Oracle GoldenGate

Oracle GoldenGate

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.0 out of 100
Oracle GoldenGate

Overview

What is Oracle GoldenGate?

Oracle GoldenGate is database management software for data integration, and availability support for heterogeneous databases.
Read more

Recent Reviews

OGG - always in-sync

8 out of 10
December 08, 2020
Our company in EMEA region has two data centers, working in the Active/Passive(standing by) mode. We use Oracle GoldenGate to "clone" the …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 12 features
  • Connect to traditional data sources (42)
    9.4
    94%
  • Simple transformations (37)
    9.2
    92%
  • Testing and debugging (30)
    7.9
    79%
  • Complex transformations (33)
    7.2
    72%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Oracle GoldenGate, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Data Integration

$250.00

Cloud
Per License

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://cloud.oracle.com/en_US/goldenga…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Oracle GoldenGate Cloud Service
01:42
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Data Source Connection

9.0
90%

Data Transformations

8.2
82%

Data Modeling

8.1
81%

Data Governance

7.4
74%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Oracle GoldenGate?

Oracle GoldenGate products offer real-time data integration, transactional data replication, and data comparison across heterogeneous systems. Oracle GoldenGate enables:
-Real-time business intelligence and stream analytics for improved business insight
-Query offloading to maximize OLTP performance
-Zero-downtime data migration, disaster recovery, and active-active database synchronization for continuous availability

Documentation

Video Oracle GoldenGate Cloud Service - Get an overview of this cloud based real-time data integration and replication service that provides quick, easy, accurate and safe data movement to the cloud. https://youtu.be/liBgUwHgVew

Oracle GoldenGate Video

GoldenGate Cloud for real-time replication

Oracle GoldenGate Downloadables

Oracle GoldenGate Integrations

Oracle GoldenGate Competitors

Oracle GoldenGate Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Oracle GoldenGate is database management software for data integration, and availability support for heterogeneous databases.

Azure Data Factory, AWS Database Migration Service, and Informatica Cloud Data Integration are common alternatives for Oracle GoldenGate.

Reviewers rate Connect to traditional data sources highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Oracle GoldenGate are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 42)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Oracle GoldenGate is used as part of our business continuity plan. We use it to replicate in near realtime, transactions from the primary database to the BCP copy of the database. We also use it to maintain a reporting instance of our transactional database so we can offload read-only type queries in order to minimize performance impacts on the transactional database. We are experimenting with using GoldenGate to perform some transformations for us so that we can create data marts for various teams within the organization. That is still in the POC stage.
  • Replication
  • Business Continuity
  • Query offloading
  • Requires a specialized skillset
I think it's a great product. We apply Oracle GoldenGate to several use cases in our organization. 1. Business Continuity Planning, 2. Query Offloading through data replication to a reporting instance of our data, 3. looking into data transformations to help support various queries for different teams within the business.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
<p>GoldenGate (GG) is being used by the utility company I work for in various areas. </p> <p>Data Analytics is the main use of GG at the moment. Normally, the sheer level of database hits required by our daily Business Intelligence reports would place a heavy burden on the disk groups in our core ASM; however, with GG, we are able to seamlessly replicate that data in real-time into a separate database using separate resources. By doing this, we are able to alleviate potential bandwidth issues posed by our BI group’s database querying. It should be noted that GG does not require all tables to be replicated: we only replicate under 100 of the thousands of tables in the main databases. Our GG database is not normalized, so we are essentially combining disparate databases into one, which has its advantages and disadvantages.</p> <p>Another use we currently have for GoldenGate is on a large project level. As part of a data conversion effort, we are using GoldenGate to replicate data into a separate database in real-time. This will allow us to save 12+ hours during our conversion, as well will not need to execute an RMAN backup in order to move data into our target database. In other words, we are directly replicating data into our target database, so right when we are ready to switch servers/databases for the go-live of our project, we will be ready to immediately start to convert data.</p>
  • Replicates data without "missing" items. This is key, as there was initial concern that with the amount of tables and columns involved, certain items were bound to be "missed", though we have not seen this (outside of an anomalous server crash incident that wasn't due to GG).
  • Replicates data in real-time. Proof of concept for GG was intuitive for end users, as the data is immediately available. There are no "jobs" or "interfaces" that need to be run: the data is immediately available on the target database for viewing
  • GG is able to modify data "in transit", which can save loads of time if you were to need to instead modify large amounts of data after it is synchronized to the target database. As one would expect, this is seamless with low complexity modification, by can become untenable with larger blocks of data (e.g. CLOBs).
  • GG can sometimes lag behind in synching large objects (i.e. CLOBs and BLOBs) on tables, which is odd because we are using GG on an Oracle database with an Oracle software suite. It's definitely possible to use GG on non-LOB columns, and we do, but it is best used for non-LOB columns, just based on personal experience.
  • When using GG, it is key to separate the replicat groups into manageable sizes. This can be somewhat burdensome, as maintenance will increase with each new replicat group. If tables are large enough, they need to essentially be their own group.
  • Sometimes, replicat groups need to be grouped by parent and child (if using in a normalized db). This again increases maintenance due to more groups existing. This will be especially true for large tables that are partitioned with foreign key constraints on child tables.

Oracle [GoldenGate] is well suited for data replication where real-time results are important, such as data reporting. There is potential to have the users query the replicated database, which can have separate resources set up to be compressed or using lower performing or cheaper resources.

As mentioned, columns with LOBs can become a headache, as they will need to be synchronized in their own group many times. Tables containing data in CHAR, VARCHAR, NUMBER, DATE, or other non-LOB columns, however, are able to be replicated quite seamlessly.

[Oracle GoldenGate] does provide a way to review errors that are encountered, so that is a positive if their is scrutiny around data integrity.

December 08, 2020

OGG - always in-sync

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our company in EMEA region has two data centers, working in the Active/Passive(standing by) mode. We use Oracle GoldenGate to "clone" the live data transactions from the master database (which resides in the currently active data center) to the standing-by database (which is in the limited read-only mode, and resides in our passive data center). If the active DC is down and DR is required, the standing-by database in the passive DC will be promoted to the master one which can take R/W transactions, and the OGG will reverse the uni-direction data copy. This pattern is applied on all business critical IT application's DB instances.
  • As the product under the Oracle umbrella, it perfectly and natively supports the Oracle database very well.
  • For the standard scenario and use cases, the configuration is straight-forward (in our case uni-direction copy from source to target).
  • It is robust and the performance meets our SLA, even for a large amount of data volume.
  • The error report is not only detailed but hits the right points, so trouble shooting is easy.
  • The metrics UI is another product that should be purchased separately, with high price, we use open source Grafana as a replacement.
  • Documentation can be improved. Sometimes [it is] not so easy to find the correct information quickly.
Oracle GoldenGate is very handy to deal with Data Center to Data Center DB copy (near real time), uni-directional or bi-directional, it is also suitable to copy the data from production environment to the testing/dev environments. If you also have to deal with the problem of decoupling the reporting purposed read from the busy transaction-intensive operational DB instance, OGG will be also a good candidate. However Oracle GoldenGate is like the other Oracle products, quite expensive, so the small/medium company may not be able to afford the cost.
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Oracle GoldenGate 19c in our critical business databases, to replicate the databases between datacenter from different cities. This is a part of our business continuity program. We use asynchronous replication since is a big amount of data that have to travel through the network specially from our data warehouse database.
  • Synchronous data replication.
  • Asynchronous data replication.
  • Configuration of time replication.
  • When you activate the synchronous replication the performance of the server goes down.
  • The pricing is expensive.
  • The configuration take some time to be done.
  • The compression ratio of the data that travels through network could be better.
Oracle GoldenGate is excellent when you need a high availability infrastructure and you need a contingency plan in case of disaster, or [if you] just need a backup of your main databases in a different data center.
It is less appropriate is cases [where] you just need a backup of your database. In that case, you should look [for an]other solution that can help you.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently [Oracle] GoldenGate is being used to replicate a backup database for disaster recovery and also integrating different data sources to a single database.
  • Documentation is easy to follow
  • Downtime seems very minimal
  • Able replicate in real-time
  • Expensive, considering we were going to use Active Data Guard.
  • A lot of memory is being used.
  • No UI
If you need to integrate many data sources together, [Oracle] GoldenGate is well suited to easily do that while maintaining data integrity.
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Oracle GoldenGate is being used by the departments as required and as needed. Especially we used for migration purpose. We are migrating the databases from on-premises to Cloud. The real problem is to complete the migration with zero-downtime. We need a revert plan (rollback strategy) when it fails. [Oracle] GoldenGate helped a lot in completing this migration task with Zero-downtime. [Oracle GoldenGate] is real-time data capture, continuous delivery of transaction data across different sources.
  • OGG can be used and integrated with heterogeneous databases as well as homogeneous databases.
  • OGG is easy setup as well as easy learning curve
  • OGG supports large databases
  • OGG support many uses cases (topologies) such as unidirectional replication, bidirectional, peer-to-peer, Broadcast, Cascading replication etc.
  • OGG can be used not only for CDC (change capture), can be used to full load
  • Expensive
  • Require resources such as OGG script developer and SME
  • when you want to migrate databases with Zero-down migration (on-prem to on-prem/ on-prem to cloud/cloud to cloud / cloud to on-prem)
  • when you want to replicate the entire database between Homogeneous (Oracle to Oracle) and Heterogeneous databases ex. Oracle to SQL Server (not similar databases)
  • when you want to replicate the specific tables between Homogeneous (Oracle to Oracle) and Heterogeneous databases ex. Oracle to SQL Server (not similar databases)
  • when you want to replicate the data set between Homogeneous (Oracle to Oracle) and Heterogeneous databases ex. Oracle to SQL Server (not similar databases)
  • when you want to create Read-Only databases
  • when you want to create two master database - using bidirectional databases
December 04, 2020

Oracle GoldenGate Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We implemented Oracle GoldenGate on at least 400 database environments. We have a large infrastructure with tons of applications to assign installation and repair jobs to field technicians. In some of the applications, we can't afford latency or replication errors. GoldenGate has been a great tool.
  • I was able to find what I needed, but it took longer than I think it needed to. The system was navigable, but not until I had training on it. Before that I was clueless on how to find anything.
  • It allows the replication in real time from the Oracle database in RAC to the contingency database, through the immediate replication of the data in the redo logs, without the need to wait for them to be written at the level of the archive logs.
  • You can have multiple different data sources coming into this Oracle GoldenGate. You are not limited to only Oracle databases.
  • The time that it takes to implement Oracle GoldenGate. Because you can have multiple databases going through it it can take a long time to set it up.
  • It was more complicated than it needed to be. Without the training I feel that it isn't intuitive. I think maybe the structure should be reinvented so that it is more intuitive.
  • GoldenGate replication is only for databases, it would be nice to use it across file and folders
GoldenGate helps us to keep a replica of the database consistent, in real time, which is used for reportage in read only mode, In this way we manage to reduce the load of the production database, redirecting all the generation of reports to the contingency site, leaving all the processing capacity available for the provision of services of the productive applications. We are also replicating data from a source database to a target database. GoldenGate works well for that purpose.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Oracle GoldenGate is used in a traditional manner for homogeneous data replication between production and non-production environments. This allows the different environments to be utilized for different purposes with the same source data. Some environments are for real-time data analysis while others are backend reporting and analysis.
Oracle GoldenGate allows us to split highly responsive, mission critical systems from lower environments while retaining clean copies of source data.
  • Integrates with Oracle databases and Oracle database servers (particularly exadata - engineered systems)
  • Easy to define source and destination data attributes and configuration
  • Robust error reporting
  • More integration with traditional Oracle products such as SQL*plus
  • GUI
  • More transparent integration with OEM
  • More standard error reporting similar to traditional Oracle products
Oracle database data replication is very straightforward but still a bit too complicated to configure (versus an out-of-the-box, easy-to-configure data replication tool). Oracle GoldenGate is advertised as being able to replicate data between different database products (vendors) as well as different versions of the space database product (so Oracle 11g replicated to Oracle 12c). Given that it's complicated to configure for Oracle database to Oracle database (same version), I'm sure any of the other advertised configurations are more complicated. These complexities make Oracle GoldenGate a difficult sell internally. It needs to be more straightforward and out of the box to configure and utilize.
João Leal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It's used by our Computer Services Department to create reporting databases as well as for DR. The replication is unidirectional and replicates data in four non-production environments. This enables us to perform long-running queries without affecting the performance of our production systems. We have a lot of clients using it. It can migrate data between databases in realtime.
  • Flexibility to migrate data.
  • Fast transactions between source and target databases .
  • Easy to analyze problems when occur.
  • Good for disaster recovery and data protection database.
  • Oracle GoldenGate Studio is expensive, and you can use Grafana instead.
  • Character set problems when migrating database.
If you want to migrate databases quickly or put some schemas from the production, quality, or testing databases, you can use GoldenGate (but it is expensive). I only use it for Oracle Source and Oracle Target databases.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Oracle GoldenGate is being used by our core software development team. We are using it as a real-time data replication solution to achieve high availability/disaster recovery for our data, to prepare a read-replica database to offload query-based requests, and to perform real-time business intelligence related operations on our synced data.
  • No Downtime during System Migration. Replicating data onto other servers in preparation for a system migration does not result in any downtime.
  • Initial setup of Oracle GoldenGate is easy and straightforward. Instructions are precise and simple to follow.
  • Thorough and Insightful Documentation. All troubleshooting and tuning issues are well-known by the community, and hence are well-documented online.
  • Lack of Simple UI for Non-Technical Users. It would be nice to have an option to toggle simpler, and less advanced options to make it easier for non-technical users to understand what Oracle GoldenGate is.
  • Lack of Variety of Performance Metrics. Would prefer more detailed performance metrics to be offered out-of-the-box.
  • Some Features Won't Always Run as Expected. We have sometimes faced issues when features don't run as they are used to. They will be working at times, but there is the occasional failure in streaming.
Oracle GoldenGate is well-suited for Enterprise-level companies which require mission-critical security and performance along with their real-time data replication needs. Oracle GoldenGate integrates well with other Oracle products as well such as: Oracle Fusion Middleware, Oracle Veridata, Oracle XStream, and Oracle Active Guard. If you plan to use Oracle's products with your data replication workflow, Oracle GoldenGate is the way to go.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use GoldenGate to sync up data from our customer and care system to Oracle Analytics Database
  • When it works, it works great
  • Whenever we have to do a data subset from prod to lower environments its almost impossible for GG to find its checkpoint... we had lots of difficulty with restarting GG process after the refresh.
The product works well in normal circumstances but fails to deliver when some flexablity is required. For example when syncing source to target it works really well, but when you reverse the process the system can be a bit buggy.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it for our core system to support our main database for courier services. The core system is used by all of the operations and sales teams, as well as the Board of Directors. All of the transactions should be backed up and maintained in our backup servers as well as our disaster recovery. We use GoldenGate to replicate our database.
  • Oracle GoldenGate has been able to replicate all of our data in different servers and locations.
  • It also supports large databases
  • It supports a high volume of daily transactions of our sales.
  • In certain cases, we consider how well GoldenGate is able to help us interconnect our main database directly to our backup system (we use actifio for it).
  • We have some difficulties to cut-off our size of main database, so maybe Oracle GoldenGate could make it easier by providing a function to shrink our data safely.
  • We also interconnected with our partners to share some data, specific and limited fields only, through third party services, using messaging system (ISO 8583, XML and JSON). It would be great if GoldenGate also provided such a function.
GoldenGate is the best software to replicate main databases for backup and for disaster recovery. It will not be suitable for interconnected systems that are based on messaging.
September 17, 2019

Oracle GoldenGate Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GoldenGate is being used as a DR solution and as well as a method for replicating from a transactional to reporting DB. It is used across the whole organization. It addresses a need for disaster recovery on different data centers including the cloud.
  • Replication of data.
  • Easy of set up.
  • Notification of status.
  • Improvement of collision management.
  • Log dump features could be improved for better ease of use.
It is well-suited for disaster recovery. It is less appropriate for time-sensitive data replication.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Oracle GoldenGate for multiple reasons such as data replication, to maintain active/active databases for critical applications and not but least for database migration with zero downtime. We're happy with the usage and its purposes. It is being used across the whole organization. We use OEM monitoring to alert the monitoring team when there is a lag on the DB sync.
  • Data replication to keep our data up-to-date and used for reporting purposes.
  • Data migration with zero downtime.
  • Data sync between two data centers to keep the system active/active with load balancing.
  • We're facing issues during bi-directional replication. The detailed data quality issues alerts may be helpful.
Oracle GoldenGate is well suited for active applications to maintain high availability of applications across the data centers.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Oracle GoldenGate is used widely across the organization. We use it for heterogeneous replication, active-active and active hot standby, and offloading reporting.
  • Oracle's new AutoCDR (conflict detection and resolution) feature makes setting up active-active replication fairly easy. We were able to setup active-active replication using the AutoCDR feature in a very short time.
  • We had plans for separating reporting and ingestion from our primary DW system. This system generates an excess of 1TB of redo during ingestion. GoldenGates coordinated replicate helped us achieve this almost impossible task with ease.
  • In my previous workplace, for a large telecom company, we had to publish data from the store of records as a service. We used GoldenGate BigData adapters to replicate data to a Kafka endpoint.
  • For quick application failovers, we use GoldenGate Active-Passive replication with connection failover defined in the WebLogic connection settings.
  • There are certain challenges using the product when the redo generation is in excess of about 120G per hour.
  • For large transaction (more than 10 million records per commit), extract get slower. Some other replication tools do such activities better.
  • Ability to recreate large transaction without breaking the transaction into individual statements may help. There are ways to make this transaction faster, but having the ability to replicate a statement as it was issued on the source may be helpful in some cases.
Oracle GoldenGate is extremely useful for heterogenous replication and active-active replications.
I have been able to replicate data between Oracle and targets such as TeraData, JMS queue, TIBCO EMS, Kafka, Hbase and Cassandra very easily. GoldenGate is one of the best logical replication product available in the market today, and with the latest innovations, it is only getting better.

Though we were able to set it up, when the source is a DataWarehouse with a lot of large transactions and heavy redo generation in a short amount of time, GoldenGate is not the best product of choice.
September 17, 2019

GoldenGate Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We use it to move data between databases to a dw for reporting purposes. We also use it to transform data as it moves, and we use it to populate pdb's to enable our services architecture.
  • GoldenGate, using CDC, moves data between databases and database technologies to enable near real-time propagation.
  • GoldenGate can transform data as it moves from tables in the same or different databases.
  • GoldenGate can move data between database platforms.
  • We need more rapid support for bug mitigation.
  • GoldenGate's API needs to allow for streaming from Oracle's cloud databases where we don't have access to the OS.
It's well suited for moving data logically from database to database to allow near real-time reporting. It's not as well suited for unusual data types.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use GoldenGate to replicate some of the data from the production database to a data warehouse. It is used by the IT department. By using GoldenGate we don't impact the production database. We can run queries or reports or any long queries from the replicated database using GoldenGate. At one time we even used GoldenGate as a DR database and replicated entire production database. By doing so, one time when we had an outage and lost the production database, this DR became available to us and switched it to the primary. So we have a lot of advantages when using GoldenGate. We can replicate some tables or all tables and different scenarios of replicating data using functions and triggers. The business problem it addressed was less impact on production databases, more realtime data available to the business without putting an overload on production databases.
  • Realtime replication and zero data loss.
  • Less lag and more reliable.
  • No downtime for our primary database.
  • GUI could use a little improvement.
It is well suited for a DR database and reporting purposes.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using OGG to synchronize our UAT/Production database with Oracle Cloud. The set up is being done by administrators and used only by the channels manager and administrator. One of the problems we found is the product cost, specifically after moving from Oracle Classic to OCI. In addition, we didn't find clear documentation to describe what we exactly can do with sequences synchronization. The user interface is another product and we have to purchase it to be able to monitor GG performance and issues.
  • Initiating integration and configuring source and target is easy.
  • Easy integration with different types of DB.
  • Availability to synchronize specific tables/DB schemas.
  • No clear documentation for some points like sequence synchronization.
It is one of the best products to use to synchronize databases of all different types.
September 16, 2019

Sr. Database Engineer

Anuj Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have multiple data centers and all of them share the same copy of DB. We use GoldenGate to do cross datacenters replication for Oracle and My SQL DBs as an HA solution. As our DBs are one of the busiest in the world and have a very tight SLA for replication lag which we can achieve by GoldenGate. We have explored few other products like SharePlex but GG done the work for us. GoldenGate is a de-facto standard for replication in our organization.
  • GoldenGate is tightly integrated with Oracle databases and supports all features like encryption, LOBs, compressions etc.
  • GoldenGate is very flexible, you can customize it as per your requirement. Whether it is high transaction DB or a DR site, it can work anywhere.
  • We can dump data in multiple formats with big data adaptor like kafka, hdfs, xml etc.
  • We can achieve high throughput by splitting extracts and replicats. Also from integrated capture and replication it is so smart that it spawn parallel process based on the load.
  • Goldengate is very useful in cross platform migration.
  • Memory consumption of extract is exponentially high, sometimes extract restart consumes so much memory that it impact the current application connections.
  • There are so many bugs in the system for dumping data via xml or other format like hdfs. Data corruption is so frequent that we wrote our own scripts to detect and repair xml corruption. As always we didn't get proper support from Oracle on this issue.
  • For active-active replication on busy systems, online DDL change can sometimes cause data discrepancy.
  • With integrated capture creating index on big table is a headache even thought you are creating with via gg user. Extract starts get lagging even after skipping the DDL by gg user in param file. This was not the case with classic capture.
Very well suited for Oracle database bi-directional replications. Excellent tool for dumping Oracle data to other sources like NoSQL, XML, HDFs etc. Setting up replication is easy and quick. Within no time we can start dumping data to other sources. Also CDR rules are easy to configure in active-active replication. It is very useful in case of zero downtime migration where DB size is huge, also we can utilize it in database upgrades.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have built a data change pipeline using GG technology by plugging in Kafka in front. Also, it's helped us in fault tolerance as a live DR database is readily available in a separate DC in case current DC goes down. In both modes, it's been super helpful to ensure data is sent in an async manner to reporting systems. It's saved us in cases of DC failures.
  • Data replication in real-time.
  • Fault tolerance.
  • No data loss.
  • Better documentation would be appreciated.
It has helped us in fault tolerance, as a live DR database is readily available in a separate DC in case the current DC goes down. This saves us in the case of data center failures.
September 16, 2019

GoldenGate Replication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is being used by an existing product in one of the business units which supports the payment platform. We are also planning to use it for a new application pipeline which is currently under development using bi-directional replication.
  • The unidirectional and bidirectional capability of data replication.
  • Data quality assurance including both DDL & DML replication.
  • Validation and data quality measurement facility available through Veridata.
  • Also helps in zero downtime based migration.
  • The data validation functionality is built-in and part of auto configuration instead of a separately licensed product.
GoldenGate is easy to integrate and manage with a low learning curve and administrative efforts. We had a platform requirement where we had to basically decide to go with an application that is supporting bidirectional replication or we do go through available tools in the market. Since we had some other available vendor who supports this feature we found the data quality validation a unique feature and went with this tool.
September 16, 2019

Happy GoldenGate Customer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
GoldenGate is used across multiple departments to move data.
  • Easy software installation
  • Quick modifications
  • Alternative to syncing data
  • Initial Load Difficulties
  • Log reviewing
Quick implementation for large data loads would not be easy. But it is well suited for moving data to reporting software and other databases.
September 16, 2019

GoldenGate product review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This is one of our DB products that are used for replication. I have used GoldenGate in the past before Oracle, and this product, though with its faults, is still one of the industry leaders. This product is used across banking, credit cards, CFO and Insurance LOB's.
  • Ease of use
  • Support from Oracle on the product
  • Business presence and reputation
  • Oracle Support Reps' knowledge lacking for issues and problem SR's
  • Oracle docs for common issues
  • Integration with older products EOL
Well suited for large data replication.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have been using Oracle GoldenGate (OGG) for our replication needs. We have a mix of database environments including Oracle, DB2 and Microsoft SQL Server. We use Oracle GoldenGate to replicate across the mix of these different RDBMS. OGG is reliable, fast, has high throughput and allows heterogeneous replication.

We also use OGG Management Pack which is an extra license cost and includes Oracle GoldenGate Monitor, Oracle GoldenGate Director and Oracle GoldenGate Veridata.
  • Supports both homogeneous and heterogeneous replications.
  • Supports DDL replication if both source and target databases are Oracle.
  • Supports multiple replication topology such as unidirectional, bi-directional, cascading, peer to peer and multicasting.
  • Can interface with JMS and Big Data Systems.
  • Like most Oracle products, it is quite expensive.
  • Too many tables in single replication channels creates performance bottlenecks. You have to split your tables into multiple channels.
We have been very impressed by Oracle GoldenGate and would recommend it for any RDBMS replication needs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Oracle GoldenGate is used by organization, which provides high availability and real-time data integration solutions. To be specific, the company needs a platform that allows business applications to benefit from continuous access to real-time information in a diverse IT environment without compromising performance.
  • It provides continuous capture and delivery of data from source to target due to its real-time data feed feature.
  • It maintains the reliability and accuracy of transactional data.
  • It is very easy to install.
  • Complete data recovery is possible in case of failures.
  • The product is somewhat expensive to most of the companies.
We use Oracle GoldenGate with some monitoring tools to improve its availability, performance, accessibility, and integration of critical data across the enterprise.
Return to navigation