Oracle GoldenGate Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
198 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

João Leal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

GoldenGate is best for real-time data needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's used by our Computer Services Department to create reporting databases as well as for DR. The replication is unidirectional and replicates data in four non-production environments. This enables us to perform long-running queries without affecting the performance of our production systems. We have a lot of clients using it. It can migrate data between databases in realtime.
Read João Leal's full review
budhi setyawan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Golden Gate implementation at courier services

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for our core system to support our main database for courier services. The core system is used by all of the operations and sales teams, as well as the Board of Directors. All of the transactions should be backed up and maintained in our backup servers as well as our disaster recovery. We use GoldenGate to replicate our database.
Read budhi setyawan's full review
Mohamad habba | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Synchronize your data with ease

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using OGG to synchronize our UAT/Production database with Oracle Cloud. The set up is being done by administrators and used only by the channels manager and administrator. One of the problems we found is the product cost, specifically after moving from Oracle Classic to OCI. In addition, we didn't find clear documentation to describe what we exactly can do with sequences synchronization. The user interface is another product and we have to purchase it to be able to monitor GG performance and issues.
Read Mohamad habba's full review
Anuj Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Sr. Database Engineer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have multiple data centers and all of them share the same copy of DB. We use GoldenGate to do cross datacenters replication for Oracle and My SQL DBs as an HA solution. As our DBs are one of the busiest in the world and have a very tight SLA for replication lag which we can achieve by GoldenGate. We have explored few other products like SharePlex but GG done the work for us. GoldenGate is a de-facto standard for replication in our organization.
Read Anuj Kumar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

The Golden Gate to Success!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle GoldenGate is being used by our core software development team. We are using it as a real-time data replication solution to achieve high availability/disaster recovery for our data, to prepare a read-replica database to offload query-based requests, and to perform real-time business intelligence related operations on our synced data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

GoldenGate Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to move data between databases to a dw for reporting purposes. We also use it to transform data as it moves, and we use it to populate pdb's to enable our services architecture.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

The best replication tool on the market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use GoldenGate to replicate some of the data from the production database to a data warehouse. It is used by the IT department. By using GoldenGate we don't impact the production database. We can run queries or reports or any long queries from the replicated database using GoldenGate. At one time we even used GoldenGate as a DR database and replicated entire production database. By doing so, one time when we had an outage and lost the production database, this DR became available to us and switched it to the primary. So we have a lot of advantages when using GoldenGate. We can replicate some tables or all tables and different scenarios of replicating data using functions and triggers. The business problem it addressed was less impact on production databases, more realtime data available to the business without putting an overload on production databases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle GoldenGate Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GoldenGate is being used as a DR solution and as well as a method for replicating from a transactional to reporting DB. It is used across the whole organization. It addresses a need for disaster recovery on different data centers including the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

GoldenGate for active applications across datacenters

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Oracle GoldenGate for multiple reasons such as data replication, to maintain active/active databases for critical applications and not but least for database migration with zero downtime. We're happy with the usage and its purposes. It is being used across the whole organization. We use OEM monitoring to alert the monitoring team when there is a lag on the DB sync.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

GoldenGate for building data pipelines

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have built a data change pipeline using GG technology by plugging in Kafka in front. Also, it's helped us in fault tolerance as a live DR database is readily available in a separate DC in case current DC goes down. In both modes, it's been super helpful to ensure data is sent in an async manner to reporting systems. It's saved us in cases of DC failures.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

GoldenGate Replication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used by an existing product in one of the business units which supports the payment platform. We are also planning to use it for a new application pipeline which is currently under development using bi-directional replication.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

GoldenGate product review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is one of our DB products that are used for replication. I have used GoldenGate in the past before Oracle, and this product, though with its faults, is still one of the industry leaders. This product is used across banking, credit cards, CFO and Insurance LOB's.
Read this authenticated review
Ravi Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

Great Replication Solution for Heterogeneous database solutions.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Oracle GoldenGate (OGG) for our replication needs. We have a mix of database environments including Oracle, DB2 and Microsoft SQL Server. We use Oracle GoldenGate to replicate across the mix of these different RDBMS. OGG is reliable, fast, has high throughput and allows heterogeneous replication.

We also use OGG Management Pack which is an extra license cost and includes Oracle GoldenGate Monitor, Oracle GoldenGate Director and Oracle GoldenGate Veridata.
Read Ravi Gupta's full review
Wenqiang Cao | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

Overall, GoldenGate is an excellent software to provide real-time data integration and replication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used by IT to sync data across databases. The source is our SQL Server database and the target is the Oracle database. The source database is outsourced to a third party and we use GoldenGate to sync the data to our local Oracle database. The main challenge we have is that GoldenGate can't replicate DDL among different RDBMS. We have had to stop and rebuild GoldenGate multiple times due to DDL change on the source side.
Read Wenqiang Cao's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Oracle GoldenGate Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented Oracle GoldenGate on at least 400 database environments. We have a large infrastructure with tons of applications to assign installation and repair jobs to field technicians. In some of the applications, we can't afford latency or replication errors. GoldenGate has been a great tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2018

GoldenGate with 99.999 uptime

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Oracle GoldenGate to achieve high availability, perform upgrades, and for patching and data center drills.

We use Golden Gate in active active configuration.

It meets our SLA requirement of 99999.


Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2018

MyCentsonGold

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using this application to replicate data from one data center to other data center. And it's very accurate and it's solved our data issues during the down time the replication helped not loosing of business and with little impact to customer for check out and creating profiles
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate: Continuous and Real-time data movement

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle GoldenGate is used by organization, which provides high availability and real-time data integration solutions. To be specific, the company needs a platform that allows business applications to benefit from continuous access to real-time information in a diverse IT environment without compromising performance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

GoldenGate: the bridge to somewhere

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used by our Computer Services Department to create reporting databases as well as for DR. The replication of the transactional data in a non-production environment enables us to perform long running queries without affecting the performance of our production systems. We also use the product to create DR environments in our remote locations.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (35)
9.0
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (19)
7.9
Simple transformations (30)
8.6
Complex transformations (26)
7.9
Data model creation (21)
7.8
Metadata management (20)
7.1
Business rules and workflow (20)
7.7
Collaboration (17)
7.5
Testing and debugging (24)
6.0
feature 1 (4)
7.2
Integration with data quality tools (21)
7.7
Integration with MDM tools (16)
7.5

About Oracle GoldenGate

Oracle GoldenGate products offer real-time data integration, transactional data replication, and data comparison across heterogeneous systems. Oracle GoldenGate enables:
-Real-time business intelligence and stream analytics for improved business insight
-Query offloading to maximize OLTP performance
-Zero-downtime data migration, disaster recovery, and active-active database synchronization for continuous availability

Documentation

Video Oracle GoldenGate Cloud Service - Get an overview of this cloud based real-time data integration and replication service that provides quick, easy, accurate and safe data movement to the cloud. https://youtu.be/liBgUwHgVew

Categories:  Data Integration

Oracle GoldenGate Integrations

Oracle GoldenGate Competitors

Azure Data Factory, Informatica Enterprise Data Integration (Duplicate), AWS Database Migration Service

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Oracle GoldenGate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Phone
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Oracle GoldenGate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No