Nutanix AOS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
127 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 81)

Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

Nutanix - The one-stop shop for virtualization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Nutanix for both the software and hardware aspect of all our virtual environments in production and in our corporate offices. It is the base platform for all servers that we use to run our business both for our clients as well as for all internal users. It is used for both virtualization as well as for some storage needs and is the core of our infrastructure.
  • One component to support both compute and storage needs for virtualization.
  • Easy expandable as business needs arise both at the node level and larger with blocks.
  • Well outlined interface with good historical data.
  • API tools are available to obtain logging information from Nutanix that can be used with other monitoring tools such as Splunk.
  • Correlating data across multiple VMs is difficult.
  • More detailed information about BIOS and firmware versions hard to locate.
We have based our entire company on the Nutanix hardware and AOS to support all of our servers and clients that we use for our business. It has been a solid product with HA features that allow us to run our business without interruption. For virtualization it is the best solution I have used in the last 7 years. We have both high performance systems and those that require vast amounts of resources and we have found that Nutanix works well in both instances.
Nutanix support is excellent. They are always willing to step in and help and have been very responsive to issues and requests we have as a company. We use a great deal of Nutanix and have built a great report of work with them allowing use to grow and a fast pace while maintaining a level of support that is beneficial to both companies. We continue to collaborate and work well with Nutanix.
Training continues to be an ongoing effort with Nutanix, but they have great support, documentation and testing that allows for training and support documentation for their product. We have learned a great deal by working with their support teams and understanding the product during times of trouble but also whenever we find new information not before seen.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Nutanix for Always-On Computing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed a Nutanix cluster (4 nodes) to run all the virtual machines (VM) used by my organization. Nutanix is a hyperconverged computing solution, so the processing, storage and networking for the cluster is all crammed into a 2U space, all managed from a web browser. The promise of the cluster is that you will never lose services, as an entire node can go offline and your system will not miss a beat. If you are familiar with RAID for storage, clustering is like RAID for servers, where there is redundancy not just of storage, but of an entire server. So if uptime is critical for your organization, Nutanix can be a good solution, albeit expensive. Our implementation supports our entire organization, offering peace of mind from hardware failures. It's also all automatic, significantly lowering management cost and reducing administrative burden.
  • Nutanix AHV removes the headache from clustering. Once it's set up--which a Nutanix rep completed--the system is largely self-managed.
  • It was a turnkey installation, and I was building virtual machines from day one.
  • The system automatically manages moving VMs from cluster to cluster when software updates are performed on the Nutanix system that require the nodes to be rebooted, so there is no down time.
  • System management from a web browser is easy management, as it can be managed from anywhere there is Internet connectivity.
  • It supports Windows and Linux VMs equally well, allowing access to the VMs from within the browser. This can be much easier than using remote desktop or VNC.
  • Nutanix has a huge learning curve. We purchased the on-line training course when we moved to the platform and it was literally weeks of instruction. It was so extensive, in fact, that we ran out of time to complete it before the test.
  • Operations that cannot be done from the browser require running commands from a terminal emulator; perhaps owing to the newness of the platform, documentation is not robust. I highly recommend you buy the tech support.
  • Software updates are sometimes rushed to release. I've gotten to where I wait at least a few weeks after release before installing them, as I've run into significant issues with buggy software. Such installations have required time-consuming tech support calls to resolve.
  • While the promise of perpetual VM uptime is being fulfilled, the dashboard frequently reports issues that need to be resolved.
  • Because of significant hardware redundancy, the cost per byte of storage capacity is high.
Nutanix is a good solution if:
  1. You cannot afford to have your services go offline.
  2. You want peace of mind that comes from total hardware redundancy.
  3. You are comfortable running commands through a terminal emulator.
  4. You want a system that largely manages itself in terms of keeping your VMs online.
  5. You're concerned more about bullets 1-4 than you are cost.
Nutanix is probably not a good solution for you if:
  1. Cost is your primary concern. In this case, you would probably be better served using something like Microsoft's Hyper-V replication, which is included with the cost of a Windows Server license.
  2. 24x7 uptime is not critical, there are cheaper and easier solutions to achieve near-constant uptime (see bullet one, above).
  3. You are not comfortable working at a command line or don't want to pay for tech support.
While you are going to have to comfortable with CLI to perform a lot of functions, the truth is most of the day-to-day work is done right through the web interface. That's one area that has improved a lot in the two years I've had it: how much can be done through the browser as opposed to the command line. And I still would like to see the system better documented. The articles often seem to presume a high level of knowledge about the system, making it difficult sometimes to complete tasks that I would like to be able to perform without contacting tech support.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
Jackie Song | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2020

Nutanix AOS Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it as our dev/test virtualization environment, which consolidated Azure and our UCS virtual platform to bring all dev/test VMs back on-prem.
  • Easy configure and managment
  • Compatible with VMware
  • Feature rich
  • Initial network setup is a challenge.
  • Data transfer speed is not optimized within box.
It is a feature-rich OS, software-defined storage solution on top of flexible hyper-converged Infrastructure, centrally managed. Easy to manage and maintain, compatible with other hypervisors. With build-in automatized features, it can easily create multiple instances of VM, apps, patches, and upgrades. Easy to scale in and out with minor impact to the existing environment.
Very good support, knowledgeable, effective, and easy to reach. Online my Nutanix support portal is good & easy, the dashboard provides easy access to Nutanix services, support, and tools. Case management is easy and straight and forward. The Nutanix device heartbeat is synced to the portal, so they can generate reports based on some pre-build or customized templates.
We have some training mostly online and free access to Nutanix university as well. The Nutanix community is another place we can exchange ideas and learn experience from other Nutanix users and Nutanix employees. We also have good relationships with our account manager and engineer, they are very reachable and eager to help out and answer questions.
Read Jackie Song's full review
Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

‎A Brief Nutanix AOS review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix AOS has revolutionized the way to operate and manage our data center. Transforming it into a modern and software-defined data center, the benefits and benefits in this technology renovation were cost savings, operating times, and others such as the cooling and energy of the data center, simply wonderful.
  • Simplify data center management.
  • Savings in operating costs.
  • Datacenter space-saving.
  • Updates without impacting production.
  • Adding hardware resources without the stoppage.
  • One-click operations
In all approaches to the modern data center, Nutanix AOS provides many benefits to companies to simplify their way of operating and managing the data center.
The manufacturer's support is very proactive and flexible, since the creation of the cases, the follow-up and the respective solution, on many occasions I have had the online support in less than 10 minutes of reporting the case, magnificent.
The Nutanix education portal has a large library of online courses to learn quickly and did the components and architecture actively. Now it has been complemented with Nutanix university for more advanced modules, great.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
Ryan Arnold | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

Nutanix is a next-generation data center stack

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix currently runs our entire production stack including AHV hypervisor running Server 2016 VMs, Nutanix Files for SMB file shares, Xi Leap for DR, and Prism Central for reporting and analytics.

We came from a "traditional" 3-tier data center where there were many management consoles and silos. This made troubleshooting, management, and visibility very difficult and complex. Moving to Nutanix allowed us to centralize all our infrastructure resources into a single-pane HTML5 management interface called Prism. Prism allows you to manage everything from your VMs, storage containers, file clusters( which now includes file analytics), and 1-click firmware/BIOS upgrades.
  • Single management interface.
  • Native hypervisor (AHV).
  • Built-in file clustering services (Nutanix Files).
  • Built-in DR capabilities.
  • Amazing visibility into performance and metrics from storage, hosts, network, and VMs.
  • 1-click upgrades for BIOS still seems to fail sometimes.
  • Some things are still done via CLI like VM-VM anti-affinity.
  • Native Nutanix VMs take up quite a bit of RAM (CVM, Nutanix Files, Prism Central).
Nutanix is well-suited for companies ready to move on from a traditional data center and gain amazing insight and functionality from a single platform. Having one support number to call for your entire product stack has saved us time compared to having to deal with a vendor for storage, a vendor for servers, a vendor for your hypervisor, etc.
We've had about a dozen tickets over the last 3 years and support has been great. I've not had a bad interaction with support and they are very responsive and knowledgeable.
Nutanix is very easy to use through the Prism HTML5 UI. Just about everything can be done from Prism and they are constantly improving and adding features. We did not receive any official training from Nutanix, rather from our implementation vendor.
Read Ryan Arnold's full review
Tim Enders | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

Nutanix offers great cost savings and performance.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nutanix as the underpinning for our entire compute environment - development, test, and production systems (300+ VMs) are all running on three different Nutanix clusters at present. We run VMWare vSphere on top of the Nutanix layer, and we found that Nutanix has allowed us very good cost savings by using commodity hardware instead of expensive enterprise class three tier SAN style storage and expensive blade compute.
  • Makes good use of commodity hardware.
  • Makes storage clustering and redundancy simple and cheap.
  • Can be used with Nutanix's AHV hypervisor or others like VMWare.
  • Their dashboards could be improved - useful information is hard to find.
  • Their click interface could be improved. Often clicking on something doesn't take you where you think it should.
  • Their error messaging is not always helpful.
Nutanix is a fantastic product for environments where you have a real need for good storage and compute clustering but you are resource constrained and need to manage capital hardware costs carefully. They can provide an end-to-end solution including the clustering software and an integrated hypervisor, or you can bring your own hypervisor if you have licenses and are tied to someone else's infrastructure.
Nutanix support is generally a pretty good experience. When you call them you generally get someone who knows what they're doing and is able to walk you right through the simple issues. Occasionally we have run in to situations where they weren't able to arrive at a solution for us right away, but they have always been good at followup.
We were somewhat challenged with learning for Nutanix. However, the company does provide a pretty good set of self-learning tools, many of which are in the form of a video series and a "Nutanix Bible." Later, when we connected with a reseller for the purchase, they were able to provide us with on-site training and assistance.
Read Tim Enders's full review
Nathan Basson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

The future of IT

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix AOS is sitting on a Dell platform with AHV. It is being used as the IT solution for the entire business Unit, but only accessed by the IT department.
Nutanix AOS is super fast and its saves time on IT \ Daily \ Regular checks so my staff can concentrate more on operational issues.
  • Cloning of disk
  • One Click update
  • Performance speed
  • Needs better integration with Veeam
  • Difficult to clone disk if you don't have knowledge
  • Interface takes time getting use to
Nutanix AOS is super fast so our database retrieval process from our application is much quicker. Our front of house staff likes the new speed and that the interaction with guests is much quicker. The maintenance process when restarting is also much quicker than before and my team is loving it.

All our cases we logged have been resolved before they breach SLA and the staff that helps us are very knowledgeable and friendly.
The Dashboard is very easy to use and user friendly, you can do anything from server health check, it gives you errors and you get the pop up errors everyday. The Dashboard also lets you know when there are new updates to be installed.
Read Nathan Basson's full review
Scott Trautwein | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Nutanix Prism Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use nutanix to power 20 virtual servers and 330 virtual desktops. It is used for our entire school district. Using it enabled us to virtualize all our secretary/admin staff machines and 300 student machines. We now update one machine and push out the updates, saving us a huge amount of time and providing reliable machines we can reimage in a moments notice if a student or staff downloads malware or a virus.
  • prism is great for managing updates across the platform. Just 2 clicks and the hosts are updated, no other action required. Also no reboots required usually.
  • Tech support is very pricey but very knowledgeable. All support engineers are very helpful and always resolve our issues quickly.
  • It provides great redundancy for our environment. Several times a host has failed and nutanix was able to move everything over without any of our users even being aware. The hybrid of flash and standard storage works great.
  • Cost. nutanix is very, very expensive. Support is very pricey as well, but is basically an annual insurance plan. Covers all support and any replacement part costs. Not worth what they charge in my opinion, especially if you have multiple nutanix nodes like we do. It could be half the cost and I would be happy.
  • Updates to ESXi hosts only occur automatically if you have VMware DRS. We don't pay for the licensing so we have to manually move machines off each host to reboot them. Not horrible but annoying.
  • We use VM as our hypervisor, but nutanix does have their own (Acropolis). If acropolis ever did linked clones like VMware does we would switch in a second.
If you have a large amount of servers to virtualize or basic user virtual desktops, nutanix is perfect. Really happy with the solution. Cost is the biggest prohibitor. For a smaller environment, it might not make financial sense.
Whenever there is an issue they are relatively quick to respond. All of ours were non-critical issues to I didn't need to test their promptness. The tech was always very knowledgeable and always able to solve my problem. They would remote in, and work on the issue while I did other tasks which I greatly appreciated.

Very user friendly, and easy to google the answer if not. Some command line is needed, but if you are uncomfortable with that you can schedule a time with their techs and they will remote in and assist. I did that several times for upgrading firmware in the summer months.
Read Scott Trautwein's full review
John Carver | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Nutanix AOS - The Clear Leader

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nutanix AOS to manage and govern how our virtual machines are operating. This has been transitioned into about 90% of our operations. It solves the need to get away from VMWare. It is a very clean system and does exactly what we need without fail! The interface is very easy to use.
  • Clean Interface
  • Operate without Issue
  • Alert Reporting
  • Hardware specs reporting could use some improvment
  • The numbers for resources may be able to be changed to let better the user know what can be used
  • The N+1 method works well but the indicators do not reflect that well
  • The management of virtual machines is by far the best in the industry. The interface is very clean and easy to use; anyone could log in and find their way around without much effort.
  • The N+1 factor is perfect and works as it should, but the indicators of this on the readout need to be optimized to show the true nature of this.
The support team is splendid. I can not say enough good about them. The attention to detail and resolutions promptly is paramount in our industry; they do this particularly well.
The support is even equipped with opening tickets from alerts and replying to them to let the end-user know there may be an issue without the end user even knowing yet.
  • We did receive training from the vendor and its support. The product was very easy to pick up and learn. If there was no training, we would have been fine out of the gate and getting everything up and running.
  • The training is vital if you want to learn the high-level stuff and get into the back end with coding based config and setup.
Read John Carver's full review
Domanic Marshall | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Nutanix AOS is great for any business.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We area software as a service company, and we provide cloud database storage for companies. We use Nutanix AOS to control our software.
  • Give you full control of the data flow.
  • I cannot think of any areas for improvement right now.
For my business needs, I have found that Nutanix AOS provides the greatest use of the product and allows my company to maintain the integrity of the data stored.
I love the support that Nutanix AOS gives. I love that I can get onto a phone call and immediately talk with a Nutanix engineer.
I have had some great trainers on the product, so my transition has been really easy.
Read Domanic Marshall's full review
Dwain Caldwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

An improvement to our private cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix AOS is being used across our organization. We utilize it to power our VDI, file shares, and web applications.
  • The environment is consistent across all interfaces
  • The equipment and services have been reliable
  • We have noticed improved I/O performance and end-user experience
  • Managing health checks can be cumbersome as we see a lot of false alarms.
We have found the ease of use and reliability to be very well suited for our environment - which is one where IT staff have to serve in multiple roles.
Support is easy to contact and always responsive. The ticket system is easy to access and track.
We did not receive any formal training before use. However, we have utilized the free education materials provided by Nutanix AOS.
Read Dwain Caldwell's full review
Faisal Jawaid | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

True HCI and Hybrid Cloud Solution by Nutanix AOS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I am using Nutanix AOS across the whole organization with running workloads like SQL Servers, AD, POS & other customized applications.
  • It streamlined my day-to-day routine, provide faster data access for SQL servers, ease of use for IT management & quick and stable snapshots.
  • I have huge cost-saving benefits after using Nutanix AOS.
  • Single pane of glass
  • Amazing and quick tech support
  • Quick turn around in creating VMs and snapshots
  • File server
  • Apple Mac option
If you want to reduce your IT workload, reduce Virtualization cost, increase your productivity, and focus more on customer service rather than wasting time fire fighting IT daily, bring Nutanix AOS in your environment.
They helped me not only in troubleshooting but provided excellent recommendations and best scenarios to run SQL Server in my environment.
Yes, it's easy to use their products without much training. But we also get free training from the vendor.
Read Faisal Jawaid's full review
Muhd Nur Fadzlee Baharom | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Nutanix AOS Review by Me

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix AOS simplify my work with one click upgrade, consolidate all the three-tier architecture from 3 racks including server and storage to 1 rack server with six nodes of Nutanix AOS to handle all our VM for our clients
  • One-click upgrade
  • Single panel to manage
  • All in one solution for hardware
  • Consolidate three-tier architecture
  • Less rack space used
  • Power consumption
Easy to use, simple, and clean panel for beginners. All in one solution for hardware in one box, no need SAN storage, FC switch, and bigger host to handle all the utilizations.
Fast response and knowledgeable, easy to communicate
Easy to learn, also got Nutanix AOS University for the user to self-learn and get certified.
Read Muhd Nur Fadzlee Baharom's full review
Eric Schmitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Nutanix Rocks the technology world

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently utilizing Nutanix AOS for our VM's, as well as our ABS/file shares. With the migration to Nutanix AOS, this allowed us a single point of management and alerting instead of managing multiple different brands/tools. The ability to migrate between clusters also allows our company to have development clusters and production clusters with migrating VMS simple.
  • Fabulous Support
  • Great sales team
  • Build-in AI of moving VM's is solid
  • The management of clusters is as simple as it gets through PCent.
  • The upgrade process can be somewhat tricky but has had recent improvements.
If you are looking for a simpler solution to manage network-attached storage, block storage, and centrally housing your VMS with it, Nutanix AOS is the best in the business. When looking at a solution, include time and ease to your decision, as PCent allows a centralized solution. The support behind Nutanix AOS is also another great asset to the company.
I have spent a fair amount of time bringing our clusters up to snuff in regards to version, and I have nothing but great things to say about the support team. From the initial purchasing support team to the everyday tech support, it has been impressive.
I'm fond learn by doing. I have a hard time with just reading a book, and Nutanix AOS has been extremely easy to learn on the fly. With hands-on IT people nowadays, it needs to be relatively intuitive, and Nutanix AOS is just that.
Read Eric Schmitz's full review
Jurgen Bravenboer | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Nutanix HCI gives you freedom!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
In our company, we use Nutanix our main data center platform. We deliver our customers services from this platform, they can rent a whole IaaS environment, but also per VM if they want to. Nutanix AOS is our main infrastructure platform and therefore it is used by everybody in our company. It makes our company very flexible in delivering virtual infrastructure to our customers.
  • Availability.
  • Scalability.
  • Managability.
  • Hyper-converged infrastructure.
  • Ease of deployment.
  • Easier migration from Hyper-V to AHV.
  • We can solve daily errors easier.
  • MSP program for providers.
Nutanix works very well for delivering data center services to customers, as it is easy to deploy (simple cluster within 1 hour) and easy to manage.
When running Nutanix you can also add several other services like Nutanix Files (distributed file system), ERA (Database service) and Nutanix Frame (VDI infrastructure to provide even more services to customers.
It's less appropriate to run Nutanix in an environment with a low VM count because it's super scalable for bigger environments.
Nutanix support is something they score very high on. Nutanix support always takes the lead and ownership of problems and make the extra effort to solve it for their customers. Feedback is always good, only thing you need to make sure you have an active support contract on all your units. For hardware and for software!
Nutanix has a good community which is very helpful in setting up your system. Also you can download the Nutanix CE (Community Edition) to test it yourself and play with it. Nutanix CE is also helpful preparing to get your NCP/NCAP certification. Also if your a partner, you get access to the Nutanix University and follow all sorts of training on Nutanix. Here you will also have updated product sheets and many other new feature enhancements.
Read Jurgen Bravenboer's full review
Chad Dorr | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

HCI transformation made possible by Nutanix AOS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our enterprise virtualization is almost entirely powered (~99%) by Nutanix HCI running AOS. AOS provides us with a robust, modular and scalable infrastructure to deliver mission-critical workloads. AOS provides us the stability our customers demand, enables us to easily and seamlessly perform patching and upgrades, and gives us the peace of mind knowing that it's all backed by best-in-class support.
  • Highly responsive support team behind the product, and direct access to the developers who provide responsive feedback to requests/technical issues.
  • Single pane of glass management for the platform makes it easy to support and operate day-to-day.
  • Delivers exceptional performance running even the most demanding workloads.
  • Lifecycle management software has been less than stellar at times, requiring some manual intervention.
  • It's not an inexpensive solution if you're running ESXi on top of AOS.
  • The licensing model has changed a few times, hopefully the current model will stick.
AOS is the perfect fit for anyone looking to run HCI in their environment. It's built to scale, so it can work as well in smaller companies as it does in a large enterprise setting. It's also endlessly customizable, so the components it's made up of can be tailored to meet changing needs.
Nutanix provided best-in-business level customer and technical support. Direct access to engineering teams, priority handling of support issues, their field engineers and sales contacts are ever-present to offer assistance as needed. There is an outstanding community of users to assist online as well. There's also a free-to-use version of the platform called Community Edition, so it's easy to set up a lab environment as well for training purposes.
The software uses an extremely user-friendly and speedy HTML5 interface. It's virtually infinitely customizable and intuitive to anybody who has used modern virtualization/storage/networking web interfaces. There is an exceptional amount of free online training, both from the vendor and from 3rd parties. We also received a lot of 1 on 1 training from the vendor on our installation before, during and after the installation.
Read Chad Dorr's full review
Jon Seet | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Nutanix Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nutanix to consolidate all the various hypervisors and non-standard setups we have around the globe. Implementing Nutanix eliminates all the maintenance headaches of dealing with multiple vendors/products for firmware, drivers and support.
  • Hyperconverged
  • Simple
  • Small footprint
  • Excellent Support
  • Move more command-line driven activities to the GUI
  • Reduce price
Nutanix is suited for everything!

The only scenario where I would not implement it is at a site which does not have at least 3 ESX hosts and 100VMs. The cost would not be justifiable
Nutanix support is the benchmark I use as a comparison to other vendors. Support calls go directly to level 3 support, there is no triage process and no waiting for higher level engineers to become available. Nutanix engineers that I have dealt with are all qualified with Cisco and VMware certifications so there has never been an instance where we had to pull in another vendor's support. An absolute pleasure to deal with.
Nutanix AOS is an easy to understand, intuitive platform. It does not require any special training. Embarking on a training session is not required but provides administrators with a better understanding and appreciation of the underlying technology .
Read Jon Seet's full review
Mikel Seidl | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

The Best Hypervisor for Enterprise Applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We fully migrated from an old VMware system running in a IBM Bladecenter to a brand new Nutanix 3U Cluster running Nutanix AOS. This is the only Hypervisor we use now. It is much easier to use and more powerful than VMware. The High Availability Functions of it have made maintenance much easier during business hours.
  • High availability.
  • Versatility.
  • Frequent updates to features (can be confusing).
  • Smaller user base.
Nutanix AOS and the related systems have been a game changer for us as an organization and for me as a system admin. It is easy to use and manage. The possibility to take systems offline for maintenance was something we couldn't do before that I can now do freely. It also saves a lot of money over the long run.
Nutanix support is very easy to engage. On any occasion that I have had the need to engage support they respond quickly and are extremely knowledgeable. We have not had any issue yet that cannot be solved in 1 or 2 support calls. They also return calls on the ticket within 2 hours.
Read Mikel Seidl's full review
Rodger Hanson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

Saving and consolidating

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix is used by the whole organization as we run VMware on Nutanix for all our servers in various campuses. Nutanix makes it very easy to implement firmware updates from hypervisors to AOS.
  • One click & easy updates.
  • Self healing.
  • Everything in one cluster.
  • I find the licensing hard to get around.
It's simplified our lives by having storage & compute all on one hardware platform. It's easy to access and understand.
Nutanix have always been helpful when we have an issue, otherwise they create a solution.
The product is easy to learn about, but growing very fast.
Read Rodger Hanson's full review
John Hamilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2020

Nutanix is awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nutanix has been a life saver for me. It takes all the hard guess work out. It is a true turn-key solution. It is so simplified and easy to understand a cave man could use it. It has really saved me a lot of time tracking down issues that I have had in my VMware environment.
  • Simplicity
  • Easy to use and understand
  • Great data protection built in
  • Change some of the layouts to user's preference
  • Turning the data protection on can be a challenge
  • I wish we could get a CLI in the dashboard
Well suited for almost all day-to-day virtual infrastructure.
Nutanix has been great. Ease of use at a glance managemnet and 1 click updates need i say more
Read John Hamilton's full review
Ronaldi Santosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

My Nutanix AOS Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nutanix AOS for VDI Desktop infrastructure for more than 300 users. Also, we have many VM application servers under Nutanix Storage Cluster. It's used for all our users in the whole organization.
  • Nutanix AOS is a complete HCI solution
  • Nutanix AOS is very stable in our infrastructure so far.
  • Very easy to manage
  • Informative monitoring and notification tools
  • Need integrated tools for automation process in VM Guest OS level
  • More complex operation and monitoring using API interface
  • Need built-in integrated service monitoring
  • Need more support and flexible hw cluster addition
Nutanix AOS is a complete HCI suite. It's very good if you need fast and dynamic infrastructure deployment. For example, if you want to migrate your old infrastructure to new fresh HCI solutions.
It's fast response and able to see the problem and trouble shoot it correctly.
Nutanix AOS is an easy and simple to manage infrastructure, backed up by good documentation and study guide. Nutanix university provides a lot of clear guidance and materials are easy to follow. Your IT Admin will love it.
Read Ronaldi Santosa's full review
Bart Wessels | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

The best platform in town!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Nutanix as our hardware layer. We benefit from fast storage and simple implementation.
Also we save a lot of time by using the one-click firmware upgrade and one-click upgrade of the Nutanix software.
  • Single-plane.
  • One-click upgrades.
  • Nice add-ons.
  • Nutanix files.
  • Auto-resolve.
  • MSP program.
When a customer wants to have their own hardware layer and wants to be high available and fast at the same time, then Nutanix AOS is the ideal solution.
They deliver quick solutions or feedback on what to try. They have a direct connection to your cluster so they can support you instantly (only when approved by you).
We have had a good experience until now. We have had some trouble at the start but they fixed that well.
In the Nutanix University, there are a lot of training modules you can read or you can listen to learn the basics.
Read Bart Wessels's full review
Matt Scanzano | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Simplified management of virtualize infrastructure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nutanix AOS for hosting cloud-based PBX systems such as asterisk and 3CX. Nutanix AOS simplifies our daily lives with low maintenance hyper-convergence. It also simplifies a lot of aspects of virtualization, such as fast snapshots and restores, disk/resource expansion, etc.
  • Dashboard
  • Snapshots and backups
  • Disaster recovery
  • Can't think of any
I can't speak for other situations and fields, but it has really. Nutanix AOS simplified ourselves for what we use it for.
Nutanix AOS support is fast and extremely knowledgable. They are always willing to help.
A bit of both. We are not scared to dive in and learn, but we also attended bootcamp and reached out to support when needed.
Read Matt Scanzano's full review
Kyle Naidoo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

NUTANIX AOS.........THE WAY FORWARD!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Nutanix is super!
  • Nutanix AOS has increased productivity and decreased time spent on server checks by at least 2-3 hours per day.
  • Because Nutanix AOS does everything for you
  • Auto resolve is magic.
  • The move is the next level and makes it so easy to migrate from HyperV.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Easily accessible
  • Server rack decreased to just 6U's
  • Reporting on usage and where can you save
Nutanix AOS is very helpful and easy to use
  • Always helpful and very detailed.
  • Also very efficient
Received training and then self-trained.
Read Kyle Naidoo's full review
Rowland Higgs | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Nutanix Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it at one of our units and we find it so easy to do the maintenance checks so we have started rolling it out to the other units. Each unit runs its whole infrastructure off it, and we have not found a challenging part besides cloning a disk and attach to another VM. It is command-based, but maybe a guide would be nice.
  • Space efficiency.
  • Stability.
  • Security.
  • Maybe an easier way to manage VM storage.
  • Reduce the price.
Nutanix is well suited for almost all day-to-day virtual infrastructure. It's very well suited to highly virtualized environments. Database applications perform extremely well in Nutanix, no matter the intensity of the database.
They are so quick effective with Nutatix. I have never had a problem that they could not fix. Since having Nutanix problems have been minimum
Change is always hard for anybody. It takes time for us to get used to it but I must admit the time I took to get used to Mutanix was small. It is very easy to use.
Read Rowland Higgs's full review

About Nutanix AOS

Nutanix helps customers modernize their datacenters and run applications at any scale, on-prem and in the cloud.

Nutanix AOS Video

Nutanix AOS Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Nutanix AOS Competitors

VMware vSAN, Cisco HyperFlex, HPE SimpliVity (formerly OmniCube)

Nutanix AOS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No