GraalVM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
29 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Ashutosh Khantwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2020

GraalVM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is used in my organization for streamlining JAVA applications and efficient testing of code. It has provided faster startup and no interpreted code as well. It has given a low memory footprint in the use cases. Its native and bright future of performance is also a great advantage. No profiling data required now for JIT optimizations.
  • High performance and it acts as JIT compiler. Optimizations like partial escape help a lot since it is not available in standard JIT compilers.
  • It helps in combining JAVASCRIPT, Java, and R
  • Helps in running native languages on the JVM
  • Helps in extension of JVM-Based application
  • It is efficient for a smaller heap only as it impacts latency
  • Generated native code is not fully efficient
  • No thread dump and heap dump support
It can run spring applications, compiled with OPEN JDK or other JVMs.
There's also spring framework support of GraalVM. Although it is at its initial stage, we can be hopeful that spring framework support does work and helps to improve using JAVA. This is a current limitation of GraalVM, but it can be overcome as per official information.
Read Ashutosh Khantwal's full review
Lokesh Yadav | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2020

GraalVM offers the best features for JVM and JDK support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is used for delivering services to many clients in our organization. It is very helpful as it has the capability to be embedded in the native applications as well as managed applications. Integrations are seamless with pre-defined formats for Oracle database, OpenJDK, MYSQL, and Node.js which makes the integration process very fast. It is also compatible with the latest Java 11 release, and it is very handy for developers, like me, who are frequently using the latest Java version to take the benefits of the latest features. Its compile time is very fast and has an optimized JIT compiler.
It is used to run the applications written in Kotlin, Python, Groovy, C++, and the interoperability is differentiated in the real-time shared runtime. We can also use the Native Image technology offered by GraalVM to compile the scripted applications well ahead of time before going into the binary code. The deployment and licensing costs approximately 25% less, reducing the overall cost.
  • Performance is better because of latest compatibility with Java 11
  • Standardized Software Development Kit and API design
  • Multi language support to offer best services to international clients
  • Supports all major programming languages
  • Uses low memory
  • Customer support can be improved
  • Needs to support more integrations with micro services
It is best suited for products and services where high performance is needed in real-time with no time lags.
With Oracle changing the JVM distribution license recently, GraalVM serves the purpose of managing the VM platform pretty efficiently. It is well suited for consistent process requirements. Since most of the companies depend heavily on Java for programming, GraalVM provides the best support for building Java applications and can be used for all products.
We can also mix programming languages in the same project, thus it removes the dependency of using a single programming language. This feature is provided by GraalVM and is known as "PolyGlot" apps.
Read Lokesh Yadav's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2020

GraalVM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition has been used by our organization since 2019 across our Oracle department. GraalVM benefits us in writing an application that supports multiple programming languages resulting in accruing high performance and fast compilation. The developers were able to utilize the product to a greater extent and gain maximum advantage out of it.
  • AOT compilation - Java Code To Native Image
  • Minimal allocation of runtime memory
  • Application starts in no time
  • Works exceptionally well for Java applications, but more improvement is needed for non-Java applications.
GraalVM has improved and optimized the startup time of our applications to a great extent (sped up by 32% compared to our previous recorded time). This indeed has a major impact on our deliverable and client satisfaction. Also, we have observed a reduction in runtime memory utilization during the startup of our applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2020

GraalVM: The future ready universal VM

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is an ecosystem with multiplicative value-add. Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition was used in my previous working department at the project level. By enabling interoperability and eliminating the gaps between various programming languages in a shared runtime and high-performance, GraalVM has proved to be very highly effective from the delivery perspective for all our developers.
  • Open source
  • Faster and efficient program execution.
  • Multilingual virtual machine.
  • No JMX, JFR support.
  • No thread dump or heap dump support.
  • Using bigger heaps can badly impact latency.
Due to its low memory footprint, GraalVM is extremely well suited where the amount of application code being executed is large and complex, loads a lot of control files, and has a lot of hot code.
As it supports many languages, creating software with multiple languages is a big advantage and provides flexibility for developers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2020

GraalVM: First choice of all Java developers in the near future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is an elevated performance runtime that delivers substantial improvements in the performance of the application. Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our Product Department at the project level. It eliminates the gaps between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It has proved to be highly efficient for our developers from the delivery point of view.
  • Open-sourced
  • Uniting various programming models in a single application
  • Support for polyglot applications
  • Faster execution of Java applications by creating ahead-of-time compiled native images
  • Lower memory footprint
  • Production-ready software
  • Not all languages are supported by GraalVM.
GraalVM has been very well incorporated and implemented in our project. Performance issues in the application have always been the top discussions in our monthly meeting calls, due to introducing and adding new changes, logics, and customizations in the business process as per the client's requirement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

GraalVM - Ultimate VM for Java Applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is a production-ready software and is available as Community Edition for an open-source license.
Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our department, and it has already proven to be highly beneficial and effective as it has been built to cater to enterprise-class application development on a global standard. It has shown significant improvements in application performance and efficiency due to its high-performance runtime.
  • Multilingual Virtual Machine
  • Run Programs Faster Anywhere
  • Compiling applications ahead-of-time (AOT) into native Executable
  • Can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database
  • Lower Memory Footprint
  • Compilation is not easy for all JVM code
GraalVM is well suited for JVM-based applications as it provides two independent execution modes:
1. Applications running in a regular just-in-time (JIT) compilation mode adding higher performance gains resulting from quality optimized algorithms.
2. Applications compiled ahead-of-time (AOT) into a native executable. It has the capability to run as a standalone application with instant startup having minimal memory footprint and minimal CPU utilization.
Yes - I am currently a member of the 'Java User Group'. It usually shares a lot of information related to upcoming technologies, imparting education to the existing technologies and programming languages, and provides support and assistance to us (Professional Users) as and when we seek it. An Oracle User Group is a private and non-profit organization, anyone can join and acquire knowledge from experts to enhance and update their own skill sets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2020

GraalVM Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are experimenting to use GraalVM in the context of serverless framework usage. The core issues that it addresses are image size and process start-up time, especially in the cold start scenarios. Another area of interest is in densification of the container images that we run on container clusters to save overall cost.
  • Ahead-of-time compiled native images which start up faster
  • Javascript application run on top of it without need for V8 engine.
  • Java libraries can be accessed from other programming languages.
  • JIT compiler makes a long-running server process run even faster as time passes with optimization at runtime. Lack of this feature makes GraalVM not suited for certain applications
  • All the libraries are not easily available or compiled down to GraalVM binary. Manual Involvement is needed to make some libraries work. Reflection-based libraries specifically do not work.
  • There are runtime surprises in some cases and increases support needs
Microservices development and Serverless application development is an area GraalVM helps well--Especially for smaller binary footprint and faster start-up time. Another appropriate area is running docker containers on an orchestration platform such as K8S or ECS. It's also good for scenarios where alternate JVM languages need to be mixed and used and to run heavy memory usage javascript applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2020

GraalVM is a strong contender for future JVM replacement

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is still in the early stages of product investigation. Engineers are using it for R&D projects and getting familiar with how it can be used at a production level. It will address performance issues for our applications, notably startup times and artifact size.
  • Fast startup
  • Lower memory footprint
  • Polyglot apps
  • The name isn't so great.
  • More broad community use.
Well suited for polyglot apps and those needing high performance. If there is a specific legacy application that requires a specific JDK version, I would not recommend it immediately until further research and testing are performed.
Yes - St Louis Java Users Group has a large following in the area and it's great that our company sponsors it heavily. It can be a good place for networking and learning about new Java technologies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2020

GraalVM: the Holy Grail of JVMs ?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Exploring it as a drop-in replacement for JDK/JVM, which is very heavily used by multiple software development teams across multiple tools deployed on the web and mobile. Java is by far the most widely used programming language in the organization and the company has an extensive legacy/repository of both internal & external Java software/tools that can all benefit from a GraalVM based JVM. Although it's still shy of being used in any production scenario. Some teams are also exploring its polyglot capabilities.
  • Speed
  • Smaller Footprint
  • Polyglot Capabilities
  • Native Images
  • Reduced manageability
  • Still not near AOT levels (without paid versions)
  • Hard to profile
  • Cloud Deployments make more sense with GraalVM due to the much lower memory footprints and faster startup times, at the same time reducing the billing.
  • Smaller standalone native image deployments are more maintainable from a deployment PoV.
  • Increased performance can reduce/eliminate the need to rewrite / port existing JVM based projects over to other languages, saving crucial time and money that can be better spent on solving newer problems or actually innovating, instead of chasing the same old problems with diminished returns on developer time and capital.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2020

Excellent enabler for our native apps

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GraalVM for optimization for the code, making it portable and efficient for execution in high-performance requirements. Using it in some of the real-time and near real-time application scenarios where fast throughput is one of the key requirements from the business side. Optimizing compute resources to save IaaS cost and ingress and egress cost.
  • Fast and lean code
  • Multi-library support
  • Porting
  • Cloud integration
  • Development tool integration
  • More micro services support
GraalVM is an excellent tool in our case, where we were looking for a fast and scalable code for our native apps that support 10-thousand-plus sales and support teams in the branch, showrooms, field, and online. We rewrote the code using GraalVM to ensure that the end customer has a real-time offer on their purchase when we make a cross sale and up sale.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2020

GraalVM as a strategy to consolidate and reduce license exposure

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using GraalVM to consolidate the set of VM and SDK we're going to use after the Oracle License changes regarding JVM/JDK distribution. This enables us to consolidate and manage the standard VM platform. This was starting to work a few years ago but in 2019 is when we really ramped up and now we have a stable and consistent strategy and processes.
  • VM Management
  • SDK Standardization
  • Stable Solution
  • Community Support
  • Technology Roadmap
  • Distribution
It depends on your problem statement and use case. In our case, we were trying to consolidate and reduce license exposure after Oracle changed the license agreements for Java. This way standardizing solved the problem we were facing, but on your side, you need to evaluate and consider and run your complete vendor evaluation and security concerns.
Yes - I'm part of Oracle and Java user groups because I had been on the Java world for over 20 years and maintain that connection. Direct access to experts always pays off really well, on the one hand. On the other hand, I'm able to provide input and define the road map for some of our future needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Best VM for Minecraft servers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using GraalVM for Minecraft servers. We use it on every server we have. Since we started using GraalVM we recognized better performance incorporation with a modified Minecraft server jar. Also we're having a smaller RAM and CPU usage. Most of us are also using it on our private windows machines, and java processes are faster there too.
  • Better performance
  • Smaller CPU and RAM usage
  • Offering it for free
  • At the moment we're happy with the features it has.
As I mentioned before, if you're searching a VM which can speed up your processes, GraalVM is the right thing for you. Also good if you're looking to lower your CPU and RAM usage.
Read this authenticated review

About GraalVM

GraalVM is presented by the vendor as a high-performance runtime built for modern microservices, that provides significant improvements in application performance and efficiency.

It is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. It removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database.

GraalVM Community is available for free for any use.

GraalVM Enterprise provides additional performance, security, and scalability relevant for running applications in production. Users can get a version of GraalVM Enterprise that is free for evaluation and developing new applications via the Oracle Technology Network (OTN), or a commercially licensed version for production use via the Oracle Store.

Categories:  App Development

GraalVM Features

Has featureHigh performance optimizing compiler
Has featureIdeal platform for modern microservices
Has featurePolyglot capabilities

GraalVM Competitors

Azure App Service, Firebase, Microsoft Common Langugage Runtime

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

GraalVM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No