TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/vx/em/AIVFKUI9PUPE.JPEGThe Learning Curve Can Be Steep but Manageable Given the Right Team to Oversee It!Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is being used for all aspects of our school, from Prekindergarten 3 to Grade 12 and in all departments across the organization from teachers to administrators to business office to development office and athletics. Blackbaud Education Management Solutions helps us more effectively communicate with our constituents, manage the educational records aspects of the school, and helps educators with organizing their classes.,750+,Blackbaud Education Management Solutions provides a centralized place for students and parents to find all the information they need for their day-to-day lives from assignments to schedules to athletics and more. Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allows for prospective families to progress logically through an admissions process and gives admissions managers the ability to track all aspects of the process. Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allows constituents to quickly update their own contact information, putting them into control of how they are communicated with.,Blackbaud Education Management Solutions has a very antiquated method for sending out email communications/newsletters (called Pushpages). Many other systems provide a more robust system. Blackbaud Education Management Solutions has been working towards an all-in-one scheduling system, but the current system does not work for all school setups, especially those with complex structures. Blackbaud Education Management Solutions forward facing/public website solution works well but does not have the "flashiest" of feature sets that other solutions provide.,7,Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allows our school to post news, photos, events, etc. in one centralized place and have the information cross post in a varies of areas both on the private and public sides of the website. Blackbaud Education Management Solutions lets our administrative assistants spend less time looking through file cabinets for records and allow for access to files from any web-connected computer on- or off-campus. Through reports and lists in Blackbaud Education Management Solutions users of all levels are able to print, export, and analyze various data to expedite their workflow.,Operational efficiency Improved internal and external communications Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment A connected school solution,While Blackbaud Education Management Solutions does integrate with RENXT and FENXT, we have not been able to use any of those services at this point as our data has a long way to go to be ready for this type of integration and the additional costs associated with these connected services. In the next 18 months, it is expected that more of these services will be interconnected and we plan to further explore the options at that time.,5,8,8,8,5Years of SatisfactionWe use all of the solutions provided by Blackbaud's education management suite: Academics, Enrollment Management, Extracurriculars, and School Website. In addition, we use Smart Tuition, Raiser's Edge, Financial Edge, and several integrations with other products, such as Magnus Health, Turnitin, and Blackboard's Connect 5. We use it across our whole organization, which includes students from preschool through high school, the admission office, the business office, the nurse's office, and the school website. It has solved the huge problem that we had in supporting multiple databases across campus. The flow of information among various divisions and departments is basically automatic now.,500-749,From application to enrolling students into classes, Blackbaud allows management of the admission and enrollment process to flow easily and quickly. It allows everyone to receive timely, accurate information about where applicants stand on their journey to becoming students. It also provides an easy mechanism for communication with applicant families. The grading system in Blackbaud's education management solution is totally customizable. We have used the system for twelve years and it has allowed us to make changes requested by new administrators while retaining the historical records for report cards and transcripts. Blackbaud's integration of its school website software with the rest of the education management solutions allows for entering information once and pushing it to various locations as needed. It is a huge time-saver while ensuring accurate, timely information available wherever you need it.,Sometimes administrators request data that is in the system, but difficult to extract. For example, if we need numbers of students enrolled in specific classes going back for several years, it would require running a report for each year one at a time. Reporting is improving, but I feel that, if it is in the system, we should be able to extract it. Teachers would like a friendlier interface in creating course pages. Google Classroom is simpler for them to use, so it's hard to get them to buy into creating a course page only in Blackbaud. Parents, however, wish that they would stick to Blackbaud only, so they can learn one system and be done. Athletics (extracurricular solution) could use some improvement, making the interface easier for coaches.,10,Time savings has allowed us to stay at the same staffing levels in admission, registrar's office, and main office in spite of a large increase in enrollment. Communication between teachers, students, and parents has vastly improved. Institutional communication with constituents is also much better. The Blackbaud-designed public pages have attracted numerous potential families. We estimate that approximately 20 families per year are here because of the site, which means that it more than pays for itself.,Operational efficiency Advanced automation Improved internal and external communications A connected school solution,We have benefitted from the integration with both Raiser's Edge and Financial Edge. Transparency of information is huge. Sharing the same data across the three systems cuts workloads down because we avoid duplicate data entry. We also take advantage of this type of integration with Magnus Health, Turnitin, an emergency calling system by Blackboard called Connect 5, and are looking forward to integrating with both Follett's Destiny library software and online bookstore.,9,10,10,10,10End-to-end solution that's getting better with every release.Our admissions office, registrar, faculty and finance office all use Blackbaud's education management solutions, to different degrees. It proved a necessary tool for de-siloing information across these offices and making the flow of data between these offices more efficient.,500-749,Moving constituents from Inquiry, to Applicants, to Students and on to Alumni is much easier for us now than it used to be. The tools for students and faculty to keep track of their assignments, activities and scheduling commitments are robust and easy to use. The integration between the teacher gradebooks and marking period grade-entry is useful.,Blackbaud's legacy products, Education Edge and Faculty Access for the Web/Netclassroom, had features that are now missing in the new Education Management System. Custom reporting, lists and queries are still lacking. There are some data points that simply can't be accessed/reported on using the current tools. Blackbaud is apparently working on delivering better features in these areas but progress is slow. Customization, in general, could be greatly improved. Every school works differently, and as an example the GPA calculations, transcript and report card builders, though improved, are still not anywhere near as flexible as they should be to fit the needs of some schools. Implementations are often rushed and the quality of support you get while implementing varies widely depending on which implementation consultant you get. Blackbaud needs to re-structure the timeframe of their implementations to address the realities of K-12 school life, meaning schools should get to keep their implementation consultant through a full calendar year (or more!) and there should be more guidance as to where to start, first, with an implementation when a school is purchasing the full product suite. Currently there is bureaucratic pressure to complete all implementations within 6 months of purchase, which is a really tall order for most K-12 schools. The lack of "data-polishing" features is really astonishing and actually a step backwards from Blackbaud's previous product (Education Edge). This has added to the number of hours we spend making our data meet our standards.,8,We've saved ourselves many many hours of transcribing data between systems. We are better able to target communication to specific constituencies. We finally have a robust central online location for storing and sharing curricular materials.,Operational efficiency A connected school solution,We do not yet use RE NXT or FE NXT and so cannot take advantage of the integration.,10,10,9,8Blackbaud to Whipple Hill and back again.Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is used campus-wide as our primary solution for managing student information, learning management, admission/enrollment, public website, and athletics/extra-curricular, advancement, conduct, and accounting. Teachers post and students access class materials, assignments, assessments, grades, and schedules; teachers record class attendance, communicate with students and parents, view student progress and permissions/clearances for extracurricular activities; parents view student info, progress/report cards, and submit online forms. Grades and attendance data fuel program to determine and support at-risk students and eligibility for extra-curricular activities. Data also drives review of gender-based performance differences and classroom space utilization. Off-campus tutors access course information to keep in sync with on-campus classes. Resources are posted such as information sheets, how-to videos, school and area resource links, calendars, etc. Athletic teams, games and practice schedules, and results are managed. A school store sells logo'd products. Event registration and online giving is utilized. Parents, students, and employees access the authenticated area of the site while all the public-at-large access the front-face website. Tight integration with G-Suite augments Blackbaud and enhances collaboration.,750+,Classroom management of rosters, assignments/assessment, and grading at a class grade book level and grades for report cards. The grading function is flexible in terms of how a teacher might manage their class grade book and support consistency for rolling up grades for report cards. "Pushpage" communications to constituents is a powerful tool for targeted messages and for tracking results of messages read, bounced, opt-out, and clicked through.,In attendance management, there is a nice feature to alert parents and staff when a student reaches a threshold for number of times tardy. It is difficult to do the same for absences ... we have a policy that when a student reaches a threshold of number of classes absent, their grade starts getting reduced for each additional absence. This is hard to track at a class level ... 5 absences could be 1 day out missing 5 different classes or it could be across multiple days and be 5 misses of the same class. Online forms have good basic functions, however, additional formatting control and ability to include/merge more data from student records would greatly add value.,10,All teachers use the grade book and report card grading functions. This is a big positive for teacher time as well as for administration. Online course materials, assignments, and assessments have help reduced paper usage.,Operational efficiency Advanced automation Improved insights Improved internal and external communications A connected school solution,We have not benefited from integration with Raisers Edge and Financial Edge. We do use both these other products and use simply export / import functions - not true integration.,8,7,8,7,5,2100,2,Learning management Sharing of specialized student support plans (IEP, 504) with teachers. Website public/frontend,Support for CARS (Care for At Risk Students) helping to highlight students with low academic performance to target additional student services. Extra curricular eligibility ... gradebook data feeds a dashboard highlighting students at risk of becoming ineligible due to poor grades. Space (buildings/rooms) utilization data is being used to inform planning for a new facility design.,Expand to include alumni Take advantage of new admission event scheduling (prospects self help to available visit schedule slots),10A great all-in-one-place solution for K-12 schools!We are a PK-12 independent school. We currently use Blackbaud education management solution as our LMS, and we will be migrating to use it for our SIS. Our whole school uses it. We love it because it has everything our users need to do in one place: assignments, directory, calendar, athletics, etc.,750+,We love the Resources area -- it's a great hub for information that can be tailored by role and level. It is a bold, graphic, visual way to provide information to our users. We love that Athletics is not separated out of the solution. Athletic participation, especially for older students, is an important part of their overall responsibilities. It is really nice to have all commitments at a glance for students and parents corralled in one place. We also love the schedule views that having a rotation set up provides -- parent, student, teaching faculty can see their schedules in their My Day or Schedule tabs. Find Me Now shows their obligations. We love that we can edit/update our front-end website with shared content from the back end. Also, the template and styles are pretty easy to work with after you get the hang of it.,Oh lordy, registrations. Improve it or lose it. They are so limited in not only their function, but in the interface as well. There has been only one change to the software since I started, and that was to copy over the payment method if CC's were used. Learning profiles. Same as above. We need an easier interface, with the ability to restrict sensitive medical data to non-medical professionals, without having to recreate a whole new "accommodations only" form. The data is extremely restricted as well. It makes it really prohibitive on the counselors who have to enter and use this section. We would like a little bit of control or some content options for the Featured News page. Keep News and Events, but let the user select a third choice. We would love to pin announcements there at certain times of year instead of having photo galleries. We would love a social media feed where we could display recent posts from Twitter, Facebook, etc.,10,The biggest positive ROI this year was that we were able to refresh our public (front-end) website for a fraction of the cost of an outside vendor. The template is really user-friendly, and when we got stuck we were able to hire Blackbaud to assist us.,Operational efficiency Improved insights Improved internal and external communications A connected school solution,We are in the early stages of installing RENXT, so TBD. :),10,,8,10,10
Unspecified
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions)
71 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions)
71 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 71 vetted Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Brian Walker profile photo
March 01, 2019

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "The Learning Curve Can Be Steep but Manageable Given the Right Team to Oversee It!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is being used for all aspects of our school, from Prekindergarten 3 to Grade 12 and in all departments across the organization from teachers to administrators to business office to development office and athletics. Blackbaud Education Management Solutions helps us more effectively communicate with our constituents, manage the educational records aspects of the school, and helps educators with organizing their classes.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions provides a centralized place for students and parents to find all the information they need for their day-to-day lives from assignments to schedules to athletics and more.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allows for prospective families to progress logically through an admissions process and gives admissions managers the ability to track all aspects of the process.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allows constituents to quickly update their own contact information, putting them into control of how they are communicated with.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions has a very antiquated method for sending out email communications/newsletters (called Pushpages). Many other systems provide a more robust system.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions has been working towards an all-in-one scheduling system, but the current system does not work for all school setups, especially those with complex structures.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions forward facing/public website solution works well but does not have the "flashiest" of feature sets that other solutions provide.
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions would be best for medium to large schools, mostly located in one centralized location. If you were going from a largely paper-based records/admissions management system, you would see great gains in efficiency with a product like this. Small schools would not see as much benefit to the services offered compared to the price point of the software.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allowed our school to be more fully connected and share resources. However; while it does offer many services need in a school setting, it is not a one-stop shop. There are always different software out there that does not easily connect to the data managed through Blackbaud Education Management Solutions and therefore there is repeated manual data entry found in multiple offices campuswide.
Read Brian Walker's full review
Kathy Webster profile photo
January 28, 2019

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Years of Satisfaction"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use all of the solutions provided by Blackbaud's education management suite: Academics, Enrollment Management, Extracurriculars, and School Website. In addition, we use Smart Tuition, Raiser's Edge, Financial Edge, and several integrations with other products, such as Magnus Health, Turnitin, and Blackboard's Connect 5. We use it across our whole organization, which includes students from preschool through high school, the admission office, the business office, the nurse's office, and the school website. It has solved the huge problem that we had in supporting multiple databases across campus. The flow of information among various divisions and departments is basically automatic now.
  • From application to enrolling students into classes, Blackbaud allows management of the admission and enrollment process to flow easily and quickly. It allows everyone to receive timely, accurate information about where applicants stand on their journey to becoming students. It also provides an easy mechanism for communication with applicant families.
  • The grading system in Blackbaud's education management solution is totally customizable. We have used the system for twelve years and it has allowed us to make changes requested by new administrators while retaining the historical records for report cards and transcripts.
  • Blackbaud's integration of its school website software with the rest of the education management solutions allows for entering information once and pushing it to various locations as needed. It is a huge time-saver while ensuring accurate, timely information available wherever you need it.
  • Sometimes administrators request data that is in the system, but difficult to extract. For example, if we need numbers of students enrolled in specific classes going back for several years, it would require running a report for each year one at a time. Reporting is improving, but I feel that, if it is in the system, we should be able to extract it.
  • Teachers would like a friendlier interface in creating course pages. Google Classroom is simpler for them to use, so it's hard to get them to buy into creating a course page only in Blackbaud. Parents, however, wish that they would stick to Blackbaud only, so they can learn one system and be done.
  • Athletics (extracurricular solution) could use some improvement, making the interface easier for coaches.
It works well for an independent school. I do not know that it would work for a large, multi-campus organization or a large school district. It has allowed us to survive many years without adding staff in several areas. It lets staff do more in the same amount of time.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Yes, our operational efficiency is so far above where we were that it is almost meaningless to compare. We have automated many processes: applications, contracts, enrollment, scheduling, tuition payment, and many more. We can see the large picture in grading and attendance because the data has been collected online. We do not have to worry about a lot of backup procedures because Blackbaud does it for us. Communication is very much improved.
Read Kathy Webster's full review
Sylvie Andrews profile photo
December 20, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "End-to-end solution that's getting better with every release."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our admissions office, registrar, faculty and finance office all use Blackbaud's education management solutions, to different degrees. It proved a necessary tool for de-siloing information across these offices and making the flow of data between these offices more efficient.
  • Moving constituents from Inquiry, to Applicants, to Students and on to Alumni is much easier for us now than it used to be.
  • The tools for students and faculty to keep track of their assignments, activities and scheduling commitments are robust and easy to use.
  • The integration between the teacher gradebooks and marking period grade-entry is useful.
  • Blackbaud's legacy products, Education Edge and Faculty Access for the Web/Netclassroom, had features that are now missing in the new Education Management System. Custom reporting, lists and queries are still lacking. There are some data points that simply can't be accessed/reported on using the current tools. Blackbaud is apparently working on delivering better features in these areas but progress is slow.
  • Customization, in general, could be greatly improved. Every school works differently, and as an example the GPA calculations, transcript and report card builders, though improved, are still not anywhere near as flexible as they should be to fit the needs of some schools.
  • Implementations are often rushed and the quality of support you get while implementing varies widely depending on which implementation consultant you get. Blackbaud needs to re-structure the timeframe of their implementations to address the realities of K-12 school life, meaning schools should get to keep their implementation consultant through a full calendar year (or more!) and there should be more guidance as to where to start, first, with an implementation when a school is purchasing the full product suite. Currently there is bureaucratic pressure to complete all implementations within 6 months of purchase, which is a really tall order for most K-12 schools.
  • The lack of "data-polishing" features is really astonishing and actually a step backwards from Blackbaud's previous product (Education Edge). This has added to the number of hours we spend making our data meet our standards.
The Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (K-12 ON Solutions) are good for schools that have had issues with syncing data across multiple products. Bb EMS is not well-suited for schools with highly complex scheduling needs or unconventional grading.
  • Operational efficiency
  • A connected school solution
We are better connected, but there's still a long way to go towards operational efficiency.
Read Sylvie Andrews's full review
JT Amirault profile photo
December 13, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Blackbaud to Whipple Hill and back again."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is used campus-wide as our primary solution for managing student information, learning management, admission/enrollment, public website, and athletics/extra-curricular, advancement, conduct, and accounting. Teachers post and students access class materials, assignments, assessments, grades, and schedules; teachers record class attendance, communicate with students and parents, view student progress and permissions/clearances for extracurricular activities; parents view student info, progress/report cards, and submit online forms. Grades and attendance data fuel program to determine and support at-risk students and eligibility for extra-curricular activities. Data also drives review of gender-based performance differences and classroom space utilization. Off-campus tutors access course information to keep in sync with on-campus classes. Resources are posted such as information sheets, how-to videos, school and area resource links, calendars, etc. Athletic teams, games and practice schedules, and results are managed. A school store sells logo'd products. Event registration and online giving is utilized. Parents, students, and employees access the authenticated area of the site while all the public-at-large access the front-face website. Tight integration with G-Suite augments Blackbaud and enhances collaboration.
  • Classroom management of rosters, assignments/assessment, and grading at a class grade book level and grades for report cards. The grading function is flexible in terms of how a teacher might manage their class grade book and support consistency for rolling up grades for report cards.
  • "Pushpage" communications to constituents is a powerful tool for targeted messages and for tracking results of messages read, bounced, opt-out, and clicked through.
  • In attendance management, there is a nice feature to alert parents and staff when a student reaches a threshold for number of times tardy. It is difficult to do the same for absences ... we have a policy that when a student reaches a threshold of number of classes absent, their grade starts getting reduced for each additional absence. This is hard to track at a class level ... 5 absences could be 1 day out missing 5 different classes or it could be across multiple days and be 5 misses of the same class.
  • Online forms have good basic functions, however, additional formatting control and ability to include/merge more data from student records would greatly add value.
Tough question ... direct experience at two schools demonstrate this is well suited to private prep schools. It is not clear to be in which schools it would be less appropriate. Perhaps, a school without a 1-1 tech program would find less value as this is all about the online experience.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
The solution has contributed to progress towards these outcomes. Operational efficiencies across the board have come from all teachers using the grading functions. Advanced automation ... well, we can debate about "advanced", but, threshold triggered notices relating to tardies has automated parent and advisor visibility to these situations. Data extractions have improved insight to gender-based performance differences and informed space utilization studies feeding a new facilities project.
Read JT Amirault's full review
Carolyn Stevens profile photo
March 20, 2019

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "A great all-in-one-place solution for K-12 schools!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a PK-12 independent school. We currently use Blackbaud education management solution as our LMS, and we will be migrating to use it for our SIS. Our whole school uses it. We love it because it has everything our users need to do in one place: assignments, directory, calendar, athletics, etc.
  • We love the Resources area -- it's a great hub for information that can be tailored by role and level. It is a bold, graphic, visual way to provide information to our users.
  • We love that Athletics is not separated out of the solution. Athletic participation, especially for older students, is an important part of their overall responsibilities. It is really nice to have all commitments at a glance for students and parents corralled in one place.
  • We also love the schedule views that having a rotation set up provides -- parent, student, teaching faculty can see their schedules in their My Day or Schedule tabs. Find Me Now shows their obligations.
  • We love that we can edit/update our front-end website with shared content from the back end. Also, the template and styles are pretty easy to work with after you get the hang of it.
  • Oh lordy, registrations. Improve it or lose it. They are so limited in not only their function, but in the interface as well. There has been only one change to the software since I started, and that was to copy over the payment method if CC's were used.
  • Learning profiles. Same as above. We need an easier interface, with the ability to restrict sensitive medical data to non-medical professionals, without having to recreate a whole new "accommodations only" form. The data is extremely restricted as well. It makes it really prohibitive on the counselors who have to enter and use this section.
  • We would like a little bit of control or some content options for the Featured News page. Keep News and Events, but let the user select a third choice. We would love to pin announcements there at certain times of year instead of having photo galleries.
  • We would love a social media feed where we could display recent posts from Twitter, Facebook, etc.
I covered some solid use scenarios and inappropriate uses in my "what we love" and "what needs improvement" answers.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
I think we have definitely ticked the boxes on efficiency, communications, and connected solutions, being that everything we need is contained in one place. The front-end redesign and content sharing, the athletics being included as part of the solution, the Resource boards as a way of imparting important information to our constituents, etc.
I am waiting to see more benefits from reporting/insights. That's not there yet, or at least it's not there with the data we currently have.
Read Carolyn Stevens's full review
Scott Chrysler profile photo
November 19, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Blackbaud K-12 Solution - We are ON our 3rd year"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use K-12 ON across all divisions as our SIS and LMS. Our development office uses Raiser's Edge and our business office just moved to Smart Tuition.
  • The external interface with students and parents is excellent. Pretty intuitive and well designed.
  • The support staff is EXCEPTIONAL!
  • The emerging enhancements are responsive to users' requests and adding some helpful features to the system
  • Implementation and training did not go as smoothly as one would expect or desire. I recognize if there are 10 schools, 10 things will be done 10 different ways; however, there are fundamental underpinnings that need to be understood to make the transition into the product easier.
  • ON Products are "new" to Blackbaud. Whipplehill had the interface. Blackbaud had the database. The development team - who are great - are busting a tail cleaning up the back-end of the ON system so it can be as versatile as Education Edge was. ON Products keep the teachers, students, and parents happy with its easy interface. The number crunchers and data people loved the accessibility of the data in Education Edge. When these two things are completely reconciled, the product will be awesome.
  • Synching between On and Raiser's edge is neither easy nor fun. Be sure everyone knows what their bone is - what must they have so this software helps them with their jobs and be sure it does it.
It is great on the front end. It is easy to interact with for the end users - teachers, students, parent. Has met all of our needs in terms of satisfying their desires. As they are the customers, this is a good thing.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
In terms of operational efficiency, yes and no. I believe the end users are able to be more efficient and are having a better experience, but I believe maintaining the back-end is taking much more time compared to Education Edge. As for the insights, we are getting there as Blackbaud deploys more Smart Lists and Insights filters. I feel there has been little change in our internal communications, but externally I think we have improved. Having the ON products in the cloud has definitely saved money in terms of server maintenance and wear and tear on our IT staff. The "connected school solution" is not seamless. IT believes they have sorted out the majority of the issues we were experiencing, but the process still requires daily attention. After updates are released, synching needs to be checked carefully to be sure everything is still working as desired and intended.
Read Scott Chrysler's full review
Kim Norbeck profile photo
November 13, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "onCampus - good for parents who aren't on campus every day!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
onCampus is used by my children's high school. It allows for one login to access the various portals for student and parent use - billing, lunch account, communications, grades, college planning, and general school information. It reduces the number of individual login points of access for parents and students.
  • Updated and timely access to all points of interaction with the school.
  • Ease of navigation.
  • Communication with school staff with one click.
  • Due dates on assignments are a bit confusing if not updated by the teachers.
onCampus seems to be well-suited for schools that use multiple areas of communication and information to their parents and students. The variety of reports available in the gradebook module makes understanding how my student is doing very easy - homework, quizzes, projects, tests each have their own section.
Read Kim Norbeck's full review
No photo available
January 19, 2019

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Powerful system with practicality flaws"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are utilizing Education Management, SmartTuition, and RaiderEdge NXT.
  • Attendance system is straightforward.
  • Duplicate identification at the core level.
  • Good telephone support.
  • Integration between segments of products — too many barriers between the parts core vs academics vs extracurricular. Continually having to change to find the right segment for a particular data field.
  • Security rights are too pre-bundled. It is often necessary to provide editing rights when only viewing rights are wanted, but the separation between view and edit do not exist. Those who only need to look up data have to be given edit rights, which jeopardizes data accuracy.
  • Integration between ed management and other Blackbaud products is lacking. For example, with NXT it is one-way only and data in NXT can easily be DELETED if it only exists in NXT and not Core! However, all constitute types cannNOT be loaded into Core, thus staff has to do basic updates in two completely separate systems...for example, a simple address change that arrives with a donation requires many steps. First update invite, second run Connect RE, third review and approve, fourth open NXT and enter the donation. (However, process has to be different if constitute is a “friend” or “trustee” as that data can’t go through Connect RE... so requires double entries in both systems!)
  • Custom reporting (manage lists) is not able to many, many fields from the dB.
  • Emailing from ed management is useless — no BCC! Doesn’t have any integration for Gmail for Google schools, either. Requires old manual cutting and pasting.
  • Groups - Community, Advisory, and activity groups are similar, yet not. The functionality is mostly the same, but the methods to configure are different and not very intuitive.
  • NO user end documentation. None! Every school has to write their own. No templates, no pre-recorded webinars exist- nothing! It is a figure-it-out-yourself methodology.
  • New (summer 2018) navigation has improvements, but no one seemed to test it in a logical manner. For example, a screen may have 2 rows of 5 tabs that are used to set up, say, groups, but those tabs will not be in the order in which you need to configure the items. In addition, many things could be streamlined by placing data from several tabs onto one, so that tab switching isn’t needed in the first place. So a minimum, they should be ordered from left to right as one would use when completing the setup. Not in a random order. The order even confuses Blackbaud support and consultants as there seems to be no thought to the order.
Good for having a centralized location for students and parents versus separate solutions.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
We are better as we have put more internal items into the system rather than running them separately. However, the process is still very challenging. The tracking of data is improved and our data is more robust with more users utilizing this system rather than working outside of the SIS.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Blackbaud K-12 ON is moving us forward!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud K-12 ON is currently being used for admission and student record management by our Pre-K-4th grade independent school. Blackbaud K-12 ON is being used both by our Admission department and for logistics across many various departments on our campus. Blackbaud K-12 ON is used by teachers, administrators, and our support personnel.
  • ON is extremely user-friendly and visually well-organized
  • ON is great for finding students in their every day schedules
  • ON is perfect for executing and organizing the admission process from start to finish
  • Integration with Blackbaud NXT has space for improvement
  • Parent portal interface also has a little room to improve
  • Some of the points of improvement may simply be the learning and transition curves
Blackbaud K-12 ON really is a campus-wide solution for student and parent record management and for navigating and organizing the often tricky admission process. From the moment we receive an inquiry for admission, the system is intuitive for inputting data and moving someone through the stages. It's also great for connecting relationships who are alumni or otherwise have a special connection to the school.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Most of the outcomes we hoped to see by implementing the Blackbaud K-12 ON product have been realized, including improved efficiency and especially communication both internal and external, but it's not perfect yet, at least for us. We still need to integrate with our Blackbaud Raiser's Edge system, where the bulk of our alumni information resides. A first attempt at integration was unsuccessful, but we look forward to trying again soon.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 09, 2019

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Recommend"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Blackbaud's Education Management Solutions to manage our student and faculty database. It is used across the whole organization. A frequent complaint from our constituents is that they don't know where to find information. The learning management system provides a very user-friendly interface and intuitive design to solve that problem.
  • Blackbaud is very good at designing end-user interfaces that are intuitive. Users can click around and easily navigate to where they want to go.
  • Besides the design, the functionality of the solutions is on point. Almost everything I need to do in the system, I can do. And if I can't, there is an easy platform to request design enhancements.
  • The solutions are consistent as far as usability goes. There is continuity between the different solutions.
  • While the front-end user-interface is extremely well designed and intuitive, the back-end administration can be tricky. The back-end settings require training and a deep understanding of Blackbaud's terminology and system structure.
  • While the front-end has many features that are outstanding, there are still gaps in functionality. There are several enhancement requests for critical pieces (such as medical information) that are pending in the enhancement queue.
It is well suited for any school or any organization that has a need for a constituent database.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Once we fully launch the product, I believe we will achieve all.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 04, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Wisconsin Lutheran High School"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Blackbaud. I am mostly involved with the use of onCampus in my role. The biggest issue it addresses is allowing parents, teachers, and support staff to all see the academic progress to support students. Before, teachers had individual hard copy records and it made it difficult for information to be shared.
  • The UI is very appealing and intuitive.
  • The site is responsive when being accessed.
  • The UI is professional looking.
  • The changes that are made are unannounced and frequently happen during the school year.
  • Inability for the gradebook to convert percentages to letter grades.
  • Inability to mark student as present after marking them absent.
It's well suited for connecting the various aspects of the school together for the benefit of student learning. Some of my teachers find it too cumbersome to import their assignments but that is more due to the unwillingness of our teachers to learn ANY new system, rather than specifically onCampus.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We are on the path to completing them, but not as of yet.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Ritter profile photo
June 19, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "All On on the On Products!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
St. John's School uses Blackbaud's K-12 On solutions campus-wide to communicate better with our constituents, manage our data better, and do our jobs more efficiently. From our teachers using their course pages as teaching and learning tools with their students to the Admissions Office effectively managing prospective student data, the On products have become critical for our success as a school.
  • The On products are integrated, which allows data to flow from different areas to empower uses to do their jobs better. For example, attendance data flows in to a teacher's gradebook so they know when a student was absent when an assignment was due.
  • Blackbaud works hard to make sure the On products do what schools need it to do and they listen to school to make the products better. The new gradebook reflect ideas from teachers that have made the gradebook a more powerful tool for teachers to use.
  • The On products are a distributed system that allows us to give constituents access to the areas they need to use. Families are in charge of keeping their contact information accurate in their profile while teachers keep their assignments up-to-date. Different departments own their area and in charge of making sure the information is accurate and up-to-date.
  • Blackbaud encourages schools to help each other out, make suggestions, and work with each other and Blackbaud to make sure all schools are using the system to its fullest. The Blackbaud K12 Users Conference is a great place to learn from other schools and share how you use the products.
  • Blackbaud needs to enhance the marketing piece of the website where you can track users and provide an ever growing level of communication. Regular communications is good but tracking visits and engagement on the website could be improved.
  • While the integration with SmartTuition is getting better, it still needs to be improved where information flows more seamlessly between the 2 packages.
  • onBoard needs to allow a "common app" solution where prospective families can submit their applications to more than one school at a time.
The ON products are tailored for schools where information needs to be shared between different areas and where communication with a wide variety of constituents with different levels of communication is important. It also works well with both big and small schools. Where it won't work as well is where it is on piece of a multi-database environment. Under those situations, the information flow will be broken and the power of a distributed and connected system will be negated.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We were previously a WhippleHill customer and at every step of this journey, we've felt like all of our outcomes have been met. With every new release and upgrade, we find we are doing things more efficiently, communicating better, using our data to make better decisions, and are an overall better school.
Read Jeff Ritter's full review
Jennifer Cleary profile photo
June 19, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions): "On Products review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the "on" products as a (somewhat) all-in-one web and database solution for the school. Currently we're using the full functionality of onMessage for our front end site, onRecord as the SIS, onBoard for Admissions, but are not using the full functionality of onCampus. We are still using Haiku as our LMS, and though we intend to explore fully using onCampus—i doubt we'll make the switch as it's user interface for teachers (i.e. posting assignments, classroom, etc) is not as streamlined. Also unable to use the Raiser's Edge sync tool (Connect RE) to streamline workflow as planned prior to purchase.
  • High level of customization (from the user's end) for onMessage pages
  • Nice user interface for several parts of the "back-end"/ portals
  • The chat help function is convenient
  • School forms (for online permission slips) - really awesome, and were a huge hit with parents. Except there is no way to organize prior years' forms, so I think they will be less than thrilled this year.
  • "Thinking through" features seems to be a problem, so most of them feel somewhat "incomplete." For example: School Forms are great, but without the ability to organize the dozens of prior years' permission forms for parents (i.e., re-order, or hide, or even change button color) the feature is going to go from great to terrible pretty quickly for parents. Same with SmartTuition integration, or the ConnectRE tool (which is perfect for maybe 40% of scenarios and requires manual exceptions for the rest,) Adding News is annoying (no WYSIWYG option for Header styles; can't enlarge the dialog box). Photo galleries are a problem when it comes to the responsive design. (No "lightbox" viewer, so any portrait images not only stretch to fill left to right, but also push content way down the page.) Navigation on the mobile display is ok, but requires an extra tap to get to a certain page. (i.e. Tap Admissions, then have to tap Admissions again, and then you see L2) I could go on about things that look/work great at first glance but still end up causing a headache. Still, by and large, the benefits are mostly worth the annoyances, though everything takes longer on my end to find workable solutions—including changing our own work practices to fit the website/database's demands.
  • The fact that the online event registration function isn't responsive is just plain ridiculous.
  • I'd love to see more ability to integrate, or even SSO, with other 3rd party solutions.
Workable when you have staff that can spend dedicated time with the products; troubleshooting, updating, managing, helping users, and finding creative work arounds.

Difficult to implement fully for the (natural) competing priorities of a school—i.e., should we use the onCampus LMS since there are benefit to our parents in seeing schedules/homework/etc, but more complicated to use for our faculty/students?
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
None have been achieved yet.
Read Jennifer Cleary's full review
Jennifer Berger profile photo
August 03, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Blackbaud K-12 for life!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school uses ON for our internal and external audience. Our public website is managed on the back end by OnMessage, and our internal community logs in and uses the ON products to access password protected information.
  • Support is fantastic; I love the chat feature and how every time I have an issue someone is there to help me. If they can't help me right away, they always research my issue and get back to me promptly.
  • One of Blackbaud's greatest strengths is that they listen to their clients. Their regular updates and software changes are a direct result of client feedback. It makes us feel as if we are heard.
  • Blackbaud makes a great effort to make sure their software is reliable and easy to use.
  • Some items of how the software works don't seem intuitive to me. For example, when a parent looks up a student in the online directory, only the parents names' appear, not the students.
  • It would be nice if some of the features of the back-end software had more flexibility.
  • Some areas of the back end are still on the old platform, Podium, and those need to be updated.
I've been very happy using the On solutions. The products change based on user requests and their customer service is great.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • A connected school solution
We have absolutely achieved operational efficiency and advanced automation. The fact that we now can schedule classes in the ON products help reduce workflow and increase efficiency.
Read Jennifer Berger's full review
Jessica Walters profile photo
March 28, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Heritage Hall loves Blackbaud!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ON products are used by all constituents in all departments across campus except in the Business Office and Development Office:
  1. We use onCampus, onRecord, onMessage, and onBoard for the usual uses.
  2. We also use ConnectRE to send the data from Core to Raiser's Edge and eventually to Student Billing in Financial Edge through the Integration.
  3. Our booster clubs use Community groups to communicate information regarding activities and events
  4. We are about to launch an "Alumni" portal so that alumni can log in to view resources, sign up for events, and share relevant alumni information
The ON products have solved the problem of inconsistent and inefficient data entry. We used to enter demographic information for students and families in 6 different software databases from 5 different vendors. Now, all of our demographic information can be entered once, ensuring accuracy, and our constituents can log in directly to update their own information. As a result, our staff can focus more on best practices instead of rote data entry. Furthermore, with all of our school functions housed under a single, cohesive platform, I am able to provide better support for all departments across campus.
  • The Student and Parent personas provide a unified and organized way to share class content (Bulletin Boards and Topics), grades, assignments, attendance and conduct information in a single system. The system is user-friendly and easy to navigate. (Before, students had to log into FinalSite to see teacher pages and log into PowerSchool to see assignment grades and attendance.)
  • Students LOVE the assignment center. The assignment center puts all assignment information from multiple classes and teachers on a single page. The status buttons empower students to track their own progress and take ownership of their work and time management. Because Assignment flags in the gradebook are visible to students in the Assignment Center, students receive timely feedback about their performance.
  • In onCampus groups, Bulletin Board and Topic pages are user-friendly and easy to adjust, edit, and manage.
  • The organization of courses in Core and onCampus allow us to adjust section offerings and apperance in report and transcript forms. At the same time, it prevents erroneous changes of fields that affect credit accumulation and GPA calculations. It also makes setup for Online Signup a breeze.
  • In onBoard, we appreciate the ability to adjust Checklist forms, even for existing candidates. The capacity for admission staff to see greater detail than the families ensures confidentiality, but it has been immensely helpful for parents view the student checklist. They are able to track their progress toward completion of the admission process. We saw a significant rise in percentage of families who completed the process upon implementation of onBoard.
  • Our onMessage website is MUCH faster than our FinalSite website was. I imagine that can be attributed to the content organization scheme under the Content menu in onMessage, reducing the weight of our online media.
  • Since the ON products are hosted by Blackbaud, we can manage anything and everything away from campus at any time.
  • We are missing a way to log community service hours completed by our students. This is a graduation requirement, but right now we have to track these using a series of hundreds of Google spreadsheets. (We voted on an enhancement request on the Ideas board.)
  • We would like to see enhanced formatting options in report card and transcript forms.
  • In the onBoard enrollment contracts, we need a way for parents to indicate their payment method (without paying $50/student for Smart Tuition.) If parents wish to pay by EFT, we need to be able to collect bank information. We also need a way to display images on the contract (like a tuition loan repayment schedule) and preserve formatting of text when we print the contract PDF. Right now, images disappear and text (outside of the policies block) are jumbled.
  • We would like to see improvements in Admission reporting. The KPI board shows numbers of contracts issued vs. returned, but doesn't show a number of contracts that are outstanding vs. not returning. We would also like to be able to quickly see attrition, re-enrollment, and new enrollment in a single list with names.
  • Our advisors have requested a report of student grades in each of their classes so they don't have to navigate to each student's Progress tab, which doesn't print in clean format.
Blackbaud is great for large schools who want everything organized in a single system. Blackbaud is not suited for schools who prefer a lot of mailed or tailored communication. It is designed for groups that will regularly reference the software. If the school prefers to send lots of snail mail and bulk emails, those processes require more time and management.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
A specific way we improved communication is by using a community group to gather all Grading Managers in a group and share information related to report cards, transcripts, and the history of changes through the Bulletin Board and Topics. If a Grading Manager leaves, their replacement is automatically added to the group because they will have the same role.

We have not been able to move away from Constant Contact to use Pushpages exclusively because we cannot add individual email addresses to a Pushpage without creating a record for each address. We have a couple thousand constituents to add to Core but can't import them from Raiser's Edge before doing a major cleanup project.
Read Jessica Walters's full review
Tina Abbott profile photo
March 26, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Blackbaud "ON" - a GREAT solution for your school"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school uses Blackbaud K-12 "ON" across the organization. We use "ON" for our website, email communications, teacher websites, grading, registrar, scheduling, School Information System (SIS), Admissions, and we integrate with Smart Tuition for student billing. It has been wonderful for our teachers, who find the platform easier than FAWeb for grading. Our parents and students log into the school website far more frequently than they did before because the site is user-friendly and contains valuable information (upcoming assignments, easy access to grades, upcoming events, robust calendar). Student billing and collections, which used take up a lot of time for one of our employees, is now a non-issue, freeing that employee to do different things. We use less paper than we used to. We communicate better with our families.
  • Presentation of information: the website is nicely structured to display pertinent information to the user, based on the user type. For instance, it is easy for parents to see information pertaining to their student(s) and access resource specific to parents. Students have a different default view, showing their classes, grades, and easy access to their schedule. Faculty gets yet another view, with their daily schedule and easy access to attendance and grading system.
  • The messaging system has revolutionized the way faculty communicates with students. Before, faculty would email students, but students were not checking emails regularly. Now, they send messages through the website messaging system. Since students are logging into the site so frequently, they see those messages more quickly than they would see emails.
  • The forms system is great. Instead of sending paper forms to parents (e.g., re-enrollment contract, updated student health history, permission for field trips, permission for social media inclusion, bus rider signup, etc.), we now push online forms to the parents. All input is captured in the system. The systems auto-reminds parents who have not yet filled out the forms. This saves paper and a lot of employee time.
  • Grading review could be better. It's not as user-friendly as we would like for division heads to review grades and comments submitted by faculty. Also, when writing comments, teachers would like to be able to see comments written in prior quarters.
  • Report card formatting is limited. We would love more flexibility in formatting.
  • Online assessments could be better. For instance, math teachers would like to be able to include math formulae.
Overall, it's the best solution we found. Competitors may offer better bits and pieces (some teachers preferred PowerSchool's assessments) but overall, this solution was best for our school, especially since we already used Blackbaud Education Edge. The transition was easy.
  • A connected school solution
Read Tina Abbott's full review
Jimmy Cudzilo, bCRE, bCON profile photo
March 26, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "What are you waiting for? Get "ON" with it using Blackbaud's K-12 Solution."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud K-12's "ON" Solutions to manage all of our candidate, applicant, and student information. With onBoard, we are able to manage the admissions process with interactive checklists that parents are able to follow in order to complete the application process all the way through to online enrollment. We manage all of our current student and family information in onRecord and onCampus permits us the ability to group students into classes, activities, athletics, and other types of groups to help facilitate learning, service, sportsmanship, and growth as a community.

We manage our website content and materials as well as a private portal for current families, faculty, and staff using the onMessage system. This allows us to create content once and publish it to multiple locations at one time. We also use the onMessage system to send out our weekly email publications. We use this solution throughout the entire school as our primary database of record which is used to populate other connected services.
  • The tools provided for contract management and communications really help our school manage the very rapid re-enrollment cycle which is very quickly followed by our enrollment contract cycle. Quickly sending reminders to parents with outstanding contracts is a very straight-forward process.
  • Being able to create content once on the platform and then sharing that content to multiple locations is a great function. I'm excited to see this functionality move into the academic content over the past two years, which helps foster collaboration between faculty members teaching the same subjects.
  • Living in a location that is prone to sometimes-violent weather conditions, having our solutions hosted off-site provides peace of mind. And I know that our data is regularly and securely backed up if there ever is an issue.
  • The product has grown quite a lot over the past several years, and with that growth came the adoption of newer, more modern methods of accessing and manipulating the data. Unfortunately, some areas of the solutions still exist on the legacy platforms and have not been updated.
  • Granting user access to specific areas within the system can sometimes be confusing and unintuitive, resulting in unexpected results.
  • Some scripts cannot be easily integrated into the web content management system, which for some users will necessitate hosting a separate web site for additional scripts to embed onto web pages.
Independent K-12 schools with basic to moderately-complex course scheduling will find the schedule maker module sufficient. Online course requests are fairly advanced, however, there is no course registration capability at this time, as was available in other Blackbaud solutions. Managing over 1,000 students and their daily schedules can be hectic, but with the ON solutions, we know where every student is throughout the day, and if they have any after-school commitments.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
By launching a solution that is in the cloud, we removed barriers that prevented fast and efficient service and support for our faculty, students, and parents. We now have automated integrations with several third-party solutions that originally required manual updating of records by producing exports and uploading those files to each of the other services. No longer having to manage server updates, security, and software patches mean more uptime and fewer staff resources required with that very specific knowledge set. Cloud-based solutions also get patched much more quickly when issues are identified.
Read Jimmy Cudzilo, bCRE, bCON's full review
Joan Myers profile photo
March 23, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "How We've Adjusted to Blackbaud's On Products"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use On products primarily in the Advancement Offices and the Admissions offices. Although, our registrar uses it as do our Upper and Lower School admin assistants.
  • Integration with Connect 5 and Raisers Edge
  • Ease of use for those not familiar with website management
  • School data integrated across many platforms
  • Syncing of the Core
  • Admissions flexibility with custom pages
  • Syncing RE with the Core
As a Blackbaud customer having On products sync with FA and RE as well as our Admissions Office was critical
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Slowly but surely we are learning to take advantage of all the functionality it offers - hope to do more in the future
Read Joan Myers's full review
Laura Flynn profile photo
March 23, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions): "onReview"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the entire school by all departments. It serves as the core database for all departments, and provides our educational solutions for grading, advising, teaching and learning. We also use it for communication including web site content/design.
  • We love managing communications from one tool, and the ease of integration of content with the web site. We have been able to manage communications with very few employees involved.
  • Our students, parents and teachers love the onCampus LMS, teaching and learning environment. It provides consistency for students across all of their classes, clubs, and campus groups.
  • The sign-in landing pages for our LMS provide space for current news/information for parents, and schedules/classes for students and teachers. All find it very easy to navigate and information is clearly displayed.
  • General users are not at ease finding data, running lists and reports. They have been somewhat streamlined, but limited in capability.
  • Display of transcripts and report cards is not as flexible as needed, but that is coming down the pipe.
  • Pushpage tool needs updating, also coming down the pipe.
Some schools are too small, and some school cannot afford the product. Those schools are leveraging Google Classroom, etc.
It would be nice if some less advantaged schools could be priced according to their tuition models! There is a huge difference between schools that charge tuitions of $10k a year, and those charging $40K or more. The result is that it is a tool that more elite students get to use, which is bad.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We definitely achieved these things, especially by purchasing it as Whipple Hill. We have been able to grow and evolve with these products. I have remained the system admnistrator and manage all users. The consistency of communication among teachers, parents, students, etc. has completely evolved.
Read Laura Flynn's full review
Marc Carter profile photo
March 23, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Keeping Up In The Digital Age"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud K-12 ON across all departments from the Admissions Office, to Registrar (Academics), and Financial Aid it supports our institution's operational needs. As an independent school, it is imperative that we have a system that can process information in a way that allows us to communicate effectively and help us make better and more informed decisions.
  • It is intuitive
  • It is a single platform
  • It is accessible from anywhere
  • It is responsive
  • Anything that improves the core mission of educational institutions is critical.
  • A good student information system can help students, parents, administrators, and teachers make better and more informed decisions.
  • Effective communication in the digital age can be a powerful tool and improvements in ways that key constitutions can access and manipulate that information is at the core of what Blackbaud ON can do.
Currently, we do not use Blackbaud K-12 ON as our (LMS) Learning Management System and from our perspective is an area that is still improving.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Yes, I believe that we have achieved all of the outcomes that I have checked.
Read Marc Carter's full review
April Wind profile photo
March 22, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "All in one for K-12 grades and then some."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire school uses K-12, from faculty to staff, administrators to security. We can manage our student records in one program. Our faculty is able to have all assignments online, able to be graded/assessed and parents are able to view the grade book. Our report cards are able to be visible to parents and necessary staff/faculty. We are able to add visitors to a calendar that is then visible to security and faculty/staff.
  • Most importantly, it has all the student records in one place, accessible for attendance, grades, contact information and contracts/admissions. I only wish all of the info was on one module so you didn't have to toggle in and out of a module to find certain pieces of information.
  • Admissions module simplifies some steps in the whole admissions process. It does take some time to learn the steps and processes available and the Knowledgebase has limited articles or articles with limited information but chat support is helpful when available.
  • Grading is easy and faster than our former program with less programatic errors and less steps to generate grades.
  • Allows us to have more users in more roles managing their own items such as forms, registration, communications.
  • Knowledgebase could use more detailed articles as well as more articles on even small steps that are typically omitted along with some screen images and some examples of what it looks like if you do option A or option B etc...
  • The "search" feature for information tends to be limited also with information on how to do steps in the various processes.
  • Lists are cumbersome and difficult to initially figure out but after about the first 50 attempts, they become easier to manage along w/ support creating some for us.
Our admissions associate recently left so we had to learn how to work with onBoard and found there are some capacities we did not realize were available for acceptance emails. On the other hand, a few lists we need to use for acknowledging honor rolls are a bit difficult to manage and take time to set up, even copying an existing list.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • A connected school solution
Yes, since it is all in once program, it has been less challenging than our last system.
Read April Wind's full review
No photo available
June 19, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Review: "Meets the minimum standard for a campuswide solution."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ON suite schoolwide for student and family management; I believe teachers use it exclusively for grade books, assignments, report cards, etc. It is how our website is created and updated, to the best of my knowledge. We also update alumni directory information there and use the communications functions for our regular newsletters, push pages for news, solicitations, event invitations, etc. We also use it for online giving.
  • Allows different departments to centralize some data and processes.
  • Gives families a one-stop shop for managing information about their students.
  • Different view access for different kinds of users.
  • The online giving module is just awful. Minimal customization is available for online giving forms. We are not notified reliably of new gifts, and managing a large volume of gifts is a nightmare. It's not possible to handle them in batches and only a DOC/PDF format is available to report on gifts (rather than a CSV/XLSX which would be more valuable for large volumes). We do not know of a way to export gifts en masse to import into Raiser's Edge.
  • I would like more flexibility for querying and exporting on all the data stored for constituents. The list options we are given do not give us all the fields we need in order to add new constituents to Raiser's Edge.
  • Overall, since ON and Raiser's Edge are both owned by Blackbaud, I would expect much better integration options between the two. Not only are these options minimal, but they come at an additional cost and, the last time we checked, did not meet our needs for moving data between the systems. This requires quite a bit of duplicate work in order to, for example, update an address record in both systems.
I suppose it would be appropriate for an organization with fairly simple needs, and/or users who do not wish to have a great deal of ability to "get under the hood" for data management. For an organization like ours, where some administrative offices use different systems for financial management, fundraising, admissions, and tuition payments, I do not believe this product appropriately meets our needs.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
From an organizational perspective, it's hard to say. I was not involved in the selection or implementation of the product, and we acquired it back when it was WhippleHill. As a member of the development office and admin-level Raiser's Edge user, I find this product actually causes us to spend more time on our basic tasks, without offering the flexibility and data extraction capabilities that would make my data management responsibilities easier. Since using this product is not required in my day to day work, I tend to avoid it when possible.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 22, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions): "ON Solutions Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ON products across the entire campus. From onBoard in the Admissions Office to onRecord and onCampus in the Academics area; and onMessage in the Communications, we are an ON engaged environment. We also leverage RE and FE NXT products which are integrated with the ON applications.

The school's Nurse's and Dean's offices also use the ON products in their daily operations.
  • Integrate suite of applications
  • Easy to use and intuitive access for the entire school community, including parents and extended family
  • One source of truth for all administrative and functional area of campus
  • One stop shop for all things academics related. Students, faculty, staff, and parents are all able to tap into a single resource for up to date information.
  • A responsive application that can be easily accessed from any digital/smart device with no loss of functionality.
  • Ramp up integrations with other school-related applications. For example, it'd be great to have a robust Point of Sale system integrated into the onSuite package.
  • Ultimately, a solution such as onSuite needs to be able to fulfill the end to end life-cycle requirements of a student in an educational institution.
The ON solution, I believe, is appropriate to any school that is seeking to streamline it's academic, administrative, and instructional needs. From the Principal's office to the faculty, students, and parents, this application meets most of the needs a school requires. It provides a robust Student Information System, Learning Management System, Content Management System, and Enrollment Management. Any school with a commitment to leveraging the synergies that the adoption of emerging technology provides will obtain value from the ON products and should explore it further.

The ON solutions is not appropriate for a school that is not prepared to dedicate the empowered resources needed to successfully plan, implement, and support ON applications.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We still have some internal 'kinks' to be worked out. One major positive outcome of adopting the ON solutions is the institution's discovery that it needs to have a robust set of formal policies and procedures for the use of the ON applications. Our ongoing work in this area will hopefully allow us to break down the silos that have developed over time. It'll also help to provide some 'grease' for the systemic cultural change that needs to take place for the full adoption of the application.
Though not quite there yet, we are gradually reaching a point of operational efficiency. We're still in the process of determining how to mine the data contained within the DB and allow it to help us make an intelligent data-driven decision. Cost savings is not apparent at this point. It was not a main priority in the selection and implementation process. It has definitely contributed towards achieving a 'connected' school solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 06, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions): "Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud's development and schoolhouse solutions including onCampus to enable our alumni, parents, administration, faculty, and students to access the information they need in one easy-to-access place. We had separate places people needed to go to for their information previously and the systems put everything in one spot. It has been pretty easy for people to use computers and phones to access their information in the system.
  • Allow students to see their homework
  • Enable teachers to maintain a gradebook
  • Update parents on academic progress
  • Integrating with third-party tools that extend learning
  • enable students to create and edit a learning portfolio
  • make a place to be able to do secure student testing
onCampus is well suited for use in providing teachers, parents, and students a learning management system.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
We have improved our communication with students about their assignments and parents about their children's' academic progress.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2018

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions): "Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions is being used across multiple departments and audiences. Our teachers use it to manage classrooms, take attendance, communicate with families and other teacher-specific items. Our administration uses it to set-up courses, set-up groups, and send mass communications. Families and students are using it to manage calendars, receive assignments and communications from teachers and coaches.
  • Integration across the modules.
  • Easy to use for families and students.
  • Cloud-based.
  • Deeper integration with additional Blackbaud products.
  • The reporting changes in progress are an improvement and we look forward to additional improvement.
Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions is great for schools that need a total school solution. The integration across the modules is helpful in keep communications consistent and preventing miscommunication. For schools that have legacy products, Registrar's Office and Admission's Office, they will have a new experience where you're no longer bound to a machine with a local install.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We're getting there. Change is difficult and as we learn more about the systems we're learning what other systems may be able to be replaced by Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions or no longer used.
Read this authenticated review

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Scorecard Summary

About Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions)

Blackbaud offers a unified student management system that helps K–12 private schools stay competitive, innovative, and sustainable.

Blackbaud Enrollment Management System (formerly onBoard®): Connecting all aspects of your admissions and re-enrollment process, Blackbaud Enrollment Management System, gives schools and families the ability to track progress from inquiry through acceptance, enrollment and tuition payment.

Blackbaud Learning Management System (formerly onCampus®): Manage schedules, transcripts, attendance and GPAs with an easy to use and intuitive administrative system. From academic and learning profiles to conduct and grading reports, Blackbaud Learning Management System has it covered and with the power of an integrated Learning Management System.

Blackbaud Student Information System (formerly onRecord®): Allowing school communities to manage, connect and share information with students, parents and the whole community, Blackbaud Student Information System was developed with direct input from our customers. We give teachers the easy tools they need to meet the demands of a modern private school.

Blackbaud School Website System (formerly onMessage®) Content Management System: Blackbaud’s intuitive content management system leverages all the information sources within your school community, keeping your site content fresh and dynamic. With easy to use tools you can easily update content, change design, add pages and create new sites with ease.


Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Features

Has featureEnrollment Management
Has featureStudent Information System
Has featureLearning Management System
Has featureContent Management System

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Screenshots

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Videos (3)

Watch Learn more about onBoard

Watch Learn more about onMessage

Watch Learn more about onCampus and onRecord

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Downloadables

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Integrations

View all Partners here: http://k12.blackbaud.com/partnernetwork/

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Competitors

Veracross, Senior Systems, FACTS Student Information System (formerly RenWeb)

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions (formerly Blackbaud K–12 ON Solutions) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada