Oracle Linux Reviews

103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As we majorly deal with Oracle stack, and as all of them are not supported by Ubuntu, we had a good chance to explore the in & out of oracel linux.
Read this authenticated review
July 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Centos
  • Ubuntu
  • Debian
We have evaluated all the above after the centos news came, and we found that Oracle Linux is providing similar features and a commitment to support [similar to] centos.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used RedHat Linux in the past. They are very similar. Oracle Cloud provides Oracle Linux Image inbuilt as one of the delivered images and is used vastly for deploying application.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Linux was chosen by us after we did value versus money assessment. Remarkable technical support level quality and cost were very important factors when deciding about Linux distribution in our case. The fact that we are basing many of our products on Oracle software solutions was also taken into consideration. An extensive Oracle ecosystem is a very beneficial aspect.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2019
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)
Oracle Linux and Red Hat Linux are very similar, and the both are great choices. Anyway, the out of the box enhancements that come with Oracle Linux is an aspect to consider if you are using Oracle products.
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
September 18, 2019
Jose de la Cruz Malena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As we have Oracle Database, Weblogic, Solaris, Java, and Forms and Reports. It seemed natural to use Oracle Linux. We were able to integrate all support in a solid company like Oracle, and we can assure our users that they will get extraordinary stability and excellent performance.
Read Jose de la Cruz Malena's full review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

RHEL is the closest contender and it does better in some of the areas (bug fixes, support for VMware) compared to Oracle Linux. Oracle Linux is much better than SUSE and Ubuntu.
Read this authenticated review
March 08, 2018
Bert Scalzo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

While I've deployed and optimized Oracle databases on several other major Linux distributions such as Redhat, CentOS and even Ubuntu server, none has been as easy in terms of being pre-packaged and ready for an Oracle database install. While most of the advantages can be replicated by manual efforts, there are nonetheless some key Oracle enhancements to the kernel and some command utilities that are only on Oracle Linux and which cannot be had on other vendors' Linux solution. Some of these such as memory management are critical to optimal database performance.
Read Bert Scalzo's full review
March 08, 2018
Bruce Emmerling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Linux still fairly similar in some aspects to Red Hat Linux, which it was based originally. However, it has a number of enhancements that work well with Oracle software products. It also is a bit easier to install, especially for users with limited technical knowledge or experience. However, it is not easy to use than Ubuntu Linux. Cent OS probably has better server functionality.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
June 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have benefited with the stability of Oracle Linux and cost compared to that of Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL), Windows Server, CentOS, and Ubuntu Linux. As far as combinations of cost, stability, security, support, Oracle Linux is the best overall choice.
Read this authenticated review
November 29, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) and CentOS
Oracle Linux has greater integration with Oracle applications, specifically with the VM and database manager.
Read this authenticated review

What is Oracle Linux?

Oracle Linux, which is 100% application binary compatible with Red Hat Enterprise Linux, is free to download, use, and share. There is no license cost, no need for a contract, and no usage audits. Cost-effective, 24/7 enterprise-grade support is available for business critical environments. A single support offering includes virtualization, management, HA, and cloud native computing tools such as Kubernetes and Kata Containers, along with the Linux operating system. The vendor states that as the only Linux distribution with zero-downtime automated patching for kernel, hypervisor, and critical user-space libraries, Oracle Linux improves performance of all workloads and is optimized–out of the box–for Oracle software. Autonomous Linux, a self-patching, self-tuning, high-performance implementation of Oracle Linux is available on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.



Oracle Linux Features

Has featureZero-downtime automated patching for kernel, hypervisor, and critical user-space libraries
Has featureOptimized–out of the box–for Oracle software
Has featureA single support offering includes Linux, virtualization, management, HA, and cloud native computing tools
Has featureAvailable on premises, in the cloud, and as Autonomous Linux

Oracle Linux Videos (2)

Oracle Linux Downloadables

Oracle Linux Competitors

Oracle Linux Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Oracle Linux Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

Oracle Linux Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Linux
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle Linux's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Oracle Linux?

The most common users of Oracle Linux are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.