GraalVM

GraalVM

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
GraalVM

Overview

Recent Reviews

Fantastic Tool

9 out of 10
December 10, 2021
GraalVM is a really powerful technology that is being used in certain departments of my organization. This allows us to pre-compile Java …
Continue reading

Make your Applications Fast!

9 out of 10
November 24, 2021
An amazing tool that is being used in my organization to streamline Java Applications. Some of the departments are utilizing this to …
Continue reading

Totally Worthy Tool

9 out of 10
October 18, 2021
This is among the most robust and user-friendly applications that are being used in certain departments of our company. This is being used …
Continue reading

GraavlVM - great software

8 out of 10
October 08, 2021
GraalVM is used by the department where Java applications are used the most, this software provides significant performance benefits. It …
Continue reading

Amazing GraalVM!

8 out of 10
April 25, 2021
It's really good. We are using [it] throughout the entire department. It really helps us to connect and use it across multiple languages …
Continue reading

Reliable and worthy tool.

9 out of 10
April 12, 2021
We are using GraalVM in order to run some on-premises servers and to test part of our solutions. I'd say it's also a perfect tool to be …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Customer Support 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of GraalVM, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. GraalVM removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://shop.oracle.com/apex/f?p=DSTORE…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

6 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is AWS IoT Core?

AWS IoT Core is a managed cloud service that lets connected devices interact with cloud applications and other devices. It includes the Device Gateway and the Message Broker, which connect and process messages between IoT devices and the cloud. AWS IoT Core connects AWS and Amazon services like AWS…

What is Firebase?

Google offers the Firebase suite of application development tools, available free or at cost for higher degree of usages, priced flexibly accorded to features needed. The suite includes A/B testing and Crashlytics, Cloud Messaging (FCM) and in-app messaging, cloud storage and NoSQL storage (Cloud…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a runtime for microservices that aims to provide significant improvements in application performance and efficiency. The vendor states its ahead-of-time (AOT) compiler allows microservices to startup instantaneously with significantly smaller memory footprint.

It is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. It removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database.

GraalVM Community is available for free for any use.

GraalVM Enterprise provides additional performance, security, and scalability relevant for running applications in production. Users can get a version of GraalVM Enterprise that is free for evaluation and developing new applications via the Oracle Technology Network (OTN), or a commercially licensed version for production use via the Oracle Store.

GraalVM Competitors

GraalVM Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. GraalVM removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database. Oracle's GraalVM Enterprise is a multilingual virtual machine, which Oracle states delivers even higher efficiency, better isolation and greater agility for enterprises in cloud and hybrid environment.

What is GraalVM's best feature?

Reviewers rate GraalVM Performance highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses GraalVM?

The most common users of GraalVM are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (101)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
December 10, 2021

Fantastic Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is a really powerful technology that is being used in certain departments of my organization. This allows us to pre-compile Java programs and helps us to speed up the processes by using minimal resources. This is highly maintainable and easy to use for Java developers. This helps us in deploying more container services with the same hardware.
Ava Jakobs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is a high-performer runtime that provides significant improvements in application performance and efficiency which is a deal for microservices. [It's] designed for application writing in Java, JavaScript, LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. It helps to do away with isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. I love that it can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK,Node.js or Oracle Database.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
An amazing tool that is being used in my organization to streamline Java Applications. Some of the departments are utilizing this to address the problems with the Interface of Native Java. This integrates easily with our existing applications and makes them convenient to use. This consumes [fewer] resources which makes our processes more efficient.
Ojas Elawadhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used in multiple departments of my organization by the dev teams. It is a high-performance tool that helps us to speed up the processes [while] consuming very few resources. It is easily maintainable and very flexible. This has seamless integration which makes our applications very efficient.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently trying to move our infrastructure to Spring Boot, so with the recent additions of Spring Native, I got interested in Graal VM, and found it fascinating. It provides the opportunity to make tiny docker containers which provide the ability to lower cloud hosting pricing.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is a powerful tool created by Oracle that was being used by the dev team in our organization. It is a high-performance Java Virtual Machine that also provides the Java Development Kit i.e JDK that has the ability to compile the Java applications ahead of time. Also, it helps in increasing the overall performance of the application since it consumes very fewer resources. The maintenance of the product is quite easy and it is quite flexible since it is written in Java.
October 18, 2021

Totally Worthy Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is among the most robust and user-friendly applications that are being used in certain departments of our company. This is being used to streamline the JAVA codes and test them as well. This has seamless integration with our existing applications which makes the usage very efficient. Also, the cost of deployment is comparatively less resulting in cost savings.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is used by the department where Java applications are used the most, this software provides significant performance benefits. It also provides a security patch against the already known vulnerabilities. It helps in optimizing the Java performance and helps in cloud-native app development.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, we use GraalVM as an engine for our APIs developed in Quarkus. We decided to use this tool to reduce our costs with scaling virtual machines, which with the common JVM required a lot of RAM. So far we have not had any disadvantages with using GraalVM. All our new applications are being written in a framework with native support for it. And our legacy applications are gradually being migrated to it as the community is growing and frameworks like Spring have started to receive support for GraalVM.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GraalVM Community Edition for JavaFX cross-platform app management on all major desktop platforms and iPadOS and Android. We aimed to optimize the outcome of the above using GraalVM Enterprise Edition. However, the attempt sadly failed due to licensing issues that surprisingly prevent GraalVM EE from being utilized like this. In my opinion, Oracle blocks its own business opportunities at this point. However, we continue using GraalVM EE in our boutique consulting company, informing German champions about the advantages of this amazing technology.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Just our department, we are exploring the possibility of using GraalVM to move old java applications on [the] cloud using the advantage of native compilation in order to reduce the workload and relative costs. Right now [applications] are written in spring and are quite [a] memory consuming (we use cloud stream messaging for processing [events] from Kafka).
April 25, 2021

Amazing GraalVM!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's really good. We are using [it] throughout the entire department. It really helps us to connect and use it across multiple languages and libraries. Our departments find it easy [to] compile applications using it with native binaries for you programmers out there. I would highly recommend it. It's easy to use and intuitive.
Sharique Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used in selective teams as an alternate to traditional JVM. A primary usage is to optimize the application compilation using the ahead of time compilation feature. One more is usage of Truffle Language Implementation framework for other JVM-supported languages such as Groovy. All this has allowed us to reduce the startup time of mission-critical applications
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using GraalVM in order to run some on-premises servers and to test part of our solutions. I'd say it's also a perfect tool to be used by Java developers. This tool usage made us reach a new step in terms of quality tests and brought us more options.
April 11, 2021

Great virtual machine

Abdul Wahab Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used as a preferred virtual machine by Java developers at our organization to reduce the size of applications and loading time and to improve the cold-start time for achieving the best performance of applications with high efficiency while consuming fewer resources. It improves the capability of hardware to perform well with an increased number of applications. The developers using Python, Node.JS, C, and Oracle at our organization are also using it.
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses GraalVM to provide a standardized and optimized environment to run Java and Scala applications. This is used across departments for multiple enterprise Java solutions. GraalVM provides our organization with a Java development and deployment environment that is quick to set up for new developers and quick to configure for the deployment of new applications. With the performance enhancements that it provides, such as ahead-of-time compilation, we have found that GraalVM provides an optimum solution for running our enterprise Java applications effectively.
John Hanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in an investigative stage with GraalVM and AOT (native-compile) at the department level (software engineering and SecDevOps). We have deployed test applications written in Java and Scala to Windows, Ubuntu, and as Docker images running on container services (Google Cloud Run and Kubernetes).

At this point, I am very impressed. There was a learning curve to understand GraalVM, the polyglot features, and native-compiles. Pluralsight has a good fundamentals overview. The home site for GraalVM has a number of good "getting started" guides.

The areas that we are seeing major impacts in are software size, load time, and cold start time. These are critical benefits as we try to minimize the size of our containers and reduce cold-start time. The end result is more container services can be deployed with the same hardware. This could have a significant financial benefit over running code in a JVM.

We are also investigating the Polyglot features, such as running Node.js and Python in GraalVM. The ability to combine Java and Node.js could present some interesting features to combine the best of our libraries.

In my opinion, this product and technology will significantly improve the performance and footprint of Java-based containers to serverless containers, Kubernetes, and OpenShift.
February 10, 2021

GraalVM is the future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Graal in a technical spike to cut down the footprint of Java stand-alone services that ran on a scheduled basis. It was a great success and brought us savings in memory and CPU footprint and improved startup times. In the long run, this will reduce infrastructure costs and improve platform resilience.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have first decided to use GraalVM in our Innovation Department. Right now the decision process has started to allow usage of GraalVM as the production runtime in the whole company, since it has been proven that it suites our needs. We are using it mainly due to a multilingual approach adopted for the majority of our projects.
Muni Raghunath Kalivi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is good technology. We are currently using it for building native images of iOS & Android applications. We have planned to have internal applications, which are developed on Java to be used with iOS and Android. GraalVM native images helps to build, package, and run those java applications on iOS and Android. We used GraalVM with Gluon package. Using Maven build tool we generated those apps. This software is used by our team of 15 members. We are in still the development phase, so it is limited to the team for internal usage. The problems that we are sorting out are managing daily work status, notifications, and publishing team events internally.


November 10, 2020

An awesome Polyglot JVM.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization has been recently expanding to game servers for Java games. The main issue with Java games is the lack of language interoperability with the default JVM, therefore other developers have a hard time working with them. But with GraalVM it allows almost seamless interoperability with other languages. LLVM-based languages ones especially are great with GraalVM.
October 30, 2020

GraalVM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used by my organization to create a language-agnostic mod loader based on the Fabric API for Minecraft. It addresses a lot of problems with normal Java Native Interface Interop, and also makes it really easy to integrate numerous languages into the system.

The problem with normal JNIs is how hard it is to implement Mixins and other features, with GraalVM this is very easy and performant. GraalVM's performance is also outstanding, making it faster to launch dev environments and other factors.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our organization across our project among a team of 45 members. It has majorly addressed the performance of applications by reducing the overhead in terms of startup time, execution time, and memory utilization. It provides additional advantages in writing applications in various programming languages.