TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/vx/em/AIVFKUI9PUPE.JPEGAll On on the On Products!St. John's School uses Blackbaud's K-12 On solutions campus-wide to communicate better with our constituents, manage our data better, and do our jobs more efficiently. From our teachers using their course pages as teaching and learning tools with their students to the Admissions Office effectively managing prospective student data, the On products have become critical for our success as a school.,750+,The On products are integrated, which allows data to flow from different areas to empower uses to do their jobs better. For example, attendance data flows in to a teacher's gradebook so they know when a student was absent when an assignment was due. Blackbaud works hard to make sure the On products do what schools need it to do and they listen to school to make the products better. The new gradebook reflect ideas from teachers that have made the gradebook a more powerful tool for teachers to use. The On products are a distributed system that allows us to give constituents access to the areas they need to use. Families are in charge of keeping their contact information accurate in their profile while teachers keep their assignments up-to-date. Different departments own their area and in charge of making sure the information is accurate and up-to-date. Blackbaud encourages schools to help each other out, make suggestions, and work with each other and Blackbaud to make sure all schools are using the system to its fullest. The Blackbaud K12 Users Conference is a great place to learn from other schools and share how you use the products.,Blackbaud needs to enhance the marketing piece of the website where you can track users and provide an ever growing level of communication. Regular communications is good but tracking visits and engagement on the website could be improved. While the integration with SmartTuition is getting better, it still needs to be improved where information flows more seamlessly between the 2 packages. onBoard needs to allow a "common app" solution where prospective families can submit their applications to more than one school at a time.,10,We do a better job of communicating with our constituents in a variety of ways in the time that they want the information. Between texts, emails, logging in to the website, etc., constituents can choose how they want information delivered to them in their timing. We are more efficient because all of the On products are integrated. Data flows where it needs to when it needs to get there so people can do their jobs. We have limited redundant data entry and rely on data owners to manage and collect all necessary data. Teachers have a teaching platform with a variety of curricular tools at their fingertips. From online assessments and topical organization of resources to an integration with Google, learning can happen both in and outside the classroom.,Operational efficiency Advanced automation Improved insights Improved internal and external communications Increased scalability due to cloud deployment A connected school solution,We use ConnectRE to shuttle data from the On products to RE/RE NXT. We ask all of our constituents to keep their online profiles up-to-date and ConnectRE allows us to then update that information in RE. This has made a huge difference in the accuracy of our data in both databases and thus had made an impact in the effectiveness of our Advancement campaigns.,8,The Blackbaud Partner Network has allowed us to extend our functionality and communication in to areas that the On products don't support. From pickAtime for parent conference sign-up to Blackboard Connect for emergency dialing and Magnus for health record tracking, we have extended our functionality while making it seamless to our parents.,8,9,9,9,1800,10,The On Solutions allow us to coordinate and manage all constituent data and effectively communicate and share appropriate information with them. Effectively managing the Admission process. Allowing teachers to effectively communicate with the classes as well as share pertinent class room data (homework, media, attachments, etc.).On Products reviewWe use the "on" products as a (somewhat) all-in-one web and database solution for the school. Currently we're using the full functionality of onMessage for our front end site, onRecord as the SIS, onBoard for Admissions, but are not using the full functionality of onCampus. We are still using Haiku as our LMS, and though we intend to explore fully using onCampus—i doubt we'll make the switch as it's user interface for teachers (i.e. posting assignments, classroom, etc) is not as streamlined. Also unable to use the Raiser's Edge sync tool (Connect RE) to streamline workflow as planned prior to purchase.,High level of customization (from the user's end) for onMessage pages Nice user interface for several parts of the "back-end"/ portals The chat help function is convenient School forms (for online permission slips) - really awesome, and were a huge hit with parents. Except there is no way to organize prior years' forms, so I think they will be less than thrilled this year.,"Thinking through" features seems to be a problem, so most of them feel somewhat "incomplete." For example: School Forms are great, but without the ability to organize the dozens of prior years' permission forms for parents (i.e., re-order, or hide, or even change button color) the feature is going to go from great to terrible pretty quickly for parents. Same with SmartTuition integration, or the ConnectRE tool (which is perfect for maybe 40% of scenarios and requires manual exceptions for the rest,) Adding News is annoying (no WYSIWYG option for Header styles; can't enlarge the dialog box). Photo galleries are a problem when it comes to the responsive design. (No "lightbox" viewer, so any portrait images not only stretch to fill left to right, but also push content way down the page.) Navigation on the mobile display is ok, but requires an extra tap to get to a certain page. (i.e. Tap Admissions, then have to tap Admissions again, and then you see L2) I could go on about things that look/work great at first glance but still end up causing a headache. Still, by and large, the benefits are mostly worth the annoyances, though everything takes longer on my end to find workable solutions—including changing our own work practices to fit the website/database's demands. The fact that the online event registration function isn't responsive is just plain ridiculous. I'd love to see more ability to integrate, or even SSO, with other 3rd party solutions.,7,Unsure. Time savings for integration may be offset by time spent in other areas.,Operational efficiency Advanced automation Improved internal and external communications Increased scalability due to cloud deployment A connected school solution,Have not enabled integration (ConnectRE tool); we'd have to make too many manual exceptions to ensure correct data given our record structures vs. how the ConnectRE automates.,7,6,5,5,7Blackbaud K-12 for life!Our school uses ON for our internal and external audience. Our public website is managed on the back end by OnMessage, and our internal community logs in and uses the ON products to access password protected information.,750+,Support is fantastic; I love the chat feature and how every time I have an issue someone is there to help me. If they can't help me right away, they always research my issue and get back to me promptly. One of Blackbaud's greatest strengths is that they listen to their clients. Their regular updates and software changes are a direct result of client feedback. It makes us feel as if we are heard. Blackbaud makes a great effort to make sure their software is reliable and easy to use.,Some items of how the software works don't seem intuitive to me. For example, when a parent looks up a student in the online directory, only the parents names' appear, not the students. It would be nice if some of the features of the back-end software had more flexibility. Some areas of the back end are still on the old platform, Podium, and those need to be updated.,10,We have eliminated the need for one of our databases on campus with the use of Blackbaud's SIS. The savings are huge.,Operational efficiency Advanced automation A connected school solution,We have not implemented integrations with RE yet. We hope to one day.,9,9,9,9Heritage Hall loves Blackbaud!The ON products are used by all constituents in all departments across campus except in the Business Office and Development Office: We use onCampus, onRecord, onMessage, and onBoard for the usual uses. We also use ConnectRE to send the data from Core to Raiser's Edge and eventually to Student Billing in Financial Edge through the Integration. Our booster clubs use Community groups to communicate information regarding activities and eventsWe are about to launch an "Alumni" portal so that alumni can log in to view resources, sign up for events, and share relevant alumni informationThe ON products have solved the problem of inconsistent and inefficient data entry. We used to enter demographic information for students and families in 6 different software databases from 5 different vendors. Now, all of our demographic information can be entered once, ensuring accuracy, and our constituents can log in directly to update their own information. As a result, our staff can focus more on best practices instead of rote data entry. Furthermore, with all of our school functions housed under a single, cohesive platform, I am able to provide better support for all departments across campus.,750+,The Student and Parent personas provide a unified and organized way to share class content (Bulletin Boards and Topics), grades, assignments, attendance and conduct information in a single system. The system is user-friendly and easy to navigate. (Before, students had to log into FinalSite to see teacher pages and log into PowerSchool to see assignment grades and attendance.) Students LOVE the assignment center. The assignment center puts all assignment information from multiple classes and teachers on a single page. The status buttons empower students to track their own progress and take ownership of their work and time management. Because Assignment flags in the gradebook are visible to students in the Assignment Center, students receive timely feedback about their performance. In onCampus groups, Bulletin Board and Topic pages are user-friendly and easy to adjust, edit, and manage. The organization of courses in Core and onCampus allow us to adjust section offerings and apperance in report and transcript forms. At the same time, it prevents erroneous changes of fields that affect credit accumulation and GPA calculations. It also makes setup for Online Signup a breeze. In onBoard, we appreciate the ability to adjust Checklist forms, even for existing candidates. The capacity for admission staff to see greater detail than the families ensures confidentiality, but it has been immensely helpful for parents view the student checklist. They are able to track their progress toward completion of the admission process. We saw a significant rise in percentage of families who completed the process upon implementation of onBoard. Our onMessage website is MUCH faster than our FinalSite website was. I imagine that can be attributed to the content organization scheme under the Content menu in onMessage, reducing the weight of our online media. Since the ON products are hosted by Blackbaud, we can manage anything and everything away from campus at any time.,We are missing a way to log community service hours completed by our students. This is a graduation requirement, but right now we have to track these using a series of hundreds of Google spreadsheets. (We voted on an enhancement request on the Ideas board.) We would like to see enhanced formatting options in report card and transcript forms. In the onBoard enrollment contracts, we need a way for parents to indicate their payment method (without paying $50/student for Smart Tuition.) If parents wish to pay by EFT, we need to be able to collect bank information. We also need a way to display images on the contract (like a tuition loan repayment schedule) and preserve formatting of text when we print the contract PDF. Right now, images disappear and text (outside of the policies block) are jumbled. We would like to see improvements in Admission reporting. The KPI board shows numbers of contracts issued vs. returned, but doesn't show a number of contracts that are outstanding vs. not returning. We would also like to be able to quickly see attrition, re-enrollment, and new enrollment in a single list with names. Our advisors have requested a report of student grades in each of their classes so they don't have to navigate to each student's Progress tab, which doesn't print in clean format.,10,We have saved money by consolidating our software needs under a single vendor. We have saved time by efficient data flow and we have an expanded capacity to focus on how and why we are doing things. Our implementation process was not well planned or supported by administration above me, so many administrative users were burned by growing pains and by failure to understand the software initially. If they had done the recommended training and prioritized the implementation, there wouldn't have been as many problems. However, they place the blame on Blackbaud, claiming overpromise and under-delivery.,Operational efficiency Advanced automation Improved internal and external communications Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment Increased scalability due to cloud deployment A connected school solution,10,We came very close to adopting Smart Tuition, but we ultimately decided not to adopt it (yet) because of the number of complaints we heard in the community of poor communication regarding balances, due dates, and erroneous late fees. Plus, $50/student for a school with 900 students is a huge cost. However, the software sounds hugely beneficial for efficiency in our student billing office. We use Blackboard Connect for our emergency alerts. They're great! It's generally not cost-effective to turn to third parties to accomplish tasks; plus that defeats our goal of maximizing efficiency.,9,10,9,8Blackbaud "ON" - a GREAT solution for your schoolOur school uses Blackbaud K-12 "ON" across the organization. We use "ON" for our website, email communications, teacher websites, grading, registrar, scheduling, School Information System (SIS), Admissions, and we integrate with Smart Tuition for student billing. It has been wonderful for our teachers, who find the platform easier than FAWeb for grading. Our parents and students log into the school website far more frequently than they did before because the site is user-friendly and contains valuable information (upcoming assignments, easy access to grades, upcoming events, robust calendar). Student billing and collections, which used take up a lot of time for one of our employees, is now a non-issue, freeing that employee to do different things. We use less paper than we used to. We communicate better with our families.,300-499,Presentation of information: the website is nicely structured to display pertinent information to the user, based on the user type. For instance, it is easy for parents to see information pertaining to their student(s) and access resource specific to parents. Students have a different default view, showing their classes, grades, and easy access to their schedule. Faculty gets yet another view, with their daily schedule and easy access to attendance and grading system. The messaging system has revolutionized the way faculty communicates with students. Before, faculty would email students, but students were not checking emails regularly. Now, they send messages through the website messaging system. Since students are logging into the site so frequently, they see those messages more quickly than they would see emails. The forms system is great. Instead of sending paper forms to parents (e.g., re-enrollment contract, updated student health history, permission for field trips, permission for social media inclusion, bus rider signup, etc.), we now push online forms to the parents. All input is captured in the system. The systems auto-reminds parents who have not yet filled out the forms. This saves paper and a lot of employee time.,Grading review could be better. It's not as user-friendly as we would like for division heads to review grades and comments submitted by faculty. Also, when writing comments, teachers would like to be able to see comments written in prior quarters. Report card formatting is limited. We would love more flexibility in formatting. Online assessments could be better. For instance, math teachers would like to be able to include math formulae.,10,We have definitely seem time savings for employees. Student Billing is now handled by the system instead of an employee. Forms management is handled by the system - no need to manually remind parents to fill out forms. Communicating with students is vastly improved. We can send a message and feel pretty confident the student will read it. In the past, we had to physically deliver messages to students, or set up Remind to contact them via cell phone.,A connected school solution,7,I do not know what this means.,,7,8,10
Unspecified
Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions
56 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Reviews

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions
56 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 56 vetted Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 25)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 19, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "All On on the On Products!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
St. John's School uses Blackbaud's K-12 On solutions campus-wide to communicate better with our constituents, manage our data better, and do our jobs more efficiently. From our teachers using their course pages as teaching and learning tools with their students to the Admissions Office effectively managing prospective student data, the On products have become critical for our success as a school.
  • The On products are integrated, which allows data to flow from different areas to empower uses to do their jobs better. For example, attendance data flows in to a teacher's gradebook so they know when a student was absent when an assignment was due.
  • Blackbaud works hard to make sure the On products do what schools need it to do and they listen to school to make the products better. The new gradebook reflect ideas from teachers that have made the gradebook a more powerful tool for teachers to use.
  • The On products are a distributed system that allows us to give constituents access to the areas they need to use. Families are in charge of keeping their contact information accurate in their profile while teachers keep their assignments up-to-date. Different departments own their area and in charge of making sure the information is accurate and up-to-date.
  • Blackbaud encourages schools to help each other out, make suggestions, and work with each other and Blackbaud to make sure all schools are using the system to its fullest. The Blackbaud K12 Users Conference is a great place to learn from other schools and share how you use the products.
  • Blackbaud needs to enhance the marketing piece of the website where you can track users and provide an ever growing level of communication. Regular communications is good but tracking visits and engagement on the website could be improved.
  • While the integration with SmartTuition is getting better, it still needs to be improved where information flows more seamlessly between the 2 packages.
  • onBoard needs to allow a "common app" solution where prospective families can submit their applications to more than one school at a time.
The ON products are tailored for schools where information needs to be shared between different areas and where communication with a wide variety of constituents with different levels of communication is important. It also works well with both big and small schools. Where it won't work as well is where it is on piece of a multi-database environment. Under those situations, the information flow will be broken and the power of a distributed and connected system will be negated.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We were previously a WhippleHill customer and at every step of this journey, we've felt like all of our outcomes have been met. With every new release and upgrade, we find we are doing things more efficiently, communicating better, using our data to make better decisions, and are an overall better school.
Read Jeff Ritter's full review
June 19, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions: "On Products review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the "on" products as a (somewhat) all-in-one web and database solution for the school. Currently we're using the full functionality of onMessage for our front end site, onRecord as the SIS, onBoard for Admissions, but are not using the full functionality of onCampus. We are still using Haiku as our LMS, and though we intend to explore fully using onCampus—i doubt we'll make the switch as it's user interface for teachers (i.e. posting assignments, classroom, etc) is not as streamlined. Also unable to use the Raiser's Edge sync tool (Connect RE) to streamline workflow as planned prior to purchase.
  • High level of customization (from the user's end) for onMessage pages
  • Nice user interface for several parts of the "back-end"/ portals
  • The chat help function is convenient
  • School forms (for online permission slips) - really awesome, and were a huge hit with parents. Except there is no way to organize prior years' forms, so I think they will be less than thrilled this year.
  • "Thinking through" features seems to be a problem, so most of them feel somewhat "incomplete." For example: School Forms are great, but without the ability to organize the dozens of prior years' permission forms for parents (i.e., re-order, or hide, or even change button color) the feature is going to go from great to terrible pretty quickly for parents. Same with SmartTuition integration, or the ConnectRE tool (which is perfect for maybe 40% of scenarios and requires manual exceptions for the rest,) Adding News is annoying (no WYSIWYG option for Header styles; can't enlarge the dialog box). Photo galleries are a problem when it comes to the responsive design. (No "lightbox" viewer, so any portrait images not only stretch to fill left to right, but also push content way down the page.) Navigation on the mobile display is ok, but requires an extra tap to get to a certain page. (i.e. Tap Admissions, then have to tap Admissions again, and then you see L2) I could go on about things that look/work great at first glance but still end up causing a headache. Still, by and large, the benefits are mostly worth the annoyances, though everything takes longer on my end to find workable solutions—including changing our own work practices to fit the website/database's demands.
  • The fact that the online event registration function isn't responsive is just plain ridiculous.
  • I'd love to see more ability to integrate, or even SSO, with other 3rd party solutions.
Workable when you have staff that can spend dedicated time with the products; troubleshooting, updating, managing, helping users, and finding creative work arounds.

Difficult to implement fully for the (natural) competing priorities of a school—i.e., should we use the onCampus LMS since there are benefit to our parents in seeing schedules/homework/etc, but more complicated to use for our faculty/students?
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
None have been achieved yet.
Read Jennifer Cleary's full review
August 03, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Blackbaud K-12 for life!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school uses ON for our internal and external audience. Our public website is managed on the back end by OnMessage, and our internal community logs in and uses the ON products to access password protected information.
  • Support is fantastic; I love the chat feature and how every time I have an issue someone is there to help me. If they can't help me right away, they always research my issue and get back to me promptly.
  • One of Blackbaud's greatest strengths is that they listen to their clients. Their regular updates and software changes are a direct result of client feedback. It makes us feel as if we are heard.
  • Blackbaud makes a great effort to make sure their software is reliable and easy to use.
  • Some items of how the software works don't seem intuitive to me. For example, when a parent looks up a student in the online directory, only the parents names' appear, not the students.
  • It would be nice if some of the features of the back-end software had more flexibility.
  • Some areas of the back end are still on the old platform, Podium, and those need to be updated.
I've been very happy using the On solutions. The products change based on user requests and their customer service is great.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • A connected school solution
We have absolutely achieved operational efficiency and advanced automation. The fact that we now can schedule classes in the ON products help reduce workflow and increase efficiency.
Read Jennifer Berger's full review
March 28, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Heritage Hall loves Blackbaud!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ON products are used by all constituents in all departments across campus except in the Business Office and Development Office:
  1. We use onCampus, onRecord, onMessage, and onBoard for the usual uses.
  2. We also use ConnectRE to send the data from Core to Raiser's Edge and eventually to Student Billing in Financial Edge through the Integration.
  3. Our booster clubs use Community groups to communicate information regarding activities and events
  4. We are about to launch an "Alumni" portal so that alumni can log in to view resources, sign up for events, and share relevant alumni information
The ON products have solved the problem of inconsistent and inefficient data entry. We used to enter demographic information for students and families in 6 different software databases from 5 different vendors. Now, all of our demographic information can be entered once, ensuring accuracy, and our constituents can log in directly to update their own information. As a result, our staff can focus more on best practices instead of rote data entry. Furthermore, with all of our school functions housed under a single, cohesive platform, I am able to provide better support for all departments across campus.
  • The Student and Parent personas provide a unified and organized way to share class content (Bulletin Boards and Topics), grades, assignments, attendance and conduct information in a single system. The system is user-friendly and easy to navigate. (Before, students had to log into FinalSite to see teacher pages and log into PowerSchool to see assignment grades and attendance.)
  • Students LOVE the assignment center. The assignment center puts all assignment information from multiple classes and teachers on a single page. The status buttons empower students to track their own progress and take ownership of their work and time management. Because Assignment flags in the gradebook are visible to students in the Assignment Center, students receive timely feedback about their performance.
  • In onCampus groups, Bulletin Board and Topic pages are user-friendly and easy to adjust, edit, and manage.
  • The organization of courses in Core and onCampus allow us to adjust section offerings and apperance in report and transcript forms. At the same time, it prevents erroneous changes of fields that affect credit accumulation and GPA calculations. It also makes setup for Online Signup a breeze.
  • In onBoard, we appreciate the ability to adjust Checklist forms, even for existing candidates. The capacity for admission staff to see greater detail than the families ensures confidentiality, but it has been immensely helpful for parents view the student checklist. They are able to track their progress toward completion of the admission process. We saw a significant rise in percentage of families who completed the process upon implementation of onBoard.
  • Our onMessage website is MUCH faster than our FinalSite website was. I imagine that can be attributed to the content organization scheme under the Content menu in onMessage, reducing the weight of our online media.
  • Since the ON products are hosted by Blackbaud, we can manage anything and everything away from campus at any time.
  • We are missing a way to log community service hours completed by our students. This is a graduation requirement, but right now we have to track these using a series of hundreds of Google spreadsheets. (We voted on an enhancement request on the Ideas board.)
  • We would like to see enhanced formatting options in report card and transcript forms.
  • In the onBoard enrollment contracts, we need a way for parents to indicate their payment method (without paying $50/student for Smart Tuition.) If parents wish to pay by EFT, we need to be able to collect bank information. We also need a way to display images on the contract (like a tuition loan repayment schedule) and preserve formatting of text when we print the contract PDF. Right now, images disappear and text (outside of the policies block) are jumbled.
  • We would like to see improvements in Admission reporting. The KPI board shows numbers of contracts issued vs. returned, but doesn't show a number of contracts that are outstanding vs. not returning. We would also like to be able to quickly see attrition, re-enrollment, and new enrollment in a single list with names.
  • Our advisors have requested a report of student grades in each of their classes so they don't have to navigate to each student's Progress tab, which doesn't print in clean format.
Blackbaud is great for large schools who want everything organized in a single system. Blackbaud is not suited for schools who prefer a lot of mailed or tailored communication. It is designed for groups that will regularly reference the software. If the school prefers to send lots of snail mail and bulk emails, those processes require more time and management.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
A specific way we improved communication is by using a community group to gather all Grading Managers in a group and share information related to report cards, transcripts, and the history of changes through the Bulletin Board and Topics. If a Grading Manager leaves, their replacement is automatically added to the group because they will have the same role.

We have not been able to move away from Constant Contact to use Pushpages exclusively because we cannot add individual email addresses to a Pushpage without creating a record for each address. We have a couple thousand constituents to add to Core but can't import them from Raiser's Edge before doing a major cleanup project.
Read Jessica Walters's full review
March 26, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Blackbaud "ON" - a GREAT solution for your school"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school uses Blackbaud K-12 "ON" across the organization. We use "ON" for our website, email communications, teacher websites, grading, registrar, scheduling, School Information System (SIS), Admissions, and we integrate with Smart Tuition for student billing. It has been wonderful for our teachers, who find the platform easier than FAWeb for grading. Our parents and students log into the school website far more frequently than they did before because the site is user-friendly and contains valuable information (upcoming assignments, easy access to grades, upcoming events, robust calendar). Student billing and collections, which used take up a lot of time for one of our employees, is now a non-issue, freeing that employee to do different things. We use less paper than we used to. We communicate better with our families.
  • Presentation of information: the website is nicely structured to display pertinent information to the user, based on the user type. For instance, it is easy for parents to see information pertaining to their student(s) and access resource specific to parents. Students have a different default view, showing their classes, grades, and easy access to their schedule. Faculty gets yet another view, with their daily schedule and easy access to attendance and grading system.
  • The messaging system has revolutionized the way faculty communicates with students. Before, faculty would email students, but students were not checking emails regularly. Now, they send messages through the website messaging system. Since students are logging into the site so frequently, they see those messages more quickly than they would see emails.
  • The forms system is great. Instead of sending paper forms to parents (e.g., re-enrollment contract, updated student health history, permission for field trips, permission for social media inclusion, bus rider signup, etc.), we now push online forms to the parents. All input is captured in the system. The systems auto-reminds parents who have not yet filled out the forms. This saves paper and a lot of employee time.
  • Grading review could be better. It's not as user-friendly as we would like for division heads to review grades and comments submitted by faculty. Also, when writing comments, teachers would like to be able to see comments written in prior quarters.
  • Report card formatting is limited. We would love more flexibility in formatting.
  • Online assessments could be better. For instance, math teachers would like to be able to include math formulae.
Overall, it's the best solution we found. Competitors may offer better bits and pieces (some teachers preferred PowerSchool's assessments) but overall, this solution was best for our school, especially since we already used Blackbaud Education Edge. The transition was easy.
  • A connected school solution
Read Tina Abbott's full review
March 26, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "What are you waiting for? Get "ON" with it using Blackbaud's K-12 Solution."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud K-12's "ON" Solutions to manage all of our candidate, applicant, and student information. With onBoard, we are able to manage the admissions process with interactive checklists that parents are able to follow in order to complete the application process all the way through to online enrollment. We manage all of our current student and family information in onRecord and onCampus permits us the ability to group students into classes, activities, athletics, and other types of groups to help facilitate learning, service, sportsmanship, and growth as a community.

We manage our website content and materials as well as a private portal for current families, faculty, and staff using the onMessage system. This allows us to create content once and publish it to multiple locations at one time. We also use the onMessage system to send out our weekly email publications. We use this solution throughout the entire school as our primary database of record which is used to populate other connected services.
  • The tools provided for contract management and communications really help our school manage the very rapid re-enrollment cycle which is very quickly followed by our enrollment contract cycle. Quickly sending reminders to parents with outstanding contracts is a very straight-forward process.
  • Being able to create content once on the platform and then sharing that content to multiple locations is a great function. I'm excited to see this functionality move into the academic content over the past two years, which helps foster collaboration between faculty members teaching the same subjects.
  • Living in a location that is prone to sometimes-violent weather conditions, having our solutions hosted off-site provides peace of mind. And I know that our data is regularly and securely backed up if there ever is an issue.
  • The product has grown quite a lot over the past several years, and with that growth came the adoption of newer, more modern methods of accessing and manipulating the data. Unfortunately, some areas of the solutions still exist on the legacy platforms and have not been updated.
  • Granting user access to specific areas within the system can sometimes be confusing and unintuitive, resulting in unexpected results.
  • Some scripts cannot be easily integrated into the web content management system, which for some users will necessitate hosting a separate web site for additional scripts to embed onto web pages.
Independent K-12 schools with basic to moderately-complex course scheduling will find the schedule maker module sufficient. Online course requests are fairly advanced, however, there is no course registration capability at this time, as was available in other Blackbaud solutions. Managing over 1,000 students and their daily schedules can be hectic, but with the ON solutions, we know where every student is throughout the day, and if they have any after-school commitments.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
By launching a solution that is in the cloud, we removed barriers that prevented fast and efficient service and support for our faculty, students, and parents. We now have automated integrations with several third-party solutions that originally required manual updating of records by producing exports and uploading those files to each of the other services. No longer having to manage server updates, security, and software patches mean more uptime and fewer staff resources required with that very specific knowledge set. Cloud-based solutions also get patched much more quickly when issues are identified.
Read Jimmy Cudzilo, bCRE, bCON's full review
June 19, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Meets the minimum standard for a campuswide solution."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ON suite schoolwide for student and family management; I believe teachers use it exclusively for grade books, assignments, report cards, etc. It is how our website is created and updated, to the best of my knowledge. We also update alumni directory information there and use the communications functions for our regular newsletters, push pages for news, solicitations, event invitations, etc. We also use it for online giving.
  • Allows different departments to centralize some data and processes.
  • Gives families a one-stop shop for managing information about their students.
  • Different view access for different kinds of users.
  • The online giving module is just awful. Minimal customization is available for online giving forms. We are not notified reliably of new gifts, and managing a large volume of gifts is a nightmare. It's not possible to handle them in batches and only a DOC/PDF format is available to report on gifts (rather than a CSV/XLSX which would be more valuable for large volumes). We do not know of a way to export gifts en masse to import into Raiser's Edge.
  • I would like more flexibility for querying and exporting on all the data stored for constituents. The list options we are given do not give us all the fields we need in order to add new constituents to Raiser's Edge.
  • Overall, since ON and Raiser's Edge are both owned by Blackbaud, I would expect much better integration options between the two. Not only are these options minimal, but they come at an additional cost and, the last time we checked, did not meet our needs for moving data between the systems. This requires quite a bit of duplicate work in order to, for example, update an address record in both systems.
I suppose it would be appropriate for an organization with fairly simple needs, and/or users who do not wish to have a great deal of ability to "get under the hood" for data management. For an organization like ours, where some administrative offices use different systems for financial management, fundraising, admissions, and tuition payments, I do not believe this product appropriately meets our needs.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
From an organizational perspective, it's hard to say. I was not involved in the selection or implementation of the product, and we acquired it back when it was WhippleHill. As a member of the development office and admin-level Raiser's Edge user, I find this product actually causes us to spend more time on our basic tasks, without offering the flexibility and data extraction capabilities that would make my data management responsibilities easier. Since using this product is not required in my day to day work, I tend to avoid it when possible.
Read this authenticated review
July 06, 2018

"Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud's development and schoolhouse solutions including onCampus to enable our alumni, parents, administration, faculty, and students to access the information they need in one easy-to-access place. We had separate places people needed to go to for their information previously and the systems put everything in one spot. It has been pretty easy for people to use computers and phones to access their information in the system.
  • Allow students to see their homework
  • Enable teachers to maintain a gradebook
  • Update parents on academic progress
  • Integrating with third-party tools that extend learning
  • enable students to create and edit a learning portfolio
  • make a place to be able to do secure student testing
onCampus is well suited for use in providing teachers, parents, and students a learning management system.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
We have improved our communication with students about their assignments and parents about their children's' academic progress.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "How We've Adjusted to Blackbaud's On Products"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use On products primarily in the Advancement Offices and the Admissions offices. Although, our registrar uses it as do our Upper and Lower School admin assistants.
  • Integration with Connect 5 and Raisers Edge
  • Ease of use for those not familiar with website management
  • School data integrated across many platforms
  • Syncing of the Core
  • Admissions flexibility with custom pages
  • Syncing RE with the Core
As a Blackbaud customer having On products sync with FA and RE as well as our Admissions Office was critical
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Slowly but surely we are learning to take advantage of all the functionality it offers - hope to do more in the future
Read Joan Myers's full review
March 23, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions: "onReview"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the entire school by all departments. It serves as the core database for all departments, and provides our educational solutions for grading, advising, teaching and learning. We also use it for communication including web site content/design.
  • We love managing communications from one tool, and the ease of integration of content with the web site. We have been able to manage communications with very few employees involved.
  • Our students, parents and teachers love the onCampus LMS, teaching and learning environment. It provides consistency for students across all of their classes, clubs, and campus groups.
  • The sign-in landing pages for our LMS provide space for current news/information for parents, and schedules/classes for students and teachers. All find it very easy to navigate and information is clearly displayed.
  • General users are not at ease finding data, running lists and reports. They have been somewhat streamlined, but limited in capability.
  • Display of transcripts and report cards is not as flexible as needed, but that is coming down the pipe.
  • Pushpage tool needs updating, also coming down the pipe.
Some schools are too small, and some school cannot afford the product. Those schools are leveraging Google Classroom, etc.
It would be nice if some less advantaged schools could be priced according to their tuition models! There is a huge difference between schools that charge tuitions of $10k a year, and those charging $40K or more. The result is that it is a tool that more elite students get to use, which is bad.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We definitely achieved these things, especially by purchasing it as Whipple Hill. We have been able to grow and evolve with these products. I have remained the system admnistrator and manage all users. The consistency of communication among teachers, parents, students, etc. has completely evolved.
Read Laura Flynn's full review
March 23, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Keeping Up In The Digital Age"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud K-12 ON across all departments from the Admissions Office, to Registrar (Academics), and Financial Aid it supports our institution's operational needs. As an independent school, it is imperative that we have a system that can process information in a way that allows us to communicate effectively and help us make better and more informed decisions.
  • It is intuitive
  • It is a single platform
  • It is accessible from anywhere
  • It is responsive
  • Anything that improves the core mission of educational institutions is critical.
  • A good student information system can help students, parents, administrators, and teachers make better and more informed decisions.
  • Effective communication in the digital age can be a powerful tool and improvements in ways that key constitutions can access and manipulate that information is at the core of what Blackbaud ON can do.
Currently, we do not use Blackbaud K-12 ON as our (LMS) Learning Management System and from our perspective is an area that is still improving.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Yes, I believe that we have achieved all of the outcomes that I have checked.
Read Marc Carter's full review
March 22, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "All in one for K-12 grades and then some."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire school uses K-12, from faculty to staff, administrators to security. We can manage our student records in one program. Our faculty is able to have all assignments online, able to be graded/assessed and parents are able to view the grade book. Our report cards are able to be visible to parents and necessary staff/faculty. We are able to add visitors to a calendar that is then visible to security and faculty/staff.
  • Most importantly, it has all the student records in one place, accessible for attendance, grades, contact information and contracts/admissions. I only wish all of the info was on one module so you didn't have to toggle in and out of a module to find certain pieces of information.
  • Admissions module simplifies some steps in the whole admissions process. It does take some time to learn the steps and processes available and the Knowledgebase has limited articles or articles with limited information but chat support is helpful when available.
  • Grading is easy and faster than our former program with less programatic errors and less steps to generate grades.
  • Allows us to have more users in more roles managing their own items such as forms, registration, communications.
  • Knowledgebase could use more detailed articles as well as more articles on even small steps that are typically omitted along with some screen images and some examples of what it looks like if you do option A or option B etc...
  • The "search" feature for information tends to be limited also with information on how to do steps in the various processes.
  • Lists are cumbersome and difficult to initially figure out but after about the first 50 attempts, they become easier to manage along w/ support creating some for us.
Our admissions associate recently left so we had to learn how to work with onBoard and found there are some capacities we did not realize were available for acceptance emails. On the other hand, a few lists we need to use for acknowledging honor rolls are a bit difficult to manage and take time to set up, even copying an existing list.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • A connected school solution
Yes, since it is all in once program, it has been less challenging than our last system.
Read April Wind's full review
March 22, 2018

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions: "ON Solutions Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ON products across the entire campus. From onBoard in the Admissions Office to onRecord and onCampus in the Academics area; and onMessage in the Communications, we are an ON engaged environment. We also leverage RE and FE NXT products which are integrated with the ON applications.

The school's Nurse's and Dean's offices also use the ON products in their daily operations.
  • Integrate suite of applications
  • Easy to use and intuitive access for the entire school community, including parents and extended family
  • One source of truth for all administrative and functional area of campus
  • One stop shop for all things academics related. Students, faculty, staff, and parents are all able to tap into a single resource for up to date information.
  • A responsive application that can be easily accessed from any digital/smart device with no loss of functionality.
  • Ramp up integrations with other school-related applications. For example, it'd be great to have a robust Point of Sale system integrated into the onSuite package.
  • Ultimately, a solution such as onSuite needs to be able to fulfill the end to end life-cycle requirements of a student in an educational institution.
The ON solution, I believe, is appropriate to any school that is seeking to streamline it's academic, administrative, and instructional needs. From the Principal's office to the faculty, students, and parents, this application meets most of the needs a school requires. It provides a robust Student Information System, Learning Management System, Content Management System, and Enrollment Management. Any school with a commitment to leveraging the synergies that the adoption of emerging technology provides will obtain value from the ON products and should explore it further.

The ON solutions is not appropriate for a school that is not prepared to dedicate the empowered resources needed to successfully plan, implement, and support ON applications.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We still have some internal 'kinks' to be worked out. One major positive outcome of adopting the ON solutions is the institution's discovery that it needs to have a robust set of formal policies and procedures for the use of the ON applications. Our ongoing work in this area will hopefully allow us to break down the silos that have developed over time. It'll also help to provide some 'grease' for the systemic cultural change that needs to take place for the full adoption of the application.
Though not quite there yet, we are gradually reaching a point of operational efficiency. We're still in the process of determining how to mine the data contained within the DB and allow it to help us make an intelligent data-driven decision. Cost savings is not apparent at this point. It was not a main priority in the selection and implementation process. It has definitely contributed towards achieving a 'connected' school solution.
Read this authenticated review
March 21, 2018

"Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions is being used across multiple departments and audiences. Our teachers use it to manage classrooms, take attendance, communicate with families and other teacher-specific items. Our administration uses it to set-up courses, set-up groups, and send mass communications. Families and students are using it to manage calendars, receive assignments and communications from teachers and coaches.
  • Integration across the modules.
  • Easy to use for families and students.
  • Cloud-based.
  • Deeper integration with additional Blackbaud products.
  • The reporting changes in progress are an improvement and we look forward to additional improvement.
Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions is great for schools that need a total school solution. The integration across the modules is helpful in keep communications consistent and preventing miscommunication. For schools that have legacy products, Registrar's Office and Admission's Office, they will have a new experience where you're no longer bound to a machine with a local install.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We're getting there. Change is difficult and as we learn more about the systems we're learning what other systems may be able to be replaced by Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions or no longer used.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions: "A Realistic Review of Blackbaud's "On" Products"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the entire "On" suite. It is being used across our entire school. We are able to have our teachers use it for their teacher web pages, parents use it for the directory and to see student information, we use it for events and for prospective parents.
  • The "front end" marketing side of the site is great with its mobile-friendly platform. The site looks very professional, yet student-centered.
  • Behind the password, class pages are informative and students can have access to their homework and schedules.
  • The site is there for parents to login and access information that they need from the school at their fingertips.
  • The entire On record module needs immense improvement. It's extremely clunky and hasn't been updated in ages. It's an afterthought.
  • The event registration piece is not mobile friendly. We have had tons of issues with people having problems signing up for events on their phones.
  • The reporting and lists functions can be clunky and difficult to execute.
I really feel that if I took my business somewhere else I would have other issues that I would need to address. Ever since Whipplehill was acquired by Blackbaud, it has been less than a pleasing experience. Long wait times for support - not enough support. My account rep takes days to return my emails. It's really not a great way to run a business. They are trying to be cutting edge but they are behind with product development. I feel that is something Finalsite has done a lot better than Blackbaud.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Are the onProducts on their game?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use all of Blackbaud's K-12 onProducts. It provides a seamless user experience from a data perspective across our JK-12 school. Information is also collected and then utilized from the moment the constituent is an inquiry to a student, and eventually an alum. We also leverage many of the available SSOs and ecosystem partners to provide our users with a similar experience with synchronous data.
  • We have a longitudinal profile of our students as early as an inquiry until they graduate.
  • The personalized experience our constituents receive provides a bit of white glove service and attention to our users. This is particularly true for our parents who are able to find just about anything related to their son when they log into Saintsnet.
  • Customer service is still one of the best in the industry. While nothing is perfect, I do find the team at K-12 to be approachable and willing to listen to constructive criticism.
  • Oh, the bridge, the bridge. So tired of the old legacy system still hanging on. Get it off the bridge.
  • Reporting continues to improve with the addition of Sky Reporting but I want access to all my data. Not just the data associated with a module of an onProduct. Let me pick and choose.
  • The recommendation to put new ideas on the idea page was overused during the UC. It produces an expectation that lots of votes will push an issue to the top when that is not the case.
I have spoken to a number of schools with disparate systems and they constantly complain about the errors in data, the varying user experience, and silos of data. The K-12 solution takes care of all of this and more.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Read Hiram Cuevas's full review
August 21, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Blackbaud onSuite - Perfect? No. Best on the market? An unequivocal, Yes!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire school uses four components of the ON Suite - onBoard, onRecord, OnCampus and onMessage. Prior to selecting WhippleHill, we were using about five different products - an SMS an LMS, a database for grades and transcripts a hand-coded website and various spreadsheets and databases dedicated to different tasks. Now all of those tasks can be done within the ON Suite. We still use FACTS for tuition management because our Diocesan school system requires it.
  • The LMS classroom is very teacher and student-friendly. We specifically selected WhippleHill over other products (including Blackbaud's competing product) because of the robustness of the class pages.
  • We just switched to onRecord last year, but our business manager has been especially pleased with School Forms, which she uses for student re-registration and the integration of financial aid and contracts.
  • As noted in an earlier question, we were looking for an integrated school management solution that would eliminate double or even triple data entry required by having multiple disconnected programs. The onSuite has provided that.
  • the integration of onMessage (our website) and onCampus (our team pages, secure parent/student portal) has allowed us to simultaneously post information on the public site and behind the login.
  • The school forms have two good features - drag/drop builder and the ability to easily track submissions. However, beyond that the user experience is really bad. It is hard to find/remove recipients, school forms cannot be used on the public website, there is no conditional logic in the builder. I have to pay for and use a third party product - FormSite for online payment forms.
  • Long overdue improvements were made to the gradebook this summer, but a lot more is needed to come up to the standards a lot of teachers are used to who have used stand-alone online gradebooks. An example is that the gradebook does not have a built-in translation table that would allow a teacher to enter a letter or a number for a grade.
  • The WYSIWYG text editor has impossibly small type font which cannot be enlarged. There are a lot of add-on editors that allow the user to adjust the font size.
The ON Suite is a very expensive product which means that a single school has to be able to commit significant resources. A school our size or larger with a stable student base can just afford it. Smaller schools would need to be well-financed to afford the product. Schools within a small private system - like our Catholic Diocese) could benefit from the ON Suite, but it is far too expensive on a per school basis. Our Diocese recently partnered with RenWeb to provide an SMS and Parent Portal to each of its 29 schools. While it is a far inferior product - on most fronts - at ~$7000/year, it is relatively affordable.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
The goal was to have an integrated package of programs that would facilitate better communication among administrative offices. We have achieved this to a great degree. Because changes are real time and there is a single source of data, any office can access, through standard pages, lists or reports data that was in "silos" before
Read John Blandin's full review
August 14, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "K-12 24K!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chatham Hall uses this pretty much throughout the entire school: students, teachers, admin, parents, all make use of Blackbaud K-12. Students and parents make use of it all year as our matriculation forms, scheduling requests, enrollment info,and all coursework is presented in an easily manageable format.
  • Easy to organize visually; pages look neat and clean.
  • All who use this system appreciate how user-friendly it is. It makes sense.
  • From a branding perspective, the inclusion of readily-identifiable school logo/colors looks sharp and professional.
  • Students appreciate the level of organization across their day: classes, athletics, clubs, homework...it's all there.
  • I have not used the actual scheduling piece (running the schedule) since last year when it was difficult to input our parameters; kids had scheduled, but they didn't meet our standards regarding types of courses needed (I.e. Distinguishing 5 major courses from just filling a schedule with art classes). I understand that it is more flexible now.
  • We have had some differences in how GPA is generated and have struggled with our hand-generated check matching the system's on the first go-around.
Aside from serving from as simply as a place to find homework, Blackbaud is a wonderful place to create your class: videos, readings, photos. You can create a thing of beauty. Advisors can communicate easily with the group of parents by posting photos that show what advisees are doing together or as individuals. I love how quickly one can get fun info out to parents so they can have a send of their kids' lives at school.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We have absolutely achieved our goals. With access from anywhere and from all devices, we can be on top
If our work, be in easy contact with constituents, have better communication with those who need quick information, and the frontloading piece is less daunting, less replication of effort, fewer mistakes in the database, and a better and more trusted manner of managing this information have been our primary results.
Read Martha Griswold's full review
September 05, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "We are OnBoard with Blackbaud"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the On products throughout our organization. They provide continuity and a streamlined approach to all our functions.
  • The On products allow us to customize nearly every aspect of the product which allows flexibility for our faculty and staff.
  • Because we use the On products throughout our organization, we do not waste time transitioning across products or have to worry about if our data is correct.
  • Because the On products have a parent component, when a family begins the admissions process in OnBoard, their experience when they transition to the school has the same look, feel and functionality. The products provide for a seamless transition so we do not lose any communication time with families.
  • We need accurate reporting and Blackbaud has been very responsive in building a platform that helps us drill down the data we most need.
Blackbaud On products are well suited for the school that wants to integrate all systems into one platform. While it might take time for the transition, it is well worth the effort. With the customization of the products and the "self-serve" functionality in which schools have control of the customization, options are endless. Schools that do not have a "growth-mindset" may be resistant to jump in to a total solution.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
We have achieved these outcomes and continue to improve every week and month as we integrate multiple functionalities into our processes.
Read Andrea Prothro's full review
August 17, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Excellent One Solution Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across all four school divisions. Though the upper grades use it more than the preschool.
  • Integrates everything for the student so that they have one place to track all assignments and one place to view all grades. This is also true for parents.
  • Teachers can upload easily from gradebooks to create report cards and transcripts with a few clicks for an a tire class.
  • Teachers can create content and easily import it year to year and adjust rather than recreating every year.
  • The transcript and report card look could allow for more flexibility, more choice in formatting for schools.
  • The main screen view for teachers should have more color choice for schools.
  • Within classes students should be able to upload files for other students to view not just to their teachers.
[it's] Perfect if you are trying to have one system for multiple things in your school that easily integrate.
Least appropriate if you are running online classes that require a lot of file sharing.
  • Operational efficiency
  • A connected school solution
We have in many ways. For the classroom pieces we have completed integration. We still have a couple of parts of the school outside of teaching clinging to old software that they are familiar with but they are being taught the on products now.
Read Kelly Cronin's full review
August 16, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions: "Blackbaud onProducts Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize OnCampus, OnRecord and onMessage to manage communications, student learning and student information. The software is used by the academic offices, the communication office and the advancement office. The onProducts feature a sound user interface for parents, students and teachers. The ability to use onMessage to create our own web presence has been instrumental in how we market our school to the public and to our own constituents.
  • Student management
  • Record management
  • Communications
  • Account management
  • Reporting
Schools able to utilize all the onProducts will find value in their synchronization. If multiple databases or content management systems are in use, the workflow is more complicated. Integrations between the Blackbaud products are not always seamless. The academic onProducts do provide a great mechanisms of communication between the school and constituents.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
We do operate multiple solutions from multiple vendors which makes operational efficiency more of a goal than a reality. onMessage has improved our communication with our constituents although we do not fully utilize some of the built in communication tools onCampus features. The cloud based aspect of the onProducts is a huge positive factor. This simplifies our emergency plans and it gives all constituents access to the software wherever they are working.
Read Stephen Uhr, Ed.D.'s full review
August 16, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "ON at The Lexington School"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The suite of ON products allows The Lexington School to provide a consistent parent and student experience for prospective families, through the admission process, into their first year at TLS, and as they move to higher grade levels. It is our front-end website for prospective families, the online portal for admission, and the integrated and seamless parent portal for all of the years families are part of our community.
  • Is our channel for communication of news, events, resources, forms, community and classroom updates, athletics, and more that parents and students need
  • Makes front-end website responsive, simple to manage, SEO friendly, and integrated with constituent data
  • Complete Learning Management System for parents, teachers, and students
  • Integration of Raisers Edge data and ON data is not a seamless process
  • Some key administrative tools are updated to the ON platform and some use legacy code from a previous version of the software. The updated tools provide a better administrative experience
No suite of tools should be looked at as perfect, and while there are pieces of the ON products that continue to improve, schools who value data need to put ON on their list.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We have been successful in improving our communications, efficiency, and connectness due to the ON products.
Read Jaime Lassman's full review
August 29, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions: "ON point with Blackbaud's integrated school solutions"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ON Solutions throughout the entire school, as our Learning Management System (LMS), our Student Information System (SIS), our enrollment and re-enrollment system, our main communication tool with our constituents (faculty, staff, alumni, and parents), and the Content Management System (CMS) for our external facing website. It is the central hub and main location for users to find the information they need and perform their daily tasks, such as attendance, communication, grading, etc.
  • Provides a good consistent user experience for students and parents to get information from the school as well as interact with teachers and administrators.
  • CMS for building external facing website is powerful and allows us to build and maintain high-quality looking sites.
  • Regular (monthly) updates to the products that really enhance the features.
  • Access to data on the backend is improving, but still difficult and sometimes impossible.
  • Product is very focused on high school features, would be nice to have features that cater better to kindergarten/elementary teachers, parents and students.
  • While support is always available and through multiple channels (chat, phone, email), it is always a cumbersome process taking too much effort and time for a resolution.
  • Need much better user controls in the CMS (onMessage). Currently it is all access or no access. No version control or approval process exists for changes to websites.
If the school is fairly large (>450 students) and technically capable employees with a good grasp of databases and data maintenance are available then the ON Solutions might be a good fit. The solution really shines when it is used by students, so I would definitely recommend it more to a school with a middle and/or high school. I would not recommend this to a small school or a school with no dedicated IT staff.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
  • Other
We have increased the quality and quantity of our communication thanks to this solution. We also feel that our data is more secured and more accessible with a company that has dedicated professionals looking after those issues.
Read this authenticated review
August 04, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Great all-in-one solution for small schools!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization, from our senior administration, to our faculty and staff, to our parents, and even to our middle school students use Blackbaud and access On Solutions. There is a core team of staff - myself and one to two other individuals - who use the On suite on the back end and help manage our internal resources. The program allows our community to stay connected, to gain access to incredibly important resources and information, and helps our admission team manage students.
  • All-in-one service
  • Linking to external programs to help manage the different databases an organization uses
  • Drag and drop user experience
  • Limited capabilities on back end design/templates
  • Downtime in OnMessage/Pushpages
  • Downed pages/URLs not working
I think that Blackbaud On Solutions work really well for smaller elementary school organizations, like mine. Something bigger would probably outgrow what BB has to offer and wouldn't enjoy the experience as much. BB helps our admission team take families from inquiry to admitted, and then helps our development office manage event registrations, registrar functions/class enrollment, and is the way through which I manage all communications to our community. I also use it to reach out to alumni and new families (and appreciate the way you can break out distribution groups in OnMessage).
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2017

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review: "Blackbaud K-12"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use all of the ON products in our school. It is used on the admission/enrollment side, the academic side, and for communications. It meets one of our goals of having a single sign-on system, and we also use several ecosystem partners (Pic A Time, Magnus Health, etc.) for the same reason.
  • Single sign-on system for users (parents, students, faculty/staff)
  • One database to manage
  • Streamlined communications (Messages, Notifications, Pushpage)
  • "Holding tank" for posterity/evergreen documents
  • CMS - lots of weak areas that are just not up to par with competitors for website features
  • onBoard - lots of features that are lacking, especially in terms of lead conversion/tracking, drip campaigns through enrollment funnel, and reporting
  • Too often get support answers like "that's just the way it is" or "we know that doesn't work well, and it's on our HOT list" (meaning MAYBE it will get addressed in a couple of years
Probably better suited for smaller schools with less complexity and need for additional customization. Too often we are told that something can't be changed/enhanced because it would affect all users, but then we are left with an inadequate solution for our situation, or, worse, no solution at all to meet that specific need.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Has helped with certain needs, but often just goes far enough to leave us somewhat frustrated. Don't really see a better "all-in-one" solution out there currently though, and not a large enough enterprise to justify any custom software.
Read this authenticated review

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Scorecard Summary

About Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions

Blackbaud offers a unified student management system that helps K-12 private schools stay competitive, innovative, and sustainable.

onBoard Enrollment Management: Connecting all aspects of your admissions and re-enrollment process, onBoard, gives schools and families the ability to track progress from inquiry through acceptance, enrollment and tuition payment.

onRecord Student Information System: Manage schedules, transcripts, attendance and GPAs with an easy to use and intuitive administrative system. From academic and learning profiles to conduct and grading reports, onRecord has it covered and with the power of an integrated Learning Management System.

onCampus Learning Management System: Allowing school communities to manage, connect and share information with students, parents and the whole community, onCampus was developed with direct input from our customers. We give teachers the easy tools they need to meet the demands of a modern private school.

onMessage Content Management System: Blackbaud’s intuitive content management system leverages all the information sources within your school community, keeping your site content fresh and dynamic. With easy to use tools you can easily update content, change design, add pages and create new sites with ease.


Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Features

Has featureEnrollment Management
Has featureStudent Information System
Has featureLearning Management System
Has featureContent Management System

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Screenshots

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Integrations

View all Partners here: http://k12.blackbaud.com/partnernetwork/

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Competitors

Veracross, RenWeb, Senior Systems

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada