TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/gm/Uw/2GPWA9ZHV2SI.pngAnalyze your inbound links with easeOpen Site Explorer (now renamed by Moz to Link Explorer) is used by our marketing team. We use it to improve our SEO performance and understand our inbound link profile. It shows us who links to us (and the value of that link), which keywords we rank for, and our linking progress over time (there's a handy bar chart which shows how many links you gained and lost over time).,It links in with Moz’s domain authority concept, which we use as our main metric of how well our SEO works. It shows you which sites link to you, and ranks to them by domain authority. This helps us understand where our best inbound links come from, and to hopefully target those valuable partners for more links. It shows you which keywords you rank for, your position on the search engine results pages for each keyword, and how difficult it is to rank for those keywords. We use this to spot where we rank on the second or third page for medium difficulty keywords. We’ll then write content to target those keywords.,You need to subscribe to Moz Pro to get all features, which is pricey if you aren’t using the tool regularly. I’ve found that competitor tools give larger lists of inbound links. You’ll need some understanding of how SEO works to maximize the tool. Would non-SEO specialists understand the difference between domain authority and page authority, or the difference between follow back, and non-follow backlinks? Moz offers lots of training resources, but it takes time to learn what you need.,7,It helps us to track our inbound link performance over time. It shows us which inbound links are harmful (i.e. spam). We then remove them to increase our SEO performance. It has an awesome new feature called "link intersect," which lets you spot which sites link to competitors but not to your site.,Ahrefs Site Explorer,Ahrefs Site Explorer, Google Search Console, Google AnalyticsQuickly Research Backlinks & Identify Link Building Opportunities with OSEI first started using Open Site Explorer 5 years ago when I began my career in SEO. I still use it to this day as an aid in backlink analysis and the development of link building strategies. Open Site Explorer gives me the ability to evaluate not only a client's inbound links but competitors as well which is helpful. Some metrics from OSE include Domain Authority, Page Authority, link root domains, and total inbound links.,Gives you a quick overview of your client's backlink health. Easily compare your website's backlink profile vs. competitors. Determine additional link opportunities to help grow inbound links to your site.,Lack of instant export of data. Adds to a queue rather than being instant. Advanced reports are needed for larger websites and come at the cost of a subscription to Moz Pro.,7,Helps greatly with pitching clients as you can get an idea of how their backlink profile looks for free.,Ahrefs Site Explorer and Majestic SEO,Ahrefs Site Explorer, Majestic SEOUsed A Lot & A Valuable ToolWe used Open Site Explorer to get insight on what types of inbound links our competition had and what types of links our websites needed. For new websites that our company had, it helped us develop link building strategies; what types of sites to ask for links and how to attract new links.,Ability to just see inbound links Makes comparing our links with the competitions' very easy Can export results to Excel Shows keyword that the link is coming from,I wish it had suggestions of similar sites that your competition has,6,Increased employee efficiency More market place insightOpen Site Explorer: OSE a must for SEOThe Search Guru has used Open Site Explorer since Yahoo! Site Explorer merged with Bing Webmaster Tools in November 2011, and we could no longer get competing sites' link data. Open Site Explorer is used mostly by our technical services and analytics reporting teams. It allows us to examine the quality of clients' and competitors' link profiles, including the number of inbound links to the home page and overall site, the number of unique linking domains and the link anchor text. In my opinion the most valuable metric in Open Site Explorer is Domain Authority, or ranking potential of a site based on an algorithmic combination of link metrics. We rely heavily on this number to gauge a site's strength in the search engines compared to other sites in the same space.,Easy comparisons of link metrics side by side among 6 sites (target site plus 5 competing sites) Allows filtering of links by link equity, followed and redirected links from both external sites and internal pages Provides an export to Excel for examination of links and easy sorting,While Open Site Explorer shows a Domain Authority score for an entire domain and a Page Authority score for a specific URL, it would be helpful to have a Subdomain Authority score for an entire subdomain of pages Excel reports can take a while to be generated depending on how many are in the queue,10,Better insight into our clients' website authority and rankings Ability to easily diagnose any unnatural link patterns Saves time over having to use multiple link tools,,3,10
Unspecified
Open Site Explorer
19 Ratings
Score 7.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Open Site Explorer Reviews

Open Site Explorer
19 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 19 vetted Open Site Explorer reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-4 of 4)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
No photo available
February 16, 2019

Analyze your inbound links with ease

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Open Site Explorer (now renamed by Moz to Link Explorer) is used by our marketing team. We use it to improve our SEO performance and understand our inbound link profile. It shows us who links to us (and the value of that link), which keywords we rank for, and our linking progress over time (there's a handy bar chart which shows how many links you gained and lost over time).
  • It links in with Moz’s domain authority concept, which we use as our main metric of how well our SEO works.
  • It shows you which sites link to you, and ranks to them by domain authority. This helps us understand where our best inbound links come from, and to hopefully target those valuable partners for more links.
  • It shows you which keywords you rank for, your position on the search engine results pages for each keyword, and how difficult it is to rank for those keywords. We use this to spot where we rank on the second or third page for medium difficulty keywords. We’ll then write content to target those keywords.
  • You need to subscribe to Moz Pro to get all features, which is pricey if you aren’t using the tool regularly.
  • I’ve found that competitor tools give larger lists of inbound links.
  • You’ll need some understanding of how SEO works to maximize the tool. Would non-SEO specialists understand the difference between domain authority and page authority, or the difference between follow back, and non-follow backlinks? Moz offers lots of training resources, but it takes time to learn what you need.
Open Site Explorer is one tool which marketers use to improve their SEO performance. It highlights strengths and weaknesses in your inbound link profile, which helps you to improve your content strategy and public relations efforts. But, it is only one tool. It does not specialize in other SEO tasks, such as on-page technical optimization.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Waszak profile photo
May 02, 2018

Quickly Research Backlinks & Identify Link Building Opportunities with OSE

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I first started using Open Site Explorer 5 years ago when I began my career in SEO. I still use it to this day as an aid in backlink analysis and the development of link building strategies. Open Site Explorer gives me the ability to evaluate not only a client's inbound links but competitors as well which is helpful. Some metrics from OSE include Domain Authority, Page Authority, link root domains, and total inbound links.
  • Gives you a quick overview of your client's backlink health.
  • Easily compare your website's backlink profile vs. competitors.
  • Determine additional link opportunities to help grow inbound links to your site.
  • Lack of instant export of data. Adds to a queue rather than being instant.
  • Advanced reports are needed for larger websites and come at the cost of a subscription to Moz Pro.
A quick, user-friendly, backlink overview of your client's website vs. competitors. While Open Site Explorer goes into some detail, there are better tools for backlink analysis such as Majestic and Ahrefs.
Read Jeremy Waszak's full review
Amber Schlosser profile photo
September 14, 2015

Used A Lot & A Valuable Tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Open Site Explorer to get insight on what types of inbound links our competition had and what types of links our websites needed. For new websites that our company had, it helped us develop link building strategies; what types of sites to ask for links and how to attract new links.
  • Ability to just see inbound links
  • Makes comparing our links with the competitions' very easy
  • Can export results to Excel
  • Shows keyword that the link is coming from
  • I wish it had suggestions of similar sites that your competition has
I feel like it is better suited for a company who is interested in a link building strategy. If you already know the types of websites you would like to get links from, along with the keywords, then this program might not be for you.
Read Amber Schlosser's full review
Susan (MacKay) Sisler profile photo
February 04, 2015

Open Site Explorer: OSE a must for SEO

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Search Guru has used Open Site Explorer since Yahoo! Site Explorer merged with Bing Webmaster Tools in November 2011, and we could no longer get competing sites' link data. Open Site Explorer is used mostly by our technical services and analytics reporting teams. It allows us to examine the quality of clients' and competitors' link profiles, including the number of inbound links to the home page and overall site, the number of unique linking domains and the link anchor text. In my opinion the most valuable metric in Open Site Explorer is Domain Authority, or ranking potential of a site based on an algorithmic combination of link metrics. We rely heavily on this number to gauge a site's strength in the search engines compared to other sites in the same space.
  • Easy comparisons of link metrics side by side among 6 sites (target site plus 5 competing sites)
  • Allows filtering of links by link equity, followed and redirected links from both external sites and internal pages
  • Provides an export to Excel for examination of links and easy sorting
  • While Open Site Explorer shows a Domain Authority score for an entire domain and a Page Authority score for a specific URL, it would be helpful to have a Subdomain Authority score for an entire subdomain of pages
  • Excel reports can take a while to be generated depending on how many are in the queue
Moz's Open Site Explorer is a must-have in the SEO professional's toolbox, while an inexperienced user would likely need training to understand how to use this tool. Many important metrics are available within the free version of Open Site Explorer, and the comments in this review have been based solely on the free version. Upgrading to the fee-based Moz Pro unlocks additional features and a suite of tools.
Read Susan (MacKay) Sisler's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (1)
5
Backlink management (3)
8.2
SERP ranking tracking (2)
8.0
Page grader (1)
7
Competitive analysis (3)
8.0
Site audit / diagnostics (2)
7.0
Site recommendations (2)
7.0
Task management (2)
6.0
Local SEO (2)
7.0
Social SEO (2)
6.0
Mobile SEO (2)
7.0
Global SEO (1)
7
Multi-domain support (2)
8.0
Integration with web analytics tools (2)
7.0

About Open Site Explorer

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Open Site Explorer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No