Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
153 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 75)

Mary Beth Pelc | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2020

Frustrated

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used throughout our organization. This is a school, not a business. Blackbaud manages student grades, schedules, and conduct.
  • Ties all of the pieces together.
  • Reporting
  • Communication
  • Training
If a school already uses EE, the ON products are the way to go. I'm not sure I would recommend ON to a newbie. The training is horrible.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Operational efficiency is not where we want it to be. Internal and external communications are fine.
I bug them until I get the answers I need. It would be much better if there were actually training manuals. The reason I am doing this survey is I'm looking through the BB Community in search of information on Master Schedule and couldn't find anything, but this survey popped up!
Read Mary Beth Pelc's full review
Caitlyn Spain | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

The Blackbaud team truly listens to what the administrators and enrollment people need. We voice our opinions, and they listen to our suggestions.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud campus-wide! We use Blackbaud for our Admissions, Business, Technology, and Education departments.
  • The checklist is an efficient way to manage students through the admissions process.
  • More customization in the reports that it pulls.
  • Dashboard efficiency.
  • Our numbers that pull in Core do not always match our numbers in enrollment management.
  • The notification system is a little clunky.
  • A scheduling system that synchronizes with your Outlook calendar.
BEM is better suited for checklist note-taking rather than in-depth note-taking that can be pulled out from a report.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
I believe we have become more efficient in the candidate movement of our process. However, we are anxiously awaiting the new data dashboard in the fall.
With the dashboard it will be great! However our school has had some difficulties with our rep.
Read Caitlyn Spain's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2020

Strong system working on getting even better

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the platform across all divisions as our SIS and LMS.
  • LMS: flexible, integrates, fairly easy for faculty to use.
  • Support: Outstanding support. Their front end is truly exceptional
  • Responsive: As we moved to distance learning spring of 2020, they focused on development/enhancements on aspects of the product that supported distance learning based on suggestions in the community.
  • Cross-divisional course enrollment: A total nightmare having a middle school student enrolled in an upper school course. The enrollment is easy enough but good luck creating a report card, tracking conflicts in scheduling, etc.
  • Analytics: Getting better but attempting to get data out of the system to analyze is not intuitive. The new Insights feature is moving in the right direction but mostly focused on admissions and not academics at this point
  • Update releases: Blackbaud updates regularly which is great except their timing of releases can be lousy. For example, updating how the scheduling system works at the beginning of the new semester when students are attempting course changes, revamping the report card builder at the end of a marking period. Everything may be working fine Monday when you leave but then it is "changed" Tuesday morning. Also, when enhancements are released, they should explain how to use the new enhancements, not just announce they have been released.
LMS aspect is extremely strong. The user interface is intuitive and pretty easy to learn even for less tech-oriented teachers and families. Initial set up is extremely cumbersome and needs to be thoroughly planned prior to beginning—there are nuances that will sneak up on you and cause issues if not considered well in advance. An example is setting up your grade plans correctly so you can have report cards appear as you want. Be sure you speak in-depth with your product manager about importing data from your previous SIS and understand what will and will not be imported. It is very difficult to harvest data for analytics and Blackbaud's current analytics package is not as robust as I would like at this point.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Faculty/student interaction via LMS has definitely improved with EMS. We are also able to produce professional communications with all constituents with the system. Integrating with Raiser's Edge NXT has not been seamless but the bugs seem to have been worked out of our integration. Admissions have benefitted from the insights the software offers, but the software is not as robust in providing insights to academic performance.
Thes best front end in the business. The Blackbaud support team is exceptional. Navigating the Knowledgebase is little cumbersome, but this has improved in recent years. Blackbaud University has some excellent instructors and provides a strong program to help educate users on to maximize the system. If you do not subscribe to the highest level of support, these courses can be pricey. Also, understand their tiered support system so you know whether or not you only have chat support or phone-in support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Great software for learning and providing resources for classes.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is not used across the whole organization but used by certain majors within the the school to be able to connect students and teachers, students with other students, and more. Is effective in providing resources right away to others and also creates more efficiencies for both the school and for students.
  • Efficiency
  • Messaging
  • Payments
  • Overall hard to use
  • Better for smaller schools
  • Collecting assignments
Very well suited for providing resources for students and parents if needed, but not as good for being able to connect teachers with students for assignment completion and more. In terms of the set up side on the admin or teachers end everything is relatively easy to use. I have not used the student portal side extensively to be able to know more about it.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
We have achieved operation efficiency by using this software. The advanced automation is something that is slowly happening as the software gets updated more and more. It is definitely automating a lot of the different tasks, but I do not think it is the level of advanced at the moment that it can be in the future.
It is great! It has worked very well and seems to be easy to use on everyones end which is great.
Read this authenticated review
Stella Limuel | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

So Far, So Good!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization. Advancement Department and Executives use it to check students information (current, incoming or alumni) and to send out parent communications. Business office uses it for enrollment process and payment, and also extracurricular enrollment and payment. Admission uses it for enrollment management. Teachers use it to post grades and keep progress. Human Resources department uploads all employees to it.
  • Easily keep information up-to-date
  • Easily contact families
  • Easily accessible and user-friendly
  • Integration with Blackbaud's other programs
  • Alumni relations
  • Customization for schools with non-standard grades/levels
It's easy for us to send out contracts, communications, and to have a parent directory now. Our business office is especially pleased since they can request payment through it, although they did say they don't like how they can only have one payment method. We have eliminated most paper enrollment forms thanks to the ability to create a digital form on BB EMS. We're still trying to implement integration between RE and BB EMS.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Efficiency has increased since implementation. We're still in the process of familiarizing and fully implementing but so far we're seeing good results. Business office doesn't have to contact parents to request payments and they don't have to deal with a big number of paper forms since it's all digital now. We also can see the family directory directly in there, instead of having another service to keep our students' directory.
So far I have not run into problems with contacting support but have heard that sometimes support is hard to reach or does not give you a helpful solution. Although, to be fair, I have not really asked advanced questions. I feel we need more time with implementation support and it made us felt very nervous about having everything implemented correctly.
Read Stella Limuel's full review
Verity Paton | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Blackbaud Review - Positive Glow

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire school including Alumni, Parents and Prospective Families. The business problems are associated with user support.
  • Data representation and collection
  • Visual display - easy to use once you understand it
  • Messaging system
  • Design capabilities - images and video content are lacking
  • Manipulation of data can sometimes not be controlled well
  • Lists!!!
Suited for academics and open grade book. Less suited in marketing and design elements in comparison to other web designers. I wish the integration of other marketing apps was more applicable to our system. I wouldn’t recommend Blackbaud if schools were giving up their marketing platform e.g. website front end.
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
Our email messaging system has ultimately improved, and to me, become a more creative part of our communication to parents. We are also enjoying the SEO reports and thorough marketing data to improve our admissions stand point.
The support is great. There are multiple ways in which I feel supported, but ultimately the program is user-friendly and intuitive which helps me (as someone who navigates both the back and front end of the program).
Read Verity Paton's full review
Darrell Parker | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Solid education management solution with user-friendly interface

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Education Management is being used across the whole campus. The system centralizes all of our data in 1 place rather than each department maintaining 'silos' of information. Data can now be shared more efficiently with everyone.
  • We love the ability to enter Learning Profile and accommodations information directly onto a student's record and sharing with parents and teachers.
  • The parent portal is simple and intuitive to use and houses all children in 1 place.
  • Any student can be found quickly with very few clicks by using the "Find Me Now" feature.
  • The ability to create database queries or lists is limited. 'Advanced' lists are difficult for the average user to create. The ability to use lists elsewhere in the system is lacking (for example you cannot use a query/list when running a report).
  • Report cards and transcripts are not very customizable.
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is great for any traditional school - both day school and boarding. Our bell schedule has some special nuances but Blackbaud is able to handle them fine. I don't feel the solution would work well for online schools, especially if there are rolling enrollments. Blackbaud has a definite start/end date to terms and would not accommodate a personalized assignment schedule for a student who enrolls after the term begins.
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Having hosted a student information system onsite for many years, we have definitely seen cost savings due to moving to a hosted environment.
Blackbaud's support is fairly responsive. However, Education Management Solutions changes so frequently (with new features and enhancements) that sometimes the support folks need to "research and get back to me." This can be frustrating when you're up against a deadline.
Read Darrell Parker's full review
Lucia Llano | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Good system, confusing solutions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by the entire school. My department uses Enrollment Management for admissions.
  • Display an applicant's profile with all the information needed.
  • Create basic lists with accurate data from applicants.
  • Advanced lists are confusing to create. The format is not clear.
  • Contract formatting is limited, there is not enough flexibility to personalize the contracts.
Well suited to collect information from applicants for years. Less appropriate to keep accurate data numbers from students, applicants, offered, withdrawn students. It is always changing, it's hard to find specific numbers on the population.
  • A connected school solution
We have integrated almost the entire school by using the different tools that Blackbaud offers for teachers, students, applicants, and admissions offices. We still need to integrate finance.
Not sure. I don't use it very often.
Read Lucia Llano's full review
Kirsten Mayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

Registrar Review - moved over from Education Edge

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently migrating from Education Edge to the new Blackbaud Education Management Solutions. We will use it across the entire organization. Currently we do still use Canvas but may eventually use the LMS. We are using it across the Lower, Middle and Upper School. We also use the Enrollment Management System for the Admissions Department.
  • Ease of use is great. Easy to view the information by parent and student and easy to schedule. Very intuitive to use.
  • Great user interface. The parents are enjoying being able to get the information in an easy format. They can easily log on and see what class their student is in and their daily attendance.
  • As Registrar, I enjoy how easy it is to update a room change or enter in new comments or notes on a student's records.
  • Reporting - Hard to print out a schedule matrix like we did in Education Edge. The new K-12 system needs a report similar to the Master Schedule in Education Edge. They have one named that, but it is nothing like the old option. The ability to print a room matrix would be great.
  • Reporting - printing out actual student schedules. Improve the ability to print an A/B schedule for students.
  • Ability to query data like in Education Edge. This is absolutely a must. The ability to get data out of the system is horrible compared to the previous Education Edge product we used from Blackbaud.
  • The biggest problem we have run into is that the new system does not support a student changing sections from 1st term to 2nd term. We use final grades, so the terms must be combined into a single Final Course Grade. This is something that Education Edge easily supported. It should have been discovered and brought up before we converted to K-12. Blackbaud should have a list of functionality that will go away when you migrate to the new system. These are both Blackbaud owned systems and they should be more responsible.
Needs improvement in reporting and the ability to query. The reporting leaves a lot to be desired. If it could be half as good as Education Edge that would be a huge improvement. I need the ability to print a report that has the master schedule and fits on one page. We need this by room number and by teacher - similar to what was offered in Education Edge. The current version crosses pages and does not keep the header rows of the matrix - making it impossible to read.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
We are hoping to improve the flow of information between parents, teachers, and students. Hopefully, they will all get used to going to a single location to gain the information they are looking for. This includes schedules, grades, athletics, and activities.

We also hope to smooth out the schedule and class registration process over the next few years. We will need the system to start to support the ability to change sections within a school year for a specific course and allow a Final Grade for that course to be used for GPA and transcripts.
To date, I have had a very good experience. The support at the conference was excellent. I was able to get help creating and updating our report card with the new report card builder.

I have had minimal need for support so far because we are still working with our consultant. He is very accessible and helpful when needed. I wish the consultants were more quickly trained on some of the new features - for example, the report card builder and transcript builder.
Read Kirsten Mayers's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Using Blackbaud Management Solutions: Hold on to your hat

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the entire suite of Blackbaud's Education Management Solutions. It is supposed to allow us to consolidate our student and alumni data in one program to allow access to the information as our clients move from an applicant showing an interest in attending our school through their four years in our school, and afterward as alumni. We also use their accounting program to manage our financials and control our student billing. Once the data for a student is entered, it is shared across the programs in the platform. Using Blackbaud Education Management Solutions prevents the entry of duplicated data that would be required with a non-integrated system.
  • The company seems committed to updating the software on a regular basis, addressing concerns that the user base raises in the on-line discussion board.
  • I find their support prompt, and it never seems to be a long wait to get an answer, even if the answer is a non-solution to a problem.
  • Stop updating the programs in the middle of the week when you change the functionality of the programs and the features we have become used to using get removed or moved.
  • Stop buying companies and trying to integrate that company's program and/or features into what used to be a solid program that worked how we wanted it to work. You are trying to become everything for everyone, and you are becoming nothing for most.
It is well suited as an integrated program suite for schools. It fails miserably in my opinion as even a satisfactory solution. Having used Blackbaud Education Management Solutions for a year and a half now as a teacher, it is not user friendly and is barely sufficient for my purpose as a teacher. I find the learning management module a poor excuse for what a learning management system should have. It is not at all flexible and does not meet my needs at all. The assignment and assessment module is next to unusable as it has no feature to use a lock down browser, which means there is no security when a student takes a test. It is useless when I want to ensure a student's work is his and that he has not gone around the web for his answers, or used some other program to look at his notes while taking the evaluation. The learning management system is cumbersome at best when trying to create lessons. Some requests for features in the suggestion board have been there over four years and just marked "under consideration." I haven't touched on the problems our administrators have with other components.
  • Operational efficiency
  • A connected school solution
We are still hoping to achieve operational efficiency when the modules work together and as advertised. I don't know how much we are paying Blackbaud each year for its system, but from what I have seen and experienced myself and when talking to other administrators who use other modules that I don't use, it has not been worth whatever we are paying. The frustrations while using the system have been innumerable. Every time an update is published, with no warning, things change and we users are left wondering what is going on, and a day's work is lost sometimes trying to find out how to do what we used to know how to do. Sometimes workarounds are provided, but other times, we have to wait for a fix to be published. There is not a way that I know of, to go back to a previously working release.
It has always been easy to get a live person. Unfortunately, the support person in the queue who picks up our call is not always the best suited or most qualified for our problem. We have had days go by with no response as to the status of our problem or question. When the program doesn't work, and we have followed all the steps, we should at least be told, "yes, it is a problem with the program and we will get back to you very soon." We have had issues that caused us to stop working on processes, like scheduling or GPA calculations, when we were dead in the water and could do nothing until Blackbaud provided a fix. Since all programming is in the cloud, there was no previous version which we could revert to using.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Whole School Solution With Option to Further Customize via K-12 Partners

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud EMS as our SIS and LMS across our two divisions (middle and upper schools). It is our main data hub that serves us well when we acquire additional solutions. The BB user ID that is automatically assigned within EMS is used across multiple platforms and allows for easy cross-referencing of constituent records.
  • Customer Support: Overall, the majority of analysts are knowledgeable and helpful. If they are not able to directly help with an issue they will escalate to appropriate departments and keep you informed of progress.
  • Partnerships: While the EMS can act as the whole solution, not all schools fit that mold. K12 Partnerships allow institutions to find the best individual fit while remaining connected via API/SSO, etc.
  • Roles and Security: I know this is currently under development, but at present, it is difficult to make sure users have the appropriate permissions. Cloning roles to customize doesn't always work as it can allow for users to have access to information they do not need.
  • Wednesday Releases: I have personally found that there can be larger-scale issues that occur as a result of the Wednesday releases.
You can't beat the full portfolio of EMS, FE/FENXT, RE/RENXT. Blackbaud has become the standard for independent schools. The complaint I most frequently receive from constituents is the lack of customization. However, they don't fully realize it is a canned database and not a custom database built from scratch.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
As mentioned previously, support is great for the majority of the time. There are instances where you are clearly getting someone who is new to the products and may struggle a bit but that will happen anywhere you go :).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

A technology perspective of Blackbaud Education Management Solutions

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across all divisions (lower, middle, and upper schools). As previous users of the Education Edge products (NetClassroom and FAWeb), this product allowed us to have a relatively seamless transition into a much better SMS interface. Better for parents, better for students, and better for teachers.
  • I like the ability for teachers to customize their individual bulletin boards for their classes. Allows them to provide information and enrichment materials that students can access at any time.
  • I like the SSO integration available for things like PTC Wizard conference scheduling software.
  • I like the ability to imitate parents\teachers as it makes troubleshooting issues easier.
  • There should be the ability to making changes to the interface to help the visually impaired.
  • The changeover to the Blackbaud ID was unnecessary, consider restoring LDAP.
  • Some of the management interfaces to do tasks in Core are clunky, they could be redesigned to be more clear and streamlined,.
It is certainly well suited to any system that is currently using Education Edge. Obviously, I believe that it is appropriate for any school system looking to have an SMS that allows for rich content would be happy with this. It is less appropriate for lower grades. Perhaps a change could be an interface that is more appropriate to the needs of, say, a 2nd-grade teacher.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
I believe that for the most part, we have met all of our goals. Certainly having a common interface among teachers, students and parents has made using the product much easier. Automation is still kind of where it was previously. I'm not sure our teachers take advantage of the ways they can automate certain processes. Being able to directly email out of the interface has improved teacher\parent communication. The cloud implementation has helped and hurt—students can connect from any machine anywhere but are dependent on the quality of that connection. Overall, the good far outweighs the bad.
For the most part, I find that you can get problems solved pretty easily through the use of the chat feature. Phone calls can solve more complex issues, but you can also find that there seem to be problems that they just declare unsolvable or say they are looking into to repair in the next update.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

A technical/developer perspective.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Blackbaud Education Management Solutions across a majority of the organization. It is being used for things like attendance, school website, etc. It solves the problem of being one platform for everything. Although we wish it were more modern and intuitive.
  • The CMS is excellent for what it is and allows non-technical users to make and modify pages and content.
  • Provides a single login experience for users (faculty, staff, parents, etc.) with their preferences.
  • I would love it if there was an additional layer for expert technical users. For instance, the ability to inject javascript and meta tags directly into the DOM element instead of using the embed widget as a hack. This limits our ability to make fully functional Progressive Web Apps (PWAs) as well as marketing tracking using social pixels from Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, etc.
  • I would love it if the API had more endpoints. As a developer, I find other products more enticing simply because of the amount of customization I would have. The endpoints need to be expanded to everything possible. This limits our ability to make a truly native iOS and Android app
This product does a stable job for school management, where there are limited tech people involved and we want an out of the box solution that works well. I wish the database, as well as the features in the School Website, were more customizable. Also, it would be great if the UI was better too. Or again, the ability for the super admin to be able to customize that. I think of other products that I've used, and having certain features not available is troubling.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We've achieved this. But for instance, the push pages leave a lot to be desired (features and tech-wise). So improved internal and external communications are not where we'd like it to be. Another example would be the messaging platform within the product. For internal communications, it would be great if there was a messaging API or a Slack/Teams type experience.
Support is definitely good in the sense that they are quick and knowledgable. They are also very good at answering questions, though they may not be the answers you are looking for :)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Overall good solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud Education Management Solutions in our finance, admissions, athletics, advancement, and communications departments.
  • We like being able to use this database system for many of the school's needs.
  • Our students and parents find the interface easy to use.
  • The content management side is easy to use and train others.
  • The giving forms, registration forms, and push page options (newsletters) are limited and needs improvement.
  • There is not much offered in terms of in-house analytics for web content.
  • User management settings are very limited and very clunky to limit permission settings for different administrative roles.
If your budget allows having many of the Blackbaud products, it is a good solution overall - a one-stop-shop is always convenient. We use Financial Edge, Education Edge, and Raiser's Edge so to have the Education products have been beneficial overall. As with any product, you must keep in mind some of the limitations that will not be mentioned when they are selling the product to you.
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Support can be hit or miss overall. I love the chat feature. On the calls, generally, the staff are trying to help. However, the number of prompts just to get to customer service on the phone can be aggravating. The timeline for solutions can be excruciating.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Blackbaud Education Management Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire school is using Blackbaud Education Management, including administrators, teachers, parents, and students. It is keeping most of our data in one place, although we do still have a few different databases for various things.
  • Data Management - Family data is organized easily and it is very user-friendly.
  • Attendance - This is easy to manage for all involved.
  • The "new" report card builder is archaic - not easy to format and not very intelligent.
  • Contracts/financial aid can be difficult unless you use Smart Tuition.
  • Scheduling of school tours is frustratingly difficult.
If you don't have any sort of system in place already, this might be a good option. If you are coming from another system, you may be frustrated that a lot of what you are used to doing is now more difficult.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
I can't say that we've achieved any of the above yet - hopefully in time. Except maybe "a connected school solution" - that part is true.
The support team is very responsive! I would give them a 10, except that often the answer is that the system just can't do what we need it to or is experiencing a technical difficulty and we just need to wait for it to be fixed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Blackbaud: A solid solution with the typical enterprise level drawbacks.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school runs all aspects of the K12 software package, and it is used schoolwide. We find the integrated approach to be the best solution for keeping data in alignment, and especially for end-user familiarity.
  • Student schedules
  • Course enrollment and LMS
  • Gradebook and grading
  • DATA! This is always a sticking point as we are unable to get at critical pieces of data through their provided reporting.
  • Evolution: With particular emphasis on data access, Blackbaud is slow updating the software to the evolving needs of its users.
This is a great solution for just about any independent school.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Overall there support is quite good, assuming you are looking for an answer that is possible. There is very little support now for fixing issues within the software beyond "go to the ideas portal."
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Family Liaison

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it as our SIS and LMS as well as in our accounting department (but not fully).
  • Ability to use one system for many school needs (enrollment, records, business office)
  • The userbility for a functional / productive SIS that addresses specific record keeping needs
  • Ability to modify transcripts for a more specific style pertaining to each school difference
The ability to create reports based on specific school needs is a bit lacking as well as the ease for a Registrar to pull needed/requested data has room for improvement. Lists does help but maybe more specific training on advanced lists would be good. There are groups created that are very helpful and the access to the knowledgeable thru the system also helps.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
There is support but I wish you were directed to specific people who were knowledgable on your specific issue. Sometimes on chat we have to end the chat and start a new one hoping we get the right support person we need.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Overall great product, room for improvement in the individual modules

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the BB K-12 products across our school, it is our centralized system for everything from managing inquires, to LMS and SIS functions, to financial management and alumni relations. It allows us to manage one central database as opposed to many different systems. This ensures our data is generally up to date and accurate for all our departments to access. It also ensures a good user experience - one login as opposed to one for each department.
  • Centralized System - one login
  • Sleek user interface
  • Excellent support
  • LMS product is not best in breed - limited functionality compared to Google Classroom etc.
  • Reporting and analytics are lacking.
  • Anything outside of the standard deliverables are billable services.
It is very well suited to any independent/private school with funds directed towards enhanced software systems. It is really great for parental access in terms of providing a really smooth user interface and ease of use. It does require a fair amount of knowledge to do anything involving custom reports and analytics, and in some cases is incapable of providing the data needed.
  • Operational efficiency
  • A connected school solution
Support is generally very good, the live chat is great. One area of improvement here is support is always closed on American holidays, as a Canadian school this has proven to be challenging more than once.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using this software as our main SIS and are very happy with it so far.
  • Easy to Navigate
  • Intuitive
  • Loads fast
  • Update more often
This software is very well suited for my school district and staff has been very pleased with it.
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
It is very good software.
Read this authenticated review
Eileen Procaccino | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

Overall Happy Customer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have drunk the Blackbaud Kool-aid and have most of their products on campus. We use the (formally known as) On Products in our Admission office, registrar office...all our class pages, grades, transcripts, etc. Our Development office has RENxt and some other components. And our Financial Office is running FENxt.
  • The interface from the parent side has been very easy for our families to use.
  • The product is intuitive, and was a easy migration for our Faculty to move from FAWeb to the cloud based gradebook they now use.
  • I love having everything in one spot.
  • The migration from EE to "ON" was rough and a bit clunky. It also took us a long time to complete.
  • I find it frustrating that on the Admission side they can change a student status to Withdraw...but it doesn't "speak" to the Registrar side.
  • From an administrative asst role, many of my AA's complain about lack of labels. Some areas offer them, others do not.
  • I feel some of the reports don't allow enough manipulation.
  • Advanced Lists are a "nightmare" and there isn't any training available to the end user on how to navigate them.
As a whole, I am very happy now that we have moved over to the Blackbaud Education Management Solution. As the primary back end user, I find some areas are not streamlined and difficult to navigate. However, on the front end...my faculty, parents and students seem very happy...so It's worth it.
  • Operational efficiency
  • A connected school solution
Yes, I am feeling the school is more connected and so much more efficient then we were 3 years ago in the Edge products. Our parent / students reactions as we open up / roll out new features for them have been very positive!! I am also amazed that a handful of my faculty who always struggled with FAWeb (not matter how much we trained them), moved into this product with such ease that they help train new hires!
As a whole I am very happy with support! I find it difficult to call in (long waits)...but have been very happy with the chat feature. It is rare I step away from support and feel like my answer was not answered.
Read Eileen Procaccino's full review
Jim Maier | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Blackbaud K-12 review by UDJ

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used school-wide by faculty/staff, students, parents/guardians. It is our student information system. It replaced Blackbaud's Education Edge program. It has a very friendly user web interface for all users. The business problems it addresses is that the old Education Edge web portal was not as user-friendly and it was complicated to develop page content.
  • Very user-friendly for "non-tech" parents/guardians.
  • It covers all areas of school daily life. Academics, activities, athletics and community groups involving parents/guardians.
  • It is constantly improving in all areas of the user interface.
  • Some of the functionality of advanced lists require extra clicks to perform steps.
  • SKY lists are constantly improving, but have a ways to go. They are so easy to build and use but are limited to what can be displayed or filtered.
  • Bulk deleting of rosters would be a nice improvement.
It has been a great product for our parents/guardians. I have had very few of them contact me to say that they cannot figure out how to navigate and use the program. It would be nice to be able to build some "open to all users" front end web pages without having to purchase onMessage.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
It has been a great move going from Education Edge to ON. There are only a few queries and reports that people still complain about that EE was able to perform and ON cannot. One thing I value is the product is constantly improving. End users like us are able to submit feature requests. I find that extremely valuable.
Support is fantastic. Most issues can be handled with a short chat. Phone support wait times are very short. Staff product knowledge is great. They are all friendly and caring.
Read Jim Maier's full review
Angie Stalquist | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2019

Creative cloud developer who continually improves the environment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across our private, independent school environment. It assists us with admissions, academics, marketing/website, and some advancement. It makes it a seamless process for the user whether they are employees or potential candidates.
  • The solution definitely is user friendly for our families and potential applicants.
  • The enrollment management solution is very user-friendly for the admission office and we are very excited about the new candidate recommendation form.
  • Core's new look is very easy to navigate! Thank you for changing this design.
  • The integration between the contract and smart tuition. There are too many errors that occur.
  • Once a student is withdrawn from the school, their grade history should not be removed entirely from a class history. We should be able to recall this in the future should a parent have questions.
  • Transcripts - We'd like the ability to write on individual students transcripts. For example, if they have a language exemption, etc.
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is well suited for an educational environment. It is very user-friendly for the parents and students in our community. It could be more user-friendly in the set-up process as it can be very tedious if you do not check the right box, etc. I especially like this product for the progress detail for the parent/student to visually see how one is progressing. In addition, the enrollment management process is very seamless for both internal and external parties (i.e. application, checklist, etc.). Where I feel the program needs to improve is when you withdraw a student. Their gradebook historical data should not be removed from the student/parent view, only the teacher view. Parents tend to dispute the grade and if they can see this detail then we do not have to re-enroll the student, add them to the course, print the historical data and the withdraw them again.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
As I mentioned in the last slide, the integrated product allows us to be more efficient in our roles, it has improved external communication with current and future families. Having everyone using the same cloud product with real-time updates, changes, etc. has improved the "need the resolution" now versus waiting for the database to be repaired, etc.
Reaching the right technical support team member has improved. Overall, all goes very well when I am needing technical support. The issue I have is when one tech support does not know the interaction with another program (i.e. enrollment management and smart tuition). I will then be sent to that person who has no idea how to resolve the issue. So it is a finger pointing dilemma. As a result, I have to hang up and start over with the issue. This is not always the case as most tech support are very knowledgeable and get back to me in a timely manner.
Read Angie Stalquist's full review
Aaron Tolentino | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2019

Blackbaud from the perspective of a daily user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I run the alumni department so I constantly use push pages, Raisers Edge, and NXT to help communicate and cultivate my alumni. However, it is used all over the school, and not just in my development department.
  • The collection of information and the ability to organize events, etc. during the year.
  • The ability to send mass emails either through push pages or online express.
  • Event creating is a very big deal for me, and it makes my job a lot easier.
  • The push page feature could be a little more user friendly, the formatting makes it tough.
  • Creating a query could be made a little easier.
  • It would be nice to avoid all the signing in that is required.
The online database, directory, and group pages are great. It fits the needs of our office and admissions department. The creation of teacher pages for our students and parents is excellent as well. It fits well with basically every department!
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
Some of the operational efficiency has improved and been achieved but that is an area that I hope gets better. The ease of use needs to pick up in a lot of the areas.
I have not looked for support on my own, I will do that more after learning the tools during the conference. However, a coworker appears to use support with ease.
Read Aaron Tolentino's full review
Brendan Haney | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2019

Blackbaud Education Products Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Blackbaud on a daily basis for attendance, class pages, development, and website management. We are very excited to start using the schedule feature for students. This will allow us to track students and classes at any given time during the school day. This is a great feature, but not very easy to get set up.
  • Development database management through RE.
  • User end experience.
  • Online access to student documents.
  • The admin side of the education products section can be cumbersome to navigate.
  • Everything is built in a very visible block-like structure.
  • Hard to get customize information in and out of BB, most of the time it requires paying for consulting hours.
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is a very specific type of solution and if your school is very dynamic or has custom needs, the software can be somewhat restrictive. When we went to BB On Products we ran into several situations of a "round hole and square peg" so to speak.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
We have not yet achieved many of these items, but feel that the school and Blackbaud are moving toward the same end goals.
80% of the time I get a great support representative, but there are a few that could really use additional training in order to answer more advanced questions and issues.
Read Brendan Haney's full review
Brian Hoyt | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 09, 2019

Blackbaud, economical and integrated solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud Education Management Solutions for all aspects of student scheduling, report cards, and LMS across all divisions of our school. It enables communication between our faculty and parents/students for classroom related activities. It also allows our administration to manage other aspects of the school relating to student data.
  • Easy for teachers to have class webpages and present media like pictures and videos as well as classroom details, like assignments.
  • Allows for a central database of student and parent contact data that the parents can update themselves and then share to partner applications.
  • Provides a CMS for building a public facing web page.
  • User management, with regards to permissions, can be challenging.
  • Scheduling if not built on top of a block schedule must be done manually and can't utilize automated tools.
Schools needing a moderately economical, well integrated, all-in-one solution should look to Blackbaud. If you have the budget and want the best of breed of all solutions and are willing to pay to integrate them, you can do better. It will cost you though.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Compared to our previous solutions, we have achieved all of our desired outcomes. As we completed those, more have arisen and we strive toward them via enhancements in the product.
Support is generally easy to get a hold of but often are not able to assist with more complex issues. When the issue is a bug in the program, it can sometimes take months to fix.
Read Brian Hoyt's full review

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Scorecard Summary

About Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions)

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is a unified student management system for K–12 private schools.

Blackbaud Enrollment Management System (formerly onBoard®): Blackbaud Enrollment Management System gives schools and families the ability to track admissions progress from inquiry through acceptance, enrollment, and tuition payment.

Blackbaud Learning Management System (formerly onCampus®): Manage schedules, transcripts, attendance and GPAs with an administrative system that aims to be easy to use and intuitive. The integrated LMS covers use cases from academic and learning profiles to conduct and grading reports.

Blackbaud Student Information System (formerly onRecord®): Schools can manage, connect and share information with students, parents and the whole community. The vendor says it was developed with direct input from customers to give teachers the tools they need to meet the demands of a modern private school.

Blackbaud School Website System (formerly onMessage®) Content Management System: It allows users to leverage all the information sources within a school community for website content purposes. The vendor says these tools allow schools to update content, change design, add pages, and create new sites with ease.


Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Screenshots

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Videos (3)

Watch Learn more about Blackbaud Enrollment Management System

Watch Learn more about Blackbaud School Website System

Watch Learn more about Blackbaud Learning Management System and Blackbaud Student Information System

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Downloadables

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Integrations

View all Partners here: http://k12.blackbaud.com/partnernetwork/

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Competitors

Veracross, Senior Systems, FACTS Student Information System (formerly RenWeb)

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada