GraalVM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 18, 2021
John Hanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in an investigative stage with GraalVM and AOT (native-compile) at the department level (software engineering and SecDevOps). We have deployed test applications written in Java and Scala to Windows, Ubuntu, and as Docker images running on container services (Google Cloud Run and Kubernetes).

At this point, I am very impressed. There was a learning curve to understand GraalVM, the polyglot features, and native-compiles. Pluralsight has a good fundamentals overview. The home site for GraalVM has a number of good "getting started" guides.

The areas that we are seeing major impacts in are software size, load time, and cold start time. These are critical benefits as we try to minimize the size of our containers and reduce cold-start time. The end result is more container services can be deployed with the same hardware. This could have a significant financial benefit over running code in a JVM.

We are also investigating the Polyglot features, such as running Node.js and Python in GraalVM. The ability to combine Java and Node.js could present some interesting features to combine the best of our libraries.

In my opinion, this product and technology will significantly improve the performance and footprint of Java-based containers to serverless containers, Kubernetes, and OpenShift.
  • Reducing software cold start time
  • AOT--Native compile, which removes the dependency on the JRE and JVM
  • Reduces application size. Combining native-compile and EXE compression significantly reduces the size of our containers
  • Native compiles. We have problems figuring out how to package jars with all dependencies for compilation. This might be our problem as we progress through the learning curve.
  • More support and testing for Sprint and GraalVM.
  • I recommend providing installer packages instead of downloading zip files.
In my opinion, GraalVM is an amazing technology for deploying containers. There are many benefits of integrating GraalVM into our development and deployment processes:
  1. Reduced application size.
  2. Faster cold start, which improves HTTP request/response-based software.
  3. Native compiles dramatically simplifies building and deploying Java-based containers.
  4. Native compiles often significantly improves application performance.
Yes - I primarily follow user groups to understand the problems that other customers have. This keeps me up to date on potential issues that we might face. I also often find solutions.
I have not requested support yet. I found the documentation, getting started guides, and website sufficient to get started.
Read John Hanley's full review
January 16, 2021
Ashish Kumar Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you want to enjoy the feature of Polygot Java Enterprise edition than GraalVM is the only choice. It supports different language which includes Javascript, Python and C. It is one of the OpenJDK distribution from Oracle. Its being used by Network group which needs better performing JIT compiler. It can help you to create native images and supports multiple VM instance in process. Configuring a Maven project with GraalVM is quite easy and straightforward.
  • Polygot language supports
  • Better performance
  • Interoperability with different languages
  • Native images can be created
  • Reactive support is not available
  • Issue of Dependency Injection while dealing with non-Java Technology
  • No support to Node.js
  • Still needs lots of trial and error to workout
If you have a Java architecture in your project and if its a monolithic application. I belief GraalVM is one of the best suited technology to support Polygot architecture. It comes with a powerful and simple JIT Compiler to support better performance. It helps to generate native images and supports multiple VM instances in an application process. We wanted to replace Java for our serverless architecture with GraalVM, where startup time is low and image size is also quite small.
Yes - I am an active member for Oracle user group. We follow updates on latest feature and upcoming things in java space. I also share my thoughts and experience to the community.
I think the turnaround from the Support Team took some time to resolve the issues raised during the implementation. Docs are not updated sometime which causes issues to the Development teams.
Read Ashish Kumar Das's full review
December 01, 2020
Jakub Kliwison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have first decided to use GraalVM in our Innovation Department. Right now the decision process has started to allow usage of GraalVM as the production runtime in the whole company, since it has been proven that it suites our needs. We are using it mainly due to a multilingual approach adopted for the majority of our projects.
  • Supports multiple languages on a single virtual machine
  • Eliminates any foreign language execution overhead
  • Enterprise edition with professional support is available
  • It is quite new product on the market and it feels not completely mature
  • We were getting rather big memory footprints when using it with Kotlin
GraalVM is a perfect fit if, in your project, you require interoperability between JVM-based and LLVM-based languages. GraalVM in that case will provide the best possible performance for such a demanding scenario. From my experience base on really extensive research it is not well suited for applications where high performance is considered as top priority.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - In the foreseeable future I am planning to join Java Users Group in order to get acquainted with the Java Community. To my best knowledge that is where Java Technology really gets developed. It is probably the easiest way to expand my own Java expertise, but also to help others improve their understanding of the platform.
The community support provided for GraalVM is just simply amazing. The majority of issues is really quickly solved just by joining Slack conversations and asking the right questions. For more advanced problems it is possible to create GitHub issues which tend to be solved at rather reasonable pace, which is not true for different JVMs from what I have seen.
Read Jakub Kliwison's full review
November 17, 2020
Muni Raghunath Kalivi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is good technology. We are currently using it for building native images of iOS & Android applications. We have planned to have internal applications, which are developed on Java to be used with iOS and Android. GraalVM native images helps to build, package, and run those java applications on iOS and Android. We used GraalVM with Gluon package. Using Maven build tool we generated those apps. This software is used by our team of 15 members. We are in still the development phase, so it is limited to the team for internal usage. The problems that we are sorting out are managing daily work status, notifications, and publishing team events internally.


  • Easy way of collaborating technologies
  • Resolving the issues with native images
  • Enhancing the limitation of applications across the platforms
  • GraalVM creates the virtual images for testing on the platforms like iOS and Android
  • It supports both open-source and enterprise editions
  • Documentation of and help with few minor issues with GraalVM commands
  • Demoing the use cases with GraalVM capabilities
  • Showcase how it is used across the platforms
GraalVM is more like an open-source SDK--we can create applications across the platforms like desktop, mobile and cloud applications. It's easy to build and deliver the applications for native images of iOS and Android, and GraalVM easily talks to different technologies like Java, Python, Ruby, and different databases. GraalVM is well suited for development with Gradle and Maven build tools. Any open-source or enterprise application can be developed using it.
Yes - I am member of Oracle and Java. Oracle group is especially helpful. As members, we will have good community help with understanding the usage of the GraalVM.
Still we need to know more to get the support on Graalvm.
Read Muni Raghunath Kalivi's full review
February 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Graal in a technical spike to cut down the footprint of Java stand-alone services that ran on a scheduled basis. It was a great success and brought us savings in memory and CPU footprint and improved startup times. In the long run, this will reduce infrastructure costs and improve platform resilience.
  • Well documented
  • Easy to use
  • Excellent for micro services
  • Some limitations on technology, e.g. reflection, but can be mitigated.
Graal is excellent for micro-service deployments—the savings just add up each time you build a new service! It slots into a build and can build a native binary image nicely, that runs just as easily as a JAR file. The only case I can imagine it not being useful is if you really need to use dynamic class loading at runtime, but these are rare cases in most applications.
Yes - I am a member of the London Java Community, which is one of the biggest Java groups. There are regular meet-ups (online these days!) with high-quality presentations (such as educating members about GraalVM). The LJC has an active Slack community too and a great annual unconference.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company evaluated the GraalVM for use with some of our Java applications that require high scalability and resource usage. While we chose not to go with the GraalVM for interoperability reasons, we found it to be a fast and impressive solution for producing cross platform native executables of java applications.
  • Native images.
  • Interoperability.
  • Support.
  • New product.
  • Memory usage.
  • Documentation still growing.
The GraalVM from Oracle is an excellent piece of software for running multiple types of code that compile to a JVM. It brings native image support that makes compilation and distribution a breeze. It still occasionally has issues interoperating with libraries that are not supported, but the number of those are shrinking. I'd recommend it for projects that are java heavy, but not projects that need to interact with libraries in other languages.
No - I am not part of any user groups related to this project. My experience with user groups shows them to be a useful location for exchanging knowledge and giving and receiving help on issues that arise. I enjoy the opportunity to help others with issues that I have experienced, but am usually unlikely to join a group unless sufficient community is present to get a prompt answer to issues I ask.
The GraalVM community is vibrant and growing. This means that usually someone is happy to help address issues you've run into, and that fixes are usually quick to appear. That said, the age of the project means that a history of solutions is not available to the same degree as other products, and this can make finding solutions on your own without using community or professional support more difficult than other tools.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is used by project teams who are moving to polyglot microservices-based cloud-native applications that are deployed in containers on Kubernetes based orchestration tools. It reduces the development environment setup time as multiple runtimes does not need to be installed. Both Javascript-based Frontend and Java-based backend can be developed using the same runtime. It also helps to interact with the legacy C/C++ code so that decade-old core business logic written in C/C++ can still be used from which the newly written java code.
  • Building Polyglot microservices based project that has services written in different languages like Java, JavaScript, Ruby, Python all using the same runtime
  • Integration with legacy C/C++ code libraries
  • Good support for debugging and visualizing the runtime behavior of programs written in different languages
  • Migration guide for migrating the existing Oracle JVM applications to Graal VM will help the existing customers with hundreds of Java Based applications to migrate.
The usage of C/C++ code from within java is going to be very helpful for enterprises who have old legacy applications having core business functionality in C/C++ and wants to modernize the applications to take advantage of cloud-native ecosystem.
Yes - Oracle User Group and Java User Group. I get the latest news and updates on the new products/version upgrades.
GraalVM community is still growing, hence blogs and technical QnA on community sites are slowly growing. For Enterprise support, there is a cost associated.
Read this authenticated review
November 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization has been recently expanding to game servers for Java games. The main issue with Java games is the lack of language interoperability with the default JVM, therefore other developers have a hard time working with them. But with GraalVM it allows almost seamless interoperability with other languages. LLVM-based languages ones especially are great with GraalVM.
  • Language Interoperability
  • Ahead of Time compilation
  • Portability
  • Cross-platform
  • Great Support
  • Requires a separate download to use
  • Unavailable with the current JDK versions
  • Requires users to specifically use GraalVM to use our server platform
I will recommend GraalVM to anyone who wants a blazing fast modern JVM with seamless language interoperability. It's AOT methods also speed ups programs to a degree, which means it also is good just as a drop in replacement for the default JVM. However I cannot recommend GraalVM to those who want to use the latest Java features as GraalVM doesn't have them.
Awesome is all I have to say for the issues that happen in GraalVM. The people over at Github are very attentive and help a ton if any issues are found, Oracle support themselves are very helpful. My experience with them has always been a swift and easy support, something that other languages lack.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used by my organization to create a language-agnostic mod loader based on the Fabric API for Minecraft. It addresses a lot of problems with normal Java Native Interface Interop, and also makes it really easy to integrate numerous languages into the system.

The problem with normal JNIs is how hard it is to implement Mixins and other features, with GraalVM this is very easy and performant. GraalVM's performance is also outstanding, making it faster to launch dev environments and other factors.
  • Language Interop
  • Performance
  • Availability
  • Open Source
  • Ease of Use
  • JDK version is low
  • Lacks some features like ZGC
  • JNI is sometimes faster
GraalVM is well suited for situations where one will want seamless language interop and a codebase with different languages. It is not appropriate for a project that is not entirely based on Java before, and also just a single language.

Other scenarios would be to take advantage of GraalVMs AOT features where performance is needed.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
GraalVM is awesome in terms of support and their Github team is always active in their issues and pull requests. The fact that the project is also open source means that it is easily viewable and our team can dig into how it works.
Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Exploring GraalVM for microservices-based, cloud native applications and serverless applications
  • Polyglot vm
  • Reduced memory footprint
  • Fast startup times
  • Not always optimal native code (JIT sometimes is faster)
  • Microservices support
  • Hard to profile
Well suited for small applications, serverless, CLI tools.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Have no experience with enterprise support. Documentation is outdated sometimes and could be better overall. GraalVM community is growing and responsive, still not as mature, but helpful and active.
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2020
Ashutosh Khantwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is used in my organization for streamlining JAVA applications and efficient testing of code. It has provided faster startup and no interpreted code as well. It has given a low memory footprint in the use cases. Its native and bright future of performance is also a great advantage. No profiling data required now for JIT optimizations.
  • High performance and it acts as JIT compiler. Optimizations like partial escape help a lot since it is not available in standard JIT compilers.
  • It helps in combining JAVASCRIPT, Java, and R
  • Helps in running native languages on the JVM
  • Helps in extension of JVM-Based application
  • It is efficient for a smaller heap only as it impacts latency
  • Generated native code is not fully efficient
  • No thread dump and heap dump support
It can run spring applications, compiled with OPEN JDK or other JVMs.
There's also spring framework support of GraalVM. Although it is at its initial stage, we can be hopeful that spring framework support does work and helps to improve using JAVA. This is a current limitation of GraalVM, but it can be overcome as per official information.
Read Ashutosh Khantwal's full review
June 28, 2020
Lokesh Yadav | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is used for delivering services to many clients in our organization. It is very helpful as it has the capability to be embedded in the native applications as well as managed applications. Integrations are seamless with pre-defined formats for Oracle database, OpenJDK, MYSQL, and Node.js which makes the integration process very fast. It is also compatible with the latest Java 11 release, and it is very handy for developers, like me, who are frequently using the latest Java version to take the benefits of the latest features. Its compile time is very fast and has an optimized JIT compiler.
It is used to run the applications written in Kotlin, Python, Groovy, C++, and the interoperability is differentiated in the real-time shared runtime. We can also use the Native Image technology offered by GraalVM to compile the scripted applications well ahead of time before going into the binary code. The deployment and licensing costs approximately 25% less, reducing the overall cost.
  • Performance is better because of latest compatibility with Java 11
  • Standardized Software Development Kit and API design
  • Multi language support to offer best services to international clients
  • Supports all major programming languages
  • Uses low memory
  • Customer support can be improved
  • Needs to support more integrations with micro services
It is best suited for products and services where high performance is needed in real-time with no time lags.
With Oracle changing the JVM distribution license recently, GraalVM serves the purpose of managing the VM platform pretty efficiently. It is well suited for consistent process requirements. Since most of the companies depend heavily on Java for programming, GraalVM provides the best support for building Java applications and can be used for all products.
We can also mix programming languages in the same project, thus it removes the dependency of using a single programming language. This feature is provided by GraalVM and is known as "PolyGlot" apps.
Read Lokesh Yadav's full review
August 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our organization across our project among a team of 45 members. It has majorly addressed the performance of applications by reducing the overhead in terms of startup time, execution time, and memory utilization. It provides additional advantages in writing applications in various programming languages.
  • Application runs faster
  • Memory utilization is very low
  • Cost-effective
  • Not much improvement needed; the product suits our requirements.
GraalVM is very stable and has been very beneficial in terms of Project Delivery due to its advanced Virtual Machine providing JIT (just-in-time) compiler and AOT (ahead-of-time) compiler. So, I will definitely recommend it to others to try at least once in order to scale up the performance of polyglot applications.
We have always received on-time and effective customer support. Issues have always been addressed in an efficient manner. Overall satisfied with the services provided so far.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used as a Java Virtual Machine. It is currently being used in our data department within our IT organization. GraalVM has helped with issues regarding performance and optimization. My coworkers and I are pretty satisfied with the capabilities of GraalVM, as it helps for Java to run in a faster manner.
  • Multiple languages
  • Minimal memory
  • Open source
  • Visibility of roadmap
GraalVM is good for when you have multiple programming languages that you need to support. It also does quite a good job in performance and optimization. It is good at empowering developers. I could caution that not all programming languages are supported so you may need to check the documentation first before adopting it.
GraalVM does a good job of supporting multiple languages and performance. It is not too intensive with regards to memory. It starts up quickly so that there is little lag and downtime. I also think that GraalVM is good because it does not take up a lot of space on your machine.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM being the most efficient Java Virtual Machine is currently being used in the banking department of our esteemed organization. It has reduced the start-up time of our banking applications by maximizing the performance and execution speed to a great extent. This has in turn resulted in client satisfaction and meeting expectations.
  • VM supports multiple programming languages
  • Faster startup time of the application with reduced memory overhead
  • Flexibility of the developers to choose any languages
  • Performance enhancement in polyglot application is not the same in all languages.
I highly recommend GraalVM to my colleagues and friends in the IT industry who want to explore and experience an advanced Virtual Machine that can accommodate applications written in multiple languages with faster execution speed, in terms of minimal utilization of memory, as well as achieving reduced performance issues of the applications.
We have received quality support when needed from the GraalVM support team. They are well versed with the product and possess complete understanding of the existing and upcoming functionalities thus providing fast help and assistance to our project team members. The product is quite stable and has not given us any major issues whatsoever.
Read this authenticated review
August 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition has been used by our organization since 2019 across our Oracle department. GraalVM benefits us in writing an application that supports multiple programming languages resulting in accruing high performance and fast compilation. The developers were able to utilize the product to a greater extent and gain maximum advantage out of it.
  • AOT compilation - Java Code To Native Image
  • Minimal allocation of runtime memory
  • Application starts in no time
  • Works exceptionally well for Java applications, but more improvement is needed for non-Java applications.
GraalVM has improved and optimized the startup time of our applications to a great extent (sped up by 32% compared to our previous recorded time). This indeed has a major impact on our deliverable and client satisfaction. Also, we have observed a reduction in runtime memory utilization during the startup of our applications.
Overall, we are satisfied with the Oracle GraalVM Customer Support Team. They are really responsive and we have received quality service to date. Even in this COVID-19 ongoing pandemic situation their on-time support and quick assistance have not been compromised. We really appreciate their valuable service and expect to continue with the same.
Read this authenticated review
August 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is an ecosystem with multiplicative value-add. Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition was used in my previous working department at the project level. By enabling interoperability and eliminating the gaps between various programming languages in a shared runtime and high-performance, GraalVM has proved to be very highly effective from the delivery perspective for all our developers.
  • Open source
  • Faster and efficient program execution.
  • Multilingual virtual machine.
  • No JMX, JFR support.
  • No thread dump or heap dump support.
  • Using bigger heaps can badly impact latency.
Due to its low memory footprint, GraalVM is extremely well suited where the amount of application code being executed is large and complex, loads a lot of control files, and has a lot of hot code.
As it supports many languages, creating software with multiple languages is a big advantage and provides flexibility for developers.
Our Project team members have always been provided with quick assistance and support from GraalVM. The bugs and defects our team raised were addressed and handled efficiently thanks to the adequate assistance by MOS to fix and resolve the issues in a short time, leading to smooth experience with quality service received.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is an elevated performance runtime that delivers substantial improvements in the performance of the application. Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our Product Department at the project level. It eliminates the gaps between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It has proved to be highly efficient for our developers from the delivery point of view.
  • Open-sourced
  • Uniting various programming models in a single application
  • Support for polyglot applications
  • Faster execution of Java applications by creating ahead-of-time compiled native images
  • Lower memory footprint
  • Production-ready software
  • Not all languages are supported by GraalVM.
GraalVM has been very well incorporated and implemented in our project. Performance issues in the application have always been the top discussions in our monthly meeting calls, due to introducing and adding new changes, logics, and customizations in the business process as per the client's requirement.
Our project team members have always received quick assistance and quality support from Oracle GraalVM to date. Overall, we're satisfied with the structured way of handling the tickets and providing resolution by sharing relevant information from the GraalVM support team. Tickets have been created and raised by our team members for various reasons: bugs, defects, patches, etc.
Read this authenticated review
July 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is a production-ready software and is available as Community Edition for an open-source license.
Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our department, and it has already proven to be highly beneficial and effective as it has been built to cater to enterprise-class application development on a global standard. It has shown significant improvements in application performance and efficiency due to its high-performance runtime.
  • Multilingual Virtual Machine
  • Run Programs Faster Anywhere
  • Compiling applications ahead-of-time (AOT) into native Executable
  • Can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database
  • Lower Memory Footprint
  • Compilation is not easy for all JVM code
GraalVM is well suited for JVM-based applications as it provides two independent execution modes:
1. Applications running in a regular just-in-time (JIT) compilation mode adding higher performance gains resulting from quality optimized algorithms.
2. Applications compiled ahead-of-time (AOT) into a native executable. It has the capability to run as a standalone application with instant startup having minimal memory footprint and minimal CPU utilization.
Yes - I am currently a member of the 'Java User Group'. It usually shares a lot of information related to upcoming technologies, imparting education to the existing technologies and programming languages, and provides support and assistance to us (Professional Users) as and when we seek it. An Oracle User Group is a private and non-profit organization, anyone can join and acquire knowledge from experts to enhance and update their own skill sets.
For on-premises use under the terms of the Oracle Master License Agreement, it includes 24x7x365 Oracle Premier Support by Oracle GraalVM team. It also provides access to MOS (My Oracle Support) to report issues. Bugs and defects raised by us have been addressed, handled efficiently, and provided adequate assistance by MOS to fix and resolve the reported issues as soon as possible. Overall, the team is very supportive and works smoothly to provide users with quality service.
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are experimenting to use GraalVM in the context of serverless framework usage. The core issues that it addresses are image size and process start-up time, especially in the cold start scenarios. Another area of interest is in densification of the container images that we run on container clusters to save overall cost.
  • Ahead-of-time compiled native images which start up faster
  • Javascript application run on top of it without need for V8 engine.
  • Java libraries can be accessed from other programming languages.
  • JIT compiler makes a long-running server process run even faster as time passes with optimization at runtime. Lack of this feature makes GraalVM not suited for certain applications
  • All the libraries are not easily available or compiled down to GraalVM binary. Manual Involvement is needed to make some libraries work. Reflection-based libraries specifically do not work.
  • There are runtime surprises in some cases and increases support needs
Microservices development and Serverless application development is an area GraalVM helps well--Especially for smaller binary footprint and faster start-up time. Another appropriate area is running docker containers on an orchestration platform such as K8S or ECS. It's also good for scenarios where alternate JVM languages need to be mixed and used and to run heavy memory usage javascript applications.
Read this authenticated review
June 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is still in the early stages of product investigation. Engineers are using it for R&D projects and getting familiar with how it can be used at a production level. It will address performance issues for our applications, notably startup times and artifact size.
  • Fast startup
  • Lower memory footprint
  • Polyglot apps
  • The name isn't so great.
  • More broad community use.
Well suited for polyglot apps and those needing high performance. If there is a specific legacy application that requires a specific JDK version, I would not recommend it immediately until further research and testing are performed.
Yes - St Louis Java Users Group has a large following in the area and it's great that our company sponsors it heavily. It can be a good place for networking and learning about new Java technologies.
Read this authenticated review
June 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Exploring it as a drop-in replacement for JDK/JVM, which is very heavily used by multiple software development teams across multiple tools deployed on the web and mobile. Java is by far the most widely used programming language in the organization and the company has an extensive legacy/repository of both internal & external Java software/tools that can all benefit from a GraalVM based JVM. Although it's still shy of being used in any production scenario. Some teams are also exploring its polyglot capabilities.
  • Speed
  • Smaller Footprint
  • Polyglot Capabilities
  • Native Images
  • Reduced manageability
  • Still not near AOT levels (without paid versions)
  • Hard to profile
  • Cloud Deployments make more sense with GraalVM due to the much lower memory footprints and faster startup times, at the same time reducing the billing.
  • Smaller standalone native image deployments are more maintainable from a deployment PoV.
  • Increased performance can reduce/eliminate the need to rewrite / port existing JVM based projects over to other languages, saving crucial time and money that can be better spent on solving newer problems or actually innovating, instead of chasing the same old problems with diminished returns on developer time and capital.
Read this authenticated review
June 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GraalVM for optimization for the code, making it portable and efficient for execution in high-performance requirements. Using it in some of the real-time and near real-time application scenarios where fast throughput is one of the key requirements from the business side. Optimizing compute resources to save IaaS cost and ingress and egress cost.
  • Fast and lean code
  • Multi-library support
  • Porting
  • Cloud integration
  • Development tool integration
  • More micro services support
GraalVM is an excellent tool in our case, where we were looking for a fast and scalable code for our native apps that support 10-thousand-plus sales and support teams in the branch, showrooms, field, and online. We rewrote the code using GraalVM to ensure that the end customer has a real-time offer on their purchase when we make a cross sale and up sale.
Read this authenticated review
June 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using GraalVM to consolidate the set of VM and SDK we're going to use after the Oracle License changes regarding JVM/JDK distribution. This enables us to consolidate and manage the standard VM platform. This was starting to work a few years ago but in 2019 is when we really ramped up and now we have a stable and consistent strategy and processes.
  • VM Management
  • SDK Standardization
  • Stable Solution
  • Community Support
  • Technology Roadmap
  • Distribution
It depends on your problem statement and use case. In our case, we were trying to consolidate and reduce license exposure after Oracle changed the license agreements for Java. This way standardizing solved the problem we were facing, but on your side, you need to evaluate and consider and run your complete vendor evaluation and security concerns.
Yes - I'm part of Oracle and Java user groups because I had been on the Java world for over 20 years and maintain that connection. Direct access to experts always pays off really well, on the one hand. On the other hand, I'm able to provide input and define the road map for some of our future needs.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using GraalVM for Minecraft servers. We use it on every server we have. Since we started using GraalVM we recognized better performance incorporation with a modified Minecraft server jar. Also we're having a smaller RAM and CPU usage. Most of us are also using it on our private windows machines, and java processes are faster there too.
  • Better performance
  • Smaller CPU and RAM usage
  • Offering it for free
  • At the moment we're happy with the features it has.
As I mentioned before, if you're searching a VM which can speed up your processes, GraalVM is the right thing for you. Also good if you're looking to lower your CPU and RAM usage.
Read this authenticated review

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a runtime for microservices that aims to provide significant improvements in application performance and efficiency. The vendor states its ahead-of-time (AOT) compiler allows microservices to startup instantaneously with significantly smaller memory footprint.

It is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. It removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database.

GraalVM Community is available for free for any use.

GraalVM Enterprise provides additional performance, security, and scalability relevant for running applications in production. Users can get a version of GraalVM Enterprise that is free for evaluation and developing new applications via the Oracle Technology Network (OTN), or a commercially licensed version for production use via the Oracle Store.

Categories:  App Development

GraalVM Features

Has featureHigh performance optimizing compiler
Has featureIdeal platform for modern microservices
Has featurePolyglot capabilities

GraalVM Competitors

Azure App Service, Firebase, Microsoft Common Langugage Runtime

GraalVM Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

GraalVM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No