GraalVM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
93 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 12, 2021
Paulo Henrique Orind | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using GraalVM in order to run some on-premises servers and to test part of our solutions. I'd say it's also a perfect tool to be used by Java developers. This tool usage made us reach a new step in terms of quality tests and brought us more options.
Read Paulo Henrique Orind's full review
April 09, 2021
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses GraalVM to provide a standardized and optimized environment to run Java and Scala applications. This is used across departments for multiple enterprise Java solutions. GraalVM provides our organization with a Java development and deployment environment that is quick to set up for new developers and quick to configure for the deployment of new applications. With the performance enhancements that it provides, such as ahead-of-time compilation, we have found that GraalVM provides an optimum solution for running our enterprise Java applications effectively.
Read Ramindu Deshapriya's full review
April 11, 2021
Abdul Wahab Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is being used as a preferred virtual machine by Java developers at our organization to reduce the size of applications and loading time and to improve the cold-start time for achieving the best performance of applications with high efficiency while consuming fewer resources. It improves the capability of hardware to perform well with an increased number of applications. The developers using Python, Node.JS, C, and Oracle at our organization are also using it.
Read Abdul Wahab Khan's full review
February 18, 2021
John Hanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are in an investigative stage with GraalVM and AOT (native-compile) at the department level (software engineering and SecDevOps). We have deployed test applications written in Java and Scala to Windows, Ubuntu, and as Docker images running on container services (Google Cloud Run and Kubernetes).

At this point, I am very impressed. There was a learning curve to understand GraalVM, the polyglot features, and native-compiles. Pluralsight has a good fundamentals overview. The home site for GraalVM has a number of good "getting started" guides.

The areas that we are seeing major impacts in are software size, load time, and cold start time. These are critical benefits as we try to minimize the size of our containers and reduce cold-start time. The end result is more container services can be deployed with the same hardware. This could have a significant financial benefit over running code in a JVM.

We are also investigating the Polyglot features, such as running Node.js and Python in GraalVM. The ability to combine Java and Node.js could present some interesting features to combine the best of our libraries.

In my opinion, this product and technology will significantly improve the performance and footprint of Java-based containers to serverless containers, Kubernetes, and OpenShift.
Read John Hanley's full review
January 16, 2021
Ashish Kumar Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

If you want to enjoy the feature of Polygot Java Enterprise edition than GraalVM is the only choice. It supports different language which includes Javascript, Python and C. It is one of the OpenJDK distribution from Oracle. Its being used by Network group which needs better performing JIT compiler. It can help you to create native images and supports multiple VM instance in process. Configuring a Maven project with GraalVM is quite easy and straightforward.
Read Ashish Kumar Das's full review
April 26, 2021
Feng Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am an Indie developer and use GraalVM for daily development, mainly for replacing OpenJDK with it. [...] I use GraalVM to build other open-source projects that once use OpenJDK. [...]
Read Feng Li's full review
April 15, 2021
Sharique Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is being used in selective teams as an alternate to traditional JVM. A primary usage is to optimize the application compilation using the ahead of time compilation feature. One more is usage of Truffle Language Implementation framework for other JVM-supported languages such as Groovy. All this has allowed us to reduce the startup time of mission-critical applications
Read Sharique Khan's full review
December 01, 2020
Jakub Kliwison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have first decided to use GraalVM in our Innovation Department. Right now the decision process has started to allow usage of GraalVM as the production runtime in the whole company, since it has been proven that it suites our needs. We are using it mainly due to a multilingual approach adopted for the majority of our projects.
Read Jakub Kliwison's full review
November 17, 2020
Muni Raghunath Kalivi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is good technology. We are currently using it for building native images of iOS & Android applications. We have planned to have internal applications, which are developed on Java to be used with iOS and Android. GraalVM native images helps to build, package, and run those java applications on iOS and Android. We used GraalVM with Gluon package. Using Maven build tool we generated those apps. This software is used by our team of 15 members. We are in still the development phase, so it is limited to the team for internal usage. The problems that we are sorting out are managing daily work status, notifications, and publishing team events internally.


Read Muni Raghunath Kalivi's full review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently trying to move our infrastructure to Spring Boot, so with the recent additions of Spring Native, I got interested in Graal VM, and found it fascinating. It provides the opportunity to make tiny docker containers which provide the ability to lower cloud hosting pricing.
Read this authenticated review
April 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's really good. We are using [it] throughout the entire department. It really helps us to connect and use it across multiple languages and libraries. Our departments find it easy [to] compile applications using it with native binaries for you programmers out there. I would highly recommend it. It's easy to use and intuitive.
Read this authenticated review
February 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Graal in a technical spike to cut down the footprint of Java stand-alone services that ran on a scheduled basis. It was a great success and brought us savings in memory and CPU footprint and improved startup times. In the long run, this will reduce infrastructure costs and improve platform resilience.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company evaluated the GraalVM for use with some of our Java applications that require high scalability and resource usage. While we chose not to go with the GraalVM for interoperability reasons, we found it to be a fast and impressive solution for producing cross platform native executables of java applications.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is used by project teams who are moving to polyglot microservices-based cloud-native applications that are deployed in containers on Kubernetes based orchestration tools. It reduces the development environment setup time as multiple runtimes does not need to be installed. Both Javascript-based Frontend and Java-based backend can be developed using the same runtime. It also helps to interact with the legacy C/C++ code so that decade-old core business logic written in C/C++ can still be used from which the newly written java code.
Read this authenticated review
February 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Exploring GraalVM for microservices-based, cloud native applications and serverless applications
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2020
Ashutosh Khantwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is used in my organization for streamlining JAVA applications and efficient testing of code. It has provided faster startup and no interpreted code as well. It has given a low memory footprint in the use cases. Its native and bright future of performance is also a great advantage. No profiling data required now for JIT optimizations.
Read Ashutosh Khantwal's full review
June 28, 2020
Lokesh Yadav | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is used for delivering services to many clients in our organization. It is very helpful as it has the capability to be embedded in the native applications as well as managed applications. Integrations are seamless with pre-defined formats for Oracle database, OpenJDK, MYSQL, and Node.js which makes the integration process very fast. It is also compatible with the latest Java 11 release, and it is very handy for developers, like me, who are frequently using the latest Java version to take the benefits of the latest features. Its compile time is very fast and has an optimized JIT compiler.
It is used to run the applications written in Kotlin, Python, Groovy, C++, and the interoperability is differentiated in the real-time shared runtime. We can also use the Native Image technology offered by GraalVM to compile the scripted applications well ahead of time before going into the binary code. The deployment and licensing costs approximately 25% less, reducing the overall cost.
Read Lokesh Yadav's full review
November 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The organization has been recently expanding to game servers for Java games. The main issue with Java games is the lack of language interoperability with the default JVM, therefore other developers have a hard time working with them. But with GraalVM it allows almost seamless interoperability with other languages. LLVM-based languages ones especially are great with GraalVM.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is being used by my organization to create a language-agnostic mod loader based on the Fabric API for Minecraft. It addresses a lot of problems with normal Java Native Interface Interop, and also makes it really easy to integrate numerous languages into the system.

The problem with normal JNIs is how hard it is to implement Mixins and other features, with GraalVM this is very easy and performant. GraalVM's performance is also outstanding, making it faster to launch dev environments and other factors.
Read this authenticated review
August 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our organization across our project among a team of 45 members. It has majorly addressed the performance of applications by reducing the overhead in terms of startup time, execution time, and memory utilization. It provides additional advantages in writing applications in various programming languages.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is being used as a Java Virtual Machine. It is currently being used in our data department within our IT organization. GraalVM has helped with issues regarding performance and optimization. My coworkers and I are pretty satisfied with the capabilities of GraalVM, as it helps for Java to run in a faster manner.
Read this authenticated review
August 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM being the most efficient Java Virtual Machine is currently being used in the banking department of our esteemed organization. It has reduced the start-up time of our banking applications by maximizing the performance and execution speed to a great extent. This has in turn resulted in client satisfaction and meeting expectations.
Read this authenticated review
August 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition has been used by our organization since 2019 across our Oracle department. GraalVM benefits us in writing an application that supports multiple programming languages resulting in accruing high performance and fast compilation. The developers were able to utilize the product to a greater extent and gain maximum advantage out of it.
Read this authenticated review
August 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is an ecosystem with multiplicative value-add. Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition was used in my previous working department at the project level. By enabling interoperability and eliminating the gaps between various programming languages in a shared runtime and high-performance, GraalVM has proved to be very highly effective from the delivery perspective for all our developers.
Read this authenticated review
July 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

GraalVM is an elevated performance runtime that delivers substantial improvements in the performance of the application. Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our Product Department at the project level. It eliminates the gaps between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It has proved to be highly efficient for our developers from the delivery point of view.
Read this authenticated review

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a runtime for microservices that aims to provide significant improvements in application performance and efficiency. The vendor states its ahead-of-time (AOT) compiler allows microservices to startup instantaneously with significantly smaller memory footprint.

It is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. It removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database.

GraalVM Community is available for free for any use.

GraalVM Enterprise provides additional performance, security, and scalability relevant for running applications in production. Users can get a version of GraalVM Enterprise that is free for evaluation and developing new applications via the Oracle Technology Network (OTN), or a commercially licensed version for production use via the Oracle Store.

Categories:  App Development

GraalVM Features

Has featureHigh performance optimizing compiler
Has featureIdeal platform for modern microservices
Has featurePolyglot capabilities

GraalVM Competitors

Azure App Service, Firebase, Microsoft Common Langugage Runtime

GraalVM Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

GraalVM Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. GraalVM removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database. Oracle's GraalVM Enterprise is a multilingual virtual machine, which Oracle states delivers even higher efficiency, better isolation and greater agility for enterprises in cloud and hybrid environment.

What is GraalVM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.5.

Who uses GraalVM?

The most common users of GraalVM are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.