Oracle Database Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1058 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 171)

Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Oracle Database for critical workloads that can scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Oracle Database is suited for for scenarios where the database is large and there is a need for reliability, security and availability at scale. The pricing reflects this. It won't be well suited and will be expensive for mostly dev and test environments or where reliability is not a factor or issue.
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

My review of Oracle Database

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Oracle Database should be a good fit for any applications who need a database, especially eCommerce use cases. There might be better choices for lightweight applications or applications with very large data sets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Excellent experience using Oracle products over the past 18+ years.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is highly performant and guarantees data consistency based on ACID compliance. Oracle Active Data Guard allows us to open the standby database for read operations. With Oracle 19c , Oracle also allows to do DML redirection on standby DB which can help with some reports that need temporary tables.
Using XML/non-structured data is not easy and I have noticed performance issues when the XML becomes deeply nested.
Read this authenticated review
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Non-stop traffic with Oracle Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I believe that Oracle Database can be used almost on any scenario, starting with small department solutions to actually any enterprise level system. It includes many features that allow a single database to work as an OLTP and Data Warehouse at the same time, reducing hardware requirements and the need to implement ETL or integration solutions between OLTP and DW.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

THE Database and RDBMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Although this database is massive, it's the best selection for quite a lot of things. From the automatic query optimization to the physical table lookup, every single aspect is a product of years of innovation. Most of the tools/techniques used today in other DBs were first was implemented in this. Oracle Database can fulfill nearly every database requirement a small, a typical, or a giga-company needs. With the right professionals, this tool can run countries!
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Oracle 12c feedback in ERMX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We primarily use Oracle in our organization, except for a few applications which use other databases like SQL Server, Redis and MongoDB. Primarily, Oracle Database 12c is used to manage data for various applications all across the organization by multiple applications like Ticket Car, DataMart, ERP for invoicing and master catalog, and for Watts processor by Edenred Brasil.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Immensely complicated

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

While Oracle is more or less a bulletproof database server, if you don't have an Oracle DBA on staff you are in for a lot of trouble. We use Oracle, Sybase, SQL Server, and SAP IQ. Of the 4, Oracle is the most painful to troubleshoot when things get weird. Now, if you do have Oracle DBA's on staff, Oracle is a perfectly good database solution, but I can't say that it is in any way better than Sybase and I would say it is a touch less reliable that SQL Server.
Read Zhann Goloborodko's full review
Shailandra Vaish | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Oracle 12c usage feedback for financial sector firm.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Most of the functionality needed by the application was already supported by 12c, so I did not explore any other features needed. I believe 12c may not be suitable for applications with a small footprint due to larger infrastructure requirements. That is why many developers have chosen databases such as PostgresSQL or MongoDB.
Read Shailandra Vaish's full review
William DeVrieze | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Audit and Compliance Automation through Oracle 12c

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For compliance activities, it is very useful. It also works very well for managing all of our different case types. From an audit perspective, I wouldn't recommend it based on all the needed customization. Over customization has also led to performance issues. This may be, in part, a product of our agency as well as some limitations of the database.
Read William DeVrieze's full review
Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

My experience with the new Oracle 12c

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

12c is appropriate for anyone using an Oracle database already and needs to upgrade. Similar database models can also lateral. The pluggable databases are great for use in both provisioning and portability. For those who need self-service provisioning, 12c is very useful.
Read Jatel Desai's full review
OMAR ROSALES LOPEZ | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

I Like it

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For data warehouse environments, it is a great option. We used to run it using a non-EXA appliance and batches used to take like 3 to 4 hours but it was reduced to 30 min which helped our customers. I think Oracle has an option for any need that any customer has.
Read OMAR ROSALES LOPEZ's full review
Habeeb Akbar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Oracle Database is the best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Oracle database is a perfect choice when customers have Oracle hardware and they're looking for relaible OS like Linux and Solaris. Customers who have Oracle applications will find appropriate to have Oracle Database due to single point of support and fewer resource requirements to maintain the data.
Oracle Database will be less appropriate for customers who have a smaller budget and hardware with slower performance.
Read Habeeb Akbar's full review
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Oracle Database review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Oracle has been the top choice and the best relational database solution in the market for years..for companies that can afford to pay for it. Every Oracle component is very expensive, so it is not as well suited for a small company which cannot afford to have a large budget for it.
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
Frank Lupercio | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle and Visual Studio 2019... no developer tools yet!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for large data and for complex applications. It is great, secure, and support, in general, is good.

Not well suited for small companies (cost) and for home projects. There is not a smaller version of Oracle available for home use like SQL Server. You can find many free options for your home or small business without having to pay thousands of dollars compared to Oracle.
Read Frank Lupercio's full review
Ken Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Database 12c Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The Oracle Database is well suited in any environment that needs to store large amounts of data or support multiple applications across different platforms.
Read Ken Turner's full review
Subrat Mishra | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Rocks!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Oracle is mostly good for OLTP based transactions. I see it is limited for the micros service, but I am still exploring that area. Invisible column and identity columns are well used in my applications.

A little more effort on making SQL Developer a better tool could drive the usage a lot more.
Read Subrat Mishra's full review

About Oracle Database

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any deployment strategy, on premises or in the cloud.

For more information visit https://www.oracle.com/database
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database Competitors

PostgreSQL, MariaDB, Microsoft

Oracle Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No