Oracle Database Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1059 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 171)

Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Oracle Database for critical workloads that can scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Oracle Database does security and compliance very well out of the box without the need for much configuration.
  • It works very well across on-prem and cloud deployments where we want part of the database in-house (due to compliance reasons) while the rest can be in the public cloud.
  • It is also very good in scaling to large datasets and performance numbers ( time to run a SQL query) are much better than DB2, Microsoft SQL Server etc.
  • Pricing can be improved to make it much more competitive with other RDBMS options in the space
  • Best practices documents and deployment scenarios for running Oracle Database on non-Oracle cloud platforms would be helpful (for example Oracle Database on Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure).
  • Certainly room for better integrated and automated SQL tuning.
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

My review of Oracle Database

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • High stability and reliability
  • A complete set of database features
  • Performance is sub-optimal when data size is large.
  • Non-trivial effort to setup. We have to build some automation so developers can save some time to set it up on their local machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Excellent experience using Oracle products over the past 18+ years.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Highly performant/reliable and good technical support
  • ACID -- Supports ACID transactions
  • Non-structured Data -- XML, hard to use
  • High Availability -- Real application clusters are available but it is difficult to set up and maintain
Read this authenticated review
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Non-stop traffic with Oracle Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Oracle Database 12c has the ability to scale to support intensive workloads.
  • PL/SQL provides an efficient way to develop data-intensive processes that are able to interact with data without transferring it to an app server
  • Partitioning, Compression and Encryption are some of the optional features that enhance performance, reduce costs and secure the information stored in Oracle Database 12c
  • New (actually it is more than five years old) multi-tenant architecture is not as straightforward as SQL Server, but it has been enhanced in Oracle 12c Release 2 and later 18c and 19c.
  • Many features require additional licensing (either as options or as packs) that increase the total cost
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

THE Database and RDBMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • "THE" Database, period. No more robust, secure, and stable relational database exists.
  • Support from a wide range of professionals all over the world. Their academies and documentation is well above the average.
  • Absolute best reliability in the market: ACID was kinda invented by those guys.
  • Thousands of supporting tools, technologies, etc.
  • They moved into the cloud! and are now a quite strong competitor vs. Amazon Web Cloud.
  • The licences around using the DB are quite pricey. But hey, for a high quality, you cannot expect a freeware software...
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Oracle 12c feedback in ERMX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Replication using GoldenGate. We replicate almost 500k transactions per day between Brasil and México and it works perfectly.
  • Velocity, quality, and support.
  • Relational database to handle financial transaction systems using OLTP when customers pay for fuel.
  • Parallel execution to apply multiple CPU and I/O resources to the execution of a single database operation.
  • It's hard to find Oracle specialists.
  • Oracle specialists are expensive.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Immensely complicated

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The database itself rarely goes down.
  • Bringing up new Oracle instances is relatively painless.
  • With the help of data pumps, moving data from place to place is a breeze.
  • If you pay for their support, while they aren't the speediest, they are incredibly well informed and are an amazing help.
  • Immensely complicated. Of all the databases we use, this one has by far the most moving parts.
  • It is highly recommended to have a dedicated Oracle DBA on staff if you want your databases healthy. We have no such difficulty with Sybase, SQL Server or SAP IQ.
  • While the Support Team is incredibly informative, they are often very slow to respond and are often unwilling to answer questions that don't directly solve the problem at hand.
Read Zhann Goloborodko's full review
Tiesong Lu | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Sr. Oracle DBA, working as an Oracle DBA for 20+ years since Oracle 7.3.4

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I believe other users have reviewed the pros already. I am addressing only the Cons of 12c R2.
  • SYSAUX tablespace grows rapidly. I didn't need to add space to SYSAUX last a few years in 11g. But after upgrading to 12c R2 12.2.0.1, SYSAUX grows daily, and I have to add space to SYSAUX regularly, about every 2 weeks. I am currently opening an Oracle SR and working with Oracle Support on this issue.
  • Some of our small databases only use about 5GB excluding SYSAUX. But SYSAUX uses 5GB alone!
  • Almost all universities (if not all) in the USA have been using Banner application. But Banner app users fail to log on 12c Release 2 databases after upgrading to 12c R2 from 11g because of an Oracle Bug related to password-protected profile. I applied an interim bug to work around this issue. However, since Oct 2018, the PSU patching will not work. I must rollback the interim bug, and then patch the PSU, and then apply the interim patch again to resolve the Oracle bug. I asked Oracle to include the interim in the PSU in Oct 2018. But up to PSU Jul 2019, Oracle didn't implement it yet!
Read Tiesong Lu's full review
Shailandra Vaish | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Oracle 12c usage feedback for financial sector firm.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • First of all DB needs to be upgraded to Oracle 12c for support prospective from Oracle.
  • Oracle 12 has some great features with respect to auditing.
  • Keeping the data with respect to hot and cold rows is also a great features helping in managing data well.
  • It had installation issues where it needed to have a patch applied before installation could begin. Downloaded software should have been tested before providing it to the user.
  • Oracle 12.1 was not very stable so we had to migrate it to 12.2 after some time.
Read Shailandra Vaish's full review
Richard Hardin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle and VSE Corp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Performance - We have several ERP systems all running on various platforms. By far the best performance in terms of consistency being up and available is our Oracle platform. To put into scale, out of all three platforms, since I have been employed, Oracle has not been down once, while the other two have been down multiple times, to the point that my attendance at OOW2019 is focused on migration from other platforms to Oracle.
  • Security - The matter of security is huge. One of the biggest points in choosing an Oracle database and appliance over anything else is the security it provides in counter to anything else on the market.
  • Training - While there is an enormous amount of training available, there are still gaps in terms of availability for classroom-style learning. I have found it more effective to be in a classroom setting where one is held accountable at that moment in time as opposed to self-paced (pure personal preference).
  • Cost - While we love the databases and appliances, the cost of maintaining is becoming an issue when competitors are coming in at such a lower point. Pushing this to a more profits oriented C-level makes justification difficult at times.
Read Richard Hardin's full review
William DeVrieze | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Audit and Compliance Automation through Oracle 12c

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • An automated case management system has eliminated our duplication of effort in most instances.
  • Having electronic work papers has allowed us to access other case files so we have access to more data saving us time and stopping the need for duplicate request.
  • Our compliance cases are very task-oriented and the out of the box flow works very well with these cases.
  • From the audit perspective, we have had to customize a lot to meet our electronic work paper needs.
  • We have quite a few open Oracle service requests that have been outstanding for years.
  • The history around the completed task is lacking out of the box.
Read William DeVrieze's full review
John Wedlake | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Johnny Rotten's Oracle Database Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is able to store large amounts of data in a structured environment making complex development and maintenance more manageable.
  • It is able to perform large and complex queries required for display in front-end systems, for reporting purposes and for trouble-shooting. Oracle functions, procedures, and packages are very useful in developing complex functionality for display and input on the client-side.
  • It is very transparent; the data is easy to access, see and understand, which is significant for troubleshooting and maintenance.
  • Upgrades have been relatively painless.
  • SQL Developer is missing some of the easy to use GUI tools used to check dependencies, grants and synonyms, and other simple DBA functions used by developers.
  • SQL Developer interface is slow, and code completion assistant is unresponsive at times.
  • I would like to see a cleaner way to process data results without re-retrieving data in cursors. We are currently using object types.
Read John Wedlake's full review
Nanie Asedillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

The most resilient database right now!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Active data guard is an awesome feature to have. It helps unload your workload for read-only stuff
  • RMAN backup makes it easy to backup and restore your database
  • RAC has helped us make our application available 24/7
  • Log collection when troubleshooting
  • Grid control is very heavy, we need a lighter version just for monitoring and alert triggering
  • Tablespace fragmentation management tools should be provided
  • One item in my wish list is that Oracle would make it easier to collect diagnostic files in one command whenever there's an issue. It takes a lot of time collecting TFA files and ADRCI is not enough
Read Nanie Asedillo's full review
Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

My experience with the new Oracle 12c

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • New bug fixes
  • Easy for structure design
  • Easy to switch from older Oracle versions
  • The current private/public cloud options are very black/white
  • Performance was lacking in some cases as wait times increased
  • In moving to 12c, there was a lot of workarounds needed for our current system to be fully functional
Read Jatel Desai's full review
Rui Amaral | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Oracle Database is Unparalleled

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Complex query - this is true for relational databases but more so for Oracle due to its robust implementation of ANSI-SQL and the relational paradigm for data management.
  • The various options available within the database are second to none. No one has the same level of partitioning as Oracle does for example.
  • Even though some other databases have similar capabilities no one can match Oracle RAC to any real degree.
  • Oracle is slowly moving this was but allowing the database to consume more data repositories and query them all from a single interface would be a great enhancement. Oracle Big SQL has this but is a paid option that sits outside of the database and has access to a small number of repositories (HDFS for example).
  • Make licensing more easily consumable and client-friendly. This is the biggest bone of contention that is pushing customers from what is a truly great product.
Read Rui Amaral's full review
Habeeb Akbar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Oracle Database is the best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • OLTP transactions are so very fast. We have 5,000 concurrent users and results are shown so fast.
  • Compatible with different application vendors and require less configuration. We are using SharePoint, Sales Online, and other applications.
  • Data replication with ADG is very powerfull and requires less latency. Currently, we have real-time replication without much interference.
  • Oracle should have a single implementation method for all platforms regardless of different operating systems.
  • Migration tool for other databases should be quick, without a user interface.
  • Data cleansing and data validation tools needed.
Read Habeeb Akbar's full review
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Oracle Database review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Secure - Great security by itself and along additional packs (Advanced Security).
  • Excellent perfomance and availability
  • Lot of add-in packs that complement and strengthen the ecosystem
  • Complex - not easy to find qualified Oracle administrators
  • Oracle training is very expensive
  • Complicated interface - should be more user-friendly (yes, even for tech users)
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
greg van stekelenburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Oracle DB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Growth capability- Will allow you to grow and upgrade from std to enterprise edition as needed for functionality
  • Security options available
  • Enterprise level product
  • Can be pricing if run on commodity servers when you don't need full capacity because of licensing
  • Std Edition has limited features and often needs to be upgraded to Enterprise edition
  • Can be complicated to install properly
Read greg van stekelenburg's full review
Seshagiri Parupalli | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Database 12c Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to manage and maintain.
  • Backup and cloning to development instances are easy.
  • Restoring a full database or a particular table is easy.
  • Performance was better compared to 11gR2.
  • Oracle LOBs is still an issue.
  • Function-based indexes are still a problem
  • Query optimization needs improvement.
Read Seshagiri Parupalli's full review
Frank Lupercio | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle and Visual Studio 2019... no developer tools yet!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Oracle allows you to connect to multiple reporting tools.
  • Oracle has extensive patches and distributes them in a timely manner when they release them.
  • They can handle multiple databases and hold tons of data history.
  • It is very reliable and doesn't crash like other products.
  • SQL Developer lacks functionality that would be useful, like displaying all records at once when you query
  • SQL Developer crashes a lot and it is buggy. We would love to use it more but it is hard to use at times.
  • They haven't or don't release Oracle Data tools for Visual Studio 2019. We are almost at the end of the year 2019 and still no data tools yet.
  • Connection to .NET is kind of complicated and not very easy as compared to Microsoft SQL Server that allows you to connect easier.
  • Oracle, in general, doesn't compare in terms of use with SQL Server. Data takes a little bit longer to get pulled when you create .Net applications.
  • Connections have to be opened and closed or else you can end up with multiple connections open. As opposed to SQL Server where it opens the connection and it is closed immediately with very little code.
  • Oracle doesn't provide many examples of how Oracle implements and interacts with .NET.
Read Frank Lupercio's full review
Ken Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Database 12c Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Recovery. Recovering the database is more reliable than any other I know of.
  • Speed and performance.
  • Reliable.
  • Querying large amounts of data, fast.
  • Recovery of a database to a point in time needs to be easier.
Read Ken Turner's full review
Subrat Mishra | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Rocks!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Nice SGA management
  • Easy to apply profiles on poorly performing SQLs
  • One platform for both OLTP and analytics
  • Auto SQL tuning
  • Better LOB management
  • XML Processing
Read Subrat Mishra's full review

About Oracle Database

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any deployment strategy, on premises or in the cloud.

For more information visit https://www.oracle.com/database
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database Competitors

PostgreSQL, MariaDB, Microsoft

Oracle Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No