Oracle CPQ Cloud Reviews

113 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 46)

Nidhi Govil | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Oracle CPQ Cloud Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is going to be used across the sales organization for configuring our storage products. It was brought on to address agility, ease of maintenance, and for the move to a cloud-based solution.
  • Drag and drop UI.
  • No downtime for regular releases.
  • Better standard API Integrations with boundary On-Prem systems.
  • Direct database query capabilities.
Oracle CPQ is well suited for simple applications that require Commerce and CPQ capabilities. It may be less well suited for more complex/multi-level systems, as well as integration with on-prem downstream applications.
Read Nidhi Govil's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2019

Oracle CPQ Cloud : Powerful CPQ Application, A Great Acquisition by Oracle

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is in the process of transitioning to Oracle CPQ Cloud (BigMachines) from Oracle Configurator. CPQ provides a much more robust user interface for our highly configurable products. It is currently being used by our Inside Sales Team for configuring new orders for those specific models we have loaded into CPQ so far.
  • CPQ provides an impressive user interface making it easy for end-users to configure/customize products.
  • The CPQ application itself can be highly customized based on the needs of your company.
  • We love the feature that allows the picture of the product you are configuring to change as you add/remove options.
  • Our company has a lot of rules for configurations—probably more than most companies. The CPQ product at times seems a bit "overwhelmed" when processing the rules as it slows down.
  • Although it could possibly be due to our customizations to the product, the screen sometimes jumps slightly while moving from one section of options to another.
  • When performing a data export, CPQ only exports to the very old version of Excel which imposes obvious limitations on the size of your export.
Oracle CPQ Cloud is well suited for companies that have customizable/configurable products to sell. If your products come with options such as a choice of colors, models, upgrades, accessories, etc., I believe that CPQ would benefit you greatly. But conversely, if you only sell standard products that basically come as is or have very few options, I think CPQ could potentially be much more than what you need. It really depends on your specific needs. The pricing engine in CPQ very robust allowing for complex pricing strategies, so this in itself could be very useful to some organizations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

BigMachine helping with BIG results

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently it is used just by our department, but we have started rolling out this product to one other department this year. Webservice calls from external systems are great.
  • Good customer support!
  • Easy interface and system that makes training seamless.
  • I feel like the administrative features are supporting an array of complex and simple solutions.
  • Reporting.
  • Sometimes updating customer information can be hard and time consuming.
  • Define classes in BM.
Oracle CPQ Cloud is good at workflow and approvals, and it works well with Salesforce for our company. However, custom pricing/invoicing is difficult and I think the data handling capability is lacking in some ways.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle CPQ Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented CPQ for some of our product lines, and it's used by users across the organization.
  • Drag and Drop UI.
  • Very fast and responsive UI.
  • Complex products with highly customizable options will be a challenge.
  • It has limited analytics features.
For small to medium complex products, Oracle CPQ is well suited. But for products which are highly customizable with more complex rules, it will be a challenge.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

CPQ -- On Prem Combo

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by our Sales Organization for addressing Agility, Cloud-enabled, and for better ease of maintenance.
  • Deployment -- faster.
  • Drag and Drop UI.
  • Mobile-friendly.
  • ETL draw.
  • Federal data security.
  • Direct DB connection to execute sql queries.
It is well suited for CPQ, commerce integration, and seamless user interaction.
Read this authenticated review
Billy Goins | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2019

Oracle CPQ works for us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle CPQ in our organization for:
  • Global configurations
  • Pricing
  • As a quoting tool
  • Allows users to configure products.
  • Strong pricing engine and the ability to do pricing approval workflows.
  • Allows for partner order placement.
  • UI/UX capability.
  • Admin capability.
Oracle CPQ Cloud has helped us to easily configure products.
Read Billy Goins's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Oracle CPQ Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by a Business segment. It manages the Pricing and Quoting solution. We create and renew quotes, agreements, renew those, revise those, copy those, manage pricing, discounts, manage approvals through use of workflows, send notifications, create outputs, use reports, use multiple interfaces connecting to CRM, ERPS, integrators etc. in our system.
  • Configuration
  • Approval Workflows
  • UI
  • Data Handling Capability - It needs an internal capability for loading large amounts of data.
  • Version control
Its well suited for smaller businesses with pricing , quoting and configuration needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ is currently being used by the three largest sales groups. It allows the sales team to manage pricing within the constraints required by finance.
  • It supports complicated calculations for pricing.
  • It allows us to adjust pricing based by sales group or partner group
  • It allows us to manage one group of products and add different pricing and constraints based on the sales group or partner group
  • The tables allow for updates without need IT code to be created
  • The customer service support when creating issue tickets takes a long time to resolve
  • The UI is not user friendly and requires a lot of clicks from the end user to navigate through the system.
  • The system management is not easy to use. The tables are not easy to manage or understand
The customer service support isn't helpful. It would be good to meet with a success manager on a quarterly bases to discuss business and IT issues the company is facing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

Guided Selling through CPQ

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is being used by Sales community to create quick quotes and turn them into an Order in the Ordering system. It solves the sales problem of creating manual quotes to present to a customer which used to take days. With CPQ, the turnaround time has reduced significantly.
  • Guided selling with no room for error.
  • Generate professional looking quote document which can be presented to the customer.
  • Integration with Ordering system to seamlessly create an order.
  • There is no version control available today.
  • More granular level of admin logs.
  • System configuration look and feel need improvement. The tree-like structure to navigate back and forth between parent and child is totally unacceptable for our Sales users. They expect the child model to open as a modal within the parent configuration.
It is well suited for our Sales quoting and service contract creation. Less suited for our system integration kind of scenarios where the current CPQ UI is unacceptable by our business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

My review with Oracle CPQ

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
we use Oracle CPQ for quoting and price caluclations. CPQ is our pricing engine and all our applications use cpq to derive final sale price.
  • attribute pricing for providing different discounts for different time commitments (e.g. monthly vs annual) -- other tools typically require you to create multiple SKUs
  • volume based discount
  • quoting
  • complex configurations as we have complex multi-level bills of materials (BOMs)
  • approvals and workflow / routing work well for our region based and threshold based approval process
  • PCI compliance
complex pricing caluclations and complex comfigurations
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Centralized Hub for Finance & Development - Oracle CPQ

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by almost the entire organization. Using as a hub with multiple Salesforce orgs and home grown boarding platform.
  • APIs
  • Centralized hub
  • Seamless with Salesforce Cloud applications
  • User interface design - although now seeing big improvements with JET
  • Reporting - The data between Salesforce (our CRM) and Oracle CPQ need to mesh better. It should have a two-way sync for critical bits of information such as closed won and closed lost. Then the reporting would be better.
  • Customer Service for support questions and as a partner to offer ideas to our problems - only show up when it is time to renew
Well suited for: Complex rule engines for sales


Exposing these rules is not easy for reviewing with the business
Read this authenticated review
Francis Beiring | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2018

Accelerate Quotes and Reduce Costs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With Oracle Configure, Price, and Quote Cloud in place across our global operations, we have streamlined the entire quote-to-order process. The flexible and scalable cloud tool enables us to deliver a superior customer experience and supports our rapidly growing business for the long haul.
  • Leveraged automation to minimize headcount costs despite 10% year-over-year business growth, and enabled staff to focus on more strategic tasks.
  • Established a flexible CPQ system that scales on demand to easily accommodate the company’s multiple global locations.
  • Improved customer relations by reducing configuration time and allowing sales more time to meet with customers and close orders.
  • User interface needs updating.
  • Reporting Manager needs a big update. We also use Oracle Engagement Cloud and we are pleased with the BI Reporting. CPQ reporting needs some work.
Oracle CPQ Cloud is well suited to streamline approval processes and decrease quote-to-order time by eliminating paper-based processes with complex pricing lists.
Read Francis Beiring's full review
Joseph R. Sweeney | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2018

CPQ is definitely the 1-4-U

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Part of my role in procurement was to analyze orders taken by our sales reps and project these figures into our annual budget as well as examine areas of potential growth. My role within CPQ Cloud was to access this data and communicate the findings with our executives. It allows for simple access and accurate reporting for taking orders and generating quotes.
  • Orders have always been accurate and we've never yet had an issue processing one
  • Pricing configuration allows for complex tiers within an organization's portfolio and so there are multiple options depending on your situation
  • Report building is simple and intuitive
  • Although reporting is intuitive, it could use a more robust reporting look and feel especially when it comes to graphical displays
  • Mobile view and approvals can be a bit wonky sometimes and need to be refreshed
I think CPQ had worked so well for our company because of the widespread nature of our associates and tracking orders that were being placed in multiple time zones. My team specifically needed a way of analyzing these orders to track our progress in real time and sort out any supply orders before they became an issue. If you are in a centralized location with a smaller team then this may not yield much use to you.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
Michael Weissberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2018

If you've got enough variables, then it's worth it

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose to implement Oracle CPQ for our separate e-commerce platform on top of Oracle Commerce Cloud. It's being used across the entire organization to replace a home-grown custom solution for a wide variety of product lines that can be customized to extreme levels. We'd like to be able to offer more products and variations on our e-commerce site rather than relying on manual quotes and sales representatives, but we're limited by manpower and bandwidth to manually program in a lot of variables.
  • Allows us to offer a variety of options without manually programming in each individual product
  • Allows us to utilize a product feed with features and variants, which can also play well with Google Product Listing Ads (Google Shopping)
  • Maintenance does not necessarily require hard programming knowledge, so marketing communications can help maintain
  • Significant setup time, cost, and maintenance. We have to use an implementation partner
  • Does not always play well with other software, even Oracle software. While this is improved and being further improved, that it was a third party acquisition means things sometimes require a little extra care
  • Additional setup documentation and first walkthroughs would be helpful, especially if it was all in one place
Our primary use case, that we feel it's well-suited for, is sitting on top of Oracle Commerce Cloud to allow more variants and easier quoting in our e-commerce platform. So long as it isn't a fully custom job, this allows us to offer more products and more variants that are easier to automatically price, saving us time and needed manpower (thus increasing profits). However, setup is a bit cumbersome and not always necessary - it's not cost always effective for even a few dozen products with two or three variables each - so we're implementing in stages to allow ramp-up to greater complexity. This allows us greater speed-to-market while building up capabilities. However, without a CPQ, we wouldn't be able to offer our full product line without either wrecking the consumer experience and/or a great amount of manual effort, including greater maintenance time and costs.
Read Michael Weissberg's full review
Susan Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2018

Oracle CPQ Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ is being implemented globally as our sales & order entry tool.
  • Brings efficiency to the product set up & new product introduction
  • Controls pricing & discount process
  • Generates professional proposal documents
  • Administration screens could be easier to navigate
  • Favorites function is not user-friendly
  • UI is improving but needs a more modern look & feel
Oracle CPQ is perfect for the globalization of sales process.
Read Susan Fisher's full review
Jason Parpart | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2017

Deep (not really) Thoughts of a 6 year CPQ Cloud Admin

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ Cloud is our defacto system for generating customer quotes. Currently, our new equipment sales, aftermarket sales, and customer service groups are the primary users of CPQ, with the output from the system feeding Engineering and Order Entry. CPQ addresses a number of past issues, including reduced time from inquiry to quote, full visibility of the sales pipeline, reduction of errors, unified quote style and layout, and consistent pricing.
  • Incredibly powerful configuration rules engine
  • Offers flexibility to achieve almost any business need
  • Very well supported - Oracle is clearly investing in development of CPQ Cloud as updates to the system are regular and significant
  • Document generation systems need some work - Old Document Engine is very powerful, but not user friendly. Newer Document Designer is very user friendly, but lacks a number of features available in Document Engine.
  • CPQ Cloud has gone through some growing pains as part of BigMachines being acquired by Oracle. Many people on the sales side of Oracle still aren't very aware of CPQ, and don't understand how it fits in the big picture.
  • CPQ Cloud is in serious need of a UI update, but that is in the works for upcoming releases.
I believe Oracle CPQ Cloud would be a useful tool for any company that quotes and sells a product or service. The flexibility and power of the system are such that it can handle any magnitude of users, quote size, or business rule complexity. Unless the business is very straightforward and quote generation and business rules are very simple, CPQ Cloud would likely be a good fit.
Read Jason Parpart's full review
Gary Sheppard | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2017

Oracle CPQ (BigMachines) is a highly useful system for any complex enterprise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle CPQ Cloud to direct our sales people to the correct configurations of hardware solutions that the customers need. The system is used by nearly all sales branches and is being rolled out globally as well. The standardized pricing and quote output provide value to our customers and the data collection and reporting capabilities help our management stay up to date with sales and customer relations. Customer relations are being additionally improved by the integration of Oracle's CRM through a separate contract purchase of that software.
  • Directed sales is done very well by this software but you need dedicated administrators to create, update and grow the configurations.
  • Quote calculation and presentation are done well also.
  • The freedom provided by the administration back end can make the logic to become too complex and conflict, so the administrators need the power in the organization to draw the line on user requests.
  • Oracle has put a lot of effort into improving the document engine (to produce quote documents) but it still has it's headaches and limitations. It can pretty much do what the old engine did after years of development. But they dumbed things down a lot which is frustrating sometimes but will probably be good in the long run.
This is enterprise software that will be good for any large sales team. Startup companies should stay away until they get more established. A business would need to have a very diverse and customizable product line in order to really benefit from the high cost of this good and flexible system.
Read Gary Sheppard's full review
Jack Hui | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2016

Oracle CPQ - Cut your Sales Cycle in Half

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ is being used to enhance our customer's interaction and flow through our website, and significantly decrease the amount of time it takes us to process quotes and to increase transparency and standardization throughout the sales process. It helps us reduce the amount of time it takes to get through the sales process.
  • Helped us standardize our quotes.
  • Provides transparency.
  • Reduces the time it takes to provide quotes.
  • It still has bugs at times.
  • A lot of training is required to be able to use Oracle CPQ effectively.
Oracle CPQ is very well suited for mid to large companies who want to reduce the length of their sales cycle and time to quote. Additionally, we have used it with great success to help conversion on our website and improve the flow overall. This is a product with many different functions and capabilities, and we aren't even using it to its full capabilities.
Read Jack Hui's full review
Paul Shapiro, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2017

Success with CPQ!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle CPQ Cloud is being used to provide our channel partners with a front end to configure products, get instant pricing, produce quotation documents, produce product drawings and link to product specification sheets. This information is provided to them in minutes instead of hours making our company easier to do business with. It is being rolled out systematically to our principal customers.
  • The system is very flexible, allowing us to do pretty much whatever we want with the customer experience.
  • Implementation consultants are VERY knowledgeable and picked up the nuances of our business very quickly.
  • Along with the flexibility comes some technical complexity. We are not fully up to speed on the technology needed to make all modifications to our product configurator without consulting assistance.
  • Oracle solutions are not cheap, nor are their consulting resources. We got what we paid for however.
The system is well suited for product configuration. Our pricing is not customer specific and accomplishing that, though possible, will be complicated.
Read Paul Shapiro, CPA's full review
Craig Jacquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2016

BigMachines SOAP Interface Experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the B2B module from our server using SOAP transactions with our ERP system.
  • Documentation was pretty straight forward and useful.
  • Their server performance was good.
  • Their GUI interface was easy to use.
  • The use of CDATA in the XML isn't something to get excited about.
The BigMachines SOAP interface works as advertised and has proved to be quite reliable.
Read Craig Jacquez's full review
Dave Haizlip | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Using BigMachines is like going digital, anything else is analog

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • BigMachines provide us with a central repository for all our products and services.
  • Allows all our technical sales staff access to configuring and architecting a complete end-to-end solution for our customers.
  • Speeds up the time it takes for our sales team to configure, price and quote a solution.
  • Error messages need to be more specific, in some cases, the message is so generic it's difficult to locate the issue.
  • The product needs the ability to modify and update itself. Updates to the parts catalog and data tables are file uploads or manual screen updates.
  • Reporting and report generation tools are very difficult to compose and update (Another example of where fault messages need to be improved).
  • More features and functionality with the BML scripting language.
  • More build-in screen formatting controls.
  • Ability to call a function with a function or UTIL.
I would hire a consultant or an experienced BMI developer for the initial build. Even if it's just for one product-line. They can show you a lot the product can do right up front. And help with the initial design. Trying to build the product without any experience will result in a lot of rework and changing directions with your build. They can also teach you how to navigate with the vendor and bypass a lot of trial and error.
Read Dave Haizlip's full review
Stephen Crane | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

Robust software, highly configure-able but not without challenges

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, BigMachines is used as the primary Sales quoting and contracting software. It is primarily used by the Sales organization (both internal Sales and District Sales Managers) to build out quotes and generate contracts and addendums for new and existing business. Sales Operations is the owner and is the admin of the software, along with IT, who facilitate the use of user licenses. The software is also used by the Product organization and is a key component in the Go-To-Market process by making new pricing generally available for sale. Business analysts work directly with IT developers to design user requirements when building out new quote products. The software helps to automate the contracting and approval process, making sure that specific quote products go through the correct discount approval channels. There is tie in with Salesforce as well, which has allowed us to generate Opportunities with Products reports and report on sales activities and KPIs for specific products.
  • Automation of discount approvals and protection of margin- This is probably one of the most widely-discussed features. Our ability to set maximum allowable discount thresholds is imperative, especially when there are hard costs like vendor or partner royalties associated with each quote product. You can really lock product discounts down at the line item level (though presents slight frustrations as well).
  • Configurable and customize-able - The code base is configurable and has allowed our in-house developer to develop some fully custom discount approval workflows. It can also be customized to program in maximum and minimum allowable values and graphical control elements like pop up menus, help text, list boxes, text fields, and other software components.
  • Ability to implement business rules based on business requirements (i.e. publicly traded company, Sarbanes Oxley) is a plus.
  • The software is great for implementing simple if/then logic (if X product is selected then Y product should also print on the agreement). Specific trigger rules can be written and implemented based on if/then criteria in order to meet business rules and scenarios. You can write as many quote requirements as you need.
  • Integration with Salesforce
  • One of the biggest challenges we've experience with the software is the lack of flexibility in deploying snippets of code changes to production. Unlike making changes in our Salesforce test environment, when deploying BM to a production environment our IT developer has to migrate a fully tested code-complete snapshot of sandbox to our production environment all at once. This presents challenges for IT when managing multiple projects from different areas of the business, specifically general sales availability expectations. In order to meet business deadlines, sprint cycles are managed against a floating deployment schedule to ensure that code for all projects are deployed at once.
  • While the software is customize-able, deploying more complex changes takes much time and effort. Dedicated programmers and business systems analysts are needed to define the business rules, document the programmed changes, and deploy the software to production. It takes time to learn and and train on the logic behind the scenes. User training is definitely required for more complex configurations. There is no automated wizard to walk-through test configurations (this would be a nice-to-have).
  • In a fast paced agile environment, the software is a little slow in how it integrates into business process, approvals, and Go-To-Market strategy.... at least in our business.
  • Navigation between configuration pages is a little cumbersome.
  • The software UI has been modified A LOT to make the user experience easier for the Sales teams. A lot of credit goes to the programmer but overall the software UI is still static and at times inflexible when compared to other new drag and drop/cloud-based wizard models.
  • Would be nice if there were integration with our billing system (this is a nice to have!) Product Catalog (SKU) management becomes very manual and all the more important when there is lack of integration with the billing system. We have to coordinate efforts with Billing, Sales, and IT to make sure that the product catalog stays clean and up-to-date.
  • While the ability to lock down discount allowables is a plus, this can also stall deals if allowables HAVE to be exceeded to win business (more of a process/culture change I know). Ad-hoc Emergency fixes can be deployed but you have to weigh the benefits against these "whirl-wind" resource costs.
If you're looking for a robust solution that is highly customize-able and configurable, BigMachines is definitely worth exploring. I wouldn't say that the software itself is slick, but rather, its configurable nature allows a talented programmer to implement some pretty slick solutions. The things our developer has been able to do with soft and hard floor discount approval rules is pretty cool. However, dedicated analysts are needed to help with documentation and user training because the software doesn't have a wizard interface. Also be sure to understand how internal business processes (like sales approvals, IT sprint cycles, and SarBox requirements) are impacted due to the strict bulk code sandbox-to-production migration requirements. A complete snapshot of the test environment has to be deployed all at once; this is a limiting factor in our fast pace agile environment (though we've adapted) where speed to market is imperative. Just make sure you can re-write processes if needed, dedicate time and resources to train users and document business rules. Also, make sure the business has a clear operational strategy when it comes to Product Catalog (SKU) management. This process may become very manual due to lack of billing system integration capabilities (based on what I've seen). End-of Sales efforts may have to be coordinated with Billing, Sales, and IT departments to during the SKU removal or clean-up process.
Read Stephen Crane's full review
Dave Merullo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2015

An Admin's perspective on Big Success with BigMachines

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • As with most CRM solutions, BigMachines CPQ engine provides best value when the toolset is optimized to align with the needs of the business. While this is an obvious statement, I've found that achieving alignment is sometimes the biggest challenge. But if the implementation is done right, BigMachines can dramatically transform the sales cycle and drive revenue to new levels. In short, the toolset is powerful and flexible but success hinges on collaboration between the team using it and the team developing/supporting it.
  • As a developer/admin, I've been able to deliver functionality within BigMachines that automates complex business logic, ensures accuracy of materials on a quote, includes quick and easy discounting with appropriate approval checking and renders to a variety of PDF proposals. Users have reported reductions in quote preparation time from hours to minutes.
  • Beyond the out-of-the-box features that simply get turned on/off, BML coding of utility functions and Rule administration allow creative and challenging solutions. For example, we were able to allow users to quote support/maintenance for variable terms across multiple products with existing or expired agreements with 100% accuracy. By writing a function that calculates a prorated price based on unit price and end date we were able to plug prorated pricing into any item being quoted. Prior to using BigMachines this was a big challenge which cost salesreps time and resulted in delays due to inaccuracy.
  • There are areas within the tool that are very difficult to troubleshoot and require assistance from BigMachines support. As a developer, this can be frustrating and limiting. For example, when the results of a configuration are added to an existing quote the data passes from "configuration" to "commerce" through what seems like an invisible portal. Improvement in visibility to this process would be of great value.
  • From an admin's perspective, a "developer mode" that shows whats going on under the hood while in commerce or config is needed.
  • The document engine is tough to work with, but BigMachines is commited to rolling out improvements. The latest update is that a complete refresh is on the way.
In my experience, having at least one resource in-house that knows how to develop and support BMI makes a huge difference. Leveraging the BOA process to analyze and document business processes is also of great value not only at the beginning of the implementation but periodically as well. Understand that familiarity from the users will promote ideas for improvement that simply cannot be identified in the blueprinting phase. Plan for continuous improvement and agile development.
Read Dave Merullo's full review
Jim Kiltie | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

The best CPQ tool on the market!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • With most software you either customize the software to fit your process, or you customize your process to fit the software. BigMachines provides customization of its configuration and commerce rules, allowing companies the flexibility to fit to their processes, without requiring customization of the base code. This is not to say that BigMachines is perfect, but compared to the other products out there, BigMachines is far and above their competitors.
  • BigMachines listens to their user community's suggestions for feature requests. Their users also have the ability to vote on other people's suggestions. With 4 releases per year, BigMachines is always moving forward with adding features their users want.
  • The customer support structure at BigMachines is the most responsive I have ever worked with. Support is a very high priority for them, as is evidenced in their ramp up and training of support personnel. More companies should model their customer support after BigMachines!
  • The biggest problem I hear most about BigMachines is how difficult or complex it is to program pricing. I feel it is unfair to lay the blame for this on BigMachines, as each company has their own methods or algorithms for calculating sales price. But, to BigMachines' credit, they are always looking for new ways to make this easier for their customers, as was evidence in the release of the Pricing Rules and Formula Manager functionality. This functionality takes a lot of programming out of pricing and puts it in a format easy enough for non-programmers to work with.
  • My biggest complaint about the product is bulk migration. BigMachines keeps moving in the right direction toward granular or package development, but the way the product works now I must have all of my development completed before I can migrate from my test to my production environment. This forces me to make "live" changes in production for emergency fixes. BigMachines continually adds functionality to their roadmap to enhance this functionality.
If you want a successful implementation of BigMachines you will need:
  • Executive sponsorship that is actively involved in the the implementation and will help drive user adoption
  • Well documented configuration and pricing rules
  • An implementation team that understands your company's sales, finance, manufacturing and procurement processes
  • Knowledgeable consultants to implement BigMachines using best practices
  • For larger companies, trained system administrators to support and maintain your BigMachines environment (BigMachines offers Yellow and Blue Belt training...I highly recommend both!). For reference, support for our 90 users is split about 75-25% between myself and a consultant.
  • For sustainability, an engaged Sales Operations team who stays current with configuration rule changes and additions and can interface between the product teams and your BigMachines system administrator
Read Jim Kiltie's full review
Richard Henning | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

Reverse Integration of Verizon's Business Solutions into Terremark's BigMachine leads to the 2011 Big Innovations Award

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Verizon uses it as our Enterprise Solutions (Cloud, Colocation, Managed Solutions, etc) quote to order sales tool.
  • BigMachines allows Verizon Sales Engineers to configure very complicated solutions across multiple product families (Cloud, Colocation, Network, Managed Services, Data Backup and Restore) while ensuring our companies with 60+ data centers can provision the services using our own provisioning processes and applications.
  • BigMachines allows us to have multiple lines of business within the same application such as Partners, Public Sector, Commercial and internal business quoting.
  • The BigMachine SaaS engine is pliable enough for us to reverse integrate Verizon legacy products and services into Terremark's portfolio, while adhering to the large company nuances that had to be added for a successful implementation.
  • BMI has a segregated process and permssions for quoting the Public Sector services and Partner programs using different rates and discounting schemes.
  • A migration of parts and data tables to multiple environments (Dev, Test, Prod) along with the ability to track changes at a granular level.
  • BigMachines works best in Firefox but not as stellar in Microsoft Explorer. Our company compliant browser is MS IE and not all users can install Firefox.
  • A New User Access process that will forward approval to a group of users. Managing a user list of 300+ is nearly impossible. BMI lists users by first name or last name, in a long, arduous listing like the old DOS days. NO ATTEMPT to update the user management portion has been addressed. Just missed promises.
  • More advanced and granular discount and customer engineering approval processes and stages.
  • Discouting works great and we segregate on 5 different layers.
  • NOT Improved automated report generation interface and tools. It has rudimentary reporting capabilities that cannot be used during working hours or site speed/use is hampered. No changes to the reporting tool have ever been delivered since our initial use 5 years ago.
  • Ever since Oracle purchased BigMachines they no longer keep in contact with us. Our issues are tickets that repeat (printing queue issues) and we have limited, very very very limited interaction with humans as we use to.
  • BigIdeas!? No more BigIdea conferences to interact with the BMI development team, managers and service groups that service our Verizon account. Oracle dropped this off the map and inserted it into some other "Oracle" event that no longer has any meaning. Upset as a long time 5+ year customer on this issue.
Have all of your processes, needs and provisioning aspects in place prior to developing your configuration and data tables. If your products, services or processes are complicated have a BigMachines engineer live with your group for a short while so they fully understand your business needs. We had many weekly, closed sessions to ensure all business group needs were met.

We (Verizon) still use BigMachines to process large business orders of our Verizon Enterprise Solutions but ever since Oracle has purchased the product/company we have lost our 1:1 busness relationship with trying to fix/update the tool to support a Fortune 50 company. We continuously have service interuptions (reboots) needed for the Printable solutions when too many, lage quotes go to contract. We receive quarterly fixes that break items in use and Oracle does not seem to give us the "care" we received when it was just BigMachines. Also there is no longer a Big Ideas summit to meet with the support team to vet our issues/needs.
Read Richard Henning's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Quote sharing/sending (19)
8.0
Product configuration (19)
7.9
Configuration options (19)
8.0
Pricing rules (18)
7.7
Price adjustment (19)
7.2
Purchase history and open contracts (18)
6.4
Guided selling/Sales portal (18)
7.1
CPQ reporting & analytics (19)
6.0
CPQ-CRM integration (17)
7.4
Attachments to quotes (19)
7.7
Order capturing (8)
8.2

About Oracle CPQ Cloud

Big Machines was one of the best-known vendors in the CPQ space, and was acquired by Oracle in 2013 and integrated into their Customer Experience Cloud. Today the product is called Oracle CPQ Cloud, and works as a connector between a company's CRM and ERP systems. It covers product selection and configuration, pricing and quoting, presentations and proposals, orders and fulfillment, and reporting and analysis.

There are three packages available: Standard (searchable product catalog, configurable products, list and customer-specific pricing, discounting, extensible scripting and data structures, output document integration, CRM integration); Enterprise (Standard plus a native reporting module, batch transaction export to populate data warehouse, sales channel module, eCommerce module); or Premium (Enterprise plus a test environment, multi-source document creation, etc.)
Categories:  CPQ

Oracle CPQ Cloud Competitors

Oracle CPQ Cloud Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No