Oracle Data Integrator Reviews

119 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 04, 2021
Ojas Elawadhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this Data Integrator tool to handle ETL(Extract, Transform and Load) part of large volume of data to fulfil our stakeholder requirements. This tool does a really great job to handle good amount of data from various sources and maintain the business intelligence system. This tool is being used in specific departments for now.
  • The User Interface is pretty neat and clean which is very easy to use.
  • There are a lot of transformation options available to choose from.
  • The scalability and performance are top notch.
  • The cost part is bit high as compared to its peers.
  • Sometimes there is a lag and it gets hanged.
  • Real time data Integration cannot be handled.
This tool is very well suited if you are having an existing Oracle ecosystem with large volume of data present in different sources. Anyone without much knowledge of SQL can use this tool.
Read Ojas Elawadhi's full review
June 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As we had many Oracle databases with a huge amount of data, a decision was made to implement Oracle Data Integrator, as it is a bit easier to integrate with Oracle products. This tool has made everything easier and more efficient, as it replaces the PL/SQL, which was quite complicated to implement different solutions.
  • Works very well with huge volume of data.
  • Integration with all other Oracle products is a piece of cake.
  • Cleansing and data manipulation along with high scalability.
  • Oracle support is not top notch and they need to be quicker with the resolution.
  • There is a huge scope of simplifying the user interface.
  • Errors are difficult to debug.
This product is very well suited if you currently have an Oracle ecosystem due to easy integration. Its cost is high, so depending upon your expenses, you can choose.
Read this authenticated review
May 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As for the specific department, the number of databases was based in Oracle so we decided to implement the Oracle Data Integrator to work on the data manipulation part as this tool very easily integrates with the Oracle Databases. Earlier it was being done using PL/SQL but now this tool made the work easier and efficient.
  • Seamless integration with all Oracle products.
  • User Interface and readability is quite good
  • Plenty of transformation options available to manipulate the data as per the requirements.
  • No real time data support.
  • Oracle support takes some time to respond for the queries raised.
  • Not many data connection options available.
This Oracle Data Integrator tool is very well suited if you have an Oracle ecosystem meaning multiple Oracle applications and tools as it integrates very easily with them and provides a seamless experience.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Lakhan Suri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use data integrator to handle large amount of data, bulk batch loads,use it for data transformation and integration with different platforms.
We use this for our client request to fulfill their requirement.
We are working in insurance industry in which lots of data from different sources needs to be handled. It solve our purpose to mange large volume of data from different sources.
  • Extract, transform and load the data
  • Work well with large volume of data
  • Use with multiple sources
  • Bit difficult to use as compare to other tools
  • Sometime feels slowness while working
Efficiently work with different platforms but we should have deep knowledge of tool.
Read Lakhan Suri's full review
December 04, 2020
Cameron Gable | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are many products that do extract, transform, and load on data sets. It is a core task for any data engineer or data analyst. Alongside Oracle Cloud, we use Oracle Data Integrator to run ETL processes on our data. We use it widely to maintain our business intelligence systems.
  • High-volume, batch load ETL processes
  • Data transformations before data warehousing
  • Flexible big-data extractions
  • More easily used in other clouds/platforms
  • More features in UI
  • Updated flow of ETL processes in UI
Oracle Data Integrator is well suited for any extract, transform, and load processes someone needs. It is very versatile and allows for even very large amounts of data to be uploaded and transformed. It is especially useful for big data transformations. Any cloud users will find this tool very useful.
Read Cameron Gable's full review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, ODI is used within a few departments of our organization. We utilize it with other Oracle Utility Applications and Middleware (SOA) as an ETL tool. We have a number of interfaces linked with our Oracle Databases and the ODI layer is used to do transformations. We also use it as part of Oracle Utility Analytics with their extractors and it is integrated with part of our GoldenGate Setup.
  • Integration with other Oracle products.
  • Install/documentation was easy to understand for interfaces/utility use.
  • Consistent results, does what we need it to do.
  • Oracle Support is not always the quickest to resolve ODI issues.
  • Specifically with the OUA extractors, the install/documentation was lacking.
For our case, we use ODI as suggested by Oracle and integrated with other Oracle products. We are an Oracle shop and it has worked well when used as intended. We use it with the Oracle Utility Suite of products and SOA as well as with Oracle Utility Analytics and extractors. In both cases, it has delivered what we need, so I do not have any examples of it not working.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a number of our back end databases are Oracle based, so an ETL tool was required to handle all the data pipelining. Earlier it was being done through PL/SQL which was bit complex to learn for everyone. So it was decided to use Oracle Data Integrator as a formal ETL Tool. This is being used in specific departments as of now. This is an amazing tool to implement different transformation logics in an easier way and is quite efficient in handling the data which ends up in saving user's time.
  • It is very easy to integrate with Oracle data sources at backend.
  • Plenty of transformation options and reverse engineering is bit easier.
  • The interface is very simple and user friendly.
  • Real time integration is bit of a hassle.
  • Customer Support could be improved to some extent.
  • Data ingestion with variety of data sources could be difficult to implement.
This is an amazing ETL Tool if you have multiple Oracle source databases. But could be hassle if there are multiple other data sources as it's bit complicated to integrate with them. Overall this is a tool that will optimize and facilitate the integration of data in a fairly simple and integrated way.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Data Integrator is a very good ETL tool that can be used for many different business cases. We currently use it as an ETL application that ties into many of our backend systems. It helps us connect with many systems with the great integrations it has and gives us the ability to closely tie our data together. We use this for our data teams currently which then gets used for reports, etc. to make workflow and processes more streamlined.
  • It is well integrated within the Oracle ecosystem
  • Great product for data cleansing and virtualization
  • Can have everything done in one tool in most cases
  • It has great scalability/performance
  • Oracle support is not the best when needing help with the system
  • The documentation is also very poor and takes very long to generate
  • Some parts of it are not intuitive to use and get hard to troubleshoot
  • Like other Oracle products, you must have very, very thorough knowledge about their systems to understand
  • Like all Oracle products, cost is high
Oracle Data Integrator is best used for data warehousing, master data management, data migration, big data integration, and application integration. If you have an environment that is in the Oracle platform, this tool also works great with it. We have been using it as an ETL tool to get data from the different Oracle systems we have, and it works great. However, it does not work great with different environments if you have multiple types of systems. You will find yourself buying more than one application to satisfy your needs.
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2020
zahit bogus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Data Integrator is used in enterprise projects designed for data warehouse and ETL. It makes sense for us to use the ODI ETL product, especially since the databases we work with are usually oracle products. You can create individual ETL packages with the Oracle Data Integrator ETL product. You can schedule these ETL packets at certain time intervals. You can generate summary tables using aggregate functions in an Oracle Data Integrator product. In this way, you can create data march tables to be used in the data warehouse. The end-user interface of the Oracle Data Integrator product has an intricate appearance. The ETL design screen needs to be more straightforward and more user-friendly. Also, connections to databases other than Oracle can fail after certain periods of time.
  • There are enough aggregate functions to design a Data Warehouse. In this way, summary tables can be created.
  • Works compatible with Oracle databases. By making ODBC connections, database connections are made more stable.
  • The end user interface of Oracle Data Integrator ETL can be made simpler and more convenient.
  • Oracle external database connections are time out after a certain period of time. Therefore, data transfers can be disrupted.
Oracle Data Integrator ETL product is efficient in projects where Oracle databases are heavily used. In the Oracle Data Integrator ETL tool, you can quickly transfer and transform data by connecting source and destination databases with ODBC. You can run your millions of data transfers separately by dividing them into multiple packages. This will give you performance results in data transfer operations. JSON can issue ODI ETL product errors with XML data or in oracle external databases. Sometimes the solution to these errors can cause serious time losses.
Read zahit bogus's full review
May 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We often work with Oracle database products and Oracle Data Integrator has been really useful for EPMA integration. It allows us to have a vivid understanding of topological data. It helps us clarify loose ends as it concerns the plotting of data modules. It provides a significant improvement in clarity that helps us identify issues at job locations. It has been really helpful in visualizing the data set and centralizing company data.
  • With Oracle Data Integrator, we get platform independence as it supports a wide range of platforms.
  • The FCP makes it easy to administer infrastructure and visualize data flows.
  • It is cost-effective.
  • I think it still has a lot of work to do in terms of speed of access and operation. That is why it rates a "7 out of 10" for me.
  • The quality of support can also be improved.
  • It can take longer than usual to generate documentation.
  • Generated code can also be complicated even for technical users.
It is best to use Oracle Data Integrator when you need a data consolidation solution. It works effectively in that sense. We have also used it for multiple data integration projects where we had to load data warehouses. It worked efficiently. I would not recommend it if you are working with multiple SDLCs. It is not the best tool for multi-user development environments.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using the Oracle Data Integrator in order to fully understand and visualize topological data. We find the visualizations are quite wonderful for presentations and has recently been used to identify issues in certain locations of our jobsite. I highly recommend plotting the data in the module as it has done wonders for our field staff. If you're have repeat issues in a certain location but have not been able to find the continuity along a dataset. I beg you to try using this module.
  • Visualization of data set
  • Organizing your staff's work in one central location
  • I find most Oracle products to lack ease of use. Oracle Data Integrator is no exception. I find that my older employees have a difficult time navigating the programs.
  • We have not been able to fully figure out all the customization of the Graphic designer modules. No-fault to Oracle Data Integrator there's just a lot.
Let me put it this way. If you're already using an Oracle product, this is a no-brainer. These products are made to work with each other. Not only that, but if you're familiar with all the shortcuts and you're working with datasets that need visualizations, Oracle Data Integrator product masterfully incorporates large datasets into a visualizer. It by far the best I've seen to date.
Read this authenticated review
January 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Data Integrator for Oracle EPMA integration. We use it for our data integrations and automation.
  • One of the most powerful ways to run your design-time in various environments.
  • Run-time artifacts in various environments.
  • Difficult to use
  • Deep technical knowledge is needed
Oracle Data Integrator is easy to integrate with all kinds of resources. Strong connectivity for all databases (Oracle, MS SQL, MySQL, etc.) and contains many alternative features. For example, It offers scheduled operating steps, email alerts, etc.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - ODTUG
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2019
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Data Integrator (ODI)is probably the best ETL tool in the market. We use it in order to integrate data from several different sources (mainly Oracle and SQL Server) and load the processed data into our Data Warehouse, applying some basic data quality rules (not the main function of ODI, but it has some small data quality features).
  • Complex transformations.
  • Compatibility with almost any knows valid source.
  • Suited for batch loading processes.
  • Small bugs related to Java.
  • The user interface is not intuitive.
  • The complexity of the tool makes difficult to find qualified people in the market.
  • Expensive.
Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is a top choice when you want to integrate data from different and/or heterogeneous sources (any known database and a lot of types of valid files). Not suitable if you don't have well qualified IT professionals in your company since it is a complex tool.
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
September 18, 2019
Ravi Krishna Gajula | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used in critical integration projects to address the problems of integrating with multiple formats of various sources. We are able to debug at different log levels. It's easy to reuse components and it's helped in avoidance of any hard coding. It's easy to develop, maintain, configure and secure. We have the ability to call scripts,. The PL/SQL routines along with its regular mappings helped to avoid use of multiple tools.
  • Leveraging the abilities of Target Database for transformations and computation
  • Unique ability to integrate with heterogeneous sources works well.
  • An application developer does not need to worry much about error handling like pl/SQL Developers have to do
  • Need improvements in ease of access to the user interface
  • Need to worry about whether all the required jar files are available or not for any new connection of any new technology.
  • Each new technology has its own approach to establish the connectivity from ODI. Needs a seamless connectivity.
  • Often ODI Repository throws errors for various reasons and a restart of the jobs will fix the issue automatically. But it could be avoided in first place. Like PK Violation on ODI Variables.
  • ODI Agent time out errors. Need more work on High Availability. J2EE agents also fail to provide High Availability sometimes. Need a solution where at least one agent always works and balances connections on any intermittent network failures.
When we need to work with different sources within the same project, we are able to integrate from the sources and load to the one target. When we need to validate multiple files and load the data immediately in a loop, a simple code does the trick via Oracle Data Integrator. Whoever needs to extract, transform and load from any source can go do that with Oracle Data Integrator.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Ravi Krishna Gajula's full review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I think that Oracle Data Integrator is effective in terms of keeping a database of financial information and it is also helpful since it connects with financial tools such as Hyperion. I utilize Hyperion to pull data from Oracle Data Integrator and use that as a leverage to build a company's financial projections. However, I think one big issue is that it can be quite slow during busy times. I think speed is one of the most essential things for the monthly close process.
  • They connect to financial tools such as Hyperion.
  • Holds financial data very well and easily retrieved when needed.
  • All the support teams are very helpful and there when you need them
  • Speed can sometimes be very slow.
  • You need many technical support individuals to maintain.
  • N/A
Oracle Data Integrator is a great tool to use when you do detailed financial planning and analysis. You can create multiple scenarios. For example, you can create best case, reasonable case, and worst case scenarios on Hyperion and use that to understand different scenarios in order to hedge for risk in your forecast.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use many Oracle products and Oracle Data Integrator provides a graphical environment to do an overall process unlike other ETL tools in the market. This is simple to connect with Oracle databases and the inbuilt functions/features is very useful to overcome the common issues.

It handles a large quantity of data with ease and is powerful for processing ETL.
  • It has a graphical environment which is easy to understand
  • Lightweight designer which is very easy to view and edit the objects with ease
  • All our systems can be widely integrated by ODI, such as transactional systems, our data warehouses, and B2B integration.
  • It would be really good if Oracle considered enabling the tool to integrate with some other platforms that are depreciated simply for commercial reasons, although it looks like the cloud option offers some extra connectors.
  • It is not very good for real time data integrations.
  • When we use Oracle JDE, EBS, Hyperion with lot of customizations
  • When huge data integrations are needed but there is no need for real time integration
  • Error monitoring required unlike Flat File Integrations which won't have good error monitoring
  • Complementary products like Hyperion are already in place with ODI licenses included
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2017
Gurcan Orhan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is used to integrate applications, bulk data movement and of course to load a data warehouse environment.

ODI helped me to reduce a slowly changing dimension type 2 with the same output, from 22,000 seconds to 168 seconds. [I] Manage to load 10.000+ files to a table from 1000+ different sources under 20 minutes with approximate 300 GB of data per day.

  • ODI is a tool that can talk or learn how to talk, with any database or operating system in its own language, this is the power of ODI!
  • I managed to connect to an Ingress Database, within 3 days of time (it is not supported out of the box).
  • When a new version of source and/or target database supports new data types, it takes my 5 minutes to implement it into ODI and immediately start using it.
  • Flexibility, ease of customization, extensive features, ease of deployment, and the ability to access to all kinds of different source system technologies. No need for extra hardware for transformation step.
  • Easy to learn & develop. It takes your 3 days to learn ODI and be an "intermediate ODI Developer", if you know how to write SQL.
  • Big data connectors are implemented since ODI 11.1.1.7 (out-of-the-box) and upper version that support many well-known Big Data architecture.
  • Knowledge Module architecture helps you to build your data integration activities with less effort.
  • They need to work on the multiuser development environment and include the ability to comply with different kinds of SDLCs.
  • You can switch to source, staging area or target to improve your querying performance. If you have to do a join from different source systems, you can decide which data to move to where and figure out the place for best output.
  • Variables can help you to perform loops and conditional statements in packages for helping ETL. What else do you need?
  • It helped me to reduce a slowly changing dimensions type 2 with the same output, from 22,000 seconds to 168 seconds.
  • Loaded 10.000+ files to a table from 1000+ different sources under 20 minutes with approximate 300GB of data per day.
Yes - I am a member of the Independent Oracle User Group, ODTUG, Colombia Oracle Users Group, Costa Rica Java User Group, Ecuador Java User Group, Grupo de Usuarios Oracle El Salvadore, Oracle User Group Guatemala, Oracle User Group Mexico, Panama Oracle User Group, Azerbeidzjan Oracle User Group, Bulgarian Oracle User Group, Oracle Gebruikersclub Holland, Oracle User Group Finland, Oracle User Group Norway, Romanian Oracle User Group, Slovenian Oracle User Group SIOUG, Spain Oracle User Group, TROUG Turkish Oracle User Group, UK Oracle User Group and All India Oracle User Group.

I am presenting in various Oracle User Groups worldwide and share my expertise with Oracle Data Integrator in many of my sessions.
Read Gurcan Orhan's full review
June 22, 2017
Paolo Borghi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

In my organization, my department develops business intelligence solutions for our worldwide customers, whose business can be in any kind of sector. In this scenario, ODI is being used to integrate data among all the pieces of the software architecture, connecting Oracle and non-Oracle technologies.

In my 6 years experience, I used ODI to:
- feed up relational environments, like Data Warehouses or Data Marts models with reporting purposes
- feed up Hyperion Planning, Hyperion Essbase, Hyperion Financial Management or INFOR applications, for our customers' controllers
- read data from Oracle and non-Oracle technologies (i.e.: SAP, SQL Server, INFOR, and many other), thanks to all ODI's connectors and interpreter
- schedule tasks and workflow, independently from the operating system, thanks to ODI's agent (the service that controls all the tool's tasks).

ODI helps integrating data across different sources and targets, executing operating systems command, managing mistakes or discards, logging all the operations performed by the integration flows and scheduling those flows.

  • Is simple and easy to learn, thanks to the low number of development objects that it has (mainly: interfaces, procedures and packages, plus variables).
  • It allows you to integrate data from and to any kind of technology. This is a strong point since it's able to connect practically to any technology, Oracle and not.
  • It allows you to create integration flows that manage through steps on any task.
  • It provides both an automatic and a customizable management of integration mistakes.
  • If you feel stronger in developing through hard code, ODI allows you to integrate anything through procedures.
  • It supports almost any kind of developing language, like SQL, PLSQL, Java, Javascript, C#, and so on.
  • It's easy to backup, since it provides a native way to export all the developments but also its relational repositories (master and work) can be exported from the database where they reside.
  • The newest version (ODI 12c) has been released with some minor bug related to environment stability (i.e. connection loss).
  • After some time that you develop on ODI studio, you need to restart the program, since it tends to occupy a lot of RAM.
  • The ODI studio may need a machine with a lot of resources, otherwise it may become slow.

Oracle Data Integrator is well suited in all the situations where you need to integrate data from and to different systems/technologies/environments or to schedule some tasks. I've used it on Oracle Database (Data Warehouses or Data Marts), with great loading and transforming performances to accomplish any kind of relational task. This is true for all Oracle applications (like Hyperion Planning, Hyperion Essbase, Hyperion Financial Management, and so on).

I've also used it to manage files on different operating systems, to execute procedures in various languages and to read and write data from and to non-Oracle technologies, and I can confirm that its performances have always been very good.

It can become less appropriate depending on the expenses that can be afforded by the customer since its license costs are quite high.

Read Paolo Borghi's full review
November 14, 2017
Ashwini Chandorkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in an organization that provides an online assessment platform, for which I work as a freelancer. Based on the unique E-LT architecture, the need for an ETL server sitting between the source and target server gets removed. Elimination of ETL server and ETL engine reduces the maintenance costs and thus reduced learning curve reduce the overall labor costs of the company. According to the current situation, Oracle Data Integrator supports RDBMSs such as Oracle, Sybase IQ, and Exadata.
  • It supports all platforms, hardware and OSs with the same software.
  • It utilizes the source and target server to perform complex transformations without the need of ETL server sitting between source and target server which makes architecture more simple and efficient.
  • Data Connectivity is very good as it supports all RDBMSs.
  • When you develop on ODI studio, you need to restart the program as it occupies a lot of RAM.
  • It is not meant for real time data integration.
  • It is hard to maintain the security setup.
ODI data transformation capabilities are saving our development time as compared to previous projects.
Read Ashwini Chandorkar's full review
June 22, 2017
Jérôme Françoisse | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) enabled us to assist our customers loading their data warehouse and get insights from their data both in batch mode or in real-time. We helped customers in various fields: finance, gambling, telecom, transportation, education etc.

  • The EL-T approach that will first load into the target dataserver before doing the transfer is a great architecture improvement compared to standard ETL tools that use a staging area and usually process the data in Java. With ODI, almost all the job is pushed down on the underlying technology, for instance the Oracle Database or the Spark server.
  • The Knowledge Module approach provides an easy and reusable way to create our own integration strategies. It's easy to create these Knowledge Modules to connect to new technologies, for instance.
  • ODI is really the tool for any kind of integration because it speaks the language of the technology we connect. We can work with RDBMS but also in Hadoop, cloud services, flat files, web services, etc.
  • Continuous integration is missing and would be a really nice feature to enforce a good development lifecycle.
  • Better handling of files and folders, to be able to easily go through all the files of a folder.
  • Security setup is not easy to maintain.
ODI can access a large range of technologies as source or target so it's suited for most of the loadings. For efficient change data capture and streaming, I would recommend other tools for the ingestion part though, like Oracle Golden Gate and Apache Kafka which are dedicated to that. File processing is not that easy in ODI so if it's your main use case you might want to look at another tool.
Read Jérôme Françoisse's full review
November 23, 2016
Ely Turkenitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a large data warehouse that consolidates data from three different case management systems. We use Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) as the primary ETL tool for transporting the data into the data warehouse. Prior to ODI, we used Oracle Warehouse Builder (OWB) for Oracle databases and Microsoft SSIS for SQL Server databases. ODI replaced them both. We found ODI to be a very powerful, full-feature ETL tool, and it's lightning fast, too.
  • It's fast. If you have used OWB before, you will notice how much faster ODI is.
  • The Knowledge Modules (KMs) are extremely useful.
  • Integrates really well with the rest of the Oracle Technology Stack (GoldenGate, WebLogic, OEM, and, of course, the Oracle Enterprise Database).
  • In ODI 12c, Oracle added a migration tool for OWB clients. It works, but not as well as we thought. We knew we would have to recreate the process flow - but then some of our OWB scripts didn't migrate well - and we ended up spending a lot more time than we initially thought [while] going through the entire migration.
  • The installation isn't trivial. It took us a while to figure out which components need to reside where, how WebLogic fits in, and how to set it all up.
  • The Oracle training for ODI is outrageously expensive - over 4K for a 5-day class.
Well, if you are an Oracle shop, then ODI is clearly a very good choice. It is a much better tool than OWB has ever been; it is lightning fast (which really comes handy when you have to transform massive amount of data), and it gives Informatica a run for its money. It [has the] ability to support heterogeneous databases, big data, JMS, XML, and many other flavors.
Read Ely Turkenitz's full review
October 11, 2016
Federico Shortrede | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We’re currently using Oracle Data Integrator for integration purposes between legacy systems and eBS, and also to populate a couple of data marts from information in Oracle.
  • For us, it is particularly good for batch loading processes, because it is quite easy to connect different sources.
  • Great for ETL processes, since it allows you to extract data from very different sources, perform some transformation, and load it to your final system.
  • It was not difficult for our technical team to learn and adopt the tool.
  • The main problem for us is that, from time to time, and for reasons we still were unable to discover, ODI loses the connection, and integration processes fail.
  • I think there’s some room to improve the controlling of this process, but I don’t think they will perfect ODI in this way because Oracle has other licensed tools.

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is great for integration between different Oracle data bases, and it also works well taking data from sources like Excel or SQL Server.

We’re not so sure about ODI’s performance when origins are “very far away”, for instance, in different servers connected through an MPLS, or between one “on premise” server with another “cloud server”. But perhaps it is due to lack of knowledge.

Read Federico Shortrede's full review
June 15, 2016
James Parks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Data Integrator is used to extract data from various manufacturing machines, transform it into a usable form, and load it into a data warehouse for use by Oracle Business Intelligence reports. In this case, it was used to attempt a "real-time data warehousing solution," which is not necessarily its intended operation. Data was provided every hour, as required by the client. It was used across the whole organization to help with various decisions, including but not limited to manufacturing quality, resource tracking, accountability, and equipment usage.
  • Oracle Data Integrator is a very powerful tool. The graphical user interface simplifies the generation of complex SQL statements which can be used to extract and transform large amounts of data.
  • ODI allows users to structure and schedule packages of code. It allows you to combine data extraction and transformation sequences based on business area, relationships, or whichever design technique best suits your organization.
  • ODI is able to provide detailed logging information and send out alerts via email, simplifying the process of monitoring and debugging issues.
  • ODI does not have an intuitive user interface. It is powerful, but difficult to figure out at first. There is a significant learning curve between usability, proficiency, and mastery of the tool.
  • ODI contains some frustrating bugs. It is Java based and has some caching issues, often requiring you to restart the program before you see your code changes stick.
  • ODI does not have a strong versioning process. It is not intuitive to keep an up to date repository of versioned code packages. This can create versioning issues between environments if you do not have a strong external code versioning process.
Oracle Data Integrator is a good solution for daily data warehousing needs. It is less suitable for business requirements that demand frequent data updates. Accessing static data with Oracle Data Integrator is much simpler than trying to extract, transform, and load dynamic data. It requires a skilled development team to use, so it is more appropriate in long term solutions where a team will be available to manage the code than it is for a short term solution.
Read James Parks's full review
September 20, 2016
Carlos Sanz Porro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using ODI for large companies that have the need to generate and consolidate information, move data, transform and consolidate data.

The great quality of ODI, is that it is able to connect to any database and source (xml , txt, SOZ ) both source and target. ODI is all possible, we have not seen in the position of a customer asks us something that ODI can not do . Thanks to that we can modify its core, we can do anything.

ODI allows the multidisciplinary development, its own versioning, and integration with any language (Python , Groovy , t - SQL).
  • It connects to any source (database, files, web services) and target.
  • Modify the logic of SQL with knowledge modules.
  • Easy development.
  • The product sometimes have small bugs, which are fixed with patches.
  • Very complex queries are difficult to do in graphics mappings
  • It has functionality versions but can not develop in parallel a same object.
Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is recommended when you want to move data from heterogeneous sources. Also the multidisciplinary development is appropriate because when an object is being used, it appears locked by another user. ODI is a mature tool on the market.

A developer without advanced knowledge of SQL, can easily use the tool and generate complex queries against the database.
Read Carlos Sanz Porro's full review
August 03, 2016
Samir Patel, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Data Integrator is being used to move meta data from our repository that sits in SQL Server to the Hyperion Planning application. It is being utilized by our Finance department and it allows them to use the planning application efficiently to create budget and forecast information for the current year.
  • Has many different source and destination connectors
  • Manages workflow for data movement
  • Many options in the data transformation toolbox
  • Error handling is quite complicated
  • Very cumbersome user interface
  • Too much complexity makes easy jobs harder to maintain
Oracle data integrator is best suited for Oracle Hyperion environments. When it comes to moving data to essbase and planning cubes, Oracle Data Integrator is the best tool for the job since the connectors are built in. SSIS for example is limited in this regard and could not accomplish the same task.
Read Samir Patel, PMP's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pre-built connectors (14)
7.7
Connector modification (14)
8.1
Support for real-time and batch integration (14)
7.5
Data quality services (14)
8.0
Data security features (14)
8.0
Monitoring console (15)
8.0

What is Oracle Data Integrator?

Oracle Data Integrator offers High-Performance Bulk Data Movement and Data Transformation
It promises to deliver unique next-generation, extract load and transform (ELT) technology that improves performance and reduces data integration costs—even across heterogeneous systems.
-ELT architecture for improved performance and lower TCO
-Heterogeneous platform support for enterprise data integration
-Knowledge modules for optimized developer productivity and extensibility
-Service-oriented data integration and management for SOA environments

Webcast
Increase Productivity and Innovate with Extreme Performance Data Integration

Oracle Data Integrator Video

What is Oracle Data Integrator?

Oracle Data Integrator Competitors

Oracle Data Integrator Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle Data Integrator?

Oracle Data Integrator is an ELT data integrator designed with interoperability other Oracle programs. The program focuses on a high-performance capacity to support Big Data use within Oracle.

What is Oracle Data Integrator's best feature?

Reviewers rate Connector modification highest, with a score of 8.1.

Who uses Oracle Data Integrator?

The most common users of Oracle Data Integrator are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.