Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

Overview

Reviews

PeopleSoft HCM review by Indian banking major

8
It's been used across all users for my bank. PeopleSoft HCM is a superb product having all the human resources functionality. Also, the …
Read full review

All encompassing HR software

9
  • Used system wide for employee management and record keeping.
  • Employee records are kept in Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, including job and benefits …

Good integration options for HCM software

6
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is used by the entire organization. It works as a self service platform for employees, assists with payroll …
Read full review

PeopleSoft HCM

8
Our company uses Peoplesoft HCM for benefits, recruiting and self-service. Self-service is being used by the whole organization. …

Oracle PeopleSoft Review

9
FedEx Ground uses PeopleSoft to maintain and support its contractor-based business model for package delivery. Workforce Administration, …

Oracle PS

9
PeopleSoft HCM is being used to track students, finance and HR data. We have been used PeopleSoft HCM for more than 15 years and are very …

HCM Review

7
We are currently on PS and upgrading to HCM. We recently started and go live in 2020. PeopleSoft HCM will continue to be an enterprise …

ORACLE HRM PRODUCTS

7
We use Oracle across the organization of about 4000-5000 employees. It allows automation in terms of general HR functions (leaves, …

Popular Features

View all 48 features

Employment history (63)

8.8
88%

Update personal information (66)

8.8
88%

Job profiles and administration (65)

8.6
86%

Employee demographic data (65)

7.8
78%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Pricing

View all pricing

Benefits

$85.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Pension Administration

$85.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Human Resources

$185.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

8.0
80%

Payroll Management

7.6
76%

Leave and Attendance Management

8.5
85%

Employee Self Service

8.0
80%

Asset Management

8.0
80%

HR Reporting

8.1
81%

Onboarding

7.9
79%

Performance and Goals

7.4
74%

Performance Management

7.1
71%

Succession Planning

7.6
76%

Recruiting / ATS

7.3
73%

Product Details

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete, customizable suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management. PeopleSoft can be integrated to run on the Oracle Cloud.

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Integrations

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Competitors

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Alternatives

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete, customizable suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management. PeopleSoft can be integrated to run on the Oracle Cloud.

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Approval workflow highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

The most common users of Oracle PeopleSoft HCM are from Enterprises and the Higher Education industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 510)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's been used across all users for my bank. PeopleSoft HCM is a superb product having all the human resources functionality. Also, the product is flexible enough to allow several customizations for complex business processes. Currently from new employee hire, career progression, exit and fill and final settlement - all [of these] activities are performed through PeopleSoft in my organization
  • Leave and Absence
  • Customizations
  • Payroll
  • Benefits administration
  • Look and feel
  • Alerts in mobile
It's an enterprise-grade product best suited for absence, payroll, time and labour and all other HR functionalities. Any complex functionality can be built here as customization. But look and feel wise it's not [that] advanced. There could have been a feature for video, SMS or WhatsApp alerts which is missing currently.
Yes
Oracle
Its a very goor product in the HR domain
Neal Brunner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used system wide for employee management and record keeping.
  • Employee records are kept in Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, including job and benefits information. Additionally, we use it to process new hires, transfers, terminations, etc.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is also used to track job code information, including reports of incumbents, and a variety of queries such as equity, pay rates, etc.
  • Essentially, it is used for almost all HR related information.
  • Employee Self Service - links to tax, paycheck, time off information, etc.
  • Tracking job data - descriptions, pay ranges, reports for a specified job code.
  • Linking with integrated software, such as Kronos for timekeeping and vemo for workforce insight reports.
  • Updated User Interface - there is a lot of unused space.
  • More intuitive navigation, although the search feature helps offset some of that shortcoming.
  • Suggestions for useful links and reporting tools you may find helpful based on job title.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is great for tracking most HR related information. The customization for the company is great, as well as the ability to integrate with a wide variety of complimentary software. For example, ours is integrated with our ATS (Taleo) for recruiting, Kronos for timekeeping, and Vemo for workforce insight reports. Given it's overall ability, it is probably overkill for smaller companies that may want a more focused HRIS that can handle everything without the need to integrate with additional software.
No
Brijesh Shirodkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, it is used for time sheet tracking, leave management, employee information and manager actions. It is set up globally across all departments. Several thousand users use it for self help as well as administrative tasks. Both web and mobile versions of the interface have been enabled across the organization.
  • Mobile interface really helps complete tasks on the go.
  • Secure authentication.
  • Good workflow.
  • Fast performance.
  • Some issues in mobile compatibility.
  • Analytics could be better.
  • Navigation can be difficult for new user.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM seems to be better suited for very large organizations that have several hundred employees, are geographically dispersed, each geo location may have individual country specific regulations and different HR rules. This software can be customized for different rules and specific needs and processes of the organization and sub organizations.
No
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is used by the entire organization. It works as a self service platform for employees, assists with payroll processing, provides performance appraisal information, and is used by managers (like myself) to complete pay action requests. We also leverage Oracle PeopleSoft HCM's workforce administration, worklist, reporting components, and recruiting tools. It has a lot of capabilities that deliver value to our teams at an individual level as well as from a management standpoint.
  • Easy to use and learn
  • Good customer support
  • Ability to write custom reports for ongoing projects
  • The UI is a little antiquated
  • Somewhat expensive leveraging the app
  • Security concerns with recent vulnerabilities being exposed
It is a software that I would recommend due to its implementation simplicity. This tool allows us to build custom business processes via a relatively smooth interface (if a little dated). We use Oracle PeopleSoft HCM for global HCM, NA payroll, benefits, and the application offers the ability to customize and is continuously evolving in the cloud. It integrates with other personal programming platforms. Integration is key. Reporting performance is excellent, as well.
No
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft HCM was used for core HR, benefits and compensation side of our organization. It was being used by the HR Department. The biggest struggles we have had were based on the merit cycle and talent management or performance management modules.
  • Easy to use and learn.
  • It's inhouse and hence we can write code or SQL or modify or generate integrations using custom SQL.
  • Ability to view multiple screens at once was a great plus, which we see in many systems, however first saw that on PeopleSoft.
  • Great customer support.
  • Compensation module definitely needs improvement.
  • Talent management - Goals and Performance management module needs improvement.
  • Running of ben interface overnight everyday consumes timeout each day. There should be no service interruption while running ben interfaces. It was maybe only us due to many customizations.
User interface needs improvement. The new FLUID functionality that Oracle is offering may be the potential solution.
Menu navigation may be difficult for new users.
Very compatible and stable application.
Multi tab feature is excellent.
Analytics is a powerful feature.
Database access gives us ability to create or generate custom integrations or SQL.
Needs to be mobile friendly.
Yes
Oracle community
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
So Oracle PeopleSoft HCM was used mostly on the compensation and benefits side of our organization. The biggest struggles we have had were based around properly compensating our employees and on time. The other issue we had was we also weren't correctly paying our employees their worth, this helped us with that dramatically.
  • Easy to use and learn
  • Easy to assign multiple users
  • Easy to transfer information from one HCM to another
  • The LMS inherent in this system needs improvement.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is a straightforward system to use where anyone can excel, and I think that's where it makes it's worth. Most systems tend to be complicated, and it takes a long time to work through this is the exception to the rule. Also, because Oracle PeopleSoft HCM has been in the people business for a long time, they help support the system with a great customer support system.
No
September 18, 2019

PeopleSoft HCM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Peoplesoft HCM for benefits, recruiting and self-service. Self-service is being used by the whole organization. Recruiting is one of the recent implementations that we have done as it resolves workflow problems and candidate search/attachment issues.
  • One of the examples that we can provide for HCM is the Recruiting Module where candidate attachments and searching the candidates for internal and external job posting. Integration with Elastic search made it much more easy for the users.
  • Another example is N/A Payroll. Running the jobs and viewing the paystubs is much easier with 9.2 implementations. Oracle will be on top of regular tax updates so that the application will be current with the current government norms.
  • As a PeopleSoft administrator, we heard some complaints about Pivot Grid's performance. For example, the recruiting users in Pivot Grid gets late responses.
  • One more thing is that not all pages are being delivered in fluid and the development team went ahead to build some custom fluid pages. If Oracle provides all the pages in fluid that would reduce the effort of the client.
Self-service is one area where it fits well. Timesheets is where it is less appropriate.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
I haven't been in any user group. But after coming to OOW I found that the Innovators User Group is pretty interesting. Would like to join. I have learned that there are new ideas that get posted and innovations that were done by other customers, which we can also implement in our company.
September 17, 2019

Oracle PeopleSoft Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FedEx Ground uses PeopleSoft to maintain and support its contractor-based business model for package delivery. Workforce Administration, North American Payroll and Candidate Gateway are a few main modules that we mainly pay attention to. We also use PeopleSoft Portal to provide secure access to contractors that have their own workforce.
  • Very robust and stable application.
  • The user interface needs face-lift but we have not implemented the FLUID feature to our application.
  • Excited to see more attention towards Analytics. Kibana will be a game-changer.
  • Menu navigation can be too much for moderate users to remember their frequently visited pages.
  • JSON classes provided in 8.57 still need good documentation since it's hard to find real-time examples from an online search.
Very robust payroll processing and easy to troubleshoot any issues encountered makes PeopleSoft HCM a reliable application for our company. Interfacing in a realtime manner with another application can be challenging. Like JMS messages in TEXT, format output makes PeopleSoft look archaic compared to any java based application.
Yes
September 16, 2019

David's 26 year experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have made a career out of PeopleSoft. I love how far it has come over the years. It has kept me gainfully employed. The user friendliness advancements over the years have been amazing to watch. The fluidity is my favorite improvement. It used to be "click here, click here, click here..." and very complex. Now, you can make one tile that will take you straight to wherever you need to go. It makes it very easy for people that I work with to use.
  • Fluid.
  • Delegation.
  • Benefits admin processing.
  • ACM: I love the concept, but would like to see growth.
  • Fluid: User adoption should improve on our side.
  • Sell the features on the cloud, not the cloud itself. Focus on what the cloud brings to us instead of hard-selling numbers.
Support for previous versions is lacking, to be bluntly honest. There is not anything more frustrating than hearing "you need to upgrade to the next version." That's just not feasible for a lot of shops.
Yes
psadmin.io
OAUG Heathcare
September 18, 2019

Oracle PS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft HCM is being used to track students, finance and HR data. We have been used PeopleSoft HCM for more than 15 years and are very happy with this product. It saved us a lot of time in development and maintenance. We will continue to use it for a very long time.
  • It is ready to use
  • Don't write codes
  • Minimum maintenance
  • Too much jumping from one screen to another
  • Too many details
  • Difficult to learn
  • Ready to use
  • Too much detail
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
OUG
September 16, 2019

HCM Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently on PS and upgrading to HCM. We recently started and go live in 2020. PeopleSoft HCM will continue to be an enterprise tool for HR and benefits administration.
  • Compensation management.
  • Employee self-service.
  • Better reporting, particularly dashboards.
  • Better user interface. It could be more intuitive.
It is well suited for compensation management and workflows. They need to improve reporting and dashboards.
No
September 16, 2019

Great system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it for HR management across departments. It solved the issue of having multiple databases.
  • Easy user interface.
  • A lot of partners are using the same software, which increases collaboration.
  • Can be used for many HR disciplines.
  • Reporting capability could be improved.
PeopleSoft is well-suited for large organizations. We had an issue with retro calculation. It's tricky to look back at the previous fiscal year's information.
No
January 24, 2019

ORACLE HRM PRODUCTS

Franz Josef Bautista | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle across the organization of about 4000-5000 employees. It allows automation in terms of general HR functions (leaves, benefits, employee management, performance management, etc). It allows control of subordinates and gives us a landscape of performance metrics for each employee reporting to leaders. It can also help in guiding employee growth.
  • It allows me to see my employee credentials in one place
  • It allows me to see "allowed" views of staff reporting to me
  • It allows me to control and file leaves, sick leaves and vacations easily
  • It allows me to plan my leaves tentatively
  • It allows staff to apply for clearance on exiting the company
  • It allows promotion requests online.
  • Would want SMS integration for filing and approving leaves for those who don't have smartphones
  • Email filing of leaves and approvals, not only in the system
  • Easier integration with biometric devices
Oracle HCM is really very functional and can help remove a lot of the mundane filing and approving tasks for both HR, employees and approvers. It is easy to use and very intuitive. I can understand why the resources needed to run it could be substantial, especially for those who still run on-premise. Maybe a less appropriate use would be for smaller (less than 100) companies because of cost. Maybe the cloud version would work better.
No
Sanjiv Bhagat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is being implemented organization-wide. The Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) oversees Washington State’s system of 34 public community and technical colleges with a total of about 22,000 employees and nearly 381,000 students each year.

Over the years, our 34 colleges used the Legacy software system to create a variety of practices and processes to take care of business, from student financial aid reports to payroll processing. Each district developed different ways to do the same thing. So implementing Oracle PeopleSoft HCM helps in moving to a single HCM system for all the colleges which help in conducting business easily and reduce the cost immensely in maintaining the employees.

  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is one of the best product and has helped implement the complex Business functionalities in the Higher Education business in a very streamlined process.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM helped in moving from 34 different legacy system to one centralized system which helps immensely in maintaining the data and reporting purpose.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM also helps immensely in data analytics and trend analysis which helps immensely in preparing for the resourcing and planning for the peak season in advance and be better prepared to handle the quarterly on annual activities.
  • Oracle should bring back the Breadcrumbs navigation back to PeopleSoft Fluid screens.
  • PeopleSoft Absence Management is also a Global payroll product which causes issues in processing absence for employees in multiple open calendars which is useful when processing payroll but not for Absence processing. So there should be an option when using this product for Absence Processing only. It should allow employees in multiple open calendars to be processed.
  • In higher education, there are some employees where a "leave" belongs to the person and not each job. So it would be helpful to have the functionality of having employees working in multiple jobs accrue leaves from multiple jobs but all stored at the payee level(which is possible today) but they should get an option to select the supervisor to whom the leave request gets assigned based on all the active job records.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is the best tool in the market for Higher Education business. It helps immensely in implementing complex business scenarios. It also helps a lot as it is a very flexible product and can be easily configured to implement some out of the box functionality. The newer Fluid functionality is also very user-friendly and easy to adopt.
Yes
I am a member of the Higher Education User Group HEUG.

I am a new member of the HEUG user group and have attended the NWHEUG 2018 in Tacoma and have been a very good experience. I have presented in this session. It was a good experience and learning opportunity to meet the Vendors and know about some of the tools and services that they offer.
Patricia Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft HCM is being used across all Cru ministries in the US. We are using it to track employee data, provide benefits administration, payroll processing, compensation, and recruiting functions.
  • The effective dating feature of PeopleSoft is especially useful in tracking the life cycle of an employee's relationship with the organization, from the time they apply for an opening until the time they decide to retire from the company. Every transaction can be tracked within the system so you have the historical data needed to support any type of reporting that may be required.
  • Security is another thing that PeopleSoft does well. The ability to have row level security in addition to page security is very useful when you need to provide access to the data for various categories of employees. For example, we can set security permissions so that it allows a payroll clerk to see only hourly employees since that is the pay group for whom they're responsible for processing.
  • The Employee Snapshot in Manager Self-Service is an awesome new feature! It allows managers at any level to see specific data not only about their direct reports, but also 2nd and 3rd+ level direct reports as well. using a graphical drill down capability to get the details.
  • I also like that you can use many types of devices to work with PeopleSoft HCM. I can see the same information from my laptop, tablet or phone as needed.
  • The Dotted Line Reports feature of Company Directory will be an added bonus for our organization since many of our teams function as networked teams rather than hierarchical ones.
  • We really need to have more flexibility with the number of leaders for teams. We have many cross-functional teams that have more than one team leader. The ability to identify multiple leaders who can access their team members' data would be extremely helpful with how our staff work in a team environment.
  • Better documentation on the set up steps is needed. The wizards have helped a lot but they are still sometimes hard to use. Vidoes are helpful too, but often don't go to the level of detail necessary to completely set up a new feature or function.
  • Security is often confusing. Whenever new functionality is made available or a PUM update is done, the roles/permission lists to use it is sometimes difficult to find. Having a better way to search for that would be helpful.
  • The UX for Security needs needs to be redesigned. It is difficult to figure out all of the necessary steps to implement a change to a user's role or a permission is made. You often have to go to another place in the system to finalize the change such as running the SJT class update, which leads to that step being missed until you don't see your change in the system hours later!
PeopleSoft HCM is well suited for companies that have a variety of employees and business rules that determine their business processes. Having the ability to add customizations when it's absolutely necessary is a big plus and we've used that from time to time since we are a non-profit organization and have some non-traditional types of employees. PeopleSoft HCM takes a big burden off of our operational staff since it provides most of the regulatory reporting that we have to do. Knowing that Oracle will update the code with all of the Tax changes on a regular basis is such a huge relief for our Tax department and our programming team. This also applies to companies who are working in a global environment. While not every country is supported, many of them are so that gives a lot of lift to operational staff in those countries.
Yes
I am a member of the Quest International User Group.

We use their conferences as our major source of education, networking, and training.Their websites also provide resources to us for research and troubleshooting.The ability to meet people from other companies who are doing the things we want to do in PeopleSoft has been very help as well.
Sometimes it takes multiple discussions before the issues is understood; filling out the same questions about our environment for every issue is a pain as well.
Criss Laidlaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization for staff recruiting; core HR including position management; base benefits; time and attendance, and payroll. We went live in 2001 and are currently in release 9.2. We do not currently use Fluid for self-service but hope to start this summer or fall. One Fluid feature we're waiting for is manager approval of reported time, which is rumored to be coming soon.
  • Payroll processing has been stable for the entire time we've used HCM and generally has the flexibility to handle a variety of situations we encounter in paying students, faculty and staff, including many cases of multiple jobs.
  • Self-service using the classic pages has worked well for us and has relieved HR staff from answering many questions individually.
  • The PeopleTools technology framework has allowed us to add new capabilities not supported by the product, including creating a way for managers of student workers to hire them without HR involvement.
  • We have issues with students using Time & Labor for multiple jobs, where time is incorrectly calculated, including negative balances where none exist.
  • The application is complex and some areas, especially Time & Labor, are very difficult to troubleshoot. The overall level of complexity has increased over the years.
  • We also use Campus Solutions and had to split apart HCM and CS, significantly increasing our maintenance overhead and creating inter-system issues that aren't always resolvable.
  • Campus Solutions has developed a solution for managing preferred names and gender identity that is missing/ incompatible with the HCM product.
While the PS HCM product more or less meets our current needs, Oracle's message in recent years has been cloud, cloud, cloud, leading one to the conclusion that innovation in the PS HCM space will be minimal in the future. Oracle hasn't outlined a clear path to get to their cloud offering from PS HCM.
Yes
I am a member of the Higher Education User Group HEUG.

We've realized significant cost savings by sharing information with other higher education institutions, particularly after the consultants had gone home.This was especially true during the early years of our implementation.It's less true now that we're a mature customer, but we still realize value from the relationships we've built through HEUG.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses it for core HCM and base benefits administration. We track employee info and integrate to payroll.
  • It has the most robust and mature functionality
  • It has the best flexibility to configure and customize
  • There is a huge community of users and consultants to share experience and help with support
  • Improve the automatic updates of time and attendance regulatory rules
  • Improve the mobile time entry configuration
It is the best core HCM and benefits admin system. It can also do payroll like a champ.
Yes
I am a member of the Oracle Applications Users Group and Quest International User Group.

Quest is great. We go to their conferences and listen to webinars.
Talukdar S Asgar, Ph.D. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization, a recent merger to a bigger organization will enhance the user count manifolds. Payroll, Base Benefits, and Human Resources are the primary modules that are in use. We have multiple integrations with Taleo, ADI, and other external applications. Our platform is on Oracle Cloud. This is a new implementation and we are seeing a massive performance gain.
  • Employee Payroll is divided into weekly and monthly, and we have different employees such as contingent worker and temps. All these are properly and tactfully handled by Position Management.
  • We keep our system up to date with latest tax update versions. Our payroll is smooth flawless since the introduction of Payroll for NA.
  • Base benefits allow proper maintenance of employee and dependent health benefits as well as vacation and leave accruals.
  • There is not much self-correcting ability in BAS Benefits, if Ben Admin can be more robust and informative it can help operation smoothen further.
  • COBOLS can be a concern and at times depends on running certain DMS, a clearer instruction can help admins and developers to troubleshoot. At times we need to spend hours in MOS to find the proper documents. If all these docs are combined in an ordered way it could become a one-stop point for troubleshooting.

Taleo-PeopleSoft integration

Ease of customization

Yes

Healthcare Industries User Group

This user group arranges monthly webinars and also email threads based on certain topic. Both are very useful. I actively respond and share my knowledge whenever possible.

February 27, 2018

PeopleSoft - Just Okay..

John Pavarini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle PeopleSoft, and its various business application services, is being used across my organization. Primarily serving as the HR platform we use it for both benefits administration, compensation, and talent acquisition. Other non-HR features being used are for finance management, procurement, invoicing, and legal contract management. PeopleSoft systems are utilized by all managers and all employees in some form. Having a centralized hub of organizational information helps streamline operational efforts in an organization of near 7000 employees. For the most part, the various services communicate well, are easy to train new staff in, and act a platform that our IT programmers can develop on to meet new business requirements.

  • The system allows for a lot of customization. Our talent acquisition platform is almost completely customized to communicate with our financial and compensation teams who aide in the position request and approval process. While the updates certainly take time, we utilize Oracle support to make our systems our own in order to meet business needs.
  • The dashboards are user-friendly both for employees and managers. The self-service features are great tools for allowing employees to set up their payroll and tax preferences, distribute pay stubs, and monitor PTO. For orders or invoice pay requests this is all built in to communicate with our procurement and accounts payable teams. This is a great tool to help effectively get requests through and approved in a hierarchy format.
  • As a large organization, there is a plethora of information stored and made available to the organization. Having the ability to house so much data and have the system run as quickly as it does is certainly impressive. With such emphasis on less paper trail, this has certainly been a cost-effective means to make information available electronically.
  • Although the customization is a strength, this is largely due to some business systems of PeopleSoft being out of date. The HR system for talent management is pretty poorly designed out of the box. There are updates from Oracle that may have the system more comparable to other popular applicant tracking systems, but ours is fairly bare bones. As a result we’ve customized this entirely, and unfortunately deal with a fair amount of internal errors. Luckily from the outside our applicants and candidates do not face issues.
  • Our current PeopleSoft version is not mobile compatible and overall they were behind the ball in implementing mobile friendly systems. As a business and society of always on the go, the inability to effectively utilize all services from a tablet or phone is disappointing. Again, there are rumors of mobile compatibility upgrades, but the upgrade is too pricey for us to take on at this time.
  • The performance management function was very old fashioned. It was difficult to manage and utilize by both team leaders and employees. Our organization recently removed the performance management function and went with an entirely different system. As a rapidly changing and evolving business strategy the check a box and numerical rating on individual performance was not adaptable to a more personalized goal setting performance review process.

Oracle PeopleSoft is probably best suited for employee self-service functions such as benefits enrollment, payroll tax preferences, and other similar HR related features. The financial features and the applicant tracking system are behind other competing business systems. The UI of the system as a whole is not very modern, and not being mobile friendly is a factor here. At the same time, this system is still very comprehensive and best suited for a 1000+ employee organization both due to cost and services. While there have been hiccups over the years of utilizing PeopleSoft our developers and Oracle support have always been available to assist.

No
Overall support has been positive and Oracle has gladly sent out representatives to meet with our teams in person. Despite sometimes sow and inadequate fixes, their willingness to try and meet face to face helps give them a better name in our organization. Sometimes their people do not understand unique needs of the industry, and it can be a challenge to explain that one size does not fit all. Finding the appropriate IT support for our unique requests has been hit and miss.

February 21, 2018

PeopleSoft is great

Kathleen Thomas  CCP, CBP, GRP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle PeopleSoft HCM for our HR and for our Finance area. I work in HR in Compensation and I use it on a daily basis to look information up and to report on information. It helps to organize our HR systems and house/manage our data. I have used it in previous companies as well.
  • The reporting tool is quite intuitive. I report every day on various data segments. The data comes down very organized.
  • Oracle interfaces quite well with many of our other systems. We use PeopleFluent and other systems.
  • The input for HR data into PeopleSoft is also very organized. We can enter data one-by-one for employees or do mass uploads. It really helps with the workload.
  • I have heard from my recruiting and talent acquisition groups that the interface to the ATS took a lot of work to integrate effectively.
As mentioned, PeopleSoft specializes and is great for both Human Resources and for Finance reporting. I use it strictly for Human Resources, but have heard from colleagues that the financial side is also quite intuitive. The reporting tools within PeopleSoft make it simple to export lots of data that can then be put into Excel, Access or other programs to further analyze.
No
Teal Sexton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UC Berkeley uses Oracle PeopleSoft HCM across the whole organization, as the enterprise Human Resources (HR) system of record for all HR and Payroll actions.
  • PeopleSoft HCM captures detailed information about each employee in the organization, based on a variety of fields and effective dates.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is able to capture and track Position information for budgeting and planning purposes, separate from the Employee information.
  • PeopleSoft HCM can handle very detailed and complicated benefit plans.
  • PeopleSoft HCM allows for flexible reporting off of relational tables.
  • The reporting feature is not intuitive for basic users. It requires someone a little more advanced to set up queries and save them for other users.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is very expensive and implementation is complex and challenging.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is not very intuitive to use. It requires training and a well documented and defined business process to ensure the fields are used correctly to get the most out of the system, particularly when it comes to reporting.
It is well suited to a very large enterprise with a lot of Employee actions, turnover, benefit packages and other details to track.
It is not appropriate for a small or even medium-sized business with straightforward benefits and only a few job titles or actions to track.

For example, a University with hundreds of jobs and actions like Sabbaticals, paid leaves, administrative leaves, probation, etc. requires a system as robust and complex as PeopleSoft HCM. This makes it worth the expense.
Yes
I am a member of the Higher Education User Group HEUG and ODTUG.

A huge impact. I highly value user group membership. It helps to have other people to contact with questions and to learn about functionality that is useful.
April 09, 2018

PeopleSoft HCM

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HCM is our HR system of record for the whole organization; used for all basic HR functions such as benefits, hires, terminations, connections with Payroll. It is used to address all HR/Personnel issues, problems.
  • It stores all basic biodemo data for all persons in our HCM, CS, and Financials systems
  • Effective dating logic is fairly robust, yet easy to understand
  • Table structure is relatively straightforward
  • Our users have expressed concerns about talent acquisition functionality, ended up going with another vendor
Absence management is fairly simple to understand; it provided an easy way for employees to see their balances, and to request time off.
Yes
I am a member of the Higher Education User Group HEUG.

The HEUG provides phenomenal value to me and to other users. It has allowed higher education institutions the ability to assist each other and to advocate for necessary changes, enhancements for Oracle Peoplesoft HCM and other Oracle products.
Christopher Pokorny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for HR purposes across the entire organization -- managing personnel data, salaries, positions, etc. Specifically, my department uses it because I am delegated to adding or closing grant chartfields that originate from our PeopleSoft Finance database, to make sure personnel on grants are paid from the correct chartfields. I also sometimes use it to query data related to graduate assistants who are hired, and the position titles of faculty who teach graduate-level courses.
  • The navigation for looking up personnel data is intuitive.
  • Closing combination codes is a very easy process.
  • Query reporting tools are very powerful -- query manager, connected query, and BI Publisher.
  • I don't know if this an institution issue or not, but the process of adding new combination codes is cumbersome at times. We do it through an Excel spreadsheet, and if we make a mistake/typo, it's a real pain to delete or inactivate it and insert a new row.
My exposure to the product is more narrow than some other users. Overall, the information from HR publishes and subscribes via basic sync to the Financials database that I use much more often.
Yes
I am a member of the Higher Education User Group HEUG.

The user group offers a ton of resources to network with other institutions on personal experiences and presentations on using the system more effectively. There is also an annual conference for the group.
Chrissy Disibio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses the entire Peoplesoft suite from HCM to Financials. It addresses our HR needs such as job data, performance management, compensation, benefits, financials.
  • Well known and long standing in the industry
  • Making advancements in Cloud (Oracle)
  • Having their modules all connected
  • Easy to integrate
  • Needs to have more focus on the future- especially cloud, and look at competitors like Workday in terms of User Experience (the system isn't as engaging and user-friendly as it could be)
  • Needs better reporting capability
Oracle Peoplesoft HCM is good for larger companies who need an enterprise-wide solution. I think it is a bit too large and vast for smaller companies.
Yes
I am a member of the Greater Cincinnati Oracle Users Group.

Having the ability to reach out to people in our area to see what they are doing. Various webinars and in person meetings are helpful
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft HCM is used across our organization. Our power users are mostly located in the Payroll, HR, Benefits and Talent Acquisition departments. However, we use Manager Self Service for managers to review data about their employees and to initiate and process transactions (pay changes, terminations, transfers, etc.). We also use employee self service for benefits enrollment, reviewing and updating your own personal information and to view your paycheck. It is the system of record for the core HR, benefits and payroll information in our company and feeds many other systems.
  • We recently upgraded to Fluid - this makes the experience for casual users SO much better! Navigation is easy and intuitive and things are easy to find. Our employees are now much more likely to use self-service than when they had to hunt for the functionality.
  • Fluid also introduced some really great features for our middle-level users as well - having a homepage tailored to them and nav collections that group their common pages together in one easy place makes their work faster and easier. No more navigation, just scroll down and click on the page you want and then click on the next page that you want, etc. Very, very quick and easy and so much faster to learn - you don't have to remember WHERE that process/page is located, it is again, right there in front of you.
  • I also highly recommend workcenters for functions like running the periodic on-cycle payroll. Our payroll group was jumping all over the place to run the "next" process. This tool is similar to nav collections, but allows for queries, also navigates a bit differently and can have the concept of what to run "next". But the same result - much less training and much faster to run the "next" process that is needed.
  • I am a techie - so my quibble with PeopleSoft is technical. They don't make it easy to identify objects related to workcenters, navigation collections, etc. Therefore, it is difficult to migrate changes from one environment to another if you stray from their core objects like pages, components, etc.
  • Another place that leaves room for improvement is the talent acquisition module (TAM). It tries to be so fancy and flexible that it makes it difficult to setup and use. The pages are much more difficult to debug and trace also as they layer and are so dynamic that the "usability" is lost somewhere along the way.
  • My next "room for improvement" is also from a very technical perspective - we have run into PeopleCode bugs for the first time in years. There are multiple bugs in the new functionality, i.e. the "carry ID" doesn't work in a navigation collection and a couple other bugs we coded around in the guided workflow process. They are addressing the issues quickly, but I was surprised there were still bugs out there that seemed so obvious - and that means you need to keep taking tools patches.
  • Finally - the PUM approach vs. doing upgrades to a new version does make it MUCH easier to find and apply patches and enhancements. BUT don't listen to all the sales people that say you never need to do another upgrade. Each "update image" is really like a mini-upgrade and if you want to get new functionality, you will need to plan to "get current" with the update images periodically - which is an upgrade.
It is not appropriate for small companies on a limited budget (unless perhaps you can get it as a "hosted" package - vanilla and you use it "as is" and is maintained by others). Otherwise, it is a powerful, integrated solution for HR, Payroll and Benefits. There is a need for experienced users and technical support, but if you have that, you can really leverage the software to perform functions across the organization - self service functions, complex payroll, automated benefits, etc.
Yes
The user groups are amazing!There are many options for webinars that really dig into specific details.I've had development questions answered, learned about new functionality, heard about upcoming functionality and overall had an excellent experience with the user groups I've belonged to.My favorite group has been the Quest International User Group.