Oracle Java SE

Oracle Java SE

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.8 out of 100
Oracle Java SE

Overview

Recent Reviews

Oracle Java SE is evergreen

8 out of 10
September 28, 2021
Across the organization JDK is used, microservices development is the key area where JDK is used. All kinds of businesses like data …
Continue reading

Java SE: secure and portable

10 out of 10
December 17, 2019
Oracle Java SE is being used by my organization in almost all of the development projects. Our Development Team has more than 8 years of …
Continue reading

Java SE Review

8 out of 10
November 19, 2019
We use this structure in software development for some internal and external applications.
Continue reading

Can't Go Wrong with Java

7 out of 10
October 09, 2019
Oracle Java SE is is being used by our Software Development team for the creation of the core back-end modules that are communicating with …
Continue reading

Best Oracle product ever!

9 out of 10
October 02, 2019
Oracle Java SE is used as a programming language for the majority of projects at our company. We are using it for the smallest internal …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Oracle Java SE, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Oracle Java SE?

Oracle Java SE is a programming language and gives customers enterprise features that minimize the costs of deployment and maintenance of their Java-based IT environment.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Firebase?

Google offers the Firebase suite of application development tools, available free or at cost for higher degree of usages, priced flexibly accorded to features needed. The suite includes A/B testing and Crashlytics, Cloud Messaging (FCM) and in-app messaging, cloud storage and NoSQL storage (Cloud…

What is Oracle Java SE Subscription?

Oracle Java SE Subscription combines license and support into a subscription to enable users to manage Java SE installations, updates and upgrades across the enterprise. The former Java SE Advanced, Java SE Advanced Desktop, and Java SE Suite products have transitioned to a Java SE Subscriptions.…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Oracle Java SE?

Oracle Java SE is a programming language and gives customers enterprise features that minimize the costs of deployment and maintenance of their Java-based IT environment.

Oracle Java SE Competitors

Oracle Java SE Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Oracle Java SE's top competitors?

Android Studio are common alternatives for Oracle Java SE.

What is Oracle Java SE's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses Oracle Java SE?

The most common users of Oracle Java SE are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (226)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 34)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Mohammad Rashid Raza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We as an information technology company use Oracle Java SE to develop various tools and services for our clients. We develop applications, software, and endpoints to bring the clients business and information in the world of the web. Using java design patterns we are writing codes for designing servlets, interfaces, and endpoints to expose and fetch the data to or from the third party system, implementing spring framework to develop a power web portal. Java is one of the great open-source backend programming languages.
  • Platform independent, robust and secure programming
  • Auto memory management using garbage collection
  • Huge number of framework available for development
  • Oracle doc can be improve more in detail
Oracle Java SE is suited for web portal development, various mobile app development or Andriod, developing endpoints and API including REST and SOAP web services, OSGi fragmentation, and many more. A huge number of tools are Java as backend programming to add on the feature and functionality to their tool.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We write our web REST APIs in Sprint boot which is based on Java SE. Our REST APIs work as a backend system which accepts user requests and talks to the database to fulfil user requests. Oracle Java SE has been our default choice for building web backend systems for a number of other projects as well.
  • Wide support from the developers community
  • Platform Independent - Runs seamlessly on all OS
  • Open Source
  • Easy deployments because of JVMs portability
  • Independent support for functional paradigms should be added
  • Garbage collection can be improved
  • Type checks can be eased
  • Network libraries can be added
Use java where you need a strongly typed, compiled, platform independent, consistent and reliable language for enterprise applications. You will easily be able to run your code on multiple platforms without making any changes to the code. Pair it with spring boot and you will have a robust web and API development framework.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is the most widely used programming language at our company. The flexibility (OS agnostic), ease of rapid development, as well as the relative high performance helps us react quickly to our ever changing ecosystem (ad-tech). We use Java on all types of applications, from a low latency exchange to a backend web API for a user-facing application.
  • The JVM makes deploying across platforms simple
  • Widely supported in the open-source community
  • Actively maintained and developed
  • Very object oriented, hard to use modern functional programming paradigms
  • GC can cause performance issues
Java is well suited for an application that needs to focus on applying business logic and rapid feature development. Java is lacking when performance and computing resources are constrained.
Great support for Oracle and the open-source community
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is running almost every internal operation except for the frontend side of the web application. The versatility the language provides has allowed us to optimize the applications to be more performant and less energy/resource consumptive.
  • It's very fast. Especially if you use the right "tools" for the "right" task
  • It's very secure, type safe/strong language, which is great for production usage
  • It's has a gigantic opensource community, so you can find a framework or library for your needs in mere minutes
  • Strong encapsulation and modular architecture lets you sleep well at night
  • I would like to see more standardization on the convention level of good code practices in Java that could be promoted by Oracle
  • I would like to see a little more investment into JavaFX as with Graal VM there is a big potential
  • I would like to see more WebAssambly/WASM related features
With the introduction of Graal VM based native containerization of your Java application, there is no way not to recommend using Oracle Java; also with Oracle Java JDK becoming free for production usage, more people can use it in production with the ease of mind knowing that libraries their code is reaching out to, are top-notch for safety and performance.
September 28, 2021

Oracle Java SE is evergreen

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the organization JDK is used, microservices development is the key area where JDK is used. All kinds of businesses like data modeling, file read, logging, email processing, API calls, different libraries written using SE are used to solve many implementations challenges. [Oracle Java SE] is used for any latest and greatest platforms available in the world.
  • Lot of coding has to be done in case of [Oracle Java SE] compared to python
  • Memory optimization
  • Mathematical operations in short codes
  • Graph and network related libraries should be added
Enterprise level, web applications, security concerned application, embedded systems, cloud-based applications, best design patterns, and good programming standards are the places where [Oracle Java SE] is best suited. [Oracle Java SE] is best for large applications that could be broken down [into] microservices and can fulfill all the required implementations and support for EE.
April 11, 2021

Queen of OOP--Java

Shipra Dubey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The project on which my team is working is using Oracle Java SE. It is used by all the software developers in the team. We are using different libraries in Java for the front-end and back-end development of the software.
  • Highly secure and object oriented
  • Exception handling
  • Easy integration with other open-source libraries
  • No option of pointers in Java
  • Memory management is not well handled
It depends on the technology on which the team is working. If you need to develop software with respect to object-oriented programming principles, Java is one of the best programming languages available. One can use Angular and other frameworks for the front end and Java as a back end.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Java in our main application for physics simulation. Until it became a paid license, we shipped our product with Oracle Java SE. Now we ship with AdoptOpenJDK, but still, support using Oracle Java SE with our product.
  • Supports multiple platforms
  • Supports modern concepts such as streams and functional interfaces
  • Good tooling available (IDEs, debuggers, profilers, etc)
  • No ability to automatically clean up resources such as via destructors in C++. End users must explicitly invoke a method (e.g. close, dispose) to ensure resources are freed in a timely manner.
  • Garbage collection can introduce pauses at runtime (although this is improving)
  • Memory leaks are sometimes difficult to find due to automatic garbage collection
Oracle Java SE is well suited to long-running applications (e.g. servers). Java Swing (UI toolkit) is now rather outdated, lacking support for modern UI features. JavaFX, the potential replacement for Swing, has now been separated out of Java core. Ideally, there would be a path to migrate a large application incrementally from Swing to JavaFX, but due to different threading models and other aspects, it is difficult. At this point, it is probably better to use an embedded web browser (e.g. JxBrowser) to provide a modern UI in HTML/Javascript and keep just the business logic in Java.
It is possible to submit bugs to the Java development team, although they aren't always addressed in a timely manner. It would be better if you could comment on tickets in the bug database (at least on the ones you entered). You can update your own tickets, but the process is clunky. There is paid support available, but we don't use that. It is also possible to become a contributor to the OpenJDK project.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE is being used by my organization in almost all of the development projects. Our Development Team has more than 8 years of experience coding applications on Java. Java software and applications are used across the whole organization and our customers and providers are using these too. We have solved bussines problems from differents areas like healthcare, finnancial, and human resources.
  • Java is portable
  • Java is stable
  • Learning Java is not easy.
  • You must be careful with memory management.
Java is secure, scalable and portable (you can run Java applications in different operative systems).
I have not used the support.
November 21, 2019

Oracle Java SE Review

Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java has been the programming language used across the different companies I have worked for in the last years. I currently work for a large healthcare company, and Java has been the language of choice for most of the projects that involve developing software, web services, and the mission-critical applications.
  • Reliability.
  • Lots of literature and qualified resources.
  • An extensive set of libraries.
  • Some default Java libraries have known bugs.
  • The code is a little complex for beginners.
Java is without a doubt the language of choice for core and mission-critical services and applications. It's been a key enabler for our migration to microservices.
There is a lot to be improved in terms of support. Wish that could be better.
November 19, 2019

Java SE Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this structure in software development for some internal and external applications.
  • We use our Enterprise Resouce Planning Applications development. And Java SE performance is very powerful.
  • Our budget planning application uses Java SE. Easy, very useful.
  • For Financial Consolidation application we use JAVA SE.
  • Application improvements can be made more easily.
  • Security and scheduling effects are made difficult in Java SE settings for critical applications.
  • Costs should be at the appropriate level.
Oracle Java SE is well suited for scientific applications. One of its biggest strengths is that it combines scientific opportunities with enterprise stability, scalability and security.

And for machine learning, data science, etc. less appropriate.
I didn't need standard support, I solved most of my problems over the internet.
Trang Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Java SE for various purposes including development API Rest Service with Restlet framework, front-end applications with Spring and Spring Boot framework, back-end applications, writing automation test-cases on Selenium using java SE and creating some convenient tools with Java. The Java application is well structured and strictly object-orientation making it easy to understand, manage and maintain.
  • Plenty support built into the tool and IDE like Maven, Ant, Eclipse, IntelliJ.
  • Strong object-orientation language and clear project structure.
  • Wrapper underlines hardware and memory management so the developers can focus on business and implementation.
  • It offers a huge library and framework support from third-parties and the community.
  • It is hard to manage memory.
  • Swing UI module is not good.
  • Need time to initiate VM so the startup time is a little slow compared to other programs like Bash or Python.
Oracle Java SE is the most popular program language and it suitable for almost kind of application and special for the big system which needs to separate into many sub-application with different business and deployment types as Java has many frameworks, libraries, and tools. Many of these are open-source tools by the community and support various integration types from Rest, SOAP API, RMI, File access... It has allowed me to be able to deploy in multiple OS without changing the code. In case the Application needs to deeply access hardware such as the driver, memory address, OS thread or needs to strickly manage memory such as allocating, pointing and deallocating, we needed another programming language.
The support from the community is great. We are able to find the design solution, the example of code for specifying logic, ready application architecture from the community, and when we have a problem or issue we are able to find similar questions and answers on the internet.
October 09, 2019

Can't Go Wrong with Java

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE is is being used by our Software Development team for the creation of the core back-end modules that are communicating with our front-end interface of our main application. We needed a language that was widely supported by external libraries, and one that was durable and secure to use at the enterprise-level.
  • Runs on all OS Platforms. Applications made on Java can run on all modern OS platforms. No need to make separate.
  • Automatic Memory Management. Java's excellent implementation of a garbage collector clears up memory by removing unreferenced objects.
  • Multithreaded Performance. Shared memory areas maximizes the utility of the CPU, accomplishing more tasks than usual.
  • Commercial Licensing in 2019. Oracle will charge commercial organizations using Java SE for upgrading to the latest bug fixes and updates. Organizations will now need to either limit their implementation of Java SE or may need to drop it altogether.
  • Slow Performance. Due to the all of the abstraction of the JVM, Java SE programs take much more resources to compile and run compared to Python.
  • Poor UI appearance on all of the major GUI libraries (Swing, SWT, etc.). Through Android Studio, it is easy to get a native look/feel for Java apps, but when it comes to desktops, the UI is far from acceptable (does not mimic the native OS's look/feel at all).
If your organization is looking to create enterprise-level applications through a object-oriented method of programming. OS-independent applications, Android mobile applications, PoS systems, and Big Data programs are perfect scenarios where you would probably want to use Java. However, if your application needs to be lightweight and extremely fast performance, then Java SE might be too bulky for your use-case.
Java SE is extremely widely known. A good share of all companies have some solutions using Java. As a result, the support and updates for Java are excellent.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is really an usable product. A lot of banking environment depends on it and most of the applications created on the banking stacks are utilizing the product. The developer learning curve is OK and it makes a really good basis for Object oriented programming. I can clearly recommend to learn it as a lot of open positions are there with Java language requirements.
  • Server application
  • Desktop application
  • Mobile applications
  • The previous lifecycle update was slow
  • The community process was really closed
  • The vm was slow to start
One of the best tools for SOA.
It has a real good documentation on the internet, I never needed to contact official support.
October 07, 2019

Oracle Java SE Review

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the most used backend programming language at our company, we use Java, (or Java-based solutions) daily in our company. Most of the time we use it as the backend modules' main language, sometimes other extensions for smaller problems, like desktop-apps as JavaFX, or web apps, etc.
  • It's a robust, widely used, well-documented programming language
  • It's platform-independent.
  • Easy to learn, read, extend, use, etc.
  • Lately, the development of the language and the licensing policy cast some shadow over the language among our customers.
  • Modern, competitor programming languages tend to implement new, state-of-the-art things a bit faster.
  • Lombok plugin :)
From the smallest apps to the most complex web applications, the Java family provides a stable base for any projects. I would say it is one of the languages that every programmer must know at least a little... SE is also a great tool to teach new programmers.
Honestly, I never really needed support for Java from official sources, most of the times Stack Overflow was sufficient. The mere number of ppl around the world who are using it is more than enough support.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Java SE is used as a programming language for the majority of projects at our company. We are using it for the smallest internal projects but also for projects used by our biggest customers. It is versatile enough for most of our needs. Wide adoption rate is hugely beneficial for us.
  • Great support from Oracle!
  • Security updates are always on time.
  • A programming language which is easy to learn.
  • Slow startup time.
  • New features are often coming pretty late.
  • Static-typed language.
Server-side applications are a perfect fit for Oracle Java. Graphical User Interface heavy apps are not that good, since OS native languages are a better solution. Cloud-based applications, especially Lambda/Function-based are fine, however, slow startup may be problematic.
We've never encountered any problems with support.
September 26, 2019

Java for Education

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In higher education, Python is replacing Java as the primary language of instruction. I'm opposed to this trend. Java can be complicated for the novice user, but the highly organized nature of Java is important for the first exposure to a computer programming language. I don't have a preference for Oracle Java SE over other vendors' versions of Java SE. For my students, the differences aren't significant.
  • Well organized introduction to object-oriented programming.
  • Intelligently conceived type system.
  • Good use of functional features (considering that it's not a pure functional language).
  • We're waiting for the switch expression to become mainstream in the language.
It's not particularly appropriate for people who want a quick introduction to programming but don't intend to pursue programming seriously.
Since its introduction in the mid-1990s, Java has been an excellent way to introduce students to the discipline of computer programming.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is the standard language for writing applications in an enterprise. Its dominant use is in writing business applications, but also for developing tools, particularly those that deal with databases and data. It is also used for Big Data applications, where the JVM allows for the use of other languages in the ecosystem. For example, Scala and Kotlin.
  • Mature platform.
  • Variety of enterprise-grade libraries.
  • Easy to find and hire developers.
  • Great performance.
  • Less verbose code.
  • Lighter deployments.
  • Inclusion of modern language constructs (as found in Scala and Kotlin).
Suitable for:
  • Business applications.
  • Tools when startup time is not critical.
  • Applications that benefit from a huge ecosystem of open-source mature libraries.
  • When easy hiring is important.

Consider alternatives with:
  • Serverless applications (cold start with Java can be considerable, look into Go, Node for better performance).
  • Developing in Kubernetes Cloud ecosystem-- there, most tools use Go.
  • Big Data processing -- consider Scala and Python.
  • Data science -- consider Python.
  • Low-level highly performant code without Garbage Collector -- consider Rust and C++.
Java is such a mature product at this point that there is little support from the vendor that is needed. Various sources on the internet, and especially StackOverflow, provide a wealth of knowledge and advice.
Areas that may benefit from support is when dealing with complex multithreading issues and security libraries.
Richard Stanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization mainly uses Microsoft technologies, but when we need to innovate for bleeding edge data analytics, we always lean on Java to provide the fastest data-based software builds.
  • Java Handles its own memory well!
  • Is a typed language, so has great standards.
  • I am unsure if the new speed of releases is realistic for the wider talent world to keep up.
  • Official training and support from Oracle to develop the community feels like it prices out new devs.
Java (and Spring) is great for large scale applications or large volumes of microservices. However, it is limited in usability for small quick applications. The boilerplate can be daunting.
Most of the best support comes from the community. As such, I don't know that I feel Oracle provides the right kind of balance outside the pay wall.
September 18, 2019

Ram's review on Oracle Java

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for software development and have developed several web based apps using Oracle Java SE. I manage several teams for software development. Most of my applications are Java-based, so my team uses Oracle Java SE to do this.
  • Ease of Use
  • Powerful - you can write really robust programs.
  • Multipurpose - you can link it with many other applications, within Oracle and others as well.
  • Availibilty
  • More IDE's
  • Can't do mobile development
  • Cloud platform - not based in the cloud
Less suited for cloud and more suited for in-house development. It's a very powerful and universally accepted language. Also it has various tools that support Java and also several integrations are possible. Every version of Java has more features built and hence it's recommended software. The universally accepted and unicode language is Java. Java is the best software language.
Terra Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by to develop applications for naval combat systems. It's being used across the entire organization for various projects along with other programming languages. It addresses the business problem of needing a common programming language to create applications for combat and situational awareness that is well known and easy to understand.
  • Easy to understand, commonly taught in schools
  • Reliable
  • Can be developed once and used anywhere
  • Often difficult to diagnose memory leaks
  • Cost
  • Ease of obtaining support
Java is good for larger applications. It's good when the user doesn't want to care about memory management as the garbage collector will handle all that. It's also good as a teaching tool for people who are new to software development how to do it. It's the first language I was taught and my most favorite.
I don't have an opinion on this as I do not recall the last time I have had to contact Oracle support.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Java to teach an introductory programming course. Java is still currently the best language to achieve my goals. First of all, the course is not about teaching Java. It is about teaching principles of object orientation and of programming in general. Java exemplifies the principles very well. OO concepts can be discussed easily and clearly.
Secondly, in the education space, Java has the best tooling. Python, for example, is also popular in the space, but does not come close to Java in the quality of IDEs and other tools available. If you agree that educational environments really matter, Java has no serious competition.
  • The educational tools available are better than for other languages.
  • A very wide range of teaching material and ecosystem is available.
  • Great support is available for teachers in the community.
  • In more recent versions, the Java language has become more complex. Language features are being added that help professionals, but get in the way for novices.
In education, if you are teaching at university level, or in the later years in school, Java is a good choice.
If, on the other hand, you teach younger learners, Java is probably not the language you want. Free text editing is too hard for really young ones, and the concepts can overwhelm. I'd say, from age 16 upwards, use Java.
The Java community is open. The JCP allows people to get involved. It is easy to get information.
September 18, 2019

THE Java SE to go for.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java SE supports most of the company's microservices. It's the backbone of the company, where most of the processes run on, including product development, online services, streaming pipeline and offline data warehouse solutions. Java is really widely used and is one of the dominant language here in production and dev.
  • Java is very reliable.
  • Java is commonly used, so the community is very strong.
  • Support is lacking. Response for bug reports are slow and less than satisfactory.
Oracle Java SE is well suited for most internet solutions, including software development, online services, data streaming processing pipeline, offline warehouse, and big data analysis. Its rich ecosystem really enables most all the imaginable problems we face in both large and small scale, both online and offline. The only downside might be that the the ecosystem might be a little overwhelming to begin with.
I have never gotten a satisfactory response from Oracle support for my questions.
September 18, 2019

Java SE Review

Xialin Zhu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Almost all LinkedIn applications are Java ones. I'm on the team that builds infrastructure for all Java applications, in terms of functionality and performance. I'm working on improving the performance of Java in our company. Java SE is what powers all of our code in production machines.
  • Good collection of libraries.
  • Easy to learn. High productivity for developers.
  • Good infrastructure support internally.
  • GC performance. Hope it will be much better with the new GC coming up in Java 11.
  • Difficulty of Migration. Migration to a new major version is particularly challenging.
I think Oracle Java SE is a good fit for large scale applications. It's not a very good fit if you just need a small application with high performance.
We don't run into many issues in general with Java SE.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to quickly deploy data visualization for our radio frequency experiment measurements that can be used across multiple platforms and operating systems.
  • Well written documentation for quick and easy lookup.
  • Platform-independency allows us to cut time in development.
  • Confusing regex expressions.
  • Not a language for lower level programming.
When a team needs to run a cross-platform high-level software that does little to none to direct control of lower-level hardware, Java is the way to go.
The community is massive, and a lot of resources can be easily accessed.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Java is used to run all sorts of applications, both online and offline included. It addresses the need for serving business logic in a maintainable and scalable manner.
  • Maintainable.
  • Scalable.
  • Great Community.
  • Customer service is lacking.
  • Support is lacking.
Java is well suited for large scale applications that will benefit from having a large community.
The reasoning they give for some of the reasons brought up was not sufficient in my opinion.