Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
203 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 106)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 01, 2021
Brian Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is being used for all aspects of our school, from Prekindergarten 3 to Grade 12 and in all departments across the organization from teachers to administrators to business office to development office and athletics. Blackbaud Education Management Solutions helps us more effectively communicate with our constituents, manage the educational records aspects of the school, and helps educators with organizing their classes.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions provides a centralized place for students and parents to find all the information they need for their day-to-day lives from assignments to schedules to athletics and more.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allows for prospective families to progress logically through an admissions process and gives admissions managers the ability to track all aspects of the process.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allows constituents to quickly update their own contact information, putting them into control of how they are communicated with.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions has a very antiquated method for sending out email communications/newsletters (called Pushpages). Many other systems provide a more robust system.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions has been working towards an all-in-one scheduling system, but the current system does not work for all school setups, especially those with complex structures.
  • Blackbaud Education Management Solutions forward facing/public website solution works well but does not have the "flashiest" of feature sets that other solutions provide.
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions would be best for medium to large schools, mostly located in one centralized location. If you were going from a largely paper-based records/admissions management system, you would see great gains in efficiency with a product like this. Small schools would not see as much benefit to the services offered compared to the price point of the software.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions allowed our school to be more fully connected and share resources. However; while it does offer many services need in a school setting, it is not a one-stop shop. There are always different software out there that does not easily connect to the data managed through Blackbaud Education Management Solutions and therefore there is repeated manual data entry found in multiple offices campuswide.
For the most part, support is okay with Blackbaud Education Management Solutions. However, often times due to the wide range of features, it can be difficult to receive support immediately without the support representative having to consult with someone who specializes in the area with the issue. Previously, when Blackbaud Education Management Solutions was owned and managed solely by WhippleHill, Inc. and was much better and much more robust.
Read Brian Walker's full review
May 29, 2021
Rick Geyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud's Education Management Solution is used across our entire organization. It is the main database that drives our organizational activities. Admissions, Registrar, Billing Office, Teachers, Administrators, everyone uses the system is some way to help carry out their job functions. The main problem this system solves is providing access to key stakeholder data without the need to duplicate data or update data in multiple locations. It also acts as our primary communication tool to our families.
  • The Enrollment Management solution works well in providing a user friendly experience for potential students, and also does a good job of tracking candidates through the various phases of the application process.
  • The parent portal and the use of community groups works well for getting accurate communications out to the appropriates constituents. As a larger school, it was challenging making sure everyone was informed about the upcoming events and information that was pertinent to them. With the use of the various groups in Blackbaud's solution, we have been able to tailor our communication so that everyone gets the right communication without having to send everything to everybody.
  • Blackbaud has several modules, but they all connect back to a Core database, that way common biographical information is shared between the various modules, and if it is updated, it updates everywhere.
  • Their system has an Open API and is OneRoster and LTI compliant. This allows their system to easily connect to other learning tools and systems to share information without having to perform numerous exports and imports to keep information in sync.
  • I would like to see a wider array of fields available to their User Lists and Insight Designer. Currently, some information is only available through Advanced Lists, which is an older platform for querying data and is much more difficult for standard users to work with. Making more fields available to the User Lists would make it easier for standard users to gain access to the data they need without having to involve a data administrator or power user. Making all the fields available to the insight designer would allow me to build custom Dashboard for Administrators, which would make KPI data very accessible to those individuals and reduce my overhead to provide it.
  • I would like to see some workflow changes and enhancements made to their attendance module. While there are many great features, some of the workflows put in place make the use of this module hard to manage for larger schools.
  • I would like to see the user roles/permission module revamped to allow for more granularity when granting access to parts of the system. I know they are actively working on revamping this, but it is still currently an opportunity for improvement.
If you want to provide a more tailored user experience for your families, then I would recommend the Blackbaud solution. It is flexible enough to allow you to use the system in a way that best suits your school, and the seamless integration between the various modules provides a cohesive user experience. If you are a smaller school that does not have anyone with advanced technical expertise on your campus, it could be a challenge to get the system set up to meet your needs, but this can also be overcome with user training that Blackbaud can provide.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Blackbaud's solution has made us more efficient. We have been able to leverage their SKY API to create some custom automation pieces, and our internal and external communications have been improved. We do have improved insights, however I would like to see that process made easier (by providing more field access to the Insight Designer), so I do not have to produce my insight and forecasting reports outside the system.
Over the years they have worked hard to provide competent, well trained support staff. While I may not have always rated them this high, they have been performing at a pretty consistent level for a while now. Between using the knowledgebase, chat, or phone call options, I feel well supported when I need assistance.
Read Rick Geyer's full review
May 05, 2021
Jim Maier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used school-wide by faculty/staff, students, parents/guardians. It is our student information system. It replaced Blackbaud's Education Edge program. It has a very friendly user web interface for all users. The business problems it addresses is that the old Education Edge web portal was not as user-friendly and it was complicated to develop page content.
  • Very user-friendly for "non-tech" parents/guardians.
  • It covers all areas of school daily life. Academics, activities, athletics and community groups involving parents/guardians.
  • It is constantly improving in all areas of the user interface.
  • Some of the functionality of advanced lists require extra clicks to perform steps.
  • SKY lists are constantly improving, but have a ways to go. They are so easy to build and use but are limited to what can be displayed or filtered.
  • Bulk deleting of rosters would be a nice improvement.
It has been a great product for our parents/guardians. I have had very few of them contact me to say that they cannot figure out how to navigate and use the program. It would be nice to be able to build some "open to all users" front end web pages without having to purchase onMessage.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
It has been a great move going from Education Edge to ON. There are only a few queries and reports that people still complain about that EE was able to perform and ON cannot. One thing I value is the product is constantly improving. End users like us are able to submit feature requests. I find that extremely valuable.
Support is fantastic. Most issues can be handled with a short chat. Phone support wait times are very short. Staff product knowledge is great. They are all friendly and caring.
Read Jim Maier's full review
April 30, 2021
Gaby Schneider | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud Education Management is used across our entire school. Fantastic support and knowledge base.
In the Business Office - FENXT
Enrollment Management: Admissions - All aspects of Onboarding Enrollment Management, Records, Reporting
Academics: Registrar & Faculty - Academics, Class Scheduling, Grading, Attendance, Reporting, Parent Portal - Communication with parents, School Forms.
School Website: Communication, Events etc.
Core: All aspects of Core


  • Complete package from enrollment through to Smart Tuition billing.
  • Excellent support via chat. Very informative and responsive at all times.
  • Great reporting abilities.
  • Would love to be able to archive events.
  • Additional Fields in Applications (Enrollment Management).
Very well suited for all aspects for TK - 12 Schools.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Basically one stop shopping so to speak! Streamlined enrollment and student billing. Integration with Smart Tuition is a huge timesaver. Easy for parents to access all information regarding their students and to keep abreast of all happenings. Ability to create reports and to customize according to needs. Ability to give roles for access to whichever module is specific to people.
Over the years the support I have received has always been excellent. 99% of issues are resolved during the chat. The 1% has been followed up once the solution has been found.
Read Gaby Schneider's full review
April 27, 2021
Jennifer Cleary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the "on" products as a (somewhat) all-in-one web and database solution for the school. Currently we're using the full functionality of onMessage for our front end site, onRecord as the SIS, onBoard for Admissions, but are not using the full functionality of onCampus. We are still using Haiku as our LMS, and though we intend to explore fully using onCampus—i doubt we'll make the switch as it's user interface for teachers (i.e. posting assignments, classroom, etc) is not as streamlined. Also unable to use the Raiser's Edge sync tool (Connect RE) to streamline workflow as planned prior to purchase.
  • High level of customization (from the user's end) for onMessage pages
  • Nice user interface for several parts of the "back-end"/ portals
  • The chat help function is convenient
  • School forms (for online permission slips) - really awesome, and were a huge hit with parents. Except there is no way to organize prior years' forms, so I think they will be less than thrilled this year.
  • "Thinking through" features seems to be a problem, so most of them feel somewhat "incomplete." For example: School Forms are great, but without the ability to organize the dozens of prior years' permission forms for parents (i.e., re-order, or hide, or even change button color) the feature is going to go from great to terrible pretty quickly for parents. Same with SmartTuition integration, or the ConnectRE tool (which is perfect for maybe 40% of scenarios and requires manual exceptions for the rest,) Adding News is annoying (no WYSIWYG option for Header styles; can't enlarge the dialog box). Photo galleries are a problem when it comes to the responsive design. (No "lightbox" viewer, so any portrait images not only stretch to fill left to right, but also push content way down the page.) Navigation on the mobile display is ok, but requires an extra tap to get to a certain page. (i.e. Tap Admissions, then have to tap Admissions again, and then you see L2) I could go on about things that look/work great at first glance but still end up causing a headache. Still, by and large, the benefits are mostly worth the annoyances, though everything takes longer on my end to find workable solutions—including changing our own work practices to fit the website/database's demands.
  • The fact that the online event registration function isn't responsive is just plain ridiculous.
  • I'd love to see more ability to integrate, or even SSO, with other 3rd party solutions.
Workable when you have staff that can spend dedicated time with the products; troubleshooting, updating, managing, helping users, and finding creative work arounds.

Difficult to implement fully for the (natural) competing priorities of a school—i.e., should we use the onCampus LMS since there are benefit to our parents in seeing schedules/homework/etc, but more complicated to use for our faculty/students?
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
None have been achieved yet.
Chat is convenient, and for most questions have answers. However, not so good at helping to "think through" a creative workaround.
Read Jennifer Cleary's full review
May 04, 2021
Elaine Mouton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in all departments. The main advantage for us to have data integration across departments.
  • The availability of data to all constituents anywhere that you have internet access is vital.
  • The ability to view online data easily on every device is crucial. (responsive views).
  • Ease of use for Parents and Students has been critical. Students figure it out on their own. Written "how to" documents were hardly used by students.
  • Blackbaud is committing resources to always evaluate and improve their product. It is comforting to know that if there is functionality that you wish was better, it is only a matter of time and it will likely be improved.
  • We need personal profile data updates for parents to update their record in Tuition Management automatically.
  • We need to be able to view the feeder school on the student's academic record and not have to go to Enrollment Management to see this.
  • More scheduling rules like, "do not schedule X in the same semester as Y."
It is perfect for schools with students and parents who are always connected to a device. I am not sure if it exists, but it would not be great for a school with students and parents who do not have easy access to the internet.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Moving from hosting data on our own servers to Blackbaud servers has given me great peace of mind. I know when a hurricane hits, our data security is not based on our own preparedness. Much time is saved now that I am exporting data to send other departments rarely. I am super excited to have the ability now to do my own data imports.
In the past, I found that I often knew more than the support analyst that I was talking with. I have felt like support is much more informed now; especially impressed with those who are knowledgeable in EE and Education Management. I love being able to chat with support!
Read Elaine Mouton's full review
April 30, 2021
Kirsten Mayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently migrating from Education Edge to the new Blackbaud Education Management Solutions. We will use it across the entire organization. Currently we do still use Canvas but may eventually use the LMS. We are using it across the Lower, Middle and Upper School. We also use the Enrollment Management System for the Admissions Department.
  • Ease of use is great. Easy to view the information by parent and student and easy to schedule. Very intuitive to use.
  • Great user interface. The parents are enjoying being able to get the information in an easy format. They can easily log on and see what class their student is in and their daily attendance.
  • As Registrar, I enjoy how easy it is to update a room change or enter in new comments or notes on a student's records.
  • Reporting - Hard to print out a schedule matrix like we did in Education Edge. The new K-12 system needs a report similar to the Master Schedule in Education Edge. They have one named that, but it is nothing like the old option. The ability to print a room matrix would be great.
  • Reporting - printing out actual student schedules. Improve the ability to print an A/B schedule for students.
  • Ability to query data like in Education Edge. This is absolutely a must. The ability to get data out of the system is horrible compared to the previous Education Edge product we used from Blackbaud.
  • The biggest problem we have run into is that the new system does not support a student changing sections from 1st term to 2nd term. We use final grades, so the terms must be combined into a single Final Course Grade. This is something that Education Edge easily supported. It should have been discovered and brought up before we converted to K-12. Blackbaud should have a list of functionality that will go away when you migrate to the new system. These are both Blackbaud owned systems and they should be more responsible.
Needs improvement in reporting and the ability to query. The reporting leaves a lot to be desired. If it could be half as good as Education Edge that would be a huge improvement. I need the ability to print a report that has the master schedule and fits on one page. We need this by room number and by teacher - similar to what was offered in Education Edge. The current version crosses pages and does not keep the header rows of the matrix - making it impossible to read.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
We are hoping to improve the flow of information between parents, teachers, and students. Hopefully, they will all get used to going to a single location to gain the information they are looking for. This includes schedules, grades, athletics, and activities.

We also hope to smooth out the schedule and class registration process over the next few years. We will need the system to start to support the ability to change sections within a school year for a specific course and allow a Final Grade for that course to be used for GPA and transcripts.
To date, I have had a very good experience. The support at the conference was excellent. I was able to get help creating and updating our report card with the new report card builder.

I have had minimal need for support so far because we are still working with our consultant. He is very accessible and helpful when needed. I wish the consultants were more quickly trained on some of the new features - for example, the report card builder and transcript builder.
I find the user interface very friendly. It is easy to locate information that you need fairly quickly. The grading set up is a bit complex and there are so many areas that have to be set up. I feel that this could be simplified and redone. Also the athletics set up area and advisory could use an overall to be more consistent with the main functionality screens.
Read Kirsten Mayers's full review
April 30, 2021
Jim Robb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
St. Catherine's School uses Blackbaud education management for all divisions (age 3 through grade 12) for a student body of 100. We use the solutions for student information and learning management.
  • Helps students and parents track progress.
  • Helps teachers organize and present content, assessments, assignments and grades.
  • Helps administrators manage enrollment.
  • Interoperability between Blackbaud products ,not one database for all products
Blackbaud has served our big and complex school very well. We do partner with another Blackbaud school where we cross-enroll students in each other's schools. It would be helpful if there was a way to easily enroll any Blackbaud student in any Blackbaud school.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We were able to reduce the quantity and complexity of databases at our school and provide a mobile-friendly, platform-friendly solution to parents and students who are increasingly accessing products on the go. This has reduced our costs while meeting our customers where they are.
Working with Blackbaud for more than 10 years, we have seen the responsive nature of Blackbaud listening to schools and educational trends and creating solutions to respond to the needs of schools.
Read Jim Robb's full review
April 27, 2021
Rose Mary Herbert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Blackbaud Education Management Solutions across our entire school. We use RE NXT in our development office, FE NXT in our business office, and the tuition management and education management software for our parents and students.
  • Integrated systems making it easier to manage multiple places of data.
  • Ease of use--intuitive and quick to pick up how to use the software.
  • Great support--knowledgeable support to help when issues arise.
  • The tuition management system has room for improvement to deal with tuition discounts.
  • Better advanced training for the solutions.
  • Access for certain users (like teachers or managers) to see what parents and students see without having to grant too much access to the system.
Blackbaud Education Management has worked very well for our school. It is easy to navigate, requires little training, and is very intuitive. The system would work great for smaller schools with employees who wear many hats because of this. I also like that Blackbaud tries to listen to their customers and bring needed updates to the software.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
We have improved our efficiency since moving to Blackbaud Education Management Solutions because it is a connected solution that is easy to use. We currently use the communication tools, but would like to see some more flexibility in making newsletters that are more appealing.
Generally good support personnel although occasionally you will get someone who is new and maybe not completely familiar with the software.
Read Rose Mary Herbert's full review
April 27, 2021
Brendan Haney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Blackbaud on a daily basis for attendance, class pages, development, and website management. We are very excited to start using the schedule feature for students. This will allow us to track students and classes at any given time during the school day. This is a great feature, but not very easy to get set up.
  • Development database management through RE.
  • User end experience.
  • Online access to student documents.
  • The admin side of the education products section can be cumbersome to navigate.
  • Everything is built in a very visible block-like structure.
  • Hard to get customize information in and out of BB, most of the time it requires paying for consulting hours.
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is a very specific type of solution and if your school is very dynamic or has custom needs, the software can be somewhat restrictive. When we went to BB On Products we ran into several situations of a "round hole and square peg" so to speak.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
We have not yet achieved many of these items, but feel that the school and Blackbaud are moving toward the same end goals.
80% of the time I get a great support representative, but there are a few that could really use additional training in order to answer more advanced questions and issues.
Outward facing it is very nice. For you in the backend there will be frustration
Read Brendan Haney's full review
April 27, 2021
Patty Callisch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for both our Preschool and Elementary/Middle School campus. It is used for admissions, enrollment, scheduling of classes, assignments, grade books, report cards our website and events such as our summer programs. We also use it to push our our weekly newsletter to parents We also track attendance and we now use it to send out required forms. It has streamlined our processes for students moving from preschool to elementary, collecting forms and giving parents visibility into students assignments. Parents can communicate with teachers through the tools available. Teachers love the easy of processing grades for report cards.
  • Report cards are quicker to complete with the calculate functionality.
  • Recording grades for assignments and comments is better, no lost papers.
  • Collecting back to school forms is more efficient.
  • Website
  • Events and registrations
  • Pushpage
  • The ability to assign checklist to preschool transfers.
  • It is not always easy to find the report you need due to naming of reports.
  • Contracts for Preschool students because they change constantly
Once you get familiar with the tools it is great and is a time saver.
The training classes are long and not always convenient to take 3 hours out of your schedule to do.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
I was not here when the decision was made to change systems and what they were using in the past.
I do know there was resistance in the beginning due to change but now it is a more positive attitude from staff.
As we use the product and get more familiar with it, it is becoming a more used tool and we are looking to eliminate services out of Blackbaud to save cost.
The staff on the support team are very helpful and patient. It is good to know that you can use both online and on the phone support.
Most team members seem to know how to use the product well but I have had a few instances where that did not seem to be the case but it may be because of the turnover in support.
Read Patty Callisch's full review
April 23, 2021
Glen Renzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud Education Management Solutions in our digital marketing school. I am a programming teacher and this tool has allowed me to automate my day-to-day activities allowing me to be better organized and have all the student data I need in the cloud. Blackbaud is a tool that integrates almost all aspects of administrative management and data storage that an educational institution needs. Our work with the application starts from the moment a student enters until the end of his or her studies. We give the application a good rating even though it requires a lot of training for its use since it is complicated in some aspects.
  • The application has provided us with a complete management of the administrative processes in our institution, from providing us with an enrollment form to the billing process through Smart Tuition.
  • We can send pre-established contracts to our educators online.
  • It also allows us to open documents containing student information in case we need to consult or edit any data.
  • We have problems with the customer service that integrates the application, users who need support to solve a problem we have to manage them in person or through other channels.
  • Also, when creating and configuring an admission or billing form for the first time, we consider that it requires an advanced and prolonged level of knowledge and time.
We consider that the program is an indispensable tool to automate and digitalize all the administrative processes that an institution needs. With this application we have the opportunity to put aside the use of paper and manage information and store data digitally. Therefore we recommend it 100%.
  • Improved insights
We were able to have a very advanced and relative improvement thanks to the fact that our students from our marketing school have been able to specialize better thanks to Blackbaud Education Management. The process has been consistent and the management of all the tools has streamlined the management of learning and delivery of reports.
Read Glen Renzi's full review
May 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the entire "On" suite. It is being used across our entire school. We are able to have our teachers use it for their teacher web pages, parents use it for the directory and to see student information, we use it for events and for prospective parents. We send out pushpages or e-communications to all our constituencies. We also integrate other databases for our nurses database through Schooldoc and Titan HST.
  • The "front end" marketing side of the site is great with its mobile-friendly platform. The site looks very professional, yet student-centered.
  • Behind the password, class pages are informative and students can have access to their homework and schedules.
  • The site is there for parents to login and access information that they need from the school at their fingertips.
  • Parents have access to a school online directory and can assess parent-related links, resources, photos, and class inforation
  • The entire On record module needs immense improvement. It's extremely clunky and hasn't been updated in ages. It's an afterthought.
  • The event registration piece is not mobile friendly. We have had tons of issues with people having problems signing up for events on their phones.
  • The reporting and lists functions can be clunky and difficult to execute.
I really feel that if I took my business somewhere else I would have other issues that I would need to address. Ever since Whipplehill was acquired by Blackbaud, it has been less than a pleasing experience. Long wait times for support - not enough support. My account rep takes days to return my emails. It's really not a great way to run a business. They are trying to be cutting edge but they are behind with product development. I feel that is something Finalsite has done a lot better than Blackbaud.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
We do have a connected school solution, but it can get clunky to run reports and really cumbersome to do basic things like upload video and news stories. They don't have a lot of automation.
Lately the support has been less than pleasing. Long wait times. Last support issue I had, I asked for someone to call me and they just didn't. My account rep barely responds to my emails.
It's really not that great. The report running is difficult, and I can never seem to get the data I need.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school uses Blackbaud for the school website, for enrollment management, for class and employee management, for parent and alumni outreach, and for fundraising. Every part of the school uses Blackbaud systems. The biggest benefit has been having all of our information in systems that connect with one another. It has helped with communication and organization.
  • Allows sharing of content between classes and teachers.
  • Provides good integration of event and news items between internal and external (public website) systems.
  • Provides a single place for assignments, grades, and feedback.
  • Creating schedules is extremely complex and doesn't provide good opportunities for selecting between different options.
  • Customer support is sometimes extremely slow at finding and offering solutions to problems.
  • Terminology is sometimes hard to figure out: the system will use the same or extremely similar names for multiple different features or options (grades vs grading; assignment; assessment).
  • Knowledge base is mostly filled with articles that are outdated, offering instructions that are no longer helpful because the system has changed too much since the article was written, and the steps/menus that are listed no longer exist.
Well-suited to an environment that has the resources/manpower to dedicate significant time to training people to use the system, and there are people available to function as system administrators but who do not have much else in the way of responsibilities.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Things have started getting more efficient, but we are still working through some of the initial stages of getting set up, so many tasks still seem incredibly inefficient because they entail a lengthy learning process of figuring out how to get them set up. External communications are smoother than they were with just email, allowing updating of information in real time, but the internal messaging system is incredibly limited.
It is a helpful and effective system, but it also often seems overly complex, and there are a number of glitches. Many times, performing the correct task doesn't actually do what it is meant to do, and the task has to be repeated a number of times. Support staff have indicated this is because of caching issues, and so the same action has to be repeated numerous times before the system catches up. As another common example, clicking on the gradebook for a course sometimes opens it in the same window, and sometimes as a new window. Inconsistencies like this make the system as a whole unpredictable and thus makes it feel somewhat unreliable.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackbaud EMS as our SIS and LMS across our two divisions (middle and upper schools). It is our main data hub that serves us well when we acquire additional solutions. The BB user ID that is automatically assigned within EMS is used across multiple platforms and allows for easy cross-referencing of constituent records.
  • Customer Support: Overall, the majority of analysts are knowledgeable and helpful. If they are not able to directly help with an issue they will escalate to appropriate departments and keep you informed of progress.
  • Partnerships: While the EMS can act as the whole solution, not all schools fit that mold. K12 Partnerships allow institutions to find the best individual fit while remaining connected via API/SSO, etc.
  • Roles and Security: I know this is currently under development, but at present, it is difficult to make sure users have the appropriate permissions. Cloning roles to customize doesn't always work as it can allow for users to have access to information they do not need.
  • Wednesday Releases: I have personally found that there can be larger-scale issues that occur as a result of the Wednesday releases.
You can't beat the full portfolio of EMS, FE/FENXT, RE/RENXT. Blackbaud has become the standard for independent schools. The complaint I most frequently receive from constituents is the lack of customization. However, they don't fully realize it is a canned database and not a custom database built from scratch.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
As mentioned previously, support is great for the majority of the time. There are instances where you are clearly getting someone who is new to the products and may struggle a bit but that will happen anywhere you go :).
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization, from our senior administration, to our faculty and staff, to our parents, and even to our middle school students use Blackbaud and access On Solutions. There is a core team of staff - myself and one to two other individuals - who use the On suite on the back end and help manage our internal resources. The program allows our community to stay connected, to gain access to incredibly important resources and information, and helps our admission team manage students.
  • All-in-one service
  • Linking to external programs to help manage the different databases an organization uses
  • Drag and drop user experience
  • Limited capabilities on back end design/templates
  • Downtime in OnMessage/Pushpages
  • Downed pages/URLs not working
I think that Blackbaud On Solutions work really well for smaller elementary school organizations, like mine. Something bigger would probably outgrow what BB has to offer and wouldn't enjoy the experience as much. BB helps our admission team take families from inquiry to admitted, and then helps our development office manage event registrations, registrar functions/class enrollment, and is the way through which I manage all communications to our community. I also use it to reach out to alumni and new families (and appreciate the way you can break out distribution groups in OnMessage).
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
We underwent an extensive audit to see if we should stay with the suite that BB offers or if we should start to cherry-pick revives we need (for internal grading and scheduling) of if we should create a custom Wordpress site and use plugins to do what BB used to for us but with the features, bells, and whistles that BB could not satisfy. The contract we have with BB expires in the fall, so we will soon we making a decision.
Support from analysts has been stellar, both in the way that they have answered my queries (big and small) everyday and are always ready to help and explain something I don't understand. The specialist teams that sometimes step in to handle larger issues are prompt and friendly, as well. I would say that almost all of my questions were answered and problems resolved whenever I reach out to support, which is incredibly appreciated. Oftentimes, the school comes to me when something is "broken" and needs to be fixed with incredible urgency and I have always felt like my sense of urgency is supported by the team at Blackbaud.
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire school uses the Blackbaud K-12 “ON” Solutions. It is great having a fully integrated system and integrated with Raisers Edge. We also use the SMART Tuition system. Blackbaud has made some great improvements over the years. Our Entire school from Admissions to Development to Business Office uses the Blackbaud systems. Our new website throught the ON Products has been a great improvement and the log in access has been much more organized then our old site. We have simplified a lot using the new system.
  • Integration with our Website
  • Email broadcast fully integrated so no more uploading data to a third party system
  • Resource boards are very handy in organizing important information
  • Enrollment Contracts are integrated with Blackbaud Tuition Management which has made the parent process and Admissions /Business Office much easier
  • Clicking thru from record to record no next or back button
  • Advanced lists are not so user friendly to an average user
Blackbaud Education Management is a great tool for a K-12 school. Everything is integrated from students biographical information to family information onto Academics, Website and much more. We have truly become a paperless school and no longer take in school payments with all the forms that can be used with online payments.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
Efficiency has definitely improved as this system is very user friendly and brings many departments of the school together in one system. With everything online in Admissions it has helped not having paper flow especially since last year when we were virtual for a long period of time. Work flow did not stop.
Always very helpful and informative. They always have an answer or are willing to research it. Also if the system has been down in after hours the emergency support has been helpful. I do use Chat primarily and I find if you ask a very detailed question they get straight to the point and support is very quick.
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across all divisions (lower, middle, and upper schools). As previous users of the Education Edge products (NetClassroom and FAWeb), this product allowed us to have a relatively seamless transition into a much better SMS interface. Better for parents, better for students, and better for teachers.
  • I like the ability for teachers to customize their individual bulletin boards for their classes. Allows them to provide information and enrichment materials that students can access at any time.
  • I like the SSO integration available for things like PTC Wizard conference scheduling software.
  • I like the ability to imitate parents\teachers as it makes troubleshooting issues easier.
  • There should be the ability to making changes to the interface to help the visually impaired.
  • The changeover to the Blackbaud ID was unnecessary, consider restoring LDAP.
  • Some of the management interfaces to do tasks in Core are clunky, they could be redesigned to be more clear and streamlined,.
It is certainly well suited to any system that is currently using Education Edge. Obviously, I believe that it is appropriate for any school system looking to have an SMS that allows for rich content would be happy with this. It is less appropriate for lower grades. Perhaps a change could be an interface that is more appropriate to the needs of, say, a 2nd-grade teacher.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
I believe that for the most part, we have met all of our goals. Certainly having a common interface among teachers, students and parents has made using the product much easier. Automation is still kind of where it was previously. I'm not sure our teachers take advantage of the ways they can automate certain processes. Being able to directly email out of the interface has improved teacher\parent communication. The cloud implementation has helped and hurt—students can connect from any machine anywhere but are dependent on the quality of that connection. Overall, the good far outweighs the bad.
For the most part, I find that you can get problems solved pretty easily through the use of the chat feature. Phone calls can solve more complex issues, but you can also find that there seem to be problems that they just declare unsolvable or say they are looking into to repair in the next update.
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is used for our Admission office, the LMS platform is used across all divisions, Smart Tuition is linked in for our Business Office, and we also use the Blackbaud platforms for our Advancement and Marketing departments.
  • Incredibly easy to use interface for the User (parents, applicants, etc.).
  • Ease of gathering data - Helpful lists, formulas, and reports.
  • Time saver - Especially in the Admission office. Since everything is done digitally from the user through the employee, there is no need to hand-enter data; you just click the button, and everything imports or exports as needed!
  • In EMS, we would love for custom fields to show on the Contact Card and be able to pull into our linked platforms (Raiser's Edge, Finalsite).
  • We would love to be able to delete old contracts, instead of just archiving them. Archiving only helps in certain areas, but full lists of contracts exist in some of the dropdown menus, which can be confusing for the employee if they are not familiar with all of the various contract types, titles, and years.
For any tuition-paying school that uses an Admission process, the Blackbaud EMS platform has been a lifesaver! It is streamlined, user-friendly, and allows up to gather and share data in clean and efficient ways. If your school does not use an Admission process, the LMS platform is still valuable for class scheduling, attendance, course comments, etc. Having a digital platform is easy and convenient for families.

Scenarios, where it would be less appropriate, would perhaps be very small schools. Not that the software wouldn't be helpful or useful, but for schools with limited enrollment and staff, it just may not be necessary or the cost may not be justified.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Across all offices, [the] time has been saved by utilizing Blackbaud EMS. Across all offices has connectivity been increased as data flows from one to the next without interruption because we are [all] using the same systems. External communications such as contract mailings are streamlined in a uniform fashion.
There have been a few times where the response from BB support has taken an extremely long time. But mostly, our experiences with calling in or chatting with BB support have been positive.
Read this authenticated review
June 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the BB K-12 products across our school, it is our centralized system for everything from managing inquires, to LMS and SIS functions, to financial management and alumni relations. It allows us to manage one central database as opposed to many different systems. This ensures our data is generally up to date and accurate for all our departments to access. It also ensures a good user experience - one login as opposed to one for each department.
  • Centralized System - one login
  • Sleek user interface
  • Excellent support
  • LMS product is not best in breed - limited functionality compared to Google Classroom etc.
  • Reporting and analytics are lacking.
  • Anything outside of the standard deliverables are billable services.
It is very well suited to any independent/private school with funds directed towards enhanced software systems. It is really great for parental access in terms of providing a really smooth user interface and ease of use. It does require a fair amount of knowledge to do anything involving custom reports and analytics, and in some cases is incapable of providing the data needed.
  • Operational efficiency
  • A connected school solution
Support is generally very good, the live chat is great. One area of improvement here is support is always closed on American holidays, as a Canadian school this has proven to be challenging more than once.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an academy, educating students from 1 year old through seniors in high school. We use [Blackbaud Education Management Solutions] to manage student data, maintain academic records, process communication with parents, and connect to our fundraising solutions. Teachers use the gradebook portion on a day to day basis for daily grading, and those grades are processed to be printed on custom report cards for our academy.
  • Versatility in product options -many components are customizable to meet the needs of the individual school.
  • Customer support - options between email, chat, and phone provide access to a knowledgeable and friendly associate when needed (during business hours).
  • All areas of school life seem to be covered - space to work with athletics, clubs/activities, academics, counseling, business office, advancement, etc.
  • It takes a long time to learn to navigate the interface. It's not always very intuitive
  • While the knowledgebase and support are generally helpful, when you are looking for a quick answer to something it's not always easy to access quickly. Knowledgebase takes a lot of time to navigate to find just what you want.
  • Report building is a skill that takes time to learn and there aren't a lot of training options to learn it. I've had to learn by trial and error.
I love the program. After diving head first into it for 2 years I've become really accustomed to speaking the lingo and navigating the various areas. It is a major expense though for a school our size. In that vain it's not well suited to smaller schools on a smaller budget. And it takes a team of dedicated individuals really diving in to learn it all. If school admins think it will be an easy transition and they don't need to take the training seriously they are mistaken.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
Somewhat. External communication has actually decreased from our previous system as there is no internal email system to automatically send a quick message out. We've had to invest in another system that pairs with BB for Emergency notifications. And we are constantly pulling email lists to send emails from our own email addresses for quick mail (not very quick). This was much easier in another system.
It was very weak for a while there, but they seem to have invested a lot recently in getting support techs who actually know the program to be available. Infinitely better in the recent past.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By the entire organization. It's the data management system of our school, the backbone of our data systems.
  • Easy to use, simple and clear interface.
  • Logic and data flow designed to suit needs of educational institutes.
  • User-friendly interface and functions for administrators and developers.
  • Some features in the system are outdated and difficult to navigate.
  • Poor integration with certain reporting system required by the ministry.
  • The learning management part is not considered to the ideal one by our school.
Good for independent schools in the US, probably not so good in Canada due to lacking reporting support.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • A connected school solution
  • Ontario transcript
  • Ontario university application and OnSIS data reports
  • Enhanced learning management solution
  • Full integration with certain data systems used by other non-teaching departments
Great support team, very responsive and great solution overall.
Read this authenticated review
January 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackbaud Education Management is used across our entire school particularly for constituent data, admissions tracking, student portal, and for teachers to track their classes and grades/report cards.
  • Design is aesthetically pleasing to look at.
  • User friendly layout.
  • Cloud based
  • Easy to update constituent profiles.
  • Wish there was a version of Address Finder for Education Management where the addresses can automatically be updated like in Raiser's Edge.
  • It would be nice for the analysis dashboard to include other groups of constituents in addition to "Students."
It is well suited in the areas of admissions, teacher's management of classes and students, and students to be able to keep track of their educational life.

Online forms could use some improvements. We use the Online Express form from Raiser's Edge and it looks much better than what the Education Management forms have to offer. Whether it's for donations, t-shirt sales, registrations, etc., online forms could use a bit of a make-over.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
We improved our operational efficiency drastically. This was in large part due to watching as many educational videos on Blackbaud as possible and frequently meeting with co-workers who managed our Blackbaud products.
Just depends on the representative you get. Some happen to be experts on the problem you are having, and others don't know much about it.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire K-12 school community uses Blackbaud. It is seamless, intuitive and easy to use. I love the Idea Bank, where users can post and vote on ideas. Blackbaud will then work on these requests and make adjustments to their system. Customer service is on point and you can request one on one appointments for help.
  • Intuitive
  • Nice looking interface
  • Family friendly
  • More bulk complete options, we are a huge school.
  • A separate Q&A option in training sessions.
  • Perhaps have people on hand during sessions for individual help.
It is great for worklists, data management, and student tracking. Its admission review process can be fleshed out a bit more. A more customized program would be more helpful because of the different needs of different schools. Overall, it is a robust program, but it's the biggest strength is that it continues to be updated.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • A connected school solution
For the most part, yes, this is a work in progress. Our parents are not thrilled to have 4 usernames and passwords for school-related websites such as tuition and health, etc. We are excited that all of these programs will be merged under Blackbaud, making a more customer service friendly experience.
It appears the customer service reps are available and eager to help. Thank you!
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire school is using Blackbaud Education Management, including administrators, teachers, parents, and students. It is keeping most of our data in one place, although we do still have a few different databases for various things.
  • Data Management - Family data is organized easily and it is very user-friendly.
  • Attendance - This is easy to manage for all involved.
  • Enrollment - online contracts are convenient for school and families.
  • The "new" report card builder is archaic - not easy to format and not very intelligent.
  • Financial aid awards can be difficult to manage unless you use Smart Tuition.
  • Scheduling of school tours is frustratingly difficult.
If you don't have any sort of system in place already, this might be a good option. If you are coming from another system, you may be frustrated that a lot of what you are used to doing is now more difficult.
  • Operational efficiency
  • Advanced automation
  • Improved insights
  • Improved internal and external communications
  • Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment
  • Increased scalability due to cloud deployment
  • A connected school solution
I can't say that we've achieved any of the above yet - hopefully in time. Except maybe "a connected school solution" - that part is true.
The support team is very responsive! I would give them a 10, except that often the answer is that the system just can't do what we need it to or is experiencing a technical difficulty and we just need to wait for it to be fixed.
Read this authenticated review

What is Blackbaud Education Management Solutions?

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions is a unified student management system for K–12 private schools.

Blackbaud Enrollment Management System™: Gives schools and families the ability to track admissions progress from first impressions all the way through the application process to acceptance, enrollment, and tuition payment.

Blackbaud Learning Management System™: Track students' academic performance and progression with 24/7 cloud access to submissions, assignments, discussions, online communities and tools.

Blackbaud Student Information System™: A source of data and information, ranging from schedules and grades to course requests and attendance history.

Blackbaud School Website System™: It allows users to leverage all the information sources within a school community for website content purposes. It allows schools to update content, change design, add pages, and create new sites with ease.

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Screenshots

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Videos (3)

Watch Learn more about Blackbaud Enrollment Management System

Watch Learn more about Blackbaud School Website System

Watch Learn more about Blackbaud Learning Management System and Blackbaud Student Information System

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Downloadables

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Integrations

View all Partners here: http://k12.blackbaud.com/partnernetwork/

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Competitors

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Blackbaud Education Management Solutions Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Blackbaud Education Management Solutions's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses Blackbaud Education Management Solutions?

The most common users of Blackbaud Education Management Solutions are from Mid-size Companies and the Education Management industry.