Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
98 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

JDE Is definitely worth considering for your one-stop-shop construction needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A majority of our cost controls, revenue claiming, change events, forecasting, purchase order processing, and account payable is done through JDE. I would actually say that every aspect of our back office has in one way to another ended up being used by this program. Something that made this a one-stop-shop for us was the ability to continue using the programs for all different facets of our working model. Updating Cost codes and transferring them over to our Daily log program became a breeze.
  • The forecasting modules used for JDE are amazing. It allows us to use best practices for claiming forecasted costs and revenues.
  • JDE allows us to track our change events in their own module and apply different meanings to statuses- something extremely useful in the construction world.
  • Cost coding/budgeting simplified. By using the same budget module, revising budgets, active cost coding and purchase ordering, you can get a realistic snapshot of your job at the drop of a hat.
  • Without a doubt their UI needs improvement. There can be an entire lesson on the nuances of working within the JDE modules. Where to click, what does what, how come one method is not congruent with the other module? Although this program is definitely a goliath in the industry, there is something to be said about programs that can simplify even the more data-driven problems.
  • I would say that JDE needs to work on their security as well. Not from external attacks (they have that covered) but just within the programming of allowing people to have multiple roles. I'll say with confidence that I have to wear many hats at my company, meaning I need access to cost data along with Procurement data. For some reason, this was not achievable by JDE / IT and I had to have two separate accounts set up to access different modules.
  • I'm not sure if this is a flaw per se, but I noticed that a lot of people are extremely turned off by all the customizations allowable within each module. I personally enjoy it, but I've noticed the older generation definitely shies away from it altogether.
I would say that this software is well suited for you if you own a large construction company and can pay for them to customize it to your needs. We had to pay a large amount of money to get this contract, in the order of 10-50 million dollars. It was a bumpy start and a bit clunky initially, but I can say now that it's definitely worth the investment. It has totally changed how we do things. So long story long: if you need the one stop shop for a construction company (WARNING: does not include a daily log module, or a time card module, or to be used for estimating, more databasing and analytics) then I would recommend this software.
Yes - I am a member of the New York Oracle User Group.

I would say that having the ears of the men and women writing the code gives us an edge on the competition, allowing us to resolve unique problems for unique scenarios. This is definitely one of the selling points.
Read J. Mickey Merguerian's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

JD Edwards Enterprise, solid accounting and ERP capabilities

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is used as the accounting GL, AP, AR master for the company consolidating financials across six other ERP systems (obtained through acquisition) and business units. It is used for purchasing of all raw materials for manufacturing as well as corporate expenses and vendor management. It is also used for manufacturing management for two business units. It solves the problem of traditional accounting/ERP management of the business and financial reporting.
  • Vendor Management - excellent contact tracking tied to purchase orders, payments, etc
  • Financial consolidation - JD Edwards EnterpriseOne was easy to interface with at the GL level, bringing in records from other systems and consolidating them into the chart of accounts
  • Security - JD Edwards EnterpriseOne was clearly built for the enterprise model carefully constructing permission access models and applying them to business objections so you can get a fine grain level control.
  • The interface is aging - The application has been around quite a while. Even with the more modern UI, it still feels like a 90's application and doesn't provide the quick augmentation options like what is found in NetSuite or cloud apps.
  • A premise based - It's an application that was built to run on mini/mainframe environments, which were great for its time. However, in comparison to the hand's free environments in the cloud, it requires more iron and humans to maintain the solution.
  • Speed to roll out new business models - It felt like, once you deployed a business setup, it was difficult to change and add new business features, especially those that contradict previous directions.
JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is excellent when you are looking for multiple smaller businesses to roll into another for business reporting and consolidation. Because of the robust GL controls, it's excellent for bringing that information together, collating it, and then reporting on it. We also found that it was self-evident for auditors to be able to review the trial and understand what was done, with minimal hand-holding.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Accountant's look at JD Edwards EnterpriseOne

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is used across our entire company and multiple subsidiaries from production to accounting. Accounting is my primary use for for this software. We use this for multiple rounds of yearly budgets as well as daily, monthly, and yearly activities. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is a great ERP that allows the company to use one program to address multiple business functions.
  • ERP system allows for multiple parts of business to be conducted in one system
  • Easy to learn and maneuver
  • Will not generate physical invoices for users to be able to view after they are created in the system
  • Reporting is not very customizable
Great for companies that have productions or multiple functions and want an ERP that allows for multiple business functions in one. If you are a paper document based company that does not do a lot in your accounting system or a small company, then I would not recommend this system for your business.
Read this authenticated review
Ayo Fernando | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

How JD Edwards Helps a Leading Municipality

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a leading municipality in Texas, using JD Edwards for Procurement, General Ledger, A/R, A/P, Inventory, Sales Orders, etc. The whole city uses JDE. It handles procurement we do through various contracts for bidding going by the state laws. We have build custom contract systems to keep track of contract details going by the state requirements. Also, as we handle budgeting in our city a little differently, we are using the JDE budget module with some customizations unique to us. Also, we are using a module call Utiligy, which we got from a JDE partner, to keep track and bill for city utilities. Basically JDE handles all the financial transactions in the city.
  • We have more than 2000 employees in the city and as a municipality we handle things a little differently. JD Edwards handles it really well with minimum customizations.
  • The beauty of JDE is, it is big enough to handle the work load of the city but small enough to maintain with a small technical staff with in the city.
  • It is not a complicated system to configure like SAP. A medium sized company can cover most of the areas of the company especially that feeds to the financial system with comparably smaller effort.
  • [It would be great] if we could connect security set up and approval routes in procurement and other modules. Currently those are two separate areas that require mutually exclusive set up, even when they are connected.
  • Cross reference facility of the files should be dynamic so developers can refer to those instantly.
  • We should be able to make the package assemble, built and deployments simpler, if there's a way to have a template that customer builds once which can be used after.
If there are lot of complicated systems this might not be the best system. If you have only some complexity Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is a product a technical or application person can wrap their hands around and understand the whole system.
Yes - Quest. Because they have an online community and also has workshops for the latest features comes up. That gives hands on training on technology coming up from JDE.
Read Ayo Fernando's full review
Alexa Siebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Oracle JD Edwards Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The accounting and HR departments utilize this software for employees. We use this for time sheets, benefits, time off, and other employee-related documents. It enables these teams to use one combined software to review and approve all employee-related documents. It also includes an entire section devoted to open enrollment for benefits. In addition, employees are able to keep track of their general leave and their pay stubs.
  • Ease of access.
  • General leave info.
  • Timesheets.
  • The template needs updating.
  • It can be slow to load.
  • First-timers may get lost due to the template.
It would be less appropriate for smaller companies and is very beneficial to larger organizations. It helps keep all employee information accessible and easy to track. For example, the city implements this as a whole. Employees and HR/Accounting can work better knowing all the information is in one spot.
Read Alexa Siebert's full review
Hiran Ravi | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2019

Good ERP system to get things done

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JDE is our financial system, sales order management system, purchase order system, and inventory system. Because we are a public company, we have to keep accurate records of all financial transactions. JDE does just that, making our lives easier.
  • Accurate financial records.
  • With a team of 12 analysts and programmers, we can get the job done.
  • If we have issues we cannot solve, we can get good support by calling or connecting to Oracle support.
  • I really like support calling us to help us with the issues we have. Calling is no longer their preferred method for many years now.
  • I think the set-up can be simplified, and I am sure they can do a better job.
JDE is a medium-sized Enterprise Resource Package. It has added a few modules in the last few years which cover many specialty areas. But this is not a system to replace SAP.
Yes - Quest JD Edwards group. Good value from the conferences.
Read Hiran Ravi's full review
Rohan Bramhe | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Rohan Bramhe's review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business helps implement Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne for other businesses. We provide support and customization.
  • JD Edwards software is intuitive to learn once the front-end installation and set-up has been done properly.
  • Software built for scaling.
  • Friendly UX.
  • Room for improvement in query speed.
  • Room for improvement in query customization.
Scenarios where Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne include: custom report building and automation. This helps a lot when clients need something done I have mastery in setting up this software solution.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Rohan Bramhe's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is the financial and manufacturing Master !

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using GENERAL ACCOUNTING (G/L), INVENTORY MANAGEMENT, and MANUFACTURING department. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne can process all business transactions end to end in one integrated suite.
Benefits of Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne include the ability to
Leverage the latest ERP technology trends, including personalization, IoT, and machine learning.
Move from reactive to proactive with tools like notifications and watchlists.
Leverage Citizen Developer capabilities to reduce modifications.
Take advantage of enhanced modules like Lease Accounting and Joint Venture Management.
  • I have used Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is a Computerized Maintenance Management System. Very easy to create work orders and creating Equipment Master for new equipment and modifying existing ones as needed. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne maintain a strategic roadmap, the payoff means a reduction of cost and effort.
  • Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne has adopted a continuous delivery model that matches the trends in the enterprise software market.
  • Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne are leveraging modern ERP capabilities with IoT, machine learning and a movement towards an autonomous ERP.
  • Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne can improve the routing of job plans process and also increase the 30 character limitation it has to for part descriptions that would be very helpful
  • User Interface of the ERP needs to be more interactive.
It is a handy tool to manage inventory and work order management process. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne, a lot of powerful features like items search Purchase order inquiry tool, planning, and scheduling tools. Useful for reliability engineering. Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is stable and also less expensive to implement and manage. Also, you will get excellent technical support from Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - 
With Oracle JD Edwards Enterprise User Group, I can network with Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne experts in my field, develop best practice and find solutions to all my Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne related problems.
User groups accelerate value realization and customer success through ongoing engagement, education, and experience sharing.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Everything you need in one package

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle JD Edward Enterprise One (E1) as our company's ERP system. As a global organization, we need a large scale platform that is capable of handling our financial and manufacturing operations. E1 provides us with that platform. As our business continues to expand and grow, the E1 platforms have seemed up to the task of transforming and expanding with us. We use the platform to pull together financials, track inventory, budget, and forecast.
  • The platform is capable of handling hundreds of thousands of transactions annually.
  • The platform is functional as a stand-alone platform or in partnership with the hundreds of vendors that provide add-on platforms the E1.
  • The platform is overall very user-friendly, allowing users to pick up the nuances on the first use.
  • As with any platform, there are gaps that seem unfathomable to have. E1 doesn't allow us the ability to track a manufacturer of a part from creation to Interco sale to Interco sale to the ultimate customer.
  • Some of the features just feel "left behind" for 2019. Features that you should think would exist that don't.
  • The system is really built for a manufacturer. We were unable to use it for the distribution channel we began pushing into.
Oracle JD Edwards Enterprise One (E1) is primarily suited for large multi-national enterprises that primarily manufacture. It is capable of housing numerous entities and currencies. Additionally, it has the capability to handle thousands of transactions and inventory SKUs. The software was too complex to handle our distribution center ERP needs. Additionally, without various "add-ons" the vanilla system is often not complex enough to handle the day-to-day needs of a manufacturer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

JD Edwards E1 Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize all the modules including Financials, Distribution, HRMS, Payroll, Manufacturing, Job Costing and Contact Billing. It provides an integrated solution for our clients' business. We get balance sheet reports and profit and loss and it helps us with invoicing and revenue recognition.
  • Technology is solid and foundation is built up.
  • All integrated solution from finance to detail transaction
  • Reporting solution is robust
  • Web services and integratinon is easy
  • Reporting module
  • Application screens
  • User experience
  • Sales Order Entry and all the distribution modules work very well.
  • Purchasing is all integrated with AP and allows for 3-way and 2-way match.
  • Financials allow entry for job level.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Why we have JD Edwards

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle JD Edwards is used across the company for Order to Cash and Procure to Pay plus Financial Systems. It is the backbone of the entire business.
  • Financial System Management
  • Sales Order Management
  • Manufacturing and Procurement Systems
  • EDI, it does not have a good mechanism of integrated EDI orders with the system and customization and external process are required.
  • Warehouse management
  • There is not built in Transportation Management system
  • Not a good end to end supply chain management system
It is most cost effective ERP system that provides excellent UI, and the ability to integrate and orchestrate other application to fill the gaps. There have been great enhancements in the latest release focused on user experience.
Read this authenticated review
Jerry van Dalen Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2018

JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
JD Edwards EnterpriseOne is currently used by our accounting and billing department. It is used to manage customer accounts, and to keep track of open and expiring invoices. It is also used for tracking internal company spending. Employees will submit an expense report for a company related expense.
  • JD Edwards is very configurable in handling different sales order entry scenarios.
  • JD Edwards can be customized to present focused information on the login screen of a user so a user can better focus on the applications or reports that are relevant to their job.
  • JD Edwards is also very effective in creating relationships between various customer accounts and the relationships between them.
  • The Configurable Network Language (CNC) is a proprietary protocol, and it can be difficult to source resources that understand this language well.
  • It has some inherent limitations with generating PDF or printable files. Most organizations use a third party platform like Creat!form or Bottomline to solve this.
  • No built in credit card processing solution, and no plug-and-play eCommerce or webstore capabilities available.
JD Edwards has a strong presence in the industrial and manufacturing industries and can fit most of these scenarios very well. It is also ideal for distribution and asset management scenarios.
Yes - I am a member of the Tampa Java User Group, Texas Oracle Service Cloud User Group, Texas Louisiana Oracle Applications Users Group, The Boston MySQL Meetup Group, The Los Angeles MySQL Meetup Group, The Raleigh MySQL PHP Meetup Group, The San Francisco MySQL Meetup and Toronto Java User Group.

Houston Regional User Group. New England Oracle Applications User Group. PackerLand User Group. Quest International User Group.The user group community for JD Edwards is extremely strong. We have been able to network with brilliant community members from organizations in many different industries. People are generally helpful, and willing to take some time to aid you if you are experiencing challenges with an issue. The amount of user groups is a testament to this.Oracle also places a significant amount of resources into growing and educating the user group community.
Read Jerry van Dalen Jr.'s full review
Tessa Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2018

JD Edwards Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JDE is used in almost every department across our organization. We have a different point of sale system so other than in the retail stores it is used for everything. We use this because it addresses most of the problems our organization has (inventory, purchasing, finance, etc).
  • Because I work on the finance side I can tell you that the general ledger functions are a benefit. It is easy to add new accounts or access balance and the details of these accounts.
  • It is very to export things to excel from JDE. This is a function we use a lot and is much easier than other systems I've worked with in the past.
  • Access to certain info can be easily given or taken away from people/departments which is a plus for our public company.
  • One thing that could be improved is how fast it is for accessing data. When trying to pull data it had to be watched closely or your session will time out which can mean some waiting around.
  • Also, even though layouts are customizable it's very difficult and not always user-friendly to do.
  • I don't know if its the way the company had it set up but there is no set time on when you are logged off from being idle. It varies day to day and person to person for security measures there should be a set time.
It is well suited for a company that's small enough to not need a complicated customized ERP system. It's not necessarily suited for a public company with a separate POS system.
Read Tessa Peterson's full review
Lori Wenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2018

15 years supporting JDE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle JD Edwards for our financials, inventory, job costing, work orders and fixed assets.
  • Customizability. As an I.T. person, I appreciate the ability to modify the application in ways that will suit our specific needs.
  • Stability. Our JDE application is extremely stable. We don't seem to have the ups and downs that some of our other applications have.
  • Oracle Support. The support site is fantastic. Between the Knowledge Base and the Customer Forums I can usually find an answer and when I can't, Oracle is quick to help.
  • .
Oracle JD Edwards is well suited for any size corporation or organization. You have the ability to purchase only the modules that you need for your business and customize the modules you purchase to suit your processes.
Yes - I am a member of the Quest International User Group.

The Quest group is extremely useful to me. Not only does it give me a link to many free webinars and white papers, I also have another place to look for answers to problems. I also attend the collaborate conference each year. The value of a customer-driven conference is much better 'bang for your buck' than going to Oracle's conference. You get to hear, not only what Oracle wants you to hear, but also the real stories from real users and some of the tips and tricks that they've managed to figure out.
Read Lori Wenger's full review
Poul Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2017

Scalable and Stable ERP

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EnterpriseOne as the primary ERP system across almost the entire organisation. It is used for all core business processes i.e. finance, manufacturing, distribution, and sales.
  • It is very configurable
  • It is very stable
  • It is cheap to operate
  • Due to the complexity of the system technical issues can be difficult to trace
  • Although it has improved a lot over the years, installation and upgrade procedures are rather complex
EnterprisOne is very suitable for rather large installation like ours with a 6tb database and > 500.000 batch jobs a year. However, due to the configurability and scaleability I see no reason why it should not be a perfect fit for smaller operations as well.
Read Poul Hansen's full review
Rick Meyers | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2018

Oracle supports JD Edwards

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] Consulting on all JD Edwards applications, financial, distribution, manufacturing and project management.
  • Oracle continues to get behind JD Edwards product applications and the latest release of 9.2 has lots more functionality.
  • The licensing can be expensive depending on the number of concurrent users.
Well suited for any type of business or industry. Suited very well manufacturing, distribution, and financials. JD Edwards struggles in my opinion, in the area of sales force automation and analytics.
Yes - I am a member of the Colorado Oracle Applications Users Group.

Everyone shares and learns from each other.
Read Rick Meyers's full review
Nischal Anand Singh MBA,MA,B.Com | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2018

To go for JD Edwards Enterprise One or not....that is the question !!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our project manaement department primarily from the point of view of managing project costs and billing. We are looking at using it in other areas as well like asset management, financial management, etc but that is as of now at an early sage discussion.
  • Project Management application from what I have heard from my colleagues and peers is top notch to say the least.
  • From my friends at other companies who use JD Edwards I am told that it has helped them tremendously in terms supporting them towards better quarterly forecasts.
  • Price and/or Cost of Ownership is quite high compared to competition for e.g. MS Dynamics, etc
  • It is a highly complex application compared to other options in the market like MS Dynamics, etc
From my own usage of the product and the feedback that I have recieved the Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne aplication is pretty strong in terms of reporting, planning and analytics. I honeslty cannot think of someting where this solution is less apropriate but I am just making some guesses here....transportation it might not be as perfect a fit as the other.
Read Nischal Anand Singh MBA,MA,B.Com's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2018

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JD Edwards is being used by our entire business (except for the HR/Payroll module). We have manufacturing floor workers all the way up thru the salaried personnel to the CEO who log into the system and do transactions within JDE. We use it for finance, distribution, procurement, manufacturing, and sales. It's so customizable and easy to use. It serves our business well.
  • The new versions (9.2) of JDE has so much open functionality and really gives the user control over the screens and what they want to see. Love that the layout of the screen is really up to the user and what they want to see it along with freezing columns and creating favorites for way access.
  • It is so flexible with the system platforms that it can run on and so easy to customize since it supports so many databases.
  • It is intuitive and does not need to have a lot of training on how to use the software.
  • It's just a great ERP software and one of the better ones I've seen.
  • Oracle is FINALLY starting to listen to the users and SIGs and putting enhancements into the system which makes life easier for us business users.
  • Upgrade time and costs involved with doing them. They mention staying code current but don't have any good solutions on how we sell this to our business since user testing and involvement must happen.
  • Very costly to purchase and the maintenance cost is pretty extreme. They come out with this new functionality but then want to charge us, even more, to get it (which is wrong). Since we pay maintenance, we should get this new stuff for free or a heavily discounted price.
  • The job scheduler is in need or a serious re-vamp as it can barely even run jobs without crashing. If you need complex scheduling, forget using this tool, you have to go and purchase a 3rd party software.
Unfortunately, sometimes I feel like JDE is turning out to just be a big database housing all the data since we have so many other bolt-on applications that are completing the jobs for us. For instance, we have ReportsNow for the reporting ease of use, Tidal Enterprise Scheduler to run the JDE batch jobs, DSI for the scanning and label printing in our warehouses, Create!Form to make our documents pretty, Viziya for our maintenance tracking, and a separate EDI product.
Yes - I am a member of the Midwest Oracle User Group, PackerLand User Group, Quest International User Group and Wisconsin Oracle Service Cloud User Group.

User groups offer so many benefits!!!! They are a very valuable resource and one of the single best ways to network with other users who experience the same things you do with the software.You can get support from peers or vendor partners and enhance your skills by learning new things. Every time you attend a user group event, you should be walking away with at least 1 tidbit of new information that you didn't know when you walked in the door.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2018

My Review of E1

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as an ERP system for several entities within the parent organization with manufacturing, distribution, sales, finance. It is an FDA validated system as we are under the review of the FDA because of the products we manufacture and sell.
  • Transaction processing and traceability - able to trace user transactions all the way to the financial ledgers
  • Support documentation - documentation is vague in a number of areas in Oracle support
  • Integrity issues - unexplained and unable to ferret out a root cause
  • Requiring a COA that is a unique combination as opposed to being able to use any business unit with any object account, without having to create the combination first in the COA
Yes - I am a member of the Quest International User Group.

It's given the ability to raise enhancement requests to Oracle and network with others using similar applications through the SIG groups.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2017

JD Edwards is not just for Manufacturing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as the backbone of our organization and our central ERP system. It is our system of record and responsible for the tracking sales, financials, manufacturing data and most other critical aspects of our business. Every department within our organization uses JD Edwards. It addresses almost all of our core business problems in terms of fulfilling customer orders in a timely fashion.
  • Manufacturing Systems and Support - The core functionalities for managing manufacturing are all there and easy to use.
  • Financials - The financial systems have stood the test of time and are very stable and reliable.
  • Cutting Edge - JD Edwards continues to be enhanced and developed with new tools and technologies.
  • Quality/Test Results Management system is lightweight and somewhat clunky.
  • My Oracle Support Tool for getting help from Oracle is clunky.
  • Upgrade process is not always smooth.
Manufacturing companies will find JD Edwards to be an excellent solution especially those doing discrete manufacturing. JD Edwards does have some weaknesses from a customer relationship management standpoint. JD Edwards will handle most business models and is extremely flexible in its implementation as well as the ability to customize the system to meet specific business needs.
Yes - I am a member of the PackerLand User Group.

Regional user groups such as the PackerLand User Group have a positive impact on the JD Edwards community. Having the ability to get insights and information from others using the product is invaluable as it allows us to better leverage our investment in JD Edwards. In addition, this information is unbiased and up to date providing additional value.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2015

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne works for us

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne (JDE E1) is used across the whole organization. It is our ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) core system and it addresses financial management, sales order management, procurement, inventory management, and other business needs. It is where we maintain employee information to feed HR and Payroll system, customer information, vendor information and so on.
  • JDE E1 is very flexible and allows us to configure the system to provide us maximum benefit
  • JDE E1 user interface and technical foundation is leading edge, including Mobile Applications, which provides end users ease of use.
  • JDE E1 is easily integrated with other systems
  • Oracle product licensing is a nightmare and cost containment is difficult if not impossible when using various Oracle products to support JDE E1 such as Oracle Database and Oracle Fusion Middleware (WebLogic Server).
  • The Flexibility benefit can also be a problem when a small change ripples through the system causing issues.
  • The JDE E1 application web client should identify necessary setting for the browsers: Internet Explorer, Chrome, Firefox

Are your business processes well defined to be able to map to JDE E1 ERP system?

What is the expected time and resources needed to implement?

What are product support and training options?

What are update and upgrade options for keeping the system current?

What are the resources needed by the Information Technology department to support the technical platform such as Oracle or SQL Server DBAs or AS/400 or Unix/Windows system administrators, etc.?

Read this authenticated review

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (7)
7.5
Benefit plan administration (6)
7.8
Direct deposit files (8)
6.9
Salary revision and increment management (6)
6.7
Reimbursement management (8)
6.9
API for custom integration (12)
6.3
Plug-ins (14)
6.5
Single sign-on capability (12)
9.3
Role-based user permissions (17)
8.2
Dashboards (11)
3.9
Standard reports (14)
6.8
Custom reports (12)
6.4
Accounts payable (18)
7.9
Accounts receivable (17)
7.5
Global Financial Support (12)
6.8
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (15)
8.0
Intercompany Accounting (16)
7.2
Localizations (10)
6.6
Journals and Reconciliations (15)
7.6
Enterprise Accounting (15)
8.4
Configurable Accounting (15)
7.7
Centralized Rules Framework (8)
6.7
Standardized Processes (16)
7.2
Inventory tracking (14)
7.4
Automatic reordering (11)
6.8
Location management (13)
6.3
Manufacturing module (12)
7.5
Pricing (14)
7.3
Order entry (14)
7.9
Credit card processing (8)
7.4
Cost of goods sold (13)
7.8
Order Orchestration (7)
6.0
End-to-end order visibility (12)
7.1
Order exception Resolution (9)
6.4
Automated Invoice Processing (14)
6.4
Shared Services Payments (11)
6.2
Billings Management (13)
6.5
Customer Receipt Applications (13)
7.1
Customer Collections (11)
7.4
Revenue Recognition (12)
7.9
Cash Management (14)
7.0
Asset Management (12)
6.1
Travel & Expense Management (10)
6.2
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (10)
6.5
Period Close (14)
7.3
Transactions Tax (10)
6.6
Subledger Reconciliations (14)
6.6
3rd Party Accounting Systems (8)
6.7
Budgeting and Forecasting (8)
6.7
Project Costing (9)
7.3
Cost Capture (8)
7.5
Capital Project Management (9)
7.7
Customer Invoicing (9)
7.8
Customer Contract Compliance (5)
8.1
Project Revenue Recognition (6)
7.8
Project Financial Performance Analysis (5)
8.1
Project Financials Dashboard (5)
7.3
Real-time Financial Reporting (7)
8.4
Embedded Business Intelligence (5)
8.1
Project Planning Collaboration (5)
8.8
Project Planning and Scheduling (5)
8.4
Project Manager Dashboard (5)
8.4
Resource Manager Dashboard (4)
9.5
Task Insight for Project Managers (4)
9.5
Project Manager Mobile Functionality (4)
9.0
Team Member Task Collaboration (4)
9.5
Team Member Mobile Functionality (4)
9.0
Project Candidate Search (3)
9.0
Project Candidate Comparison and Analysis (3)
9.0
Defineable Resource Pools (3)
9.0
Defineable Resource Pools (3)
9.5
Talent Profiles (3)
9.0
Real-Time Project Reporting (3)
9.5
Absence Management (3)
9.0
Product Lifecycle Management (4)
9.5
Award Lifecycle Management (4)
8.0
Spending Control (4)
6.9
Indirect Cost Management (4)
7.4
Billing (5)
8.3
Sourcing Team Collaboration (6)
6.1
Sourcing Analysis (7)
5.9
Bids Analyzed and Compared (6)
5.5
Catalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees (5)
6.8
Contract Authoring (5)
7.3
Contract Compliance Management (5)
7.2
Contract History (5)
7.3
Contract Renewal Automation (5)
7.2
Contract Repository (4)
6.7
Contract Standardization and Enforcement (5)
7.9
Electronic Signatures (6)
6.4
Invoice Automated Matching (8)
7.9
Purchasing Risk and Compliance Management (5)
7.9
Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated (8)
9.2
Spend Compliance Management (5)
8.5
Supplier Assessment (6)
6.2
Supplier Communication and Collaboration (5)
7.0
Supplier Management (10)
7.2
Supplier Portal (4)
7.1
Risk Repository (4)
8.2
Control Management (4)
7.7
Control Mapping (3)
7.0
Control Efficiency Assessments (3)
7.0
Automated Control Assessments (3)
7.7
Assessment Capture (3)
7.7
Issue Detection (3)
6.3
Automatic Notification (3)
7.0
Remediation and Certification (3)
7.7
Transportation Planning and Optimization (5)
7.7
Transportation Sourcing Management (5)
7.7
Transportation Process Integration (6)
8.0
Transportation Execution Management (6)
8.0
Freight Payment Automation (5)
6.7
Trade Management (5)
5.1
Trade Regulatory Compliance Management (5)
5.4
Customs Entry Management (4)
5.8
Customs Document Management (5)
4.8
Customs Document Collaboration (4)
5.7
Fulfillment Management (6)
9.0
Inventory Visibility (8)
9.3
Warehouse Workforce Management (5)
8.0
Production Process Design (6)
6.4
Supply Chain Business Flows (7)
6.0
Production Management (8)
5.7
Contracted Manufacturing Management (5)
8.0
Configuration Management (5)
8.1
Work Definition (6)
7.5
Work Execution (6)
7.5
Advanced Fulfillment (6)
7.1
Manufacturing Costs (7)
7.0
Forecasting (10)
7.5
Inventory Planning (12)
7.8
Multi-tier Supply Chain Planning (7)
6.5
Performance Monitoring (7)
7.0
Ideation Management (3)
7.8
Requirements Management (3)
7.6
Proposal Management (3)
8.2
Innovation Portfolio Management (2)
8.0
Product Master Data Management (4)
7.7
Vendor Portal (4)
7.7
Project Portfolio Management (4)
8.4

About Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne

JD Edwards was an independent ERP vendor which was acquired by PeopleSoft in 2003. PeopleSoft, in turn, was acquired by Oracle in 2005, and the JD Edwards product line became Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne.

The product is primarily aimed at medium-sized companies. Like many ERPs, it combines a wide array of functions in one platform. The Financial Management capabilities contain the familiar general ledger along with expense management, accounts payable and receivable (AP/AR), advanced cost accounting, and fixed asset accounting. The suite offers many other integratable solutions. Its Project Management features manage advanced contract and service billing and project costing. The Asset Lifecycle Management solution provides in-depth analysis for capital planning and budgeting. Its Order and Manufacturing Management capabilities provide automation and oversight tailored for industry specific needs. Finally, it has rich Reporting capabilities, and is mobile-accessible. Price is highly variable, as this solution contains many possible configurations tailored to business needs.

For more information visit http://www.oracle.com/us/products/applications/jd-edwards-enterpriseone/overview/index.html

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Competitors

JDA Commerce Suite, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Salesforce

Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No