TrustRadius
Olark is a website live chat tool for engaging website visitors while they browse. It can be used to to track leads, drive sales, provide support. Olark, your household chat platformOlark was previously used as a chat widget our clients and end users would engage my support team for help desk related inquiries. Our sales team also uses olark as a chat widget on our homepage to engage potential new clients. The problems olark helps us address is allowing our client base to communicate to us via our CSM or homepage so we can answer any questions or concerns they may have.,Ability to chat via mobile web browsers. Ease of implementation. Their support is very courteous and eager to assist.,More options to edit the theme of the chat widget. They lack a Mobile app for end users to chat with the individuals that reach out to them via chat. Their Slack integration needs some work, or I need to make sure all of the settings are in place correctly.,10,An easy alternative for our end users to engage support without having to pick up a phone. We've seen an increase in how many chats vs email and phone calls. ROI is definitely a plus as the pricing for olark is very competitive. Even our internal stakeholders utilize the platform to contact the help desk, thanks to olark.,UJET,Google Drive, Zendesk, JIRA SoftwareOlark - Cheap and simple. Don't get fancy though....We use Olark to manage our chat channel for technical support. Overall Olark is a very solid, no-frills application. We are able to limit chats at any given time, as well as integrate with our WFM provider. They don't have higher level capabilities (Chatbots, predictive chatting) but it works as needed,Reliable for the most part Limit the number of chats Integrate with outside platforms,Chatbots Prediction of time to chat,7,Reduced phone volume by 5% (Diverting to chat) High customer satisfaction,Vantage Point, Workday Human Capital Management, HumanityOlark - A must have for your business!Olark is mainly being used currently by our customer service team via the chat option on our company website. It is professional, very user friendly, whether you are the customer or the employee and the reporting features are great. We did not have to incorporate programming our site and reprogramming as we changed web providers, instead, we have Olark and it works with it all. So convenient and a program you can trust to offer an additional means of communication for the customers.,Olark is user friendly for both sides of the CHAT conversation. If you are initiating the chat, or the one receiving the chat, it is extremely easy to follow and use. There are many different levels of computer use comprehension and Olark is for every level. Olark has reporting features to allow you to check the quality of your employees chat abilities as well as their productivity. It provides feedback for the employee themselves to also see how they are doing and take any suggestions the customer may leave for them regarding their chat experience. Olark is very affordable and offers you the option, at a low cost, to look bigger and more professional that you even are. We were a smaller company and has the chat option with Olark and now have grown tremendously and STILL have the Olark chat option. Olark allowed us to grow and provide professionalism to our customers . The Olark program allows you to set up quick responses to keep your customer from waiting, and to allow your employees to not have to retype the same response over and over. It is a great program that the employees really enjoy as well. It reminds you if you forgot to log out when you left your desk and provides your customer a quick note giving them the option to send the chat as an email inquiry instead, so you don't miss a thing.,I have not found anything that does not work the way we need it too with Olark in our organization. I was concerned that it would not be able to accommodate our tremendous and somewhat unexpected rapid growth because so many of the programs we have used early on were failing us, but Olark has done just fine. Better than fine, excellent.,10,We have not had the huge expense of programming chat into our website. Olark stayed even when our Webmasters did not. We did not have training costs involved in teaching a system to various employees because the Olark system is so user friendly. We have also been able to track some of the questions or concerns that are repeatedly being chatted about out products and take steps in the right direction for correcting those issues rather than guessing.,Zopim by Zendesk,Adobe Acrobat DC, Microsoft Office 365Olark is Okay...Olark is used in two instances for our team. One I can speak to more than the other. In the first instance, our sales teams use olark to answer prospective customers questions while they view a tour of our product. My team (support) uses Olark to support our product via live chat. Chat allows us to serve more than one customer at a time and still gives the customer direct access to a real person at the click of a button!,Gives analytics of the chatter's internet browser and what page they are using in our product. Users seem to be able to locate chat and use it without too many questions or instructions. It's affordable...,Image sharing is a must. Text breaks. Come on! This should go without saying that a chat program should allow for you to hit "shift return" to put a page break in your text. How are you supposed to send step by step directions? Olark has been very unreliable as of recent. Messages sending and receiving at an alarmingly delayed rate.,7,Since using a chat program we've been able to serve more customers Customers rave about out chat services! Gives customers a one click solution for reaching out for help,Zopim by Zendesk, Intercom and HappyFox Chat,Domo, Highfive, MandrillOlark gets it done.We practice all-hands support so Olark is currently being used by the entire team. We use it to talk to prospective customers and answer quick questions.,Telling us where customers are located Saving conversations Telling us the page customers came from,More than 1 team member cannot be signed on at a time I'd like to see a history of the pages customers visited,7,The ability to convert more customers The ability to immediately answer questions,
Unspecified
Olark
22 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Olark Reviews

Olark
22 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 22 vetted Olark reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Quinton Myers profile photo
February 15, 2018

User Review: "Olark, your household chat platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Olark was previously used as a chat widget our clients and end users would engage my support team for help desk related inquiries. Our sales team also uses olark as a chat widget on our homepage to engage potential new clients. The problems olark helps us address is allowing our client base to communicate to us via our CSM or homepage so we can answer any questions or concerns they may have.
  • Ability to chat via mobile web browsers.
  • Ease of implementation.
  • Their support is very courteous and eager to assist.
  • More options to edit the theme of the chat widget.
  • They lack a Mobile app for end users to chat with the individuals that reach out to them via chat.
  • Their Slack integration needs some work, or I need to make sure all of the settings are in place correctly.
Olark is well suited for an implementation. The ease of applying their SDK into your website takes minimal effort.

Also, you're able to observe which site your guest is viewing and a trail of sites they've visited prior to engaging the chat.

Their support is superb because they're always courteous and willing to help.
Read Quinton Myers's full review
Luke Ferrel profile photo
February 02, 2018

Review: "Olark - Cheap and simple. Don't get fancy though...."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Olark to manage our chat channel for technical support. Overall Olark is a very solid, no-frills application. We are able to limit chats at any given time, as well as integrate with our WFM provider. They don't have higher level capabilities (Chatbots, predictive chatting) but it works as needed
  • Reliable for the most part
  • Limit the number of chats
  • Integrate with outside platforms
  • Chatbots
  • Prediction of time to chat
Olar is perfect if you want to have a basic chat channel for incoming volume. If you want to do fancy advanced things I would go with another vendor. If you want something that allows users to click chat support on your website and have a rep support them, Olark is perfect!
Read Luke Ferrel's full review
No photo available
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Olark - A must have for your business!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Olark is mainly being used currently by our customer service team via the chat option on our company website. It is professional, very user friendly, whether you are the customer or the employee and the reporting features are great. We did not have to incorporate programming our site and reprogramming as we changed web providers, instead, we have Olark and it works with it all. So convenient and a program you can trust to offer an additional means of communication for the customers.
  • Olark is user friendly for both sides of the CHAT conversation. If you are initiating the chat, or the one receiving the chat, it is extremely easy to follow and use. There are many different levels of computer use comprehension and Olark is for every level.
  • Olark has reporting features to allow you to check the quality of your employees chat abilities as well as their productivity. It provides feedback for the employee themselves to also see how they are doing and take any suggestions the customer may leave for them regarding their chat experience.
  • Olark is very affordable and offers you the option, at a low cost, to look bigger and more professional that you even are. We were a smaller company and has the chat option with Olark and now have grown tremendously and STILL have the Olark chat option. Olark allowed us to grow and provide professionalism to our customers .
  • The Olark program allows you to set up quick responses to keep your customer from waiting, and to allow your employees to not have to retype the same response over and over. It is a great program that the employees really enjoy as well. It reminds you if you forgot to log out when you left your desk and provides your customer a quick note giving them the option to send the chat as an email inquiry instead, so you don't miss a thing.
  • I have not found anything that does not work the way we need it too with Olark in our organization. I was concerned that it would not be able to accommodate our tremendous and somewhat unexpected rapid growth because so many of the programs we have used early on were failing us, but Olark has done just fine. Better than fine, excellent.
If you want to have the option to chat on your company website and keep track of those chats, the customer's satisfaction, your employees' capabilities and the repetition of certain inquiries, Olark can truly help your business. We have 4 employees at any given time dedicated to our chat function during business hours. After hours if offers the option to send our customer service team an email with your question on your behalf. Everyone wins.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

User Review: "Olark is Okay..."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Olark is used in two instances for our team. One I can speak to more than the other. In the first instance, our sales teams use olark to answer prospective customers questions while they view a tour of our product.

My team (support) uses Olark to support our product via live chat. Chat allows us to serve more than one customer at a time and still gives the customer direct access to a real person at the click of a button!
  • Gives analytics of the chatter's internet browser and what page they are using in our product.
  • Users seem to be able to locate chat and use it without too many questions or instructions.
  • It's affordable...
  • Image sharing is a must.
  • Text breaks. Come on! This should go without saying that a chat program should allow for you to hit "shift return" to put a page break in your text. How are you supposed to send step by step directions?
  • Olark has been very unreliable as of recent. Messages sending and receiving at an alarmingly delayed rate.
Olark is suited well for those that want an affordable option for a live chat solution. Olark is really just "okay" and I'm 100% positive that we can find a better solution for our team's live chat needs. Olark still feels clunky by its limitations. If they were to give us a means by which we could use page breaks and share files with users, we'd be good to go!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2017

User Review: "Olark gets it done."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We practice all-hands support so Olark is currently being used by the entire team. We use it to talk to prospective customers and answer quick questions.
  • Telling us where customers are located
  • Saving conversations
  • Telling us the page customers came from
  • More than 1 team member cannot be signed on at a time
  • I'd like to see a history of the pages customers visited
Olark is great for large websites and giving customers the opportunity to ask quick questions about products
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2017

"Reviewing Noah's Olark - A Live Chat Tale"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as a live chat tool, olark has the ability to show service agents that a customer is typing and also has great searchability when digging through archives. [It's] Very easy to use and great for automated chats as well. [It's] Still fairly manual when customizing, so could use improvements there, but good for startups etc., searching for an easier-to-use product.
  • Live chat automation
  • Visual customization (holidays, etc.)
  • Easy integration
  • Still very manual when customizing
  • Web only shows 5 visitors on site
  • Searchability is limited (keyword)
Great for startups, lacking for an enormous volume of chats
Read this authenticated review
Blaire Kotsikopoulos profile photo
June 10, 2016

User Review: "Olark is great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Olark is used by the customer success team at TrackMaven for communicating with customers while they are in our application. We use it daily. It's reliable and integrates with our systems.
  • Easy to use for customers and staff
  • Affordable
  • Scalable
  • Nothing comes to mind!
Not a good tool to use on mobile. Needs an integration through another tool for that.
Read Blaire Kotsikopoulos's full review
Julieanne Faas profile photo
August 17, 2014

Olark Review: "Chat and your users will like you better."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Olark in my past two companies' customer service departments (which I managed) to interact with customers in real time.

Pros: Olark is very reliable, has many well thought out features and has very helpful customer service (via chat of course) when you need them. Its very customizable, intuitive and quick and easy to set up and maintain. Olark's features include - starting conversations when customers preform specific behaviors, storing transcripts, noticing when a customer is back for a 2nd visit, and acts as a "contact us" box when your chat agents are offline. You can have multiple employees on chat at the same time - though you do have to pay by user. They also integrate into a number of other platforms such as Salesforce, Desk.com and Zendesk. Though these integrations are rather limited.

Cons: I would love to see them get a bit stronger on analytics - they don't offer much in that department but you can include them in Google Analytics which gets you most of what you need to know. It'd be great if their integrations were a bit stronger (or if you could use more than one at a time). It can also be tricky to use if you have more than 15 employees that will be on chat.

All in all I highly recommend Olark and have enjoyed working with them over the past years!
  • Customizations - It's easy to get it to do what you want it to.
  • Intuitive features to get your customers to interact
  • Customer Service - they are there when you need 'em!
  • Nice clean design
  • Analytic - They don't give you much, but you can tie it into Google Analytics
  • Integrations are basic
  • Difficult to use with > 15 employees
Olark is well suited for companies that have a lot of customers coming to their website and want to be available to them in real time. It's designed for smaller companies and may not work for a very large corporation.
Read Julieanne Faas's full review
Lindsay Bytof profile photo
August 13, 2014

User Review: "Try Olark On a Lark"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Olark is primarily used in the customer service department of our company. Olark allows us to directly connect with and support our customers. As our website performs a variety of functions, we have a wide array of issues that arise that Olark allows us to resolve quickly and efficiently. There is nothing more frustrating for a customer than to want to use a tool, but unable to due to either lack of know how or technical difficulties. Additionally, as we are directly connected to the entertainment industry, much of what we do is extremely time sensitive. The immediacy of Olark allows to put out small fires quickly rather than wait for them to turn into full blown five alarm nightmares.
The screen share option has proven to be particularly helpful - especially with those clients who are not used to describing, in detail, the issue they're having - obviously compounded by frustration. The archives of all chats prove to be helpful as well when referencing past conversations for following up.
  • Screen share is an invaluable tool for offering that support to customers who are not completely computer savvy and require some special TLC.
  • Provides a user-friendly chat window - easy to read, and navigate.
  • Also, Olark customer service whenever I've had an Olark question proves very helpful.
  • Doesn't easily allow you to email a transcript of the chat you've had to a customer.
  • Copy and pasting of chat information is difficult.
  • Screen share sometimes does not work.
All of my current colleagues use Olark - within my department. If I met someone who was in the same line of work as me who was not currently using Olark - I would highly recommend it for customer service. It's much less taxing than answering live phone lines - but just as direct and immediate. Obviously, the thing I dislike about it most is all of the 11 year old children who decide it's a good idea to 'be an actor' and want advice without their parents' knowledge - that does take up a considerable fraction of our time that you would not encounter over the phone, but it also protects you from dealing directly with stressful customers.
Read Lindsay Bytof's full review
Allison Carlson profile photo
August 11, 2014

Olark Review: "I hope they've added a queue feature"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Olark in my role as Support Manager at Zozi back in 2012-2013. I liked the level of ease it brought to allowing our customers to contact my team for support, but I was really displeased with the lack of a queue - we often had 8-10 people chatting us at once, and with a super small team of only 3 support agents, this made it difficult to multi-task (we also offered phone support, and often had to juggle both at once).

Other than that, Olark was a comprehensive product with excellent user support. If they've implemented a queue feature, then more power to them! I'd certainly recommend them as an option if my current company ever decides to go the chat support route.
  • Ease of contact - customers don't have to call
  • Easy to understand - click and chat, anyone can understand that
  • Good support for users - if something goes wrong the Olark team is on it
  • Excellent chat logs
  • Queue for customers - instead of piling several customers on a chat agent at once, queue the users for singular service, which actually results in a BETTER overall customer experience
It's easy, it's inexpensive, and it integrates nicely into a website's UI. I think the biggest question to ask is whether or not a chat service is needed - though I am personally always pro chat, as I look for it as a consumer on any website. If I don't have to pick up the phone, I'm a happy camper.
Read Allison Carlson's full review
No photo available
August 09, 2014

Olark Review: "Do you want to personally interact with your customer base?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Olark has been specifically used by my organization as a tool to interact extensively with customers - answering questions about our website, services we offer, job opportunities, recruiting a larger customer base, and helping folks navigate our website. Olark is typically only used by a few individuals in the organization itself, although most office employees have a working knowledge of the program. As for business problems, Olark manages to provide instant gratification for those with internet access and burning questions or concerns.
  • The program itself entails an incredibly easy set up with user-friendly features. It is also possible for multiple Operators to speak with customers/visitors at once - this particular feature can be useful if there is a large surge in visitor traffic.
  • When logged into the LiveChat feature, Operators are able to see the visitor's location in the world, what pages they're looking at on your site, as well as previous pages browsed and lapsed time exploring your site.
  • Olark also offers a great deal of custom features - it's a bit difficult to explain thoroughly, but for example, one may choose to customize the site's chat feature by creating a pop-up chat widget, or a "click to chat" feature image.
  • Not really an area of improvement for Olark specifically, but I will offer that it is incredibly important to keep in mind your company's "shopping hours" or peak traffic times (there is a Reports feature on the software that allows you to analyze peak traffic times).
  • Transcript history can be a little tricky - if you're searching for a specific past conversation, sometimes you may get multiple search results and have to sift through them until you find exactly what you're looking for.
  • I'd also offer that you will occasionally come across folks that are on your site to cyberbully or say nonsensical things. While there isn't an absolute fullproof way to deal with this, Olark does offer a nice "block" feature to disregard any unwanted conversations.
I do believe that many customers enjoy the fact that using Olark's Live Chat feature is a way of (more or less) instantly gaining access or insight to questions and further information. In today's overtly connected world, for some individuals, it's much easier to log onto their desktop, laptop, or some other mobile device and seek the help they need - and it seems that many individuals would rather do this than dial a phone number. For example, if a customer asks a very difficult question to answer on the phone, there could possibly be that awkward silence on the other end while you struggle to answer their question or concern. However, with Olark's Live Chat, that lapsed time isn't necessarily an awkward silence, but instead allows you a bit of time to think and respond appropriately.

With regard to well-suited or less appropriate scenarios, I think the most important thing is to know your customer base and traffic flow to your specific site - what exactly do they prefer? What would they like to see in the future? What can you do to help them? How can you provide better customer service, and via what medium?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 11, 2014

Olark Review: "This Little Birdy Says..."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Olark to provide customer support to visitors on our website. It's a positive asset because it allows us to answer questions online rather than on the phone in our offices, and it occasionally will funnel customers directly toward someone that can walk them through the sales process. Some of our best leads come through Olark chats. We don't have specific departments here, but it is used for sales and customer support.
  • I think Olark does an excellent job of making an easy to use product that anyone can pick up in a matter of minutes.
  • Olark's overall site design and layout is clean, tasteful and playfully their own. It's easy to find exactly what you need.
  • This doesn't have much to do with the actual use of the product, but Olark has built an enduring brand that I find incredibly charming, relatable, and fun. I love their updates on their retreat and the way that they enthusiastically talk about their identity.
  • I hate the fact that I can't create the username I want. Olark only has one server and I have a common name. I'm the only Jacob in our office, but because Olark has one central server, I have to be Jacob10 because one of their other clients has that username.
  • I wish I could see more information about previous conversations with returning customers. Simply saying "this is a returning customer" doesn't do me much good.
I think this is well suited for companies that sell products online or are involved in technology and need to offer technical support. I don't think this is best for high touch industries where customers are onsite a lot, but its perfect to help customers make purchases and offer occasional support.
Read this authenticated review

About Olark

Olark is a website live chat tool for engaging website visitors while they browse. It can be used to to track leads, drive sales, provide support.
Categories:  Live Chat

Olark Integrations

Olark Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No