Oracle Java SE Subscription Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
84 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 59)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 04, 2021
kritica sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JAVA SE for Project Development across all departments and users in the organization.
It is installed in most of our servers and systems of the organization to maintain push updates. It allows us to develop products using technology stack with high security, durability and large support base across the world
  • Integration with multiple applications
  • Frequents updates available
  • Highly secure
  • Easy support available
  • Subscription fee high
  • Pricey certification
  • Heavy for system with low memory
JAVA SE Subscription is best suited for projects which need heavy customizations and scalability because of its compatibility with vast tech stacks
Very active, accessible and highly knowledgeable support available
Read kritica sharma's full review
January 11, 2021
Muhammad Asif | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE Subscription is integrated in all machines used by the employees of the organization and hence it is widely used by all the departments, but the configurations and subscriptions handling is done by the IT support staff and most of the users doesn't even notice it normally for being used in the background. It's main purpose in our department is providing backend support for end users through java security updates and patching along with subscriptions of compatible applications.
  • High security
  • Compatible with large number of applications.
  • Efficient backend support
  • Less awareness about the product for common end users
  • Per user cost is high
Oracle Java SE Subcription is well suited for the complexed IT scenarios of large organizations and make the work easier in many ways for the IT support teams to manage large number of end user machines remotely. It is not much useful for the people with less awareness and knowledge about the application.
The support is always available for resolution of queries and the community support is actually great with large number of expertise all around the world. The ticket raised are usually answered and resolved within 24 hours timeline if submitted through email but instant solutions can also be obtained through live chat options.
Read Muhammad Asif's full review
January 09, 2021
Muhammad Asim Ijaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java [SE Subscription] is the part of our routine IT operations to automate and development different software architectures mainly based on oracle family since many years and after Java turned into subscription based software, we happily subscribed for the service for smooth operations of our Java based services. It is used organization wide and runs quietly on all systems and servers of the users for pushing automated security patches and updates in the background and controlled through IT support department at backend.
  • Can be easily controlled by backend support without direct involvement of end users.
  • Frequent updates keeping in view the latest technology requirements.
  • Vast applications are supported under java architecture.
  • Subscription fees are little high
  • Too often updates without any special integral changes.
[Oracle Java SE Subscription] is well suited for the organizations with centralized systems and architectures of software based on oracle. It adds a great help for IT support teams to push security patches and controlling end user's systems in one go and great for large organizations for deployment and development purposes. It's not a best choice for small businesses who are not much into software development.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - I am not member of any user group yet but interested to be part of Java user group to learn and improve my java coding skills and backend implementation of java for application development.
[Oracle] Java SE Subscription has a very efficient support staff with great in depth knowledge about the product and related issues. The resolution of any issues related to Java are usually solved within few hours and support teams are too generous with the users and frequently follow up the raised tickets even after providing the solution for the issue.
Read Muhammad Asim Ijaz's full review
January 07, 2021
Ashish Kumar Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are creating Next Generation Telecom products which will cater several business requirement. We chose [Oracle] Java SE Subscription in order to have a Multi-Threaded platform and scalable vertically. Its being used by our Team. It provides a lot of feature starting from efficient coding, caching, integration friendly, compatible with other databases, persistence database, customize feature and community support.
  • Enhanced and Updated Security features
  • Backward compatibility
  • Less license price for Commercial v8
  • Huge community support
  • Customizing Garbage Collector in Java is difficult
  • Better thread analysis tool needed in real-time
  • It needs to stop supporting backward compatibility features and needs a full revamp.
  • Java DB network server is having issues which need immediate attention
[Oracle] Java SE Subscription is preferable for business which needed huge customization features and scalability, it supports huge array of other technology and tools which are very compatible with Java SE version. But with scalability the issue of complexity also gets included and it might introduces performance issues in software. Now a days we have several other open source platforms to achieve tasks, business logics in simpler way.
Yes - I am one of the active members for Oracle User Groups. I attend most of there events to gain insights on latest and upcoming updates. I also participate in there webcast and do reviews for the new release and helping the community. Learning new updates and applying them on PoC is one of the benefit I get.
Customer support is overall average, although most of the time you can contact the Community for any resolution or issue. They follow an open and transparent policy to address reported Jira issue by Support team. But at times, it takes time to get a resolution. During Upgradation you might face the challenge with compatibility.
Read Ashish Kumar Das's full review
January 07, 2021
Agha Kamran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using [Oracle] Java SE Subscription across all departments and users of the organization and is installed and applied in all systems and data servers for the management of java subscriptions and application of java patches. The subscriptions of end users and clients are remotely controlled and pushed from the support team console of [Oracle] Java SE for frequent and timely updates.
  • Remote control console is easy to configure for controlling subscriptions and updates.
  • Support is easily available worldwide.
  • Integration and validation of systems are easy.
  • Too many updates and versions.
  • Cost is high for non regular Java users.
Managing and controlling from remote support staff and IT help desks are very convenient through [Oracle] Java SE Subscription and it is well suited for the scenarios, where large number of systems are to be configured and controlled by the organization's IT support teams. Small organization which are not dealing with user's subscriptions and java related applications are not well suited for spending such cost on [Oracle] Java SE Subscriptions.
Well versed and advanced level support is provided by the Java SE in every stage of the product's deployment and after sale issues. The support team is always available to help users 24/7 with detailed solution and any issues faced by the users are get resolved instantly through live chat or email, whichever channel user opt to use to get support.
Read Agha Kamran's full review
December 13, 2020
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our professional customers, where reliability is a top priority, the small fee of oracle subscription much more valuable than the many free platforms available for the returned value. We use it for many deployments, mostly for high-value solutions, where every small detail matters. We use it for on-premise servers and a few cloud instances too.
  • High-value server deployments, which requires the most reliable technologies available
  • For on-premise backend servers
  • Some smaller cloud solutions
  • The payment itself is hard to describe sometimes with so many free alternative available
  • Subscription ends will make app unusable without switching to openJDK
This depends on the requirement. Deeply-routed Oracle stack should aim for this on the long run - small startup companies looking for small initial costs should look for other solutions first, and maybe migrate later. OpenJDK is good, but not as reliable as Oracle Java SE. The provided high quality support is something what premium and mission-critical projects and companies should look for.
We are part of HOUG(Hungarian Oracle Users Group). We are attending and participate in organizing the yearly events, and got valuable connections and networking opportunities from them. Also the technical meetup parts and the discussions with Oracle experts were something that shaped our company greatly, meeting new customers, and even later employees.
I hardly connect with the support because of my tasks, so can't really provide a usefull feedback on this. The customers were very satisfied with it.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
December 05, 2020
Christian Oquendo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Oracle] Java [SE Subscription] to seamlessly automate manual data for our clients. From billing solutions, to modern cloud implementation, [Oracle] Java SE [Subscription] helps our business solve many of the obstacles we face as a start-up. Our whole organization works collaboratively to effectively manage and update our business structure. The fact that this version of Java updates frequently is a huge plus as well.
  • Security info is up-to-date
  • Complex
  • Excellent community support
  • Certification is pricey
  • Very intricate UI
  • At times, required data isn’t available
Oracle Java SE [Subscription] is essential for a larger business seeking to scale and automate their business platform using the wide variety of tools it provides. Whether it’s online ordering, or managing consumer data, it works wonders for what it does as a whole. However, this wouldn’t be a good use for smaller scale applications and apps that use less API.
No - I am interested in a MySQL group in the future.
The performance and reliability of this dev software, along with the top-notch 24/7 support makes Oracle Java a no-brainer for my 9/10 review rating. Issues I encountered are resolved in a matter of minutes and to this day, am impressed with how efficient the support is.
Read Christian Oquendo's full review
December 05, 2020
Kunal Verma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Java SE Subscription for multiple projects that are based on maven. It is being used by the different departments in my organization. We build many micro services using JAVA SE and Angular, along with that we are currently working in the field of Reinforcement Learning. We are building a neural network error backpropagation algorithm for a robot tank that can compete in the robocode wars. Apart from that we are also working on the several web projects based on the Enterprise java.
  • It is very optimized and easy to port the code.
  • Sometimes We need more memory to execute the code and we can explicitly allow memory to the Java.
  • Frequent Updates are provided to the Java SE module.
  • Building a project takes a few minutes sometimes. May be we can improve the building time of projects.
Oracle Java SE can be used by even novice if he/she has prior Object Oriented Programming Experience. There are many available IDE that support the latest JAVA SE versions. But If you are building some projects that require more resources it is not advisable to run JAVA on low end machines as It may consumes whole alot of memory. However it is safe to build enterprise Java Applications in using Java SE because of its robustness and secure environment.
Oracle Java [SE] Subscription Support is very elegant and hard working. The help with the bugs report and other problems during the development process. I will give the full rating because, they are very supportive and apart from that applying patch in the source code is very helpful. They respond as soon as possible when you report some bug or issue.
Read Kunal Verma's full review
January 20, 2021
Saleem Salik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE Subscription is being used in our development and quality assurance department, where we build business management software and their automation applications with Oracle and Java QA tools. The choice of Oracle Java SE Subscription was obvious, as it is operating-system independent and as we have to deal with Oracle-based tools on machines with Windows, iOS, and Android for application development. We use Oracle Java SE Subscription for applying automated machine-oriented Java updates, security patches against trending vulnerabilities, and system-based subscription to meet our organizational needs.
  • Availability for all OS
  • Automatic selection of required Oracle subscriptions as per machine needs
  • Regular updates with increased security against latest online threats
  • Heavy for systems with low memory
Oracle Java SE Subscription is best when you are developing some new machine software and applications with minimal operating system dependency and developers are not sure about which required Java product to get subscribed to under industry and system requirements. That's how we get the most out of it or else we may waste too many resources.
Oracle provides one of the best in services in the support section and Oracle Java SE Subscription users get more privileged support from stewards, with 24/7 priority issue resolution. The stewards at Oracle are always keen to help end-users, and most of the time are well aware about the industry issues in advance.
Read Saleem Salik's full review
January 09, 2021
Shahid Siddique | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE Subscription is one of the core applications in our organization as a telecom service provider, and it is used and integrated in all our functional devices for smooth back-end security and Oracle-related configurations. Oracle Java SE Subscription has helped us to create auto-subscription loops and patches for many key functional applications at the data end.
  • Smooth configuration and integrations at back-end support
  • Secure and protective tunnel for remote machines
  • User console is bit complicated
  • Subscription price for individual user is high
Oracle Java SE Subscription is the backbone for IT development and one of the main ingredients for backup support, software and web development, and data-end security patches for medium and big businesses. I would highly recommend Oracle Java SE Subscription for organizations that are largely involved in IT and telecommunication services.
I would say wonderful support staff on the basis of my personal experience on the few occasions I need help from the support team of Oracle Java SE Subscription. The support team of Oracle Java SE Subscription is well versed and very professional and have the valuable knowledge about their product. The speed of issue resolution is also adequately fast.
Read Shahid Siddique's full review
January 07, 2021
Masud Kamal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE Subscription is arguably the most important and essential part of our system hierarchy and there are variety of subscriptions and applications are based upon Java patches. It is installed in all systems and servers of the organization to maintain push updates and user based subscriptions from back end support. It has helped a lot in maintaining and keeping systems and servers updated under java family and related synchronizations.
  • Best customer support and community help.
  • Variety of applications and subscriptions are handled with single push.
  • Helpful in creating java based applications with ease.
  • Complex setup and settings.
  • End users are not well informed about push updates and variant changes.
[Oracle] Java SE subscription is well suited for advanced software and application developers and have great features for helping big organizations to manage large number of end users from support teams. Subscriptions and updates are easy to push on all end users and controlling so many systems and servers with one push are instant and fast.
The support staff and community help is very efficient for [Oracle] Java SE Subscription and expertise of support staff are up to the mark with instant solution for installations and application patches. The experience of communication with the support staff is very friendly and the interactions are always gone very positive whenever needed.
Read Masud Kamal's full review
December 12, 2020
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started with Oracle Java SE Subscription at the beginning of a project a little while back. It helped build a micro-service architecture that was being used by a growing company needing to update its platform. It has also been used in a few smaller projects. It allows us to build software using a technology base with a proven track record and large support base to keep the long term/big picture in mind.
  • Standardized
  • Lots of extensions
  • Central customer support
  • Price
  • Complexity
  • Code structure
If you are looking for a platform that will be widely accepted and has a lot of enterprise level plug-ins, Oracle Java SE Subscription would be a solution to consider. Additionally, if you are building a simple software solution and do not require a lot of licenses, Oracle Java SE Subscription would be applicable as well. It is not well-suited for niche or medium- to large-sized projects on multiple machines, given the new licensing model that would be needed. Smaller and niche fields don't always have Java plug-ins/libraries readily available, which could be difficult.
Admittedly, for the couple of issues we had at the time, Oracle was rather timely in providing feedback to the issue we were having. Getting the account set up to submit the issue was a little bit of a hassle, but after that, access to resources and response time allowed us to resolve our issues.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
December 11, 2020
Rashid Hassan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java has been the necessity of organization over the years to run and maintain java based and applications in the systems and servers so when Oracle launched it's subscription-based Java SE, we had to subscribe to it's services for continuity of smooth system operations. Java SE is used across our organization for all teams for forced implementation of different IT policies and hosting of several java-based applications on the remote systems.
  • Easy to push updates on remote systems.
  • Vast compatibility and integration with applications.
  • Remote management is easy.
  • Big community support for understanding and related issues.
  • High and unrealistic forced price.
  • Management console is bit tricky to handle.
  • Frequent pushed updates without any significant changes.
It is a must-have product for organizations who are bound to run java based applications in accordance to their business needs and complexities. It is well suited for IT professionals to manage subscriptions and developing java based tools. Not a necessity for regular users or the people using systems without java dependable applications.
Java has great inhouse and community support and that too in many languages. We can get support and answer of any query 24/7 from worldwide available Java users and experts. Mostly the raised queries are responded within few minutes by the Java SE support staff and the resolution is also provided within few hours.
Read Rashid Hassan's full review
December 09, 2020
Tom Mockus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE Subscription is being used across the organization. We use it mostly in the EMR we have for our inpatients, although it is used for several other applications too. Several of our EMRs require it to run different applications in their software. We need to update it in order for it to function correctly.
  • Ease of use
  • Does work well with other appllications
  • Can be pushed out to all at once
  • Cost
  • Updates
  • Different versions create different issues
Their new cost structure is way too expensive. It is nowhere near worth the cost they charge. I am not sure how they determine the value of the product, but I think they need to look at the cost structure. For small hospitals, their new cost structure has make it almost unaffordable.
Their support is OK; we have not had to use it much over the life of the product. There have not been so many issues that we have had to call Oracle directly. Most of the issues that we have can be handled with the EMR vendor.

Read Tom Mockus's full review
December 09, 2020
Ira Mae Ramos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since most of our clients are multinational firms, a lot of the teams in our company uses Citrix servers to connect to cloud desktop. These Citrix connections mainly require Oracle Java SE Subscription in order for Citrix cloud desktop servers to run correctly and effectively. This is probably the easiest and most user-friendly tool to address this need.
  • Running Java scripts for cloud desktop
  • Regular updates
  • Very easy installation
  • Pricing
Oracle Java SE Subscription is very handy tool. It does the job and does it well, but for the price that you have to pay when there are free/less pricey alternatives available, it just doesn't make that much sense for a small company with a tight budget to choose this over others.
No - I am not a member of any Java user groups, but I do visit some MySQL and Java forums from time to time since I really want to understand how these databases can work and run more effectively and efficiently. I also like working independently, so the basic knowledge is helpful especially for basic troubleshooting.
The tool itself is very self-sufficient. As a user, I barely need help troubleshooting apps related to this tool. Our IT team normally just needs to help out in updating the app since the system would require admin rights, which is normally not available on the user level. Other than that, the implementation of this tool is very close to perfect, so support is not normally needed.
Read Ira Mae Ramos's full review
December 07, 2020
Andrew Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is the easiest language to support because of the worldwide adoption, especially as the transferrable skills carry over to android development.
This portability is what put Java on the map in the first place, where the virtual machine can run on Linux, windows, and potentially arm/raspberry pi/Arduino as well. The ability to run on multiple platforms with low-level access along with the low barrier to entry make Oracle Java SE Subscription a winner. It's free!
  • Cost - low.
  • Portability - high.
  • Security - moderate.
  • Ancient - legacy.
  • Multiple versions.
  • Does not have tail recursion - negative.
If I learned this language, anyone can. Simple enough, a no brainer. System.Out.PrintLn("hello world"); then save it as .java, run javac on the command line, with the installer provided by oracle it's possible with lots of effort put in.
I once taught an adult learner who requested that we learn it together. We had one successful learning session and got to the hello world on the command prompt. I remember the day it happened for me, I was under a tree, coding. It was on a Saturday morning, and later on I had an Arby's sandwich. I had read a good book about it from an education technology perspective. Good times.
Yes - App Community Insights - soon to move to a new platform - uses Google Play as a way to talk about apps from an insightful perspective as a developer or former developer. I sit on the eBay council in order to discuss my app cloud service and it makes it quite simple with node.js . If I can, you can too.
Although my account has never expired, I have always had the truly wonderful memory of this to tell: as a computer club coach, I drove the university students to the contest, where java was really hard core taught with rot64 or encryption tricks and stunts for seasoned, every day coders. One professor had a Linux command line tie and a suit. You'll find people like me there as well, I was coding in JavaScript, in html. Well, at some point you need java for an orm, even if you use MSDB driver, easy to get running on your db of choice. I say "Why NOT Oracle!" It's what many large enterprises use and no one will every say "They are not serious about it" if you mention ORACLE.
Read Andrew Turner's full review
December 04, 2020
Fortune Nwaiwu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organisations uses Oracle Java Se subscription to manage Java SE installations across our enterprise because it provides cost effective administration of multiple enterprise subscription services on the Oracle technology platform by combining Oracle Java SE Subscription and Oracle Java SE Desktop Subscription licensing and support into a simple, single subscription.
  • Cost efficient.
  • Single platform management of subscriptions.
  • Scalable.
  • It doesn't allow for managing non-Oracle subscription accounts.
  • Integration challenges and occasional glitches noticed in use of the service.
  • May be too expensive for SMEs.
For my organisation, it is well suited for managing several of the subscription accounts. Instead of wasting time and money upgrading bi-annually, we have been able to reduce overall costs by managing our Java estate with the Java SE Subscription. This gives us a huge cost saving opportunity that significantly reduces our IT OPEX bills.
They are efficient and always available to support users.
Read Fortune Nwaiwu's full review
December 03, 2020
Cameron Gable | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A large portion of our codebase is written in Java. Java SE is used by our software team for a number of applications that support the R&D department as a whole. For the software department, the subscription fits the needs of our business operations especially well by providing Java Mission Control to monitor and manage our applications.
  • Java Mission Control is very useful for monitoring our apps with little overhead.
  • The support of Java SE subscription is responsible and accessible.
  • The Windows installer is good for preconfigured installations of the Java JRE.
  • It is great you don't need to upgrade every 6 months and it is stable.
  • It is a paid subscription, however, it is free for dev and test environments!
For a team that wants support and doesn't want to worry about having to upgrade to new releases or LTS releases, Java SE Subscription is right for you. If you are a small team and are fine using OpenJDK and are willing to either upgrade to new releases or continue to use your current release, you may be able to get away with not using it.
No - Not a member of any user groups.
Their support is very useful when needing to figure out any issues. This feature is something free versions of Java do not offer. Their support has been useful to me in the past. they are usually reasonably fast at responding and their answers are generally useful to figure the issue out.
Read Cameron Gable's full review
January 05, 2021
Stephanie Rhoden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Java SE [Subscription] to assist with developing desktop applications and it is the foundation for developing in Java language. It consists of development tools, deployment technologies, and other class libraries and toolkits used in Java applications
  • We use it for security purposes
  • Great use for database access
  • Complements our networking group
  • Being more compatible with applications
  • Stress free upgrades
  • Missing functionality
This is well suited when we face the challenge of managing and maintaining applications built on multiple versions of Java. Costing also makes the software well suited.
Read Stephanie Rhoden's full review
December 11, 2020
Shivam Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in most of our projects, as software development is one of the services provided by our company. Our first choice is Oracle Java SE, due to its robustness and complete solution for software development. It is used in software development and as well as web development in our organisation, which comprises more than half of people in our organisation. It provides a complete solution for the software development.
  • Oracle Java SE Subscription provides a wholly integrated solution to complete the development.
  • Java has the stable development and long lasting support to old versions.
  • Java consists of a pragmatic set of tools which are made for every situation.
  • Oracle Java SE Subscription needs improvement in Graphic User Interface which is very old.
  • To widen the reach of Java, more tutorials and presentations should be made as it is very hard to learn.
  • Memory management is not good and becomes sometimes irritating.
We basically deal in software development and web development where we regularly use Java. It makes development very easy. With the wide array of tools, development becomes easy and less time-consuming. The most important thing we like is Java made our deployment easy. It is the first and only choice for us, in software development.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Oracle needs to work on its support system. Although the current system is working just fine, a more responsive and faster system will be appreciated. Sometimes it is noted by our developers that the response is slow and not satisfactory like when one of our developers reported a bug.
Read Shivam Sharma's full review
February 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE subscription is used across my organization and also in my department. Currently I am part of an insurance project where we need to ensure the security of the applications we prefer java. In my previous project also we used Java as a core area for development and framework related activities. All the development work we do in java to ensure the code cannot be hacked or to prevent any attack
  • Security
  • Platform Independet
  • Easy to learn
  • Many Trained and certified resources available
  • Quick support
  • Updates and patches
  • Support framework(it can be made it simple)
  • Installation
Oracle Java SE subscription is well suited for projects and or scenario's where is it needed enhanced security feature's like Financial services oriented project like banking, insurance and many more areas. As java is platform independent we can implement the product anywhere. It will be less appropriate for small projects.
Yes - I am also part of oracle user groups. where it helps us to quickly identify the issues and resolve it with expert users and or with the oracle user community. We cleared many doubts and got new ideas while using the oracle user groups. I strongly recommend to the user group for quick resolution
Oracle Java SE Subscription provides round the clock support and services and we are also satisfied with that. But when we consider the time taken to resolve the issue and the way of raising an support these are the area of improvement. But in the other hand this is not the show stopper to use/buy Oracle Java SE subscription. Staffs were well trained and knowledgeable.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java SE Subscription is used across our organization and it helps in timely updating the security directly from the Oracle. It [also] helps in cloud deployment issues. Spending cost over upgrading can be reduced easily by managing Java platform with Java Subscription. JAVA FX doesn't need [an] extra support contract if we have Java SE Subscription. We also use Oracle Java SE Subscription to enhance our legacy application to the new environments.
  • Helps in accessing updates directly from My Oracle Support.
  • Cost is effectively managed.
  • Java SE Subscription includes JDK and JRE.
  • Easy Java Naming Scheme.
  • User Interface feels like little old. UI can be made attractive.
  • Sometimes building project takes more time than usual.
  • Low memory systems are not best suited.
  • Set up is complicated for new user.
Pros : Java SE Subscription is well suited in cloud deployment, server, and desktop. It [is] easy creating many Java applications with [the] best customer support.

Cons : User Interface is not attractive. Project building time takes a little longer time than usual. Certification's cost is little high. Complex support framework. Installation process is tricky for new user.

Yes - I am part of Oracle Java user groups. We frequently use this group to interact with domain users and/or experts who faced similar issues or problems as [what] we are facing. We got quick and satisfactory responses from the users which helps us to resolve the problems more effectively. Those suggestions and feedback that we received from the groups/community users help us understand the problem in different aspects.
As I mentioned before, quality of support from Oracle Java SE Subscription is extraordinary. The speed of resolution and the expertise of the staff is really appreciated. We raised a high priority support incident which blocked our process [and] Oracle Java SE support did a quick analysis and provided a solution which took less time than we expected. They also help us in installing patches and updates whenever required.
Read this authenticated review
January 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, Oracle Java SE Subscription is being used across our [entire] organization as we have different requirements and clients across the world. We are working for [a] consumer electronics company to create their end to end application where it requires multi-level security and platform independence for the hassle free user experience. [The] main business problem we are solving here is creating a secured application.
  • Support.
  • Oracle Java SE has a high return on investment (ROI).
  • Higher rate of client retention (Earning more clients because of reusability)
  • User friendly.
  • It has good support, but their support framework has to be improved.
  • Installation should be improved.
  • Expecting more new features.
  • Need more certification.
For well suited scenarios, I can take the example of our project for [a] consumer electronics client where it's a platform independent application [that] also needs various levels of security as this application [is] also enabled with payment services. It is less appropriate for the projects where data privacy and security are not the primary concern for the client or the project. For the small projects the reusability of the product is limited.
Yes - Yes, I am part [of] Oracle User Groups. Oracle User Groups helped us so many times when we needed quick fixes and clarification which required experts [to] help to solve the issue. In the user groups, we ask our problems and questions [to] other users who [have] faced [similar issues] before. We also get their suggestions to make our application more productive.
From a support perspective Oracle Java SE is doing a good job, but their supporting framework (logging the support ticket till resolving) has to be redefined so it will make the support very easy. [The] main thing I want to highlight here [is that] the support staff was really helpful and they [were] also trained well. They quickly understand our issues and/or problems and they provided appropriate action.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We don't have Oracle Java SE Subscription installed on all the systems of the organization but few departments like IT support and software research and development sections have covered partially with it. The benefits we have got since the inception of Java SE Subscription are of great worth and we are planning to cover more machines with it in coming days. We are using Java SE Subscription for maintenance of all systems for Oracle products version controls, applying patches and security updates in accordance with departmental and user's job requirements.
  • Make job easier for IT technicians and remote support assistants.
  • Easy installation and integration process for security patch and update.
  • Frequent updates with technology needs.
  • Native package management tool is missing.
For IT-related infrastructures and departmental sections working on applications management and development, Oracle Java SE Subscription has a great significance for smooth and sustainable working with controlled industry requirement patches and updates. It is also very helpful for java version controls as per the user's job-based requirements. It is not required on systems that don't have Java-based applications and related job requirements.
We came across a little trouble during the installation phase of Java SE Subscription in the early days and after many hits and trials, decided to contact the support team of Oracle for troubleshooting, and it was a wonderful experience overall. The Support Engineer helped us in detail and walk us through troubleshooting until the problem was successfully resolved.
Read this authenticated review
January 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE Subscription is used in our organization for various use cases which includes but not limited to selection of requirement based Java versions on systems, providing required security updates, and applying security patch over remote systems. It is used by whole organization and all the systems are covered under Java SE subscription for smooth and secured operations.
  • Provides complete support and advanced management system for all machines
  • Understands and implement intelligently the required versions of Java SE as per industry needs
  • Long term support by Oracle
  • Per server cost is little high
To maintain and keeping systems updated for latest versions of Java SE with compliance of industry requirements and business needs is near to impossible without [Oracle] Java SE Subscription, so the organizations running their businesses under the shadow of Java and other Oracle products are compelled to have [Oracle] Java SE Subscription for smooth working. If Java and Oracle are not in your catalog then [Oracle] Java SE Subscription is less appropriate.
[Oracle] Java SE Subscription comes with a dedicated support package and the support warriors at Java SE are very helpful and generous whenever we have approached them. The quality of knowledge and product awareness is also very much appreciable unlike many other vendors in the industry, who hires third party support staff without giving them appropriate knowledge of the product.
Read this authenticated review

Oracle Java SE Subscription Scorecard Summary

What is Oracle Java SE Subscription?

Oracle states that Java is the most widely used software development language and platform, and that the world’s largest enterprises rely on this robust, trusted technology to run mission critical applications with unparalleled stability at scale. They further state that through Oracle’s stewardship and ecosystem collaboration, Java will continue to drive modern application architectures and innovation trends. Backed by Oracle, Java offers a trusted platform for the world’s largest enterprises.

Oracle Java SE Subscription offers enterprise-grade support for developers and enterprise customers alike, from the team that powers innovation in the JDK, delivering the vast majority of the contributions. It provides license and support for desktops and servers, to enable customers to manage Java SE installations, updates and upgrades across their enterprise. Oracle Java SE Subscription customers receive all-hours access to My Oracle Support, enterprise monitoring, management, and deployment features, early access to updates and bug fixes, and more.

The former Java SE Advanced, Java SE Advanced Desktop, and Java SE Suite products have transitioned to Java SE Subscription. For more information visit http://oracle.com/java
Categories:  App Development

Oracle Java SE Subscription Features

Has featureFlexibility on when and what to upgrade
Has featureSupport from the stewards of Java
Has featureAdvance management capabilities

Oracle Java SE Subscription Downloadables

Oracle Java SE Subscription Competitors

Red Hat, IBM, Azul

Oracle Java SE Subscription Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Oracle Java SE Subscription25.00per core per month
Oracle Java SE Desktop Subscription2.50per named user per month

Volume discounts also available.

Oracle Java SE Subscription Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Oracle Java SE Subscription Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global support: North America, EMEA, LAD, JAPAC
Supported Languages: English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean