OpenText XM Fax

OpenText XM Fax

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 10.0 out of 100
OpenText XM Fax

Overview

Recent Reviews

XM Fax Ease of Use

10 out of 10
April 29, 2022
I currently work for a Xerox Dealer who resells OpenText XM Fax to our customers. Our sales team discusses XM Fax with every customer. The …
Continue reading

XMedius Faxing

10 out of 10
March 09, 2018
We use XMedius faxing solutions throughout in our company and recommend clients who are looking for decent faxing solutions. XMedius …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of OpenText XM Fax, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is OpenText XM Fax?

XM Fax, now from OpenText (acquired March 2020) is a software-based solution for sending and receiving confidential faxes by email. It allows secure transmission of highly sensitive documents, using standardized T.38 Fax-over-IP and G.711 Fax Pass-Through protocols. The vendor says it is easy to…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.xmedius.com/en/roi…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is PaperCut?

PaperCut Software headquartered in Melbourne offers their suite of print and output management solutions including PaperCut NG as well as embedded software to supply hardware integration.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is OpenText XM Fax?

XM Fax, now from OpenText (acquired March 2020) is a software-based solution for sending and receiving confidential faxes by email. It allows secure transmission of highly sensitive documents, using standardized T.38 Fax-over-IP and G.711 Fax Pass-Through protocols. The vendor says it is easy to install, and faxes can be sent using a desktop client (SendFAX), email clients (MS outlook), networked MFPs or via Web Services.

According to the vendor, one of the main benefits of using XM Fax is the elimination of costs for analog phone lines, maintenance, paper, supplies and other related expenses. XM Fax is also designed with security and technical compliance in mind, with built-in features like audit logging, zero fax retention, and encryption.

OpenText XM Fax Features

  • Supported: Uses existing IP infrastructure and eliminates costs for analog phone lines, maintenance, paper, supplies, and other related experiences
  • Supported: Event log tab offers advanced traceability for a complete fax audit
  • Supported: Simplified integration

OpenText XM Fax Screenshots

Track your faxes through an event log tab.Built-in viewer in the web client: XMediusFAX® allows you to view faxes directly in your browser without having to download files.Download the free XMediusFAX® application for Android, iPhone or iPad and send secure faxes from your mobile.Choose your fax recipients (Device contacts, Fax service Phone Book, Favorites).Select your documents from any file management application available on your mobile device.Configure your fax options (priority, resolution, retries).

OpenText XM Fax Videos

XMedius Customer Testimonial: MAHEC
XMedius Partner Testimonial: Internetwork Engineering
Office Drama

OpenText XM Fax Competitors

OpenText XM Fax Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)40%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)30%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)30%

OpenText XM Fax Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesCanada, United States, Brazil, United Kingdom, France, Germany, Australia, Italy
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Chinese

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (19)

Reviews

(1-9 of 9)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
April 29, 2022

XM Fax Ease of Use

Mark Detwiler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I currently work for a Xerox Dealer who resells OpenText XM Fax to our customers. Our sales team discusses XM Fax with every customer. The cost savings for faxing through XM Fax over an analog fax line is significant. We currently bill over 180k fax pages per month through XM Fax. The sales and service support through OpenText has always been outstanding. I wished other software vendors were as easy to work with as OpenText and XM Fax.
  • Contacted sales to set up the creation of enterprise accounts directly through the dashboard.
  • XM Fax Support worked directly with Xerox to correct an issue I had with a device software update. Issues correct within a few days.
  • XM Fax provided onsite sales support for sales and technical training.
  • Honestly, I am not sure I have anything. I worked for Xerox for nearly 20 years and have worked with the XM Fax support folks for many of those years. The support I have received has always been outstanding and a phone call away.
We just signed up a customer who faxes less than 100 pages per month. Faxing through OpenText XM Fax was going to save them $1200 per month and give them the ability to fax directly from their computers and via email. Users were printing the documents and then fax them on the fax machines.
pierre landry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this product for customer who have a multifonction printers at their office and they don't have regular phone line . Some modern building don't have regular phone line built in . So this software is perfect for this situation. The users can send and receive fax via this interface . They can attach a word , excel sheet and send it as a fax using microsoft outlook.
  • send and receive fax using the printer
  • can send fax using an iphone or android
  • send fax directly from outlook
  • very simple to use , but not for the first time user without training
  • because of it specialty , a lot of people don't know the product
  • people they don't know that they can use this app in outlook.
very good to use in the hospital environment , pharmacy, or government . In these are they still use a fax as for important documentation send and receive.
September 07, 2018

XMediusFAX, fast and secure

Richard Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to receive faxes to our desktops, making it fast and convenient for response time.
  • Goes right to my mobile
  • Can respond immediately with a forward of the attachment
  • Don't have to save to my desktop faxes.
  • The headers can be condensed or smaller
  • Being able to send a fax from it
  • Use of an app
If a security feature is needed for your PDFs, this is easy for anyone to use.
Troy Baldwin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by myself and all approving authorities within the company
  • When you get a fax it previews the whole fax in email
  • As you can see the scan without needing to open the attachment it speeds up review and approvals.
  • Anybody can fax you even members outside your organization and it converts it to a PDF super easy.
  • Quick email response after the fax.
  • I cannot think of a way to make this easier to use. It is fool proof.
Anybody who is able to do electronic approvals and does not have time to open the attachment but needs to see page one only it is right there in email.
March 09, 2018

XMedius Faxing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use XMedius faxing solutions throughout in our company and recommend clients who are looking for decent faxing solutions. XMedius delivers fast reliable service, faxes comes in straight in mailbox (you can select destination and add different devices for delivery i.e: printers, copiers) We can help setup faxing solutions for any customer in minutes and ensure best user experience when it comes to faxing, sending faxes are easy too, all you need is your favorite email application and you can start faxing in no time, you can include multimedia contents such as PDF, WORD, DOC
  • Faxes deliver straight to your email, no paper waste, high availability, can be access through email applications, web browser or handheld devices
  • Sending faxes are easy as simple composing email. You can attach different types of document.
  • Customized faxing profiles for outbound faxing, create multiple formats (layouts) for incoming or outgoing faxes
  • Great tech support
  • Support closes at 5:00 PM CST (should start a 24/7 support)
  • No trial / evaluation offers on cloud-based platform
Insurance companies,
Medical records (Hospitals)
Financial institutes
I think if you receive a fax on a traditional paper/analog setup chances are you wont have the information after a few months, where as an email in your inbox stays forever (unless you loose the account :p )
Dorothy Spencer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are mainly using it to receive documents that need to be received in a hurry; otherwise, most of our file transfer is conducted via Egnyte.
  • Customer Support has always solved issues in a hurry.
  • Updates available notification is lacking.
  • Java support - when will it be able to support Java updates?
Faxing is becoming obsolete
January 09, 2018

My XMedius experience

Bryan Formby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XMedius is our enterprise faxing solution company-wide. Any new projects that we implement are added to our XMedius environment.
  • Easy implementation of new sites. Usually takes 10 minutes or less to add a new site.
  • XMedius support is extremely proactive. They usually respond within 10-15 minutes after opening a ticket.
  • None that I can think of at this time.
It is well suited for our environment. We are only at about 50% capacity regarding channels in use. We are able to expand easily.
December 08, 2017

XMedius

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a reseller of XMediusFAX. We plan, deploy and support hundreds of XMedius systems.
  • Fax Conversion
  • Monitoring of incoming and outgoing faxes
  • Working with XMedius support
  • Coversheet editor is garbage, seems like a product designed in 1998
  • Documentation
  • Their support site needs more articles. I hardly ever can find the help I need on my own. I almost always have to open a ticket with them. Sometimes their tickets won't contain notes about what they did to fix it... so if I have the problem again I have to open another ticket. I can't just simply reference their notes.
XMedius is well suited for a large business with hundreds of fax numbers. Could you imagine trying to manage 1000 individual fax machines? That would be a nightmare! Instead it's all in one neat place.
Lucy Kang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
XMediusFax is used as a faxing solution within a couple of title production systems. It is being used by a couple business verticals, but not as a whole.
  • Can send Word documents and PDFs successfully.
  • Detailed error logs are stored in the XMediusFax management site.
  • Error logs include error codes, but sometimes it is hard to understand what it means. Either a shared documentation or detailed error log might help end users better to detect any issue on fax requests.
Well suited: if an application doesn't have a faxing feature, this will be a great tool to assist.
Less appropriate: if the users want to see the success/failure log from XMediusFax, it might not be available as it resides outside of the application.