Red Hat OpenShift Reviews

72 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 07, 2021
Ankur Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Red Hat OpenShift is widely used in our company as an enterprise cloud application platform that has helped us to enhance our project environments and enables us to use it as a development, testing environment for all the projects. Now our all the web applications are being hosted on the cloud without much cost. The free trial version is a great way to start analyzing the capabilities of the service. It provides PaaS systems that the engineers can learn very easily.
Read Ankur Arora's full review
February 25, 2020
Kadu Barral | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using OpenShift as a hybrid cloud Kubernetes platform and it enables us to build applications using any programming languages or frameworks. Our production environment is running about 4000 docker images with reliability and high scalability.
Read Kadu Barral's full review
February 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Red Hat OpenShift is used by our company as an enterprise, hybrid cloud Kubernetes application platform mainly for the container orchestration purposes. It enables us to build applications using a choice of programming languages, frameworks and application lifecycle tools. It allowed us to enhance our existing project environments without insane costs or fear of platform and vendor lock-in.
Read this authenticated review
August 15, 2019
Andrew Starodubtsev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

1. I'm using OpenShift as development / testing / staging environment for almost all web projects.
2. Learning platform to cloud technologies / Computer Science / DevOps (e.g. kubernetes, minishift).
3. An experimenting / testing platform to test new services, functions, features.
4. As a showcasing platform, where staging working prototypes are presented to clients.
Read Andrew Starodubtsev's full review
August 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

OpenShift is being used at a project level. OpenShift makes it easy to host our web application on the cloud. Being on the cloud makes our application more accessible than it was before. The interface is easy to use and understand so there is not too much difficulty on that front. It can also be useful from time to time for testing out prototypes.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2018
Aivann Carlo Cariaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

OpenShift is a great way to start, especially their free tier. It is excellent for software engineers who want to learn PaaS. I have tested many PaaS system from Heroku, IBM Bluemix, to Azure Microsoft. It is great for solo developers and large enterprises.
Read Aivann Carlo Cariaga's full review
March 04, 2016
Peter Ivie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Right now, it is being used for a single website that has previously been hosted either personally, in EC2, or on Bluehost over the years. I picked Openshift because it had the capability to scale up, but I don't get charged when use is low, which is the case a majority of the time.
Read Peter Ivie's full review
February 20, 2016
Dale Larsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use OpenShift for quick easy up websites that don't require a lot of ongoing development. We use AWS for our bigger projects that we need more control over. For example, we use OpenShift if a client needs a click-through website without much real functionality, or just a basic website.
Read Dale Larsen's full review
November 27, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We evaluated OpenShift as a docker platform for our company. While not chosen for non-technical reasons, OpenShift was a definite leader in the list of competitors. The intention was to use this platform across the company for development through production. Integration with our CI/CD pipeline was intended. Simply put, OpenShift solved the majority of our continuous development and deployment issues.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2015
Sonam Samdupkhangsar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am using it for evaluation purposes to understand the usefulness of this product in terms of its PAAS services. I have been using the public Openshift cloud since it has a lot more cartridges available. I have developed two applications on the Openshift cloud: Kecha and Note. Kecha, is a instant messaging application and Note is a blog-like application developed using Tomcat7, MongoDB, PostgreSQL cartridges.

From developing these applications, I have learned a lot about OpenShift. I really like their devops architecture such as using environment variables per environment for username/passwords, so no need to maintain extra properties files. I like their "hooks" that triggers builds when a code is pushed-in using GIT or you can customize the process how you like using OpenShift marker files. They also have support for Docker integration which makes it more worthwhile to integrate applications using OpenShift now.
Read Sonam Samdupkhangsar's full review
December 16, 2014
Isaac Christoffersen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We leverage OpenShift in a number of ways. First, we use it to support the Academic institutions by setting up environments for students to access course applications. Second, we use it to host our Sales Automation and quote generation tools. Finally, we leverage it to support development environments and enable developer self-service.
In addition to being a consumer, we also are a consulting company where we advise companies as to the use and implementation of OpenShift and PaaS solutions within there environment. We help them identify which applications are ideal fits and which ones should be avoided. In addition, we have worked with other partner companies to bring their products to the OpenShift environment. ownCloud is one such company where we not only created the instant application to be deployed in the environment, but also developed an on-premise Dropbox alternative for companies concerned about data ownership.
Read Isaac Christoffersen's full review
July 14, 2014
Keith D. Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using OpenShift to host Aerogear's Unified Push Notification server from Red Hat. Aerogear is installed as a plugin which is called a cartridge in OpenShift terminology. One of the dependencies for Aerogear is MySQL. It is also bundled as a cartridge and is selected as part of the Aerogear cartridge install.
Read Keith D. Moore's full review
November 09, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

RedHat Openshift is used across the whole organization to cover 2 needs. First foster a DevOps culture between developers and the middleware team. Secondly standardize the way applications are implemented based on a limited set of docker images and homogenize all configuration properties through a unified all-in-one property file defining JMS queues, JDBC databases, web-services url etc...
Read this authenticated review
January 05, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I deployed my applications on openshift.

It was helpful in these ways:
1) very easy to upload
2) Easy manuals are available
3) Easy troubleshooting

It was not only one application but multiple applications. I could deploy the applications with ease and use OpenShift for software as a service. Links were quite responsive and compatible with other SAAS as well. My DB was also always deployed on the cloud.

Read this authenticated review
May 06, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

OpenShift was used to facilitate research and development within the front end development team. It enabled front end developers to quickly create development environments using pre built cartridges without requiring dev ops support.
Previously, developers would have been limited to the languages and tools available to them, which restricted innovation. The speed at which environments can be created has enabled great creativity.
Read this authenticated review
October 06, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our team provides infrastructure for hundreds of applications. We implemented OpenShift as a cloud computing platform as a service. It helps our application developers to get a cloud environment where they can build, test, deploy and run applications. It helps app teams from simple application hosting, to building new service offerings, to eventually hosting your own platform. It has improved resource utilization.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used OpenShift for our internal development purpose, this helped us solve so many manual and human error problems. OpenShift Origin provides you with a platform to deploy and automate your development process as well as to automate your build process. Openshift has variety of product support. It also has integration features with build and CI tools like Jenkins,
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (10)
8.8
Scalability (14)
8.5
Platform management overhead (12)
8.0
Workflow engine capability (10)
8.6
Platform access control (13)
9.4
Services-enabled integration (11)
8.2
Development environment creation (14)
9.4
Development environment replication (12)
8.7
Issue monitoring and notification (10)
7.0
Issue recovery (10)
7.7
Upgrades and platform fixes (12)
9.2

What is Red Hat OpenShift?

OpenShift is Red Hat's Cloud Computing Platform as a Service (PaaS) offering. OpenShift is an application platform in the cloud where application developers and teams can build, test, deploy, and run their applications. Under the OpenShift brand, there are three options for clients: Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform, Red Hat OpenShift Dedicated, and Red Hat | Microsoft Azure.

Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform
  • A Kubernetes platform on clients' own infrastructure designed with security in mind
  • Build, deploy, and manage container-based applications consistently across cloud and on-premises infrastructure
  • Full-stack automated operations to manage hybrid and multicloud deployments

Red Hat OpenShift Dedicated
  • Professionally managed, enterprise grade Kubernetes
  • Private, high-availability OpenShift clusters hosted on Amazon Web Services
  • Delivered as a hosted service and supported by Red Hat

Red Hat | Microsoft Azure
  • Enterprise-grade Kubernetes jointly managed by Microsoft and Red Hat
  • Highly available Red Hat OpenShift clusters hosted on Microsoft Azure
  • Delivered as a hosted service jointly engineered, operated, and supported by Red Hat and Microsoft

Red Hat OpenShift Competitors

Red Hat OpenShift Pricing

Starting Price: $42

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Azure On Demand$0.171Per Hour
1-Year Reserved Instance$0.114Per Hour
3-Year Reserved Instance$0.076Per Hour

Red Hat OpenShift Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Red Hat OpenShift?

OpenShift is Red Hat's Cloud Computing Platform as a Service (PaaS) offering. OpenShift is an application platform in the cloud where application developers and teams can build, test, deploy, and run their applications.

How much does Red Hat OpenShift cost?

Red Hat OpenShift starts at $42.

What is Red Hat OpenShift's best feature?

Reviewers rate Platform access control and Development environment creation highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Red Hat OpenShift?

The most common users of Red Hat OpenShift are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.