TrustRadius
Nintex Workflow is designed to work with Microsoft Office365, SharePoint, and Project Server.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/ae/Si/TXAPX75B0RHT.PNGNintex 2016 product review for defense contractors in a closed networkNintex products were first selected for review by my company as a replacement to the out of the box SharePoint 2010 designer workflows and to also remove the burden of support for user-designed custom workflows. When evaluating products, my team was impressed with the ease of use, flexibility in workflow design and build turnaround time as well as the implementation of their products. We hand-picked a select user base that we knew were building and designing SPD workflows for evaluation as part of a pilot project. It didn't take long for them to adopt the product and eventually convert their existing SPD workflows to Nintex. SAIC/Leidos was one of the first large organizations to officially use Nintex products and we have a great rapport with our account managers as they are always looking for feedback on how they can improve their products. We've officially used all of their products to date including Nintex 2010 Workflows 2010, Nintex 2013 Workflows and Forms and the latest version of Nintex 2016 Workflow and Forms. Our SharePoint farms are all on-premise and located in our data centers in the U.S., United Kingdom and Australia with a current user base of approximately 40,000 (internal employees and external contractors) supporting over 5000 site collections.,Nintex workflows provide a robust interface that's not only intuitive but easy to learn with little to no coding experience. Nintex forms are particularly powerful and provide a great alternative to InfoPath forms which is being deprecated. Upgrading between versions of Nintex is easy to do with their nwadmin tool and robust documentation provided on their support portal. The user adoption rate of their products is extremely high and doesn't require a selling point or an explanation of benefits in converting their existing workflows and forms.,Updating Nintex to fix bugs in a production environment can be challenging at times and requires thorough testing in a QA environment first as it doesn't always go smooth. Separating Nintex content databases and moving site collections with large workflows can be a daunting task. Nintex workflow timer jobs can use a lot of server resources at times and application server load balancing should be implemented instead of running on a single server.,10,Over the years, Nintex has become a very solid product requiring very little back-end maintenance and minimal end user support. Nintex Workflow and Forms is a true replacement for SharePoint Designer Workflows and InfoPath forms. The only negative impact we've observed is with educating end users on keeping their workflow history lists clean and to remove unnecessary logging (i.e. Verbose) when not troubleshooting a newly created workflow.,We use Nintex products in our on-premise SharePoint 2016 farms to support both SharePoint and Project Server in a medium-large farm with over 20TB data and growing. Being that we support almost 40,000 users in the U.S. alone, it's imperative that the products are stable and easy to maintain. Since we've used every version of their products to date, we've seen it become more robust over the years with a well thought out design and solid implementation.,Nintex products (Workflow and Forms) is being leveraged by both our internal employees and external contractors regardless of the business unit as it supports corporate as a whole. Our end users are very happy with the products and their ease of use along with a generally small amount of development time needed to generate new workflows.,,Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Salesforce Analytics Cloud, OpenText DocumentumIf you want to automate, you have to use NintexWe are using Nintex Platform to automate processes across the whole organization. It includes Safety & Environment, Management of Changes, Improvements Control, Production Events Notification, JRS, Product Liability and so on. In the beginning, the scope was the plant site, but now we are developing workflows and forms for Quality Assurance, Internal Audits, and several administration workflows. In the future, we'll expand to the RRHH area.,We are using Nintex for Sharepoint, but using SQL connectors you can easily connect with other sources, like AD, relational databases, and ERP. That way, you are able to integrate data with a structured workflow, that is the weakness of database based software Nintex workflow & forms are relatively easy to use. Now we are three people developing, and only one is a programmer. Our dream is to expand the developing function to the key users, at least for developing simple workflows DOC generator is one of the most powerful tools. It allows you to make a final document from the workflow. The key to digitalization is to understand the processes are not documents but that it is important to have a final report.,Forms: Some functionality about validation, or buttons need to be implemented using JAVASCRIPT. It would be welcomed to include more functions in this area. Forms: The parent-child relationship is another area to improve. Repeating sections don't have the required performance to make a strong relationship between two or more tables (Sharepoint lists). Workflow: Using an on-premise environment, there is not a good system to manage workflows: versions, insights, purge, etc.,9,It is very difficult to estimate the ROI in our case because we are automating processes, not for saving time or money, but for ensuring the repetitive reporting of the activity. In any case, comparing the Nintex cost and performance, I think Nintex is not an expensive solution. Anyway, talking about the new industry 4.0, the digitalization of processes is the starting point if you don't want to lose the boat.,We are using Nintex with Sharepoint on-premise. We are not in charge of Nintex deployment or upgrade. In our case, an expert consultant is in charge of the Nintex platform maintenance. As far as I know, it is not a hard task. I would like to comment that Nintex Community is a wonderful platform to share experiences and to solve technical doubts.,As commented, we are three developers from Process Control System, it's not IT but OT (Operation Technologies). Only one of us is a programmer. The final users are from any area of the organization. When the users have begun to use Nintex workflows, they have realized the performance and a lot of feedback is coming from them.,IBM Enterprise Content Manager,SAP ERP, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft SQL Server, .NETOn-Prem Nintex was everything we ever wanted in a workflow tool. We're not on-prem anymore, and we're lost.We use[d] Nintex (on-prem) primarily as an automation tool for work in process tracking and notifications. We used it for approvals, notifications, list and library management, and some business process automation. It had been used across our organization, but the capability set for Office 365 did not match the on-prem version and our corporate IT infrastructure team said that it didn't pass a hygiene test in Office 365, so we switched to MS Flow.,On-prem Nintex did workflow design and authoring great - it was easy to automate workflows as a non-developer It did a great job of approvals and reviews (a primary business need for us) It helped us manage business processes that were global and kept information flowing rather than keeping it stuck on an Excel file on someone's desk. It just worked very well with SharePoint. It was a great notification / communication tool for us; automating messaging for state-changes in Sharepoint and giving us artifacts of activity that we could use in an audit.,Nintex needs to hit voice of customer hard. Workflow means automation of some function. Those transactions have key components like communication, approval, review, etc. When Nintex moved to Office365, much of what was basic and easy to author in the on-prem version became very obscured or non-existent. Nintex servers have a tendency to bog down and get SLOOOOOOOOOOW when stressed at volume. That's true of most any system, but load balancing just didn't happen and by EOL on some of our flows, it could take 20 minutes or more for single workflows to start, to switch states, or execute an action. The licensing model for only allowing a fixed collection of simple workflows is not a customer requirement. If you survey voice of customer, I'm relatively certain there were no customers who said, "you know, if I could only be allowed 100 workflows of low complexity, that would really help me get my org empowered to exercise this tool to its fullest..." I could only edit Nintex workflow in Internet Explorer. I use a Mac as my workstation. To edit a flow, I had to fire up a VM and open IE. Making it editable in most modern browsers would be might nice.,9,Mixed - we became very dependent on Nintex in our on-prem environment and when forced to upgrade to O365, we were forced to remove it from our toolkit because Nintex online was no longer compatible with our needs (capability or security). Nintex was great for us to build automation from the grass roots. It enabled us to build what we actually needed to be implemented where it was needed by the folks who would use it. We did have a great learning cycle for the business by decentralizing how we approached business applications in Nintex. It was all about enablement and low barriers for entry.,We are decommissioning our environment for on-prem SharePoint. It was a completely different product going into SharePoint online and O365. It no longer met our organizations needs and is being replaced by Microsoft Flow (which is not fully matured, but is already licensed as a corporation).,Yes. We all made our own solutions and it was glorious. Approvals, notifications, work in process tracking, list / library updates, etc...IT didn't have to do much of anything with an able collection of power-users.,Microsoft Flow,Microsoft Flow, MS SharePoint, PowerApps,1000,3,Transaction processing - Reviews and approvals. We are a part 11 compliant Life Sciences company that is heavily regulated by QMS and the FDA. Having those artifacts is key to quality compliance. WIP (work in process) tracking. We use it to track progress of information and material. Communication - out of the box workflows for SharePoint do not provide a great customization capability for communication. Nintex helps provide a much more maleable message crafting machine.,We have used it to gateway our commercial content approval process (FDA regulated - we have to back our commercial claims and obsolescence reviews) We have used it to build SharePoint into the tool that most of our users expect it to be. Some limitations of our license agreement and installation have required that we supplement with 3rd party functionality. That has helped us raise user adoption and favorability, which is huge!,Unfortunately, we will not be using Nintex going forward because the experience in on-prem Nintex and SharePoint 2016 is not replicable in Office 365 / SharePoint online. Also, the licensing model is different and would not be cost-effective to scale in the new environment with a lower-functioning version of Nintex (Nintex online is not as robust and user-friendly as the on-prem version).,2,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor,The right decision was made with the available data. Our organization has continued to find it challenging to position ourselves as well with regards to workflow in SharePoint online / Office 365 as we were positioned with on-prem Nintex and SharePoint 2016.,9,Nintex fielded my call on a particular issue and we worked through options live. I'm not their core contract point of contact, but they worked with me until my issue was resolved and documented in the forums for future users.,To be clear, the instance of Nintex I'm reviewing is the online version. The on-prem version that works with SharePoint 2016 is ridiculously user friendly. Connecting to a SharePoint environment is not difficult Connecting to other data sources is not difficult.,The basic triggers in Nintex online are not the same as they were on-prem. Users can easily get stuck in the "trigger loop" of trying to figure out which menu sequence locks in on the current item. Nintex online was built to connect to large backend business systems as it was initially built, so the core functionality of WIP tracking, approvals, and notifications is somewhat obscured / underdeveloped in the Nintex Online platform. Nintex online hasn't done much work to meaningfully differentiate itself from Microsoft Flow. On-prem Nintex was a clear winner (the competency is there in the platform, but the switch to online / O365 appears to be more of a setback than a leap forward).,8Amazing Platform, Quick Development!Nintex workflow and forms are used very heavily by my department and across the organization as well. It gives us the opportunity to quickly provide custom solutions to our users. SharePoint has a great deal of functionality, and Nintex helps to bring that functionality to the surface. We can easily integrate data across different lists and libraries, which reduces duplication of data and increases data integrity.,Creation of tasks: There is a variety of tasks you can use out of the box with Nintex and it's nice to be able to create custom task notifications. Notifications: The send notification action is great and makes it easy to customize the verbiage and all parts of the message. Updating list items has never been easier than with Nintex! It's so much more powerful than the standard SharePoint Designer workflows. I'm not sure I could go back, because Nintex has opened my eyes to all that is available with workflows! Ease of use: With all the actions available in Nintex, I'm doing things I never could have imagined doing with workflows in SharePoint. It has given me a new challenge as I thought I'd reached the end of what I could do with SharePoint customization.,Make it easier to copy data from formulas and other similar boxes. Anytime I try that the references get lost. Better troubleshooting: This has always been an issue with SharePoint Development in general. The only way I have to debug workflows is to log variables to the history log. Can't someone just tell me what the problem is? Migration: Is Nintex planning to develop a migration tool? Many organizations have Nintex, but have to purchase another third party tool. That would make the Nintex suite even more valuable to it's users!,10,Nintex has really opened up some great avenues of development for me. I am not a "down in the weeds" coder so it's an ideal platform for me to create custom SharePoint solutions. In my role, my only business objective is to provide quality support to my users, so I cannot provide hard numbers as I'm not sure how to quantify that. I can say that my users are very happy with the support and solutions I provide through the Nintex platform.,I use Nintex in a SharePoint 2016 environment, and deployment flexibility is very important! When I used to customize SharePoint forms with InfoPath I had to save the form offline somewhere, and then publish to SharePoint. That's a horrible development model. Deploying with Nintex is seamless and integrated into the SharePoint ribbon. It couldn't be more convenient!,Yes, some non-IT personnel are using Nintex. They are creating basic workflows and form customization. Nintex makes it easy for non-technical people to take advantage of SharePoint functionality. I suspect that it will provide a path for many to get into the IT field. The intuitive interface makes it easy for anyone to begin using it with just a quick tutorial.,Simple, yet efficientNintex is being used across the lower 48 for our company to track our behavior-based safety performance. Slight adjustments have been made to the program/forms to make it more user-friendly, but the biggest issue that we have found is the mobile application does not work. I have contacted multiple groups with no successes. Even when logging into the server via computer, I receive many reports of persons entering BBS cards but for some reason, they do not show up in any report.,The mobile application, when working, is particularly good - for remote workers that are in the field to enter information in a timely manner. The interface with our company's Spotfire dashboard for BBS reports is very easy to view and analyze.,Streamline the mobile application. The times that I have contacted Nintex via phone or email, it was very difficult to find contact information. Even in using a company's server or a database, I think it would be good to have a single point of contact or owner that a person using the system could contact for issues or suggestions.,5,Moving from a paper form, scan, review in the database, and then have to pull reports when needed through one or two people, too a completely digital system has saved 10's of thousands of dollars across every asset. Due to various aspects of the system not working; having everyone in the system, not uploading every card, and the mobile application not working. The participation in our Behavior-Based Safety Program dropped drastically.,Induvial input with reports being pulled to share in large groups to direct attention on focus points of need.Flexibility is key with the number of induvial users with various backgrounds, from persons with years of experience on computers to people turning a computer on for the first time.,Yes, most users have very little to no IT background.Employees are entering data by logging on to company Spotfire dashboard or through the mobile application built for Conoco Phillips.,etracker, TravelClick iHotelier Suite and TIBCO Spotfire,Microsoft 365 Business, Citrix CloudPortal Business Manager, SAP Access Control,1600,1,Track BBS participation Provide easy to read reports of BBS participation and specific safety concerns identified from our BBS program Dashboard and tracking tool for focus audits on field activities,Able to share data across multiple functions and across large areas of activity with one platform Able to see and review data from Texas to Montana and every asset between in one spot,different data basis,, but right now the company is looking to go away from Nintex due to what I have been told is a lack of support and possible security issues,5,Yes,Price,I think we should have collected not just price but a better understanding from fenders on what they have done, what they can do, and not just what a vendor says they are able to do look at proof not just sales pitch,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,log on access / permission individuals assigned to the correct groups / assets persons being in the system MObile application not working for all persons,3,4,No,NO I have never seen exceptional support, I have call to talk to someone and was on the phone for 1.5 hours trying to talk to the right person, just to be told that the issues are being worked,for the must part once you get into the system it is very easy and streamlined to enter data,Nothing really difficult or cumbersome just all purposed systems don't work on a regular basis not sure when or for who the Mobile ap is going to work persons report data entered is not completely entered or uploaded later - not sure if this is an Nintex problem or user error,Yes,4The Best Business Process Mapping and Automation PlatformWe use Nintex across all our departments, from HR on-boarding, policy review and other online forms, to sales contracts using document generation, e-signatures to making signing contracts fast and easy. We also use it for a lot of RVSPs because we can send an outlook calendar invite right to the employee who has signed up.,Rapid Process Automation. It scales to the whole enterprise and they do not charge extra for connecting to other systems, it covers different states that mimic what actually happens within the organization. It allows business users to modify and create workflows and forms.,Tied directly to the Microsoft .net workflow engine No visual aids on workflows in O365 No notifications when a workflow fails,10,Very Positive, for every process we map and/or automate we gain ROI,We use it in our Cloud-based environments. It gives us the flexibility we need to build it in O365 or Nintex Workflow Cloud and we figured that out based on the requirements from the business.,We have just started to train our PMs and BAs on the platform to begin rolling it out to more and more organizations and it also helps provide us with more hands to build and troubleshoot things.,Microsoft FlowBenefits of Nintex on Pre vs Nintex OnlineWe are currently using Nintex in our 2 SharePoint 2010 farms in international, and there is another SharePoint 2013 farm in corporate also running Nintex.,Very intuitive user interface. Very simple and responsive No Coding Required. Any power user with basic systems knowledge can configure advanced workflows. Advanced features are supported like State Machine Workflows.,Our main problem today with Nintex is the licensing model. We are currently licensed for on-prem but we are actively moving to SharePoint Online. However the pricing model for Online makes it almost impossible for us to adopt the product and is forcing us to seek alternative products.,9,Unfortunately we haven't been able to measure the true ROI of Nintex since we offer the solution as a shared service and we delegated to the business teams the usage of the tool since it is very user-friendly. This means that we don't have full visibility of the benefits it brings to the business. The cost-benefit of our On-Prem instance is highly positive as it allowed us to automate hundreds of processes that would otherwise be done manually. Due to the high cost of Nintex Online, it is next to impossible to justify the adoption of Nintex Online since most of our business processes are simple to medium complexity, and mostly driven by power users to automate their day to day activities. For enterprise business processes we tend to implement dedicated solutions and that is where finding the ROI for the online version gets very challenging.,We are currently using it in SharePoint 2010. The deployment process in our version is not optimal as we need to export each workflow definition manually from Dev to Prod and there is no CI/CD available. I am quite sure this has evolved in the latest versions but I am not fully familiar since we implemented Nintex 2010 almost 8 years ago.,Nintex is PRIMARILY being used by NON IT staff and that is the main benefit of this tool. Any power user can build and maintain their workflows without any dependency on IT.,ServiceNow and K2 Platform,ServiceNow, JIRA Software, Microsoft TeamsMy ReviewWe use workflows and forms throughout the whole organization. Workflow mainly to automate tasks. Most frequently are the double approval flows. And forms for more advanced input where we need to hide/show fields based on other fields.,You can build something very fast Very easy to deploy the created flows and forms from dev to production Amazing support from Nintex Magnificent user interface,Too expensive Experience required to build flawless flows Logging limited to 255 (?) characters,8,Writing code to accomplish the same would surely take 100 times more time. It even reduced manual task time, by temporarily creating a workflow for it. Our users can focus on the work they need to do because of the task-driven flows.,I gave this already as Pro. We have a development environment and a production environment. And with a simple export and import it's deployed from dev to production. That's like 2 minutes work.,Only some users also create forms, which have a nicer look and feel than the standard SharePoint forms. It doesn't go further than that.,,Microsoft Visual Studio Code, Visual Studio IDE, Notepad++Great productMainly to automate workflows that are currently manual. Using Forms, Workflows, and Mobile Forms.,Workflows that are cross-site and cross-site collection. Forms - the many platforms/designs, especially mobile forms with ink signature. Ability to add my own CSS and JavaScript to a form. Good support, good Nintex Community. Vadim's posts.,Can't convert a lookup field to text in the workflow (or maybe I just can't figure out how) Workflow: please add an Action to get the string length. The Nintex community has instructions on how to do this on-prem, but we have only O365/SharePoint Online,8,Too soon to tell, sorry.,Office 365. Deployment flexibility is something I forgot to mention earlier. It is very nice that they let me use the app in two tenancies, so I develop outside of production,Putting in Purchase Requests through a Nintex form Mobile forms on warehouse floor,Nintex ReviewWe use Nintex across the whole organization on every process that needs workflows.,It can handle workflows like no others and customize forms very well.,I can't see any point right now.,10,It was possible to create flows related to fiscal issues that brought financial returns due to agility in the treatment of information.,Used with Sharepoint on the premises. With Nintex there are more development options in our Sharepoint environment.,The users can't change our IT development, but it's very important in their processes.,Microsoft Flow,Not Sure,Product Features Product Usability,I would do it the same way.,7,No,Nintex Support Case #00239661We had to collect information and find out why our workflows were getting stuck.Big Money and Big ValueWe use Nintex to automate business processes related to project controls through Workflows and Forms.,Visual. Integrated. Extensible.,No error handling in SharePoint 0nline. Slow Form rendering. No bulk processing options.,7,Time savings over manual Consistency Repeatability,We use Nintex within SharePoint Online. We do not have other deployment requirements.,Non-IT staff are the primary users and interact several times a day with Nintex forms and workflows for supporting daily tasks.,K2 Platform, Microsoft Flow and PowerApps,MS SharePoint, ArcGIS, Microsoft Flow, PowerAppsNintex: simple to install and sustain and lets the business manage their businessNintext can be leveraged across the entire organization as a productivity enhancement tool to create workflows. The tool is given to the Lines of Business to self administer. The problem it resolved was how LOBs can create simple workflow programs by themselves.,It's simple to install and sustain on the SharePoint platform. The workflows are simple to document and follow once created. Users can just follow the start trigger to the end. It's priced well compared to enterprise tools.,End-users can create triggers that create endless triggers so it is powerful, but we would like the ability to limit the number of triggers if coded wrong.,9,Positive:: It has allowed some LOBs to simplify our signoff processes. These tools are built and managed by the business, so IT is not 'in the way.',SharePoint 2010. It was important when we first installed the product because it saved us money as we are outsourced in the IT department. The easy install and support save us from paying our outsourcer.,Yes, it is a productivity tool that we allow all staff to engage with. For the tech-savvy departments, this has paid off, as they made their processes faster and simpler but all auditable.,K2 PlatformNintex Workflow 2010We have been using Nintex Workflow for SharePoint 2010 within our business for 5 years +. We have various processes that are simplified using Nintex Workflow within business functions including Human Resources, Health and Safety, ICT, Project Management and some core business transactions are also supported with Nintex. The main benefit for us has been the automation of what would otherwise be laborious and time-consuming processes.,Approval workflows: Easy to build and report on Detailed workflow history for analysis Intuitive user interface,Workflow 2010 (at least the version we are using) does not allow the use of PowerShell scripts to perform certain tasks within the workflow We sometimes get a 'deadlock error' message when we are trying to run too many workflows simultaneously. I think possibly our SharePoint farm is under-provisioned, however.,9,Increased productivity by reducing process time. Reduction in paper based processes. Ability to connect various systems 'in house'.,We currently use Nintex Workflow 2010 within our SharePoint 2010 environment. We are in the process of migrating to SharePoint Online and I do have some concerns that we will not be able to migrate our workflows in their current format. From my understanding, they will need to be rewritten. Possibly there is a migration tool that could make things a little easier but I have yet to explore this.,Currently, it is only being used by non-IT staff when responding to approval tasks.,MS SharePoint, Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Visual Studio CodeNintex, when basic fails and you need to take it up a levelUsed to make efficiencies across the organization, writing to lists, approvals, data collection. There is not enough functionality in MS Forms and Flow to fulfill all our requirements. Multiple approvals, lazy approvals, and multiple conditions are a great help. I am currently training others in our organization to empower them to find and implement efficiencies.,Running workflows that require multiple approvals with extra information being required on occasion. Running approvals where it depends on other factors as to who to choose as the approver. Writing items to lists. Identifying user details from AD ie line manager and department. Extracting information from XML, in particular from repeating sections created in Nintex forms.,Extracting items from repeating sections. Parsing information from AD i.e. e-mail addresses. It would be good to format columns/rows in SharePoint lists.,9,Without purchasing Hawkeye this is difficult to measure however looking at lists for approvals show many working hours have been saved. This can help enforce procedures, for example ensuring forms are completed correctly. Helps to ensure data collected is correct and relevant using validation.,Currently, we use Nintex workflows in SharePoint however we are looking to reaching out to external colleagues using the Nintex platform rather than basing it all in our O365 tenant. We hope to be able to collect data from external partners and use workflows to bring this into our tenancy securely.,We have a few creators when it comes to workflows although as with Forms we keep this to a select few to ensure we can track our usage and ensure we get value for money from our forms and workflows. Nearly all staff will come into contact with Nintex as an end user. This may be filling in a travel request or approving an activity.,Microsoft Flow,Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft Flow, MS SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, Microsoft Office 365Nintex Workflows and Forms in our companyNintex Workflows and Forms are used for the implementation of business scenarios needed by the internal departments across the whole organization. In most times, it replaces processes that previously needed to be done manually like filling out Excel spreadsheets and sending them around by email to the next editor.,You can create workflows and forms very easy and fast which is good for prototyping. Forms are extendable by custom Javascript and stylesheets. Workflows provide possibilities to connect to other systems like MSSQL or web services.,When workflows sometimes have an error, the error logging could be better. Sometimes it's not possible to find out why a workflow is errored. There should be a possibility to print a large workflow (more than one screen long) into a multi-page pdf. PDF generation of a Nintex Form should be also possible to be done automatically instead of only print by button click in the browser.,8,More paperless working. Faster responding to tasks. Comprehensibility on who has done what, when.,We are using Nintex Workflow and Forms on SharePoint 2016 OnPrem.,No, in our company workflows and forms are created only by the IT-staff. There is no user self-service for that.Workflows made easy for non-IT professionalsIt is being used across the whole organization, Europe-wide. The IT department in each country builds the Nintex Workflows and forms, and all the other business departments use it to submit forms or requests. It provides an easy, fast, and integrated way to build and make new solutions available in a centralized good-looking manner.,Enable non-programmers to create simple programs and webpages. Provide a business approval mechanism, in light of a paperless initiative. Assign tasks related to the form being submitted. Integrated in Microsoft Sharepoint. Strong community. Easy drag & drop programming.,A whole lot of clicks in order to build something. Limited dynamic changing of the form when being filled out. Might not be the right tool for a real programmer.,7,Less paper Use (cheaper) non-programmers UI is already been taken care of,We use Nintex in a production and testing environment. After deployed in the company Sharepoint environment (which was already done in our case), Nintex reaches all of the business departments just like Sharepoint did.,Nintex is being used by non-IT staff in our organization because Nintex makes it easy for them to build specific business rules they know better than anyone.,MS SharePointNintex is a good tool. Be sure to test thoroughly for your use case.We tried Nintex forms to digitize a form we usually fill out on paper and do it directly in Excel instead. Our earlier methods were cumbersome and led to errors. Nintex was nice because it integrated right into our O365 services and used SharePoint which we already had access to and control over. This was just for one department but could expand to others if the solution ended up being solid.,Nintex works very well with Microsoft products and services. The interfaces and form building tools are pretty thorough and easy to use. The support staff was very helpful when needed for assistance or questions.,There are limitations on what the form can do. Example: you cannot put images or signatures inline on the mobile form. You cannot customize the form look and feel past what is offered. Had technical issues with connecting the mobile app to the SharePoint instance. Had to keep extending the trial of the product while working through issues. Why not just keep it open longer and check back later? It was annoying to keep asking if they would extend trial since I hadn't had the chance to even use the product yet due to initial issues.,8,The time spent checking into this product was valuable. Although we did not go with it, we did see some possibilities for SharePoint use in the future. We got exposure to the product for possible uses elsewhere in the company. We met national and local vendors during our research and wouldn't mind working with them again at some later date.,The target users for our mobile form application were mostly in the field and sometimes in the office. It was crucial that they be able to access the form via tablet and laptop as needed. Forms needed to be able to be saved as a draft and came back to later. While Nintex is very versatile, it just did not meet our exact needs in the end.,Our IT staff were the ones setting this up and getting everything in place. Our standard users were the ones to use this in the field and at their desks during the day. Once set up and optimized for our way of doing things, the platform and forms were pretty easy to use and navigate in my opinion.,ProntoFormsCreate digital experience automation processes and get double ROINintex platform is being used to automate complex workflows with multiple stages and many participants. Nintex offers flexibility and a feature set which is adequate for most workflows and for any complex use cases the user-defined actions framework is extremely useful. We had evaluated multiple platforms and Nintex is our primary pick unless we are using an expert system for specific operations.,Flexibility User-defined actions Analytics Easy to learn Prompt vendor support,Nothing specific Mostly architects shall guide to avoid mistakes,9,Facilitates audits & optimizations. Measurable performance and areas of improvements. Employee satisfaction with digital experience.,We use SharePoint in on-prem environments and are planning to use it in SharePoint Online and Azure environments.,Non-IT staff are actors on Nintex workflows but all workflows are designed and deployed by IS.,Power of Nintex in a mid-sized enterprise.We use the platform to support a variety of business processes across the enterprise. Workflows and forms are used for change management processes, incident report, and inspection processes.,Simple to build an application using forms designer and workflow engine. Complex workflows with many steps. Drop down dialogue boxes.,Simple connections to backend DBs. Simplified software upgrades. Multi-lingual capabilities.,9,Business process automation has been very beneficial. Software upgrades are difficult.,We use Nintex as our on-prem SharePoint environment. We only plan on using Nintex on SharePoint. We are deploying O365 and planning to put SharePoint online and would expect a seamless/painless transition on features and licensing models.,A large part of our user base uses Nintext platform for inspection processes and incident management.,Nintex Workflow a tool for any userWe are using Nintex to reduce paper forms and workflow processes. We previously had a large number of manual processes and large paper-based forms that were filled out multiple times a day. This allows us to reduce our waste, printing costs and also increase approval speed for key functions. We can also now analyze the data to look for trends and identify improvements for our business.,Electronic forms Workflows Multi-device support,Print-friendly views for all forms no matter which version you are using. Ease of use when utilizing repeating sections. PDF generation in workflow.,10,Reduction in printing costs. Flexibility in being able to make changes without downtime. Ease of implementation means there are minimal development costs.,We are using the o365 environment, now that it supports mobile, desktop, multi browsers it is ideal for our environment. The ability to collect forms in an offline state on a mobile device is valuable as we attend locations where there is no mobile connectivity. This enables us to still collect data in an easy to do format.,Nintex is being used by all areas of our business, the implementation is always done with IT staff then handed over to the business for testing. This has allowed us to rapidly deploy forms to our end users to assist in data collection and analysis in an easy to use format.,,Azure DevOps (formerly VSTS), Visual Studio IDE, MS SharePointMy Nintex OpinionWe use Nintex to automate manual workflows and digitalize processes.,Nintex provides amazing workflow possibilities.,Nintex forms are stiff and do not allow much room to create fields out of the box. There is no integration with Excel.,7,Positive Impact: Nintex workflow works like a clock. No issues, all approvers are notified and reporting is clear. However, you cannot create a workflow without the form. Negative impact: Very clunky form, hard to create specific forms needed for our business. Form fields are limited. I can't upload an existing XLS form into Nintex.,We use Nintex in SharePoint to keep track of approvers and users. Nintex helped us automate the manual process but Nintex is not very flexible. Forms are not very user-friendly.,Yes, Nintex forms are used only by non-IT employees. We use Nintex to automate existing workflows.,Nintex current leader but needs to moderniseNintex being used as platform for automating business processes and electronically completed business forms. It addresses the following problems: * Automates manual business processes * Reduces need to hardcopy forms by allowing users to report data * Allows uses to enter data when offline.,User friendly development interface with little code required - Allows developers to better develop, support and troubleshoot forms. Offline capabilities - In industries with remote workers, having the ability to fill in a form without a reliable internet connection or connection to company network is hugely important. Good logging - Allows developers a custom logging functions that makes troubleshooting a lot easier.,Loading can be slow when publishing forms and workflows Out of the box Nintex forms doesn't allow you to connect across site collections. With flat structures including 1000s of site collection becoming more common, this is important. Helpdesk has not been responsive or helpful at times.,7,Positive - Allowed non-programmer developers to be able to build and understand eforms and workflows. Negative - Migrated from on-premise to Online was and still is a massively timeconsuming and costly process as there is no adequate migration tool and the features are not at parity,,Office 365 Intranet and document management environments - very important to have flexible deployment so that the solution can be restricted to development team but deployed where needed for special projects.,Non-IT staff fill in forms and action workflows tasks. They do not develop.,PowerApps and Microsoft Flow,Power BI For Office 365, Microsoft Office 365, PowerApps, ServiceNowFast, simple and gets the job done.Nintex Platform is being used across all our departments. We use Nintex Workflows and Forms to automate many of our Finance, Travel Expense, HR, IT processes. We also use it to support our market expansion planning.,Easy to develop Quick to launch User friendly,Nintex Support resolution time,9,FTE reduction in many areas We can see much faster ROI,We use Nintex Workflows and Forms for SharePoint. We can deploy any solution anytime that suits us. That flexibility is crucial when you are working in a global setup managing multiple timezones.,Nintex Forms is the obvious answer. Non-IT users can create a Form which is fit for their one-time needs to gather information or to manage a process that would normaly involve a lot of e-mails floating arround.,A well-known trusted product the helps you deliver a lotIt's used along with Nintex Forms across the whole organisation to streamline and automate some of the business processes on different parts.,SharePoint workflows SharePoint forms Support of easy to complex no code workflows,Immediate triggers that are not bind to timer jobs Technical errors details clarifying issue,9,Reduced costs of paying other third-parties,On premises production environment.,Not really. They are the users of processes and forms. So from an end user perspective they use forms and the automated workflow manages the rest of the process.,SharePoint Designer,SharePoint Designer, Microsoft FlowNintex Workflows offer benefits to automate advanced document workflowsUsed to automate document workflows in SharePoint for projects that we participate in with other organizations.,Automate processes. Clear user interface. More options than default SharePoint workflows.,Stability has been an issue in the past (workflows sometimes not working). Pricing options. Availability of documentation/help setting up workflows.,6,Offered benefits that made us a preferred partner in projects.,We use it within Office365. I can't answer questions on deployment flexibility.,IT is not used by non-IT staff.,,Microsoft 365 Business, MS SharePoint, Adobe Acrobat DC
Windows
Nintex Platform
153 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Nintex Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Nintex Platform
153 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 153 vetted Nintex Platform reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 84)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Mark Russell profile photo
June 17, 2019

Nintex Platform: "Nintex 2016 product review for defense contractors in a closed network"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex products were first selected for review by my company as a replacement to the out of the box SharePoint 2010 designer workflows and to also remove the burden of support for user-designed custom workflows. When evaluating products, my team was impressed with the ease of use, flexibility in workflow design and build turnaround time as well as the implementation of their products. We hand-picked a select user base that we knew were building and designing SPD workflows for evaluation as part of a pilot project. It didn't take long for them to adopt the product and eventually convert their existing SPD workflows to Nintex. SAIC/Leidos was one of the first large organizations to officially use Nintex products and we have a great rapport with our account managers as they are always looking for feedback on how they can improve their products. We've officially used all of their products to date including Nintex 2010 Workflows 2010, Nintex 2013 Workflows and Forms and the latest version of Nintex 2016 Workflow and Forms. Our SharePoint farms are all on-premise and located in our data centers in the U.S., United Kingdom and Australia with a current user base of approximately 40,000 (internal employees and external contractors) supporting over 5000 site collections.
  • Nintex workflows provide a robust interface that's not only intuitive but easy to learn with little to no coding experience.
  • Nintex forms are particularly powerful and provide a great alternative to InfoPath forms which is being deprecated.
  • Upgrading between versions of Nintex is easy to do with their nwadmin tool and robust documentation provided on their support portal.
  • The user adoption rate of their products is extremely high and doesn't require a selling point or an explanation of benefits in converting their existing workflows and forms.
  • Updating Nintex to fix bugs in a production environment can be challenging at times and requires thorough testing in a QA environment first as it doesn't always go smooth.
  • Separating Nintex content databases and moving site collections with large workflows can be a daunting task.
  • Nintex workflow timer jobs can use a lot of server resources at times and application server load balancing should be implemented instead of running on a single server.
Nintex should consider the industry that their products are designed for in that it's not always possible to transmit data to the cloud in order to use some of their advanced features. Leidos is a defense contractor and we are under tight restrictions on what can and cannot be done outside of our data center and some of their features should be made available to on-prem farms. So in our case, Nintex Live cannot be used nor can their document conversion even though our users are constantly asking for these features.
Read Mark Russell's full review
Francisco Falomir profile photo
April 02, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "If you want to automate, you have to use Nintex"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nintex Platform to automate processes across the whole organization. It includes Safety & Environment, Management of Changes, Improvements Control, Production Events Notification, JRS, Product Liability and so on. In the beginning, the scope was the plant site, but now we are developing workflows and forms for Quality Assurance, Internal Audits, and several administration workflows. In the future, we'll expand to the RRHH area.
  • We are using Nintex for Sharepoint, but using SQL connectors you can easily connect with other sources, like AD, relational databases, and ERP. That way, you are able to integrate data with a structured workflow, that is the weakness of database based software
  • Nintex workflow & forms are relatively easy to use. Now we are three people developing, and only one is a programmer. Our dream is to expand the developing function to the key users, at least for developing simple workflows
  • DOC generator is one of the most powerful tools. It allows you to make a final document from the workflow. The key to digitalization is to understand the processes are not documents but that it is important to have a final report.
  • Forms: Some functionality about validation, or buttons need to be implemented using JAVASCRIPT. It would be welcomed to include more functions in this area.
  • Forms: The parent-child relationship is another area to improve. Repeating sections don't have the required performance to make a strong relationship between two or more tables (Sharepoint lists).
  • Workflow: Using an on-premise environment, there is not a good system to manage workflows: versions, insights, purge, etc.
Well-suited to automation processes (it does not matter what type or complexity), you can have feedback on their productivity and performance. Great connectivity between several data sources to feed the processes and store the results. In our case, the SharePoint integration is amazing, managing not only processes based on a list but in the document's life cycle. Less appropriate for cases where your processes are based on several data tables with relations. It is better to use a relational database, then use workflow with connectors when you need some workflow performance, user tasks, mailing and so on.
Read Francisco Falomir's full review
Chris Carpenter profile photo
March 25, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "On-Prem Nintex was everything we ever wanted in a workflow tool. We're not on-prem anymore, and we're lost."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use[d] Nintex (on-prem) primarily as an automation tool for work in process tracking and notifications. We used it for approvals, notifications, list and library management, and some business process automation. It had been used across our organization, but the capability set for Office 365 did not match the on-prem version and our corporate IT infrastructure team said that it didn't pass a hygiene test in Office 365, so we switched to MS Flow.
  • On-prem Nintex did workflow design and authoring great - it was easy to automate workflows as a non-developer
  • It did a great job of approvals and reviews (a primary business need for us)
  • It helped us manage business processes that were global and kept information flowing rather than keeping it stuck on an Excel file on someone's desk. It just worked very well with SharePoint.
  • It was a great notification / communication tool for us; automating messaging for state-changes in Sharepoint and giving us artifacts of activity that we could use in an audit.
  • Nintex needs to hit voice of customer hard. Workflow means automation of some function. Those transactions have key components like communication, approval, review, etc. When Nintex moved to Office365, much of what was basic and easy to author in the on-prem version became very obscured or non-existent.
  • Nintex servers have a tendency to bog down and get SLOOOOOOOOOOW when stressed at volume. That's true of most any system, but load balancing just didn't happen and by EOL on some of our flows, it could take 20 minutes or more for single workflows to start, to switch states, or execute an action.
  • The licensing model for only allowing a fixed collection of simple workflows is not a customer requirement. If you survey voice of customer, I'm relatively certain there were no customers who said, "you know, if I could only be allowed 100 workflows of low complexity, that would really help me get my org empowered to exercise this tool to its fullest..."
  • I could only edit Nintex workflow in Internet Explorer. I use a Mac as my workstation. To edit a flow, I had to fire up a VM and open IE. Making it editable in most modern browsers would be might nice.
It (on-prem Nintex) was easy to author. Creating a quick automation or process flow was simple. Creating a review process or approval process was a sweet spot for this tool and it was nimble in how it connected with our org and our on-prem SharePoint environment. One key strength was the user-adoption story; creating new power-users was relatively easy.
Read Chris Carpenter's full review
Roger Brown profile photo
July 12, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Amazing Platform, Quick Development!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex workflow and forms are used very heavily by my department and across the organization as well. It gives us the opportunity to quickly provide custom solutions to our users. SharePoint has a great deal of functionality, and Nintex helps to bring that functionality to the surface. We can easily integrate data across different lists and libraries, which reduces duplication of data and increases data integrity.
  • Creation of tasks: There is a variety of tasks you can use out of the box with Nintex and it's nice to be able to create custom task notifications.
  • Notifications: The send notification action is great and makes it easy to customize the verbiage and all parts of the message.
  • Updating list items has never been easier than with Nintex! It's so much more powerful than the standard SharePoint Designer workflows. I'm not sure I could go back, because Nintex has opened my eyes to all that is available with workflows!
  • Ease of use: With all the actions available in Nintex, I'm doing things I never could have imagined doing with workflows in SharePoint. It has given me a new challenge as I thought I'd reached the end of what I could do with SharePoint customization.
  • Make it easier to copy data from formulas and other similar boxes. Anytime I try that the references get lost.
  • Better troubleshooting: This has always been an issue with SharePoint Development in general. The only way I have to debug workflows is to log variables to the history log. Can't someone just tell me what the problem is?
  • Migration: Is Nintex planning to develop a migration tool? Many organizations have Nintex, but have to purchase another third party tool. That would make the Nintex suite even more valuable to it's users!
I absolutely recommend Nintex to others. It provides quick out of the box customization for workflows and forms. Integration of business data is made much simpler, as you can easily surface data from across your site collections. This allows you to retain data in a central place and access it from anywhere else. You can go as custom as you like, but even the Nintex canned tasks and notifications provide a great deal of functionality.
Read Roger Brown's full review
Scooter D Nelson profile photo
June 14, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Simple, yet efficient"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex is being used across the lower 48 for our company to track our behavior-based safety performance. Slight adjustments have been made to the program/forms to make it more user-friendly, but the biggest issue that we have found is the mobile application does not work. I have contacted multiple groups with no successes. Even when logging into the server via computer, I receive many reports of persons entering BBS cards but for some reason, they do not show up in any report.
  • The mobile application, when working, is particularly good - for remote workers that are in the field to enter information in a timely manner.
  • The interface with our company's Spotfire dashboard for BBS reports is very easy to view and analyze.
  • Streamline the mobile application.
  • The times that I have contacted Nintex via phone or email, it was very difficult to find contact information.
  • Even in using a company's server or a database, I think it would be good to have a single point of contact or owner that a person using the system could contact for issues or suggestions.
It is well suited for data sharing and gathering.
Read Scooter D Nelson's full review
ben stori profile photo
June 11, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "The Best Business Process Mapping and Automation Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex across all our departments, from HR on-boarding, policy review and other online forms, to sales contracts using document generation, e-signatures to making signing contracts fast and easy. We also use it for a lot of RVSPs because we can send an outlook calendar invite right to the employee who has signed up.
  • Rapid Process Automation.
  • It scales to the whole enterprise and they do not charge extra for connecting to other systems, it covers different states that mimic what actually happens within the organization.
  • It allows business users to modify and create workflows and forms.
  • Tied directly to the Microsoft .net workflow engine
  • No visual aids on workflows in O365
  • No notifications when a workflow fails
Contracts
Policy Management
On-Boarding
PTO and Travel Requests
Connecting other systems
Workflows in Salesforce
Read ben stori's full review
Rodrigo Amigorena profile photo
June 10, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Benefits of Nintex on Pre vs Nintex Online"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Nintex in our 2 SharePoint 2010 farms in international, and there is another SharePoint 2013 farm in corporate also running Nintex.
  • Very intuitive user interface. Very simple and responsive
  • No Coding Required. Any power user with basic systems knowledge can configure advanced workflows.
  • Advanced features are supported like State Machine Workflows.
  • Our main problem today with Nintex is the licensing model. We are currently licensed for on-prem but we are actively moving to SharePoint Online. However the pricing model for Online makes it almost impossible for us to adopt the product and is forcing us to seek alternative products.
Nintex is one of the best solutions I have come across in the SharePoint space. It covers a gap that very few systems support which is empowering end users to automate their day to day activities, including approvals, reminders, and any simple business process. It integrates seamlessly with Infopath although Microsoft is retiring these forms and is only offering Powerapps and Flow as alternatives which is not really a like for like replacement. That is where Nintex Forms comes in play and is the perfect replacement.

In the past we tried to use Nintex to manage complex business processes for use cases that would may have been better suited for a dedicated and custom application instead. The main limitation is really Sharepoint as an application platform, not really Nintex. But our learning was that Nintex is great for use cases where you might not need future integrations or APIs.
Read Rodrigo Amigorena's full review
Dennis Tanghe profile photo
May 24, 2019

Nintex Platform: "My Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use workflows and forms throughout the whole organization. Workflow mainly to automate tasks. Most frequently are the double approval flows. And forms for more advanced input where we need to hide/show fields based on other fields.
  • You can build something very fast
  • Very easy to deploy the created flows and forms from dev to production
  • Amazing support from Nintex
  • Magnificent user interface
  • Too expensive
  • Experience required to build flawless flows
  • Logging limited to 255 (?) characters
Double/Multiple approvals. Automated tasks, like requesting info based on state. Once I've made SQL calls, which is a really bad practice. If I didn't have that block, I've would be required to build a service, which is the way to do it. So such blocks that lead to bad practices should be removed. I tend to use them anyway when time is short.
Read Dennis Tanghe's full review
Laura Stein profile photo
April 09, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Great product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mainly to automate workflows that are currently manual. Using Forms, Workflows, and Mobile Forms.
  • Workflows that are cross-site and cross-site collection.
  • Forms - the many platforms/designs, especially mobile forms with ink signature.
  • Ability to add my own CSS and JavaScript to a form.
  • Good support, good Nintex Community. Vadim's posts.
  • Can't convert a lookup field to text in the workflow (or maybe I just can't figure out how)
  • Workflow: please add an Action to get the string length. The Nintex community has instructions on how to do this on-prem, but we have only O365/SharePoint Online
Good - Workflows cross site collections; nice forms
Bad - My last job was at a non-profit, and they decided that even the 5-workflow package was too expensive. So, not good when there are serious cost concerns.
IMO, you get what you pay for.
Read Laura Stein's full review
Marco Kronemberger profile photo
March 12, 2019

Nintex Platform: "Nintex Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex across the whole organization on every process that needs workflows.
  • It can handle workflows like no others and customize forms very well.
  • I can't see any point right now.
We have several user-designed processes where the data flow goes through several stages, and Nintex works very well controlling the steps of these flows. Sets control of user access in steps, sends emails during the steps and allow the responses of forms by third parties that are outside the company through Nintex Live.

Read Marco Kronemberger's full review
No photo available
July 16, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Big Money and Big Value"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex to automate business processes related to project controls through Workflows and Forms.
  • Visual.
  • Integrated.
  • Extensible.
  • No error handling in SharePoint 0nline.
  • Slow Form rendering.
  • No bulk processing options.
Nintex is very costly, and while services such as Flow and PowerApps are not nearly as mature or robust. It's hard to make the business case to jump up to Nintex on every project we manage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex: simple to install and sustain and lets the business manage their business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintext can be leveraged across the entire organization as a productivity enhancement tool to create workflows. The tool is given to the Lines of Business to self administer. The problem it resolved was how LOBs can create simple workflow programs by themselves.
  • It's simple to install and sustain on the SharePoint platform.
  • The workflows are simple to document and follow once created. Users can just follow the start trigger to the end.
  • It's priced well compared to enterprise tools.
  • End-users can create triggers that create endless triggers so it is powerful, but we would like the ability to limit the number of triggers if coded wrong.
It can easily support business workflows and be managed by the LOBs with limited tech experience. At the same time, a tech-savvy person could create a robust complex workflow.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Workflow 2010"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Nintex Workflow for SharePoint 2010 within our business for 5 years +. We have various processes that are simplified using Nintex Workflow within business functions including Human Resources, Health and Safety, ICT, Project Management and some core business transactions are also supported with Nintex. The main benefit for us has been the automation of what would otherwise be laborious and time-consuming processes.
  • Approval workflows: Easy to build and report on
  • Detailed workflow history for analysis
  • Intuitive user interface
  • Workflow 2010 (at least the version we are using) does not allow the use of PowerShell scripts to perform certain tasks within the workflow
  • We sometimes get a 'deadlock error' message when we are trying to run too many workflows simultaneously. I think possibly our SharePoint farm is under-provisioned, however.
As mentioned, we have found Nintex to be most beneficial to our business for creating complex approval workflows. We also use it to facilitate some file transfers between various business systems and SharePoint. The graphical workflow history allows us to pinpoint where in the process the workflow currently is and also helps us accurately troubleshoot.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 21, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex, when basic fails and you need to take it up a level"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to make efficiencies across the organization, writing to lists, approvals, data collection. There is not enough functionality in MS Forms and Flow to fulfill all our requirements. Multiple approvals, lazy approvals, and multiple conditions are a great help. I am currently training others in our organization to empower them to find and implement efficiencies.
  • Running workflows that require multiple approvals with extra information being required on occasion.
  • Running approvals where it depends on other factors as to who to choose as the approver.
  • Writing items to lists.
  • Identifying user details from AD ie line manager and department.
  • Extracting information from XML, in particular from repeating sections created in Nintex forms.
  • Extracting items from repeating sections.
  • Parsing information from AD i.e. e-mail addresses.
  • It would be good to format columns/rows in SharePoint lists.
Great for approvals, sending emails and writing to lists, either in the same SharePoint site collection or in others. As we start using Teams more, new opportunities for workflows will emerge. This may involve adding channels or TABs. Sending well-formatted emails is still an issue as often the formatting does not get applied.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 13, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Workflows and Forms in our company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Workflows and Forms are used for the implementation of business scenarios needed by the internal departments across the whole organization. In most times, it replaces processes that previously needed to be done manually like filling out Excel spreadsheets and sending them around by email to the next editor.
  • You can create workflows and forms very easy and fast which is good for prototyping.
  • Forms are extendable by custom Javascript and stylesheets.
  • Workflows provide possibilities to connect to other systems like MSSQL or web services.
  • When workflows sometimes have an error, the error logging could be better. Sometimes it's not possible to find out why a workflow is errored.
  • There should be a possibility to print a large workflow (more than one screen long) into a multi-page pdf.
  • PDF generation of a Nintex Form should be also possible to be done automatically instead of only print by button click in the browser.
Nintex Workflows are suitable very good for small or mid-sized streamlined workflows. Nintex Forms is suitable for customization of New/Edit Forms in SharePoint Lists to provide a much better UI/UX to the user.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 01, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Workflows made easy for non-IT professionals"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization, Europe-wide. The IT department in each country builds the Nintex Workflows and forms, and all the other business departments use it to submit forms or requests. It provides an easy, fast, and integrated way to build and make new solutions available in a centralized good-looking manner.
  • Enable non-programmers to create simple programs and webpages.
  • Provide a business approval mechanism, in light of a paperless initiative.
  • Assign tasks related to the form being submitted.
  • Integrated in Microsoft Sharepoint.
  • Strong community.
  • Easy drag & drop programming.
  • A whole lot of clicks in order to build something.
  • Limited dynamic changing of the form when being filled out.
  • Might not be the right tool for a real programmer.
Nintex is well suited for organizations which already have Sharepoint highly embedded in the company culture. Adds functionality and easiness to building forms and digitizing processes. It is well suited to be used by non (or limited) IT people. It could be frustrating for programmers and "techy guys" which are used to greater freedom and to building things their own way.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 01, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex is a good tool. Be sure to test thoroughly for your use case."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We tried Nintex forms to digitize a form we usually fill out on paper and do it directly in Excel instead. Our earlier methods were cumbersome and led to errors. Nintex was nice because it integrated right into our O365 services and used SharePoint which we already had access to and control over. This was just for one department but could expand to others if the solution ended up being solid.
  • Nintex works very well with Microsoft products and services.
  • The interfaces and form building tools are pretty thorough and easy to use.
  • The support staff was very helpful when needed for assistance or questions.
  • There are limitations on what the form can do. Example: you cannot put images or signatures inline on the mobile form.
  • You cannot customize the form look and feel past what is offered.
  • Had technical issues with connecting the mobile app to the SharePoint instance.
  • Had to keep extending the trial of the product while working through issues. Why not just keep it open longer and check back later? It was annoying to keep asking if they would extend trial since I hadn't had the chance to even use the product yet due to initial issues.
If you have simple or moderately complex form needs this is a good product. I did like the tools, support and MS integrations, but it just did not meet our specific wants. There is much more that the product and the related products could do, but we couldn't get past a few things we really needed that it did not do.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 28, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Create digital experience automation processes and get double ROI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex platform is being used to automate complex workflows with multiple stages and many participants. Nintex offers flexibility and a feature set which is adequate for most workflows and for any complex use cases the user-defined actions framework is extremely useful. We had evaluated multiple platforms and Nintex is our primary pick unless we are using an expert system for specific operations.
  • Flexibility
  • User-defined actions
  • Analytics
  • Easy to learn
  • Prompt vendor support
  • Nothing specific
  • Mostly architects shall guide to avoid mistakes
We had evaluated multiple platforms and Nintex is our primary pick unless we are using an expert system for specific operations. It is very well suited for small to complex workflows with Nintex Forms as well as custom SharePoint forms. With complex workflows where the audit is critical, just let architects guide how to avoid mistakes and what shall be the strategy to push workflow forward after resolving any issues rather than a complete reset.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 27, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Power of Nintex in a mid-sized enterprise."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the platform to support a variety of business processes across the enterprise. Workflows and forms are used for change management processes, incident report, and inspection processes.
  • Simple to build an application using forms designer and workflow engine.
  • Complex workflows with many steps.
  • Drop down dialogue boxes.
  • Simple connections to backend DBs.
  • Simplified software upgrades.
  • Multi-lingual capabilities.
Straight forward workflows with simple radio and drop down boxes, text boxes. Dragging and dropping files into the forms can be a more involved process. Software upgrades have been difficult which has also created conflicts with other SharePoint applications. Multi-lingual forms create some challenges.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 23, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Workflow a tool for any user"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nintex to reduce paper forms and workflow processes. We previously had a large number of manual processes and large paper-based forms that were filled out multiple times a day. This allows us to reduce our waste, printing costs and also increase approval speed for key functions. We can also now analyze the data to look for trends and identify improvements for our business.
  • Electronic forms
  • Workflows
  • Multi-device support
  • Print-friendly views for all forms no matter which version you are using.
  • Ease of use when utilizing repeating sections.
  • PDF generation in workflow.
If you have paper logbooks Nintex is the ideal candidate to replace these. You will no longer have to incur printing costs. It is easy to get a prototype form/workflow up and running to show instant results. You can build the form during a scoping meeting which helps speed up getting the solution into production.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 27, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "My Nintex Opinion"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nintex to automate manual workflows and digitalize processes.
  • Nintex provides amazing workflow possibilities.
  • Nintex forms are stiff and do not allow much room to create fields out of the box. There is no integration with Excel.
Nintex is perfect for workflows however you must create the form you will be using to start that workflow. If your form is detailed and requires Excel fields you will be stuck and unable to proceed.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 08, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex current leader but needs to modernise"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex being used as platform for automating business processes and electronically completed business forms. It addresses the following problems:
* Automates manual business processes
* Reduces need to hardcopy forms by allowing users to report data
* Allows uses to enter data when offline.
  • User friendly development interface with little code required - Allows developers to better develop, support and troubleshoot forms.
  • Offline capabilities - In industries with remote workers, having the ability to fill in a form without a reliable internet connection or connection to company network is hugely important.
  • Good logging - Allows developers a custom logging functions that makes troubleshooting a lot easier.
  • Loading can be slow when publishing forms and workflows
  • Out of the box Nintex forms doesn't allow you to connect across site collections. With flat structures including 1000s of site collection becoming more common, this is important.
  • Helpdesk has not been responsive or helpful at times.
Well suited for:
- Building eForms and workflows for one particular business area where the processes interconnected.
- Data entry and reporting forms for remote workers who use mobile devices and have unreliable internet connections
Not-well suited for:
- Workflows and forms that have touch points across different environments or applications
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 17, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Fast, simple and gets the job done."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nintex Platform is being used across all our departments. We use Nintex Workflows and Forms to automate many of our Finance, Travel Expense, HR, IT processes. We also use it to support our market expansion planning.
  • Easy to develop
  • Quick to launch
  • User friendly
  • Nintex Support resolution time
Suits well in every process that is supported via e-mails and needs managers approval it also fits for document exchange scenarios where multiple parties are involved. Not suited for long-running and highly complex processes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 10, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "A well-known trusted product the helps you deliver a lot"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used along with Nintex Forms across the whole organisation to streamline and automate some of the business processes on different parts.
  • SharePoint workflows
  • SharePoint forms
  • Support of easy to complex no code workflows
  • Immediate triggers that are not bind to timer jobs
  • Technical errors details clarifying issue
  • For workflows within the scope of SharePoint it works well in my opinion.
  • For some workflows like renaming documents that doesn't work really well. It's tricky.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 23, 2019

Nintex Platform Review: "Nintex Workflows offer benefits to automate advanced document workflows"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to automate document workflows in SharePoint for projects that we participate in with other organizations.
  • Automate processes.
  • Clear user interface.
  • More options than default SharePoint workflows.
  • Stability has been an issue in the past (workflows sometimes not working).
  • Pricing options.
  • Availability of documentation/help setting up workflows.
Well suited for omplex document workflows that need options that are not available in SharePoint workflows.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Dashboards (40)
6.9
Standard reports (41)
6.9
Custom reports (37)
6.7
Process designer (62)
8.1
Process simulation (11)
6.7
Business rules engine (59)
7.8
SOA support (55)
7.3
Process player (8)
7.1
Support for modeling languages (5)
5.5
Form builder (62)
7.7
Model execution (52)
7.3
Social collaboration tools (7)
8.7
Content management (10)
8.3

About Nintex Platform

Nintex Platform is a solution for Business Process Management and Digital Process Automation. The vendor reports that public and private sector organizations around the world leverage the Nintex Platform every day to quickly and easily manage, automate and optimize their business processes. Nintex Platform includes capabilities for process mapping, workflow automation, robotic process automation, document generation, forms, mobile apps, process intelligence and more, all with a drag and drop designer focused on ease of use.

Nintex Platform Features

Process Engine Features
Has featureProcess designer
Does not have featureProcess simulation
Has featureBusiness rules engine
Has featureSOA support
Does not have featureProcess player
Does not have featureSupport for modeling languages
Has featureForm builder
Has featureModel execution
Collaboration Features
Does not have featureSocial collaboration tools
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Content Management Capabilties Features
Does not have featureContent management

Nintex Platform Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Nintex Platform Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
15%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
36%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
49%

Nintex Platform Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Nintex Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web