Nmap Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
30 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

The best hacking tool you will ever need!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nmap to both scan our network from time to time as well as to validate scan results from other platforms such as Nessus or Nexpose. One of the perks of NMAP is the built-in scrips that not only will look for weaknesses but also validate them by performing the exploit to see if the vulnerability can be exploited or not.
  • Very user-intuitive.
  • Built-in scripts allow for vulnerability testing.
  • Better GUI for ZenMap.
  • Can be difficult to learn and master.
As a blue/red team member, NMAP is crucial to my day and I would highly recommend it to other users needing the same type of tool for scanning. This tool is a key program to use for enumeration and port-scanning a network. One of the caveats though is if you do not have network connectivity then this tool will not be able to provide any results.
Read Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP's full review
Peter Paccione | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Probably one of the most important tools in your test kit...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nmap is a tool that I would say is always required in network testing. It's literally the first step to enumerating a network host. It's also extremely useful for non intrusive testing as well. I would use Nmap before I use any other major scanner just to get a good idea of the open ports, then I would nail those with another test.
  • Enumeration
  • Port Scanning
  • Network scans
  • Vulnerability checks
  • They do not make modules fast enough! More more more!
Nmap should be used in any network environment, but can even be used to scan the local host. There are a myriad of uses for it though, I frequently use it when deploying cloud servers to audit ports, or check if traffic is getting through. I also use it to audit my own firewall, just to ensure the correct ports are opened and closed.
Read Peter Paccione's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Nmap: the best, free network scanning tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's only being used by our IS department. Mainly for scanning of open ports on devices. Looking for possible security holes using Nmap's scripting engine.
  • Open/Closed ports.
  • OS detection.
  • I would it say it's hard for new people using it as the there are too many switches.
  • Better/faster udp scanning. I know that udp is best effort but something better would be great instead of waiting for timeouts.
Powerful for such a small application. Easy to install on Linux, if not a default app that's is already installed. If you need a quick scan of a network for up/down hosts and there IP address/name it's great.

If you get into OS detection and mass port scanning of a large network it does slow down a far bit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

You should already be using Nmap

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NMap is used both by my department and other departments within our IT section. In particular, the network engineering department uses it to identify end-hosts that may be unauthorized to be on our network, while the security department uses it to assess the threats of different hosts within the enterprise network.
  • Highly accurate endpoint identification
  • Vulnerability scanning is detailed and clear.
  • Easily scripted and analyzed
  • CLI only; there is an unofficial graphical interface (but it isn't too great)
  • Not supported by a vendor
  • Somewhat steep learning curve
NMap is well suited to any environment that requires vulnerability scanning or endpoint identification. The application is free to use and well-documented. Any network that has technicians capable of running and interpreting scans would benefit from installing NMap. The only reason I wouldn't recommend NMap would be a scenario in which the users didn't have the capability to run or interpret the output of the application.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Nmap is a great tool for any network admin

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to maintain PCI compliance by checking ports, by testing firewall rules, and to double-check what we see connected to the network. It's a great tool to identify unintended changes or open ports, or to verify our third-party scanner reports one way or the other.
  • Detects open ports
  • IDs hosts
  • Checking firewall rules
  • Maybe take some of the features of Zenmap and bake them in?
  • Include fancy extra graphical results charts or graphs or something to show people who you want to convey info too but have no idea what Nmap is actually doing.
  • I don't really think I'd change a lot actually.
If you get an email saying your organization has failed its PCI scan because of a service running on a specific port that is a known port, say port 500 for a tunnel or something, and they want you to justify why port 500 is open, but you never opened port 500, you can use Nmap to check that. It's awesome in that role.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Brilliant tool for occasional network scanning.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nmap is THE tool to use for network monitoring. Though as a Technical Security Officer I do not do any penetration tests myself, I do the occasional scan with Nmap to check for servers and/or services. With its huge amount of options you can scan your network in any way you like.
  • It's quick (and depending on the options and your preferences for scanning can be made to run even quicker)
  • Huge amount of options
  • User community support is ubiquitous
  • Hardly anything to mention
Very well suited for anyone wanting to scan their network (with permission if required!). Being a command line tool you need some knowledge, so not for a beginner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

NMAP is an absolute MUST for any sysadmin!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nmap in our IT operations for troubleshooting network issues and improving network performance. It's great for security testing and mapping your network infrastructure.
  • Open port scanning is a great tool to ensure your internal and external networks are secured.
  • being able to identify endpoints and ensuring they are configured correctly.
  • Great to be able to script within NMAP. It truly can be tailored to your exact needs
  • Wish it had a gui and a better UI experience.
  • Even though it's free an enterprise support option would be great.
Nmap is great at finding out the weak points within your internal and external network. Being able to find out exactly what devices are on your internal network is a great asset to securing your network from internal threats.
Read this authenticated review
Zishan ali | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Network mapper for finding the open ports

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nmap is an network mapper which is used for finding the open ports in the network and also we can find the vulnerability in the network infrastructure. We've been using Nmap in our organisation since for 1.3 years. It is a very useful tool that I use for scanning and exploiting the latest vulnerability from the network and also we can find the open ports in the network devices.
  • Nmap is an network mapper
  • Finding the open ports is very easy using the Nmap
  • I recommended this tool all the other employees .
  • If there is no network we cannot use this tool
  • I recommended to use this tool
Nmap is well suited for every network device. We use this tool to find the open ports.
Read Zishan ali's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2019

For real network mapping power, Nmap is the way to go!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in the IT department for network monitoring. It addresses a wide range of problems, testing device security, identifying unknown devices, and mapping the existing network.
  • Network monitoring
  • Port Scanning
  • Service enumeration.
  • It works perfectly as it is where features are concerned. If it is combined with Zenmap for those preferring a GUI, it's invaluable.
As a new Network Admin coming into a network with virtually no documentation at the workstation OR server level, Nmap was the perfect starting point to get some idea of the types of devices on the network, the services they were running, and how they were configured at the port level.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Nmap to the stars

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it only on the IT department to make intensive scans on the network for troubleshooting purpose and to find anomalies.
  • The GUI is very helpful for those that don't like the classic way.
  • Intensive Scan, Ping and port scans
  • Make a little topology of the Host found.
  • Does not work all the time depending on the network and the security on it.
Is a powerful tool, but be careful not to make too many flood and SYN floods using this software. It can scan a lot of things and it can decrease performance on other device in the network.
Read this authenticated review
Demitri Pevzner | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

Nmap

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software is used by me personally. Currently, I use Nmap to sweep LANs to determine if any rogue devices are connected. Additionally, any unknown items can be port scanned, and present services determined. Similarly, for security testing, vulnerabilities of specific VMs can be discovered using NSE scripts.
  • Scans for open ports, giving you the option of how aggressively or lightly to scan.
  • Can help determine which OS and services are running on a device, again, giving the option of how aggressively to scan a device.
  • There is something of a learning curve in using the tool. A number of shortcuts and GUI options are available in Zenmap to simplify the process, but perhaps a more visual interface can help simplify the selection process prior to executing the Nmap command.
I would say it excels in network sweeps for either inventory or footprinting. Very easy, intuitive, and the GUI does simplify the process considerably. I would say some of the more complex NSE scripts for finding holes in network security could be done a bit better, but for what it is, it is an excellent tool.
Read Demitri Pevzner's full review
Roger Mialkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2019

Get visibility into your network and applications with NMAP!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nmap several times per week to assist applications teams that aren't familiar with a new/existing software package they are tasked to support. This is necessary because we have firewalls that require explicit rules to allow the applications to communicate on the network. Often the applications teams do not know the software they are supporting on that intricate level. Nmap helps us determine exactly how the application talks on the network.
  • Nmap has a unique process of fingerprinting applications/devices to help us identify their communications patterns quicker.
  • Nmap can be used for network auditing by specifying whole subnets that you would like to scan for open/closed ports.
  • Nmap has a diverse presence and can be used from most operating systems.
  • Since Nmap is a free software, new and updated versions don't pop up regularly. It's rather complete as it is, but technologies advance quickly and it would benefit NMAP to try to keep up.
  • Nmap is currently offered as graphical and command line programs. Not sure if a web-based version would be something the developers would consider.
  • Nmap does not appear to offer commercial support so you are at the mercy of the community and developers if you have a particular problem you need to find a resolution for in a short amount of time.
Nmap is great for any person in IT that supports applications, computers, servers, network gear, printers. It can help pinpoint whether or not there is network communication available at a particular port or range of ports. It is perfect for finding open ports that should really be closed/firewalled.
Read Roger Mialkowski's full review
Perry Hahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Nmap - Get the IP address you need

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nmap is utilized by me team of support engineers on a regular basis to identify devices that are on our companies network to see available IP addresses and what we can use to put static IP addresses on our equipment. Using Nmap at first is very confusing but after using it once or twice, it is easy and very helpful.
  • Nmap allows you to search IP ranges that you as the user determine
  • Nmap gives you a detailed list of utilized IP addresses in the range that you have identified
  • Nmap provides what type of device is utilizing an IP address
  • When scanning, you have to put in the exact numbers for it to scan, which can be annoying
  • Nmap is very simple and just pings IP ranges, I wish it could do more
Nmap is well suited for already situated networks when looking for open IP addresses on the network. When a new piece of equipment, such as audio visual equipment, needs to have a static IP for support purposes, Nmap allows you to scan a full IP range and find an open one for you to use.
Read Perry Hahn's full review
Kenneth Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2018

NMap is your network security blanket. Literally.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of IT and Security uses NMap to scan systems for rogue or non-approved open ports. We also scan to be sure there are no non-approved operating systems, such as Windows XP or Vista on the network. I also use it to check open port service versions. In other words, I need to be sure that systems running an SSH server, for example, have the latest or the most secure version of the software. NMap helps us keep our systems secure. A periodic network sweep with it also keeps us updated on any new systems attached to the network and exactly what they're running. It provides a snapshot inventory, as well as, the security information. Any suspect systems can be intensely scanned and physically located for further investigation.
  • NMap provides a very fast and a very thorough network "sweep" that allows you to quickly map out exactly what's on your network.
  • NMap is highly configurable. The "canned" choices are very good in most instances, but using various switches and options, you can create a very specific scan and get exactly the results you're looking for.
  • NMap is easy to use. Even a new administrator will be able to use the graphical version (Zenmap) with efficiency right away.
  • Running stealthier scans would be a bonus. Current scans are pretty noisy.
  • Scans run fast, which sometimes can make it look like a system is being attacked. There is a slow, comprehensive scan option, though.
  • NMap scripts are written in Lua, which is not a mainstream language.
NMap is well suited to just about any situation, network size, or complexity. Some have brought up the point that NMap's proxy settings need work. I haven't used NMap with a proxy. NMap is my "go to" tool for a cursory security sweep. Once a problem is found, I can perform a deeper dive scan on a system or a network. I wouldn't, and don't, use NMap as my only security tool. No single tool has all the answers. For example, it is not a Wireshark in that it does not capture packets or analyze them. It is basically a port scanner, host discovery, OS detection tool.
Read Kenneth Hess's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (9)
8.7
Network monitoring (9)
8.7
Baseline threshold calculation (6)
8.3
Alerts (4)
8.4
Network capacity planning (6)
8.0
Packet capture analysis (5)
7.4
Network mapping (14)
9.2
Customizable reports (9)
7.9
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (7)
8.1
Hardware health monitoring (3)
8.0

About Nmap

Nmap is a free, open source network discovery, mapper, and security auditing software. Its core features include port scanning identifying unknown devices, testing for security vulnerabilities, and identifying network issues.

Nmap Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No