OneNote Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
614 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 58)

Gavin Scott-Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

OneNote to rule them all.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is really great for taking quick notes. It is also great for smaller 'documents' that you will reference frequently. I think that it is less well suited for more full document management. OneNote is NOT Microsoft Word, and OneNote is NOT Microsoft Excel. If you keep this in mind. Then OneNote will be great!
Read Gavin Scott-Miller's full review
Kavita Thakur | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

OneNote for every note

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is well suited if your purpose is to take notes, share with the team as it allows you to tag people, notes, calendars, etc. It syncs well with your desktop app, so you can access anything anywhere you want. I like how many different formatting options there are, and its syncing ability. I use one note for business meetings for note-taking, and I love how I can upload screenshots or pictures, charts, and graphs, etc.
Read Kavita Thakur's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

A very well put together product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is well suited for companies that are looking to manage their meetings in an very organized way. OneNote allows companies to keep track of past topics from previous meetings and to keep track of important actions that need to be completed by employees.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Harbin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Onenote - excellent for collaborative brainstorming!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Onenote is excellent for less formal brainstorming and collaboration. My go-to uses are in meetings with others where I hand-write notes (I'm using a surface pro with stylus). Where greater structure and task management are needed, you'll likely need to supplement with a different product. Email notifications could also be improved, which is again where a more structured program might be useful if you need task management pieces.
  • I've often thought of it as my digital 3-ring binder, which others have also found easy to acclimate to compared to other similar products.
Read Justin Harbin's full review
Jeff Henkel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

OneNote Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote works for copying web addresses and web articles. If you like to have all your resources in one place and want to organize them by topic or otherwise, OneNote is perfect. I have used OneNote only slightly for entering fresh data and ideas and it seems to work well. I just love that instead of having to copy or print documents or webpages all over the place I can have everything in one place.
Read Jeff Henkel's full review
Jill Liegghio | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

You MUST, MUST, MUST try OneNote. It will literally revolutionize the way you stay organized.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

One Note is fantastic for keeping track of information. I find it especially useful for meeting notes, allowing you to mark items as open, and create Outlook tasks with due dates. You can keep track of the people who attended the meeting, you can link files or attach files to share in the moment or just to share for your future use. I get it, not everyone likes to bring a laptop or a tablet to a meeting because maybe it feels too impersonal - but this tool is so powerful, I find it hard to believe anyone would choose a sticky note or paper after seeing what this can do.
Read Jill Liegghio's full review
Lukas Sundahl, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

OneNote is the one you need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is well suited when you have data that can be organized by department, job, contract, etc. Each tab in OneNote allows you to quickly add documents and hyperlinks to quickly get users the data they would need instead of navigating a shared network drive. OneNote allows you to quickly create new Notebooks allowing users to move to a new notebook at a specific time interval.
Read Lukas Sundahl, MBA's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

The OneNote You'll Need

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is good when you want to keep an ongoing record of notes. It has a standard organizational structure to start off with that will be sufficient for a large majority of note keeping. It is extremely useful when you want to maintain your notes on any device without having to worry about saving separate documents for each note and then having to worry about being able to access the notes from another computer. OneNote, however, does not replace the other products in the Office Suite such as Word or Excel.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

OneNote Is Like the Jam to Outlook's Peanut Butter

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for capturing weekly departmental task lists. For example, each week we create a new page in a shared departmental notebook. In this new page, each department member enters his/her top 3 accomplishments for the week and the top 3 things which the member will attempt to accomplish in the coming week. We then use this page during our Monday morning stand-up meeting and it helps provide an agenda, structure, and discussion points for the meeting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

One Note is your one stop shop for note taking!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is extremely well suited if you have Notes that generally fall into less than, say, 10 categories. That makes it easy to set up 10 different notebooks, or 10 different sections within a single notebook for those topics. Any more than that, and the hierarchical model starts to break down, and that's where tag-based organization becomes stronger. However, if you have a small number of categories, I prefer the hierarchical way that OneNote organizes, making it generally pretty easy to find the content you were looking for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

A must-have if you use MS Office

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you use Microsoft Office products then OneNote should be your go-to tool for note-taking. You can have private notebooks that can be sorted by projects and pages (meaning you can organize a LOT of notes quickly) and you can also share certain pages with other people so you can collaborate together. It also tracks changes between different users, similar to Word, which makes it easier to know who made certain changes and when. If you are not a user of Office then there are other options that may integrate into your work utilities better, but for my company, it's a no brainer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Awesome Cloud Solution For Managing Documents

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote has a great UI and is a simple and robust solution to manage files from a centralized location. This can be used for both professional as well as personal purposes for managing the documents, pictures, and other files from any place.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

OneNote - Great for Note Taking and Task Management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is appropriate for personal use by employees. It's really useful for individual employees who need help with task management or who take in a lot of information as part of their jobs.

It is not great for collaboration as everyone has different note-taking styles. While OneNote accommodates individual note-taking styles, it is not great for collaboration because of how customizable it is.
Read this authenticated review
Jill Dickert | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

OneNote makes collaboration easy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is definitely well suited for creating process documents for a manual or other type of guidebook for a large audience. I also personally found it incredibly helpful when attending conferences as I was able to devote a section to each session. OneNote allows the user to easily organize files and update pages. The searchability features are super helpful too.
Read Jill Dickert's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

OneNote the Last Note-taking Software You'll Need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is great for projects. It can hold information in notes, notebooks and various tabs. This helps keeps projects organized and the information you need just a click away. It is also easy to share information with teammates. The online, desktop and mobile versions are handy when you need a cross-platform solution for your note taking needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2019

OneNote is an excellent tool to house information and can be leveraged to collaborate

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote helps improve collaboration for groups who may not all work in the same location which leads to improved business process improvement, agility and outcomes. I use OneNote to organize and collaborate around several projects and programs I manage forward that involve various stakeholders across different organizations and locations to collaborate around shared initiatives.
Read this authenticated review
Joel Brache | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

An Excellent App for Notes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Because the information is encrypted, I choose to keep account information (user names and passwords) in OneNote. I segregate my corporate and personal account information into separate notebooks so if one Notebook is compromised, I don't compromise all my account information. That segregation is one of the features I like the most since I can have a notebooks open for personal, business, personal business, and a shared family at the same time. I like the ability to segregate information and fine OneNote well suited for managing segregated information.

If you are not using the cloud to synchronize your OneNote notebooks, I think OneNote becomes less useful. Being able to access your information across devices is a particular strength to me. OneNote will let you keep information local only, so if that's how you want to roll, you can do that too.
Read Joel Brache's full review
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Review: OneNote

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is great for note taking for personal use. It's good for referencing clients as well. I imagine it could be useful in a small business to help take notes on what certain clients are expecting and how to address them when meeting together. This could be useful to share among business partners as they prepare for meetings and for them to be mindful of how best to be respectful and effective.

I find it's most useful for personal note taking and organizing data.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
Cordell Yin | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Get rid of those spiral notebooks and just use OneNote

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OneNote is definitely well suited to take notes, as if you were taking notes in a spiral notebook or a composition notebook. What makes it much more powerful is that it can be edited at any time, and it is searchable.

It is less appropriate if used as a document storage library. I have seen teams store files directly in OneNote notebooks to share files, but this might cause storage issues as the OneNote notebook file itself will grow very large.
Read Cordell Yin's full review
Brian Hopper | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

OneNote - Best notebook out there

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It works really well for taking longer form notes, especially compared to Google. Google Keep seems to geared more towards "sticky notes" and Google Docs isn't flexible enough for a "notebook."

Where I think Google Keep has the advantage is the sticky note type of notes, especially how you can pin them in Chrome.
Read Brian Hopper's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Great tool for personal prodactivity. Also good for collaborating and sharing info and action iteams

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Organizing data and information objects, according to your own logic of structure. For example, organizing all info about the cases you are working on, so each case will have a dedicated section or a page. Collaborating with colleagues who are working together on a project, so they can share a notebook, a section, or a page, and from there share meetings notes, lists of action items, links to other resources, and more.

Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (31)
8.4
Video files (27)
7.8
Audio files (29)
8.0
Document collaboration (43)
9.1
Access control (35)
8.4
File search (42)
8.7
Device sync (44)
8.9
User and role management (24)
8.3
File organization (37)
8.7
Device management (23)
8.4
Performance (39)
8.8
Reliability (38)
8.8
Storage Reports (16)
8.8

About OneNote

Microsoft's OneNote is a digital note-taking app, supporting photos, annotating, web page clipping, emailing, and synchronizing notes across devices.
Categories:  Cloud Storage

OneNote Competitors

OneNote Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No