TrustRadius
Big Machines is the best-known vendor in the CPQ space and offers three main flavors: Sales Engine for direct sales, Channel Sales for sales through partners, and eCommerce engine for direct self-service selling. This is a Saas offering and appeals to those with SaaS CRM systems already in place - particularly Salesforce.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/RE/42/MLHKDFOH2FOX.pngIf you've got enough variables, then it's worth itWe chose to implement Oracle CPQ for our separate e-commerce platform on top of Oracle Commerce Cloud. It's being used across the entire organization to replace a home-grown custom solution for a wide variety of product lines that can be customized to extreme levels. We'd like to be able to offer more products and variations on our e-commerce site rather than relying on manual quotes and sales representatives, but we're limited by manpower and bandwidth to manually program in a lot of variables.,Allows us to offer a variety of options without manually programming in each individual product Allows us to utilize a product feed with features and variants, which can also play well with Google Product Listing Ads (Google Shopping) Maintenance does not necessarily require hard programming knowledge, so marketing communications can help maintain,Significant setup time, cost, and maintenance. We have to use an implementation partner Does not always play well with other software, even Oracle software. While this is improved and being further improved, that it was a third party acquisition means things sometimes require a little extra care Additional setup documentation and first walkthroughs would be helpful, especially if it was all in one place,6,Oracle CPQ Cloud allows us to offer a much greater variety of variations on products. Since nearly all of our products are individually made, we have the ability to offer an extremely wide range of customizations, which would be difficult and costly to enter into our current e-commerce solution manually. Oracle CPQ Cloud allows us to offer a greater (and ultimately close to full) range of products in e-commerce, rather than requiring a customer to contact us in some way.,By allowing our customers to customize their product online in Oracle CPQ Cloud, we can significantly reduce time to the customer receiving a quote, and devote manpower to larger projects. Since the customer can easily select from a broader range of customizations - especially for smaller jobs where they're more comfortable shopping online - we can focus our sales team on larger orders, which is more cost-effective.,,Not a member of any user groupsOracle CPQ ReviewOracle CPQ is being implemented globally as our sales & order entry tool.,Brings efficiency to the product set up & new product introduction Controls pricing & discount process Generates professional proposal documents,Administration screens could be easier to navigate Favorites function is not user-friendly UI is improving but needs a more modern look & feel,8,We are implementing the product globally which means that we have an opportunity to globalize process. It also gives one solution to manage global deals which our organization has previously not had. Furthermore, we have implemented a CRM front end which means we have global customer data in one place. It will also provide data in one place to produce effective global reporting.,Previously our organization only had a Configurator in our Americas division. In the other theatres, our dealers either manually managed the "quote process" or developed their own solution. Now that we are introducing this solution to our global dealer network, for those dealers who previously produced quotes manually quote time will reduce from 2-4 hours to around 15 minutes depending on the complexity of the deal.,Smart CPQ by FPX,Not a member of any user groupsDeep (not really) Thoughts of a 6 year CPQ Cloud AdminOracle CPQ Cloud is our defacto system for generating customer quotes. Currently, our new equipment sales, aftermarket sales, and customer service groups are the primary users of CPQ, with the output from the system feeding Engineering and Order Entry. CPQ addresses a number of past issues, including reduced time from inquiry to quote, full visibility of the sales pipeline, reduction of errors, unified quote style and layout, and consistent pricing.,Incredibly powerful configuration rules engine Offers flexibility to achieve almost any business need Very well supported - Oracle is clearly investing in development of CPQ Cloud as updates to the system are regular and significant,Document generation systems need some work - Old Document Engine is very powerful, but not user friendly. Newer Document Designer is very user friendly, but lacks a number of features available in Document Engine. CPQ Cloud has gone through some growing pains as part of BigMachines being acquired by Oracle. Many people on the sales side of Oracle still aren't very aware of CPQ, and don't understand how it fits in the big picture. CPQ Cloud is in serious need of a UI update, but that is in the works for upcoming releases.,9,CPQ Cloud allows us full visibility of our entire sales stream. We utilize independent representatives for a fair amount of our sales, so before implementing CPQ, our company would often not be made aware of sales opportunities. As we expand our CPQ footprint to the global business, we are gaining more and more visibility of the entire sales picture.,For smaller opportunities where a quote that used to take 2-3 days to complete, we can now get those quotes in the hands of the customer the next day or sometimes even the same day. For larger opportunities, the time spent working on the quote has been reduced by almost 70 percent. Errors have also been reduced by approximately 80 percent.,,Oracle CPQ (BigMachines) is a highly useful system for any complex enterpriseWe use Oracle CPQ Cloud to direct our sales people to the correct configurations of hardware solutions that the customers need. The system is used by nearly all sales branches and is being rolled out globally as well. The standardized pricing and quote output provide value to our customers and the data collection and reporting capabilities help our management stay up to date with sales and customer relations. Customer relations are being additionally improved by the integration of Oracle's CRM through a separate contract purchase of that software.,Directed sales is done very well by this software but you need dedicated administrators to create, update and grow the configurations. Quote calculation and presentation are done well also.,The freedom provided by the administration back end can make the logic to become too complex and conflict, so the administrators need the power in the organization to draw the line on user requests. Oracle has put a lot of effort into improving the document engine (to produce quote documents) but it still has it's headaches and limitations. It can pretty much do what the old engine did after years of development. But they dumbed things down a lot which is frustrating sometimes but will probably be good in the long run.,9,We have achieved an impressive level of streamlining in our sales process with Oracle CPQ. Before this, the advanced configurations were all done by hand, in excel spreadsheets, and with some macros. This led to a wide range of customer experiences which we were able to standardize with Oracle CPQ. This also was prone to many more mistakes caused by human error which are now much better.,Productivity has been improved with Oracle CPQ because it's faster for sales to create a good, accurate, and visually appealing quote and also quicker to modify a quote once everyone was familiar with the tool. There were some growing pains but now, sales would never revert to using spreadsheets for customer sales quotes.,,SteelBrick CPQSuccess with CPQ!Oracle CPQ Cloud is being used to provide our channel partners with a front end to configure products, get instant pricing, produce quotation documents, produce product drawings and link to product specification sheets. This information is provided to them in minutes instead of hours making our company easier to do business with. It is being rolled out systematically to our principal customers.,The system is very flexible, allowing us to do pretty much whatever we want with the customer experience. Implementation consultants are VERY knowledgeable and picked up the nuances of our business very quickly.,Along with the flexibility comes some technical complexity. We are not fully up to speed on the technology needed to make all modifications to our product configurator without consulting assistance. Oracle solutions are not cheap, nor are their consulting resources. We got what we paid for however.,10,We are now easier to do business with because our customers can get information themselves that used to require substantial time from our internal resources.,We are only live for a short time so time will tell the impact on sales, however, we expect by being easier to do business with, we will grab extra market share.,
Unspecified
Oracle CPQ Cloud (BigMachines)
66 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
TRScore

Oracle CPQ Cloud Reviews

Oracle CPQ Cloud
66 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 66 vetted Oracle CPQ Cloud reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 33)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 28, 2018

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "If you've got enough variables, then it's worth it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose to implement Oracle CPQ for our separate e-commerce platform on top of Oracle Commerce Cloud. It's being used across the entire organization to replace a home-grown custom solution for a wide variety of product lines that can be customized to extreme levels. We'd like to be able to offer more products and variations on our e-commerce site rather than relying on manual quotes and sales representatives, but we're limited by manpower and bandwidth to manually program in a lot of variables.
  • Allows us to offer a variety of options without manually programming in each individual product
  • Allows us to utilize a product feed with features and variants, which can also play well with Google Product Listing Ads (Google Shopping)
  • Maintenance does not necessarily require hard programming knowledge, so marketing communications can help maintain
  • Significant setup time, cost, and maintenance. We have to use an implementation partner
  • Does not always play well with other software, even Oracle software. While this is improved and being further improved, that it was a third party acquisition means things sometimes require a little extra care
  • Additional setup documentation and first walkthroughs would be helpful, especially if it was all in one place
Our primary use case, that we feel it's well-suited for, is sitting on top of Oracle Commerce Cloud to allow more variants and easier quoting in our e-commerce platform. So long as it isn't a fully custom job, this allows us to offer more products and more variants that are easier to automatically price, saving us time and needed manpower (thus increasing profits). However, setup is a bit cumbersome and not always necessary - it's not cost always effective for even a few dozen products with two or three variables each - so we're implementing in stages to allow ramp-up to greater complexity. This allows us greater speed-to-market while building up capabilities. However, without a CPQ, we wouldn't be able to offer our full product line without either wrecking the consumer experience and/or a great amount of manual effort, including greater maintenance time and costs.
Read Michael Weissberg's full review
April 13, 2018

Oracle CPQ Cloud: "Oracle CPQ Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ is being implemented globally as our sales & order entry tool.
  • Brings efficiency to the product set up & new product introduction
  • Controls pricing & discount process
  • Generates professional proposal documents
  • Administration screens could be easier to navigate
  • Favorites function is not user-friendly
  • UI is improving but needs a more modern look & feel
Oracle CPQ is perfect for the globalization of sales process.
Read Susan Fisher's full review
November 07, 2017

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Deep (not really) Thoughts of a 6 year CPQ Cloud Admin"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ Cloud is our defacto system for generating customer quotes. Currently, our new equipment sales, aftermarket sales, and customer service groups are the primary users of CPQ, with the output from the system feeding Engineering and Order Entry. CPQ addresses a number of past issues, including reduced time from inquiry to quote, full visibility of the sales pipeline, reduction of errors, unified quote style and layout, and consistent pricing.
  • Incredibly powerful configuration rules engine
  • Offers flexibility to achieve almost any business need
  • Very well supported - Oracle is clearly investing in development of CPQ Cloud as updates to the system are regular and significant
  • Document generation systems need some work - Old Document Engine is very powerful, but not user friendly. Newer Document Designer is very user friendly, but lacks a number of features available in Document Engine.
  • CPQ Cloud has gone through some growing pains as part of BigMachines being acquired by Oracle. Many people on the sales side of Oracle still aren't very aware of CPQ, and don't understand how it fits in the big picture.
  • CPQ Cloud is in serious need of a UI update, but that is in the works for upcoming releases.
I believe Oracle CPQ Cloud would be a useful tool for any company that quotes and sells a product or service. The flexibility and power of the system are such that it can handle any magnitude of users, quote size, or business rule complexity. Unless the business is very straightforward and quote generation and business rules are very simple, CPQ Cloud would likely be a good fit.
Read Jason Parpart's full review
October 02, 2017

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Oracle CPQ (BigMachines) is a highly useful system for any complex enterprise"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle CPQ Cloud to direct our sales people to the correct configurations of hardware solutions that the customers need. The system is used by nearly all sales branches and is being rolled out globally as well. The standardized pricing and quote output provide value to our customers and the data collection and reporting capabilities help our management stay up to date with sales and customer relations. Customer relations are being additionally improved by the integration of Oracle's CRM through a separate contract purchase of that software.
  • Directed sales is done very well by this software but you need dedicated administrators to create, update and grow the configurations.
  • Quote calculation and presentation are done well also.
  • The freedom provided by the administration back end can make the logic to become too complex and conflict, so the administrators need the power in the organization to draw the line on user requests.
  • Oracle has put a lot of effort into improving the document engine (to produce quote documents) but it still has it's headaches and limitations. It can pretty much do what the old engine did after years of development. But they dumbed things down a lot which is frustrating sometimes but will probably be good in the long run.
This is enterprise software that will be good for any large sales team. Startup companies should stay away until they get more established. A business would need to have a very diverse and customizable product line in order to really benefit from the high cost of this good and flexible system.
Read Gary Sheppard's full review
February 02, 2017

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Success with CPQ!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ Cloud is being used to provide our channel partners with a front end to configure products, get instant pricing, produce quotation documents, produce product drawings and link to product specification sheets. This information is provided to them in minutes instead of hours making our company easier to do business with. It is being rolled out systematically to our principal customers.
  • The system is very flexible, allowing us to do pretty much whatever we want with the customer experience.
  • Implementation consultants are VERY knowledgeable and picked up the nuances of our business very quickly.
  • Along with the flexibility comes some technical complexity. We are not fully up to speed on the technology needed to make all modifications to our product configurator without consulting assistance.
  • Oracle solutions are not cheap, nor are their consulting resources. We got what we paid for however.
The system is well suited for product configuration. Our pricing is not customer specific and accomplishing that, though possible, will be complicated.
Read Paul Shapiro, CPA's full review
November 23, 2016

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Oracle CPQ - Cut your Sales Cycle in Half"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ is being used to enhance our customer's interaction and flow through our website, and significantly decrease the amount of time it takes us to process quotes and to increase transparency and standardization throughout the sales process. It helps us reduce the amount of time it takes to get through the sales process.
  • Helped us standardize our quotes.
  • Provides transparency.
  • Reduces the time it takes to provide quotes.
  • It still has bugs at times.
  • A lot of training is required to be able to use Oracle CPQ effectively.
Oracle CPQ is very well suited for mid to large companies who want to reduce the length of their sales cycle and time to quote. Additionally, we have used it with great success to help conversion on our website and improve the flow overall. This is a product with many different functions and capabilities, and we aren't even using it to its full capabilities.
Read Jack Hui's full review
January 12, 2016

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "BigMachines SOAP Interface Experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the B2B module from our server using SOAP transactions with our ERP system.
  • Documentation was pretty straight forward and useful.
  • Their server performance was good.
  • Their GUI interface was easy to use.
  • The use of CDATA in the XML isn't something to get excited about.
The BigMachines SOAP interface works as advertised and has proved to be quite reliable.
Read Craig Jacquez's full review
April 08, 2015

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Using BigMachines is like going digital, anything else is analog"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • BigMachines provide us with a central repository for all our products and services.
  • Allows all our technical sales staff access to configuring and architecting a complete end-to-end solution for our customers.
  • Speeds up the time it takes for our sales team to configure, price and quote a solution.
  • Error messages need to be more specific, in some cases, the message is so generic it's difficult to locate the issue.
  • The product needs the ability to modify and update itself. Updates to the parts catalog and data tables are file uploads or manual screen updates.
  • Reporting and report generation tools are very difficult to compose and update (Another example of where fault messages need to be improved).
  • More features and functionality with the BML scripting language.
  • More build-in screen formatting controls.
  • Ability to call a function with a function or UTIL.
I would hire a consultant or an experienced BMI developer for the initial build. Even if it's just for one product-line. They can show you a lot the product can do right up front. And help with the initial design. Trying to build the product without any experience will result in a lot of rework and changing directions with your build. They can also teach you how to navigate with the vendor and bypass a lot of trial and error.
Read Dave Haizlip's full review
February 25, 2015

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Robust software, highly configure-able but not without challenges"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, BigMachines is used as the primary Sales quoting and contracting software. It is primarily used by the Sales organization (both internal Sales and District Sales Managers) to build out quotes and generate contracts and addendums for new and existing business. Sales Operations is the owner and is the admin of the software, along with IT, who facilitate the use of user licenses. The software is also used by the Product organization and is a key component in the Go-To-Market process by making new pricing generally available for sale. Business analysts work directly with IT developers to design user requirements when building out new quote products. The software helps to automate the contracting and approval process, making sure that specific quote products go through the correct discount approval channels. There is tie in with Salesforce as well, which has allowed us to generate Opportunities with Products reports and report on sales activities and KPIs for specific products.
  • Automation of discount approvals and protection of margin- This is probably one of the most widely-discussed features. Our ability to set maximum allowable discount thresholds is imperative, especially when there are hard costs like vendor or partner royalties associated with each quote product. You can really lock product discounts down at the line item level (though presents slight frustrations as well).
  • Configurable and customize-able - The code base is configurable and has allowed our in-house developer to develop some fully custom discount approval workflows. It can also be customized to program in maximum and minimum allowable values and graphical control elements like pop up menus, help text, list boxes, text fields, and other software components.
  • Ability to implement business rules based on business requirements (i.e. publicly traded company, Sarbanes Oxley) is a plus.
  • The software is great for implementing simple if/then logic (if X product is selected then Y product should also print on the agreement). Specific trigger rules can be written and implemented based on if/then criteria in order to meet business rules and scenarios. You can write as many quote requirements as you need.
  • Integration with Salesforce
  • One of the biggest challenges we've experience with the software is the lack of flexibility in deploying snippets of code changes to production. Unlike making changes in our Salesforce test environment, when deploying BM to a production environment our IT developer has to migrate a fully tested code-complete snapshot of sandbox to our production environment all at once. This presents challenges for IT when managing multiple projects from different areas of the business, specifically general sales availability expectations. In order to meet business deadlines, sprint cycles are managed against a floating deployment schedule to ensure that code for all projects are deployed at once.
  • While the software is customize-able, deploying more complex changes takes much time and effort. Dedicated programmers and business systems analysts are needed to define the business rules, document the programmed changes, and deploy the software to production. It takes time to learn and and train on the logic behind the scenes. User training is definitely required for more complex configurations. There is no automated wizard to walk-through test configurations (this would be a nice-to-have).
  • In a fast paced agile environment, the software is a little slow in how it integrates into business process, approvals, and Go-To-Market strategy.... at least in our business.
  • Navigation between configuration pages is a little cumbersome.
  • The software UI has been modified A LOT to make the user experience easier for the Sales teams. A lot of credit goes to the programmer but overall the software UI is still static and at times inflexible when compared to other new drag and drop/cloud-based wizard models.
  • Would be nice if there were integration with our billing system (this is a nice to have!) Product Catalog (SKU) management becomes very manual and all the more important when there is lack of integration with the billing system. We have to coordinate efforts with Billing, Sales, and IT to make sure that the product catalog stays clean and up-to-date.
  • While the ability to lock down discount allowables is a plus, this can also stall deals if allowables HAVE to be exceeded to win business (more of a process/culture change I know). Ad-hoc Emergency fixes can be deployed but you have to weigh the benefits against these "whirl-wind" resource costs.
If you're looking for a robust solution that is highly customize-able and configurable, BigMachines is definitely worth exploring. I wouldn't say that the software itself is slick, but rather, its configurable nature allows a talented programmer to implement some pretty slick solutions. The things our developer has been able to do with soft and hard floor discount approval rules is pretty cool. However, dedicated analysts are needed to help with documentation and user training because the software doesn't have a wizard interface. Also be sure to understand how internal business processes (like sales approvals, IT sprint cycles, and SarBox requirements) are impacted due to the strict bulk code sandbox-to-production migration requirements. A complete snapshot of the test environment has to be deployed all at once; this is a limiting factor in our fast pace agile environment (though we've adapted) where speed to market is imperative. Just make sure you can re-write processes if needed, dedicate time and resources to train users and document business rules. Also, make sure the business has a clear operational strategy when it comes to Product Catalog (SKU) management. This process may become very manual due to lack of billing system integration capabilities (based on what I've seen). End-of Sales efforts may have to be coordinated with Billing, Sales, and IT departments to during the SKU removal or clean-up process.
Read Stephen Crane's full review
February 05, 2015

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "An Admin's perspective on Big Success with BigMachines"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • As with most CRM solutions, BigMachines CPQ engine provides best value when the toolset is optimized to align with the needs of the business. While this is an obvious statement, I've found that achieving alignment is sometimes the biggest challenge. But if the implementation is done right, BigMachines can dramatically transform the sales cycle and drive revenue to new levels. In short, the toolset is powerful and flexible but success hinges on collaboration between the team using it and the team developing/supporting it.
  • As a developer/admin, I've been able to deliver functionality within BigMachines that automates complex business logic, ensures accuracy of materials on a quote, includes quick and easy discounting with appropriate approval checking and renders to a variety of PDF proposals. Users have reported reductions in quote preparation time from hours to minutes.
  • Beyond the out-of-the-box features that simply get turned on/off, BML coding of utility functions and Rule administration allow creative and challenging solutions. For example, we were able to allow users to quote support/maintenance for variable terms across multiple products with existing or expired agreements with 100% accuracy. By writing a function that calculates a prorated price based on unit price and end date we were able to plug prorated pricing into any item being quoted. Prior to using BigMachines this was a big challenge which cost salesreps time and resulted in delays due to inaccuracy.
  • There are areas within the tool that are very difficult to troubleshoot and require assistance from BigMachines support. As a developer, this can be frustrating and limiting. For example, when the results of a configuration are added to an existing quote the data passes from "configuration" to "commerce" through what seems like an invisible portal. Improvement in visibility to this process would be of great value.
  • From an admin's perspective, a "developer mode" that shows whats going on under the hood while in commerce or config is needed.
  • The document engine is tough to work with, but BigMachines is commited to rolling out improvements. The latest update is that a complete refresh is on the way.
In my experience, having at least one resource in-house that knows how to develop and support BMI makes a huge difference. Leveraging the BOA process to analyze and document business processes is also of great value not only at the beginning of the implementation but periodically as well. Understand that familiarity from the users will promote ideas for improvement that simply cannot be identified in the blueprinting phase. Plan for continuous improvement and agile development.
Read Dave Merullo's full review
February 04, 2015

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "The best CPQ tool on the market!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • With most software you either customize the software to fit your process, or you customize your process to fit the software. BigMachines provides customization of its configuration and commerce rules, allowing companies the flexibility to fit to their processes, without requiring customization of the base code. This is not to say that BigMachines is perfect, but compared to the other products out there, BigMachines is far and above their competitors.
  • BigMachines listens to their user community's suggestions for feature requests. Their users also have the ability to vote on other people's suggestions. With 4 releases per year, BigMachines is always moving forward with adding features their users want.
  • The customer support structure at BigMachines is the most responsive I have ever worked with. Support is a very high priority for them, as is evidenced in their ramp up and training of support personnel. More companies should model their customer support after BigMachines!
  • The biggest problem I hear most about BigMachines is how difficult or complex it is to program pricing. I feel it is unfair to lay the blame for this on BigMachines, as each company has their own methods or algorithms for calculating sales price. But, to BigMachines' credit, they are always looking for new ways to make this easier for their customers, as was evidence in the release of the Pricing Rules and Formula Manager functionality. This functionality takes a lot of programming out of pricing and puts it in a format easy enough for non-programmers to work with.
  • My biggest complaint about the product is bulk migration. BigMachines keeps moving in the right direction toward granular or package development, but the way the product works now I must have all of my development completed before I can migrate from my test to my production environment. This forces me to make "live" changes in production for emergency fixes. BigMachines continually adds functionality to their roadmap to enhance this functionality.
If you want a successful implementation of BigMachines you will need:
  • Executive sponsorship that is actively involved in the the implementation and will help drive user adoption
  • Well documented configuration and pricing rules
  • An implementation team that understands your company's sales, finance, manufacturing and procurement processes
  • Knowledgeable consultants to implement BigMachines using best practices
  • For larger companies, trained system administrators to support and maintain your BigMachines environment (BigMachines offers Yellow and Blue Belt training...I highly recommend both!). For reference, support for our 90 users is split about 75-25% between myself and a consultant.
  • For sustainability, an engaged Sales Operations team who stays current with configuration rule changes and additions and can interface between the product teams and your BigMachines system administrator
Read Jim Kiltie's full review
February 04, 2015

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Reverse Integration of Verizon's Business Solutions into Terremark's BigMachine leads to the 2011 Big Innovations Award"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Verizon uses it as our Enterprise Solutions (Cloud, Colocation, Managed Solutions, etc) quote to order sales tool.
  • BigMachines allows Verizon Sales Engineers to configure very complicated solutions across multiple product families (Cloud, Colocation, Network, Managed Services, Data Backup and Restore) while ensuring our companies with 60+ data centers can provision the services using our own provisioning processes and applications.
  • BigMachines allows us to have multiple lines of business within the same application such as Partners, Public Sector, Commercial and internal business quoting.
  • The BigMachine SaaS engine is pliable enough for us to reverse integrate Verizon legacy products and services into Terremark's portfolio, while adhering to the large company nuances that had to be added for a successful implementation.
  • BMI has a segregated process and permssions for quoting the Public Sector services and Partner programs using different rates and discounting schemes.
  • A migration of parts and data tables to multiple environments (Dev, Test, Prod) along with the ability to track changes at a granular level.
  • BigMachines works best in Firefox but not as stellar in Microsoft Explorer. Our company compliant browser is MS IE and not all users can install Firefox.
  • A New User Access process that will forward approval to a group of users. Managing a user list of 300+ is nearly impossible. BMI lists users by first name or last name, in a long, arduous listing like the old DOS days. NO ATTEMPT to update the user management portion has been addressed. Just missed promises.
  • More advanced and granular discount and customer engineering approval processes and stages.
  • Discouting works great and we segregate on 5 different layers.
  • NOT Improved automated report generation interface and tools. It has rudimentary reporting capabilities that cannot be used during working hours or site speed/use is hampered. No changes to the reporting tool have ever been delivered since our initial use 5 years ago.
  • Ever since Oracle purchased BigMachines they no longer keep in contact with us. Our issues are tickets that repeat (printing queue issues) and we have limited, very very very limited interaction with humans as we use to.
  • BigIdeas!? No more BigIdea conferences to interact with the BMI development team, managers and service groups that service our Verizon account. Oracle dropped this off the map and inserted it into some other "Oracle" event that no longer has any meaning. Upset as a long time 5+ year customer on this issue.
Have all of your processes, needs and provisioning aspects in place prior to developing your configuration and data tables. If your products, services or processes are complicated have a BigMachines engineer live with your group for a short while so they fully understand your business needs. We had many weekly, closed sessions to ensure all business group needs were met.

We (Verizon) still use BigMachines to process large business orders of our Verizon Enterprise Solutions but ever since Oracle has purchased the product/company we have lost our 1:1 busness relationship with trying to fix/update the tool to support a Fortune 50 company. We continuously have service interuptions (reboots) needed for the Printable solutions when too many, lage quotes go to contract. We receive quarterly fixes that break items in use and Oracle does not seem to give us the "care" we received when it was just BigMachines. Also there is no longer a Big Ideas summit to meet with the support team to vet our issues/needs.
Read Richard Henning's full review
April 29, 2015

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "BigMachines as a config/price/quote application"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Streamline quotes.
  • Provide online repository of standartized quotes.
  • Allows transparancy.
  • Product too rigid, too many areas are not flexible enough.
  • Access rights management difficult to maintain and just not supported in too many areas (reporting, part search).
  • Lacking testing / debugging / configuration management tools.
  • Support and responsiveness poor.
  • If you are not in the mainstream of the product roadmap, usage or improvement roadmap cannot be seen.
Check well, how likely your organization is to change current processes and adopt new ones?
Can you draw what is the lead-opportunity-quote-PO-cash flow?
How clear are the product configuration definitions in the company?
Read Uri Eshed's full review
December 18, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud: "My BigMachines CPQ Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BigMachines CPQ is the only quoting tool used in Polycom, it exists in 2 flavors, one is integrated with Salesforce which is used by internal users and the other flavor is standalone used exclusively by [our] partners (direct & indirect). The quoting tool is currently used by field sales, field service (renewals) reps, product managers, and system engineers etc.

Current Business problems:
1) Multipricebook Quotes with Salesforce opportunity, limitations in BigMachines restricts only one price book per quote we BigMachines Pricebook (very few Customers Mulitpricebook functionality), we overcome by building a custom solution in salesforce which is really time-consuming exercises for sales especially when they build quotes for Global Partners & Customers.
2) Exporting SKUs from an Excel attachment - for renewals, Service sales gets 200+ SKU in Excel. Currently, BigMachines doesn't have a standard functionality to load SKUs from an Excel sheet and create a quote.
3) WebServices Calls from external systems, BigMachines does not encourage web services calls from external systems, hence we need to bring in all operational data from other systems, stored in data tables, which is not a good practise.
4) Integration with Oracle Applications (ERP) - As Oracle acquired BigMachines, we are looking for standard ERP integration for application modules (OM, INV, TCA, etc.).
  • Fast, easy access, good user interface, not much training needed for end users.
  • SFDC Integration makes it easy for our sales people to complete the final Customer Quote & Proposal in one shot rather using different systems.
  • Ability to support complex configuration rules for various product lines.
  • Good admin features, easy customization that can be used for simple solutions as well as very advanced ones.
  • Good customer support, CSA meetings, taking feedback from customers and trying to implement in future releases.
  • Multicurrency and Multipricebook Quotes with SDFC
  • Cannot join Data tables in a single BMQL, need to write complex loops to join 3 to 4 data tables.
  • Ajax enabled options in Recommendation Rules, Recommendation Item Rules like what we have in Constraint rules (don't want full page refresh for all firing rules).
  • Configuration flow (layout) can be better, although it's drag and drop from Version 12, we'd like to have better page layouts and better error messages for users (like dialog boxes).
  • Dynamic Menu population for Single Select Menu & Multi Select Menu Attributes - the list of values can be dynamic by querying from a data table, right now it's all hard coded. For all new menu additions, we need to add them manually and deploy the whole configuration.
1) Dynamic Product line - Are your products changing every other month, how easy is it to bring in the dynamic changes of new products, maintaining configuration rules
2) Item master - data integration with source systems, price change tracking, questions on data governance needs to be asked in particular
3) Customer Pricing - Understand your complex pricing rules to suit with BigMachines functionality
4) Integration with other systems (not SDFC), how to build the custom integration solutions

Understand all your business requirements and make sure whether standard BMI functionality supports them, you might end you making tons of customizations
Read Eugine G Amalraj's full review
December 02, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "A Powerful tool, but not for everyone"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The ability to configure complex packages and bundles with highly advanced configuration rules.
  • The document engine is a powerful tool that gives great control on what the finished quote will look like
  • Most recently, the Admin screen is very user-friendly and easy for a new user to pick it up and use
  • Advanced coding for some areas in config and pricing engine are written in BML. This Java-like code may be a bit tricky for someone trying to write very advanced configuration rules or advanced pricing.
  • The flagship system needs to have an easier way to enter in pricing. In the BMX version, pricing is handled through multiple matricies, but in the flagship it is compiled into one ugly rule.
  • Customization. Other software comes with tools to help customize the "look and feel" quickly. To get a re-vamped look on the flagship product, you'll need a CSS expert.
If the customer is looking for a very advanced solution around configuration, I would recommend BigMachines. If the customer is looking for something that is easier to maintain and use their in-house resources I would probably go with another product. BigMachines is a powerful tool, just in more specific use cases than what I usually see.
Read Josh Saylor's full review
February 25, 2015

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Time Saver, but not without problems"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BigMachines in the quoting of all sales and renewal pricing for our company, as well as to generate our contracts and order documents that we send to customers. It is used primarily by the sales team, with use by the renewals team as well. Our finance and legal departments have it as a guideline to ensure that pricing is quoted correctly and that contracts are uniform across all deals that we close. It solves the problem of standardizing our pricing and contract process. Makes quoting customers fairly quick and easy.
  • BigMachines is great for quickly putting together quotes and contracts for customers, making the process less time consuming than it would be otherwise.
  • The system integrates with Salesforce, allowing for integrated asset management.
  • Can automatically apply discounts.
  • Sometimes when BigMachines is required to prorate pricing, it does not seem to do it correctly and there can be a number of glitches.
  • BigMachines and Intacct round to different decimal points. Our company integrated BigMachines, Salesforce, and Intacct, and this causes slight variations when we invoice off an opportunity that has a BigMachines quote, as the three systems will have slightly different numbers.
  • The system seems overall very buggy. Our organization has faced different issues that have stemmed from BigMachines not doing certain things correctly, such as populating contract end dates on new assets.
I have used BigMachines for over three years and at two different companies. It is not a product that I particularly like from a renewals perspective, but it seems to work much better for our sales staff and they seem to have a more positive appreciation for it. I think it is great that it integrates contract documents with the pricing, which not only makes things quick, but keeps contracts uniform. Most people at our company do not find it to be particularly intuitive to learn, and I would be interested in looking for something that was more user friendly and had less bugs.
Read Nikki Flannigan's full review
July 21, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "My life with BigMachines"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have started rolling out this product for each department. We are hitting a great adoption ratio as well. BigMachines is very intuitive, nice and easy to configure. At the same time it has so many limitations.
  • You can configure the product very effectively. You can write the Rules to "constrain the questions", " Hide/UnHide the questions" and recommend the parts
  • Approval workflow is key
  • Proposal Generation is positive, which is not effective though.
  • Proposal Generation is quite harder and it's time consuming.
  • Too Many limitations. The basic product will work only for small sized businesses only. For a mid-size/full size business we have to do lot of customisations, which is tough.
  • CSS is one of the major challenges.
  • Data-tables are flat.
  • The webservices APIs need improvement.
  • FTP transfers need to be upgraded.
  • Subversion is not available
BigMachines is a good start for any kind of business. However, fitting BigMachines to your business requires a lot of customization.
Read Prashanth Sankepalli's full review
April 13, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "BMX to drive your quoting process"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use the Express version which for a smaller product catalog without a complex pricing model is a great solution.
  • This product is much cheaper and much easier to implement than the Enterprise version of BigMachines, but for the right situation is a great value.
  • This works right inside Salesforce and works like it is part of Salesforce. If you and your team is comfortable with Salesforce then this product just feels like another Salesforce application.
  • Just like with Salesforce without going outside the existing product you have some limits in formatting the product.
  • The HTML editor for laying out your proposal templates is very basic. You really need to do the design work outside of BigMachines and then import the template into Salesforce.
  • We used just use a free online WYSIWYG editor but for what we have seen you can use pretty much any HTML editor. It really depends on your level of sophistication and what you are comfortable using
  • This one is being corrected with the latest release, but when we did our implementation the lack of a true formula field made some things tricky.
We love the product and for anyone with a smaller product line I would strongly recommend the product. If you have a complex pricing model or a large catalog you would need to look at some of the more complete Big Machine editions but Express is a great fit and price for a company with simpler needs
Read Steven Steier's full review
July 23, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud: "My Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Brocade, BigMachines was an essential piece of the sales process. We integrated the quoting tool into Salesforce.com and setup single sign on to allow a seamless integration of the two platforms. The sales reps that I trained and supported found BigMachines to be really valuable and easy to use.
  • Smartphone deal approvals
  • Customization
  • Single sign on
  • Reporting
I liked how we were able to incorporate pictures of the products.
Read Kolapo Odujinrin, PMP's full review
November 09, 2013

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Smooth sailing with BigMachines"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Provides a comprehensive sales solution - replaced 2 separate tools we were using for quoting and legal terms.
  • Intelligent built-in process flow allows for faster re-approvals and quote turnaround.
  • It is a very user friendly tool - basic training is usually enough to get started, and the rest can be picked up as you go.
  • Updating customer information, like billing account numbers, addresses, and contact information is not easy.
  • Changing the term on the quote is not an easy task and requires taking the quote back to design.
  • The quote history page contains too much information and is very difficult to find what you are looking for.
In selecting a quoting tool, we were looking for a comprehensive solution. Our focus was on finding a tool that would enable our Sales Organization to be more efficient, to reduce the quote turnaround time, and to streamline our processes. BigMachines was selected for its ease of use and cross-functional capabilities.
Read Marianna Fichtenholtz's full review
February 04, 2015

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "BigMachines - great Quoting Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BigMachines is being used across the organization - 4 Business Units. It eliminated major pain points of creating proposals to sell our products.
  • Sales Driven approach
  • Powerful Commerce Module
  • Document generation
  • Approval Rules
  • Migration capabilities from TEST to PROD
  • Document Engine
It is well suited for sales reps or a sales driven approach.
Read this authenticated review
July 29, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "BigMachines Express - A Force.com native CPQ Solution for budget-conscious businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BigMachines is being used primarily by the Field Sales department and Inside Sales team to create quotes quickly and efficiently.
  • The administration of the product is quite easy and straightforward. You can quickly setup products and configuration formulas. It's a simple process, but you can make it advanced via the powerful administration tools.
  • BigMachines Express is a Force.com native application built directly into Salesforce, creating a seamless experience for users.
  • The Quoting module can help you create really professional-looking quotes and proposals.
  • The software could use a more robust approval workflow system. Currently it interfaces with the Sales Price field within Salesforce which can make setting discount levels outside of the tool difficult due to Sales Price being your new List Price.
  • Needs more grouping/nesting options in the Quoting module.
  • Would be nice to be able to clone Configuration Rules as they can get quite complex.
BigMachines Express is a great tool for smaller businesses that may not have a huge budget. The pricing is very reasonable for what you get, and their staff is willing to work with you on pricing to make the solution viable.
Read this authenticated review
July 18, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud: "BMI review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CPQ for a variety of products. Used by several departments at current client. Transitioning excel pricing engines into BigMachines, creating quotes and proposals and handling approvals.
  • The configuration side of BigMachines makes it very easy to create consistent product configurators.
  • So far, approval sequences are flexible enough to handle our scenarios.
  • Integration with Salesforce is a big plus.
  • Ability to define classes in BML would be great, but probably unlikely.
  • Ability to pass a line (within a line_process) to a BML Utility function as a parameter would be excellent.
  • Doc Engine needs a lot of work. Many times, I need to use firefox developer tools to manually adjust HTML in order to get it to look right. DOCX output particularly seems buggier than PDF output.
It is very useful for complex product configuration and quoting.
Read this authenticated review
July 15, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review: "Hard to steer, but once on autopilot, then its great"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed a strong CPQ engine to do our quoting processes. After reviewing most of the ones that were out there, nothing compared to Big Machines. It was initially implemented as a stand alone platform then integrated with Salesforce.
  • Strong Configure Price Quote(CPQ) engine
  • Flexible enough to handle any business processes you may have
  • Integrates seemlessly with Salesforce to make it a much better experience with the sales users
  • Can be used as a shopping cart engine as well
  • Too complex at times
  • Some API calls don't seem to work the same way as the UI calls
  • The document engine is pretty slow
  • Sometimes you need to do a lot of coding to acheive a small functionality
  • Approval process is not mobile friendly
It's great for small businesses that do not go through a lot of customization often or for big companies that have inhouse expertise to handle the changes that would need to be made. Once it's implemented it is kind of hard to modify unless you have a professional service agreement with them to handle the change requirements.
Read this authenticated review
July 25, 2014

Oracle CPQ Cloud: "Best CPQ Platform that integrates with Salesforce"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bigmachines was used to launch our retail sales initiative. To build and manage quotes from internal sales and channel partners.
  • Salesforce Integration
  • Pricing, Managing part numbers
  • Data tables.
  • Dynamic pick lists
  • Document engine
  • User interface was difficult to make changes to
Integration with custom built apps and APIs is a critical question IMO.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Quote sharing/sending (7)
6.9
Product configuration (7)
9.1
Configuration options (7)
8.9
Pricing rules (7)
8.8
Price adjustment (7)
8.5
Purchase history and open contracts (6)
7.8
Guided selling/Sales portal (7)
8.2
CPQ reporting & analytics (7)
6.8
CPQ-CRM integration (6)
7.8
Attachments to quotes (7)
8.4

About Oracle CPQ Cloud

Big Machines was one of the best-known vendors in the CPQ space, and was acquired by Oracle in 2013 and integrated into their Customer Experience Cloud. Today the product is called Oracle CPQ Cloud, and works as a connector between a company's CRM and ERP systems. It covers product selection and configuration, pricing and quoting, presentations and proposals, orders and fulfillment, and reporting and analysis.

There are three packages available: Standard (searchable product catalog, configurable products, list and customer-specific pricing, discounting, extensible scripting and data structures, output document integration, CRM integration); Enterprise (Standard plus a native reporting module, batch transaction export to populate data warehouse, sales channel module, eCommerce module); or Premium (Enterprise plus a test environment, multi-source document creation, etc.)
Categories:  CPQ

Oracle CPQ Cloud Competitors

Oracle CPQ Cloud Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No