The Okta Identity Cloud Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
224 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 79)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 06, 2020
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses The Okta Identity Cloud as an identity manager for all of our applications. It allows us to easily and securely make sure everyone in the org has the access necessary for the tools they use. On-board and off-boarding employees become extremely easy and there isn't a worry that individuals are storing passwords in a risky manner or creating 'weak' passwords.
  • Keep passwords secure
  • Make on-boarding and off-boarding easy
  • Centralize password management
  • UI interface not as clean as alternatives, like LastPass
  • Price, more expensive than some competitors
The Okta Identity Cloud worked great for password management and centralization. It was very easy for everyone in the organization, both technical and non-technical, to get it setup and use it. It is widely used by both small and large organizations alike, and is a very trusted option for identity management. However, while The Okta Identity Cloud is effective, I've found LastPass, to be cheaper and easier to use, and performs the same functionality.
The Okta Identity Cloud allowed my organization to centralize it's management of practically every application that we used. The different departments and roles were able to get different levels of access, based on their needs. As employees joined and left the company, it was very quick and easy to get their access added/removed, which typically would be a tedious process, often error prone and causing security vulnerabilities.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
November 19, 2020
Kenneth Myers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We worked with a government agency interested in a FedRAMP-approved, single-sign-on solution that supported native smart card authentication. Another requirement was the ability to authenticate users from outside the government agency in the same tool. After looking at various solutions that usually required an on-premises appliance to support smart cards, we decided to move forward with Okta Identity Cloud.
  • Ease of setup and configuration
  • Customer service response
  • SLA
  • Easy to navigate interface
  • User app dashboard
  • Little troubleshooting guidance when encountering smart card authentication errors
  • Better troubleshooting steps when encountering SAML errors
  • A better explanation of the LDAP interface connection settings
  • More flexibility in importing and using AD fields
Very easy to procure and set up. Very good instructions for onboarding pre-existing applications. Easy to manage users although some bulk functions do require use and knowledge of Postman. Not suited for environments where there is no internet connectivity. All Okta Identity Cloud modules require authentication through Okta and an internet connection to reach Okta.
Yes, our project benefited from a centralized platform. The cost model was also advantageous because the agency was unsure of how many users it could expect. No worries about scaling because Okta Identity Cloud scaled with our user base. No worries about capacity planning either. Okta Identity Cloud supported the majority of applications we integrated with little customization.
Read Kenneth Myers's full review
November 09, 2020
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Okta Identity Cloud is used as the single sign-on solution across multiple verticals at our organization. It has helped to provide various integrations to enable our workforce to seamlessly sign on using multi-factor authentication to various internal portals and tools. We have been able to integrate it in to our Active Directory as well, providing seamless user management through a single set of tools.
  • Active Directory integration.
  • Single sign on.
  • Multi factor authentication.
  • Simple application integrations.
  • Better documentation on integrations.
  • Better configuration options needed for different environments, e.g. staging, dev.
Okta Identity Cloud works best if you have multiple enterprise applications that you would need your users to be able to access, while having different systems dedicated to user management. Okta also provides very simplified single sign-on capability through the use of software tokens, enabling you to build multi-factor auth enabled enterprise applications quickly and effectively without needing the integration of hardware token systems or complicated server implementations.
Okta's centralized identity management platform has enabled our organization to use it as an architectural point of integration with various heterogenous identity systems we utilize, while enabling our internal teams to provide simplified integrations to enterprise applications pointing back at the central user base. Through its ability to communicate with various user databases over many standardized protocols, it makes integrations straightforward and effective by enabling us to architect our solutions in the best way possible.
Read Ramindu Deshapriya's full review
November 07, 2020
Eric Engardio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our entire organization. We use it for everything we possibly can from users' VPN accounts on our Fortigate Firewall appliances to Gmail password synchronization to Zoom SSO authentication. It works really really well with the built-in apps it proves as well as the custom SAML applications you can make.
  • Extremely reliable
  • Great support
  • Easy to manage interface
  • Okta Verify is a great app for MFA
  • Need more documentation on some of their apps.
  • They're pricey, but it's worth it for the best.
  • Documentation on how to implement the Okta RADIUS Agent could be a little better.
I would have to say that it will work well with just about any organization. We're a small company and we've found tons of uses for it. The only time that I would say it's probably not right for you is if you're an extremely small company where users share the same credential sets.
It makes integrating most applications extremely easy. The fact that a lot of people (and even the vendors themselves sometimes) have submitted pre-configured apps into Okta makes it very easy to deploy to new platforms. Note that this isn't always the case but as long as the vendor accepts SAML-integrated logins, you're good to go with a little bit of work.
Read Eric Engardio's full review
November 06, 2020
Qing Miao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Okta as our main Single Sign-On (SSO) solution for our internal systems so users only need to have one set of credentials and log in once. We also natively integrate Okta with our product platform to provide SSO capabilities for our customers. Okta acts as the goto solution for everything SSO for our organization and customers.
  • Single Sign-On and its support for various relevant protocols such as SAML and OIDC
  • User management
  • Support and out of box integration with many market leading products
  • Reliable
  • SAML support had to be manually enabled and required a sales call, made evaluation a bit complicated.
Okta is a terrific SSO solution and probably is one of, if not the best solution on the market. If your organization has many applications, a mix of on-prem as well as cloud, Okta can save you a lot of headaches when it comes to centrally manage users and their credentials, provide them with a much smoother user experience. You also get additional features such as 2-step authentication for added security, even if those applications themselves do not support it natively.
One user interface/experience for all our applications helped to reduce confusion for our users. Users only need to familiarize themselves with the Okta interface and authentication flow.
Read Qing Miao's full review
November 04, 2020
Ryan Cash | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Okta SSO to reduce password re-use, improve access control, and overall security and convenience. It is used now by our entire company for everyday logon to most of our systems and accounts.
  • SSO is extremely convenient.
  • The password remembrance is very nice for those sites where true SSO is not available.
  • Nice integration with AD and other items for group management and provisioning.
  • The password manager is a bit clunky.
  • Could use a form fill option for webinar registrations and the like.
Okta does SSO EXTREMELY well, and its ease of deployment is very good. It helps to avoid significant password reuse (at least one of our users was compromised by such a vulnerability). Since we are a cloud-first company (most of the existing and new initiatives are cloud-based), direct AD integration isn't always possible. By using Okta Identity, we can use SAML to hook with those services, and AD to hook into Okta.

If a company were to be wholly on-premises and AD-connected, there's not much reason to have Okta or any other cloud-based SSO.
We haven't really used Okta as an identity master at this juncture. We have used it to provision Salesforce from our AD master. That being said, any SAML-based services now effectively have a two-party access system (service administrator and Okta administrator) before a person can access potentially sensitive data.
Read Ryan Cash's full review
November 04, 2020
Jonathan Justin Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Okta Identity Cloud is used as my whole companies SSO for our SaaS applications.
  • The Okta Identity Cloud push MFA is easy and quick to logon
  • GEO filtering for logons protect us from hackers
  • VPN auth makes it a single identity provider and we do not need seperate tokens fo VPN
  • Heavy
  • Integration to AD is a setup
  • Integrations to some apps can be surprisingly time consuming
Large multi Saas organizations make it useful. Also assigning licenses based through The Okta Identity Cloud makes license management and provisioning easy. This is over kill for smaller organizations.
The Okta Identity Cloud makes provisioning users and licenses easy. It also adds a layer of access security via Geo tagging that blocks hundreds of brute force hacking attempts daily.
Read Jonathan Justin Lewis's full review
November 02, 2020
Kelsey van Haaster | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Okta is used globally at ThoughtWorks. It is our primary IDP and provides secure (SSO) access to more than 8000 technology consultants across the globe. Okta allows our employees to work from anywhere, at any time, via any device, and ensures a seamless consistent experience with a high degree of security.
  • Ease of integration for applications and services - low cost of doing business and deploying new applications.
  • Powerful and easy to use API supporting the development of automation.
  • Powerful policy engine that allows us to accommodate for a variety of different access needs.
  • We'd like to see the ability to have configuration as code for our tenant.
  • The ability to create customized (more granular) admin roles.
  • Better group (group rules) management functionality.
Okta is great for ease of set up, there is a low barrier to entry for organizations not using an IDP at all, it is straightforward to roll out and customize. The ability to spin up and use a development environment free of charge is a win, as well as the ability to customize the end-user experience. Okta is less strong in a scenario where internet access is a challenge, there is no ability to host your own version, which could be a challenge for some organizations.
When considering a new application or technology, we are not constrained by our IDP and can focus on identifying the best tool for our needs.
Read Kelsey van Haaster's full review
November 02, 2020
Peter Baresic | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were trying to figure out how to use cloud services within an enterprise and keep control of the authentication to them all. Okta Identity Cloud gives us a centralized place to manage those passwords, [and it] automates the integration of Active Directory authorization and authentication. [Okta] also helps employees discover what services are available to us. We use it [across] the entire organization.
  • When you click on the link it'll authenticate for you.
  • Securely storing passwords.
  • New applications are all managed through our Active Directory groups.
  • Doesn't work well with LastPass which is a big hindrance for our users.
Okta Identity Cloud has simplified everything for us. The process of setting up applications is pretty straight forward, and the number of applications that are supported is amazing. The adaptive MFA is really neat so we can easily balance security and usability to meet just about everyone's needs. The amount of work we have to do to onboard a new user has been reduced drastically through the support of SCIM and APIs. They continue to innovate and bring out new features that further enhance the usability and security of Okta.
Somewhat - all passwords and identities are remembered
Read Peter Baresic's full review
November 02, 2020
Neil Howell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Catholic Diocese that spans many organizations and fifty-seven schools crossing both Primary and Secondary. In total we have greater than 30,000 users to manage. As you can [expect] with this number of students and staff to manage, we needed a platform that would be a cog in the large wheel of management and ensure a seamless experience for all users when accessing the 50+ apps that we have integrated.
  • We utilize the Dynamic groups to auto assign users permissions to systems and apps.
  • Simplicity of adding apps using the Okta Integration Network (OIN) of apps.
  • Fast deployment of a user to all required apps.
  • Great control of security, including reports to troubleshoot user issues.
  • I think Security features should be default for all. It's important to provide the best available and assist with minimizing management when troubleshooting.
  • Small business offerings.
  • Too many required upgrade bolt-ons. I would like to see some of these combined as offerings.
SSO and provisioning makes users happy and admins excited.
We use AD Mastered management, so mostly the Identity Platform syncs [are] all we need and we use that to automate and provision users into the 50+ apps. The personal information can be passed via SSO to ensure the apps profiles or permissions are correctly provisioning the user automatically. Take a look through the OIN to determine apps that will allow extra provisioning tasks.
Read Neil Howell's full review
November 19, 2020
Arcoma L. Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Okta Identity Cloud to be the cloud-based brokerage, so it is the backbone of the business model. Everything is in the Cloud--everything is digital and accessible and everything is secure. We have the ability to onboard digitally without the primary staff being bogged down by repetitive functions. We can collaborate across the country and around the world.
  • Only allows members of our brokerage into the group
  • We can collaborate with each other in a cloud-based mastermind
  • Decreased need for repetitive staff or overlap
  • Okta Identity Cloud is in the background of what we do, it is not marketing itself to the users
  • Our Okta Identity Cloud passport was not well explained at the beginning
From what I understand, and I am no techie, this allows us to use our app (eXp World) and have a secure way to log in and speak to the employees of the company. For me, I know it gets what I need to do prioritized and then I can get on with my business.
Once we have a company email, we have access to the programs which are provided by the platform. I have to have a very long password to sign in and get past the two factor identification.
Read Arcoma L. Lambert's full review
November 09, 2020
Ram Nair | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Okta Identity Cloud is used as a single sign on for all our enterprise applications. Okta Identity Cloud ensures the application is all secured and can be logged in seamlessly without connecting to each application. It has two-way authentication which is very useful. Okta Identity Cloud is a perfect solution for small, medium, and large organizations.
  • Single sign on
  • Two way authentication
  • Seamless access across various applications
  • Can be cheaper
  • Licensing cost can have various options
Okta Identity Cloud is an ideal solution for single sign on for any organizations. Its implementations and performance are very good and easy to implement with minimal support. Excellent support and documents are available on the Okta site and elsewhere on the web. Okta Identity Cloud is a market leader and widely used.
Okta Identity Cloud is platform independent. It has seamless integration with various applications and devices. It has two-phase authentication which is more secure and reliable. The performance is much better than any of its competitors' products. The support is great and very easy to administer and use for both the IT and business teams.
Read Ram Nair's full review
November 06, 2020
Brenda Christian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Okta Identity Cloud is being used by EXP Realty to facilitate the logins of multiple apps and platforms.
  • Direct login to apps
  • One stop place for multiple apps
  • Easy chrome extension
  • Logging in directly is sometimes easier
  • Exp has not linked all our apps
It keeps all my most used apps together with my logins
I have a password manager but this allows me to single click
Read Brenda Christian's full review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Okta Single Sign-On was integrated with a new application that was custom developed for the graphics department at a major broadcaster's enterprise. Okta was integrated as the top layer of security to eliminate credential reauthentication as the new system was being accessed by over 200 people with various levels of authority and access boundaries. It saved time with the helpdesk requests and provided easy and fast access to multiple areas of the system for the authorized personnel.
  • Reporting features for Okta have significant advantages over its competitors with detailed reporting for each user and access log.
  • Ability to integrate multiple identity providers.
  • Directory Integration: Okta's ability to configure the master/universal directory that can be set and switched at will is great as it doesnt require separate system updates.
  • Hardware Integration with devices that are on premises requires separate hardware upgrade that can be quite expensive depending on the number of devices required.
  • Price : Okta is great for large enterprises, but small to medium sized companies wouldnt be able to afford the high cost.
  • Company doesnt provide different levels of services that can be added or deleted depending on the needs of the organization.
Okta is excellent for large enterprises that require an added level of security of all their system accesses. Okta's single sign-on improves productivity for the company as it eliminates the need for constant helpdesk password resets. Okta is particularly well suited to organizations that have authorization hierarchy and require various levels of authorizations and access for its users. Okta isn't really for medium to small businesses with a small number of users as the initial integration as well as the monthly recurring costs can add up pretty fast.
Read this authenticated review
November 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Okta Identity Cloud is being used across the entire organization, including all staff, faculty and students. It allows us to integrate single sign on across our most used applications as well as use multi factor authentication. It provides a seamless and user friendly experience to all our users, which is ideal for us to provide a positive user experience while providing a secure authentication process.
  • Easy multifactor setup
  • Cross device experience
  • Easy setup with SAML and SSO applications
  • Tech support responsiveness
We have setup an automated user account provisioning with The Okta Identity Cloud. Its does a good job of processing for our onboarding and ID management user accounts in conjunction with our active directory environment. It also is a seamless integration with other third party applications and works well with their SAML security.
We haven't utilized this functionality.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Okta Identity Cloud is used in our organization as a single sign on security application. This addresses the need for our company to feel safer when using their cloud based applications. It also allows for our company to adhere to best practices when it comes to our internal security. We also manage it for other clients.
  • SSO secoruty
  • Easily integrated into the environment
  • A lot more applications support it
  • Better integration so it can be used more
  • Different method other than saml
The Okta Identity Cloud is best suited for anyone working in a remote environment or uses web based applications. In this day and age where more and more people are working remotely, having a secure log in method is a must have in all scenarios. The use of any MFA solution is best practice
The centralized identity management platform isn’t used by our company as of it. We are looking into expanding our current use of The Okta Identity Cloud.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Okta Identity Cloud is used in our company for Single Sign On and for integration with any third party service where we use as SaaS which has a requirement for one of our employees to login to leverage the capabilities. Their mobile app and the user, application and authorization management that allows us to protect our company assets and ease of accessibility.
  • Simple SAML Integration
  • Many companies have OOTB integration with okta
  • Allow the ability to control/manage and manage SaaS apps within our company
  • Requires an internal team to manage/setup - expertise
  • Setup can be challenging - may require okta support
  • It is well suited for managing enterprise products
  • For having "one stop" for all applications
  • Easy Single sign on
  • Managing apps is an ongoing process - it is not setup one and done
We were having issues with password resets and calls to our help desk. Many times this caused confusion and could be a challenge to train helpdesk staff to manage password resets across multiple apps if self service resets were not available. This centralized applications and allows our employees to simply login and access applications.
Read this authenticated review
December 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OKTA Identity cloud is being used in our organisation for configuring SSO for SAAS applications, On - perm application and applications in our own data centre. We are using OKTA Identity system to manage the users in the directory which is the internal directory for our organisation. OKTA is being used for configuring Multi factor authentication to make sure the users who are from our org is using the applications.
  • Multi factor authentication.
  • Okta universal directory.
  • IP zone restrictions.
  • Okta Integration Network.
  • Agent based configuration for SSO.
  • Need more customisation.
Okta will be used very well whenever the applications are available in OIN.
Okta have an option to manage or maintain different set of directory managed users in single place.
Okta MFA is very easy to understand from end user perspective.
Okta Admin need not to be a knowledgeable person in Okta tool. Whomever knows about SSO concepts can easily get started working on the tool.
Okta provides Okta universal directory which is very much comfortable for organisations having multiple Directories managed. We can manage all directory in single location which is Okta universal directory. From this feature we can maintain only one SSO tool for entire organisation. This feature reduced the workload of managing life cycle management of the users in the organisation.
Read this authenticated review
December 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OKTA in our Organization as part of SSO and MFA for users in some application login and Citrix currently. We are planning to implement OKTA in the entire organization by 2021 Q1. As our org is planning to move to the cloud, OKTA is the best solution for us as it currently suits our org, provides unlimited user onboarding, and easy for application implementation either inbuild or custom.
  • MFA factors: it provides an additional security layer for our org
  • Unlimited could data for user onboarding
  • Application implementation: easy setup and cofig
  • High price
  • Additional fields should have provided while integrating AD.
OKTA Identity Cloud is well suited for MFA factors and application setup, as it is an easy to implement application and you can select the login in specific locations or zones based on IP addresses so that we can reduce the threat and have better logs that will help validations and any issues.
Okta Identity Management management platform provided a user-friendly platform to users and it is easy to deploy our org internal applications. Helps add an additional layer of security. Enables login to specific locations.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Okta is being used across the organization as a central identity provider for internal services that support it. We mainly use Google/GSuite as the identity provider for our business applications, but Okta is used to broker access to GSuite. It is integrated with a range of business and internal development/monitoring tools we have.
  • Flexible range of integration points.
  • Browser plugin is easy to use.
  • Supports Duo authentication and so it can be used to add multi-factor authentication to applications that do not support it.
  • Support for mapping roles to privileges on an app in custom integration (eg. SAML) is not mature.
Okta Identity Cloud is suitable for organizations that are geared towards, or oriented around, remote work and rely on a large suite of business applications in the cloud. Centralized access management allows for efficient and complete onboarding/offboarding activities and provides a surface to add more security controls. The support for the role-based access management models of the apps integrated with the service could be more complete. If you have a lot of applications that do not have support for federated identity integrations (ie. support for SAML, OAuth2, OpenID), Okta may not be the right choice for your organization.
Having a singular, standardized interface for SaaS applications improves productivity and decreases interface fatigue for employees.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Okta Identity Cloud for three use cases:
1. Staff Single Sign-On
2. Customer authentication
3. Customer federation

For staff SSO, we have pretty much all of the Okta Identity Cloud SKUs except for Advanced Server Access and Access Gateway and the main purpose of Okta Identity Cloud was initially for Single Sign-On, but we're also now leveraging the LCM capability for SCIM provisioning against supported cloud services.
For the customer side, we leverage Okta Identity Cloud UD for application authentication and we also leverage the software to allow us to federate with our customers (Okta Identity Cloud acts as the SP).
  • Okta Identity Cloud makes it very easy to configure Single Sign-On using either SAML2 or OIDC by leveraging either a pre-built integration within the Okta Integration Network, or creating a custom integration if there isn't one (or you require more flexibility than what the pre-built one offers). We have configured SSO in single-digit minute(s) when using Okta Identity Cloud compared to other products.
  • With Okta Identity Cloud there is no on-premise infrastructure to manage in order for it to function, as it is all hosted in the cloud in AWS. Only agents are hosted within your network, if you require such functionality, but they require very low maintenance. Network security is high as the agents make outbound calls to Okta Identity Cloud, so no inbound connectivity is required for them.
  • There is no hidden cost with Okta Identity Cloud, and they are constantly releasing functionality into the platform that fits into existing SKUs. Over the five years that we have used them, they've only changed SKUs a handful of times and none have been disruptive.
  • For those of us who use and know Okta Identity Cloud, it is the de facto standard to use for Staff SSO capability. I come from an IBM background and I would rather use Okta Identity Cloud any day than go back to using TFIM for federation. Please don't even mention ADFS!
  • Okta Support is very responsive and there is a support portal to raise tickets against. Alternatively there are also numbers to call should you prefer to talk to someone.
  • Okta Identity Cloud has a great set of APIs for automating administration activities, and courtesy of their developers there is also a good set of SDKs and sample code on how to integrate Okta Identity Cloud using various programming languages.
  • Prior to the introduction of Okta Identity Cloud's workflows feature, trying to customize the platform to meet business logic was quite difficult, if not impossible. That was one of the downsides of using a service like Okta Identity Cloud compared to say a product like ISIM from IBM.
  • Trying to track down causes of provisioning errors (or any other issues) can be quite challenging as an admin using just the data available from the system log. It usually will require some sort of support ticket but fortunately, the support team are very responsive.
  • At present, Okta Identity Cloud lacks governance features such as segregation of duties, recertification, role-based access control, along with approvals. Should you require these features, you would need to handle them outside of Okta Identity Cloud such as within a service management tool and then leverage APIs to automatically perform the task in Okta Identity Cloud, or manually assign to an admin.
  • The Okta Identity Cloud administration console is not mobile friendly at the moment, which is a pain if you are looking to do some quick administration task away from your workstation.
Okta Identity Cloud is one of the best (if not the very best) tool for Single Sign-On and user LifeCycle Management for cloud-based applications. I would highly recommend using Okta Identity Cloud if you are starting from a greenfields environment like we did, and even though we had on-premises hosting capability we did not want a traditional heavy identity management system.
From an end-user perspective, Okta Identity Cloud is very easy to use and the end-user portal can be configured to be the central source of all shortcuts. All of this is available from anywhere and any device should your organization allow it.
From an admin and security perspective, Okta Identity Cloud provides the capability to simplify the application access experience through Single Sign-On, and through its LifeCycle Management capabilities it also enables automated handling of Joiner, Mover, and Leaver requirements. The Adaptive MFA capabilities allows us to leverage Okta Verify, but also FIDO/WebAuthN compliant keys and allows us to enable passwordless authentication within the organization while still maintaining a high level of security.
Okta Identity Cloud currently lacks any identity governance capability, so that task would need to be handled either manually or via another platform at the moment.
We chose Okta Identity Cloud as the platform of choice for Staff Single Sign-On, so that we would have one platform to manage for this functionality. To that end Okta has been a great success. Leveraging the pre-built applications on the Okta Integration Network to connect to common cloud applications such as DocuSign, Box, etc is a breeze, and we have since built many custom SAML integrations as well by creating custom applications in Okta Identity Cloud. We have even worked with a couple of our vendors to introduce them to Okta Identity Cloud so they can build SSO capability into their product.
From an operational management perspective, we are a small team of three and Okta does not require much operational overhead. We use Active Directory and we make use of delegated authentication from Okta so no user passwords are synchronized outside of the organization. The Okta agents are very low maintenance and only require updates every so often.
Okta's security policies allows us to ensure that we only allows users to log in from authorized locations and by leveraging Okta ThreatInsights, we ensure that our users are protected from common threats.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Okta Identity Cloud for single sign-on access to all of our SaaS and on-premise web applications, as well as some servers both in data centers and in public cloud. Okta allows us to craft flexible authentication policies, including multi-factor and passwordless options, that enable low-friction user experiences without sacrificing security. Robust APIs and a workflow engine enable us to customize workloads and processes whenever we need to do so. Okta continues to keep up with new standards and technologies such as WebAuthN and FIDO2, enabling new and better experiences for our users. The platform is continuously invested in, and we are able to continuously improve both security and user experience as a result.
  • Flexible authentication policies and authenticator options.
  • Continuous improvement of the platform on top of an already robust featureset.
  • Easy integration with thousands of SaaS and on-premise web applications.
  • Device trust option for Windows devices depends too heavily on on-premise infrastructure.
  • Departed users can be challenging to manage through admin console.
By far the best IDaaS solution on the market. [Okta Identity Cloud] handles M&A incredibly well, integrates well with AD and LDAP and can delegate authentication to both. [Okta] can easily automate user provisioning from an HR system downstream with custom attribute mastering and logic. Authentication takes into consideration [the] user and device.

Okta could improve on reporting and governance features. I would like to see better efforts to enable access certification.
We never had to think about different solutions for cloud environments or our data center. Okta follows standards that allow us to use it regardless of where the application lies. There's never a doubt when purchasing a new application, no matter where it will live, if it supports Okta.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, [it is] currently being implemented for the whole organization. We are leveraging the Okta single sign-on, Lifecycle Management, multi-factor authentication, and we will be using the Okta Access Gateway for our on-premise application. It has addressed the problem of secure sign on to the third-party hosted cloud application for our internal users as they no longer [have] to remember multiple passwords and they can just securely sign on to the Okta portal and access those applications. For our high-risk applications, we have enabled multi-factor authentication which gives an extra layer of security when our users are trying to access the application. Using Lifecycle Management, we are now able to automate user provisioning and deprovisioning which helps the user to quickly login to the application instead of waiting for the access. We will be using the Okta Access Gateway which will resolve the on-premise application without any code [so] they can do SSO with Okta.
  • When it comes to SSO, Okta Identity Cloud is the best product to use as [it's] very easy to onboard your application with it. It provides the federated SSO protocols like SAML, OIDC and even if the application doesn't support these protocols, we can use the Secure Web Authentication protocol with which we can integrate our applications. Most of the common applications which we use will already be present in the OIN applications and which will be quick to integrate with Okta.
  • It provides different multi-factor authentication which we can use to add extra level of authentication [such as] Okta Verify (which is a mobile app), Radius Agent, YubiKey, and even security questions which we can use to set up for our applications. It also provides the API's which we can use to perform our operations quickly.
  • Using SAML JIT and SCIM we can do the automated user provisoning and deprovisoning in the applications. With Workflows, we can automate our daily operational tasks with no code which will reduce the tickets for [the] help desk.
  • Support provided by Okta when you face issues. They are quick to respond and help us in all cases [so that] we can identify our problem. So whenever you have any questions, just raise a case with Okta's support and they will try to quickly resolve your issues.
  • I feel they can improve the logs [so] it can be more user friendly and we can get the error in a more specific way.
  • With Okta Verify sometimes the push notifications [don't] come or [they] come very slowly. Every-time users don't want to use Okta Verify on their phones and [instead] want a Windows version of it, and I think it will be great if we get it.
  • Sometimes sync from AD to Okta doesn't work and we find [it] hard to find the logs. This will lead to the issue [where] user attributes might not get updated and they will not be able to access the application.
Okta is well suited for the Cloud apps where the users login with multiple passwords for different application and we can leverage Okta so that they can directly login to Okta and access those applications. I think it is not well suited for applications which are CLI based and don't have GUI. We faced a scenario for an app where it has only CLI and they were finding it difficult to integrate with Okta.
Yes, we have truly benefited [from] Okta. We have now integrated all [of] our third-party cloud applications with Okta which has allowed all our users to login securely (via Okta) to their applications. With LCM, we are creating users automatically and with MFA we have setup for all our high risk applications to use. So it has not [completely] reduce[d] our manual workflow of creating or deleting the users, but we have enhance[d] our security policies with Okta.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Okta Identity Cloud is being used for a central access to my company's entire suite of work tools and productivity software. It is being managed by our IT department and being deployed across our entire organization. All software that is being utilized at our company is access[ed] and procured through the Okta Identity Cloud. It's a form for managing licenses as well as employing security across our company for both remote and in-office work. All issuing is done through the central Okta Dashboard [along with] some requests for access. We also receive new notifications of new software access [and] alerts through the dashboard.
  • It provides great security access and protection.
  • It is a great central hub for access to all my software tools.
  • It allows me to sign into all my accounts without having to remember multiple passwords.
  • It provides me with new updates/alerts seamlessly and very easy.
  • It would be great if there was an easier way to request access to applications within the Okta Dashboard.
  • It would be great if the same level of security could be provided without the numerous sign-on requirements.
  • There could be a better way to organize software tools by type.
The Okta Identity Cloud is well suited for deployment and access to software while centralizing password access to accounts, but not as great for collaboration type software. It is great for controlling and monitoring who has access to the specific software needed to be a successful employee of a company as well as preventing unnecessary access and limiting the number of unnecessary licenses out there. It's also great for controlling security from a company-wide level, but I do not believe it would [not] be as well suite[d] on a more granular team level because of how the platform is designed and constructed.
I have been able to access all of my SaaS applications easily and without the need for remembering different account passwords (with the exception of a few applications not yet set up for Okta Identity Cloud). I [also] benefited from not having to waste time looking for the location of a specific SaaS application or having to ensure I have access to it. [Since] I know where I can easily locate it and if the application is on my dashboard, I already know that I have the necessary access to use the tool. Overall, it makes my start to work more efficient.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use The Okta Identity Cloud as an organization. It addresses the consolidation of various accounts into one. Employees love the SSO feature and having to memorize fewer passwords. This also helps reduce the amount of password resets we have to do across different platforms, resulting in more time to handle other issues.
  • SSO
  • Easy to use
  • Great workflows
  • N/A
  • N/A
  • N/A
This feature will help other companies consolidate a lot of their apps in one place!
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

ID-Management Access Control (34)
8.7
ID Management Single-Sign On (SSO) (38)
9.4
Multi-Factor Authentication (36)
9.4
Password Management (35)
8.5
Account Provisioning and De-provisioning (34)
8.6
ID Management Workflow Automation (31)
8.3
ID Risk Management (27)
8.7

What is The Okta Identity Cloud?

Okta is an independent provider of identity for the enterprise. The Okta Identity Cloud aims to connect and protect employees of many of the world's largest enterprises. It also securely connects enterprises to their partners, suppliers and customers. With integrations to over 5,000 apps, the Okta Identity Cloud enables simple and secure access from any device. Thousands of customers, including Experian, 20th Century Fox, LinkedIn, Flex, News Corp, Dish Networks, and Adobe use Okta to work faster, boost revenue and stay secure. According to the vendor, Okta helps customers fulfill their missions faster by making it safe and easy to use the technologies they need to do their most significant work.

The Okta Identity Cloud Video

Okta - Secure Your End Users with Our Identity Cloud

The Okta Identity Cloud Integrations

The Okta Identity Cloud Competitors

The Okta Identity Cloud Pricing

Starting Price: $2

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Single Sign on$2.00Per User Per Month
Single Sign on Adaptive$5.00Per User Per Month
Multi Factor Authentication$3.00Per User Per Month
Multi Factor Authentication Adaptive$6.00Per User Per Month

The Okta Identity Cloud Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is The Okta Identity Cloud?

Okta is an enterprise grade identity management service, built in the cloud. IT can manage access across any application, person or device. Whether the people are employees, partners or customers or whether the applications are in the cloud, on premises or on a mobile device, Okta helps IT become more secure and maintain compliance. The Okta service provides directory services, single sign-on, authentication, provisioning, workflow, and built in reporting. ment systems.

How much does The Okta Identity Cloud cost?

The Okta Identity Cloud starts at $2.

What is The Okta Identity Cloud's best feature?

Reviewers rate ID Management Single-Sign On (SSO) and Multi-Factor Authentication highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses The Okta Identity Cloud?

The most common users of The Okta Identity Cloud are Mid-size Companies from the Computer Software industry.