OneDrive Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
573 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 96)

Dave Becker | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Cloud Storage Solution for Microsoft Suite Users

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Drag and drop uploading is very easy to use.
  • The ability to create folders to help organize files is nice.
  • When uploading a new version of a file, with the same file name, OneDrive often looks as if it's beginning to upload the new version but then after a moment, freezes and prompts you to approve the overwrite. It's enough of a pause that you think you don't need to do anything and the file will upload, only to come back and find out that nothing has actually happened. It just takes too long to realize that it's the same file name.
  • Moving a file from one destination in OneDrive to another (from one folder to another, for instance) is very clunky.
Read Dave Becker's full review
Matthew Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

OneDrive Storage Centre

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Permission levels, shared links, offline version.
  • Completely customizable to reflect departments, projects or digital filing systems.
  • Would be nice to have OCR support - that is to photograph a typed or handwritten document and upload and convert to a Word doc/PDF.
  • Convert PDF to Word, etc.
Read Matthew Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

OneDrive - A Great Replacement for Personal Servers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User Experience - OneDrive is easy to use. It's natively integrated on everyone's computers after downloading it from our App portal. It's just like using local file management on your computer. You can easily tell when files are confirmed to be uploaded with intuitive green check marks.
  • Web Access - If for some reason you need to access your files from a browser instead of natively, the experience is still positive. When opening a OneDrive file in browser, you can edit in browser with the browser office apps.
  • Mobile Access - Accessing files on the go is critical these days. The OneDrive mobile app is easy to use and allows you to see all of your files and files shared with you. Paired with other O365 apps, you can also edit files on the go which is very convenient. The O365 mobile apps are great!
  • Sending Links - Though you can easily share links to files from the web experience, it isn't the same on the native experience. It would be nice if you could right click on a file to share its location with someone vs. opening the office application to share with others.
  • File Character Restrictions - This isn't just with OneDrive, but sometimes files will not upload due to an unsupported character in the file name.
Read this authenticated review
Lukas Sundahl, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

OneDrive all the way to the top!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OneDrive allows quick upload from desktop files.
  • OneDrive gives folder storage ability just like desktop PC.
  • The user interface could be improved but overall it functions well.
  • It would be nice if the preview feature displayed when clicking on a file instead of needing to right click and choose from the drop down menu.
Read Lukas Sundahl, MBA's full review
Joel Brache | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Great Feature-Rich Cloud Storage with Native Windows 10 Integration

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OneDrive does a great job of keeping file version history. I have had to use this feature many times and it is very simple to use. This one feature has saved my butt many times.
  • OneDrive synchronizes across devices very quickly. There have been many instances when I have added files online and, within seconds, saw the file show up on my local computer. This happens the other direction also. I am very impressed and satisfied with the speed of syncing in all directions.
  • The OneDrive app on my phone has been particularly helpful since it automatically syncs my photos (usually within seconds) and allows me access to all my files.
  • I wish OneDrive would allow you to sync multiple personal/individual accounts to your computer. At this time, you can only sync one account at a time. That means that my personal OneDrive and individual corporate OneDrive can't be synced to my computer at the same time.
  • OneDrive has a file size limitation of 15 GB. I know that that is a very large amount, but I have several files that are larger than 15 GB that I wish I could get to sync. I'm hoping that file size limitation changes in the future.
Read Joel Brache's full review
Nikhil Deshpande | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2020

Secure cloud storage for your documents.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Microsoft Office 365 is the main office productivity suite used widely. OneDrive offers documents to be saved from desktop Office applications such as Word, Excel, and others. Documents can also be created from the mobile app.
  • It allows a browser interface to work on documents. Documents are saved automatically when working through a browser.
  • Saving documents directly to OneDrive from Office 365 desktop applications can be challenging sometimes. I have faced issues wherein the local copy did not sync with OneDrive.
  • I have faced performance issues while working on documents from the mobile app. However, I rarely work on Office documents from my phone, so it is not a major issue.
Read Nikhil Deshpande's full review
Tom Wondra | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Great backup tool for small business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OneDrive is super easy to implement.
  • OneDrive doesn't require any specific technical expertise to use it.
  • I can't speak to larger organization use cases, so don't know how well OneDrive would work for larger orgs.
  • OneDrive does seem more localized, so I really view it as a tool I use with my files.
Read Tom Wondra's full review
Alicia Meyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Compatible with Microsoft, Weak as a Stand-Alone Option

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OneDrive is available online and on mobile platforms. The connection between the two enables employees who work beyond the traditional office setting to access important documents at all times.
  • OneDrive syncs with the network users to automatically load contact information. Sharing is easy. Simply type in another employee or student name, and their email immediately pops up.
  • OneDrive works on the mobile app, but updates made online are often slow to update on the app. I would like to see an instantaneous connection.
  • Finding shared documents on OneDrive is a challenge, and I often find myself searching for documents and folders. A new organization system would increase its functionality.
Read Alicia Meyer's full review
Paul Weber | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

A simple sync that is built into Windows

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sync - OneDrive does a great job having files available across all devices, particularly the on-demand sync available on Win10 and newer.
  • Backup - I've used file versions and folder versions multiple times to revert to an older copy or undo an accidental deletion.
  • Processing changes - This can take quite a while, particularly when a large number of files have changed or after a reboot.
  • Syncing multiple accounts - It's possible, but not as intuitive as some other cloud storage apps.
Read Paul Weber's full review
Omer Yaqoob | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2019

OneDrive is simply the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration with Windows 10 and Office apps.
  • Intuitive interface and folder management.
  • We can edit the documents online and sharing them with others is relatively easy.
  • We cannot open password protected Excel files online.
  • Overall, it is Microsofts best work and there are no other cons.
Read Omer Yaqoob's full review
Kelly Wasden | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2019

Great way to centralize all files - The OneDrive to rule them all

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Current copies of updated docs
  • Ease of use with mobile app/Desktop
  • Seamless integration within Microsoft ecosystem
  • Late to the game with Dropbox, Box, etc
  • Need to double down on their app access like their desktop experience
  • Opening up additional file access like MacOS related
Read Kelly Wasden's full review
John Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

My review of Microsoft's Storage tool: OneDrive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gives you 15 GB free space to store your precious data.
  • Links you with other applications of Microsoft by just a click away.
  • A very secure and safe platform which prevents you from all sorts of malware.
  • It should give more space than 15 GB for free because it is used quickly.
  • It gives support to a limited size of the document which can be annoying.
  • Sometimes the files that are uploaded are altered which leads to mismanagement and irritation for the user.
  • Although still being very safe, it is still prone to hackers which can be a worry.
Read John Carter's full review
Emily Sullivan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Cost effective cloud storage

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It came with our Office 365 license and was very easy to install and set up.
  • Decent amount of included storage.
  • Flexible options regarding which folder to sync at which device.
  • Security.
  • File sharing with other Office 365 users can be a bit confusing.
Read Emily Sullivan's full review
Arnab Mukherjee | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Robust and User Friendly Data Storage Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Data availability when using a different system. I save documents on my work computer and I can access it from my personal computer when logged in using the same corporate account.
  • There is no need for an external drive to plug in and copy data.
  • Speed of data synchronization.
  • Storage restriction. Since this is being shared there will be a restriction on how much data you can save.
Read Arnab Mukherjee's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2020

My experience using OneDrive.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A big strength is the full compability with Microsoft tools (Excel, Word, PPT, etc.).
  • It is very easy and simple to use and to organise files in folders.
  • New features would make OneDrive more useful as part of project management, especially when there are several people or areas collaborating and working on the same file (simple flows, additional controls of versioning, etc.).
  • A simple preview of each file (before opening it) would be interesting, especially when we have so many files stored.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (73)
8.7
Video files (84)
8.1
Audio files (78)
8.2
Document collaboration (90)
8.8
Access control (91)
8.5
File search (96)
8.2
Device sync (94)
8.3
User and role management (81)
8.4
File organization (92)
8.4
Device management (75)
8.3
Performance (94)
8.2
Reliability (95)
8.4
Storage Reports (71)
8.5

About OneDrive

OneDrive from Microsoft is a cloud storage and file syncing service.
Categories:  Cloud Storage

OneDrive Integrations

OneDrive Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No