Notion Reviews

53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 04, 2021
Garrett Lemons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Notion as a platform to manage content from ideation to draft to editing to publication. We are a team of writers, editors, and content managers that are creating marketing and educational website content. Notion facilitates the content moving between each member of the team for their specific portion of the project. It operates in the way we wish Google Docs did!
  • Team Collaboration. In Notion's software is the ability to see precisely who is working on a project and where. This eliminates any confusion when on calls or when working on the same project simultaneously. It is easy to tag co-workers to precise moments and build conversation streams.
  • Text Coding. When transitioning text from our Notion ideation and drafting boards to our website backends, the coding holds on all of the text.
  • Organization. Whether it's utilizing a "pin board" set up or nestling pages within pages, it is possible to keep everything organized and easy to find for every member of your team.
  • Learning Curve. There is a bit of learning curve to understanding how the pages can be built to your needs, especially when it comes to table creation.
  • Work History. Once an issue has been marked as "resolved," it becomes very hard to find if you need to reference something from the issue stream of conversation.
If you are generating a lot of content and working in a team environment, Notion is a clutch way to make sure that every member of the team is working on the same draft or version of your document. If you are in a process chain, it also becomes quite useful being able to drag the content card from one person's to do list from another's when it becomes their responsibility.
Read Garrett Lemons's full review
December 24, 2020
Theodore K. Langston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notion is being used in many ways in my daily workflow. Including but not limited to project tracking, research, resourcing, issue resolution and notes. It has provide a centralized workspace and dashboard for workflow items. Features such as task tracking and relational databases are a strong suite of Notion that make it a go to application.
  • Relational databases.
  • Web clipping.
  • Easy page and content formatting.
  • Embedded code pens, gists, videos and more.
  • Public API.
Project management. From project planning and ideation Notion is great collecting resources such code snippets, web bookmarks and other inspiration or mood board type elements. Assignments of sub tasks to ensure completion of major tasks. Each task can contain even more resources, notes or simply monitor progress. Similar tasks or resources can be easily referenced from any other project.
Read Theodore K. Langston's full review
December 21, 2020
Lee Bridges | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notion is used by our product management department. We use it to document and surface research insights, track product feature discovery and delivery, communicate progress to stakeholders, and document strategies and other notes.
  • Notion is adaptable to the way your organization thinks and organizes data.
  • Notion makes sharing information with others very easy.
  • Notion allows me to keep certain things private until I'm ready to share with others.
  • Notion doesn't integrate with other services very well. It needs a public API (they've said it's coming).
  • To get the most out of it, it can be a bit of work to set up. You need a person who is passionate about it to configure things for team collaboration.
Notion is very good at allowing you to arrange data and relate different information in the way you want. You can model the way your organization works with data or projects. You can have notes, tasks, and properties that are all related to each other in one place instead of in separate systems.
Read Lee Bridges's full review
January 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Notion] is currently being used by the whole company as our source of truth and wiki.
  • Notion is very easy to use and create content on. With other Wikis, you have to edit the page using widgets and never know what it will look like until you are done. With Notion you get to create in the same view that others will see when they view your page.
  • Notion is very clean and easy to read. There are a lot of different choices for how to format the content however you wold like.
  • The search in Notion leaves something to be desired. It can be hard to find a page unless you know exactly what it is titled.
  • The sidebar and groupings of pages on the side bar can be a bit tricky to navigate.
Notion is great as a company wiki and for collaboration on work documents or memos. It is also a suitable project management tool.

Notion is not as great as a task management system.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Notion to organize my company notes as well as ongoing project tasks. I am the sole user/department. Notion helps me to track all of my notes in one easy place.
  • General organization.
  • Easily changing a word/section into a new note for more details.
  • Creating tables with custom data functions.
  • Sometimes the data functions are difficult to get working.
  • Wish there was an option for folders to better organized.
  • Formatting does not work well when using copy/paste or exporting to another type of file or document.
Notion has many simple features, but can also be advanced as well. I think if someone was just looking for something simple and never wanted any advanced note features, Notion may be too much.
Read this authenticated review
November 18, 2018
Chandler Elmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is the tool that my organization uses for the bulk of our team and client communication outside of email and Slack threads. It is our note taking app that we use to help manage client meetings and keep the internal teams cognizant of what is going on and what was said in the client meetings.
  • The UX/UI of the platform is so simple and intuitive that we found the training on the platform to be almost redundant. It works how you expect it to when you expect it to.
  • It is adaptable. You need to share docs on one client across the entire team, done. Do you need folders for different phases of the project? No sweat. It is adaptable to pretty much all projects we have used it for.
  • It is cumbersome in offline mode, not unusable, just slow.
  • Can't scan a note using your phone/tablet camera, only can add notes as an image.
Notion is one of those platforms that is really good at helping you close out other platforms that do some but not all that it does. One of the best things that it has done for us is allowing us to stop using so many project management platforms. The only thing that I would not use Notion for is an in house program; it is set up perfectly for agencies though.
Read Chandler Elmore's full review
August 10, 2018
Mohammed Anzil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Notion is one of the emerging productivity services that help users like me to take notes and create to-do lists easily. Notion gives simple and beautiful writing experience that supports more than 30 media types. Dark mode must be coming to Notion next week. I'm not quite as excited about this feature as other possible coming feature but it's still a welcome move.
  • Easy to use
  • Standalone Desktop App available
  • Kanban Board
  • Calendar and list views
  • Android App always crash
  • A bit high in pricing
  • Only 5MB file upload limit in the free account
  • Only 1000 block storage
If you are looking for an alternative to Evernote or Google Docs, Notion would be the best choice for you. You can Keep records of everything and Capture your unique workflows easily. One of the highlights is that it supports both Kanban board, Calendar view and even list view. Note that free account is limited 5MB file in size.
Read Mohammed Anzil's full review
June 01, 2018
Brad Henderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Notion across our startup for all meeting minutes, note taking, company info, process docs etc. It helps us centralize all of our notes so that they're accessible to all of the relevant parties. We also keep steps for processes we use in Notion for new employees etc. The biggest pain it solves is to help us organize everything we need so that stuff doesn't get lost. It's also a super flexible platform so we're able to organize information in a lot of different ways.
  • Extremely flexible. It allows us to be able to organize and display information in almost any way we've needed to
  • It's extremely intuitive and easy to use. Even the shortcodes you can pick up very quickly.
  • They have a great app and a seamless experience across web app, mobile, and even desktop app if you want it.
  • They claim they want to be able to be an Airtable, Trello etc, but it's not quite there yet and even if it was it may be too much to pack into one software.
  • It's very pricey and they have a terrible trial. As great as it is, it's difficult to make the case to pay what they ask for, especially for most startups. They should definitely have a better free tier
  • Honestly not much else. I really like it.
Notion is great for organizing anything meeting related. It takes the place of Google Docs in a lot of scenarios. It's much easier to open docs and navigate around than a Google Doc.

Where it isn't as good is on the project management side. They may be trying to be too many things at once even though they're doing most of the things they do do very well.
Read Brad Henderson's full review
December 11, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it within the design team as a place to collaborate, manage tasks, share knowledge and take notes. It solves our previous problem of having all sorts of things spread out across multiple platforms.
  • Robust: Notion is so nicely made and really robust to use
  • Databases: I love how Notion handles simple databases, allowing tons of flexibility of viewing and sorting
  • Mobile: The mobile app is really nice
  • More embeddable media types
  • Needs a refresh every morning
It's so open that it's good for anything, honestly. Because it's so flexible, you can use it for task management of varying complexities. Less appropriate if you need visual design control over your notes, and collaboration is really only possible with someone who also has a paid account, keeping it relatively closed off.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (4)
8.2
Gantt Charts (3)
7.1
Scheduling (3)
6.0
Workflow Automation (2)
4.5
Mobile Access (5)
8.5
Search (5)
6.1
Visual planning tools (4)
6.4
Chat (2)
9.0
Notifications (4)
7.8
Discussions (3)
8.3
Surveys (1)
6
Internal knowledgebase (4)
9.0
Versioning (3)
6.7
Video files (3)
7.0
Audio files (2)
6.5
Document collaboration (5)
9.0
Access control (5)
7.7
Advanced security features (5)
5.3
Integrates with Google Drive (2)
6.5
Device sync (3)
9.3

What is Notion?

Notion aims to present users with an all-in-one workspace — for notes, tasks, wikis, and databases, from Notion Labs in San Francisco.

Notion Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Notion?

Notion aims to present users with an all-in-one workspace — for notes, tasks, wikis, and databases, from Notion Labs in San Francisco.

What is Notion's best feature?

Reviewers rate Device sync highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Notion?

The most common users of Notion are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.