Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Olo

Olo

Overview

What is Olo?

Olo in New York provides an on-demand interface for the restaurant industry, designed to drive digital ordering and delivery for restaurant brands.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Olo has become a valuable tool for restaurant brands, offering seamless online ordering and payment options. Users have praised Olo for …
Continue reading

OLO review.

8 out of 10
December 08, 2022
Incentivized
We use OLO to accept and manage online orders for our restaurants. The only issue I have with OLO is the credit card chargebacks. We have …
Continue reading

Olo for the win!

10 out of 10
December 01, 2022
Incentivized
Olo assists me in daily averages, sales, and processing refunds for guests which can become complex if they have not ordered through our …
Continue reading

Olo for the win!

8 out of 10
December 01, 2022
Incentivized
Olo is used as the platform for our online orders including 3rd party orders. It allows us to increase sales through online ordering.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Olo?

Olo in New York provides an on-demand interface for the restaurant industry, designed to drive digital ordering and delivery for restaurant brands.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

27 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is ChowNow?

ChowNow in Playa Vista provides branded online ordering systems for independent restaurants across the US — via restaurants’ own websites, on Facebook and Google pages.

What is Square POS?

Square POS is a point-of-sale software solution with features such as accept credit cards with your iPhone, Android, and iPad along with the flexibility to accept credit card payments anywhere, from Square headquartered in San Francisco, California.

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Olo?

2M+ orders per day run on Olo’s enterprise SaaS engine, enabling brands to maximize the convergence of digital and brick-and-mortar operations by capturing demand and managing guest orders from every channel. With integrations to 100+ technology partners, Olo boasts a large and flexible restaurant commerce ecosystem where brands can build a digital experience. The vendor states that currently over 500 restaurant brands use Olo to grow digital sales, become more profitable, and preserve direct guest relationships.

Olo Features

  • Supported: Food Delivery Management
  • Supported: Restaurant Payment Solution (Olo Pay)
  • Supported: Online Ordering

Olo Screenshots

Screenshot of Sweetgreen Online Pick UpScreenshot of Online OrderingScreenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Olo Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesUnited States of America, Canada
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Olo in New York provides an on-demand interface for the restaurant industry, designed to drive digital ordering and delivery for restaurant brands.

ChowNow, Toast Point of Sale, and Aloha Cloud are common alternatives for Olo.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.4.

The most common users of Olo are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(60)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Olo has become a valuable tool for restaurant brands, offering seamless online ordering and payment options. Users have praised Olo for its ease of use and ability to enhance the customer experience by providing timely pick-up options. The Olo Dashboard allows operators to manage all online ordering channels through one merchant portal, streamlining the order-taking process. With Olo Tablet and Expo software, operators can conveniently integrate their own point-of-sale systems, eliminating the need for separate tablets for each third-party delivery service. Furthermore, Olo's integration with third-party delivery companies bridges the gap and simplifies order acceptance and communication with merchants.

Olo also serves as an effective solution for managing orders across multiple locations, enabling order tracking, early firing of orders, refunds, and order throttling. For restaurant franchises, Olo Daily is an invaluable tool for tracking sales and ensuring operational accuracy across various units. Users have found Olo Rails to be a time-saving feature that seamlessly integrates third-party delivery platforms into the point-of-sale system, improving efficiency and accuracy. Additionally, Olo Pay simplifies payment processing for first-party orders and facilitates tasks like refunds.

The versatility of Olo extends beyond traditional online ordering; it also caters to additional needs such as mealtime ordering, catering services, and mobile teams. Users have found Olo Dispatch to be particularly useful in providing delivery options for customers while facilitating order tracking. Whether it's managing menus, implementing integrated concept kitchens, or troubleshooting any issues that may arise, Olo has established itself as a reliable platform for streamlining operations and enhancing sales in the fast-paced restaurant industry.

However, some users have encountered occasional disconnections and have expressed dissatisfaction with the user-friendliness of troubleshooting emails from Olo. There have been limitations noted in transferring orders to other locations within the same area. Some users have also reported issues with credit card chargebacks and concerns regarding Olo's security measures in detecting fraudulent activity. Nevertheless, overall, Olo has garnered favor among restaurant brands and operators for its ability to consolidate online ordering, simplify payment processes, and provide valuable insights into customer behavior.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 36)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Olo to integrate our third-party delivery services for takeout. Olo is used to integrate Aloha, our POS system, Uber, DoorDash, Postmates and GrubHub for Online Ordering. Olo also helps us manage how many orders we can accept based on the number of items ordered as well as allow us to communicate with our third-party delivery merchants on items that are unavailable.
  • Order Throttling
  • Availability of products
  • Managing Store Hours
  • How to adjust order throttling
  • Accessing the customer dashboard when inputting new orders
  • Cleaning up the customer database (multiple customer profile with the same information)
Great for organizing online ordering and working with third-party merchants i.e. delivery service
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Olo is the software that facilitates our 1st party online ordering for both pickup and delivery, as well as our 3rd party order integration so we can receive our 3rd party orders directly to our POS.
  • Reliable system.
  • Great reporting.
  • Willingness to listen to customer feedback.
  • Onboarding process can be complicated and time consuming.
  • There are infrequent API issues with the 3rd party DSPs.
  • Building out a group ordering and catering platform for non full service restaurants.
If you are a very small operator, it might be best to use another software/hardware combination solution.
December 08, 2022

the best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use olo for our online orders and to have them all in one place. love how easy to use it is.
  • All in one place/ easy to use
  • send email notifcations on changes to orders
  • sends changes when online is not working.
  • turn of easier
  • let us know big orders earlier
  • Change synic system better.
Olo has been consistent and has out performed the other companies.
December 08, 2022

Constructive Feedback.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used OLO to manage all of our online and third-party orders. One of the problems we have is that we are unable to transfer orders to another Bibibop in our area when customers place their orders in the wrong location.
  • Olo handles e-mails really well when we need some support for a technical issue.
  • Easy to locate orders for a customer.
  • Olo is good when requesting a new delivery.
  • Transfer orders from store to store.
  • Modify existing orders and send to POS again with the correct order.
  • Process refunds with third party deliveries.
OLO is very accessible for any team member, even if they don't have much experience with computers.
December 08, 2022

OLO review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use OLO to accept and manage online orders for our restaurants. The only issue I have with OLO is the credit card chargebacks. We have multiple chargebacks, and OLO security does not do a very good job of stopping users from using multiple cards even when they are using the same name, address, and or phone number that has been flagged as fraudulent by us.
  • Throttling.
  • Sending tickets to the kitchen.
  • Website is easy to navigate.
  • Fraudulent credit card usage.
  • Throttling is difficult for some to understand.
  • 86ing items can be a little difficult to navigate.
OLO is excellent at sending orders to the restaurant and Good at keeping information on orders Website is rarely down OLO is not very good at preventing fraudulent credit card usage.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Olo is used daily to track online orders for all providers including third party orders.
  • Refund capabilities
  • Order look up capabilities
  • Amount of order history stored
  • Inability to remove items from platform while setting a duration for the removal of said items.
  • Lack of notification for larger orders being placed prior to print time.
Olo is a great tool in the restaurant field to track ordering proving refunds and submit complaints for 3rd party or dispatch issues in one simply platform. There are a few things which I mentioned previously that I feel would significantly improve the functionality and versatility of this tool.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Olo as the nexus of all of our digital ordering across native and third-party platforms. Olo allows us to manage all external ordering contacts under a single plane of glass and allows us to push out changes such as menu changes, hour changes, and location availability to all platforms. It also allows us to manage multiple locations in one shot. Olo Pay allows us to also integrate the payment processing aspect of our first-party orders into the same platform making things like refunds even easier.
  • Location management
  • Services management
  • Menu management
  • User management could be better
  • Menu management works but isn't easy
  • Reporting is antiquated but data is available
After using a previous integrator, I can safely say I would recommend Olo above the competition. Olo successfully consolidates all platforms for order ingestion thus simplifying the entire process of digital ordering. Trying to do it any other way would simply be foolish. The technology works and there is a great support structure behind the scenes to make sure that if there are any questions, feature requests, or advancements that they get added to the development queue.
December 01, 2022

Olo for the win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Olo assists me in daily averages, sales, and processing refunds for guests which can become complex if they have not ordered through our online service. Olo provide assistance with being able to process a refund outside of that. I typically use Olo daily and all day long. It provides insight into aspects of guests that I wouldn’t typically have which I find fascinating. Olo has become one of my favorite things to look forward to when resolving an issue.
  • Provides information in a simplistic and non confusing way
  • Never has any issues or is “down”
  • Phenomenal customer support for any issues you do encounter
  • Just a personal preference but the color scheme could be better
Olo always is easy to access, has a wide range of information you can use to find the answer to your question. The delivery of the answer is always simple and easy to read. No complaints here. Great job!!
December 01, 2022

Olo for the win!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Olo is used as the platform for our online orders including 3rd party orders. It allows us to increase sales through online ordering.
  • Streamlines orders
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to manage from the back end
  • Some descriptions (ie: "rails") don't always make sense. Use of simpler, more detailed descriptors would be good.
  • More visibility into data on the front end
Olo allows us to incrementally increase sales during slow hours and slow seasons of the year. I think it's well suited for integrating with 3rd party delivery companies, which every restaurant should be doing.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We work primarily with Olo using the platform for online delivery, pickup, curbside and catering orders. I primarily work with the menus and implementation of integrated concept kitchens and their interaction with the POS systems at the locations. I maintain and troubleshoot when there are issues with menus and pricing discrepancies as well as maintain user access.
  • Provides good customer service through both the account managers and their support desk
  • Provides a great online platform and payment interface
  • Always innovating and adding new features
  • Open to new feature requests that expand the functionality of their platform
  • Multi channel control of users of associated company concepts. The ability to quickly add a user to multiple separate company channels.
  • Ability to edit pending future orders for date/time/notes
  • More detailed explanations of each function under the "roles" created for users in user management.
This is the primary tool we use for both our restaurants mealtime and catering channels as well as our (up to 6) virtual integrations. Olo fills the role as intended but as we are exploring new functionality on an ongoing we have found some limitations such as in the diagnostics like basket testing and mismatch reports that either don't explain fully the errors or produce false error reporting. The brand mismatch report does not have a good way to see refreshed results after making corrections.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For our restaurants, Olo is used as our online ordering platform for our guests to place online orders for pickup orders and caterings. Now that it is integrated with our POS system, it makes things much easier for our guests to place their orders, have them pre-paid, and also already accounted for in our sales.
  • Olo makes the guest experience easy and understandable while placing their orders. They can easily customize their order, modifying each item to their liking using the guidelines we at our restaurant have given.
  • If there are issues with our equipment, Olo is quick to respond and get us back online.
  • Maybe having an option to provide sticky printer paper to our busy restaurant managers on an autoship basis.
Olo has helped alleviate some stress in our restaurants in a couple of ways. Specifically, in the past there were times when customers would call to place orders over the phone and keep our crew members on the phone for several minutes at a time, especially for larger orders. With Olo, these orders are now placed directly online and printed right in store for us, clearly on individual label slips. In other cases, a customer might come into the store placing the order in line for many items, holding up the line, when the same customer can now easily use Olo and have the order ready to pick up when they come in and the guests in line were not affected.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I oversee OLO on its entirety. From Menu to integrations, to new additions and updates.
For us, is more of updated on issues OLO needs to resolve, even thought they are few of these issues there is urgency on our end especially from the POS communication to OLO.
  • Communication
  • Account Manager response
  • Helpdesk response
  • Menu management
  • development team
  • Dispatch
  • Menu filtering
  • Menu recognition
  • Menu filtering by virtual and B&M locations
They are one of the top leaders for this industry, they will find a way to stay up to date with the demands.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to taking orders from guests. It gives us a centralized system to combine all orders from all different carriers into one page. Some problems we have encountered are when it disconnects for its own reason. Also, the emails sent to us from OLO are not user-reader friendly. It is hard to figure out the problem from the email.
  • Connection
  • Speed
  • Accuracy
  • If we need to adjust the subtotal, it would be nice to have the option to subtract or remove an item from the subtotal and not manually insert a price. Sometimes guests just want a refund for a single item.
OLO is suited for fast pace high volume establishments. It makes it easier for all orders to go in one place versus having multiple tablets open and ringing in the background. However, if it’s a slower establishment with no that many orders, it may not be beneficial to use OLO.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I own a restaurant and decided to try a Virtual Kitchen concept. The concept sent me a tablet with olo on it to use. We use it to get orders. The only problem is that I believe the company that does the Virtual Concept has limited our access to all of olo's service. In my experience, I can't change hours, menu, prices. I am aware of this and it has not effected my rating of Olo. The reason I only gave Olo a 6 is just trying to close my restaurant if there's an emergency is way to hard. Why can we not just do it on the tablet? Why does the tablet constantly need to be rebooted? Why does the tablet not update 100% of the time. Why will the tablet not stay on after and hour or so even though I allowed Olo permissions and control over turning the tablet on / off or putting it into sleep. Olo needs work. Olo needs a lot of work and is going to be left behind while all these POS companies start integrating online services. Do better or you will not be around in the future.
  • Shows orders
  • Prints to a wide range of printers
  • Even prints to the cheap cheap printers
  • Better controls on the tablet for temporary shutdowns
  • Allow more menu control
  • Don't allow Virtual Dining Concepts to limit their users on your program.
With so many POS integrating online ordering platforms, in my opinion, Olo is a dying technology. Why would I recommend a tablet and a program? I would recommend a full POS solution. This is what I'm looking into. So Olo, your move. Time to work on your POS Solution.
November 30, 2022

OLO is my favorite!

Pam Goldsmith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use OLO for support for our Charleys.com site. Also for integrating DoorDash, UberEats, Grubhub, etc directly into the POS to save time and improve accuracy.
  • Integrate 3rd party platforms into POS
  • set up our store on Charleys.com
  • hard to set up rails
  • hard to set store hours
  • lead time to set up new stores keeps getting longer
  • I would like them to make it so after a store is set up to our specifications, it can be used as a template. They keep missing stuff when setting up new stores.
Love the integration of other 3rd party platforms.
Josh Patton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
OlO is great with online takeout and delivery and reduces phone orders seamlessly integrated into our POS. It's easy to use and works flawlessly.
  • POS Integrtaion
  • 3rd Party Delivery Integration
  • Ease of use back end
  • Multiple split payments for group orders
  • Getting brand admins to utilize more of their features
  • Accounting for third party more easy to understand how fees and such go through
Best in class
Ryan Swallow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Olo to route pick-up and delivery orders to 15 locations. It allows us to track orders, fire orders early, issue refunds, throttle the speed orders come in, and turn off Olo orders when staffing or other restrictions require it.
  • Routes orders efficiently.
  • Has great tools to search for past orders.
  • Routes orders to 3rd party delivery.
  • Easy refund options.
  • I'd love an app for my phone that works as well as the browser version.
Olo is perfect for our company. We do 75% of our business online, and it's a great tool for that.
September 09, 2022

Olo is A-OK

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Olo to manage menus and restaurant information such as store hours for our on-line guest.
  • Monitoring open orders
  • Rails Analytics
  • Managing Dispatch settings
  • Tracking on=line sales in real time
  • Order ID Search
  • Send a e-mail of disabled stores as a reminder to check on status
  • Send an e-mail of 86d product in a particular location to check on status
  • Send an email if a location isn't able to receive orders
Olo is very user friendly and if there is something you need help navigating they have interactive guidance to help you in real time. Using the features are easy and seeing everything happen seamlessly is a plus.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
To managers are caterings and online orders. Problems are when we have to enter orders as a guest instead of store level. Tax-exempt, we have to enter, and it would be nice if the guest could enter instead. Also, they can't pay for it until they come to the restaurant.
  • It details very well the items guests are ordering.
  • Easy to add items.
  • Good transfer from olo to our pos system.
  • Very user friendly.
  • Tax exempt at order level and be able to pay for.
  • When the guest call to place an Olo order the manager should be able to place one as a manager. Have to go through more steps than necessary and have to add a lot of info.
Well suited- is very detailed and completely less appropriate is tax-exempt and the manager needs to put in all this.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Olo to manage our Online Ordering platform. It seamlessly allows guests to place and pay for online orders and automatically sends those orders to be made in a specific amount of time. It solves the issue of many guests placing orders via phone and being able to pay before arriving at the restaurant.
  • Very fast at receiving and orders.
  • Allows for easy refunds for guest transactions.
  • Allows us to turn on and off certain items if need be.
  • Menu editing is a little tedious.
  • Not allowing to set time limits according to the flow of the restaurant.
Olo is well suited as a platform to manage online orders. It is great because it gives us time back to make sure the orders are properly done rather than taking the orders over the phone and having to receive payment at the restaurant. It does have its downfall when the times do not sync with the flow of the restaurant.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
OLO is used as our Online Ordering provider and integrated into Third Party delivery companies. It helps bridge the gap that previously we were unable to fill. We have also been partners with OLO For a very long time.
  • Integrations.
  • Ease of Use.
  • Innovation.
  • Account Build-out time.
  • N/a
OLO Is great for companies that need an easy way to channel online orders into one centralized place. If a company uses several third-party delivery companies, with each tablet on its counter, OLO helps cut down on the clutter and allows everything to flow through the POS properly. OLO has served us well since we started.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It tells me the incoming phone number and customers' names if returning customers it lets me place orders for customers and is very easy to understand and learn; nothing hard about it at all. I personally really enjoy it.
  • places orders
  • give accurate infor
  • easy to navigate
  • i am happy with it
  • Its easy to learn
Olo provides us with placing orders for customers. And helps us to ensure accuracy in placing orders for customer and for the restaurant; it lets us know the location and give the phone number of the caller and then lets us place the order for the customer and the locations.
August 25, 2022

Easy Breezy.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use OLO to capture Online catering sales. It helps manage day-to-day catering orders.
  • Maximize ordering.
  • Takes the need of answering phone calls.
  • No need to store credit card info internally.
  • Moving orders from location to location.
  • Maps of customer base.
  • Customer reporting i.e Lapse reports.
OLO is great for all catering orders except tax-free orders. We have to use Quickbooks for those.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
At LFR Chicken LLC, we utilize Olo as our middleware for mobile apps with loyalty and online ordering solution for delivery service providers. I find it helpful to manage all online ordering channels directly through one merchant portal on Olo Dashboard. Our brand has a disjointed POS system, with only about 50 percent of our stores on the same integrated POS system. However, the Olo Tablet and Expo software have been handy for operators still using their own POS.
  • Customer Service
  • New product development and promotion
  • Decision making based on empirical data
  • Customer surveys
  • Communication between departments
  • Follow-up on Google Ordering
  • Better connection and communication between third party vendors
QSR or fast-casual restaurants with stores in different regions using the same or several POS systems.
Return to navigation