Oracle Java SE Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
152 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Trang Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Oracle Java SE is my main programming language for various types of applications

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Java SE for various purposes including development API Rest Service with Restlet framework, front-end applications with Spring and Spring Boot framework, back-end applications, writing automation test-cases on Selenium using java SE and creating some convenient tools with Java. The Java application is well structured and strictly object-orientation making it easy to understand, manage and maintain.
  • Plenty support built into the tool and IDE like Maven, Ant, Eclipse, IntelliJ.
  • Strong object-orientation language and clear project structure.
  • Wrapper underlines hardware and memory management so the developers can focus on business and implementation.
  • It offers a huge library and framework support from third-parties and the community.
  • It is hard to manage memory.
  • Swing UI module is not good.
  • Need time to initiate VM so the startup time is a little slow compared to other programs like Bash or Python.
Oracle Java SE is the most popular program language and it suitable for almost kind of application and special for the big system which needs to separate into many sub-application with different business and deployment types as Java has many frameworks, libraries, and tools. Many of these are open-source tools by the community and support various integration types from Rest, SOAP API, RMI, File access... It has allowed me to be able to deploy in multiple OS without changing the code. In case the Application needs to deeply access hardware such as the driver, memory address, OS thread or needs to strickly manage memory such as allocating, pointing and deallocating, we needed another programming language.
Read Trang Nguyen's full review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Oracle Java SE Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the most used backend programming language at our company, we use Java, (or Java-based solutions) daily in our company. Most of the time we use it as the backend modules' main language, sometimes other extensions for smaller problems, like desktop-apps as JavaFX, or web apps, etc.
  • It's a robust, widely used, well-documented programming language
  • It's platform-independent.
  • Easy to learn, read, extend, use, etc.
  • Lately, the development of the language and the licensing policy cast some shadow over the language among our customers.
  • Modern, competitor programming languages tend to implement new, state-of-the-art things a bit faster.
  • Lombok plugin :)
From the smallest apps to the most complex web applications, the Java family provides a stable base for any projects. I would say it is one of the languages that every programmer must know at least a little... SE is also a great tool to teach new programmers.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Barry Burd | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Java for Education

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In higher education, Python is replacing Java as the primary language of instruction. I'm opposed to this trend. Java can be complicated for the novice user, but the highly organized nature of Java is important for the first exposure to a computer programming language. I don't have a preference for Oracle Java SE over other vendors' versions of Java SE. For my students, the differences aren't significant.
  • Well organized introduction to object-oriented programming.
  • Intelligently conceived type system.
  • Good use of functional features (considering that it's not a pure functional language).
  • We're waiting for the switch expression to become mainstream in the language.
It's not particularly appropriate for people who want a quick introduction to programming but don't intend to pursue programming seriously.
Read Barry Burd's full review
Richard Stanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Consistent value, but a bit like programming at Fry's Electronics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization mainly uses Microsoft technologies, but when we need to innovate for bleeding edge data analytics, we always lean on Java to provide the fastest data-based software builds.
  • Java Handles its own memory well!
  • Is a typed language, so has great standards.
  • I am unsure if the new speed of releases is realistic for the wider talent world to keep up.
  • Official training and support from Oracle to develop the community feels like it prices out new devs.
Java (and Spring) is great for large scale applications or large volumes of microservices. However, it is limited in usability for small quick applications. The boilerplate can be daunting.
Read Richard Stanley's full review
Terra Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Java SE from a Developer's perspective.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by to develop applications for naval combat systems. It's being used across the entire organization for various projects along with other programming languages. It addresses the business problem of needing a common programming language to create applications for combat and situational awareness that is well known and easy to understand.
  • Easy to understand, commonly taught in schools
  • Reliable
  • Can be developed once and used anywhere
  • Often difficult to diagnose memory leaks
  • Cost
  • Ease of obtaining support
Java is good for larger applications. It's good when the user doesn't want to care about memory management as the garbage collector will handle all that. It's also good as a teaching tool for people who are new to software development how to do it. It's the first language I was taught and my most favorite.
Read Terra Lo's full review
Michael Kolling | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Java in early programming education

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Java to teach an introductory programming course. Java is still currently the best language to achieve my goals. First of all, the course is not about teaching Java. It is about teaching principles of object orientation and of programming in general. Java exemplifies the principles very well. OO concepts can be discussed easily and clearly.
Secondly, in the education space, Java has the best tooling. Python, for example, is also popular in the space, but does not come close to Java in the quality of IDEs and other tools available. If you agree that educational environments really matter, Java has no serious competition.
  • The educational tools available are better than for other languages.
  • A very wide range of teaching material and ecosystem is available.
  • Great support is available for teachers in the community.
  • In more recent versions, the Java language has become more complex. Language features are being added that help professionals, but get in the way for novices.
In education, if you are teaching at university level, or in the later years in school, Java is a good choice.
If, on the other hand, you teach younger learners, Java is probably not the language you want. Free text editing is too hard for really young ones, and the concepts can overwhelm. I'd say, from age 16 upwards, use Java.
Read Michael Kolling's full review
Alex Jing | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

THE Java SE to go for.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java SE supports most of the company's microservices. It's the backbone of the company, where most of the processes run on, including product development, online services, streaming pipeline and offline data warehouse solutions. Java is really widely used and is one of the dominant language here in production and dev.
  • Java is very reliable.
  • Java is commonly used, so the community is very strong.
  • Support is lacking. Response for bug reports are slow and less than satisfactory.
Oracle Java SE is well suited for most internet solutions, including software development, online services, data streaming processing pipeline, offline warehouse, and big data analysis. Its rich ecosystem really enables most all the imaginable problems we face in both large and small scale, both online and offline. The only downside might be that the the ecosystem might be a little overwhelming to begin with.
Read Alex Jing's full review
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Oracle Java SE Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java has been the programming language used across the different companies I have worked for in the last years. I currently work for a large healthcare company, and Java has been the language of choice for most of the projects that involve developing software, web services, and the mission-critical applications.
  • Reliability.
  • Lots of literature and qualified resources.
  • An extensive set of libraries.
  • Some default Java libraries have known bugs.
  • The code is a little complex for beginners.
Java is without a doubt the language of choice for core and mission-critical services and applications. It's been a key enabler for our migration to microservices.
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
Ram Nair | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Ram's review on Oracle Java

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for software development and have developed several web based apps using Oracle Java SE. I manage several teams for software development. Most of my applications are Java-based, so my team uses Oracle Java SE to do this.
  • Ease of Use
  • Powerful - you can write really robust programs.
  • Multipurpose - you can link it with many other applications, within Oracle and others as well.
  • Availibilty
  • More IDE's
  • Can't do mobile development
  • Cloud platform - not based in the cloud
Less suited for cloud and more suited for in-house development. It's a very powerful and universally accepted language. Also it has various tools that support Java and also several integrations are possible. Every version of Java has more features built and hence it's recommended software. The universally accepted and unicode language is Java. Java is the best software language.
Read Ram Nair's full review
Xialin Zhu | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Java SE Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Almost all LinkedIn applications are Java ones. I'm on the team that builds infrastructure for all Java applications, in terms of functionality and performance. I'm working on improving the performance of Java in our company. Java SE is what powers all of our code in production machines.
  • Good collection of libraries.
  • Easy to learn. High productivity for developers.
  • Good infrastructure support internally.
  • GC performance. Hope it will be much better with the new GC coming up in Java 11.
  • Difficulty of Migration. Migration to a new major version is particularly challenging.
I think Oracle Java SE is a good fit for large scale applications. It's not a very good fit if you just need a small application with high performance.
Read Xialin Zhu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

Can't Go Wrong with Java

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE is is being used by our Software Development team for the creation of the core back-end modules that are communicating with our front-end interface of our main application. We needed a language that was widely supported by external libraries, and one that was durable and secure to use at the enterprise-level.
  • Runs on all OS Platforms. Applications made on Java can run on all modern OS platforms. No need to make separate.
  • Automatic Memory Management. Java's excellent implementation of a garbage collector clears up memory by removing unreferenced objects.
  • Multithreaded Performance. Shared memory areas maximizes the utility of the CPU, accomplishing more tasks than usual.
  • Commercial Licensing in 2019. Oracle will charge commercial organizations using Java SE for upgrading to the latest bug fixes and updates. Organizations will now need to either limit their implementation of Java SE or may need to drop it altogether.
  • Slow Performance. Due to the all of the abstraction of the JVM, Java SE programs take much more resources to compile and run compared to Python.
  • Poor UI appearance on all of the major GUI libraries (Swing, SWT, etc.). Through Android Studio, it is easy to get a native look/feel for Java apps, but when it comes to desktops, the UI is far from acceptable (does not mimic the native OS's look/feel at all).
If your organization is looking to create enterprise-level applications through a object-oriented method of programming. OS-independent applications, Android mobile applications, PoS systems, and Big Data programs are perfect scenarios where you would probably want to use Java. However, if your application needs to be lightweight and extremely fast performance, then Java SE might be too bulky for your use-case.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Java SE: secure and portable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE is being used by my organization in almost all of the development projects. Our Development Team has more than 8 years of experience coding applications on Java. Java software and applications are used across the whole organization and our customers and providers are using these too. We have solved bussines problems from differents areas like healthcare, finnancial, and human resources.
  • Java is portable
  • Java is stable
  • Learning Java is not easy.
  • You must be careful with memory management.
Java is secure, scalable and portable (you can run Java applications in different operative systems).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Best Oracle product ever!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE is used as a programming language for the majority of projects at our company. We are using it for the smallest internal projects but also for projects used by our biggest customers. It is versatile enough for most of our needs. Wide adoption rate is hugely beneficial for us.
  • Great support from Oracle!
  • Security updates are always on time.
  • A programming language which is easy to learn.
  • Slow startup time.
  • New features are often coming pretty late.
  • Static-typed language.
Server-side applications are a perfect fit for Oracle Java. Graphical User Interface heavy apps are not that good, since OS native languages are a better solution. Cloud-based applications, especially Lambda/Function-based are fine, however, slow startup may be problematic.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Java: a workhorse of business applications

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is the standard language for writing applications in an enterprise. Its dominant use is in writing business applications, but also for developing tools, particularly those that deal with databases and data. It is also used for Big Data applications, where the JVM allows for the use of other languages in the ecosystem. For example, Scala and Kotlin.
  • Mature platform.
  • Variety of enterprise-grade libraries.
  • Easy to find and hire developers.
  • Great performance.
  • Less verbose code.
  • Lighter deployments.
  • Inclusion of modern language constructs (as found in Scala and Kotlin).
Suitable for:
  • Business applications.
  • Tools when startup time is not critical.
  • Applications that benefit from a huge ecosystem of open-source mature libraries.
  • When easy hiring is important.

Consider alternatives with:
  • Serverless applications (cold start with Java can be considerable, look into Go, Node for better performance).
  • Developing in Kubernetes Cloud ecosystem-- there, most tools use Go.
  • Big Data processing -- consider Scala and Python.
  • Data science -- consider Python.
  • Low-level highly performant code without Garbage Collector -- consider Rust and C++.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Java SE Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this structure in software development for some internal and external applications.
  • We use our Enterprise Resouce Planning Applications development. And Java SE performance is very powerful.
  • Our budget planning application uses Java SE. Easy, very useful.
  • For Financial Consolidation application we use JAVA SE.
  • Application improvements can be made more easily.
  • Security and scheduling effects are made difficult in Java SE settings for critical applications.
  • Costs should be at the appropriate level.
Oracle Java SE is well suited for scientific applications. One of its biggest strengths is that it combines scientific opportunities with enterprise stability, scalability and security.

And for machine learning, data science, etc. less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Really good value in maintainable language.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is really an usable product. A lot of banking environment depends on it and most of the applications created on the banking stacks are utilizing the product. The developer learning curve is OK and it makes a really good basis for Object oriented programming. I can clearly recommend to learn it as a lot of open positions are there with Java language requirements.
  • Server application
  • Desktop application
  • Mobile applications
  • The previous lifecycle update was slow
  • The community process was really closed
  • The vm was slow to start
One of the best tools for SOA.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Great for cross-platform software

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to quickly deploy data visualization for our radio frequency experiment measurements that can be used across multiple platforms and operating systems.
  • Well written documentation for quick and easy lookup.
  • Platform-independency allows us to cut time in development.
  • Confusing regex expressions.
  • Not a language for lower level programming.
When a team needs to run a cross-platform high-level software that does little to none to direct control of lower-level hardware, Java is the way to go.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Java is a great product. Oracle could have better support.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is used to run all sorts of applications, both online and offline included. It addresses the need for serving business logic in a maintainable and scalable manner.
  • Maintainable.
  • Scalable.
  • Great Community.
  • Customer service is lacking.
  • Support is lacking.
Java is well suited for large scale applications that will benefit from having a large community.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

The best programming language

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Java SE across the organization. There are tons of people using it in one form or other. We have many tools supporting Java programs and the code in them for writing logic and transformations. We build Java-based web services, applications, and tools to support our internal technology needs.
  • It's a great programming language used by millions of people and devices.
  • I think it's easy to learn and fast to use.
  • There is so much help and content online to use it and build on it.
  • I wish it had support to data science and machine learning as Python does.
  • I wish we can do exploratory data analysis easily like in R or Python.
Oracle Java SE is well suited for any basic programming. We can spin up web applications using servlets and export java programs to web services easily using Axis or other frameworks. I think it's less appropriate for data science, machine learning and other scientific analysis such as exploratory data analysis and predictions.
Read this authenticated review
Mark Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

Java is still King

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is being used in my company as the base of all our IT operations. Given its ubiquity, we are easily able to find both developers and active development libraries that support our core business. Java has been a key business enabler for us.
  • Java is cross-platform. We are able to run our applications in a variety of infrastructures with allows us to select the best one for its particular use-case
  • Java has amassed an extensive set of libraries, both first and third party which acts as a force multiplier for our teams.
  • Java is well known and gives us a large pool from which to draw technical resources
  • The new pricing structure of Java has left many concerns in the community as to the proper upgrade path
  • The new release schedule has put us In a rough spot as our applications are failing behind Java versions quickly
  • Java has a reputation for insecurities, which can lead to hard conversations about its security
Java is well suited for any backend service application such as microservices. It is also well suited to any company looking to have a strong technical base to build off of with numerous tools already built for it.

One area where other tools may be more efficient is in web front end hosting. There are languages and platforms built specifically for this domain and may result in an easier setup than Java.
Read Mark Carpenter's full review
Whitney Vosevwa | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

Awesome for the financial industry

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a great software that we use in the software development department to help in developing software's for the banking industry. It is simple and easy to manipulate in order to come up with a running solution in the runtime environment. The solutions are very valuable to many different financial institutions thanks to this great software.
  • It is open source.
  • It is available to many types of operating systems i.e. it is cross-platform and cannot be limited to a specific OS.
  • It is very stable.
  • I have not found any con of Java SE.
I would say that Java SE is recommended for mobile development, in Android operating system. It is also used for the creation of secure ISO messages that are used in client server communications in many different applications used across departments in various organizations in different fields. It is so very stable.
Read Whitney Vosevwa's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Oracle Java SE in my world!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For developing and maintaining software we use it as our core programming language. We interface with third party tools with software tools developed and packaged using Oracle Java.
  • Ease of use and finding resources . We can find many trained experienced resources and also trouble shooting with the vast amount of resources online .
  • Adaptibility and Portability across to newer java versions.
  • Any new thirty party package is just plug and play . The versatility of oracle java makes it a no brainer
  • If customizing it against client needs is easier and streamlined it will make us more efficient
  • Backward compatibility of newer versions is a bottleneck
  • Also tight coupling versions with soft party tools; if there is a way to mitigate this problem upgrades will be effortless
For small companies it’s easier to maintain and acquire licenses, but it will be a hassle for large companies—especially the cost related to upgrades and end of service life apps.
Read this authenticated review
Jean Georges Perrin | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2018

Consistent and Reliable

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is used in most projects I was involved in the last 20 years. It definitely had its ups and downs but is always here as a very solid foundation for any project. Performance and reliability are certainly the 2 qualities I think about Java now. The Oracle variation is probably not my favorite, but this is more personal than fact-backed.
  • Reliable
  • Consistent
  • Performant
  • Safe
  • Slow evolution
  • Some concepts are not straight forward
Any enterprise application would benefit from Java as a reliable platform.
Read Jean Georges Perrin's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2017

Java for everything.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java for everything you need. Our developers and me personally love Java as a strong language with all the possibilities you can expect to develop any type of system. We use java in the development department, in the testing department and it is the basis of 80% of the projects we carry out.
  • Small, medium and large applications. Key projects for any client.
  • Working with Frameworks like Spring, Struts, etc.
  • Android applications, systems that use special hardware, Arduino, etc.
  • Maybe Java could think of a way to simplify the code for beginners.
  • Less lawsuits, come on Oracle. Java was born to be free for everybody!
In terms of information technology, Oracle Java SE is well suited for everything or almost everything. There are clients with architectures based on another language like C #. In these cases or by the customer's own needs another language could be used.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2018

Oracle Java SE in the Finance Industry

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OJSE is used in my team to implement low-latency microservices for a trading platform. Wide industry adoption and ease of deployment across heterogeneous hardware setups make it a language of choice for us. Other teams in the department also use OJSE as their language of choice when approaching other unique business problems.
  • Since Java runs on a virtual machine, it's generally considered to be agnostic of the hardware it's running on. It allows for deployment across a mix of hardware setups with the same binary.
  • Lots of literature, third party libraries, support forums, and books have been devoted to Java in general, making it a great language to use to support the business.
  • Backwards compatibility has been an important strength of Java for us. Legacy code that isn't ready to be retired yet can still run on our newer setups despite using older versions of OJSE.
  • The standard JVM generally requires a warming up period, and if you aren't cognizant of that, may get subpar performance on critical paths because they haven't been executed sufficiently yet.
  • Java's virtual machine abstracts away underlying hardware details, and that prevents developers from directly optimizing a solution for the hardware it'll be running on.
Great for solutions where you are unsure of the underlying hardware or may use different setups for the same binary. Not so great if you require fine control over memory management and data structure organization since that can't be controlled as easily by the developer. Lots of third party libraries available that can be leveraged to help bring your application to market faster.
Read this authenticated review

About Oracle Java SE

Oracle Java SE is a programming language and gives customers enterprise features that minimize the costs of deployment and maintenance of their Java-based IT environment.

For more information visit https://www.oracle.com/java/technologies/javase-downloads.html
Categories:  App Development

Oracle Java SE Competitors

Android Studio, SAP, AWS

Oracle Java SE Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No