Notepad++ Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
134 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Recommended Application For File Processing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Notepad++ for writing coding or to validate syntax for VBS, SQL etc. Also validate the binary input files. It is a very easy application for file read and write in any format.
  • Easy file read and write acess.
  • Reads many file formats.
  • Easy coding in multiple languages.
  • Selecting a programming language should provide user with Auto fill syntax and validation with respective programming language.
  • Should get in mobile with Dark Mode.
  • Option to save in Google Drive or any storage where the files can be accessed anywhere.
Read any file format and it is more accessible than Notepad or any open source application. Easy to save and execute.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2020

Versatile app that's great out of the box but also super customizable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is being used by our IT department within our organization. The business problem it addresses for us is allowing us to quickly look at code without having to open our various development platforms. Notepad++ also helps with displaying code in a very readable format by auto-indentation and color-coding. The minute setting capabilities allows each developer to customize it to their liking.
  • The auto-indentation allows us to more easily create/review code.
  • Color-coding depending on which development language is being viewed is very helpful.
  • The auto-saving feature is very helpful if you accidentally close the app or if your system crashes.
  • The app becomes a bit unresponsive at times when opening large log files.
  • Only works in Windows.
  • It has a bit of an old application feel to it. It would be nice to have an updated more modern UI.
Quite often, I use Notepad++ to quickly edit files and pages without having to open a more powerful IDE. When I have to update SQL scripts, Notepad++ is my go-to application unless the script gets too complicated. The default indentation feature alone has caused me to replace using regular Notepad on my system.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Oros | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

"Notepad++" - Best Text Editor Ever!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is currently being used on a user-preference basis. Though not required or formally instituted, it is essentially the de facto choice for those in our organization's IT department that review documents with different code languages. Developers, DBAs, and IT analysts all use Notepad++. The application is leveraged because of its readability: Notepad++ has a feature where it can easily recognize and then display various coding languages with colored syntax to help users more quickly and efficiently read code.
Additionally, business users in our organization use Notepad++ because of its very detailed character location information (e.g. displays exact column space, line number, character selection, etc.).
  • Being able to open a document, select from numerous different coding languages, and then automatically have Notepad++ display the document with that language's color-coded syntax is extremely helpful for quickly analyzing and dissecting code.
  • Being able to download Plugins for various purposes allows Notepad++ to continually adapt and expand for continued use.
  • The fact that Notepad++ is free and open-source software is great for a budget-conscious buyer, but it also means that there is no ulterior motives (e.g. cross-selling products) nor is there a worry about licensing.
  • One convenient feature about Notepad++ is that any document you are working on is always saved in memory. This is very helpful if you accidentally close out of the app, or if you are forced to close out (e.g. software update, lose power), you will not lose the work you had opened.
  • The ability to search through a document and have it highlight instances (in a specific color, for easy readability) of the selected phrase you're searching for is incredibly helpful. Buiding on this, the ability to quickly compare two documents to identify any difference- line by line- has proved incredibly helpful when comparing code and when comparing non-code document.
  • The "Style Token" feature on Notepad++ could use improvement. Color markings are unpredictable when applied, making a potentially very helpful feature unusable.
  • Notepad++ does have an issue in displaying and handling very large volumes of data. That is, files exceeding 50MB usually lag when opened in Notepad++ and are difficult to copy and paste.
Notepad++ is very well suited for reading various coding languages, specifically because of it color-codes language syntax to make it easier to read. Being able to quickly discern language syntax reduces code interpretation and analysis time greatly.
Additionally, the Plugins that Notepad++ offers serve a multitude of purposes. For example, if reading an XML document, not only will Notepad++ color-code the syntax, a plugin will format the actual code in the native language format (i.e. automatically interpreting and indenting the tags). Another plugin allows two documents to be compared to identify any differences, a key feature when comparing various versions of code.
Read Chris Oros's full review
Diego Pacheco | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

A little editor to do great things

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of Notepad ++ is free for any of the sectors, we use a lot to see the issue of text formatting (even removing formatting), making some adjustments to web application source code or even taking notes, already Even without saving the document we can close the application and when reopening we do not lose what is written.
  • Change the file charset type, ISO to UTF-8
  • Check position and spacing in batch or csv files
  • Bulk editing in column mode
  • Search and replace multiple files with one term
  • Have native access to version controllers like GIT, executing their commands inside Notepad ++ itself
  • Auto save file, avoiding the need to use the save command (I miss it when I'm programming in Notepad ++)
  • For programming the coloring of the language used helps visually but it would be nice to debug the application or at least the unitary texte of the file natively when choosing the language. I use it a lot to edit PHP and Python files
  • Include in the language some frameworks like CakePhp or Django
For text file editing it is fantastic, while for programming it helps with visual markings. But I can't have it as my main editor for developing an app, just for corrections or viewing.
Read Diego Pacheco's full review
Robert Gephart | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2019

Notepad++ is a great option

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A lot of times when you are copy/pasting items across applications or websites, you want to remove the formatting from the text. The most popular software to use is Notepad. It comes installed with Windows, so it is always available. If you find that you are looking for an application that does the same thing but has more features, Notepad++ is for you.
  • Find/replace feature.
  • Multiple tabs.
  • Removes formatting from text resulting in plain text pasting.
  • It has a lot of options, sometimes they are very confusing.
  • There are a lot of hot buttons that I don't know what they do/how to use them.
  • I know that Notepad++ is a very powerful programming interface. I only use it for simple tasks.
Notepad++ is a great tool for updating code without formatting the text. If you ever need to modify a small bit of HTML for a website, it is great. I use it specifically to modify large CSV files that need bulk editing. The find/replace feature works great. I wouldn't use Notepad++ if you are writing a lot of text. It isn't a good replacement for a Word Processor. It doesn't have the formatting that you would be looking for.
Read Robert Gephart's full review
Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Notepad++ Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Notepad++ to read code from packages we create in SQL developer. PL/SQL and scripting code is easily readable from Notepad++. We can make modifications to code and verify before importing it back into our database development environment. Notepad++ has useful features including color schemes for different languages and capabilities to same in small sized files.
  • Notepad++ makes it easy to read code copied from company software such as SQL Developer and WinSCP.
  • Notepad++ has a lot of functionality and tools, from being able to search and replace to customizing text. On top of that, the software takes a minor amount of storage.
  • Notepad++ has a language option, where you can pick which language you are coding it, and it color codes and saves the file in that language.
  • Notepad++ could add functionality to detect the coding language automatically. Other than that, everything I need to do is available with Notepad++.
Notepad++ is suited for when you are looking for a highly functional version of Notepad. Given in the name, it's sort of a scrapbook area where you can copy and paste code, mess around with it, and use if for development. It has a great plugin support as well as syntax highlighting.
Read Jatel Desai's full review
Vinny Hebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Notepad++ is so much more than a text editor!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Notepadd++ for everything from taking a few notes, to using it as a full web-code editor. It is so versatile.
  • Easy to use.
  • Expand it using plugins.
  • Plugin admin could be easier to navigate.
  • Dark-mode (which is very popular) should exist.
I use all the time when I'm jotting down notes for something. In case anything goes wrong and my computer crashes, I can rest assure that my notes are saved and will return when I load the program again. It is a text editor so features like bold and italics don't exist.
Read Vinny Hebert's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Must have tool for a programmer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am not sure if it is used across the whole organization, but my department uses it. According to me, it is an amazing tool that every programmer must have and use. Notepad++ supports more than 50 programming/scripting languages. That is just one of the many features of this tool. Others being Auto-completion, spell checking, auto-save, and many more.
  • Autosave
  • Supports more than 60 programming/scripting languages.
  • Nothing I can think of
Notepad++ is an application that is well suited for almost all the tasks of a developer, for example, code editing, taking notes, code analysis, and many more. Unfortunately, it is not an IDE, so it cannot be used to compile the code.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

A must have software which saves a of time and effort

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ was widely used in my organization. I like it as it supports most of the commonly used languages. Additionally, it has some beneficial functions which are a must-have for a software person.
- User-friendly interface
- The 'Extended' feature in the 'Replace' window. Check it. It's beneficial
- Working with XML and HTML files is so much convenient in Notepad++
- The languages are in alphabetical order which makes it easy to select it and syntax highlighting is a great feature
- very easily customizable
- It clearly shows the line spacing and end line symbols which helps in testing of fixed file formats
  • While testing, there where some formats which required specific line and column numbers to test along with a similar test, Notepad++ on one side clearly shows you the line and column number whereas it also highlights the same text as selected one in the file. This sounds like a straightforward function, but it dramatically helps while you are testing a very complex a large file that has a particular format.
  • Double click to open tab. Multiple tabs, along with the option of various views, I was in quality assurance, and this helped a lot as it allows us to compare files very easily and quickly.
  • It saves the file automatically; you don't have to worry about your data even when the system crashes.
  • I like Notepad++, and it fulfills the purpose for which it is designed.
Notepad ++ wraps text, saves it, and does all text editor functions. So, Notepad++ is well suited for everyday usage and testing as well (various file formats and commonly used programming languages) and also comparing files, but for software project development, it can be challenging as you can't install frameworks or libraries.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Notepad++ Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is being used by almost everyone in the organization as it is the best tool to keep our data for a quick reference. One can use it as an IDE tool for almost 60 languages and scripts which makes it a one-stop application to use any language. The autosave option is also one of the best reasons.
  • Free and takes less amount of storage in order to install it.
  • Code auto-complete and syntax highlight works for almost all the languages that it supports.
  • Copying or cutting the data based on the number of characters in a row is also great.
  • Lots of plugins available.
  • Only text data can be saved unlike Microsoft One Note where we can paste the screenshots or any other format files along with the source links.
  • It hangs while dealing with a large amount of data.
  • The user interface is not so appealing. It would be great if Dark mode also available.
You can work on many languages at a time by switching between the files in the application. It is also the perfect tool to open WINSCP output files.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2019

Removes distractions to writing clean and clear code

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is the tool of choice for code writers in our organization's Information Services/Information Technology department. It is used as an initial editor for writing and editing all types of content (e.g., emails, documents); as a tool to strip away formatting from content; and as a simple alternative to an Integrated Development Environment for performing functions such as formatting SQL code.
  • It offers more functionality than other text editors such as Notepad without overburdening the user experience.
  • Using the add-in manager, it is easy to reformat code, such as SQL, to follow a code format standard for readability.
  • It has a simple "IntelliSense"-like feature to make it easy to retype words that have already been used in the same file.
  • Actually, there isn't much I would like to see Notepad++ do differently.
  • One of its strengths is that it is a simple application and I wouldn't want to see that changed by adding a lot to the basic feature set.
  • The application can be extended, somewhat, to meet more particular needs through the use of add-ons.
I recommend Notepad++ to people all of the time, whether they are tech workers or not. I find it helps sometimes with writing to have a simple interface, sort of like a blank canvas, in order to capture content without having formatting options to distract me. I also heavily rely on Notepad++ for restructuring content to make it easier to read, interpret, and edit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Notable Notepad

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is being used across the organization by many people including engineers, data scientists, and other departments. It serves as a handy tool for quick file manipulation and editing.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Quick to load
  • Support for plugins like FileCompare, etc.
  • Sometimes messes up Python scripts indentation without the user knowing.
  • It is not a WYSIWIG (What You See Is What You Get) editor. Would like it to be one.
  • Should have a Linux version.
With features like column editing and Macros, it is a powerful tool to help with file manipulation that should be always handy for anyone who deals with data. It also supports Python scripts for editing and provides good indentation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

A free powerful software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used to write code. Also easy to do code comparison. It's free to use. Supports a lot of programming languages.
  • Free to use
  • Easy
  • Add features to support a particular programming lanuguage
  • Helps [with] compiling code
For taking notes it's useful. Can be used for code development to some extent. But software like Sublime is more useful for code development.
Read this authenticated review
Ray Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

Great for Windows users

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is used individually within our organization. We have content creators that may need to utilize HTML or CSS within their specific projects at times, and Notepad++ comes extremely handy for users like such. These users can begin to understand structure and formatting with Notepad++'s built-in styles and themes. Personally, having used Notepad++ as my preferred code editor for years, it makes me less worried about how the delivered code is going to look. From function suggestions to line endings, Notepad++ is great for moderate level users.
  • New tabs are easily opened with a double click.
  • Search and find in file/folder - with Regex too!
  • Easily pluggable with custom or repository plugins.
  • WordPress core functions incorporated (possible plugin).
  • Terminal incorporation would be nice (some type of UI).
  • Linux support for the other half of would-be users.
Notepad++ is well suited for the occasional one-off code snippets done via quick and easy FTP clients. Users can quickly see code without having to wait for their IDE to open, just to get to the project, by a couple of clicks.
Read Ray Flores's full review
Javier Carrion | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

A great and free open source text editor that it is fast and efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Notepad++ within our organization as our main notepad editor. It is the best editor to display data from different languages quickly and efficiently. The search and replace features are the best from all editors and can search through multiple files. The ability to have multiple tabs at once it is superb. You also have case conversion (uppercase, lowercase, camel case, sentence case), and removal of redundant whitespace.
  • Autosaves files temporarily before you actually save it to a location
  • Tabbed document interface
  • Has support for macros and plugins
  • Is not a proper IDE since it lacks a debugger.
  • Not suitable for users who have large files.
  • An outdated theme of the user interface which makes it quite boring.
It does not occupy much space on a computer and it is very fast at opening files. It can open almost all files and formats at the same time. On closing the application the notes will remain at the same place and can be saved or recovered on opening Notepad++ again. Easy to personalize and the plugins are on hand to enhance the user's experience.
Read Javier Carrion's full review
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Notepad ++ for enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is used across the organization. It has been installed as the de facto editor in place of Microsoft Notepad. It has been installed as part of our standard server image and is installed on all laptops and servers across the organization. We use Notepad ++ as a much better version of notepad for editing all sorts of different types of files.
  • Notepad ++ is excellent with XML.
  • Notepad ++ is great with JSON.
  • Notepad ++ is great for debugging web service payloads.
  • Notepad++ could work better with XML out of the box, you need to install an add on.
  • The upgrade nag is annoying, it would be nice if it went away after dismissing.
  • Sometimes the plugins don't install properly.
Notepad ++ excels at formatting and displaying text. This is especially helpful when debugging web service payloads. This allows us to quickly and easily see the issues in the payload no matter the format—XML or JSON. Notepad ++ also works well with non-standard character sets. We have a number of Chinese and Japanese character sets that we work with as well.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Manik sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Backbone of the corporate world

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very useful for my work as it supports multiple languages like HTML, Java, CSS, javascript, etc in a very efficient way. Also, The Intellisense window is one of its advantages for new developers. It also supports tabbing and bracketing for proper indentation. When your system shuts down, you can see last few documents opened.
  • It supports multiple languages for software development and writing code like HTML, CSS, Javascript, SQL.
  • The Intellisense window does automatic writing of code.
  • Indentation enhances understanding of code.
  • It doesn't support Linux - that is its major drawback, so we needed to improve this thing rather than a user looking for another option.
  • Some times it crashes.
  • Big companies prefer Microsoft products for security reason, that is where it is lacking.
It is the backbone of the corporate world for writing and understanding code in an efficient manner. It is best for business. Needs to support Linux as well. Also, need to improve its performance.
Read Manik sharma's full review
anuj aneja | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

A Powerful notebook

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A Powerful notebook. Pros:- This is the best notepad. The main benefit of this application is that when we close it directly it prompts the popup to save and next time it opens it's the same as when we saved. We can view the clone version or view to move the updated version too. It has many built-in features like plugin style configuration, encoding, etc which allows us to format the created text in various colors fonts, encoding etc. It is very easy to use and automatically saves your current version. It is very reliable and fast as compared to other notepads. Its correction syntax and spelling is the best feature when we coding in it. Cons:- the only thing I dislike is when we open the large file like 4 GB it will not support opening that text file and some of the language will not show the different colors.This is a very fast, easy to use and reliable application, it is open source software so it free. It also supports many language plugins and encoding. We can also use it for online coding purpose so I highly recommend this notebook for work.
  • It is open source software so it free so no need to worry about the purchase.
  • It supports many language plugins and encoding which we can install, and it can also be used for writing many languages of code.
  • This is a very fast, easy to use and reliable application.
  • We can also use it for online coding purpose.
  • Need to improve opening a huge sized file.
  • Some of the languages will not change its color so they need to make improvement in it.
  • Sometime when we open a huge size file it takes too much loading time to open it.
For writing code in different languages it is well suited and its automatic save feature is very classic. When it crash for some reason it will open right to where we saved the last time. We can view the clone instance or view to move the different instances too so we can compare some file or another to each other if needed. It has many builtin features like plugin style configuration, encoding, etc which allows us to format the created text in various colors fonts, encoding etc.
Read anuj aneja's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Notepad++ saves significant money without cutting corners

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Notepad++ as my daily editor for quickly opening an editor and taking notes. I also use Notepad++ when editing text files which are generally in the 1 MB to 3 MB size range. I believe Notepad++ is widely used throughout my organization as it is free, easy to use and has a very low footprint both in CPU usage and resources.
  • Notepad++ loads very quickly
  • Notepad++ provides a much desired simplified toolbar
  • Notepad++ provides built-in support for dozens of software development languages, all at no cost
  • The macro editor in Notepad++ is virtually non-existent. Be sure to get your macro right the first time, or you'll be recording it again
  • Notepad++ macro playback is inconsistent in its accuracy. For instance, my macro does a full line delete 7 times. However, upon macro playback, it often only deletes the first line
  • Notepad++ does not easily provide a text editing view showing column positions across the top of the window. The column position is shown at the bottom which does not allow one to quickly and easily navigate to a specific column
For the price of FREE, you simply can't beat Notepad++ for your daily editing...unless of course, you are editing files greater than about 350 MB. Also, if you are recording sophisticated, detailed macros, you will find the lack of a sufficient macro editor very frustrating. Keep in mind, if you need a fast, robust text editor for daily usage, Notepad++ is more than sufficient.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2019

Get it now while it's free - this software is packed with powerful script editing features!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is one of the first programs I install whenever I am using a new PC. It's incredibly powerful and allows me to create and edit scripts from various languages - currently I've used it with C++, C#, and SQL, though I've dabbled in a few other languages as well. This program handles them all with ease. It is currently being used solely by myself as I handle SQL query creation and it allows me to easily script a query for our company.
  • Text editing
  • Script creation
  • Recognition of multiple programming languages
  • It would be nice to be able to add any new/lesser used languages to the software
  • Has an old-style "feel", like Windows 98
  • Takes a little getting used to if you're not familiar with the software or scripting
This is an absolute must have for any IT professional to have in their toolkit, especially if there's a possibility of utilizing programming languages. If you have to create or modify scripts, or even do basic HTML editing, this software is for you. I would think that users outside of IT wouldn't have much of a need for this software, though.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

Make note of Notepad++

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department used Notepad++, and it may be used in other departments as well. It's a very handy tool. It's great for examining text for "hidden" characters (carriage return, tab, etc) that might mess up input. It also has a wide library of plugins to enhance the user's experience with it, and it's updated pretty regularly.
  • It's great for syntax highlighting.
  • Great for diff/compare for multiple files.
  • Excellent at find/replace across open files, files in a directory, or just one file.
  • I've never had much luck getting the plugins for HTML/XML formatting to work consistently across installations, but that could easily be user error.
  • Occasionally an update or plugin will require elevated user access, and if your user account doesn't have admin rights, you'll have to do without or (I think) reinstall it as a portable app.
  • Not all plugins work equally as well as others. I think most (all?) are from contributors (open source) so what works in one version of Notepad++ may not work in the next version.
It's great for text manipulation and for opening (most) source code files if you don't want to open the IDE just to look up one thing. It's not always consistent with formatting (out of the box I don't believe it will format HTML or XML that's been moved to one line or minified, for example). It's not the best tool if you're prone to making bulleted lists.
Read this authenticated review
Joel Tanzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2019

A great, slim text editor to keep on hand

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ has long been a go-to application for me to manage short notes, quick text-formatting, and quick code fixes for small coding projects. It is the gold standard for plain text editors and has all the features you wish came with the text editors of most operating systems, such as Notepad for Windows. Once you've used Notepad++ you'll never want to fire up the Windows Notepad again. You'll be able to indent multiple lines at once, duplicate lines, comment and uncomment with a keystroke, convert case, sort lines lexicographically or numerically, use syntax highlighting for a broad range of possible programming languages, and more. If that isn't enough for you, there are plug-ins available to add features like an ASCII to Hex converter, exporting to HTML, and spell-checking.
Notepad++ is not a replacement for higher-order IDEs like Sublime, Visual Studio Code, Atom or Eclipse, but it is great for smaller tasks and is a great way to quickly format text or perform quick edits to your code.
  • It is probably the most useful plain text editor out there with the most robust set of tools.
  • It's a super-fast, easy way to quickly format text or make quick, small changes to your code.
  • It's actively supported and constantly improved upon by its developer team.
  • It supports plug-ins to add additional features such as converters, spell checkers and exporting into other formats.
  • It includes syntax highlighting for specific programming languages for improved readability.
  • It is only available for Windows (sorry, Linux and Mac users!).
  • It lacks some of the features of higher-order integrated development environments or code editors like Visual Studio Code, such as integration with Git or other versioning tools.
  • It works best for small text files and lighter tasks such as indenting text blocks you copy and paste from elsewhere. You could use this for all your programming needs, but there are better options out there for a primary tool for that purpose.
It is a fantastic tool for quick, small text editing jobs. For example, you might want to pull in some mock data for a code project that is based on an example you found online. If you were to simply copy and paste this text as is you'd find it missing indents and other special characters that make it more human readable. Just stick it into Notepad++ and indent where you need it across multiple lines. Or if you need to sort a list of items, you can paste that into Notepad++ and let it sort for you in seconds. Need a quick fix to a line of code on your website? Notepad++ can help you out and even use syntax highlighting to make the code much more readable. If you need a more robust set of tools for editing your code for day-to-day use, this probably isn't the tool for you. Go with Visual Studio Code, Atom or Sublime if that is what you're after. But keep Notepad++ in your toolbox and you won't be sorry, because one day you will be glad you did.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
Rao Tahir | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Best text editing tool for personal and professional use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, I need to edit or create many text files that are usually configuration files or code in C#, Java, PHP or XML. With Notepad++ I can edit anything quickly and easily. It auto-formats and organizes all the text. Because of Notepad++, lots of my time is saved.
  • Notepad++ is better to format text or code than others like XML beautifier etc..
  • Time-saving.
  • It's free for everyone.
  • I didn't see too many cons in it.
  • Replace function needs improvement.
For text formatting, Notepad++ is very well suited. Notepad++ is a very competent tool that works in many environments, offering professional results, and also does not add additional costs because you do not have to pay for licenses of any kind to use it. Mostly, i use Notepad++ for XML and C# files.
Read Rao Tahir's full review
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

Notepad++ A lightweight, but powerful text editor

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Notepad++ (NPP for short) for doing source code editing for our static webpages (such as landing pages that I don't want to be included in WordPress). NPP provides a lot of features that the default notepad software in Windows is lacking, so it makes doing this kind of work a lot easier.
  • Supports tabbed editing, so you can open or create multiple files in a single window.
  • Provides syntax highlighting so you can easily distinguish different components of code, errors, and strings.
  • Allows code folding, so you can view sections of code that you want to see and hide the content of blocks that are not relevant to what you're currently working on.
  • Features autosave. You won't lose your work just because you forgot to manually save your project.
  • Supports plugins/macros. I added a plugin that lets me compare two files and highlights the differences.
  • Does not feature true syntax checking. NPP can identify code elements, but it doesn't verify if the code is correct/compilable.
  • Only works on MS Windows.
Notepad++ is ideal for users who hand code projects in text editors. The program supports a wide variety of features that make editing code very easy. The user interface is extremely simple and the program can be easily extended with plugins. For those who want to code in a specific programming language and see it compile, it might be easier to work in a true IDE.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2019

Notepad++: the gold standard in text editors.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notepad++ is the gold standard when it comes to text editing. It is used by a majority of developers in my organization to go about their everyday chores (be it writing programs or analyzing text or log files). It can be used to even write programs in most languages with the help of plugins.
  • Text Editing
  • Analyzing logs
  • Analyzing database dumps
  • Writing programs
  • Most people including me like the way Notepad++ is designed. It is fast, free and has a classic legacy look.
  • Some can argue that it is not particularly well suited to write code but it is the way it is.
  • Some will also say that it lacks a debugger, but it is not an IDE, it is a text editor.
Notepad++ cannot be rated less than ten. It has been instrumental in the conception of maybe billions of lines of code across organizations, large and small. Being a powerful text editor, it has been used to analyze log files, service payloads, responses, and database dumps. There has been seldom any scenarios where it has not worked efficiently where intended.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review

About Notepad++

Notepad++ is a popular free and open source text editor available under the GPL license, featuring syntax highlighting and folding, auto-complete, multi-document management, and ac customizable GUI.
Categories:  HTML Editors,  Text Editors

Notepad++ Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No