Oracle GoldenGate Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
198 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

João Leal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

GoldenGate is best for real-time data needs.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility to migrate data.
  • Fast transactions between source and target databases .
  • Easy to analyze problems when occur.
  • Good for disaster recovery and data protection database.
  • Oracle GoldenGate Studio is expensive, and you can use Grafana instead.
  • Character set problems when migrating database.
Read João Leal's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

The Golden Gate to Success!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • No Downtime during System Migration. Replicating data onto other servers in preparation for a system migration does not result in any downtime.
  • Initial setup of Oracle GoldenGate is easy and straightforward. Instructions are precise and simple to follow.
  • Thorough and Insightful Documentation. All troubleshooting and tuning issues are well-known by the community, and hence are well-documented online.
  • Lack of Simple UI for Non-Technical Users. It would be nice to have an option to toggle simpler, and less advanced options to make it easier for non-technical users to understand what Oracle GoldenGate is.
  • Lack of Variety of Performance Metrics. Would prefer more detailed performance metrics to be offered out-of-the-box.
  • Some Features Won't Always Run as Expected. We have sometimes faced issues when features don't run as they are used to. They will be working at times, but there is the occasional failure in streaming.
Read this authenticated review
budhi setyawan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Golden Gate implementation at courier services

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Oracle GoldenGate has been able to replicate all of our data in different servers and locations.
  • It also supports large databases
  • It supports a high volume of daily transactions of our sales.
  • In certain cases, we consider how well GoldenGate is able to help us interconnect our main database directly to our backup system (we use actifio for it).
  • We have some difficulties to cut-off our size of main database, so maybe Oracle GoldenGate could make it easier by providing a function to shrink our data safely.
  • We also interconnected with our partners to share some data, specific and limited fields only, through third party services, using messaging system (ISO 8583, XML and JSON). It would be great if GoldenGate also provided such a function.
Read budhi setyawan's full review
Mohamad habba | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Synchronize your data with ease

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Initiating integration and configuring source and target is easy.
  • Easy integration with different types of DB.
  • Availability to synchronize specific tables/DB schemas.
  • No clear documentation for some points like sequence synchronization.
Read Mohamad habba's full review
Anuj Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Sr. Database Engineer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • GoldenGate is tightly integrated with Oracle databases and supports all features like encryption, LOBs, compressions etc.
  • GoldenGate is very flexible, you can customize it as per your requirement. Whether it is high transaction DB or a DR site, it can work anywhere.
  • We can dump data in multiple formats with big data adaptor like kafka, hdfs, xml etc.
  • We can achieve high throughput by splitting extracts and replicats. Also from integrated capture and replication it is so smart that it spawn parallel process based on the load.
  • Goldengate is very useful in cross platform migration.
  • Memory consumption of extract is exponentially high, sometimes extract restart consumes so much memory that it impact the current application connections.
  • There are so many bugs in the system for dumping data via xml or other format like hdfs. Data corruption is so frequent that we wrote our own scripts to detect and repair xml corruption. As always we didn't get proper support from Oracle on this issue.
  • For active-active replication on busy systems, online DDL change can sometimes cause data discrepancy.
  • With integrated capture creating index on big table is a headache even thought you are creating with via gg user. Extract starts get lagging even after skipping the DDL by gg user in param file. This was not the case with classic capture.
Read Anuj Kumar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle GoldenGate - The best logical replication tool in the market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Oracle's new AutoCDR (conflict detection and resolution) feature makes setting up active-active replication fairly easy. We were able to setup active-active replication using the AutoCDR feature in a very short time.
  • We had plans for separating reporting and ingestion from our primary DW system. This system generates an excess of 1TB of redo during ingestion. GoldenGates coordinated replicate helped us achieve this almost impossible task with ease.
  • In my previous workplace, for a large telecom company, we had to publish data from the store of records as a service. We used GoldenGate BigData adapters to replicate data to a Kafka endpoint.
  • For quick application failovers, we use GoldenGate Active-Passive replication with connection failover defined in the WebLogic connection settings.
  • There are certain challenges using the product when the redo generation is in excess of about 120G per hour.
  • For large transaction (more than 10 million records per commit), extract get slower. Some other replication tools do such activities better.
  • Ability to recreate large transaction without breaking the transaction into individual statements may help. There are ways to make this transaction faster, but having the ability to replicate a statement as it was issued on the source may be helpful in some cases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

GoldenGate Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • GoldenGate, using CDC, moves data between databases and database technologies to enable near real-time propagation.
  • GoldenGate can transform data as it moves from tables in the same or different databases.
  • GoldenGate can move data between database platforms.
  • We need more rapid support for bug mitigation.
  • GoldenGate's API needs to allow for streaming from Oracle's cloud databases where we don't have access to the OS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle GoldenGate Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Replication of data.
  • Easy of set up.
  • Notification of status.
  • Improvement of collision management.
  • Log dump features could be improved for better ease of use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

GoldenGate for active applications across datacenters

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Data replication to keep our data up-to-date and used for reporting purposes.
  • Data migration with zero downtime.
  • Data sync between two data centers to keep the system active/active with load balancing.
  • We're facing issues during bi-directional replication. The detailed data quality issues alerts may be helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

GoldenGate Replication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The unidirectional and bidirectional capability of data replication.
  • Data quality assurance including both DDL & DML replication.
  • Validation and data quality measurement facility available through Veridata.
  • Also helps in zero downtime based migration.
  • The data validation functionality is built-in and part of auto configuration instead of a separately licensed product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

GoldenGate product review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use
  • Support from Oracle on the product
  • Business presence and reputation
  • Oracle Support Reps' knowledge lacking for issues and problem SR's
  • Oracle docs for common issues
  • Integration with older products EOL
Read this authenticated review
Ravi Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

Great Replication Solution for Heterogeneous database solutions.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Supports both homogeneous and heterogeneous replications.
  • Supports DDL replication if both source and target databases are Oracle.
  • Supports multiple replication topology such as unidirectional, bi-directional, cascading, peer to peer and multicasting.
  • Can interface with JMS and Big Data Systems.
  • Like most Oracle products, it is quite expensive.
  • Too many tables in single replication channels creates performance bottlenecks. You have to split your tables into multiple channels.
Read Ravi Gupta's full review
Wenqiang Cao | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

Overall, GoldenGate is an excellent software to provide real-time data integration and replication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Real Time Sync
  • Less overhead
  • Stable performance
  • Should make the high availability easier to use. Not bound to only DBFS or ACFS.
  • Need a powerful GUI tool to make the configuration easier.
  • Could it be cheaper? Or have a basic free version?
  • If it could support DDL among different RDBMS, that would be great.
Read Wenqiang Cao's full review
A S M Omar Faruq | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate is a good product.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • GoldenGate is good for real-time data replication.
  • The database upgrade and migration was possible with zero downtime because of having GoldenGate in place.
  • It also works with different databases other than Oracle
  • The monitoring side could be improved with easy to use reporting.
Read A S M Omar Faruq's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Oracle GoldenGate Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I was able to find what I needed, but it took longer than I think it needed to. The system was navigable, but not until I had training on it. Before that I was clueless on how to find anything.
  • It allows the replication in real time from the Oracle database in RAC to the contingency database, through the immediate replication of the data in the redo logs, without the need to wait for them to be written at the level of the archive logs.
  • You can have multiple different data sources coming into this Oracle GoldenGate. You are not limited to only Oracle databases.
  • The time that it takes to implement Oracle GoldenGate. Because you can have multiple databases going through it it can take a long time to set it up.
  • It was more complicated than it needed to be. Without the training I feel that it isn't intuitive. I think maybe the structure should be reinvented so that it is more intuitive.
  • GoldenGate replication is only for databases, it would be nice to use it across file and folders
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2018

GoldenGate with 99.999 uptime

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Oracle GoldenGate provides the best HA solution. It gives us 99.999% availability in a year.
  • GoldenGate is very easy to install, set up and troubleshoot. The commands are fairly simple.
  • GoldenGate is a very lightweight tool. It performs auto CDR in active setups.
  • Tuning Golden Gate is fairly very simple.
  • Golden Gate is very fast in catching up the lag.
  • Where there are open transactions GoldenGate needs to auto-detect them.
  • GoldenGate should have dba views like Oracle Database.
  • Patching or upgrading GoldenGate is a bit complicated.
  • When extract or pump trail file sequence number is about to reach the max limit, we should get a warning or critical threshold alert.
  • When Integrated replicat is altered, it converts to classic replicat. We don't get any message that the replicat is running in classic mode. There should be some sort of alerting in the ggserrlog file.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2018

MyCentsonGold

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Well organized and greater data integration
  • Response Time(no latency) able to sustain the load during the process
  • Because of Golden Gate our business able to deliver the continuance and high availability of the application
  • Less hassles of maintenance
  • Little more flexibility and should be more robustness
  • Need improvement on session management
  • Replication takes more time - you need a better approach with less time
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Oracle GoldenGate: Continuous and Real-time data movement

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It provides continuous capture and delivery of data from source to target due to its real-time data feed feature.
  • It maintains the reliability and accuracy of transactional data.
  • It is very easy to install.
  • Complete data recovery is possible in case of failures.
  • The product is somewhat expensive to most of the companies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

GoldenGate - Replication Magic

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We get alerts when something broken.
  • Doesn't impact the performance of the databases.
  • Flexibility to move the data.
  • Difficult to handle the Oracle RAC.
  • Does not scale well. Lot of configurations needed to be setup.
  • Difficult to replicate few data types.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

GoldenGate: the bridge to somewhere

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Transactional integrity between the source and target. This is extremely important as anyone would imagine when talking about a DR target.
  • High-performance capability. There is no impact on the production side of the environment.
  • There is support for one to many topologies such that one source can be used to create multiple targets.
  • The earlier versions of Golden Gate were complex to use as there was no front end. All that works was the command line.
  • The cost of the product can be a detriment to most companies.
  • The product has been augmented over the years and has so many features that it can be overwhelming.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (35)
9.0
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (19)
7.9
Simple transformations (30)
8.6
Complex transformations (26)
7.9
Data model creation (21)
7.8
Metadata management (20)
7.1
Business rules and workflow (20)
7.7
Collaboration (17)
7.5
Testing and debugging (24)
6.0
feature 1 (4)
7.2
Integration with data quality tools (21)
7.7
Integration with MDM tools (16)
7.5

About Oracle GoldenGate

Oracle GoldenGate products offer real-time data integration, transactional data replication, and data comparison across heterogeneous systems. Oracle GoldenGate enables:
-Real-time business intelligence and stream analytics for improved business insight
-Query offloading to maximize OLTP performance
-Zero-downtime data migration, disaster recovery, and active-active database synchronization for continuous availability

Documentation

Video Oracle GoldenGate Cloud Service - Get an overview of this cloud based real-time data integration and replication service that provides quick, easy, accurate and safe data movement to the cloud. https://youtu.be/liBgUwHgVew

Categories:  Data Integration

Oracle GoldenGate Integrations

Oracle GoldenGate Competitors

Azure Data Factory, Informatica Enterprise Data Integration (Duplicate), AWS Database Migration Service

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Oracle GoldenGate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Phone
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Oracle GoldenGate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No