TrustRadius
Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/XB/O0/65W7N0TG7WXL.pngOracle PeopleSoft HCM review from the Higher Education business Perspective.Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is being implemented organization-wide. The Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) oversees Washington State’s system of 34 public community and technical colleges with a total of about 22,000 employees and nearly 381,000 students each year. Over the years, our 34 colleges used the Legacy software system to create a variety of practices and processes to take care of business, from student financial aid reports to payroll processing. Each district developed different ways to do the same thing. So implementing Oracle PeopleSoft HCM helps in moving to a single HCM system for all the colleges which help in conducting business easily and reduce the cost immensely in maintaining the employees.,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is one of the best product and has helped implement the complex Business functionalities in the Higher Education business in a very streamlined process. Oracle PeopleSoft HCM helped in moving from 34 different legacy system to one centralized system which helps immensely in maintaining the data and reporting purpose. Oracle PeopleSoft HCM also helps immensely in data analytics and trend analysis which helps immensely in preparing for the resourcing and planning for the peak season in advance and be better prepared to handle the quarterly on annual activities.,Oracle should bring back the Breadcrumbs navigation back to PeopleSoft Fluid screens. PeopleSoft Absence Management is also a Global payroll product which causes issues in processing absence for employees in multiple open calendars which is useful when processing payroll but not for Absence processing. So there should be an option when using this product for Absence Processing only. It should allow employees in multiple open calendars to be processed. In higher education, there are some employees where a "leave" belongs to the person and not each job. So it would be helpful to have the functionality of having employees working in multiple jobs accrue leaves from multiple jobs but all stored at the payee level(which is possible today) but they should get an option to select the supervisor to whom the leave request gets assigned based on all the active job records.,9,It is still the initial stages of the product and has not implemented it for all the colleges. We will be able to come with the numbers after a year or so.,Higher Education User Group (HEUG),Microsoft Office 365, SQL Developer, Oracle DatabasePeopleSoft HCM is the mature leader of the marketThe whole organization uses it for core HCM and base benefits administration. We track employee info and integrate to payroll.,It has the most robust and mature functionality It has the best flexibility to configure and customize There is a huge community of users and consultants to share experience and help with support,Improve the automatic updates of time and attendance regulatory rules Improve the mobile time entry configuration,10,ROI has been great. We were doing things in small and different systems and it was time consuming. Now it is efficient and secure. We had audit and security issues before PeopleSoft.,Oracle Applications Users Group Quest International User Group,Workday Human Capital Management,ADP Streamline PayrollBest tool for schools, colleges, or any sized enterprises.I've mainly been the user of this product in my organization, but actually been using it for a few years now. Used to use it at the two schools I've attended. I used to use it to schedule classes for the most part, but really just about anything school/college related.,PeopleSoft is very customizable to satisfy one's individual needs Can easily be connected to many different PeopleSoft applications Great permission and access controls, flexible to many different use cases,Upgrades are very time consuming, and risky Not mobile compatible, or a supported app for Android or iOS--only browser, which does not render very well. Quite expensive and implementation is challenging.,10,Positive ROI as it is very widely used so easy to find help, hence less time spent on managing on maintaining Positive ROI as it is very widely used so easy to find help, hence less manpower spent on managing on maintaining,Not a member of any user groupsPeopleSoft HCM ReviewUsed for HR, payroll. We converted employees from our legacy HR system to PeopleSoft. It helped all employee information be in one system.,It's fluid enabled Scaleable Oracle continues to advance the product,Two-factor authentication View access audits Only starting to mass data. Would like to see more fields enhanced currently.,10,Positive: Allowed the organisation to be scale-able for the roll-out for mergers and acquisitions Positive: Rolled out open enrollment to all employees Negative: Delivered system audits,Not a member of any user groups,Lawson (Intentia)Ready to Retire?Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is being used as part of a enterprise level retirement system used by internal staff and external customers. Our customers are made up of former and current employees of New York State. In order to determine the amount time earned and payment owed to a retiree we need to store tier and employment history for each employee.,Can be connected seamlessly to other PeopleSoft applications All information can be accessed via a portal interface Share security management can be synced between all PeopleSoft applications,Tax updates could be easier to apply due to frequency,10,It has been useful for determining employee eligibility for retirement,Not a member of any user groups,PeopleSoft Financials
Unspecified
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM
394 Ratings
Score 7.0 out of 101
TRScore

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Reviews

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM
394 Ratings
Score 7.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 394 vetted Oracle PeopleSoft HCM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 49)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sanjiv Bhagat profile photo
June 26, 2018

"Oracle PeopleSoft HCM review from the Higher Education business Perspective."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is being implemented organization-wide. The Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) oversees Washington State’s system of 34 public community and technical colleges with a total of about 22,000 employees and nearly 381,000 students each year.



Over the years, our 34 colleges used the Legacy software system to create a variety of practices and processes to take care of business, from student financial aid reports to payroll processing. Each district developed different ways to do the same thing. So implementing Oracle PeopleSoft HCM helps in moving to a single HCM system for all the colleges which help in conducting business easily and reduce the cost immensely in maintaining the employees.



  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is one of the best product and has helped implement the complex Business functionalities in the Higher Education business in a very streamlined process.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM helped in moving from 34 different legacy system to one centralized system which helps immensely in maintaining the data and reporting purpose.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM also helps immensely in data analytics and trend analysis which helps immensely in preparing for the resourcing and planning for the peak season in advance and be better prepared to handle the quarterly on annual activities.
  • Oracle should bring back the Breadcrumbs navigation back to PeopleSoft Fluid screens.
  • PeopleSoft Absence Management is also a Global payroll product which causes issues in processing absence for employees in multiple open calendars which is useful when processing payroll but not for Absence processing. So there should be an option when using this product for Absence Processing only. It should allow employees in multiple open calendars to be processed.
  • In higher education, there are some employees where a "leave" belongs to the person and not each job. So it would be helpful to have the functionality of having employees working in multiple jobs accrue leaves from multiple jobs but all stored at the payee level(which is possible today) but they should get an option to select the supervisor to whom the leave request gets assigned based on all the active job records.
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is the best tool in the market for Higher Education business. It helps immensely in implementing complex business scenarios. It also helps a lot as it is a very flexible product and can be easily configured to implement some out of the box functionality. The newer Fluid functionality is also very user-friendly and easy to adopt.
Read Sanjiv Bhagat's full review
Daniel Kanner profile photo
October 29, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "PeopleSoft HCM is the mature leader of the market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses it for core HCM and base benefits administration. We track employee info and integrate to payroll.
  • It has the most robust and mature functionality
  • It has the best flexibility to configure and customize
  • There is a huge community of users and consultants to share experience and help with support
  • Improve the automatic updates of time and attendance regulatory rules
  • Improve the mobile time entry configuration
It is the best core HCM and benefits admin system. It can also do payroll like a champ.
Read Daniel Kanner's full review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "Best tool for schools, colleges, or any sized enterprises."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've mainly been the user of this product in my organization, but actually been using it for a few years now. Used to use it at the two schools I've attended. I used to use it to schedule classes for the most part, but really just about anything school/college related.
  • PeopleSoft is very customizable to satisfy one's individual needs
  • Can easily be connected to many different PeopleSoft applications
  • Great permission and access controls, flexible to many different use cases
  • Upgrades are very time consuming, and risky
  • Not mobile compatible, or a supported app for Android or iOS--only browser, which does not render very well.
  • Quite expensive and implementation is challenging.
I cannot think of any instance where PeopleSoft HCM would not be the right product, as PeopleSoft HCM is very customizable and flexible to one's needs, and can be controlled in many ways. But PeopleSoft HCM is very well suited for any company or organization that does many basic things such as payroll, finance, school schedules, maintaining records of users, and other details.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM: "PeopleSoft HCM Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for HR, payroll. We converted employees from our legacy HR system to PeopleSoft. It helped all employee information be in one system.
  • It's fluid enabled
  • Scaleable
  • Oracle continues to advance the product
  • Two-factor authentication
  • View access audits
  • Only starting to mass data. Would like to see more fields enhanced currently.
10-year support road-map, and the product is continuing to advance. Application audits need to be improved.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 24, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "Ready to Retire?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is being used as part of a enterprise level retirement system used by internal staff and external customers. Our customers are made up of former and current employees of New York State. In order to determine the amount time earned and payment owed to a retiree we need to store tier and employment history for each employee.
  • Can be connected seamlessly to other PeopleSoft applications
  • All information can be accessed via a portal interface
  • Share security management can be synced between all PeopleSoft applications
  • Tax updates could be easier to apply due to frequency
Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is well suited for our situation.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 24, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "Oracle HCM Rocks..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The Oracle HCM Suite is used across our organization effectively and its used in all functions and departments. The employee self service is the most user friendly and it has helped field sales guys to have on demand access 24*7 and even when travelling. Very fast, supportive and a great user experience.
  • Ease of Use
  • Rich Functionality
  • Payroll Integration
  • The screen could have fewer buttons
  • Allow for simpler upgrades
  • Voice integration when running reports would be great
This product is suitable for small and medium sized to even large sized companies and is very cost effective. Oracle is heavily invested into the success of this product to keep their market dominance in this space. It has great feedback from my teams and has increased user adoption, plus it has lesser implementation time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 23, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM: "PS HCM review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being used by several HR department across the organization. It addresses HRIS and FIS systems.
  • All employees in the organization can consistently use the same HCM to track employee payroll data
  • We used to have problems in getting technical support from PeopleSoft. We hired a consultant to support us.
All employees in the organization are used to using PeopleSoft HCM after having used it for many years. It is good to use similar products with new versions.
Read this authenticated review
Patricia Smith profile photo
May 16, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "Non-technical value of PeopleSoft HCM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft HCM is being used across all Cru ministries in the US. We are using it to track employee data, provide benefits administration, payroll processing, compensation, and recruiting functions.
  • The effective dating feature of PeopleSoft is especially useful in tracking the life cycle of an employee's relationship with the organization, from the time they apply for an opening until the time they decide to retire from the company. Every transaction can be tracked within the system so you have the historical data needed to support any type of reporting that may be required.
  • Security is another thing that PeopleSoft does well. The ability to have row level security in addition to page security is very useful when you need to provide access to the data for various categories of employees. For example, we can set security permissions so that it allows a payroll clerk to see only hourly employees since that is the pay group for whom they're responsible for processing.
  • The Employee Snapshot in Manager Self-Service is an awesome new feature! It allows managers at any level to see specific data not only about their direct reports, but also 2nd and 3rd+ level direct reports as well. using a graphical drill down capability to get the details.
  • I also like that you can use many types of devices to work with PeopleSoft HCM. I can see the same information from my laptop, tablet or phone as needed.
  • The Dotted Line Reports feature of Company Directory will be an added bonus for our organization since many of our teams function as networked teams rather than hierarchical ones.
  • We really need to have more flexibility with the number of leaders for teams. We have many cross-functional teams that have more than one team leader. The ability to identify multiple leaders who can access their team members' data would be extremely helpful with how our staff work in a team environment.
  • Better documentation on the set up steps is needed. The wizards have helped a lot but they are still sometimes hard to use. Vidoes are helpful too, but often don't go to the level of detail necessary to completely set up a new feature or function.
  • Security is often confusing. Whenever new functionality is made available or a PUM update is done, the roles/permission lists to use it is sometimes difficult to find. Having a better way to search for that would be helpful.
  • The UX for Security needs needs to be redesigned. It is difficult to figure out all of the necessary steps to implement a change to a user's role or a permission is made. You often have to go to another place in the system to finalize the change such as running the SJT class update, which leads to that step being missed until you don't see your change in the system hours later!
PeopleSoft HCM is well suited for companies that have a variety of employees and business rules that determine their business processes. Having the ability to add customizations when it's absolutely necessary is a big plus and we've used that from time to time since we are a non-profit organization and have some non-traditional types of employees.
PeopleSoft HCM takes a big burden off of our operational staff since it provides most of the regulatory reporting that we have to do. Knowing that Oracle will update the code with all of the Tax changes on a regular basis is such a huge relief for our Tax department and our programming team.
This also applies to companies who are working in a global environment. While not every country is supported, many of them are so that gives a lot of lift to operational staff in those countries.
Read Patricia Smith's full review
Criss Laidlaw profile photo
April 13, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "PeopleSoft HCM - solid, but what does the future hold?"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization for staff recruiting; core HR including position management; base benefits; time and attendance, and payroll. We went live in 2001 and are currently in release 9.2. We do not currently use Fluid for self-service but hope to start this summer or fall. One Fluid feature we're waiting for is manager approval of reported time, which is rumored to be coming soon.
  • Payroll processing has been stable for the entire time we've used HCM and generally has the flexibility to handle a variety of situations we encounter in paying students, faculty and staff, including many cases of multiple jobs.
  • Self-service using the classic pages has worked well for us and has relieved HR staff from answering many questions individually.
  • The PeopleTools technology framework has allowed us to add new capabilities not supported by the product, including creating a way for managers of student workers to hire them without HR involvement.
  • We have issues with students using Time & Labor for multiple jobs, where time is incorrectly calculated, including negative balances where none exist.
  • The application is complex and some areas, especially Time & Labor, are very difficult to troubleshoot. The overall level of complexity has increased over the years.
  • We also use Campus Solutions and had to split apart HCM and CS, significantly increasing our maintenance overhead and creating inter-system issues that aren't always resolvable.
  • Campus Solutions has developed a solution for managing preferred names and gender identity that is missing/ incompatible with the HCM product.
While the PS HCM product more or less meets our current needs, Oracle's message in recent years has been cloud, cloud, cloud, leading one to the conclusion that innovation in the PS HCM space will be minimal in the future. Oracle hasn't outlined a clear path to get to their cloud offering from PS HCM.
Read Criss Laidlaw's full review
Talukdar S Asgar, Ph.D. profile photo
March 01, 2018

"Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization, a recent merger to a bigger organization will enhance the user count manifolds. Payroll, Base Benefits, and Human Resources are the primary modules that are in use. We have multiple integrations with Taleo, ADI, and other external applications. Our platform is on Oracle Cloud. This is a new implementation and we are seeing a massive performance gain.
  • Employee Payroll is divided into weekly and monthly, and we have different employees such as contingent worker and temps. All these are properly and tactfully handled by Position Management.
  • We keep our system up to date with latest tax update versions. Our payroll is smooth flawless since the introduction of Payroll for NA.
  • Base benefits allow proper maintenance of employee and dependent health benefits as well as vacation and leave accruals.
  • There is not much self-correcting ability in BAS Benefits, if Ben Admin can be more robust and informative it can help operation smoothen further.
  • COBOLS can be a concern and at times depends on running certain DMS, a clearer instruction can help admins and developers to troubleshoot. At times we need to spend hours in MOS to find the proper documents. If all these docs are combined in an ordered way it could become a one-stop point for troubleshooting.

Taleo-PeopleSoft integration

Ease of customization

Read Talukdar S Asgar, Ph.D.'s full review
John Pavarini profile photo
February 27, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "PeopleSoft - Just Okay.."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle PeopleSoft, and its various business application services, is being used across my organization. Primarily serving as the HR platform we use it for both benefits administration, compensation, and talent acquisition. Other non-HR features being used are for finance management, procurement, invoicing, and legal contract management. PeopleSoft systems are utilized by all managers and all employees in some form. Having a centralized hub of organizational information helps streamline operational efforts in an organization of near 7000 employees. For the most part, the various services communicate well, are easy to train new staff in, and act a platform that our IT programmers can develop on to meet new business requirements.

  • The system allows for a lot of customization. Our talent acquisition platform is almost completely customized to communicate with our financial and compensation teams who aide in the position request and approval process. While the updates certainly take time, we utilize Oracle support to make our systems our own in order to meet business needs.
  • The dashboards are user-friendly both for employees and managers. The self-service features are great tools for allowing employees to set up their payroll and tax preferences, distribute pay stubs, and monitor PTO. For orders or invoice pay requests this is all built in to communicate with our procurement and accounts payable teams. This is a great tool to help effectively get requests through and approved in a hierarchy format.
  • As a large organization, there is a plethora of information stored and made available to the organization. Having the ability to house so much data and have the system run as quickly as it does is certainly impressive. With such emphasis on less paper trail, this has certainly been a cost-effective means to make information available electronically.
  • Although the customization is a strength, this is largely due to some business systems of PeopleSoft being out of date. The HR system for talent management is pretty poorly designed out of the box. There are updates from Oracle that may have the system more comparable to other popular applicant tracking systems, but ours is fairly bare bones. As a result we’ve customized this entirely, and unfortunately deal with a fair amount of internal errors. Luckily from the outside our applicants and candidates do not face issues.
  • Our current PeopleSoft version is not mobile compatible and overall they were behind the ball in implementing mobile friendly systems. As a business and society of always on the go, the inability to effectively utilize all services from a tablet or phone is disappointing. Again, there are rumors of mobile compatibility upgrades, but the upgrade is too pricey for us to take on at this time.
  • The performance management function was very old fashioned. It was difficult to manage and utilize by both team leaders and employees. Our organization recently removed the performance management function and went with an entirely different system. As a rapidly changing and evolving business strategy the check a box and numerical rating on individual performance was not adaptable to a more personalized goal setting performance review process.

Oracle PeopleSoft is probably best suited for employee self-service functions such as benefits enrollment, payroll tax preferences, and other similar HR related features. The financial features and the applicant tracking system are behind other competing business systems. The UI of the system as a whole is not very modern, and not being mobile friendly is a factor here. At the same time, this system is still very comprehensive and best suited for a 1000+ employee organization both due to cost and services. While there have been hiccups over the years of utilizing PeopleSoft our developers and Oracle support have always been available to assist.

Read John Pavarini's full review
Kathleen Thomas  CCP, CBP, GRP profile photo
February 21, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "PeopleSoft is great"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle PeopleSoft HCM for our HR and for our Finance area. I work in HR in Compensation and I use it on a daily basis to look information up and to report on information. It helps to organize our HR systems and house/manage our data. I have used it in previous companies as well.
  • The reporting tool is quite intuitive. I report every day on various data segments. The data comes down very organized.
  • Oracle interfaces quite well with many of our other systems. We use PeopleFluent and other systems.
  • The input for HR data into PeopleSoft is also very organized. We can enter data one-by-one for employees or do mass uploads. It really helps with the workload.
  • I have heard from my recruiting and talent acquisition groups that the interface to the ATS took a lot of work to integrate effectively.
As mentioned, PeopleSoft specializes and is great for both Human Resources and for Finance reporting. I use it strictly for Human Resources, but have heard from colleagues that the financial side is also quite intuitive. The reporting tools within PeopleSoft make it simple to export lots of data that can then be put into Excel, Access or other programs to further analyze.
Read Kathleen Thomas CCP, CBP, GRP's full review
Teal Sexton profile photo
April 10, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "HCM for the Large and Complicated Enterprise"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UC Berkeley uses Oracle PeopleSoft HCM across the whole organization, as the enterprise Human Resources (HR) system of record for all HR and Payroll actions.
  • PeopleSoft HCM captures detailed information about each employee in the organization, based on a variety of fields and effective dates.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is able to capture and track Position information for budgeting and planning purposes, separate from the Employee information.
  • PeopleSoft HCM can handle very detailed and complicated benefit plans.
  • PeopleSoft HCM allows for flexible reporting off of relational tables.
  • The reporting feature is not intuitive for basic users. It requires someone a little more advanced to set up queries and save them for other users.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is very expensive and implementation is complex and challenging.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is not very intuitive to use. It requires training and a well documented and defined business process to ensure the fields are used correctly to get the most out of the system, particularly when it comes to reporting.
It is well suited to a very large enterprise with a lot of Employee actions, turnover, benefit packages and other details to track.
It is not appropriate for a small or even medium-sized business with straightforward benefits and only a few job titles or actions to track.

For example, a University with hundreds of jobs and actions like Sabbaticals, paid leaves, administrative leaves, probation, etc. requires a system as robust and complex as PeopleSoft HCM. This makes it worth the expense.
Read Teal Sexton's full review
Michele Thibodeau profile photo
April 09, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "PeopleSoft HCM"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HCM is our HR system of record for the whole organization; used for all basic HR functions such as benefits, hires, terminations, connections with Payroll. It is used to address all HR/Personnel issues, problems.
  • It stores all basic biodemo data for all persons in our HCM, CS, and Financials systems
  • Effective dating logic is fairly robust, yet easy to understand
  • Table structure is relatively straightforward
  • Our users have expressed concerns about talent acquisition functionality, ended up going with another vendor
Absence management is fairly simple to understand; it provided an easy way for employees to see their balances, and to request time off.
Read Michele Thibodeau's full review
Christopher Pokorny profile photo
April 06, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "Smaller scale departmental use of PS HCM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for HR purposes across the entire organization -- managing personnel data, salaries, positions, etc. Specifically, my department uses it because I am delegated to adding or closing grant chartfields that originate from our PeopleSoft Finance database, to make sure personnel on grants are paid from the correct chartfields. I also sometimes use it to query data related to graduate assistants who are hired, and the position titles of faculty who teach graduate-level courses.
  • The navigation for looking up personnel data is intuitive.
  • Closing combination codes is a very easy process.
  • Query reporting tools are very powerful -- query manager, connected query, and BI Publisher.
  • I don't know if this an institution issue or not, but the process of adding new combination codes is cumbersome at times. We do it through an Excel spreadsheet, and if we make a mistake/typo, it's a real pain to delete or inactivate it and insert a new row.
My exposure to the product is more narrow than some other users. Overall, the information from HR publishes and subscribes via basic sync to the Financials database that I use much more often.
Read Christopher Pokorny's full review
Chrissy Disibio profile photo
March 01, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM: "Review of Peoplesoft HCM"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses the entire Peoplesoft suite from HCM to Financials. It addresses our HR needs such as job data, performance management, compensation, benefits, financials.
  • Well known and long standing in the industry
  • Making advancements in Cloud (Oracle)
  • Having their modules all connected
  • Easy to integrate
  • Needs to have more focus on the future- especially cloud, and look at competitors like Workday in terms of User Experience (the system isn't as engaging and user-friendly as it could be)
  • Needs better reporting capability
Oracle Peoplesoft HCM is good for larger companies who need an enterprise-wide solution. I think it is a bit too large and vast for smaller companies.
Read Chrissy Disibio's full review
Rob Blake profile photo
April 09, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM: "PeopleSoft - A Well Integrated Suite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The PeopleSoft HCM product is one of many in use across the entire organization for maintaining employee HR information, Students, Financials, etc.
  • Ease of use
  • User-friendly
  • The PeopleSoft suite of products is well integrated across all applications.
  • Application update calendars are almost non-existent. You get notified as they are released, not 'planned' dates.
  • Change Assistant and Virtual Machines are rather new and somewhat frustrating to work with. Needs step-by-step instructions for implementation and a training seminar in its use.
The whole PeopleSoft suite of products is well integrated and very user friendly.
Read Rob Blake's full review
Priyamvadha Gopalakrishnan profile photo
March 08, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "So PeopleSoft has a 'soft' spot in my heart!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across our whole organization. It addresses employee benefits, payroll and HR requirements.
  • Automation of payroll process
  • Automation of benefits events and link to job changes
  • Queries, WorkCenters
  • Fluid tiles
  • Implement new ideas based on user suggestions. Example, primary job flag updates.
  • Provide more options in Leave Accrual process
  • A better process for retroactive benefit deductions
Appropriate - Payroll, Benefits
Less appropriate - Occupational Health
Read Priyamvadha Gopalakrishnan's full review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "PeopleSoft HCM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a well rounded ERP package that has been on the market for a few decades. It is thoroughly tested and supports all the needs of organizations across the US and the globe. PeopleSoft's ability to leverage functionality with ease of use is remarkable. With all the new features that have been rolling out, it can compete with other products in the market.
  • Thoroughly Tested and developed to adhere to industry needs in the US.
  • Great technical support staff that can be contacted to help by filing service requests.
  • Helpful manuals in the form of PeopleBooks with loads of useful content to gain technical and functional knowledge about PeopleSoft.
  • Great way to not only customize a particular solution but also provides a great way to integrate with third-party solutions.
  • Some modules need in-depth functional knowledge to work as configured. This can lead to some issues if set up is not configured properly.
  • Hard to recruit, train and retain technical and functional staff. Employers are always on the lookout for new people interested in PeopleSoft.
  • Customizations made by clients can also cause a hindrance to what Oracle can deliver. This is the major reason why it isn't able to catch up to the level of some of its other competitors.
Great for mid-size to large organizations and public sector employers that need tools for payroll, recruitment, talent management, and workforce management along with all the other core HCM services. It is not, however, a one-stop shop for all needs. Some of the reporting tools and solutions seem inadequate or not up to industry-wide levels.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

User Review: "Insights in Oracle PeopleSoft HCM"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization (of the higher education sector) use PeopleSoft HCM, Campus Solutions, and Finance. PeopleSoft HCM is being used across the entire organization and is it used to manage our people resources and is also used to manage security across the different systems. It is used to support administrative business processes like employee movement, performance appraisal, and Payroll.
  • Flexibility in handling multiple concurrent assignments.
  • ePerformance and Time & Labor are highly configurable
  • We are also using Contract Pay for a group of employees. Once the bugs have been addressed, it is a great solution to our business needs.
  • Limited functionality on Profile management and Career Development
  • There should be better integration between core HR and Time and Labor
  • Alert notifications are not easy to implement.

Well suited for large organizations where business change is managed well, and where there are minimal exceptions to policies and processes.

It is not appropriate for small organizations (less than 300 employees) because the cost of support is high.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM: "Higher Education Review of PeopleSoft"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft is being used across the entire organization - university setting. It is used to manage student applications, financial aid, employee data, payroll, and nearly every other aspect of people at the university.

It is NOT used as a CRM for tracking prospective students to the university though, Hobson's Radius is used for that. It also is not used for graduate applications; we use Terra Dotta for managing those applications.
  • Handles alarge amount of students, employees, and people
  • The system is not as intuitive for end users. They know their own functional areas after training, but needing to use other parts of the system can be a learning curve.
It works well for large organizations
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 09, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM: "PS HCM Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
State of Montana uses PeopleSoft HCM for HR/Payroll/Time and Labor/Benefits Administration and Position Management as an enterprise system. PeopleSoft assists with ensuring compliance with any tax and regulatory changes along with supporting documentation to assist with analysis and testing of our current environment.
  • Documentation has greatly improved over the years.
  • Idea Space allows users to post enhancement requests and allow other entities to vote.
  • Posting regulatory changes/patches or fixes in a timely manner
  • Turn around time with SRs and getting the issue routed to the right technical expertise can be hit or miss at times.
  • Improve integration capability between other Oracle Cloud products such as Fusion and Taleo.
I feel Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is a leader in human resources and payroll, and they are catching up with the talent area.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 09, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "PeopleSoft Experience"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in the various departments of our college. We use Oracle PeopleSoft and other Oracle products as part of our ERP system. It brings the campus under one system platform and we develop and utilize many of the tools that PeopleSoft has to offer.
  • Good development platform
  • Good support Community
  • Myriad of Features
  • Modernize look and feel, I believe this is being done however
  • Allow the ability to develop some things right from the environment instead of through PeopleTools
I came into the organization who already used the system so I don't know of many alternatives. PeopleSoft seems to be suited for larger organizations that can put in the time and effort to develop and maintain the platform. It may be less appropriate for smaller organizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 06, 2018

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM: "HigherEd Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PeopleSoft is used for HR, Payroll, and Benefits on our campus. It is also used for financial and student solutions, but that is outside the scope of my work.
  • Job Data works well within PeopleSoft. The payroll function runs smoothly.
  • Batch processing runs smoothly and is easy to develop as we identify needs for tracking new information and asking our divisions to provide information for mass upload.
  • The Time and Absence module is quite clunky and is definitely a place for improvement. Asking people to review, track, and approve time in the current module is hard to do. People have built many shadow systems to deal with this.
  • The upgrade to 9.2 does not seem to have added improvements, and in some ways made the system less functional. The changes were not explained in a way that showed how they were positive.
  • The system does not allow for the concept of a 0% FTE, which I think it more common than they think.
If you have limited variations of employees and benefit plans, I think the system could function well. When you have many employee categories with different rules and plans, it does not function as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 22, 2017

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Review: "PeopleSoft set the standards and continues to shape the market"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We provide PeopleSoft as a service to a range of customers in a variety of industry sectors as well as supporting other PeopleSoft HCM on-premise users to get the most out of a very flexible product. The configurability and mature integration that PeopleSoft offers together with all the new features makes it a rich and effective product.
  • PeopleSoft has invested heavily to improve the User Interface that is both accessible on a device and on a desk-top. PeopleSoft is one of the few HRIS systems that provides an identical user interface irrelevant of the device, thus resulting in less training and change management effort.
  • PeopleSoft Talent Management modules are integrated out of the box with PeopleSoft Core HR/Payroll modules and requires no data extraction, updates or migration requirements either as a part of the implementation or on-going. It also requires no additional intervention to enable Single Sign-On, as when the employee is logged onto access their pay or update personal details, they have the ability to look at their talent profile / performance templates and compensation details
  • PeopleSoft provides the ability to Personalize, Configure and Customize your application. Today’s PeopleSoft is rich in functionality, that most Talent requirements are met with out of the box functionality requiring configuration
  • The Employee Snapshot feature provides managers with a comprehensive view of talent data related to an individual employee through the use of dashboards and tiles within the PeopleSoft Fluid User Interface pages.
  • With Employee Snapshot, managers have access to an employee’s talent data from one location instead of accessing several components separately.
  • Integration to Oracle's Taleo ATS could be much improved
Oracle PeopleSoft is well suited to multi-department / business group organisations, especially where multiple position management is part of the organisational design and where a single source of person data can drive a multitude of functions without the need to re-enter of duplicate data. It is unlikely to be suited to small organisations with fewer than 1,000 FTE.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (41)
8.0
Employment history (38)
7.9
Job profiles and administration (39)
6.8
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (38)
8.0
Organizational charting (35)
7.0
Organization and location management (37)
7.5
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (35)
6.5
Pay calculation (35)
8.7
Support for external payroll vendors (23)
8.6
Benefit plan administration (33)
7.7
Direct deposit files (34)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (31)
7.9
Reimbursement management (25)
8.6
Approval workflow (24)
7.9
Balance details (29)
8.0
Annual carry-forward and encashment (23)
7.7
View and generate pay and benefit information (37)
8.0
Update personal information (41)
8.9
View company policy documentation (28)
6.7
Employee recognition (23)
6.9
View job history (37)
8.4
Tracking of all physical assets (18)
6.6
Report builder (37)
7.3
Pre-built reports (35)
6.9
Ability to combine HR data with external data (32)
7.1
New hire portal (25)
7.1
Manager tracking tools (23)
7.5
Corporate goal setting (18)
7.9
Individual goal setting (20)
7.9
Line-of sight-visibility (19)
6.9
Performance tracking (20)
7.1
Performance plans (23)
7.1
Performance improvement plans (23)
7.4
Review status tracking (23)
7.4
Review reminders (21)
8.5
Multiple review frequency (22)
6.8
Create succession plans/pools (17)
6.9
Candidate ranking (16)
6.9
Candidate search (16)
7.5
Candidate development (14)
8.4
Job Requisition Management (18)
7.1
Company Website Posting (17)
7.4
Publish to Social Media (18)
6.6
Job Search Site Posting (19)
7.6
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (15)
4.4
Applicant Tracking (19)
6.4
Notifications and Alerts (18)
7.9

About Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management.
Categories:  Payroll,  HR Management

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Integrations

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Competitors

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No