TrustRadius
Oracle GoldenGate is database management software for data integration, and availability support for heterogeneous databases.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/n1/v4/CS0IROR5I1QE.PNGOverall, GoldenGate is an excellent software to provide real-time data integration and replicationIt is used by IT to sync data across databases. The source is our SQL Server database and the target is the Oracle database. The source database is outsourced to a third party and we use GoldenGate to sync the data to our local Oracle database. The main challenge we have is that GoldenGate can't replicate DDL among different RDBMS. We have had to stop and rebuild GoldenGate multiple times due to DDL change on the source side.,Real Time Sync Less overhead Stable performance,Should make the high availability easier to use. Not bound to only DBFS or ACFS. Need a powerful GUI tool to make the configuration easier. Could it be cheaper? Or have a basic free version? If it could support DDL among different RDBMS, that would be great.,9,It increases the data integration speed. Negative impact is that due to many DDL changes on the source side, we need a lot of time to maintain GoldenGate to manually resync.,Not a member of any user groups,Informatica Enterprise Data Integration, SQL Server Integration ServicesOracle GoldenGate is a good product.We use Oracle GoldenGate as a part of our high availability solution. The entire database is replicated in real time to other geographical facilities and makes the system available for 24/7.,GoldenGate is good for real-time data replication. The database upgrade and migration was possible with zero downtime because of having GoldenGate in place. It also works with different databases other than Oracle,The monitoring side could be improved with easy to use reporting.,9,The database upgrade and migration was possible with zero downtime because of having GoldenGate in place. So, it saved a lot for not having any downtime.,Not a member of any user groups,SharePlex,Oracle Database 12c, Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control, Oracle Audit Vault and Database Firewall, Oracle WebLogic Application Server,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor,For the active-active database replication we do, I would still use the GoldenGate considering the ease of usage and the stability it has.GoldenGate with 99.999 uptimeWe use Oracle GoldenGate to achieve high availability, perform upgrades, and for patching and data center drills.We use Golden Gate in active active configuration.It meets our SLA requirement of 99999.,Oracle GoldenGate provides the best HA solution. It gives us 99.999% availability in a year. GoldenGate is very easy to install, set up and troubleshoot. The commands are fairly simple. GoldenGate is a very lightweight tool. It performs auto CDR in active setups. Tuning Golden Gate is fairly very simple. Golden Gate is very fast in catching up the lag.,Where there are open transactions GoldenGate needs to auto-detect them. GoldenGate should have dba views like Oracle Database. Patching or upgrading GoldenGate is a bit complicated. When extract or pump trail file sequence number is about to reach the max limit, we should get a warning or critical threshold alert. When Integrated replicat is altered, it converts to classic replicat. We don't get any message that the replicat is running in classic mode. There should be some sort of alerting in the ggserrlog file.,10,GoldenGate has saved us from penalties by providing 99.999% uptime. DR drills are very fast due to active architecture using GoldenGate. We need to pay for additionals licenses for GoldenGate but for Data Guard we don't have to pay for and additional license.,Not a member of any user groups,SharePlex,Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control, Oracle Exadata Database Machine, Toad for Oracle,100,100,High Availability Migrations and Upgrades without downtime Achieve Active Active requirement,We use Hub and Spoke model of Golden Gate We use Active active feature of golden Gate We used Golden Gate for Sybase to Oracle Migration.,Use Golden Gate micro services for easy management.,10,No,Price Product Features Prior Experience with the Product,I won't change my decision to move away from Golden Gate.,Implemented in-house,No,while impleming parallel classic replicat there was a manual error in specifying the range and that let to data out of sync. data looping out of sync data,9,Yes,10,Yes,We had a case where we had to have end to end lag reduce from 10 seconds to 1 second and Golden Gate team provided us with a solution for it. This was very much needed for our active active and because of this we were able to achieve our goal.,Golden Gate install and setup troubleshooting and checking status of the processes logdump utility.,golden Gate doesn't have compare and repair functionality and so if we have to sync two databases then it takes quite some time and effort to do it. Setting up bidirectional replication. Active Active setup.,9MyCentsonGoldWe are using this application to replicate data from one data center to other data center. And it's very accurate and it's solved our data issues during the down time the replication helped not loosing of business and with little impact to customer for check out and creating profiles,Well organized and greater data integration Response Time(no latency) able to sustain the load during the process Because of Golden Gate our business able to deliver the continuance and high availability of the application Less hassles of maintenance,Little more flexibility and should be more robustness Need improvement on session management Replication takes more time - you need a better approach with less time,9,Cost cutting More reliability Able to handle another data center without any hiccups,Not a member of any user groups,IBM InfoSphere Data Replication,Data Management for IMS and DB2 on z/OS,,10,Copying the data from one data center to other data center Maintain seam less data in both centers No down time,As we noticed our database went during peak season couldn't able to continue to keep the orders processed and availability to customers,Continuous use for more data centers,9,Not Sure,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product,There won't be much changes,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Little implementation process,9,8,Haven't faced the situation,column-conversion functions,Transforming Data,Yes,9GoldenGate: the bridge to somewhereIt is used by our Computer Services Department to create reporting databases as well as for DR. The replication of the transactional data in a non-production environment enables us to perform long running queries without affecting the performance of our production systems. We also use the product to create DR environments in our remote locations.,Transactional integrity between the source and target. This is extremely important as anyone would imagine when talking about a DR target. High-performance capability. There is no impact on the production side of the environment. There is support for one to many topologies such that one source can be used to create multiple targets.,The earlier versions of Golden Gate were complex to use as there was no front end. All that works was the command line. The cost of the product can be a detriment to most companies. The product has been augmented over the years and has so many features that it can be overwhelming.,8,It has enabled us to create non-Oracle environments with data captured via the Oracle database. We can guarantee zero downtime because of the bi-directional capability of the product. We can use the product to go from a higher version of the Oracle Data Base to an earlier version (11g to 10g).,Northern Ohio Oracle Applications Users Group,,Excel4apps, Kofax Capture
Unspecified
Oracle GoldenGate
162 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

Oracle GoldenGate Reviews

Oracle GoldenGate
162 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 162 vetted Oracle GoldenGate reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-17 of 17)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Wenqiang Cao profile photo
November 12, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "Overall, GoldenGate is an excellent software to provide real-time data integration and replication"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by IT to sync data across databases. The source is our SQL Server database and the target is the Oracle database. The source database is outsourced to a third party and we use GoldenGate to sync the data to our local Oracle database. The main challenge we have is that GoldenGate can't replicate DDL among different RDBMS. We have had to stop and rebuild GoldenGate multiple times due to DDL change on the source side.
  • Real Time Sync
  • Less overhead
  • Stable performance
  • Should make the high availability easier to use. Not bound to only DBFS or ACFS.
  • Need a powerful GUI tool to make the configuration easier.
  • Could it be cheaper? Or have a basic free version?
  • If it could support DDL among different RDBMS, that would be great.
Well-suited to work between Oracle databases. I worked before at Bank of America and there we used this to replicate from Oracle database to Oracle database. We just replicate the whole schema and enable DDL replication. It is really convenient. Another good example is to use it for zero downtime upgrades. I also believe the active-active is very useful, but haven't tried yet.
Read Wenqiang Cao's full review
A S M Omar Faruq profile photo
November 06, 2018

User Review: "Oracle GoldenGate is a good product."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle GoldenGate as a part of our high availability solution. The entire database is replicated in real time to other geographical facilities and makes the system available for 24/7.
  • GoldenGate is good for real-time data replication.
  • The database upgrade and migration was possible with zero downtime because of having GoldenGate in place.
  • It also works with different databases other than Oracle
  • The monitoring side could be improved with easy to use reporting.
One of many use cases is, GoldenGate can be used in an active-active database configuration, meaning, both source and destination databases can be operational in a bi-directional fashion.
Read A S M Omar Faruq's full review
No photo available
November 09, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "GoldenGate with 99.999 uptime"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Oracle GoldenGate to achieve high availability, perform upgrades, and for patching and data center drills.

We use Golden Gate in active active configuration.

It meets our SLA requirement of 99999.


  • Oracle GoldenGate provides the best HA solution. It gives us 99.999% availability in a year.
  • GoldenGate is very easy to install, set up and troubleshoot. The commands are fairly simple.
  • GoldenGate is a very lightweight tool. It performs auto CDR in active setups.
  • Tuning Golden Gate is fairly very simple.
  • Golden Gate is very fast in catching up the lag.
  • Where there are open transactions GoldenGate needs to auto-detect them.
  • GoldenGate should have dba views like Oracle Database.
  • Patching or upgrading GoldenGate is a bit complicated.
  • When extract or pump trail file sequence number is about to reach the max limit, we should get a warning or critical threshold alert.
  • When Integrated replicat is altered, it converts to classic replicat. We don't get any message that the replicat is running in classic mode. There should be some sort of alerting in the ggserrlog file.
  • For real-time or tier 0 and tier 1 applications where 99.999% availability is needed GoldenGate is the best solution.
  • For tier 2 and above applications, Oracle Data Guard is a good choice.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "MyCentsonGold"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using this application to replicate data from one data center to other data center. And it's very accurate and it's solved our data issues during the down time the replication helped not loosing of business and with little impact to customer for check out and creating profiles
  • Well organized and greater data integration
  • Response Time(no latency) able to sustain the load during the process
  • Because of Golden Gate our business able to deliver the continuance and high availability of the application
  • Less hassles of maintenance
  • Little more flexibility and should be more robustness
  • Need improvement on session management
  • Replication takes more time - you need a better approach with less time
It was well suited when replicating data from DB2. And able to map 100% mapping of the tables and integrity of relational database
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 13, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "GoldenGate: the bridge to somewhere"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our Computer Services Department to create reporting databases as well as for DR. The replication of the transactional data in a non-production environment enables us to perform long running queries without affecting the performance of our production systems. We also use the product to create DR environments in our remote locations.
  • Transactional integrity between the source and target. This is extremely important as anyone would imagine when talking about a DR target.
  • High-performance capability. There is no impact on the production side of the environment.
  • There is support for one to many topologies such that one source can be used to create multiple targets.
  • The earlier versions of Golden Gate were complex to use as there was no front end. All that works was the command line.
  • The cost of the product can be a detriment to most companies.
  • The product has been augmented over the years and has so many features that it can be overwhelming.
It is particularly useful in situations where ACTIVE DATA GUARD cannot handle the desired outcome. It can be used to support cross-platform migrations not supported by Active Data Guard which is a far cheaper solution to DR. It is suited for migrations that require zero downtime as there is bi-directional capability built into the product. It is also useful when the source and target are of different databases such as Oracle to SQL Server as the target. It is overkill if all you require is a physical standby that is open read-only.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 07, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "Undoubtedly the best database replication solution in market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Oracle GoldenGate since 2011, 2 years right after Oracle acquired the company. It was an awesome project back then with version 10, but Oracle has continued adding tonnes of features to it ever since and this is just the best replication solution I have worked with. I have done all kinds of replication using Oracle GoldenGate. Be it homogeneous, heterogeneous, unidirectional, bidirectional, on premise, on cloud (Oracle Public Cloud), integrating with JMS (Java Messaging System) - we have done it all. We have loved the product so much that we have over years replaced all our existing replication infrastructure using Oracle GoldenGate. I love that you can perform changes in almost zero downtime, replicate millions of data in sub seconds and their is large online documentations and forums to help you with troubleshooting any problems. This doesn't requires a lot of expertise to begin with and overtime, you will love working on it. Oracle GoldenGate now also comes with many GUI based tools like OGG Studio, OGG Director, OGG Monitor and OGG Veridata. These come with additional cost, but are great add-ons. We implemented Oracle GoldenGate on at least 400 database environments. We have a large infrastructure with tonnes of applications to assign installation and repair jobs to field technicians. In some of the applications, we can't afford latency or replication errors. GoldenGate has been a great tool.
  • Oracle GoldenGate lets you replicate data in homogeneous, heterogeneous, unidirectional, bidirectional, on premise , on cloud (Oracle Public Cloud).
  • You can integrate Oracle GoldenGate with non relational database systems like JMS (Java Messaging System).
  • You can also generate flat files in real time and feed into systems like a data lake.
  • I am an Oracle GoldenGate fan, so it's hard to say what I dislike about it. But yes, I would have loved if it was easier to find syntax errors in your GoldenGate commands. Sometimes it just tells you ambiguous generic error messages for a syntax error.
  • Oracle GoldenGate sometimes gives you too many ways to do the same thing. It makes it slightly confusing for less experienced people to choose among different options available.
  • logdump utility is great to view a trail file being replicated, but it is not straight forward and easy to understand. It requires a lot of technical knowledge to read through a trail file using log dump utility. This can be made better.
Oracle GoldenGate is most appropriate where a relational database replication is involved. However, with changing times and Big Data advancement, we are moving away from relational to more distributed databases (NoSQL). Oracle GoldenGate yet needs to become more sophisticated to be useful in NoSQL environments.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 06, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "GoldenGate - Replication Magic"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle GoldenGate for many databases ranging from ERP databases, standalone database, etc.,
  • We get alerts when something broken.
  • Doesn't impact the performance of the databases.
  • Flexibility to move the data.
  • Difficult to handle the Oracle RAC.
  • Does not scale well. Lot of configurations needed to be setup.
  • Difficult to replicate few data types.
Replication is awesome, transformation of data which is key for reporting purpose, handling multiple data sources and targets.
Read this authenticated review
Anuj Kumar profile photo
November 30, 2017

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "Sr. Database Engineer"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple data centers and all of them share the same copy of DB. We use GoldenGate to do cross datacenters replication for Oracle and My SQL DBs as an HA solution. As our DBs are one of the busiest in the world and have a very tight SLA for replication lag which we can achieve by GoldenGate. We have explored few other products like SharePlex but GG done the work for us. GoldenGate is a de-facto standard for replication in our organization.
  • GoldenGate is tightly integrated with Oracle databases and supports all features like encryption, LOBs, compressions etc.
  • GoldenGate is very flexible, you can customize it as per your requirement. Whether it is high transaction DB or a DR site, it can work anywhere.
  • We can dump data in multiple formats with big data adaptor like Kafka, hdfs, xml etc.
  • We can achieve high throughput by splitting extracts and replicats. Also from integrated capture and replication it is so smart that it spawn parallel process based on the load.
  • Memory consumption of extract is exponentially high, sometimes extract restart consumes so much memory that it impact the current application connections.
  • There are so many bugs in the system for dumping data via xml or other format like hdfs. Data corruption is so frequent that we wrote our own scripts to detect and repair xml corruption. As always we didn't get proper support from Oracle on this issue.
  • For active-active replication on busy systems, online DDL change can sometimes cause data discrepancy.
Very well suited for Oracle Database bi-directional replications. Excellent tool for dumping Oracle data to other sources like NoSQL, XML, HDFs etc. Setting up replication is easy and quick. Within no time we can start dumping data to other sources. Also CDR rules are easy to configure in active-active replication. It is very useful in case of zero downtime migration where DB size is huge, also we can utilize it in database upgrades.
Read Anuj Kumar's full review
Gurcan Orhan profile photo
October 30, 2017

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "Different Source Systems (IBM DB2, Microsoft SQL Server) Are Supported For Real Time Replication."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Replicated source system data seamlessly flew in our Operational Data Store (ODS). Different types of source systems (IBM DB2, Microsoft SQL Server) are supported for real time replication. With the upgrade, I now am able to replicate Big Data solution from any supported source system to Hadoop clusters.
  • Ease of installation
  • Ease of maintenance
  • Powerful output with sub-second speed
  • Supporting Big Data and Cloud environment
  • Capturing source data based on transnational log, no cost on source CPU
  • Handle the distribution and the delivery of committed data in real-time
  • Supports heterogeneous systems regarding target or source database
  • Can be implemented uni-directional, bi-directional or peer-to-peer mode
  • Zero downtime migration
  • Supports data distribution
  • Can be used for disaster recovery or data protection
  • Oracle GoldenGate Studio could be more user-friendly.
  • It would be better for Oracle Golden Gate Studio GUI to include other OGG related licensed products (i.e. Veridata or others).

  • Capture data based on transaction log
  • Handle the distribution and the delivery of committed data in real-time
  • Supports heterogeneous systems both in source or target database
  • It can work in uni-directional, bi-directional or peer-to-peer mode
  • It has a sub-second speed
  • Low impact on source and target systems
  • Platform independent universal data formatEasy to deploy - simple configuration of parameter files
  • Conflict detection and resolution
  • Supports data encryption
Read Gurcan Orhan's full review
Bryan Salerno profile photo
August 11, 2017

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "Golden gate use case for disaster recovery"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been successfully using Goldengate to sync our prod and disaster recovery environments for over a year. It decreased the time to sync and increased reliability. We are very happy with it.
  • Disaster recovery sync, faster than other products like SharePlex.
  • Integration features, we are looking at using it to sync other DBs and move data around.
  • Future use case is to offload data to Cassandra.
  • Ability to help migrate between different versions of Oracle could be improved.
  • Possible compression of data to help with transfers across data centers.
  • Cost is a little high.
Disaster recovery is the best need for us.
Read Bryan Salerno's full review
No photo available
October 25, 2017

Review: "Oracle GoldenGate for real time replication"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle databases as the primary data storage facility for our university. We have many ERP products that need to integrate with custom applications designed to support our IT infrastructure. We decided to use Oracle GoldenGate as a means of keeping data in sync between our ERP system and a temporary data-cache. It offers real-time replication of data between different database systems.
  • I think it's a very useful tool that can provide live transactional data across heterogeneous environments.
  • Oracle GoldenGate allows you to configure data mapping between different tables using simple configuration files.
  • The licensing agreement that we had for GoldenGate did not include an admin visual console to monitor the different replication processes in real time.
  • Once a replication process gets abended due to some data load error, the product does not skip onto the next record to continue replication. This was one feature we really needed.
The product is well suited for managing real-time replication between Oracle databases. It is useful for keeping audit trails on transaction logs. It is difficult to configure if multiple database products are involved like IBM DB2 or Microsoft SQL server.
Read this authenticated review
Mahesh Jonnalagadda profile photo
April 04, 2017

Oracle GoldenGate: "My review of GoldenGate"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GoldenGate for migrations purposes as well as ad-hoc purposes for one of our critical business applications.
  • Migrations
  • Ad-hoc reporting which avoids prod performance in peak business hours
  • Lot of bugs need to be nailed down
  • Some missing functionalities
Migrations and reporting
Read Mahesh Jonnalagadda's full review
Johnny Wu profile photo
November 23, 2016

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "Real time replication in a Heterogeneous environment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're in a data warehousing project where we need to replicate from multiple source/intermediary systems (MS SQL Servers and Sybase) into Oracle as our reporting platform. GoldenGate fulfilled our needs of having a reliable means of extracting live data from multiple heterogeneous databases and feed into an EDW. In that sense, it's an invaluable tool for the report writers and business analysts across the organization. There are some hiccups here and there, mostly having to do with some data transformations and certain long transactions, but overall, it performs reliably well and better than other alternative replication products we're tried.
  • GoldenGate can handle multiple database vendors (SQL Server, Sybase, DB2, Enscribe, etc.) and replicate data in real-time.
  • It's flexible and can perform data transformation/cleansing on the fly when you provide the mapping file for it. Exceptionally good error handling and data collision handling. Over some years, we have some large tables with 10 million records or more, and have seen only a very few records missing/incorrect.
  • Good support responses. GoldenGate was well-supported when it was an independent company, and even though Oracle acquired it, it still has a good support organization.
  • It's expensive. And I believe you have to purchase a license for each type of source and/or target DB that you're trying to replicate.
  • It will be slow for a single transaction that updates a large number of rows. It's better to break up such transactions into batches and run them in a loop with periodic commits (Batch Insert or Batch Update).
  • It's buggy when reading SQL Server transaction logs; may cause an abend.
It's good for replicating sources on multiple RDBMS into one or more targets' databases. It can read from online transaction logs and backups. Also it's good for performing certain ETL-type transformations so you [can] standardize your data in a reporting/staging area.

It's not good for the sole purpose of disaster recovery. You have better options (DataGuard and/or storage disk replication) for that.
Read Johnny Wu's full review
richard shen profile photo
February 15, 2017

Oracle GoldenGate Review: "Expensive but not worth on DB2"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle GoldenGate to replicate data between data centers.
  • It supports multiple data sources including IBM/Oracle/Microsoft
  • Natively supports Oracle, but not DB2
  • Has the flexibility for CDR
  • No GUI
  • Hard to manage
  • Lots of BUGS on IBM DB2, does not even support timestamp on extract
  • Performance is BAD on IBM DB2 for replication
  • Trail file has bad data sometimes
  • Hard to refresh table for IBM DB2
  • Production support is very slow and bad
Oracle to Oracle is a good choice, but not for DB2 to DB2.
Read richard shen's full review
Michael Grayson profile photo
November 06, 2015

Review: "Oracle GoldenGate, it's not just for Oracle DBs anymore!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At a previous job, bi-directional Oracle GoldenGate replication was used to support a highly available application model. It was used across the whole IT DBA organization. At my current position Oracle GoldenGate is being used in a uni-directional manner to replicate data from 10 different application databases to an ERP platform that is used for our enterprise reporting needs, this also helps in offloading the reporting from the application databases.
  • Replication. Oracle GoldenGate's strength is it's main feature, replication. GoldenGate is able to quickly replicate transactions in a method that maintains transactional integrity and give you a like to like replica on the other side.
  • Transformation. Oracle GoldenGate is able to do some data transformation as it replicates, this is very key if you need your data to appear a certain way, especially important in Reporting.
  • Recoverability. Oracle GoldenGate has many fail safes to ensure data is not lost, some examples of this are trail files its own system of recording changes that works with the DB SCN.
  • Multiple Data Sources/Targets. Oracle GoldenGate is not limited to just Oracle Databases as a target it can support most of the popular databases in the industry today such as SQL Server, MySQL, DB2 and more.
  • Setting Up Oracle GoldenGate as HA in an Oracle RAC environment. While this is possible to do and there is documentation out there, I've found that specific Oracle GoldenGate and Oracle RAC experience is needed in order to make this happen. That level of experience does not exist everywhere.
  • Monitoring Oracle GoldenGate. Currently there are two main options for monitoring Oracle GoldenGate, the first, GoldenGate Monitor, does not scale well as it becomes very non-performant when you have more than 10-15 GoldenGate Managers reporting to it, the second, Oracle Enterprise Manager, while getting better still requires a lot of manual configuration to have Oracle GoldenGate talk to the OEM agent. While this has got a lot better with 12c GoldenGate, I still feel that there is room to improve here.
  • Unable to replicate certain Data Types. Again, less of an issue in 12c Oracle GoldenGate, but there are still some Data Types that Oracle GoldenGate is unable to replicate.
I think Oracle GoldenGate is well suited for replication when you want the data, in whatever form, to be available on the other side in a very short amount of time, the two use cases that I'm most familiar with, bi-directional replication to support multi-site applications and uni-directional to support a reporting DB Platform are two instances where Oracle GoldenGate is very appropriate. I feel its limitations, such as data types supported make it a less than optimal choice for migrations, unless all of your used data types fit in to the currently supported data types. I also feel that it is not a good choice to replace Oracle DataGuard for Disaster Recovery implementations due to the data types concern.
Read Michael Grayson's full review
Anna Ruel profile photo
May 23, 2016

Oracle GoldenGate: "GoldenGate review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Goldengate to move data from our Oracle 12c database to Postgres where it is extracted by another utility for ETL.
  • We really don't do a whole lot with it other than pull the data from our Oracle database and load it to Postgres. It does this well, but we don't have anything to really compare it to.
  • I know we have had some trouble with clobs/lobs.
  • The extracts/replicats abend for no reason. Fortunately the automated restarts seem to work.
  • The OEM plug-in was not as helpful as expected and the jagent settings caused problems. its been awhile since we resolved this so i don't recall the details.
Oracle GoldenGate is well suited to do exactly what we are using it for. We move data from Oracle to Postgres.
Read Anna Ruel's full review
Ashwani Garg profile photo
May 03, 2016

Review: "Oracle GoldenGate- Implementer's prespective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using GoldenGate as an HA solution. We find GoldenGade better than Oracle Data Guard in terms of HA. Our application is up and running on a primary and DR site and we can switch to the DR site within 1 minute. We are having quite a very big GoldenGate footprint of around 10000+ GoldenGate processes setup. GoldenGate is quite beneficial in terms of HA and cost of ownership.
  • GoldenGate is tightly integrated with Oracle database. So, using GoldenGate with Oracle DB is a very good combination.
  • Easy to set up.
  • it has a lot of options to transform and handle various business needs.
  • There are some bugs.
  • Extracts are having some issues in some weird scenarios.
  • Need to see better functionality related to conflict resolution and range partitions.
GoldenGate is well suited in combination with Oracle DBs.
Read Ashwani Garg's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (17)
8.4
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (9)
8.4
Simple transformations (14)
8.4
Complex transformations (13)
6.9
Data model creation (11)
7.9
Metadata management (9)
7.2
Business rules and workflow (11)
7.4
Collaboration (8)
7.1
Testing and debugging (13)
7.4
Integration with data quality tools (11)
8.1
Integration with MDM tools (8)
8.2

About Oracle GoldenGate

Oracle GoldenGate products offer real-time data integration, transactional data replication, and data comparison across heterogeneous systems. Oracle GoldenGate enables:
-Real-time business intelligence and stream analytics for improved business insight
-Query offloading to maximize OLTP performance
-Zero-downtime data migration, disaster recovery, and active-active database synchronization for continuous availability

Documentation

Video Oracle GoldenGate Cloud Service - Get an overview of this cloud based real-time data integration and replication service that provides quick, easy, accurate and safe data movement to the cloud. https://youtu.be/liBgUwHgVew

Oracle GoldenGate Features

Data Source Connection Features
Has featureConnect to traditional data sources
Has featureConnecto to Big Data and NoSQL
Data Transformations Features
Has featureSimple transformations
Has featureComplex transformations
Data Modeling Features
Has featureData model creation
Has featureMetadata management
Has featureBusiness rules and workflow
Does not have featureCollaboration
Has featureTesting and debugging
Does not have featurefeature 1
Data Governance Features
Has featureIntegration with data quality tools
Has featureIntegration with MDM tools

Oracle GoldenGate Integrations

Oracle GoldenGate Competitors

Informatica Enterprise Data Integration, AWS Database Migration Service, Azure Data Factory

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Oracle GoldenGate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Phone
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Oracle GoldenGate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No