Red Hat OpenShift Reviews

72 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 06, 2021
Ankur Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Red Hat OpenShift is a perfect solution in most of the cases as upon signup, it provides free storage up to 1GB. A user can easily start with the free trial of the product and the customer service will be able to guide better as they are very responsive. But is it only suited for low content websites only and not suited for scenarios with database hosting.
Read Ankur Arora's full review
February 25, 2020
Kadu Barral | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Red Hat OpenShift is perfect if you need to use Kubernetes on-prem, for cloud it could be costly and less effective than managed providers. If your on-premises environment is big and you don't want to pay for virtualization, it is possible to deploy OpenShift on bare metal.
Read Kadu Barral's full review
February 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OpenShift is a perfect solution if your teams develop applications with multiple, different languages and tools and deploy these through container images. Does not matter whether your choice of infrastructure is on premise, a public cloud or hosted; OpenShift supports all options. On the other hand it is much less useful for non-dockerized projects.
Read this authenticated review
August 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OpenShift is well suited in most cases. They provide 1GB of free space upon sign up. Customer support is also quick and responsive. Recent server movement from Jboss servers to a more complex server system has made things a bit difficult but still, it is great and one of the better tools in the market.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2018
Aivann Carlo Cariaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I discovered that our projects needed a rewrite on a lot of server code, the project we are currently working on requires reverting old versions of our project, GitHub support, persistent connection, source to image, vertical scaling, horizontal scaling, simplified routing What's great is that OpenShift supported that not only that they have a basic example to get started fast. Another great feature is that their online console is very fast.
Read Aivann Carlo Cariaga's full review
March 04, 2016
Peter Ivie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think if you have a lot of data requirements, you could still use Openshift, but you might need to store your data elsewhere. It seems particularly suited for low content websites with bursty traffic patterns. The online interface is very simple, which is good for those (like me) who prefer to configure things from an SSH shell.
Read Peter Ivie's full review
February 20, 2016
Dale Larsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If they want it for a simple php site or they don't have deep AWS knowledge I would recommend OpenShift.
Read Dale Larsen's full review
November 27, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As with any solution, it depends on how and why you want to deploy it. OpenShift is excellent for medium to large deployments, but I would caution against smaller deployments unless you're planning on ramping up to a larger deployment in short order. It just doesn't make financial sense to deploy it in a small configuration.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2015
Sonam Samdupkhangsar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would definitely recommend OpenShift or give it a trial period. I think it gives a developer much more freedom in terms of code deployment, build process and even having log file access using RHC commands. One of its strengths is scaling and you can easily configure it using their tools for each application.

Read Sonam Samdupkhangsar's full review
December 16, 2014
Isaac Christoffersen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OpenShift is not suited for database hosting scenarios like Oracle RAC. Best suited for stateless web applications, but if there is shared data, a distributed cache is probably about the best way to handle that.
Read Isaac Christoffersen's full review
July 14, 2014
Keith D. Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think OpenShift is a really nice choice for a PaaS provider. It is extremely inexpensive, especially when you compare it to others that might charge around $600 a month. For one application, a company should expect to pay somewhere between $0 and $50 per month for OpenShift services. Disclaimer: I have NOT used it in a production environment with any real load, however, I don't expect to see any issues.
Read Keith D. Moore's full review
November 09, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Openshift is well suited if you want to go for docker and kubernetes but you want to hide the complexity of these 2 technologies. Openshift is a layer above these 2 technologies that makes easy to use container technology. If you already have RedHat OpenStack (for VM technology) you shouldn't use OpenShift.
Read this authenticated review
January 05, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

1) When you need early deployment.
2) When the number of people involved is not more than 100 (provided you are using a free version).
3) Also, there is a minimum number of applications we can keep active at one time. So if you have to keep multiple applications on at a time it is not possible [to use] free Open Shift.
Read this authenticated review
May 06, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

OpenShift proved valuable in spinning up environments quickly with specific requirements. This enabled the team to evaluate tools quickly without having to request resources from other departments, develop proof of concept solutions away from our production environment, work collaboratively as part of smaller teams and ultimately to be as creative and innovative as possible.
Read this authenticated review
October 06, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For large scale applications it might be hard to manage load by provisioning gears within same host.
Read this authenticated review
December 18, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Can this solve my current deployment process? Will this fit within my budget? Can our development team handle the technologies? Will OpenShift be a vendor lock-in situation? Or can I port my applications across any platform? Can we add any cartridges? Based on need? What are the support options available? Can we integrate the load balancer with a third party load balancer?
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (10)
8.8
Scalability (14)
8.5
Platform management overhead (12)
8.0
Workflow engine capability (10)
8.6
Platform access control (13)
9.4
Services-enabled integration (11)
8.2
Development environment creation (14)
9.4
Development environment replication (12)
8.7
Issue monitoring and notification (10)
7.0
Issue recovery (10)
7.7
Upgrades and platform fixes (12)
9.2

What is Red Hat OpenShift?

OpenShift is Red Hat's Cloud Computing Platform as a Service (PaaS) offering. OpenShift is an application platform in the cloud where application developers and teams can build, test, deploy, and run their applications. Under the OpenShift brand, there are three options for clients: Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform, Red Hat OpenShift Dedicated, and Red Hat | Microsoft Azure.

Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform
  • A Kubernetes platform on clients' own infrastructure designed with security in mind
  • Build, deploy, and manage container-based applications consistently across cloud and on-premises infrastructure
  • Full-stack automated operations to manage hybrid and multicloud deployments

Red Hat OpenShift Dedicated
  • Professionally managed, enterprise grade Kubernetes
  • Private, high-availability OpenShift clusters hosted on Amazon Web Services
  • Delivered as a hosted service and supported by Red Hat

Red Hat | Microsoft Azure
  • Enterprise-grade Kubernetes jointly managed by Microsoft and Red Hat
  • Highly available Red Hat OpenShift clusters hosted on Microsoft Azure
  • Delivered as a hosted service jointly engineered, operated, and supported by Red Hat and Microsoft

Red Hat OpenShift Competitors

Red Hat OpenShift Pricing

Starting Price: $42

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Azure On Demand$0.171Per Hour
1-Year Reserved Instance$0.114Per Hour
3-Year Reserved Instance$0.076Per Hour

Red Hat OpenShift Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Red Hat OpenShift?

OpenShift is Red Hat's Cloud Computing Platform as a Service (PaaS) offering. OpenShift is an application platform in the cloud where application developers and teams can build, test, deploy, and run their applications.

How much does Red Hat OpenShift cost?

Red Hat OpenShift starts at $42.

What is Red Hat OpenShift's best feature?

Reviewers rate Platform access control and Development environment creation highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Red Hat OpenShift?

The most common users of Red Hat OpenShift are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.