OpenAir PSA Reviews

38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Bryan Parry | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Not a flexible platform - terrible reporting UI - would not recommend for anything beyond PSA basics

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It does the very basics of a PSA tool (time tracking, connecting with NS for invoices) relatively well, but the UI still leaves a lot to be desired.
  • The integration with NetSuite is easy and fluid. This is the main pro of OA.
  • The UI of many parts of the system is really poorly designed. Inputting and updating forecasts is a very time-consuming and difficult process for our PMs and it doesn't allow any type of upload from a spreadsheet (which might be easiest in absence of a decent UI).
  • I have extensive experience with the reporting piece of OA and have a list of notes and improvements. The entire module is very inflexible at least pieces of it are not intuitive. Easy example: If you create a custom calc with a filter on Project Type to only include hours from our customer projects (Impl and MS), but then create a report with a filter to only show hours from MS, that custom calc won't work properly. The filter logic is unable to handle multiple filters on the same field.
  • Specific example of a ticket we've filed but not heard back on: When you close a project, any remaining forecasts from that project remain active and show as "committed hours" against those individuals which doesn't make sense on projects that are closed. Why would you not give an option to delete any remaining forecasts when closing a project as default behavior?
Read Bryan Parry's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

OpenAir in Professional Services

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracking and scheduling of resources to projects. Shows decent availability views.
  • Skills matrix and comparison tool, allowing leaders to compare resources to help with resource selection.
  • Provides a one-stop shop/tool for resourcing, scheduling, time entry, billing, and reporting.
  • You can't book resources at the project level, you have to book resources at a resource level.
  • You need multiple screens open to get all the views you need to make adequate resourcing decisions.
  • Availability views and clunky, require intense filtering.
  • It's not a great Project Management tool, it provides the basics like time entry & the ability to build out basic project plans, some budget reporting.
Read this authenticated review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2018

Good for time tracking and projects/resources management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Time tracking - OpenAIR covers the corner cases as well, like when end of the month falls in the middle of the week and people are require to submit the timesheets for the current month only
  • Project management - using the project team, assigning tasks and using the existing reporting can really help a project manager in doing his/her job
  • Reporting - many built-in reports and the ability to create custom reports.
  • Okta integration - very helpful for single sign on, especially for cloud applications as OpenAIR
  • Email notifications - as a project manager I need to be notified whenever team members submit their timesheets so I can review and approve/reject. Currently these notifications are a little more difficult to be set up.
  • Reviewing timesheets - whenever there is a list of hundreds to be reviewed and approved, I find it quite difficult to do that in a timely manner. Going one by one is needed but the information to be reviewed is not standing out, like team member name, project and task, hours. Not sure if this is possible through configuration or not.
  • User Interface - in many parts of the UI there is a usage of a popup window that displays way too many options. Some functions are only accessible from that popup. To me, this is something to be avoided/improved.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Dan Lobring | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2018

Scalable project, time and expense resource

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use for time management
  • Ability to access remotely via the web & mobile app
  • Easy to use to track job numbers & personnel assigned to projects
  • The robust interface can be overwhelming
  • Lack of training
  • Ability to hide modules & sections not used by the teams
Read Dan Lobring's full review
Steve Vogt | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

All-in-one business forecasting and time tracking tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to view and change resource bookings to forecast how booked resources are at any given time.
  • The mobile app of OpenAir allows for team members on the road to easily submit travel receipts for expense reports.
  • The time tracking section is straightforward and easy to use for all departments.
  • The bookings calendar seems to want a Monday-Sunday style approach for long-term bookings. This makes it challenging to see how booked someone is on one day as the default view tends to prefer 'week' views.
  • The mobile app sometimes shows a receipt was attached and submitted even though the final report comes without the receipt. Improving/correcting this would be wonderful.
Read Steve Vogt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

OpenAir is the PM and Resourcing Tool You Need

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Time tracking.
  • Project management.
  • Expense reporting.
  • Managing PTO, days off, etc.
  • Like other time tracking and project management software, OpenAir does not have the cleanest interface. Would love to see something cleaner and more succinct.
  • Search options are incredibly frustrating. Searching for projects is one thing, but if you trying to find a timesheet you've or a PTO request you've submitted, it can be almost impossible to find what you're looking for, even after adjusting to the right search parameters.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2016

NetSuite OpenAir PSA Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tasks Management and timesheets are pretty well designed and straight forward to use.
  • Expense entry and reports are solid.
  • Invoice and billing integration API is understandable and easy to use with other systems.
  • Speed, we have been seeing slowness often in the last six months, so they need to optimize their system and connectivity.
  • Increase number of records that can be requested at one time. Today it's limited to 1000 and I know it is negotiable, the default I believe should be 5000+.
  • Provide connectors to various ERP/CRM systems, today it is limited to a short list of systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

OpenAir does the Job

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides excellent visibility to historical billing and revenue history.
  • If set up properly, it make sure all eligible charges are invoiced - no missed revenue.
  • Very configurable.
  • Multiple departments can use at once.
  • Scheduled Reports.
  • The Dashboard is atrocious.
  • Reporting is not intuitive.
  • Too many ways to do the same thing - confusing user experience.
  • Sometimes impossible to get a comprehensive report and must run multiple reports to get what you need.
  • Setting up skills in Resource Management needs to be very basic, or not usable. This just might be our business as we have many areas of expertise within different product lines.
  • My least favorite module is the Resource Management module as there is no connection between a booking and a project task assignment.
  • Report view in OpenAir requires most to be exported into Excel to be viewed and pivoted. Not really easy to view right from system.
  • Timesheet entries for the week are all connected so if one project on that timesheet needs to be backed out, the entire timesheet needs to be unapproved
  • Difficult to see what queue the timesheet approval is in.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

OpenAir -- Energetic, open-minded leadership; Most flexible PSA meets our detailed needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OpenAir demos really well and NetSuite prefers early consultation to be product-agnostic. They encourage clients to share specific needs they require in a PSA application. They then take on the ownership of making those configurations and setting up the application to be successful (per your requirements) from the start. Take time to work backwards in preparation for implementation. Outline the reports you need, then identify the specific value fields needed to create the desired outputs. The OpenAir consultant can then educate how this will be accomplished within the application.
  • As legacy QuickArrow users, we were encouraged to implement OpenAir because it's the natural migration path. OpenAir made transfering our data easy with minimal adjustments. OpenAir helped us recreate our legacy reports using the appropriate new field values. While not every report could be replicated, we came "close enough" for our business needs.
  • When you inquire if OpenAir can do something, the reply is always "Yes." The application is so flexible (almost too flexible), which makes fielding executive managment requests much more easy than within our former application, QuickArrow.
  • The integration with Salesforce.com saves us a significant amount of time as we set up similar projects leveraging pre-created templates. After working with our references (more-so than our OpenAir consultant unfortunately) we were able to tailor this configuration to meet our needs perfectly. While this took a bit of technical collaboration on our end, this was an easy way to reduce our day-to-day manual effort.
  • OpenAir dashboards allow executive management to have the information they need at their fingertips. They can tailor the dashboard reports to reflect their KPI interests and access the reports when they need them 24/7/365. While this takes a bit of effort to set-up a good starting point for all interested executives, the education enables them access information independently vs relying on reporting specialists or administrators for report outputs. As an administrator, take time to invest time in this area, as it empowers others and reduces reporting requests.
  • OpenAir reviews enhancement requests often and they can be incorporated into the product quickly. When negotiating our contract, they were missing a have-to-have criteria element. Upon our contract signing, the product supported our criteria fully. When talking with other OpenAir customers, there are multiple examples supporting this strength!
  • NetSuite conferences are fully of energy, offer great key note speakers, and offer opportunities to have conversations with OpenAir, open-minded leaders. This group is focused on the customer experience and are eager to hear (and best of all incorporate) customer feedback. This dynamic team is full of energy at all levels of the organization. A very genuine company where anyone would be proud to hold a role.
  • Compared to QuickArrow, setting up reports to reflect the data accurately seemed to require a bit more consultant time and collaboration. Getting the numbers correct is essential, so budget extra time for this iniative. We also learned that certain calculations can not be displayed in the executive dashboards. Ask these questions upfront to ensure your dashboards are complete for your needs (again, working backwards in the preparation stages).
  • Compared to QuickArrow, NetSuite OpenAir PSA falls short in the resource management capabilities. UI, flexibility, and scheduling options all could be improved. This is on their roadmap, timeline yet to be defined. Scheduling is vitally important to our company and this is THE area where we feel is the applications weakest. However, the application does provide everything critical to scheduling and provided the elements we needed in order to be successful. We altered our scheduling process accordingly.
  • During our System Administration 3 day online training, when a question was asked about detailed functionality, sometimes the trainer would share..."Yes, OpenAir has a configuration for that. Just inquire with your consultant and they can flip that flag in your instance." The responsibility for obtaining these special application configurations was placed on the System Admin [in training] to ask and to take notes. If your company needs the application to work a certain way, speak up and ask your OA consultant. There seems to be MANY flags that can be flipped in the background to allow for the system to meet your needs. My complaint is that these are not published, rather made available if one inquires.
  • OpenAir is able to generate invoices directly and we strongly encourage using this feature to keep everything housed under one application. However, this did not work for our organization and we leveraged a financial integration. A bit of a pioneer integrating with Softrax -- the integration works well, however is quite fragile. We do receive appropriate support when needed, but would prefer the integration to be a bit more stable. We recommend integrating with their stated supported financial systems, as staying the course will likely net a more stable integration.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2015

Great for professional services organizations

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OpenAir PSA is well suited for professional services organizations that want to track project delivery from the standpoint of project milestones, time tracking, expense reporting, billing and invoicing, and project revenue recognition.
  • OpenAir PSA offers comprehensive time tracking of project and admin time. Project owners, line managers, and other designated individuals may be responsible for approving user’s time. Detailed reporting of time from a project/cost and resource perspective another nice feature.
  • Expenses can be entered by users and recorded directly against projects in NetSuite OpenAir expense reports. A workflow can be established for the expense approval process.
  • OpenAir PSA provide the ability to recognize revenue based on a rules an organization would like to establish. OpenAir PSA accommodates multiple recognition scenarios.
  • General UI navigation can be a bit clunky and dated. It really needs an overhaul.
  • Reports in OpenAir PSA are somewhat limited in flexibility complexity (compared to say Salesforce.com). It would be nice if there was easy access to the data via ODBC connection.
  • Even though OpenAir PSA is integrated with NetSuite, they are on two different platforms which poses some challenges.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2015

If you are a complicate company then you need a complicated software like NetSuite.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Netsuite OpenAir PSA is highly configurable and has a large ecosystem of assets to work with.
  • Tasks are easily designed to automate processes in your business workflow.
  • OpenAir is designed in such a way that it can communicate and receive information from external systems without having to re-engineer your systems to make them work if you are following standard business practice.
  • OpenAir has a very dated interface making it unappealing from a look and feel standpoint.
  • Much of the placement of features seems unintuitive. OpenAir is feature rich but more thought could be put into their user experience.
  • OpenAir generally just feels complicated for the first month you use it. To perform certain administrative tasks you have to navigate to unintuitive places. I'd like to see the administration more centrally located in its design.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2015

Good PSA for simple use with a pleasant UI but challenges for more robust project detail management and reporting

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pleasant UI and navigation between modules: This makes it easier to use the various modules in the system and improves training processes.
  • Timesheet module with timer option: since tracking time is a large part of our OpenAir use, the simple timesheet module is key. The timer is also a nice feature for users who wish to utilize it.
  • Proxying capabilities: absolutely key for keeping business running. Also helpful to be able to choose the user role to see how that may impact a given user's view.
  • Reporting could use a lot of improvement. A large portion of our reporting for utilziation, capacity, etc has to be done out of OpenAir manually in Excel which makes distributing and maintaining reports an real challenge.
  • Customer support can also be quite slow and the technicians are hit or miss on their speed/helpfulness.
  • The separation between resource management and project management made using the resource management tool is virtually impossible for us. Too many steps are required between assigning users to tasks and assigning them as resources.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

A great Enterprise Solution for project management and resource management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User interface is very clean and easy to navigate. Training and adoption weren't a challenge at all from that perspective.
  • Security and roles - I was very impressed with how configurable and flexible a variety of different roles were so that the right information got into the right hands.
  • Reporting - so easy to create custom reports without having to understand the database structure.
  • We would have loved to have seen some integration with Outlook calendars and timesheets
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2014

Great product, but UI needs a facelift.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration between various modules is seamless and they complement each other well.
  • Resource management and planning.
  • Project planning and monitoring in terms of traditional project management metrics.
  • Reporting and dashboards were flexible.
  • From time sheets to customer invoicing, the workflow for approvals and reviews worked great.
  • The interface could use improvements from a usability perspective. It needs a bit of a face-lift. For example, setting up reports is cumbersome and time consuming.
  • It needs to increase flexibility for more advanced resource booking assignments such as recurring bookings.
  • Configuration by department would be ideal. For a company that adopted the solution across the board, some of the configuration options wouldn't work for some departments which required compromises and in some cases we are not using some of the features Services would have desired.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2014

OpenAir - good standalone PSA solution

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Nice UI (recently updated) - easy for end users to navigate
  • Great time and expense tracker. Once setup is complete, it is easy for end user to enter time and expenses
  • Built in workflow and approval process. The time and expenses approvals can be set up to accommodate complex approvals.
  • Many of the features need to be turned on/off by OpenAir support. It seems that these features are not documented/discussed. I can understand the need for some features to be maintained by OA support, but it would be nice to know what these features are upfront. It seems we spent a great deal of time developing workaround for features that could have been turned on by OA support.
  • OpenAir does integrate with Salesforce. However, I found that the integration is limited. I know it may be contrary to their product road-map, but I think it would have been nice to embed OA into Salesforce.
  • Integration with NetSuite financials (ERP) is also not as robust as I would have imagined. This was the main reason we no longer use OpenAir.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2012

Smooth transition from QuickArrow.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We had a specific process down pat with QuickArrow and wanted similar functionality. It gave us that and more.
  • It has a lot more reporting functionality than QuickArrow. There are hundreds of options for layout, what is reported, etc. I haven’t played too much with those reports yet. We more or less just replicated reports I had in QuickArrow. We needed the professional services/transition team at NetSuite to help me. There are too many options at this point. I imagine we won’t use all of those reports. Quick Arrow had a lot less.
  • Mobile Capabilities – There wasn’t a mobile concept for QuickArrow. OpenAir has been beneficial for iPhone users for time sheet submissions. There is no app for Droid users yet. There are not a lot of users out there, who really know how to use it yet. Managers are not using the app for dashboards/reporting, etc. The field has been pretty quiet but they do really like the mobile app feature. They like not having to go to laptop to enter their time. That’s all we require of them – just time entry. We ran into some glitches - some of the time sheets submitted via iPhone did not get to the tool itself. That happened in one instance. I made QA aware of it. I am not sure what the resolution turned out to be.
  • There seems to be a lot more work in getting numbers correct. For example, we have a forecast report that we’d run out of QuickArrow, based upon calendar bookings - a feature that Quick Arrow had, but OpenAir doesn’t focus on that much. If I put 5 days on calendar for a specific resource, the forecast would automatically adjust. In OpenAir, it doesn’t support the same calendar view - it is not as automatic. You have to do booking on the calendar and adjust the rate and be specific about code that I was using, else the numbers would be inaccurate. The report is not automatic. It has to be cached every night. In QuickArrow, you could see changes automatically.
  • Had to do processes a little differently. There's more effort in QA.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (13)
4.9
Resource Management (13)
7.9
Gantt Charts (7)
4.6
Scheduling (11)
8.9
Workflow Automation (8)
3.7
Team Collaboration (10)
4.4
Support for Agile Methodology (6)
4.1
Support for Waterfall Methodology (7)
5.7
Document Management (4)
4.0
Email integration (8)
3.6
Mobile Access (10)
6.2
Timesheet Tracking (13)
7.3
Change request and Case Management (8)
3.4
Budget and Expense Management (12)
3.7
Quotes/estimates (3)
5.4
Invoicing (5)
7.5
Project & financial reporting (7)
4.9
Integration with accounting software (6)
6.6

About OpenAir PSA

NetSuite OpenAir is a cloud-based Professional Service Automation (PSA) product which includes resource management, time management, and billing capabilities. More specifically, it allows an administrator to create projects and book resources for them, populate tasks with assigned resources for their completion,create billing and revenue recognition rules for invoicing clients, track time and expenses across events and projects, create custom time ranges to match fiscal periods, report project benchmarks on key measures and build summaries and use charts to visualize results. It also integrates with Microsoft Project.

Pricing is variable though a free demo is available. 24/7 live support is available to help with implementation, and paid courses and consulting are also available.

OpenAir PSA Competitors

OpenAir PSA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No