OpenX Reviews

30 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

All around programmatic player

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

OpenX is used by the Campaign Management team on many of our branding campaigns. We work with them programmatically via an OpenRtb integration in order to get to more users in the US. We have seen CPMs on the exchange a bit high, but the quality and performance we got from the users make it worthwhile.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Omnichannel exchange

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

OpenX is being used by the supply team in our organization. We are connected to them via OpenRTB and use them among many other exchanges to increase our reach and inventory on app campaigns. We use them for worldwide campaigns although their main focus is on the US and Canada and we have not found good results in any other geos.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

Vast network of inventory!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using OpenX as an exchange that is connected to our DSP of choice. What we are seeing is that they are good in terms of volume, but not very good technically with product questions or in customer support (long response times, generally understaffed on their end). It is used by the programmatic arm of our organization and they generally complain about the fraud that is going on in the exchange.
Read this authenticated review
Cassidy Ebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Great Reporting Software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My department uses OpenX to generate reports for clients. These reports essentially detail how their advertisements performed for our eNewsletter deployments. We report on the sent, opens, clicks, CTR, open rates, etc., and OpenX is great for customizing these reports for the specific client.
Read Cassidy Ebert's full review
J C Mullally | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2014

Open X for easier channel management and better ROI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I was building a website from scratch for a very large medical content company that wanted to rotate a range of ads in a range of areas on the site for the wide number of products that they were selling. The Open X Ad Server worked like a dream. I was able to keep track of all of the inventory, serve it up on the correct pages, and repurpose the ads. I was also able to track which were working best and show them more often, and pull the ads that were unperforming, tweak them, and get them back up. There was a bit of a learning curve involved when I first started, but no more so than other products I have used, and I found the customer service was very supportive if I did have specific issues.
Read J C Mullally's full review
Michael Grazziani | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2014

OpenX Ad Serving Platform at Mail.com

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At Mail.com Media Corporation (currently Penske Media Corporation http://www.pmc.com ) OpenX was used to power the Mail.com portal page which served millions of unique users per day and more than half a billion ads per month. The Mail.com portal page delivered unique content and was the focal point in which users would pass as they logged into their webmail each day. OpenX was chosen to supplement then reduce the reliance of third party ad networks which were already serving this strategic space in the Mail.com network. OpenX allowed Mail.com to reduce the dependency and heavy costs associated with third party ad networks. In addition to being less dependent on third party ad networks and reducing costs, OpenX helped empower the ad sales and ad operations teams by giving them more control of their own network inventory. OpenX also served ads network wide in each brand and line of business in the Mail.com portfolio.
Read Michael Grazziani's full review
Avery Alix | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2014

Creative Use of Ad Serving in Video Games

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

OpenX was used to serve banner ads within free-to-play Facebook and Mobile games that had millions of daily users. This was a bit of a custom implementation, and a bit of ahead of the times for the industry in 2010. Where we acted differently was to use OpenX to serve our own internal 'house ads' in addition to external paid advertisements. We used these banner spaces, set up as separate OpenX zones, to do everything from cross-promoting our own internal games to providing information and instructions to players. Many times, players had no idea they were looking at information served up by an ad platform, but OpenX and the flexibility of modules available to us let us select and target our players with a CRM approach that was later admired by the much larger company that bought us.
Read Avery Alix's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2015

OpenX and Me!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used OpenX in a educational platform, to show ads to engage the user with similar content and to do A/B testing for registration styles.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2014

Decent but did not exceed expectations

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We brought OpenX on as an ad server because another portion of our company was using them as a publisher platform. We were able to get a significant discount by utilizing OpenX. We used it across my department in order to run ad campaigns.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2014

OpenX Enterprise has excellent product support!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

While our core business is very concentrated, our parent company has a network of resources for a very unique ad network. We utilize OpenX to serve advertisement(s) across multiple sites. All of our ads are house-ads and is not open to the public; it's solely to promote our products, initiatives and support a plethora of partnerships. It easily allows a small team to manage advertisements throughout the network with ease.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2014

OpenX for SMB use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is a viable ad serving solution for our internal membership based properties. Allows for customized targeting and on the fly changes with ease.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2014

M Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used by certain departments for trafficking or reporting purposes and addresses the needs especially for smaller businesses.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2014

Open X, Not an Open Book.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Open X is being used in the form of buying the inventory through our DSP partners in a RTB dynamic CPM buy. Anyone managing campaigns would have experience with Open X inventory and buying from the exchange.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Data Transfer (3)
6.4
DSP integration (3)
6.7
Ad campaign creation (5)
6.8
Ad deployment (5)
6.8
Display advertising (5)
7.4
Ad display and retargeting segmentation (5)
6.7
Sequence targeting (4)
7.4
Ad dashboards (5)
6.1
Ad performance reports (5)
6.1
Ad conversion tracking (5)
6.0
Ad attribution reporting (4)
7.0
Cross-channel ad management (5)
7.3
Ad forecasting and optimization (4)
7.4

About OpenX

OpenX is an ad serving platform. It is sold option as a hosted solution for can be purchased as an installed application. It allows for easy inventory management , geo-targeting of ads by country, and provides statistics for each ad placement.

OpenX Competitors

OpenX Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No