Optimizely Web Experimentation

Optimizely Web Experimentation

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.6 out of 100
Optimizely Web Experimentation

Overview

Recent Reviews

Optimizely Review

8 out of 10
July 18, 2022
As one of my business's most important traffic fonts and a lead generation came from Web Pages we need to focus on this area and we …
Continue reading

Optimizely Review

7 out of 10
April 16, 2021
Optimizely is the platform of choice for product rollout and product development. We work closely with the sales department to improve the …
Continue reading

Good product

7 out of 10
November 02, 2019
Used to develop and test iterations for all our 28 web-based services together with analytics, user research and design professionals in …
Continue reading

Optimizely Grows With Us

8 out of 10
October 22, 2019
Optimizely is used across several teams at our organization. Our team, marketing operations, implement the set-up and targeting of …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 33 features

a/b experiment testing (50)

9.0
90%

Standard visitor segmentation (46)

8.2
82%

Preview mode (47)

6.5
65%

Multi-page/funnel testing (55)

5.3
53%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Optimizely Web Experimentation, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation is a website optimization platform, providing A/B and multivariate testing. It enables users with and without technical expertise to make dynamic changes to their websites, test the variations to live traffic and gather immediate results.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.optimizely.com/plans

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

16 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is VWO?

VWO is an A/B testing and conversion optimization platform that enables growing businesses to conduct qualitative and quantitative visitor research, build an experimentation roadmap and run continuous experiments on their digital properties.With its 5 capabilities Plan, Track, Test, Analyze, and…

What is SiteSpect?

Key features include: - A/B, split, and multivariate testing campaign management - Targeting and personalization - Front-end usability testing - Back-end testing using Origin Experiments - Site acceleration with SiteSpect AMPS(R) - Mobile site and native app support

Features Scorecard

Testing and Experimentation

7.2
72%

Audience Segmentation & Targeting

7.5
75%

Results and Analysis

7.4
74%

Product Details

What is Optimizely Web Experimentation?

Optimizely Web Experimentation is a tool supporting digital experience optimization, and aims to allow businesses to dramatically drive up the value of their digital products, commerce and campaigns through its experimentation software platform.

According to the vendor, by replacing digital guesswork with evidence-based results, Optimizely enables product and marketing professionals to accelerate innovation, lower the risk of new features, and drive up the return on investment from digital by up to 10X.

The vendor states that currently over 26 of the Fortune 100 companies choose Optimizely to power their global digital experiences, including eBay, FOX, IBM, The New York Times and many more global enterprises.

Optimizely Web Experimentation Video

What is Optimizely?

Optimizely Web Experimentation Integrations

Optimizely Web Experimentation Competitors

Optimizely Web Experimentation Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Optimizely Web Experimentation is a website optimization platform, providing A/B and multivariate testing. It enables users with and without technical expertise to make dynamic changes to their websites, test the variations to live traffic and gather immediate results.

AB Tasty, Adobe Target, and Frosmo are common alternatives for Optimizely Web Experimentation.

Reviewers rate CSV export highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Optimizely Web Experimentation are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Internet industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-25 of 133)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It's an easy tool to set up an AB testing process.
  • Nice and clear UI/UX.
  • The size of the library itself. It contains all of the experiments inside. Tech decision was correct, however, performance metrics for our landing pages went down.
  • The new price policy is ridiculously high.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • User Interface, you don't need to be a developer to update experiments.
  • Ability to run more than 1 experiment at a time.
  • Simplicity.
  • Analytics integration: Often have unexplainable data discrepancies between Optimizely and Adobe/Heap
  • Audience Targeting: Often doesn't match our internal source data on groups when they are identified in the same way.
  • Incremental gains: How to determine which experiments have the most impact when there may be multiple running.
April 16, 2021

Optimizely Review

Katie Goh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • General business users can build experiments without coding.
  • Use of API.
  • It is important to remember that complex features and product rollouts require considerable effort.
  • Large scale experimentation management. Being able to look at the project at a high level of detail is a convenient methodology.
  • A snippet from Optimizely increases the loading time of a page.
Rafael Zorrilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The ability for general business users to build experiments. No direct need for coding necessary. Caveat, complex feature or product rollouts may need development effort.
  • relatively real-time statistical review of the experiment data.
  • API output.
  • Management of large volume of experimentation. The ability to review the large scale of the experiment is a convenient manner.
  • The incremental increase in page load time due to the Optimizely snippet.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It provides an interface to create tests easily.
  • It sends out webinars and best practice emails.
  • It might be our integration with GA, but it's hard to trust the results at times.
  • Traffic allocation-- this might be our implementation, but the users are never 100% on an A/B test.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Insert code as the page is rendering. This can be helpful for quick visual fixes or inserting code for testing.
  • Performing A/B testing for minor visual changes to the site.
  • Collecting all tests in a single interface that allows multiple people to see what's being tested.
  • It slows down the rendering of a webpage because it's a third-party script. If you set it to render asynchronously or after the page is rendered, you see flickering.
  • This may be how it's implemented, but our web team typically has no idea when tests are going live as there are no notifications set up. Things can get broken on the site without us knowing.
  • There's no easy way to see what tests are running and what they affect without going into the management interface.
November 02, 2019

Good product

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • A/B testing
  • 1 too many tests
  • Hypothesis testing
  • Export function
  • Freedom to implement
  • Can be used to make bad decisions
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The user interface is relatively straightforward, making adopting across the company easier.
  • Customer Support is very responsive.
  • Optimizely X Web integrates with digital analytics tools (such as Google Analytics) relatively smoothly.
  • Optimizely Full Stack is difficult to integrate with digital analytics tools (such as Google Analytics).
  • Events can be hard to configure, depending on what kinds of tests you're running.
  • It's not the best solution when you're dealing with users who log in and out of a platform frequently, especially across devices. Sometimes the user IDs get confused and you end up with people seeing a control AND variant version (across different experiences).
October 22, 2019

Optimizely Grows With Us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Account Service - We have had an exceptional experience with our account team.
  • Advanced targeting capabilities - There have been several instances where we have questioned how we are going to segment and target a specific set of users, and thus far Optimizely has always been able to deliver upon our targeting goals.
  • Resources for learning - We've found there to be a considerable amount of documentation on Optimizely's capabilities which has enabled us to look into specific topics on our own.
  • None at the moment.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It does a great job reporting experiment results and showing when a test wins or loses.
  • The UI is designed very well and it super easy to use.
  • The customer support is really responsive and helpful.
  • The documentation is very deep and helpful.
  • Single Page Application testing is a little more difficult than traditional sites.
  • API documentation could use more examples.
  • QA of experiments could be a little easier. Sometimes the preview links don't load in browser windows or incognito windows.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Developers seem to be able to set up experiments fairly easily.
  • The dashboard allows users to control settings for individual devices for testing purposes.
  • Functional on both iOS and Android.
  • At least in our implementation, there didn't seem to be a great way to scale the number of individual testers who are able to individually control experiment settings.
  • Differences in the experiment stage weren't terribly intuitive to figure out.
  • When we first started using it, there was no support for booleans to define the audience. If we wanted to enable an experiment for anyone on version N or higher, we couldn't just say "if version >= N", but had to add each subsequent version individually. I believe this has been addressed in the new version.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Self code small design changes without dev help.
  • Quickly adjust test volumes or turn tests on/off.
  • Watching high-level test metrics to know when you have a Stat Sig winner.
  • We have had some issues with using it on Single Page App sites.
  • There is an initial learning curve.
  • Would benefit from improved online courses.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Lots of documentation and support articles
  • Optimizely X for server-side experiments is nice, especially with GDPR and ITP etc.
  • Constant updates to the technology
  • Can be overly complex
  • Not the best for personalization
  • Not a lot of auto-integrations with other products like Google Analytics and advertising channels
October 04, 2019

Optimizely Web

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use for less technically inclined individuals
  • Ability to target very specific audiences
  • Ability to change traffic allocation of an experiment at any time
  • Limited flexibility for developers (Optimizely Web)
  • Certain usages can result in performance degradation and/or page flickering, which is detrimental to the user experience
  • Lack of support for persistent / longer running experiments in Optimizely Web
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Split Testing. It makes it very clear when one of many options is declared "the winner".
  • Targeting classes and other HTML/CSS elements when making changes.
  • Serving up different digital experiences to different demographics.
  • The preview window is very buggy. Often, tests will break, and something the bugs will cause the website to look wonky and broken as well--when it isn't actually broken. It really needs to be a more seamless experience, because it is sometimes hard to trust the preview window when you're trying to see how the test will look to hundreds of thousands of people.
  • Load times. Sometimes the load times for certain pages in the app are very long.
  • The HTML editor pane when clicking on an element that has a ton of nested HTML can often bug out and only show the first 10 - 20 lines of code before going completely blank. It would be really awesome if we could fully switch the view to HTML view, choose our elements and classes that way, and then switch back to the Visual view.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Customer support.
  • Training.
  • Making testing simple.
  • I would like the ability to force a cache clear on the snippet each time the snippet changes, instead of based on time settings. This may be possible with Optimizely Edge.
  • The ability to see changes made to each test individually (not just all changes made).
September 11, 2019

Optimizely Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Extremely intuitive interface with excellent usability, without sacrificing features. You could almost just read and use some common sense, and be able to use 80%+ of the features the first time you load the tool - incredibly intuitive.
  • Drag and Drop/Click and Pull functionality that is present throughout the tool, allows for seamless changes and updates, which can be much more cumbersome in other tools - potentially leading to more errors in campaign setup.
  • The WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) Editor is the best that I have personally used.
  • Optimizely technical support is second to none, in both their expertise, as well as their friendliness and willingness to help.
  • Integrates well with Adobe Analytics.
  • One specific point, is I wish Optimizely gave you the ability to copy an audience. It's an extremely simple feature, and one that we've requested, but probably just on the back log currently.
  • Sometimes it can take quite some time to upload changes from a campaign to the CDN. It varies by client and implementation, but can be a pain point at times.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • With Optimizely we can make changes in the user interface of any web page. So let's say if you notice any UI related issue of a web page then you can directly fix it through Optimizely with deploying any production build.
  • With Optimizely we can implement AB Testing through which we can compare the different versions of the same web page for performance and for better customer experience.
  • You can easily enable and disable Optimizely on the website through highly configurable Admin panel.
  • Training on the tool for internal business users both on the development and consultancy side.
  • Increase in page load time due to the Optimizely snippet.