources, like AD, relational databases, and ERP. That way, you are able to integrate data with a structured workflow, that is the weakness of database based software
  • Nintex workflow & forms are relatively easy to use. Now we are three people developing, and only one is a programmer. Our dream is to expand the developing function to the key users, at least for developing simple workflows
  • DOC generator is one of the most powerful tools. It allows you to make a final document from the workflow. The key to digitalization is to understand the processes are not documents but that it is important to have a final report.
  • Forms: Some functionality about validation, or buttons need to be implemented using JAVASCRIPT. It would be welcomed to include more functions in this area.
  • Forms: The parent-child relationship is another area to improve. Repeating sections don't have the required performance to make a strong relationship between two or more tables (Sharepoint lists).
  • Workflow: Using an on-premise environment, there is not a good system to manage workflows: versions, insights, purge, etc.
Well-suited to automation processes (it does not matter what type or complexity), you can have feedback on their productivity and performance. Great connectivity between several data sources to feed the processes and store the results. In our case, the SharePoint integration is amazing, managing not only processes based on a list but in the document's life cycle. Less appropriate for cases where your processes are based on several data tables with relations. It is better to use a relational database, then use workflow with connectors when you need some workflow performance, user tasks, mailing and so on.
Read Francisco Falomir's full review
Chris Carpenter profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use[d] Nintex (on-prem) primarily as an automation tool for work in process tracking and notifications. We used it for approvals, notifications, list and library management, and some business process automation. It had been used across our organization, but the capability set for Office 365 did not match the on-prem version and our corporate IT infrastructure team said that it didn't pass a hygiene test in Office 365, so we switched to MS Flow.
  • On-prem Nintex did workflow design and authoring great - it was easy to automate workflows as a non-developer
  • It did a great job of approvals and reviews (a primary business need for us)
  • It helped us manage business processes that were global and kept information flowing rather than keeping it stuck on an Excel file on someone's desk. It just worked very well with SharePoint.
  • It was a great notification / communication tool for us; automating messaging for state-changes in Sharepoint and giving us artifacts of activity that we could use in an audit.
  • Nintex needs to hit voice of customer hard. Workflow means automation of some function. Those transactions have key components like communication, approval, review, etc. When Nintex moved to Office365, much of what was basic and easy to author in the on-prem version became very obscured or non-existent.
  • Nintex servers have a tendency to bog down and get SLOOOOOOOOOOW when stressed at volume. That's true of most any system, but load balancing just didn't happen and by EOL on some of our flows, it could take 20 minutes or more for single workflows to start, to switch states, or execute an action.
  • The licensing model for only allowing a fixed collection of simple workflows is not a customer requirement. If you survey voice of customer, I'm relatively certain there were no customers who said, "you know, if I could only be allowed 100 workflows of low complexity, that would really help me get my org empowered to exercise this tool to its fullest..."
  • I could only edit Nintex workflow in Internet Explorer. I use a Mac as my workstation. To edit a flow, I had to fire up a VM and open IE. Making it editable in most modern browsers would be might nice.
It (on-prem Nintex) was easy to author. Creating a quick automation or process flow was simple. Creating a review process or approval process was a sweet spot for this tool and it was nimble in how it connected with our org and our on-prem SharePoint environment. One key strength was the user-adoption story; creating new power-users was relatively easy.
Read Chris Carpenter's full review
Roger Brown profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex workflow and forms are used very heavily by my department and across the organization as well. It gives us the opportunity to quickly provide custom solutions to our users. SharePoint has a great deal of functionality, and Nintex helps to bring that functionality to the surface. We can easily integrate data across different lists and libraries, which reduces duplication of data and increases data integrity.
  • Creation of tasks: There is a variety of tasks you can use out of the box with Nintex and it's nice to be able to create custom task notifications.
  • Notifications: The send notification action is great and makes it easy to customize the verbiage and all parts of the message.
  • Updating list items has never been easier than with Nintex! It's so much more powerful than the standard SharePoint Designer workflows. I'm not sure I could go back, because Nintex has opened my eyes to all that is available with workflows!
  • Ease of use: With all the actions available in Nintex, I'm doing things I never could have imagined doing with workflows in SharePoint. It has given me a new challenge as I thought I'd reached the end of what I could do with SharePoint customization.
  • Make it easier to copy data from formulas and other similar boxes. Anytime I try that the references get lost.
  • Better troubleshooting: This has always been an issue with SharePoint Development in general. The only way I have to debug workflows is to log variables to the history log. Can't someone just tell me what the problem is?
  • Migration: Is Nintex planning to develop a migration tool? Many organizations have Nintex, but have to purchase another third party tool. That would make the Nintex suite even more valuable to it's users!
I absolutely recommend Nintex to others. It provides quick out of the box customization for workflows and forms. Integration of business data is made much simpler, as you can easily surface data from across your site collections. This allows you to retain data in a central place and access it from anywhere else. You can go as custom as you like, but even the Nintex canned tasks and notifications provide a great deal of functionality.
Read Roger Brown's full review
Scooter D Nelson profile photo
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex is being used across the lower 48 for our company to track our behavior-based safety performance. Slight adjustments have been made to the program/forms to make it more user-friendly, but the biggest issue that we have found is the mobile application does not work. I have contacted multiple groups with no successes. Even when logging into the server via computer, I receive many reports of persons entering BBS cards but for some reason, they do not show up in any report.
  • The mobile application, when working, is particularly good - for remote workers that are in the field to enter information in a timely manner.
  • The interface with our company's Spotfire dashboard for BBS reports is very easy to view and analyze.
  • Streamline the mobile application.
  • The times that I have contacted Nintex via phone or email, it was very difficult to find contact information.
  • Even in using a company's server or a database, I think it would be good to have a single point of contact or owner that a person using the system could contact for issues or suggestions.
It is well suited for data sharing and gathering.
Read Scooter D Nelson's full review
ben stori profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex across all our departments, from HR on-boarding, policy review and other online forms, to sales contracts using document generation, e-signatures to making signing contracts fast and easy. We also use it for a lot of RVSPs because we can send an outlook calendar invite right to the employee who has signed up.
  • Rapid Process Automation.
  • It scales to the whole enterprise and they do not charge extra for connecting to other systems, it covers different states that mimic what actually happens within the organization.
  • It allows business users to modify and create workflows and forms.
  • Tied directly to the Microsoft .net workflow engine
  • No visual aids on workflows in O365
  • No notifications when a workflow fails
Contracts
Policy Management
On-Boarding
PTO and Travel Requests
Connecting other systems
Workflows in Salesforce
Read ben stori's full review
Rodrigo Amigorena profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Nintex in our 2 SharePoint 2010 farms in international, and there is another SharePoint 2013 farm in corporate also running Nintex.
  • Very intuitive user interface. Very simple and responsive
  • No Coding Required. Any power user with basic systems knowledge can configure advanced workflows.
  • Advanced features are supported like State Machine Workflows.
  • Our main problem today with Nintex is the licensing model. We are currently licensed for on-prem but we are actively moving to SharePoint Online. However the pricing model for Online makes it almost impossible for us to adopt the product and is forcing us to seek alternative products.
Nintex is one of the best solutions I have come across in the SharePoint space. It covers a gap that very few systems support which is empowering end users to automate their day to day activities, including approvals, reminders, and any simple business process. It integrates seamlessly with Infopath although Microsoft is retiring these forms and is only offering Powerapps and Flow as alternatives which is not really a like for like replacement. That is where Nintex Forms comes in play and is the perfect replacement.

In the past we tried to use Nintex to manage complex business processes for use cases that would may have been better suited for a dedicated and custom application instead. The main limitation is really Sharepoint as an application platform, not really Nintex. But our learning was that Nintex is great for use cases where you might not need future integrations or APIs.
Read Rodrigo Amigorena's full review
Dennis Tanghe profile photo
May 24, 2019

My Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use workflows and forms throughout the whole organization. Workflow mainly to automate tasks. Most frequently are the double approval flows. And forms for more advanced input where we need to hide/show fields based on other fields.
  • You can build something very fast
  • Very easy to deploy the created flows and forms from dev to production
  • Amazing support from Nintex
  • Magnificent user interface
  • Too expensive
  • Experience required to build flawless flows
  • Logging limited to 255 (?) characters
Double/Multiple approvals. Automated tasks, like requesting info based on state. Once I've made SQL calls, which is a really bad practice. If I didn't have that block, I've would be required to build a service, which is the way to do it. So such blocks that lead to bad practices should be removed. I tend to use them anyway when time is short.
Read Dennis Tanghe's full review
Laura Stein profile photo
April 09, 2019

Great product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mainly to automate workflows that are currently manual. Using Forms, Workflows, and Mobile Forms.
  • Workflows that are cross-site and cross-site collection.
  • Forms - the many platforms/designs, especially mobile forms with ink signature.
  • Ability to add my own CSS and JavaScript to a form.
  • Good support, good Nintex Community. Vadim's posts.
  • Can't convert a lookup field to text in the workflow (or maybe I just can't figure out how)
  • Workflow: please add an Action to get the string length. The Nintex community has instructions on how to do this on-prem, but we have only O365/SharePoint Online
Good - Workflows cross site collections; nice forms
Bad - My last job was at a non-profit, and they decided that even the 5-workflow package was too expensive. So, not good when there are serious cost concerns.
IMO, you get what you pay for.
Read Laura Stein's full review
Marco Kronemberger profile photo
March 12, 2019

Nintex Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex across the whole organization on every process that needs workflows.
  • It can handle workflows like no others and customize forms very well.
  • I can't see any point right now.
We have several user-designed processes where the data flow goes through several stages, and Nintex works very well controlling the steps of these flows. Sets control of user access in steps, sends emails during the steps and allow the responses of forms by third parties that are outside the company through Nintex Live.

Read Marco Kronemberger's full review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex to automate business processes related to project controls through Workflows and Forms.
  • Visual.
  • Integrated.
  • Extensible.
  • No error handling in SharePoint 0nline.
  • Slow Form rendering.
  • No bulk processing options.
Nintex is very costly, and while services such as Flow and PowerApps are not nearly as mature or robust. It's hard to make the business case to jump up to Nintex on every project we manage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintext can be leveraged across the entire organization as a productivity enhancement tool to create workflows. The tool is given to the Lines of Business to self administer. The problem it resolved was how LOBs can create simple workflow programs by themselves.
  • It's simple to install and sustain on the SharePoint platform.
  • The workflows are simple to document and follow once created. Users can just follow the start trigger to the end.
  • It's priced well compared to enterprise tools.
  • End-users can create triggers that create endless triggers so it is powerful, but we would like the ability to limit the number of triggers if coded wrong.
It can easily support business workflows and be managed by the LOBs with limited tech experience. At the same time, a tech-savvy person could create a robust complex workflow.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Nintex Workflow for SharePoint 2010 within our business for 5 years +. We have various processes that are simplified using Nintex Workflow within business functions including Human Resources, Health and Safety, ICT, Project Management and some core business transactions are also supported with Nintex. The main benefit for us has been the automation of what would otherwise be laborious and time-consuming processes.
  • Approval workflows: Easy to build and report on
  • Detailed workflow history for analysis
  • Intuitive user interface
  • Workflow 2010 (at least the version we are using) does not allow the use of PowerShell scripts to perform certain tasks within the workflow
  • We sometimes get a 'deadlock error' message when we are trying to run too many workflows simultaneously. I think possibly our SharePoint farm is under-provisioned, however.
As mentioned, we have found Nintex to be most beneficial to our business for creating complex approval workflows. We also use it to facilitate some file transfers between various business systems and SharePoint. The graphical workflow history allows us to pinpoint where in the process the workflow currently is and also helps us accurately troubleshoot.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to make efficiencies across the organization, writing to lists, approvals, data collection. There is not enough functionality in MS Forms and Flow to fulfill all our requirements. Multiple approvals, lazy approvals, and multiple conditions are a great help. I am currently training others in our organization to empower them to find and implement efficiencies.
  • Running workflows that require multiple approvals with extra information being required on occasion.
  • Running approvals where it depends on other factors as to who to choose as the approver.
  • Writing items to lists.
  • Identifying user details from AD ie line manager and department.
  • Extracting information from XML, in particular from repeating sections created in Nintex forms.
  • Extracting items from repeating sections.
  • Parsing information from AD i.e. e-mail addresses.
  • It would be good to format columns/rows in SharePoint lists.
Great for approvals, sending emails and writing to lists, either in the same SharePoint site collection or in others. As we start using Teams more, new opportunities for workflows will emerge. This may involve adding channels or TABs. Sending well-formatted emails is still an issue as often the formatting does not get applied.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflows and Forms are used for the implementation of business scenarios needed by the internal departments across the whole organization. In most times, it replaces processes that previously needed to be done manually like filling out Excel spreadsheets and sending them around by email to the next editor.
  • You can create workflows and forms very easy and fast which is good for prototyping.
  • Forms are extendable by custom Javascript and stylesheets.
  • Workflows provide possibilities to connect to other systems like MSSQL or web services.
  • When workflows sometimes have an error, the error logging could be better. Sometimes it's not possible to find out why a workflow is errored.
  • There should be a possibility to print a large workflow (more than one screen long) into a multi-page pdf.
  • PDF generation of a Nintex Form should be also possible to be done automatically instead of only print by button click in the browser.
Nintex Workflows are suitable very good for small or mid-sized streamlined workflows. Nintex Forms is suitable for customization of New/Edit Forms in SharePoint Lists to provide a much better UI/UX to the user.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Dashboards (43)
6.9
Standard reports (45)
6.8
Custom reports (41)
6.6
Process designer (72)
8.0
Process simulation (11)
6.8
Business rules engine (65)
7.7
SOA support (60)
7.4
Process player (8)
6.8
Support for modeling languages (5)
5.5
Form builder (69)
7.9
Model execution (57)
7.4
Social collaboration tools (7)
8.7
Content management (10)
8.3

About Nintex Platform

Nintex Platform is a solution for Business Process Management and Digital Process Automation. The vendor reports that public and private sector organizations around the world leverage the Nintex Platform every day to quickly and easily manage, automate and optimize their business processes. Nintex Platform includes capabilities for process mapping, workflow automation, robotic process automation, document generation, forms, mobile apps, process intelligence and more, all with a drag and drop designer focused on ease of use.

Nintex Platform Features

Process Engine Features
Has featureProcess designer
Does not have featureProcess simulation
Has featureBusiness rules engine
Has featureSOA support
Does not have featureProcess player
Does not have featureSupport for modeling languages
Has featureForm builder
Has featureModel execution
Collaboration Features
Does not have featureSocial collaboration tools
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Content Management Capabilties Features
Does not have featureContent management

Nintex Platform Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Nintex Platform Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
15%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
36%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
49%

Nintex Platform Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Nintex Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web