TrustRadius
Stable and very useful product for enterprise reporting needsOracle BI is being used for pretty long time now for addressing our reporting and analytics needs. We have been upgrading the suite appropriately as the versions are available and are currently on v 12. This is one of the key reporting tools for our organization. It addresses number of daily, monthly and ad-how reporting solutions.,Ease of development and quick turnouts as the build is easier compared to some other BI tools for both reporting developers as well as the power users. The RPD development is comparatively easier to build for star schemas and also the subject areas are easier to use by the power users. Easy integration of Mobile BI interface and sharing features in the same layer. Easy integration of other functionality like MapViewer. Multi database type integration is enabled which is not really a distinctive feature in market, but has been improved a lot in OBIEE now.,Oracle BI suite needs to overhaul the visualization features as well as the look and feel to improve the ease of use for audience which is familiar with new java based tools. The knowledge base available on Oracle repository or forum needs to be more relevant and updated . They need to keep updating their drivers list or integration with other databases or blending tools/ MDX sources. This is one of the difficulties we faced, causing development cost and time to market impacted.,7,MicroStrategy Analytics, MicroStrategy Mobile and Tableau Desktop,8,8,Independent Oracle User Group Oracle Academy,MicroStrategy Analytics, Tableau DesktopOBI, a good tool with room for improvementsWe are using OBI to solve needs from different departments, such as supply, logistics, production and IT itself. It helps us to obtain statistics from our different processes and to help with making decisions. We also have a control panel for logistics, so the mills can know in advance about arriving trucks.,Analyze information at different levels of aggregation. Graphs and charts are easily produced. It is very nice to organize the screen with different views of the same information, all with common parameters. So you can analyze related information from many point of view, all in the same page. It is very flexible to add fields to the report, to change orders, to transform a column into a parameter and vice versa.,I think it should evolve in its graphic capabilities to compete more strongly with other market tools. It has good capabilities to integrate maps with information. However, this feature is sold separately, and is quite expensive. That's why, even when we need it, we decided not to use it. In South America there are many resources that really dominate the tool. For this reason, or you end up paying very expensive values ​​for resources, or you end up working with consultants with knowledge of other tools. This in general allows us to develop the models that are needed, but we are definitely not making the most of all the capabilities.,6,QlikView and SAP Power BI,6,7,,Oracle eBusiness Suite, Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance Management, Oracle DatabaseOracle BI Foundation Suit - Good or badOracle BI Foundation Suite is implemented for an automobile industry in Sydney and has been used by its major departments. The main purpose of the tool is to manage, load and extract data from its DB to its own BI tool which makes it faster, reliable and easy to manage. It mainly addresses the problem of extensions of existing reports to major reports or dashboards, SQL based reports with complex outputs, etc.,It allows easy extension of reports from simple to complex dashboards The tool goes well with Oracle DB and has great performance Since the base is built on Java, it is supported to run on different platforms and portable devices,The tool does not support all the external databases, just works perfect with Oracle DB and few others Since it is based to run on JVM, there are few new systems that has stopped using JVM and has switched to ajax and other platforms. Hence the right plugins are required to be installed in addition The tool is not easy to use. A new user can not work on it unless trained or is highly techy person.,9,QlikView and SAP Business Objects,8,8,Independent Oracle User Group,SAP Business Objects Data Quality Management, QlikView, Tableau PublicOracle BI Foundation Suite is simply stellar - can do so much with it!At Hostmark the Oracle BI Suite is the included reporting segment of UltiPro. Using Oracle Business Intelligence allows me to extract data then write or modify reports to use with all sorts of data analysis. Currently all managers are assigned access to BI to run common payroll, human resource, and benefit reports to help them make decisions. These reports are specialized or formatted to pull the information that our managers need whenever the default reports included with UltiPro don't exactly match the formatting or reporting requirements our managers are looking for.,With a little guidance, ease of use Great database management system with just the right amount of options (scalability) Create dashboards for various types of users,Can be overwhelming to use at first, but any report-writer would suggest to download data dictionaries first to locate fields and prompts that would ordinarily be hard to find,10,ADP and Compleo,10,10,,,2,Currently we are using BI at a level that suite the needs of our managers - but we know it can do more!,Extraction of Labor Hours and Dollars Ad-hoc reporting, simple data reporting,Custom Dashboards Event Studio alerts Scheduling or Bursting of selected reportsOracle BI Foundation Suite: A Big Data capable toolWe are using Oracle BI Foundation Suite Enterprise edition to meet our day to day analytical needs. We have been using Oracle BI in different departments like logistics, IT, etc. The important thing about the tool which makes it faster and reliable is to manage, load and extract data from its DB to its own DB tool.,Oracle BI Foundation suite is an overall package of enterprise reporting, multi-dimensional analytical processing, and real-time quick reporting. Oracle BI Foundation has Exalytics, which delivers fast performance reports. It has the flexibility to run on different platforms as it is built on Java.,The tool is not easy to use. Oracle BI reporting of administration needs to be simplified for better administration and maintenance.,8,Oracle Data Integrator,6,8,Not a member of any user groups,Oracle Data Integrator, Oracle Application Express, Oracle ATG Web Commerce
Unspecified
Oracle BI Foundation Suite
282 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
TRScore

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Reviews

Oracle BI Foundation Suite
282 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 283 vetted Oracle BI Foundation Suite reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
December 28, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Stable and very useful product for enterprise reporting needs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI is being used for pretty long time now for addressing our reporting and analytics needs. We have been upgrading the suite appropriately as the versions are available and are currently on v 12. This is one of the key reporting tools for our organization. It addresses number of daily, monthly and ad-how reporting solutions.
  • Ease of development and quick turnouts as the build is easier compared to some other BI tools for both reporting developers as well as the power users. The RPD development is comparatively easier to build for star schemas and also the subject areas are easier to use by the power users.
  • Easy integration of Mobile BI interface and sharing features in the same layer.
  • Easy integration of other functionality like MapViewer. Multi database type integration is enabled which is not really a distinctive feature in market, but has been improved a lot in OBIEE now.
  • Oracle BI suite needs to overhaul the visualization features as well as the look and feel to improve the ease of use for audience which is familiar with new java based tools.
  • The knowledge base available on Oracle repository or forum needs to be more relevant and updated .
  • They need to keep updating their drivers list or integration with other databases or blending tools/ MDX sources. This is one of the difficulties we faced, causing development cost and time to market impacted.
Well suited for standard reporting or enterprise reporting requirements. Scheduled reports or ad-hoc prompt based /power user report builder capabilities are very good. It has an excellent integration model with Essbase and Oracle Exadata kind of relational back ends. No doubt of it’s strength on end to end enterprise reporting capabilities.

Less appropriate for cool visualization or dynamic interactive dashboards or analytics, D3 kind of capabilities. I found other tools or java based open sources much better in market.
Read Vineet Rai's full review
November 07, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "OBI, a good tool with room for improvements"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using OBI to solve needs from different departments, such as supply, logistics, production and IT itself. It helps us to obtain statistics from our different processes and to help with making decisions. We also have a control panel for logistics, so the mills can know in advance about arriving trucks.
  • Analyze information at different levels of aggregation.
  • Graphs and charts are easily produced.
  • It is very nice to organize the screen with different views of the same information, all with common parameters. So you can analyze related information from many point of view, all in the same page.
  • It is very flexible to add fields to the report, to change orders, to transform a column into a parameter and vice versa.
  • I think it should evolve in its graphic capabilities to compete more strongly with other market tools.
  • It has good capabilities to integrate maps with information. However, this feature is sold separately, and is quite expensive. That's why, even when we need it, we decided not to use it.
  • In South America there are many resources that really dominate the tool. For this reason, or you end up paying very expensive values ​​for resources, or you end up working with consultants with knowledge of other tools. This in general allows us to develop the models that are needed, but we are definitely not making the most of all the capabilities.
I would use it with solutions that are already running with Oracle databases. And complemented with Oracle Desktop Integrator (ODI) it is really easy to integrate it with other data sources. However, if most of my main applications had a database I would seriously evaluate before deciding on OBI.
Read Federico Shortrede's full review
November 02, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Oracle BI Foundation Suit - Good or bad"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI Foundation Suite is implemented for an automobile industry in Sydney and has been used by its major departments. The main purpose of the tool is to manage, load and extract data from its DB to its own BI tool which makes it faster, reliable and easy to manage. It mainly addresses the problem of extensions of existing reports to major reports or dashboards, SQL based reports with complex outputs, etc.
  • It allows easy extension of reports from simple to complex dashboards
  • The tool goes well with Oracle DB and has great performance
  • Since the base is built on Java, it is supported to run on different platforms and portable devices
  • The tool does not support all the external databases, just works perfect with Oracle DB and few others
  • Since it is based to run on JVM, there are few new systems that has stopped using JVM and has switched to ajax and other platforms. Hence the right plugins are required to be installed in addition
  • The tool is not easy to use. A new user can not work on it unless trained or is highly techy person.
If the client is using Oracle based tools like the DB, ETL and application, Oracle BI Foundation Suite is one of the best fit for the client.
For e.g. The automobile industry where we had implemented OBI, there was a cube built at the ETL level for calculating aggregations of their financial data. The client was using one another non-oracle tool to extract data from this cube to get their financial data but they were facing a lot of performance issues. We switched this reporting from the non-oracle to Oracle BI suit and the performance came down from 6 min to 40 seconds. That was just amazing what the client was looking for.
Read Sumeet Saraf's full review
October 30, 2017

Review: "Oracle BI Foundation Suite is simply stellar - can do so much with it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Hostmark the Oracle BI Suite is the included reporting segment of UltiPro. Using Oracle Business Intelligence allows me to extract data then write or modify reports to use with all sorts of data analysis. Currently all managers are assigned access to BI to run common payroll, human resource, and benefit reports to help them make decisions. These reports are specialized or formatted to pull the information that our managers need whenever the default reports included with UltiPro don't exactly match the formatting or reporting requirements our managers are looking for.
  • With a little guidance, ease of use
  • Great database management system with just the right amount of options (scalability)
  • Create dashboards for various types of users
  • Can be overwhelming to use at first, but any report-writer would suggest to download data dictionaries first to locate fields and prompts that would ordinarily be hard to find

It doesn't matter what sector you are in. You can use Oracle Business Intelligence to extract whatever data you need for decision making. Our managers use it for all sorts of things: in payroll, to report how many hours their employees are working and to track overtime, in human resources to validate all new hire information and to audit hours worked for full-time/part-time employee classification, and in benefits to find out if any employee vs. employer-paid premiums are in balance and determine benefits eligibility, to name a few.

For the normal user (which we do not give BI access to), having access to this data would be overkill.

Read Juan Osegueda's full review
November 29, 2017

Review: "Oracle BI Foundation Suite: A Big Data capable tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle BI Foundation Suite Enterprise edition to meet our day to day analytical needs. We have been using Oracle BI in different departments like logistics, IT, etc. The important thing about the tool which makes it faster and reliable is to manage, load and extract data from its DB to its own DB tool.
  • Oracle BI Foundation suite is an overall package of enterprise reporting, multi-dimensional analytical processing, and real-time quick reporting.
  • Oracle BI Foundation has Exalytics, which delivers fast performance reports.
  • It has the flexibility to run on different platforms as it is built on Java.
  • The tool is not easy to use.
  • Oracle BI reporting of administration needs to be simplified for better administration and maintenance.
Oracle Business Intelligence allows me to extract data to write and modify reports to use with all sorts of data analytics. It did not prepare dashboards, it mostly prepares data to Excel.
Read Ashwini Chandorkar's full review
November 07, 2017

Review: "Best Packaged Enterprise Wide Reporting - Oracle BI Foundation Suite"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Oracle BI Foundation across the organization for different departments like sales, marketing, finance, and renewal contracts. It helps various business departments to analyse the data for making better business decisions.
  • We can use the pre-built Oracle BI Apps model & dashboard/reports in OBIEE. This provides real ease to analyze the data for every business areas of organization with pre-defined KPIs.
  • Oracle BI Foundation includes BI Publisher which supports varied options for delivering the reports via email, printer, shared location, fax. BI Publisher also provides all language compatibility support.
  • Oracle BI Foundation has Exalytics, which delivers amazingly fast performance reports in combination with the Times Ten Database.
  • It's easy to integrate OBIEE & BI Publisher and that provides the flexibility to use BI Publisher for report template building based out of OBIEE Model.
  • OBIEE can provide some changes in the user interface, which has been carried out with the same look and feel almost from version 10 to 12c.
Oracle BI Foundation Suite becomes perfect to use when organizations are also using Oracle EBS for order management, service contracts, install base modules and all other modules of EBS. OBIEE pre-built BI apps and reports/dashboards can be used easily. Oracle BI Foundation Suite is best suited for enterprise-wide reporting. OBIEE requires understanding on the subject area model to create better reports when compared to other simple tools out in the market to build the reports.
Read Hemant Prabhakar Patil's full review
November 06, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Oracle BI Foundation comprehensive product for all BI needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI Foundation was used to make a middle layer for ad-hoc reports and analysis by users. It can connect various sources and can model DW for BI reports and analysis. Then it has its own powerful tool for report and dashboard development. I have also worked with the Oracle Strategy Management tool which is a very great way to present strategy management budgeted vs. actual KPI values.
  • Middle layer where we can model data for any complex requirement. On presentation layer, we can make it very business friendly.
  • Very powerful capability and even customization by languages/scripts is available.
  • Data Security and Object security are very strong. It is provided various [types of] granularity.
  • Formatting and look & feel is not so great for default development unless you make efforts on it.
  • For simple things or quick developments, it takes considerable efforts to bring it completion from end to end.
Oracle BI Foundation is a very effective and proven tool for ad-hoc analysis. The latest versions like OBI12c and BICS are cloud-based - keeping the future in mind.
Read Yoganand Shinde's full review
October 27, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite: "Oracle BI Suite Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am helping customers in my organization implement Oracle BI Foundation Suite. It helps customers integrate their online application with the Oracle BI tool to help them understand how their business is performing and helps identify the gaps or advance the features of business to grow their business lines. It is used by specific departments. It helps businesses to resolve their accounting and marketing applications.
  • It helps integrate with online applications and provide the complete data warehouse solution.
  • It provides features of adhoc and customized reporting.
  • It has strong visual features to help business needs and supporting integration with different tools like Microsoft Office etc.
  • It is easy to learn by business user to create their own adhoc reports.
  • It should help migration BI solution using other tools with in itself rather creation from start as solution.
  • It should have some feature of in memory data capture for slicing and dicing of data
It should have answer from its infrastructure needs, to installation, to implement existing application or new application, easy to use and help business to design their requirements.
Read Krishan Mohil's full review
December 13, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Powerful - recommended for large businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle BI Foundation Suite is primarily used by the data analytics team of my organization. In particular, OBIEE 11g is used. Although the tool is primarily used and managed by the data analytics team, the use cases of OBIEE 11g apply to various departments and pillars across the entire organization. Reports generated by OBIEE are the primary source of actionable insights for most business decisions on a much higher level.
  • Can be used by business folk as well, without any in-depth knowledge of writing queries.
  • Automation of a lot of functions makes it very handy to avoid heavy mechanical tasks.
  • Offers great level of control in terms of data access and restrictions.
  • Provides diverse scheduling options - time triggered, event triggered, data dependent, etc.
  • Some issues that require the assistance of support at Oracle can be time-consuming and difficult to solve.
  • Upgrade from 10g to 11g has made the OBI Foundation Suite very performance intensive. Requires much better hardware support now.
  • Initial setup is not as straightforward as that of previous versions.
For an organization that deals with a wide range of reporting needs and also has to handle huge volumes of data that are required for sourcing these reports, Oracle Business Intelligence Foundation Suite provides a great tool in terms of both performance and usage. The layered approach to usage allows both data analysts as well as business analysts to be able to use OBIEE comfortably. However, the premium licensing cost of OBIEE makes it difficult for most startups and low-budget business to afford.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Oracle BI - a tool that many businesses can count on"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a wide range of users in different teams. The primary and most used feature is the business dashboard, which gives an instant overview of the status of all products and services. Some users will be able to drill down if they wish, to more details sections and dig in deeper in their areas of interest.
  • It integrates well with an Oracle database as the data warehouse.
  • Heterogeneous data sources can also be configured and used.
  • It provides certain automation capabilities.
  • Some queries generated can be further improved in terms of query performance.
It is better suited for well-designed and organized data warehouses and data marts. It can take time to get full advantage of all of the features, and users need to be trained and user's active sessions need to be monitored for occasional unrealistic queries generated. It is probably less suited for un-refined raw data.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite: "Oracle BI Foundation Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle’s Business Intelligence Foundation Suite has a wide variety of features, some of which are indicated below. However, we want to note that Oracle is one of the few vendors that supports big data capability. Big data refers to a collection of large data sets that are complicated to analyze by traditional software. One of the benefits of Oracle’s Exalytics component is that it can analyze large sets of data in a short time.
  • Ad Hoc Analysis, Online Analytical Processing (OLAP), Predictive Analysis, Profit Analysis, Trend Indicators
  • Ad Hoc Reporting, Automatic Scheduled Reporting, and Customizable Dashboard
  • Ad Hoc Analysis
  • Online Analytical Processing (OLAP)
  • Automatic Scheduled Reporting
  • Profit Analysis
  • Trend Indicators
Office Integration – Office Integration allows users to merge their reports and analyses into their Microsoft Office programs (Word, Excel, etc.) and can even run analyses via Excel.
Read Mary O'Basuyi's full review
February 23, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "A Close Look at Oracle' OBIEE product (a part of Oracle BI Foundation)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a trainer for the OBIEE part of Oracle BI Foundation Suite. I find the suite of tools to be a great way to analyze and present data to end user teams and upper management. I find the interface rather easy to use. The OBIEE product allows you to make very comprehensive dashboards, where, the end users and/or management teams can quickly see at a high level what is going on, then drill to the supporting detail with the click of a mouse. I find the alerts to be of particular value as OBIEE can monitor and alert you when certain data conditions exist. You can use the score card software to automate some or all of your business decision processes, based on data in your data stores.
  • I like the drag and drop feature of building reports. Tables show up as folders and columns as items within the folder. Most of the reports can be built with a simple drag and drop operation.
  • If you are familiar with the SQL query language, you can definitely use these skills to enhance the reports and information on the reports.
  • I think the alerts is a major useful component of OBIEE...in that...it can monitor your data and let you know when certain conditions exist. No surprises, no missing useful and timely information.
  • It is all web-based development and deployment. You don't need to install any software at your workstation at all.
  • I suppose OBIEE could directly access more data sources but this is also easily accomplished via the underlying Oracle RDBMS and their gateway technologies.
This product is well suited for anyone doing data analysis. It is all web-based. The deployment is a snap. I can say this is a great solution for companies with a sales force that needs up to the minute information on their mobile devices. Sure, lots of products can do this too...but OBIEE makes deployment to both workstations and mobile devices a snap. The dashboards present the information easily and the most important information can easily be featured in the center. A click can drill to the related supporting information.
Read Dan Hotka's full review
March 06, 2017

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Keep connected and all in there same place"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI Foundation suite had been exceptionally helpful to me and co-workers because it helps us to build better reports for senior management teams and help us with budget planning and task management while keeping everything in one place.
  • I love that there are so many different programs all rolled into one suite. It makes it easier than having to switch formats or applications all the time.
  • Interface could use a face lift as it feels a little clunky, but still very usable!
It's great for larger companies because it can hold a large amount of data. Also great for companies that don't want to pay more to have several different programs.
Read this authenticated review
September 23, 2016

Review: "Stacking up Oracle BI Foundation Suite with the rest"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the enterprise. Cross functional reporting issues are well addressed using Oracle BI.
  • Better integration with Oracle R12
  • Ease of Use and scalability
  • Customizations for complex requirements
  • Performance is a bit slow and needs improvement
  • Better visualizations are needed to compete with other competitive tools.
well suited for enterprise wide cross functional reporting. But less suited for fast easy deployments and AD hoc usage with business
Read Brijesh Rao, PMP's full review
September 30, 2016

Review: "Oracle BI Foundation Suite - Consultant Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is generally used to pull custom reports throughout the organization. We use it to make several reports depending upon clients' need. Whenever they implement Oracle Fusion or Oracle EBS, we give them module specific reports using Oracle VI Foundation Suite. These reports depend on the modules we have implemented. For example, if we have Oracle Time and Labor implemented, we generate a report containing time entries, total time spent, the expenditure type etc., which can be used by the client to interface with their external payroll systems such as ADP.
  • Custom Reports
  • Integration with Oracle HCM
  • Graphs and charts
  • The OTBI where you can drag and drop the subject area items is full of bugs, one such example is when you are rearranging the columns in a report it might not show up immediately.
  • The formulas you use for OTBI reports are pretty basic which results in something as simple as doing an addition of three columns - also a difficult task.
  • Lack of documentation.
Considering the amount of options and integrations it offers and the lack of similar softwares around, it is good choice for most. Oracle BI Foundation suite is exceptionally helpful if you are using Oracle HCM, SCM or EBS system since it will be directly integrated with these systems. Not only can you pull the data from those systems, you can integrate it with them so well that you can display the reports and graphs made through Oracle BI Foundation Suite right in the Fusion, EBS system directly.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2016

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Oracle BI good product...but not replacement to Discoverer"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle BI Foundation Suite (BI) across all the organization. We have trained all our end users to use BI, because we have decided to remove Discoverer from our EBS side. It helped our users to do reporting much more easily and it gives them freedom to create charts.
  • This is not a replacement for Discovery and is not going to replace any transactional report. You can have balances of each account in BI but not the entire trial balance.
  • The focus of this suite is analytical reporting not transaction reporting.
  • If you are using security with EBS, then implementing security with EBS is a challenge, no proper documentation is available from Oracle, so opening an SR is useful.
  • Template builder should be more user friendly.
Great:
1) Adhoc reports
2) Generating graphs of available data.

Not that great:
1) Transnational report.
2) Complicated query which may time-out.
Read this authenticated review
May 06, 2016

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Comparing Oracle BI Suite to More Modern BI Platforms"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle BI Suite was an enterprise-wide implementation at two of my previous places of employment. It was used primarily for business intelligence reporting and analysis. My first use of it was within a 12 hospital health system with millions of rows of data and a user base of around 150 end users.
  • Oracle BI Suite is a comprehensive suite able to handle any size of data as well as complex analytical requirements.
  • With proper training, most end users can be taught to use the front-end in a relatively short period of time.
  • It plays very well with Oracle databases, obviously, so for companies that are an Oracle shop already, it can be implemented as a logical next step for business intelligence.
  • Oracle BI is a very bulky and, to a large extent, unwieldy application. It almost invariably requires a dedicated, full-time technical resource to manage it on an ongoing basis.
  • The dashboard visuals could use a lot of improvement, especially when compared to more modern BI applications that sell well largely due to their impressive visuals.
  • The resulting reports could be a bit more user-friendly and more intuitive. Again, this is one area where more modern BI platforms have a distinct advantage over Oracle BI.
Oracle BI Suite is better suited for very large organizations or multi-national corporations with massive amounts of data. Smaller organizations or situations where only a few million rows of data are available would be better served to go with smaller, nimbler BI applications that can be deployed much quicker and much more cost effectively.
Read Jude Odu's full review
April 05, 2016

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Neo; choose a pill...Oracle!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the time we used the software it was being utilized by a specific department, account management and technology consulting. The information/data is passed down through all departments (the reporting) but management uses it to determine where time is spent for clients, employees, reoccurring issues, etc. This product is nice so we from an IT prospective can pass off ownership and utilization of the actual product to other members of the team/department so we can continue to manage backend reporting. Once in-house members and clients are taught how to use the software, IT can take a step back and not have to run needed reports.
  • Reporting, for our company and when recommending it to our clients its a huge selling point.
  • Especially the granular graphs, they can be adjusted for what each needed person (CFO, CEO, Managers) specifically requires.
  • It's also helpful to determine where the "bottlenecking" could be occurring within workflow.
  • Although after a quick tutorial or testing from an IT end, some users struggle with learning the software.
  • This is not uncommon for a learning curve but having quicker resources to point users to for learning would be beneficial. Something such as a direct video less than 5 minutes on how to complete specific functions will help the training.
Honestly, IT appreciates the product however pricing is a huge concern when pitching new incentives to clients or internally. We know this going into these meetings and having a proper presentation helps secure a better foundation when pitching to the team. We've been very detailed and straight to the point at the same time which helps. However a small/medium size company has been difficult to pull off. Having a plan that will work overtime for these companies will help get the product in use for clients to see the full potential and consider long term usage.
Read Daniel J. Lewis's full review
May 05, 2016

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Great and Complete BI Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Oracle covers all the technological needs of a company. Reporting requirements are covered with BI Publisher, and ad-hoc reports can be distributed to all of the strategic line. I love Oracle Answer. Users can create their own reports and share them with the rest of the organization. Oracle has an intermediate layer where dimensions and metrics that will be used are defined. This allows for greater control by the IT department. Other tools allow you to connect faster data, but there are risks involved in not being in control of the data.

I have worked with many end customers which have used this technology, and the key to success is the use. It is important to be involved at all stages: analysis, development and implementation. Oracle BI is not a simple deployment tool as it has very powerful features and it’s hard to see that all are used in all companies. For example, I have seen rarely seen the Oracle scorecard implemented, because it occurs at a very advanced stage of understanding business data.Overall, I have seen very good satisfaction with the Oracle solution.

  • Self Service - Oracle answer keeps the multi-language fields with custom tooltips in dimensions and measures to facilitate their use. We can even assign security dimensions and measures that can be used by users who want them.
  • Complete solution - reporting, analytics, scorecard.
  • Unification of data, the architecture makes the solution on that can leverage the same information for reporting, analytics and dashboarding.
  • BI Publisher - it is the best tool for customized reports with Microsoft Word. Users can distribute these reports to the entire organization by applying rules shipments.
  • Our customers say that the technical documentation is extensive and difficult to understand.
  • Data Integration - difficult integration with origins that are not database, but does allows some.
Data integration is not very good with Oracle BI Foundation, so you should have other solutions such as Oracle Data Integrator. Other BI solutions allow better integration with disparate data sources. Oracle BI Foundation is not a departmental solution, it is an enterprise solution.
Read Carlos Sanz Porro's full review
February 11, 2016

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Best analytical Tool in Industry"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle BI Foundation Suite is used to provide various business questions related to the banking industry. It is helping management to make correct decisions and get the data they require delivered to them in an efficient manner. It could help them to get summary information and detailed information whenever needed. It also provides them with required alerts, analyzes trends and tracks the action correction action.
  • Efficient access to data
  • Can handle large volumes of data
  • Support and services
  • Visualization
  • Cost
An analytical solution is required.
Read Ashish Kabra's full review
April 29, 2015

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Today's Enterprise Reporting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in process of re-building the entire BI for our organization and we've selected Oracle Business Intelligence as our Enterprise Reporting platform which we can use for our day to day Analytical and Operational reporting needs. I've personally led, managed and implemented many large scale transformations using this product and seen great results. In my current role, I am in the process of shifting all the existing reporting landscape to Oracle Business Intelligence platform for all the departments
  • Oracle Business Intelligence Reporting platform is well enhanced with many advanced features like Visualization Recommendation for Power users when building the dashboards and Reports like which view to use based on the type of data that we are presenting to the end users.
  • Oracle BI Mobile APP Designer is very rich and has useful functionality to develop the dashboards and reports and display them on the mobile devices via Apps
  • Oracle Essbase, multi-dimensional Online Analytical processing system which uses the advanced calculation engine for financial forecasting, planning and management reporting.
  • Oracle BI Publisher Reporting capabilities caters to the needs of real time pixel perfect reporting with out lot of development time.
  • Overall Oracle BI Foundation Suite is a conglomeration of Enterprise Reporting, Real time quick reporting, multi-dimensional analytical processing, BI Mobile, Geo-spatial capabilities which every organization needs today for Analytical and Reporting needs
  • Oracle BI Reporting Administration needs to be simplified for easier Administration and maintenance. Today Admins need to deal at different levels (Enterprise Manager, Weblogic Console, BI Admin Tool) to handle the day to day Admin and Maintenance operations
  • In order to take advantage of the Geo-Spatial (maps) capabilities you need to have Oracle Database at place as the pre-built maps related data is developed and available only in Oracle Database. Organization who doesn't use Oracle Database have to struggle to get this feature work.
  • BI Mobile APP Designer configuration and set up needs to be simplified when upgrading from previous versions
With Oracle Business Intelligence, we can do quick reporting using BI publisher as well as build huge enterprise reporting capability for the entire organization. When one reporting platform is built with the required subject areas then power users and analysts can build their own reports and dashboards with out IT team involvement and this makes the business groups happy as the turn around time to build reports will be in minutes to hours.
Read Satyendra Yenugula's full review
November 04, 2014

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Enterprise Data Discovery"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Endeca is good fit for multi billion dollar companies who are trying to derive value from unstructured data.
  • Endeca uncovers patterns and relationships in your data that traditional BI tools are not built for.
  • Endeca has been used for a wide variety of business problems including warranty support, directing social media spending, and optimizing staffing efficiency.
  • Endeca is not well suited for small or medium sized businesses.
This is a very pricey product that needs to be heavily aligned with the organization's strategic objectives. Simply put, this is best suited for very large companies who have large data sets and large problems to solve. This is a poor fit for small or medium sized business that just need to do light analytics.
Read Tom Jaskula's full review
October 10, 2014

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "A fair competitor in Enterprise BI"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle BI is used for enterprise reporting where the business already has other Oracle EBS software. Mostly it addresses operatation reporting and sometimes analytics needs.
  • Fast response time on reports
  • Ease of generating report
  • Ease of managing access to the reports
  • The model is strictly star and there is no exception
  • Too many layers between reporting service and database, so query generated is totally whacky
  • The reporting data flow is not seamless and needs lots of hard coding
If the data requirements are very straight forward then Oracle BI Foundation Suite is right for you. The response time is pretty great.
Read Nishant Bhushan's full review
September 18, 2014

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "Oracle BI Foundation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle BI Foundation Suite enterprise wide across the organization. It serves as our primary reporting tool for corporate reporting and fulfills regional reporting needs.
  • Centralized Dashboards that answer key business questions regarding performance and need to knows. The tool is dynamic in that is can provide not only individual queries, but also enterprise wide dashboard reports.
  • Dynamic reporting for one to 1000s of users depending on the server infrastructure.
  • Javascript and SQL integration allow you to create customized reports to meet just what your users need.
  • The tool has a high learning curve and can take time to master.
  • The tool cannot uptake data in other formats easily. The data must be structured in specific tables and set up in the middle layer.
  • Due to the complexity of the tool, there can be bugs in the development that occur at random which can be difficult to trace to the tool or the environment.
Well suited for a large scale enterprise need for reporting. Good security layers. Complex environment and likely requires multiple people involved in the implementation. Thoroughly examine your own companies BI needs before implementing as BI tools are not one size fits all. Ask about training and support options, the different layers of the tool (front end, middle ware and end user layer).
Read John WilsonMay's full review
May 17, 2014

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Review: "OBIEE - Stable, Versatile, Scalable BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First, I want to clarify that we are using OBIEE stand-alone - mapping Supply Chain, Financial, Sales data from our data warehouse into the rpd. There are numerous departments using the tool, however, not the entire company. It is the primary BI tool used at HGS.
  • Powerful tool providing analytics without the business needing to understand SQL or database tables.
  • Interface is logically organized for quick and easy start up, but also allows for complex report building.
  • Multiple usage models - ad-hoc querying, dashboards with pre-defined prompting, report scheduling, data level security
  • The performance of the web interface has degraded with 11g. Moving between screens used to be instantaneous. It now takes several seconds. All navigation is slower.
  • Support team at Oracle is difficult to work with. I'd say they know the answer to the problem at best 50% of the time. They request numerous files and don't seem to look at them. They always recommend upgrading which is an easy task.
  • Installation and configuration is much more complex in 11g. We used to be able to perform a major upgrade in 6 weeks. Now it takes that long for a small patch. All patches have to be tested extensively as they always introduce some new problem.
More appropriate for a large enterprise. Price is an issue.
Read Mary BrowningSmith's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (21)
7.5
Customizable dashboards (24)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (24)
8.2
Drill-down analysis (23)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (24)
8.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (13)
6.7
Report sharing and collaboration (23)
8.5
Publish to Web (19)
8.6
Publish to PDF (24)
8.6
Report Versioning (18)
7.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (22)
8.6
Delivery to Remote Servers (6)
7.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (23)
7.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (19)
7.5
Predictive Analytics (14)
8.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (24)
8.7
Role-Based Security Model (24)
8.6
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (23)
8.6
Single Sign-On (SSO) (8)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (18)
8.1
Dedicated iOS Application (14)
8.4
Dedicated Android Application (12)
8.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (17)
7.8
REST API (3)
7.6
Javascript API (5)
7.5
iFrames (3)
6.5
Java API (5)
7.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (4)
6.9
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (3)
6.9

About Oracle BI Foundation Suite

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Competitors

Oracle BI Foundation Suite Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No