TrustRadius
Nutanix in San Jose, California offers their software-defined platform as a hyper-converged infrastructure solution. The Nutanix solution combines software via Nutanix Acropolis virtualization solution, Nutanix AHV hypervisor (though Acropolis works with other hypervisors), Prism cluster manager, Nutanix Calm and Nutanix Flow for server management, and finally the Nutanix NX series of server hardware appliances.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/eR/oo/OK8C90EIQDB2.pngNutanix ExperienceIt's used by the entire organization, managed by IT hosting critical servers. It has simply replaced our VMWare cluster.It's simply meets our requirements without breaking the bank and can expand based on our business need. It's Cisco UCS friendly and for the past year we never had any downtime due to software or hardware incompatibility . Also we have dumped ESX and went with AHV which so far has been great . The interface is also very easy where you have a single pane of glass for managing your hardware and getting a granular view of the virtual machines and the overall health status.,High Availability across the physical nodes Effective local storage distribution and de-duplication Intuitive user interface prism Integration with Cisco hardware,Migration from VMWare could be simpler than what it is Can work on more straightforward driver support for different operating systems such as Server 2016,9,Saves money by eliminating the need to maintain hefty SAN No need to hire storage admin/engineer Could save more money by utilizing AHV rather than other hypervisors ; AHV is a license-free virtualization solution Simple transition from other visualization platforms,VxRail,Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, FortiSIEM, Microsoft AzureAt last, HCI that matters!Nutanix is becoming the heart of our internal IT architecture platform. We are busy migrating services one by on to Nutanix. We are promoting this platform to other departments but some are having issues with the false idea of being vendor-locked.,Simplicity Performance Speed of deployment,Some custom fields for VM could be great Entry ticket might scare some people More SDN functionalities could be developed,9,Breaking the silos between virtualization, storage and server hardware is a key element. Now, you can operate a very complex environment with very few people. Speed of deployment drastically decreased, you can deploy VMs at light speed, with fewer clicks. Nutanix is bringing an entire ecosystem of product and technologies compatible with their vision: 1-click.,,Stratoscale, Snagit, ZimbraBreathing new life into slow, aging systems....We acquired a competitor of ours in mid 2015, and needed a solution to host their existing servers on. Their existing servers were old Server 2003, Server 2000 and their main databases ran on SQL 2000. Other than keeping the system up and running, the solution hadn't been touched in years. We were interested in Nutanix, and turned to them to get this going. Initial setup went quickly - hours! After a few months of implementation we started running into performance problems. We worked with Nutanix and after a few tweaks to VMware, to Nutanix and to SQL, we were finally ready to go live. After go live, we got so many compliments on how fast the system was! We are saving so many man hours due to the speed of this system, I think it'll probably pay for itself in no time!,Performance is great! Management via Prism is awesome! One-click hypervisor upgrades are fantastic!,Management of VMs on AHV take some getting used to. It's just a list of VMs that are displayed, and you search through it. Not the normal folder structure that I'm used to in VMware. Also can't disable a NIC card in a VM in AHV. Very handy feature present in VMware. Larger workloads may have to be tweaked to get the performance you need/want.,10,Zero-touch. Since the go live, I've only logged into Prism to check on things. Never had an issue - it's rock solid! The workloads we run on it run so much better, that our users are much more productive (and therefore it saves the company money)! Although it was a large investment, I really think this is going to pay off in less than 2 years!,SimpliVity OmniCube and Cisco HyperflexWhy settle for hyperconverged when you can buy a private cloud in a box?Nutanix is being used by the library at the University of Waterloo. We have two clusters of four nodes each; one for our Virtual Server Infrastructure and one for our Virtual Desktop Infrastructure. Both clusters run an ESXi/vSphere environment. The simplicity of Nutanix's web-scale technology was the greatest draw. We no longer have to manage separate server, fabric and storage silos. Instead, everything is managed from one interface that is built on simplicity.,One-click upgrades; whether it's hypervisor, firmware, disk or other updates. This feature has drastically decreased complexity and administration time. Data Locality. Not all hyperconverged technology is created equal. When I first purchased Nutanix they were the only vendor (and as far as I know, still are) that made sure the storage a VM used was on the same host that VM was running on. Given a normal operating state, the [storage] network is literally only used for replication data. They got rid of traditional RAID. Nutanix uses software to determine where a VM's storage should be written and replicated to. This dramatically decreases I/O when changing the number of nodes in a cluster, be it on purpose or during a failure scenario. Ex. adding a new node: If one uses RAID arrays then enough space has to be set aside to create a new array that includes the new node, then all the information has to be copied over, and the old array destroyed. RAID arrays do not grow and shrink gracefully so Nutanix has designed a better solution. The Nutanix management interface was built on HTML5. No more flash headaches!,LDAP integration is less refined. It works perfectly but when adding users and groups one has to know the exact, case sensitive, name of the user or group in question. There is no LDAP search function. HTTP proxy has a few bugs. If you are using a private address space for your CVM's, and you want to add the cluster to a Prism Central instance, then you'll need to remove your proxy settings, add it to the Prism Central instance, then re-add your proxy settings. The login only works using the UPN format. Down-level logon name format is not accepted.,10,Found an immediate reclamation of time. SAN's are a pain to manage and update - Nutanix made turned a couple hours of work into one click. They are a software company. Every Time they come out with an update I find my performance improving, or a new feature added. Soon I'll be able to give my developers controlled self-service capabilities. I originally bought hardware and it's evolving on me into a private cloud in a box.,VMware Virtual SAN,Veeam Backup & ReplicationNUTANIX - Try to believeWe have a nutanix cluster (in metro) available across two sites. We chose to use Nutanix because it is very simple to implement and manage. Some features like ABS (Acropolis Block Services) are working very well and are useful for a different use. The performance is great and the features of storage optimization and deduplication really work. [You can] upgrade without interruption. It’s very useful and simple to manage the analytics tool. The kernel is very robust. Pay attention when working with two nodes at the same time, it may create some problems with CVM and vCenter.,Very simple to implement and manage The performance is great and the features of storage optimization and deduplication really work Real automatic disk tiering and data locality Upgrade without interruption Very useful and simple to manage the analytics tool The kernel is very robust,NUTANIX AHV (Acropolis) metro availability,10,EMC VxRail,VMware ESXi, VMware vCenter Server, vRealize Operations
Unspecified
Nutanix
46 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

Nutanix Reviews

Nutanix
46 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 46 vetted Nutanix reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-18 of 18)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
September 14, 2018

User Review: "Nutanix Experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the entire organization, managed by IT hosting critical servers. It has simply replaced our VMWare cluster.
It's simply meets our requirements without breaking the bank and can expand based on our business need. It's Cisco UCS friendly and for the past year we never had any downtime due to software or hardware incompatibility . Also we have dumped ESX and went with AHV which so far has been great . The interface is also very easy where you have a single pane of glass for managing your hardware and getting a granular view of the virtual machines and the overall health status.
  • High Availability across the physical nodes
  • Effective local storage distribution and de-duplication
  • Intuitive user interface prism
  • Integration with Cisco hardware
  • Migration from VMWare could be simpler than what it is
  • Can work on more straightforward driver support for different operating systems such as Server 2016
It's appropriate for mid-sized businesses with 50 to 70 average server horsepower. Also for environments with high availability acquirement and shorter RTO thanks to snapshot technology. Also, clustering comes in handy for the DR needs ;it also simply integrates with Azure .

I don't personally believe that HCI is going to fall short for more demanding environments, as it can grow and become more powerful using better hardware.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 15, 2018

Nutanix Review: "At last, HCI that matters!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix is becoming the heart of our internal IT architecture platform. We are busy migrating services one by on to Nutanix. We are promoting this platform to other departments but some are having issues with the false idea of being vendor-locked.
  • Simplicity
  • Performance
  • Speed of deployment
  • Some custom fields for VM could be great
  • Entry ticket might scare some people
  • More SDN functionalities could be developed
VDI deployment used to be the best business case but today, there are no limits anymore, Nutanix is well suited in any situation, any workload and now, the x86 barrier fell down with the support of IBM Power architecture.
Read this authenticated review
Joe Lemaire profile photo
December 08, 2016

Nutanix Review: "Breathing new life into slow, aging systems...."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We acquired a competitor of ours in mid 2015, and needed a solution to host their existing servers on. Their existing servers were old Server 2003, Server 2000 and their main databases ran on SQL 2000. Other than keeping the system up and running, the solution hadn't been touched in years. We were interested in Nutanix, and turned to them to get this going. Initial setup went quickly - hours! After a few months of implementation we started running into performance problems. We worked with Nutanix and after a few tweaks to VMware, to Nutanix and to SQL, we were finally ready to go live. After go live, we got so many compliments on how fast the system was! We are saving so many man hours due to the speed of this system, I think it'll probably pay for itself in no time!
  • Performance is great!
  • Management via Prism is awesome!
  • One-click hypervisor upgrades are fantastic!
  • Management of VMs on AHV take some getting used to. It's just a list of VMs that are displayed, and you search through it. Not the normal folder structure that I'm used to in VMware.
  • Also can't disable a NIC card in a VM in AHV. Very handy feature present in VMware.
  • Larger workloads may have to be tweaked to get the performance you need/want.
I believe that Nutanix is going to be able to handle all workloads we throw at it, but (like with most things) you have to know how it works in order to design the workloads that will be running on top of it correctly.
Read Joe Lemaire's full review
Adam Savage profile photo
December 07, 2016

Nutanix Review: "Why settle for hyperconverged when you can buy a private cloud in a box?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix is being used by the library at the University of Waterloo. We have two clusters of four nodes each; one for our Virtual Server Infrastructure and one for our Virtual Desktop Infrastructure. Both clusters run an ESXi/vSphere environment. The simplicity of Nutanix's web-scale technology was the greatest draw. We no longer have to manage separate server, fabric and storage silos. Instead, everything is managed from one interface that is built on simplicity.
  • One-click upgrades; whether it's hypervisor, firmware, disk or other updates. This feature has drastically decreased complexity and administration time.
  • Data Locality. Not all hyperconverged technology is created equal. When I first purchased Nutanix they were the only vendor (and as far as I know, still are) that made sure the storage a VM used was on the same host that VM was running on. Given a normal operating state, the [storage] network is literally only used for replication data.
  • They got rid of traditional RAID. Nutanix uses software to determine where a VM's storage should be written and replicated to. This dramatically decreases I/O when changing the number of nodes in a cluster, be it on purpose or during a failure scenario. Ex. adding a new node: If one uses RAID arrays then enough space has to be set aside to create a new array that includes the new node, then all the information has to be copied over, and the old array destroyed. RAID arrays do not grow and shrink gracefully so Nutanix has designed a better solution.
  • The Nutanix management interface was built on HTML5. No more flash headaches!
  • LDAP integration is less refined. It works perfectly but when adding users and groups one has to know the exact, case sensitive, name of the user or group in question. There is no LDAP search function.
  • HTTP proxy has a few bugs. If you are using a private address space for your CVM's, and you want to add the cluster to a Prism Central instance, then you'll need to remove your proxy settings, add it to the Prism Central instance, then re-add your proxy settings.
  • The login only works using the UPN format. Down-level logon name format is not accepted.
If it's a virtual workload, toss it on Nutanix. We started off with VDI and were so impressed we migrated our VSI environment as well. I'm told they do not play in the super-high performance market where you would look at how many cores/procs you can fit on a single board.
Read Adam Savage's full review
Flavio Mancini profile photo
January 23, 2017

User Review: "NUTANIX - Try to believe"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a nutanix cluster (in metro) available across two sites. We chose to use Nutanix because it is very simple to implement and manage. Some features like ABS (Acropolis Block Services) are working very well and are useful for a different use. The performance is great and the features of storage optimization and deduplication really work. [You can] upgrade without interruption. It’s very useful and simple to manage the analytics tool. The kernel is very robust. Pay attention when working with two nodes at the same time, it may create some problems with CVM and vCenter.
  • Very simple to implement and manage
  • The performance is great and the features of storage optimization and deduplication really work
  • Real automatic disk tiering and data locality
  • Upgrade without interruption
  • Very useful and simple to manage the analytics tool
  • The kernel is very robust
  • NUTANIX AHV (Acropolis) metro availability
Nutanix is well suited on: Database, VDI, and isolation of infrastructure. The performance and the features of NUTANIX work fine in every contest. Also, the small size of Nutanix allows a saving on both energy and logistics [that is] to be reckoned with. Nutanix is less appropriate: NONE. In my experience, I think that NUTANIX is the best solution for every scenario.
Read Flavio Mancini's full review
Michael Butterworth profile photo
December 15, 2016

Nutanix Review: "Hyperconverged Infrastucture - made easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We bought a Nutanix solution to replace all of our production servers, to run the whole business. We had looked at virtualization before but could not find an appropriate solution for our size of business. We needed to replace our old servers, have greater visibility of how our servers were running, and reduce power consumption and heat.
  • Using Nutanix Acropolis gives us visibility of the whole infrastructure from one web portal
  • The software licencing is considerably more cost effective than the alternatives
  • Nutanix offer direct support and their enginneers are very helpful
  • There is no easy way to migrate servers into different storage pools, so if you decide after creating a VM you would prefer to only have de-duplication and not compression you can't just move the server
We had many servers that were required for application separation for both security and comparability (classic server sprawl) but were underutilized. The Nutanix solution was the best fit because it had the power we required and the hyper-converged infrastructure means all elements: management, storage, and compute come in a single intelligent box.
Read Michael Butterworth's full review
Brad Burgess profile photo
December 08, 2016

Review: "Nutanix, Welcome to your Enterprise Cloud"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it in our production and backup data center. Servers in the VM environment run on Nutanix and have helped our small IT department focus on all the other jobs we have instead of maintaining and massaging the older 3 tiered architecture we moved from. Nutanix just works like it should.
  • Simplifies the data center. One click upgrades have made updating storage a breeze.
  • Easily expand your cluster. Add another node and instantly have access to more storage and processing power.
  • Simple setup, we set up 2 clusters of 4 nodes each in an afternoon, try that with traditional 3 tier!
  • Would like file services besides Acropolis
  • DR replication to cloud
Nutanix is suited well for all scenarios in my opinon, as long as you know what you are building it for. Even if things change in the future you can always add a full flash node when needed. Nutanix express is a great option for the small business also. Everyone wins when going to hyper converged.
Read Brad Burgess's full review
Ben Metcalf profile photo
December 08, 2016

User Review: "Nutanix IT's sliced bread"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was tasked with upgrading our current data center and making it more simplified. It was a complete overhaul that had to take or old environment and upgrade it to not only current technology, but current software that followed our licensing and support matrix. We use Nutanix in our data center for all applications and workloads. It is used for Citrix, SQL, and several custom apps, things like inventory, purchase orders, invoices, and communication flow and processing.
  • Allows admins to see real-time data and troubleshoot
  • Easy to teach new employees how to navigate and review information
  • Central management is simplified and very visible for all
  • Features are not always 100% what is needed
  • Performance increases depending on licensing and options
  • When upgrading VMs it's not as easy as migrating data
I would recomend Nutanix to anyone looking to upgrade their existing environment. From what I have seen it works well with all workloads and scenarios we use it for. Database applications and scenarios perform extremely well in Nutanix and no matter the intensity of the database or application it never lets us down.
Read Ben Metcalf's full review
Jon Seet profile photo
December 08, 2016

"Nutanix Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nutanix to consolidate all the various hypervisors and non-standard setups we have around the globe. Implementing Nutanix eliminates all the maintenance headaches of dealing with multiple vendors/products for firmware, drivers and support.
  • Hyperconverged
  • Simple
  • Small footprint
  • Excellent Support
  • Move more command-line driven activities to the GUI
  • Reduce price
Nutanix is suited for everything!

The only scenario where I would not implement it is at a site which does not have at least 3 ESX hosts and 100VMs. The cost would not be justifiable
Read Jon Seet's full review
Allan Basso profile photo
December 08, 2016

Nutanix Review: "Hyperconverged Data Centers are here, why not choose the best!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I helped implement Nutanix as our default architecture just over a year ago in two out of four of our data centers. The third will be online in the next quarter and we will be fully reliant on Nutanix for our entire organization, server workloads as well as VDI by the end of 2017 if all goes well. There have been very few instances that needed special attention to satisfy similar or better performance than the legacy infrastructure. Each challenge has helped the Nutanix support team make the product better and better, all while providing support that was second to none.
  • Condensed infrastructure. I reduced my footprint from two full racks down to 8U of equipment and have more storage and better performance.
  • Simple deployment. 3 hours from box to production.
  • One click upgrades. It cannot be stressed enough that updates to production infrastructure during the work day is not only possible but I do it with every update. No issues. Great product.
  • SUPPORT!!! The NetPromoter score is well deserved. Not only does their support staff know the product, take ownership of issues and follow through to resolution, but they also will work to assist with problems that are not their platforms issue. IE VMware, HyperV or network and own the issue as if it was their own.
  • It would be great to have the ability to automate testing of replicated data for BCP. Currently you can fail over to the secondary site but no way to do so in a sandbox and produce a report or have access to log into the replicated systems to prove they function until you disrupt productive systems.
I have not found a workload that does not work well on the platform. Like any solution, it excels on some workloads better than others, but it is easily on par with the competitor on even the least compatible solutions. If you need a dense rack, simple system to run your productive systems, Nutanix will surely satisfy.
Read Allan Basso's full review
John Hamilton profile photo
December 07, 2016

User Review: "Nutanix is awesome"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix has been a life saver for me. It takes all the hard guess work out. It is a true turn-key solution. It is so simplified and easy to understand a cave man could use it. It has really saved me a lot of time tracking down issues that I have had in my VMware environment.
  • Simplicity
  • Easy to use and understand
  • Great data protection built in
  • Change some of the layouts to user's preference
  • Turning the data protection on can be a challenge
  • I wish we could get a CLI in the dashboard
Well suited for almost all day-to-day virtual infrastructure.
Read John Hamilton's full review
No photo available
December 29, 2016

User Review: "Nutanix as a recommended HCI vendor"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Nutanix as a refreshment for our three tier architecture. Some of the apps (CRM, ERP) and DB (MS SQL) are running on it. It's used by the management information system department and soon will be applied across the entire organization. We see Nutanix as the only proven enterprise cloud platform in the market so far. Next-G data center should be simple, agile, easy to manage, scale out and [provide] strong support. Anyway, we keep utilizing our three-tier as a secondary for our non-critical workload. We use both the NX and XC platform so far but are looking forward to deploying on Cisco UCS in the future. Hope someday Nutanix will be sold as software only just like VMware.
  • Easy to deploy
  • Simple to manage
  • Nice performance
  • Great support
  • Supports ESXi, Hyper-V, KVM as hypervisor
  • Cloud backup to AWS and Azure
  • Storage mode only using AFS and ABS
  • More hypervisors should be supported (Xenserver, Oracle Server)
  • Mix hypervisor deployment on three nodes
  • Open vswitch management using Prism
HCI will be suited for almost all scenarios. Picking the right vendor to meet your challenge is most important. Oracle and SAP can be deployed on Nutanix. Nutanix also provides a wide choice of hardware platforms depending on customer needs. Nutanix also comes with the box that can be equipped with a high-performance GPU for heavy duty video performance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2016

Nutanix Review: "Easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nutanix for all of our virtualization with ESXi.
  • The Nutanix team designed the system correctly from the start.
  • Ease of use.
  • Great Support.
  • Added reporting functionality.
I have not found an application where it doesn't run well. [It runs well when] Using SharePoint, Exchange, SQL, Oracle, Skype and many custom applications.
Read this authenticated review
Bert van der Lingen ☁︎ profile photo
October 17, 2016

Review: "on-premises Vmware environment running on Nutanix"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are running all our on-premises servers and applications on Nutanix. Nutanix is used with VMware vSphere, we are looking to migrate to Nutanix Acropolis hypervisor. The main business goals and requirements are 1) high availability 2) operational simplicity and 3) scalability.

Nutanix works fine for us, I would highly recommend it if most of your workloads are virtualized.
  • Simplicity - very easy to manage, only 1 hour a week on average
  • Robustness - very robust, just keeps running, we can do upgrades during production hours
  • Performance is quite good - new VMs are deployed in seconds
  • Backup to AWS - quick and easy offsite backup
  • Would love to be able to backup and recover in the public cloud, preferably AWS
  • Support for containers would be nice to have
It's very well suited to highly virtualised environments, starting with small sites with about 50 VMs, but Nutanix scales well up to more than a thousand VMs. You can't use it with legacy bare metal workloads if they require fibre channel.
Read Bert van der Lingen ☁︎'s full review
James McCabe profile photo
August 05, 2016

"My Review of Nutanix Xtreme Computing Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Nutanix Xtreme Computing Platform (XCP) has been deployed in my customer's environment as a Virtualization infrastructure for their Enterprise Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) solution. Their VDI platform of choice is the Citrix XenDesktop software suite, combined with the Citrix NetScaler Gateway for remote access. Nutanix is being used by 100% of the customer's teleworking force. Nutanix was introduced to alleviate legacy virtualization hardware issues (resource contention, dated and failing components, etc.).
  • Simplicity of administration and oversight. We implemented and adopted Nutanix with ease within our Virtualization team. Prism and Prism Central make it easy to centrally manage multiple clusters.
  • Built-in Performance Monitoring and Capacity Planning. With Nutanix Prism Central, we can monitor the ongoing performance characteristics without a 3rd party tool (like SolarWinds or Microsoft System Center Operations Manager). The addition of the Capacity Planning and Forecasting features make it a great tool to help improve our organization's roadmap.
  • High-Performance Virtualization Platform. The unique capabilities of the Nutanix XCP help ensure user and application performance is always optimal. The combination of Tiered storage (across Solid State Drives and Hard Disk Drives) and their automated workload balancing help make it simple to succeed!
  • It would be nice if they could work on a means of implementing/monitoring compliance configurations (like DISA STIGs) for Federal/Government customers.
Good - Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI), Tier1/0 Virtual Workloads, High-performance Database (SQL/Oracle) Database servers
Bad - I haven't really found any? It may be cost prohibitive for certain customers though.
Read James McCabe's full review
Prasenjit Chetia profile photo
August 01, 2016

User Review: "Nutanix - no longer the new Kid"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We at Dell deploy Nutanix SDS for our customers. Nutanix SDS simplifies management of the hardware and storage from one single interface. Wraps the complexities of architectural details from the end user with an easy to use end user interface.
  • Simple management user interface
  • Flexibility to expand
  • Ease of planning and implementation of DR strategy
  • Integration with the Microsoft platform to be a true Hyper Converged solution.
  • Improve AHV user interface from Prism

Well suited for almost all day-to-day small and medium scale applications involving virtual infrastructure.

May not be suited for customers where startup cost is a factor -- though in a longer term with continuous expansion in the future the cost per terabyte would be less than a traditional SAN.

Read Prasenjit Chetia's full review
Colby Shores profile photo
May 20, 2016

Nutanix Review: "Hands down the most elegant hypervisor & storage solution on the market."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nutanix for the hosting side of our business. As a marketing company, we also build websites for our clients and decided the best course of action would to be to host them in house. We are also slowly migrating away from VMWare and plan to utilize our Nutanix as a datastore once NFS is fully supported which is on the roadmap and will be available in the next couple of months (currently the date is 5/20/2016 of this writing).
  • Nutanix is absolutely fantastic for those who wish to avoid costly proprietary storage appliances as Acropolis and the rest of the software run directly on what is effectively commodity enterprise hardware. That makes upgrading memory and disk space affordable.
  • Nutanix has absolutely no latency between VM and storage pools as the entire storage pool is directly on each machine in what effectively results in a localhost situation at the hypervisor level. No traversing then network like other competing storage solutions.
  • The Nutanix hypervisor, Acropolis is absolutely free and built on the rock solid stable KVM base while adding in its own features. This makes the yearly cost of ownership far less expensive than other competing visualization solutions.
  • Nutanix is highly resilient for enterprise, in that additional hyper-converged nodes can replicate data between each other. In our case we have 3 nodes and if one machine fails, one of the others take over.
  • The first feature that the Nutanix Acropolis is missing that we ran in to was the inability to set manual MAC addresses, which we would prefer for our custom DHCP server software. Its not a deal breaker, but we are coming from VMWare where this is desired for our workflow.
  • Nutanix Acropolis took a few minutes to really work out how to provision a machine. Its font to do things like turn on a virtual machine happened to be a light grey on a white background. We spoke to them to have that stand out more, it wasn't a deal breaker once we figured it out.
  • I found that loading ISOs was needlessly difficult. VMWare has a folder popup to search for ISOs to mount while Nutanix required typing in the path. This could be easily fixed in future releases, and likely will with the maturity of Acropolis.
Nutanix, like other hyper-converged systems as far as [I can] tell, is a great solution for scale up. In our case we have 3 nodes, 2 for redundancy but 3 in total. For our upgrades we will only upgrade those 3 machines until they are maxed. As a medium sized media company such as ours this is fantastic! It is far more machine we will ever need and we can continue to add more drive space and memory to it, but it will reach its max. For those companies who require hardware beyond what a Nutanix node will allow, I believe a traditional scale out solution is more appropriate.
Read Colby Shores's full review
Neal Dolson profile photo
January 08, 2016

"Nutanix review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our server infrastructure is 100% virtualized and Nutanix provides the platform that everything runs on top of.
  • Ease of use
  • Performs well
  • Central pane of glass for useful performance and logging information
  • It'd be nice to have an easy way to view details on who/what makes of the storage consumption in the pool...we can extrapolate how much the VMs themselves use using vSphere metrics and then add in overhead from protection domains but to have that on the "storage" tab or something would be helpful.
I feel like Nutanix is a good fit for most circumstances.
Read Neal Dolson's full review

Nutanix Scorecard Summary

About Nutanix

Nutanix in San Jose, California offers their software-defined platform as a hyper-converged infrastructure solution. The Nutanix solution combines software via Nutanix Acropolis virtualization solution, Nutanix AHV hypervisor (though Acropolis works with other hypervisors), Prism cluster manager, Nutanix Calm and Nutanix Flow for server management, and finally the Nutanix NX series of server hardware appliances.

Nutanix Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Nutanix Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No