Red Hat OpenShift

Red Hat OpenShift

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Top Rated
Red Hat OpenShift

Overview

Recent Reviews

Infrastructure Architect

9 out of 10
March 17, 2022
We have installed Openshift on bare metal servers. We are using Openshift to host our containerized applications for 5G systems. The main …
Continue reading

Red Hat OpenShift 2021 Review

6 out of 10
September 28, 2021
As a Solution Architect working in a managed service provider for hyperscalers, my job is to recommend the best solutions meeting …
Continue reading

OpenShift - To be or not to be

6 out of 10
September 21, 2021
Our company is trying to build a hybrid K8 cloud environment, which is composed of the public cloud (Azure) and an on-premise private …
Continue reading

The Good, The Bad, OpenShift

7 out of 10
September 21, 2021
It is used across the company to manage container instances. [The] problem it addresses is to help monitor the health of the containers, …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features

Scalability (26)

8.7
87%

Development environment creation (25)

8.4
84%

Development environment replication (24)

8.2
82%

Platform access control (24)

8.0
80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Red Hat OpenShift, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

3-Year Reserved Instance

$0.076

Cloud
Per Hour

1-Year Reserved Instance

$0.114

Cloud
Per Hour

Azure On Demand

$0.171

Cloud
Per Hour

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $42 per month

Features Scorecard

Platform-as-a-Service

7.9
79%

Product Details

What is Red Hat OpenShift?

OpenShift is Red Hat's Cloud Computing Platform as a Service (PaaS) offering. OpenShift is an application platform in the cloud where application developers and teams can build, test, deploy, and run their applications. Under the OpenShift brand, there are three options for clients: Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform, Red Hat OpenShift Dedicated, and Red Hat | Microsoft Azure.

Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform
  • A Kubernetes platform on clients' own infrastructure designed with security in mind
  • Build, deploy, and manage container-based applications consistently across cloud and on-premises infrastructure
  • Full-stack automated operations to manage hybrid and multicloud deployments

Red Hat OpenShift Dedicated
  • Professionally managed, enterprise grade Kubernetes
  • Private, high-availability OpenShift clusters hosted on Amazon Web Services
  • Delivered as a hosted service and supported by Red Hat

Red Hat | Microsoft Azure
  • Enterprise-grade Kubernetes jointly managed by Microsoft and Red Hat
  • Highly available Red Hat OpenShift clusters hosted on Microsoft Azure
  • Delivered as a hosted service jointly engineered, operated, and supported by Red Hat and Microsoft

Red Hat OpenShift Competitors

Red Hat OpenShift Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

OpenShift is Red Hat's Cloud Computing Platform as a Service (PaaS) offering. OpenShift is an application platform in the cloud where application developers and teams can build, test, deploy, and run their applications.

Red Hat OpenShift starts at $42.

AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Heroku Platform, and CenturyLink Cloud Application Manager are common alternatives for Red Hat OpenShift.

Reviewers rate Scalability highest, with a score of 8.7.

The most common users of Red Hat OpenShift are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-25 of 29)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have installed Openshift on bare metal servers. We are using Openshift to host our containerized applications for 5G systems. The main problems that Openshift has solved are:
  1. It is way simpler than Openstack so it requires less number of employees.
  2. It can host both containerized applications and Virtual machines which makes it a great candidate to be a common infrastructure for both legacy workloads and new workloads.
February 08, 2022

OpenShift Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Red Hat Partner we use OpenShift to help our customers to include it in their projects as the main platform for running workloads. Most of the business problems that they solve are regarding agility for deployment and managing scalability for better Customer Experience, better performance and easy rollout. Another business problems that some custormers face that solve with openshift is the portability either from infrastructure or from environments.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a Solution Architect working in a managed service provider for hyperscalers, my job is to recommend the best solutions meeting customer's requirements or solve their pain points today. Red Hat OpenShift is a great solution for companies who are developing cloud-native applications looking to deploy and manage across public cloud or on-prem. Installation is seamless, as it is all automated with clicks of a button and it can be deployed with the Kubernetes container orchestrator of your choice or your public cloud platform. Also, it has one-click updates for platform, services, and applications, built-in security and regulatory compliance, and more. So instead of building your own automated solutions for applications deployments and testing that would be time-consuming with a lot of effort, you can use Red Hat Openshift for continuous integration and continuous delivery (CI/CD) solution based on Kubernetes resources and it uses Tekton building blocks to automate deployments across multiple platforms by abstracting away the underlying implementation details.
Rishabh Khanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat OpenShift is being used by our teams for moving on-premise web applications to the cloud using containerization. We started using containers with the Red Hat OpenShift platform. It provides a feature-rich environment. It provides features like load balancing, auto restart, monitoring, and security. It was easily adopted by our new team members.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat OpenShift is used by multiple teams across my organization, specifically the teams working on our backend applications. It automates our manual work and provides a unified basis to deploy, test, and run our applications. It makes deploying containers a very easy task and most of our engineers are now trained in the same.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our application and deployment teams are using Red Hat OpenShift for the containerization and deployment of different business applications. It has helped us in managing enterprise-level large applications at an ease. We are able to handle deployments across on-premise and public/private clouds very easily with increased overall efficiency and security.
Moris Mendez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat OpenShift is currently being used in the application and systems development area, our organization is dedicated to something other than software development, so it would be very difficult to expand the use of Red Hat OpenShift throughout the organization.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is trying to build a hybrid K8 cloud environment, which is composed of the public cloud (Azure) and an on-premise private cloud. For the on-premise private cloud, we are evaluating both VMware's Tanzu Grid and the Red Hat OpenShift options. We did the POC with OpenShift by deploying the containerized traditional mainstream Spring-based Java services application, as well as the Python-based AI/ML predictive model services. Based on the multifactor benchmarking, we eventually decide to opt for Tanzu Grid.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the company to manage container instances. [The] problem it addresses is to help monitor the health of the containers, troubleshoot issues by viewing the logs, providing a self-service UI to restart the container without needing help from the operations team. The platform also allows us to manage multiple environments which reduces a lot of the overhead compared to managing Virtual Machines.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Red Hat] OpenShift is used in my organization as a platform environment to easily host and scale applications. It solves the problem for our organization of having to continually have our ops team spin up new servers (either virtual or bare metal) and have them grumble about needing to patch yet more servers. [Red Hat] OpenShift allowed the development team to take ownership of its own hosting requirements and allowed the team to control its own needs and scaling.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat OpenShift is our new application platform and is the core of our digital transformation.
We use it to host our integration platform. As [the] first step, we use its container orchestration capabilities.
It enables us to build applications using a choice of programming languages, frameworks, and application lifecycle tools.
It allowed us to switch our existing project environments from traditional virtualization to the containerized world without excessive costs.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to run containerized workloads across the enterprise, both for long-running containers, as well as short-lived batch job containers. The business problems it addresses are consistent provisioning of infrastructure in a self-service format. And it provides capabilities like load balancing, auto restart, monitoring, and security for workloads running on it.
Rohan Tomar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I like the OpenShift UI, which we use to monitor the PODS, you can configure the number of that you want, you can scale the number up or down based on your need. Deplying containers across various frameworks and language is very easy. It helps in track dependencies and reduces user efforts.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Red Hat OpenShift is used by our company as an enterprise, hybrid cloud Kubernetes application platform mainly for the container orchestration purposes. It enables us to build applications using a choice of programming languages, frameworks and application lifecycle tools. It allowed us to enhance our existing project environments without insane costs or fear of platform and vendor lock-in.
August 19, 2019

OpenShift Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenShift is being used at a project level. OpenShift makes it easy to host our web application on the cloud. Being on the cloud makes our application more accessible than it was before. The interface is easy to use and understand so there is not too much difficulty on that front. It can also be useful from time to time for testing out prototypes.
August 15, 2019

OpenShift short review

Andrew Starodubtsev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
1. I'm using OpenShift as development / testing / staging environment for almost all web projects.
2. Learning platform to cloud technologies / Computer Science / DevOps (e.g. kubernetes, minishift).
3. An experimenting / testing platform to test new services, functions, features.
4. As a showcasing platform, where staging working prototypes are presented to clients.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We evaluated OpenShift as a docker platform for our company. While not chosen for non-technical reasons, OpenShift was a definite leader in the list of competitors. The intention was to use this platform across the company for development through production. Integration with our CI/CD pipeline was intended. Simply put, OpenShift solved the majority of our continuous development and deployment issues.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RedHat Openshift is used across the whole organization to cover 2 needs. First foster a DevOps culture between developers and the middleware team. Secondly standardize the way applications are implemented based on a limited set of docker images and homogenize all configuration properties through a unified all-in-one property file defining JMS queues, JDBC databases, web-services url etc...
January 05, 2017

Love OpenShift!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I deployed my applications on openshift.

It was helpful in these ways:
1) very easy to upload
2) Easy manuals are available
3) Easy troubleshooting

It was not only one application but multiple applications. I could deploy the applications with ease and use OpenShift for software as a service. Links were quite responsive and compatible with other SAAS as well. My DB was also always deployed on the cloud.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenShift was used to facilitate research and development within the front end development team. It enabled front end developers to quickly create development environments using pre built cartridges without requiring dev ops support.
Previously, developers would have been limited to the languages and tools available to them, which restricted innovation. The speed at which environments can be created has enabled great creativity.
Peter Ivie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, it is being used for a single website that has previously been hosted either personally, in EC2, or on Bluehost over the years. I picked Openshift because it had the capability to scale up, but I don't get charged when use is low, which is the case a majority of the time.
February 20, 2016

The Shift to OpenShift

Dale Larsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OpenShift for quick easy up websites that don't require a lot of ongoing development. We use AWS for our bigger projects that we need more control over. For example, we use OpenShift if a client needs a click-through website without much real functionality, or just a basic website.
Sonam Samdupkhangsar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using it for evaluation purposes to understand the usefulness of this product in terms of its PAAS services. I have been using the public Openshift cloud since it has a lot more cartridges available. I have developed two applications on the Openshift cloud: Kecha and Note. Kecha, is a instant messaging application and Note is a blog-like application developed using Tomcat7, MongoDB, PostgreSQL cartridges.

From developing these applications, I have learned a lot about OpenShift. I really like their devops architecture such as using environment variables per environment for username/passwords, so no need to maintain extra properties files. I like their "hooks" that triggers builds when a code is pushed-in using GIT or you can customize the process how you like using OpenShift marker files. They also have support for Docker integration which makes it more worthwhile to integrate applications using OpenShift now.