Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Optimizely Web Experimentation

Optimizely Web Experimentation

Overview

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Optimizely Web Experimentation Review

8 out of 10
June 22, 2024
We use the Optimizely Web Experimentation software to facilitate our A/B testing on the front end of our website. This allows us to freely …
Continue reading

Not value for money

5 out of 10
April 24, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to launch different experiments in our site. We have different type of audiences, coming from …
Continue reading

Optimizely Review

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely for A/B testing and soft rollouts of changes. This allows us to test and make changes without needing to use engineering …
Continue reading

Good platform

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
I have used Optimizely in order to conduct simple AB tests and more complex MVT test to improve an ecommerce website. We had issue …
Continue reading

Data has no opinions

8 out of 10
April 16, 2024
Incentivized
It's simple for us, we want to make data driven decisions and Optimizely Web Experimentation gives us the tools and data we need to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 33 features
  • a/b experiment testing (105)
    9.3
    93%
  • Standard visitor segmentation (97)
    8.9
    89%
  • Test significance (96)
    8.5
    85%
  • Preview mode (94)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Review from a Director of Partnerships
08:08
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.optimizely.com/plans/

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

46 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Oracle Marketing?

Oracle CX Marketing (formerly Oracle Marketing Cloud) is a solution designed to enable marketers to plan and execute automated marketing campaigns via email, display search, video advertising, and mobile while delivering a personalized customer experience for their prospects.

What is Instapage?

Instapage, from AirSlate since the October 2023 acquisition, offers post-click automation to help digital advertisers create more relevant and impactful advertising, unifying the post-click stage of the advertising funnel. Instapage helps marketers to maximize conversions by creating,…

Return to navigation

Features

Testing and Experimentation

These features enable companies to plan, set up, and execute different types of tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, split URL tests).

8
Avg 8.3

Audience Segmentation & Targeting

A set of tools used for website optimization experiments (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, funnel, split URL, multivariate tests) that can help users segment their audience in to different groups for the purpose of exposing specific audiences to tests or personalization efforts.

8.6
Avg 8.7

Results and Analysis

Tools that allow users to evaluate the results of website optimization tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, and split URL tests), or view visitor interaction with webpages and specific site elements.

8.3
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers marketers to conduct fast experiments and personalization campaigns without relying heavily on technical resources. Marketers can test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, deliver personalized customer experiences, and do it all from edge networks.

Optimizely provides a single workspace for experimentation collaborators to have control and visibility across their experiments — from setting up experiment components to interpreting test results — ultimately to improve velocity and collaboration, and elevate performance.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Features

Testing and Experimentation Features

  • Supported: a/b experiment testing
  • Supported: Split URL testing
  • Supported: Multivariate testing
  • Supported: Multi-page/funnel testing
  • Supported: Cross-browser testing
  • Supported: Mobile app testing
  • Supported: Test significance
  • Supported: Visual / WYSIWYG editor
  • Supported: Advanced code editor
  • Supported: Preview mode
  • Supported: Test duration calculator
  • Supported: Experiment scheduler
  • Supported: Experiment workflow and approval
  • Supported: Dynamic experiment activation
  • Supported: Client-side tests
  • Supported: Server-side tests
  • Supported: Mutually exclusive tests

Audience Segmentation & Targeting Features

  • Supported: Standard visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Behavioral visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Traffic allocation control
  • Supported: Website personalization

Results and Analysis Features

  • Supported: Form fill analysis
  • Supported: Goal tracking
  • Supported: Test reporting
  • Supported: Results segmentation
  • Supported: CSV export

Platform Integration Features Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Web analytics integration
  • Supported: Content Management System Integration
  • Supported: Integration with CRM or DMP software

Optimizely Web Experimentation Screenshots

Screenshot of the visual editor, used to make changes to the appearance and layout of a website.Screenshot of the results dashboard that displays experiment results.Screenshot of the integrations page, where integrations can be enabled.Screenshot of Advanced Audience Targeting: Custom Real-Time Segments provide customers with the ability to create rapidly-updating segments which can be used as audiences for testing or personalization. These segments can be based on profile data, omni-channel behaviors, and AI-based observations.Screenshot of AI Content Suggestions: AI-powered suggestions in the Visual Editor accelerate ideation.Screenshot of Extensions for Edge: reusable elements minimize developer dependency when launching multiple tests with the same element.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Competitors

Optimizely Web Experimentation Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Optimizely Web Experimentation Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

AB Tasty, VWO, and Adobe Target are common alternatives for Optimizely Web Experimentation.

Reviewers rate Traffic allocation control highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Optimizely Web Experimentation are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(517)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 191)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Its useful in allowing us to test front end changes, on both smaller and larger scales without the need for full developer resource. It means that we can test changes that we want to make prior to adding them into a dev queue which can be time consuming and we can be confident in the data that backs up the changes that do make it into the dev queue, therefore improving the UX.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
A/B testing of a simple UX change or wording change on a single page, where there can be many entry and exit points; crude feature flag support for feature testing if you're willing to write significant, complex, and difficult-to-debug and maintain code unique to Optimizely alongside all your 90+ other SaaS tools.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely Web Experimentation is a modern and clean web platform that allows basic tasks to be performed quickly while also providing capacity for much more technical approaches to web development. Last year we utilised it for a proof of concept project to ascertain whether Optimizely would be able to fulfil our ongoing needs, which it did and we are now going through a broadscale deploy for whole of public-facing site.
Audrey Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely Web Experimentation has a higher sticker price than some of its competitors. While this is true, you're buying an industry leader with tremendous experience in working with clients for years. Initially, with our Conversion Rate Optimization program, we were wow'd and cajoled into trying the hot bleeding edge features that some newer companies might call AI/algorithmic models-- these are otherwise known as Multi-Armed Bandit campaigns, which isn't a new thing. That being said, contracting and fully utilizing Optimizely Web Experimentation's suite of features, professional services, and more may be cost prohibitive for smaller companies. Once a CRO program reaches maturity Optimizely Web Experimentation can scale for larger teams where more advanced can utilize server side tests exclusively for seamless experimentation.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely Web Experimentation is well-suited for scenarios where data-driven decisions are crucial to optimize website performance, conduct A/B testing, and UX/UI testing. It empowers teams to make website changes backed by data, personalize customer experiences, and optimize conversion rates efficiently. However, it may be less appropriate for smaller teams with limited resources and scenarios where qualitative insights from UXR studies are needed.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
If you want to check the behavior of specific users, grouped by any type of attributes, like last sign in date, the presence of some cookie key/value. And you can also combine many conditions in an easy way, by using a drag-and-drop UI. It's great to use for marketing websites and landing pages, and track and analyze the users behavior based on the type of content they have received
April 24, 2024

Not value for money

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely Web Experimentation is appropriate if you have a big budget and your company is mature enough in experimentation to take all the advantage of a such an expensive price model.

If you are just starting into AB testing, or not enough budget, I do not recommend Optimizely Web Experimentation, as it becomes quite frustrating to manage usage limits and technical set up to avoid extra charges.
Diego Polanco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is a very good tool if a colleague has a lot of experience using experimentation tools. It is mainly for people who understand the structure of the experiments. I would say this is for medium or advanced users. Optimizely offers a lot of functionalities and only these users are able to make the most of them. I would not recommend it to colleagues who are new in the cro or experimentation world as it is not the easiest tool to use.
April 16, 2024

Data has no opinions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
So far for testing changes within a single page it seems well suited. However, if I wanted to make a change on one page and see how it affects things down the funnel, it seems like there isn't a lot of ability to measure that. Or I don't know how.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This is our second testing platform, and is by far the best we have leveraged. Its intuitive in how you are able to build tests. Tracking is easy to set up within the visual editor or as a capability in URL tracking. The reporting tab does need more filtering capabilities for custom metrics.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Well suited for companies that get high traffic. Otherwise it will take a long time to reach stat sig. I would not recommend for small business or start ups. It is great if you work on a team or at a company where you feel like only those with the most influence or loudest voice gets their ideas and content implemented. Stop going with gut and get real data to prove out these guesses.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's great for small tests like CTA buttons - color, text, placement, page position, etc... it's also great for A/B landing page tests or segmenting traffic across channels into various different flows. If everyone on the team has reporting access, it's easy for individuals to jump in to view in-progress results. I wish it was easier to design tests without code -- similar to an Instapage or something...but if you have a team member who knows how to use it, it's generally fine.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's useful for uncomplicated pages and basic research questions. It's likely a researcher would need the support of a developer to incorporate testing into more complex pages. However, as a tool I can't think of a scenario, where testing is appropriate to answer the research question, where you wouldn't want to use Optimizely.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Where Optimizely Shines: Best for Large-Scale Operations: Optimizely is exceptionally well-suited for large enterprises with complex, multi-faceted A/B and multivariate testing needs. Its comprehensive functionality is perfect for conducting extensive experiments across various websites and products. Data-Driven Companies: For organizations heavily reliant on data-driven strategies, Optimizely's advanced analytics and detailed reporting are invaluable. It's ideal for businesses that require an in-depth understanding of user behavior to enhance user experiences and optimize conversion rates. E-commerce Personalization: E-commerce platforms aiming to personalize content and offers will find Optimizely's personalization features highly beneficial. This can significantly boost user engagement and sales. Where Optimizely May Not Be the Best Fit: Cost-Prohibitive for Small Businesses/Startups: The high cost of Optimizely can be a barrier for small businesses or startups. These entities might find the platform's advanced features excessive for their basic A/B testing needs, given their limited budgets. Overkill for Simple Testing Needs: For websites requiring only basic A/B testing, Optimizely's extensive suite of features may be unnecessary. More straightforward and budget-friendly tools could serve their purposes more effectively. Not Ideal for Short-Term Projects: For businesses planning short-term experiments or one-time projects, the investment in Optimizely might not offer adequate returns. Simpler, less expensive platforms could be more appropriate for such limited engagements. Conclusion:Optimizely is a powerful tool for web experimentation, but its suitability varies greatly with the scale and nature of the business. It offers significant advantages for large-scale, data-centric enterprises, while smaller businesses or those with simpler requirements might find it less appropriate due to its high cost.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Well suited. You have a team that wants to run hundreds of tests. This platform can take that also, especially in e-commerce. It's very easy for a faster sales cycle. Someone's on your site, they're ready to buy something, it's a 20, a 50, a $100 product. It's easiest for that because you see the results of it faster. There's less of a when are we going to see the results of this, especially if you have a lot more traffic, then if your site has more traffic, you can run tests faster with statistically significant results and then say, all right, we know which option to pick based off of it performing better than this other one. Let's keep moving forward with additional tests for ones that might not be the best fit. Smaller, medium-sized businesses who are extremely budget conscious, maybe who don't have a lot of website traffic, then they're going to struggle with being able to perform experiments in a faster cycle. So it's going to take longer to see results, longer to see the impact of the software.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I think that probably a less appropriate scenario would be just a simple segmentation play where it's just like, show me people who opened an email versus who didn't. I think this is overkill for something simple like that. But then on the other hand, if you literally want to run an experiment of "Did I move this button?" or "Am I showing this page versus that page?" that's much more appropriate for what Optimizely is able to do.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
All UX site testing ideas are well-suited to Optimizely Web Experimentation; for instance, we've tested using a static add-to-bag CTA on PDPs vs. a hybrid sticky and static CTA. Landing page tests for media also run well in Optimizely Web Experimentation, although we focus less on these.
Jason Tabert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Optimizely Web Experimentation can be simple to set up and get started but has a huge set of incredibly powerful features that you can grow into as your experimentation program matures. Built-in integrations with popular tools in your marketing tech stack allow you to enhance your capabilities as well as enhance the power of your other tools and platforms. The platform is incredibly flexible and supports easy WYSIWYG editing all the way to very complex multi-page experiments. Client-side experimentation lets marketers test and iterate quickly with less reliance on development release cycles and build high-velocity experimentation programs.
Return to navigation