Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Optimizely Web Experimentation

Optimizely Web Experimentation

Overview

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Not value for money

5 out of 10
April 24, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely Web Experimentation to launch different experiments in our site. We have different type of audiences, coming from …
Continue reading

Optimizely Review

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
We use Optimizely for A/B testing and soft rollouts of changes. This allows us to test and make changes without needing to use engineering …
Continue reading

Good platform

8 out of 10
April 23, 2024
Incentivized
I have used Optimizely in order to conduct simple AB tests and more complex MVT test to improve an ecommerce website. We had issue …
Continue reading

Data has no opinions

8 out of 10
April 16, 2024
Incentivized
It's simple for us, we want to make data driven decisions and Optimizely Web Experimentation gives us the tools and data we need to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 33 features
  • a/b experiment testing (104)
    9.3
    93%
  • Standard visitor segmentation (96)
    8.9
    89%
  • Test significance (95)
    8.5
    85%
  • Preview mode (93)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Review from a Director of Partnerships
08:08
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.optimizely.com/plans/

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

46 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Oracle Marketing?

Oracle CX Marketing (formerly Oracle Marketing Cloud) is a solution designed to enable marketers to plan and execute automated marketing campaigns via email, display search, video advertising, and mobile while delivering a personalized customer experience for their prospects.

What is Instapage?

Instapage, from AirSlate since the October 2023 acquisition, offers post-click automation to help digital advertisers create more relevant and impactful advertising, unifying the post-click stage of the advertising funnel. Instapage helps marketers to maximize conversions by creating,…

Return to navigation

Features

Testing and Experimentation

These features enable companies to plan, set up, and execute different types of tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, split URL tests).

8
Avg 8.3

Audience Segmentation & Targeting

A set of tools used for website optimization experiments (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, funnel, split URL, multivariate tests) that can help users segment their audience in to different groups for the purpose of exposing specific audiences to tests or personalization efforts.

8.6
Avg 8.7

Results and Analysis

Tools that allow users to evaluate the results of website optimization tests (e.g. A/B, A/B/n, multivariate, and split URL tests), or view visitor interaction with webpages and specific site elements.

8.3
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers marketers to conduct fast experiments and personalization campaigns without relying heavily on technical resources. Marketers can test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, deliver personalized customer experiences, and do it all from edge networks.

Optimizely provides a single workspace for experimentation collaborators to have control and visibility across their experiments — from setting up experiment components to interpreting test results — ultimately to improve velocity and collaboration, and elevate performance.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Features

Testing and Experimentation Features

  • Supported: a/b experiment testing
  • Supported: Split URL testing
  • Supported: Multivariate testing
  • Supported: Multi-page/funnel testing
  • Supported: Cross-browser testing
  • Supported: Mobile app testing
  • Supported: Test significance
  • Supported: Visual / WYSIWYG editor
  • Supported: Advanced code editor
  • Supported: Preview mode
  • Supported: Test duration calculator
  • Supported: Experiment scheduler
  • Supported: Experiment workflow and approval
  • Supported: Dynamic experiment activation
  • Supported: Client-side tests
  • Supported: Server-side tests
  • Supported: Mutually exclusive tests

Audience Segmentation & Targeting Features

  • Supported: Standard visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Behavioral visitor segmentation
  • Supported: Traffic allocation control
  • Supported: Website personalization

Results and Analysis Features

  • Supported: Form fill analysis
  • Supported: Goal tracking
  • Supported: Test reporting
  • Supported: Results segmentation
  • Supported: CSV export

Platform Integration Features Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Web analytics integration
  • Supported: Content Management System Integration
  • Supported: Integration with CRM or DMP software

Optimizely Web Experimentation Screenshots

Screenshot of the visual editor, used to make changes to the appearance and layout of a website.Screenshot of the results dashboard that displays experiment results.Screenshot of the integrations page, where integrations can be enabled.Screenshot of Advanced Audience Targeting: Custom Real-Time Segments provide customers with the ability to create rapidly-updating segments which can be used as audiences for testing or personalization. These segments can be based on profile data, omni-channel behaviors, and AI-based observations.Screenshot of AI Content Suggestions: AI-powered suggestions in the Visual Editor accelerate ideation.Screenshot of Extensions for Edge: reusable elements minimize developer dependency when launching multiple tests with the same element.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Video

Optimizely Web Experimentation Competitors

Optimizely Web Experimentation Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Optimizely Web Experimentation Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Optimizely Web Experimentation empowers teams to conduct experiments (without having to rely on developer resources) in order to test various user interactions, make website changes backed by data, and personalize customer experiences.

AB Tasty, VWO, and Adobe Target are common alternatives for Optimizely Web Experimentation.

Reviewers rate Traffic allocation control highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Optimizely Web Experimentation are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(514)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 190)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • A/B testing on simple UI changes within one page.
  • Feature flag management of A/B testing of multi-page web flows.
  • Integration with Segment is extremely poor, especially when integrating front-end and back-end signals.
  • Integration with Segment is extremely poor when tying into the web; many excuses are given by Optimizely's advanced tech teams.
Fabien Caublot | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
  • Strong Reporting
  • Multi account / Multi environments / advanced settings
  • Javascript injection at various levels
  • You rarely find yourself limited in your everyday optimization
  • UI sometimes slow
  • WYSIWYG can be clunky
  • So many ways to do things that it's sometimes hard to know what is the "right way"
  • Might be a bit offputting for non-technical people
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • A/b/n testing
  • User friendly WYSIWYG editor
  • Live and post test analysis
  • Better support for complicated page types that don't currently work well within the WYSIWYG editor
  • in-platform UX is a little confusing to navigate
  • More features could be available a la carte instead of locked within higher tiers
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Ease of experiment setup and tracking
  • Metrics and Monitoring with in-depth event tracking
  • Performance Optimization
  • Integration with Third-Party Tools: Braze, Fullstory
  • Predictive analytics: Provide an estimate of impact based on historical experiment data
  • Experiment Management: experiment scheduling and prioritisation
April 24, 2024

Not value for money

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Project and experiment organization.
  • Flicker and loading time. It is fast.
  • Results engine is detailed, and allows to check results as the experiment goes.
  • Pricing model penalizes those just starting with experimentation.
  • High price and fees based on website traffic, not experiment impressions. so you are charged whether you experiment or not.
  • Integration with GA4 is subpar.
  • Documentation at times confusing, different products.
  • UX is confusing and too simple. It leads to errors by users. Lack of meganavs, too minimalistic, it becomes quite a frustration.
  • Not competitive pricing compared with other AB testing tools.
April 23, 2024

Optimizely Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Provides many capabilites
  • User friendly
  • Reporting capabilities
  • We have run into issues with experiments not firing with cookies blocked.
Diego Polanco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • anti-flickering
  • audiences
  • test-building
  • easy to interpret reporting
  • Improve use for new users. It is hard to get lost at first, even compared with its competition.
  • Change between accounts is not as easy as in other tools, or at least not as visible as in other tools.
  • Ease to access. Sometimes I use it on a daily basis and have to log in everytime I use it.
April 16, 2024

Data has no opinions

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Display of data trends
  • No tech copy changes
  • React has been an issue on targeting for a while but they are working on it. I still feel like I need a dev to help me make sure I am targeting the right element when setting up tracking, etc.
  • Explaining best practices within the setup and UI. i.e. you should run the test for xyz, I see this page has XXX traffic you need sessions
  • Explaining how stat sig is calculated
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Enhanced targeting capabilities
  • The Featured experimentation add on is fantastic for complicated builds
  • Simple interface with little to no learning curve needed
  • Filtering capabilities in the reporting tab. To be able to filter based on a custom metric
  • Tracking scroll depth within the reporting tab
  • A more interactive graph within the reporting tab. Ability to manipulate there vs having to update the whole page
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Considers every kind of experiment from simple code change, code additions, code removal, javascript functions, CSS changes, and split landing redirects.
  • Very friendly UC interface for easy navigation of implementation of pages, click events, experiment set up, and metric set up.
  • The ability to let me know when something has reach stat sig without having to do complicated math on my own
  • ability to carry UTM parameters through landing page redirects with a click of a button.
  • They only support integration with GA4 if you use GTM (google tag manager). They don't have any way to integrate other tag managers like ensighten.
  • If you don't know how to write html, css, or javascript code the platform can be challenging to use.
  • Like to see more direct funnels. I have an add to cart event, but it triggers any time someone adds to cart, not necessarily if they add to cart from PDP that I am running the test on.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • AB Testing and Multivariate Testing.
  • User Interface and Ease of Use.
  • Personalization and Targeting.
  • Pricing
  • Full Stack and Web Pricing.
  • Integrations with other tools.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
  • Particularly well. Integrations and kind of playing friendly with others in the sandbox. If you search for any type of technology and Optimizely, there's some sort of a connection for that or they work with that. We have an integration built in, so it's ease of adoption is very good as well as it's intuitive. You really don't need a lot of coding background or a ton of dev resources, especially in the web experimentation side.
  • I think just overall education that there's more than web experimentation. So I think Optimizely was first known for A/B testing, serving two different experiences, "which one performed better?" and continuing with testing. But now with their CMS platform and their commerce platform and they've expanded a lot, I know that there's almost an education gap in all that. It's not just web experimentation. There's a lot more that this does even down to hosting. So I think there's almost an education gap that people go, "I didn't know Optimize could do that. I didn't know I could use them as a solution for that."
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Being able to run multiple experiments for various experiences, whether that's features, web, et cetera - and then being able to create buckets of folks who have done those things and bring them back into my product at Heap. And then sending our vet data over to Optimizely to create more audiences of people and really run that flywheel, so to speak, of experimentation, optimization, and implementation. So it allows me to run more experiments at scale.
  • It's tough because for me it would be more logistical things where I would love to see more active co-selling of opportunities where if the Optimizely sales team or their pre-sales team has an opportunity where they know they're looking for a product analytics tool, engage with us early and we can be co-selling it together essentially.
  • I do know that for example, obviously it's tough because that's a competitor, but I do know that Google Analytics 4 integration is a thing that people ask for. So I think maybe working on that if only to showcase how bad GA4 is and why they should move over to a product like a Heap, I think.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • UI for users of all levels (from business owners to developers) is clean, simple and easy-to-use
  • The in-platform analytics are far and above any competitor, and the combination of Bayesian and Frequentist methods to calculate statistical significance is a huge pro
  • The experiment editing and previewing capabilities are seamless, and allow collaborators of all levels to set up and review tests with ease
  • The audience set up for personalizations is a little hard to spot at first; could be surfaced more clearly like in the A/b test experience set-up.
Jason Tabert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Easy to set up and get started but offers a full suite of features and tools
  • Built-in integrations with your tech stack
  • Powerful reporting and analysis built-in
  • Raw export of experiment data to internal data warehouse for deeper analysis
  • Excellent technical support
  • Powerful suite of tools that goes beyond just experimentation (CDP, DMP, CMS, etc.)
  • Better program management features
  • Complexity of experiments can be limited when only using WYSIWYG editor
  • Would like more pre-built widgets or reusable components for easy iterations and evergreen campaigns
  • Lacks built-in revenue impact quantification tools
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Tells us when we hit stat sig
  • Builds experiments
  • Communication
  • Bounce Rate is calculated in a way that's problematic. It should be based on clicks and not if a user hits a second page in a session, but clients don't have the script on all pages in some cases, so this data is wrong and my team learned the hard way after reporting misinformation to management.
  • Program Management - Comment field - The field we type in should be extendable. I have to type out messages in word and copy it in because I can't see enough of what I've written.
  • Program Management - Comment field - Would love the comment box to save copy if users flip to the attachments or another section. It erases what's been started and you have to start over. Another reason for typing it all out in word and pasting it in.
  • In my opinion, the data export is not super helpful; have to manually organize it in excel and clean a lot out.
  • In my opinion, it's not a true wysiwg. Requires too much code, so we have to reply on Rapid Ex. Calling it a Visual Editor is a stretch.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • It's fairly easy to use without much formal training.
  • The event tracking wasn't as intuitive to me as other tools we've used in the past and required assistance from developers.
  • A few more definitions of fields on the page itself would be helpful - specifically URL match - I don't understand the different between simple and exact match.
Return to navigation