Oracle Database Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1058 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 149)

Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Oracle Database for critical workloads that can scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database has a better reputation in quality of the database compared to Amazon Aurora, SAP, Microsoft and IBM DB2. There are also better developer ecosystems available that can be used for issues and hiring DBAs and developers with the experience on Oracle Database. Pricing wise, Oracle Database can be a little expensive if sales rep don't provide the discounts, but that is fine. This made Oracle Database the top choice.
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Excellent experience using Oracle products over the past 18+ years.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Performance is much better than other RDBMS. Oracle supports better transaction management. It has wide range of features and we don't need to use different types of databases to finish an application requirement.
Read this authenticated review
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Non-stop traffic with Oracle Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use SQL Server for other modules of our MLFF Tolling System, so I work on a daily basic with both database engines. Oracle is recognized and distinguished by scalability and performance, ensuring a secure environment to host our critical data that comes from multiple roadside sites and from partner agencies, guaranteeing the availability and stability of stored data.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Oracle 12c feedback in ERMX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use IBM DB2 in AS400 to handle part of our accounting system and our legacy ERP. We are migrating all functionalities to Oracle Database 12c because it is more secure and stable. We have some applications using SQL Server but we want to handle those systems in it because at this moment, transitioning would mean investing a lot of money into it.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Immensely complicated

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Oracle simply because we already use a lot of Oracle products (Solaris, Weblogic, Java), and the licensing for Oracle was considerably less than Sybase at the time.

However, over time we realized that Oracle was far more work than Sybase, far more complicated, required a great deal of training and was overall a much greater headache to keep healthy. Our Sybase instance almost never goes down, while Oracle needs constant monitoring. We also use SQL Server a lot, and have learned that it is also far more stable, and far easier to use than Oracle. To be honest, I have a difficult time understanding why Oracle has the market share it does.
Read Zhann Goloborodko's full review
Shailandra Vaish | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Oracle 12c usage feedback for financial sector firm.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Oracle is serving a different segment with respect to those above. Till now, we have stuck with Oracle and continued to support our internal customers. Other DBs are serving a few targeted applications by a few application teams.
Read Shailandra Vaish's full review
Richard Hardin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle and VSE Corp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

While I was not available for the original selection, the reason I have fought to keep it in place and not change is mainly due to performance and security. The company has sought other options, however, I continue to maintain that this is the best course of action in our instance due to the customers we serve and the need for a stable and reliable platform not only for on-prem but the cloud as well.
Read Richard Hardin's full review
OMAR ROSALES LOPEZ | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

I Like it

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used SQL Server mainly because customers have some legacy applications that can only run on that environment, but SQL Server is good as well. It is easiest to manage users privileges, set up maintenance plans or create a new database from scratch by just using a backup file. If we had to choose, one Exadata appliance would be the reason to choose Oracle.
Read OMAR ROSALES LOPEZ's full review
Habeeb Akbar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Oracle Database is the best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Oracle supports multiple platforms and is more reliable than Microsoft SQL. Oracle provides integrated hardware and software solutions. Microsoft will depend on their LDAP, which is not a recommended practice for our customers. Oracle has a future roadmap for Oracle Database to move to a cloud environment that can help all the customers shift to Oracle Cloud Datacenter without any issues.
Read Habeeb Akbar's full review
Binu Nair | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Tekvista's Oracle DB 12 c Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Oracle is in the leader of the pack. It has excellent user community and support is superb. It is widely used by 75% of organizations from small, medium, large to enterprise wide organizations.
Read Binu Nair's full review
Subrat Mishra | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Rocks!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are mostly using Oracle, but in some applications, we do have Microsoft SQL Server. The RAC feature makes it high availability compared to SQL server with active/passive mode. Memory management is much better in Oracle and it's easy to scale up and down. Oracle is much better designed than any other database.
Read Subrat Mishra's full review

About Oracle Database

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any deployment strategy, on premises or in the cloud.

For more information visit https://www.oracle.com/database
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database Competitors

PostgreSQL, MariaDB, Microsoft

Oracle Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No