Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Reviews

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Ratings and Reviews
(1-25 of 75)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Neal Brunner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Employee Self Service - links to tax, paycheck, time off information, etc.
  • Tracking job data - descriptions, pay ranges, reports for a specified job code.
  • Linking with integrated software, such as Kronos for timekeeping and vemo for workforce insight reports.
  • Updated User Interface - there is a lot of unused space.
  • More intuitive navigation, although the search feature helps offset some of that shortcoming.
  • Suggestions for useful links and reporting tools you may find helpful based on job title.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use and learn.
  • It's inhouse and hence we can write code or SQL or modify or generate integrations using custom SQL.
  • Ability to view multiple screens at once was a great plus, which we see in many systems, however first saw that on PeopleSoft.
  • Great customer support.
  • Compensation module definitely needs improvement.
  • Talent management - Goals and Performance management module needs improvement.
  • Running of ben interface overnight everyday consumes timeout each day. There should be no service interruption while running ben interfaces. It was maybe only us due to many customizations.
December 31, 2019

PeopleSoft HCM Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Real time updates are something it does well in.
  • Letting other users know the profile is being worked on, so no 2 computers can make edits at once.
  • I would say report customization is an area they could grow further in.
  • Automation of some elements would be nice to see as well, giving the user more time to spend looking at details instead of working through checking boxes.
September 18, 2019

PeopleSoft HCM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • One of the examples that we can provide for HCM is the Recruiting Module where candidate attachments and searching the candidates for internal and external job posting. Integration with Elastic search made it much more easy for the users.
  • Another example is N/A Payroll. Running the jobs and viewing the paystubs is much easier with 9.2 implementations. Oracle will be on top of regular tax updates so that the application will be current with the current government norms.
  • As a PeopleSoft administrator, we heard some complaints about Pivot Grid's performance. For example, the recruiting users in Pivot Grid gets late responses.
  • One more thing is that not all pages are being delivered in fluid and the development team went ahead to build some custom fluid pages. If Oracle provides all the pages in fluid that would reduce the effort of the client.
September 17, 2019

Oracle PeopleSoft Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very robust and stable application.
  • The user interface needs face-lift but we have not implemented the FLUID feature to our application.
  • Excited to see more attention towards Analytics. Kibana will be a game-changer.
  • Menu navigation can be too much for moderate users to remember their frequently visited pages.
  • JSON classes provided in 8.57 still need good documentation since it's hard to find real-time examples from an online search.
September 16, 2019

David's 26 year experience

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Fluid.
  • Delegation.
  • Benefits admin processing.
  • ACM: I love the concept, but would like to see growth.
  • Fluid: User adoption should improve on our side.
  • Sell the features on the cloud, not the cloud itself. Focus on what the cloud brings to us instead of hard-selling numbers.
January 24, 2019

ORACLE HRM PRODUCTS

Franz Josef Bautista | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It allows me to see my employee credentials in one place
  • It allows me to see "allowed" views of staff reporting to me
  • It allows me to control and file leaves, sick leaves and vacations easily
  • It allows me to plan my leaves tentatively
  • It allows staff to apply for clearance on exiting the company
  • It allows promotion requests online.
  • Would want SMS integration for filing and approving leaves for those who don't have smartphones
  • Email filing of leaves and approvals, not only in the system
  • Easier integration with biometric devices
Sanjiv Bhagat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM is one of the best product and has helped implement the complex Business functionalities in the Higher Education business in a very streamlined process.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM helped in moving from 34 different legacy system to one centralized system which helps immensely in maintaining the data and reporting purpose.
  • Oracle PeopleSoft HCM also helps immensely in data analytics and trend analysis which helps immensely in preparing for the resourcing and planning for the peak season in advance and be better prepared to handle the quarterly on annual activities.
  • Oracle should bring back the Breadcrumbs navigation back to PeopleSoft Fluid screens.
  • PeopleSoft Absence Management is also a Global payroll product which causes issues in processing absence for employees in multiple open calendars which is useful when processing payroll but not for Absence processing. So there should be an option when using this product for Absence Processing only. It should allow employees in multiple open calendars to be processed.
  • In higher education, there are some employees where a "leave" belongs to the person and not each job. So it would be helpful to have the functionality of having employees working in multiple jobs accrue leaves from multiple jobs but all stored at the payee level(which is possible today) but they should get an option to select the supervisor to whom the leave request gets assigned based on all the active job records.
Patricia Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The effective dating feature of PeopleSoft is especially useful in tracking the life cycle of an employee's relationship with the organization, from the time they apply for an opening until the time they decide to retire from the company. Every transaction can be tracked within the system so you have the historical data needed to support any type of reporting that may be required.
  • Security is another thing that PeopleSoft does well. The ability to have row level security in addition to page security is very useful when you need to provide access to the data for various categories of employees. For example, we can set security permissions so that it allows a payroll clerk to see only hourly employees since that is the pay group for whom they're responsible for processing.
  • The Employee Snapshot in Manager Self-Service is an awesome new feature! It allows managers at any level to see specific data not only about their direct reports, but also 2nd and 3rd+ level direct reports as well. using a graphical drill down capability to get the details.
  • I also like that you can use many types of devices to work with PeopleSoft HCM. I can see the same information from my laptop, tablet or phone as needed.
  • The Dotted Line Reports feature of Company Directory will be an added bonus for our organization since many of our teams function as networked teams rather than hierarchical ones.
  • We really need to have more flexibility with the number of leaders for teams. We have many cross-functional teams that have more than one team leader. The ability to identify multiple leaders who can access their team members' data would be extremely helpful with how our staff work in a team environment.
  • Better documentation on the set up steps is needed. The wizards have helped a lot but they are still sometimes hard to use. Vidoes are helpful too, but often don't go to the level of detail necessary to completely set up a new feature or function.
  • Security is often confusing. Whenever new functionality is made available or a PUM update is done, the roles/permission lists to use it is sometimes difficult to find. Having a better way to search for that would be helpful.
  • The UX for Security needs needs to be redesigned. It is difficult to figure out all of the necessary steps to implement a change to a user's role or a permission is made. You often have to go to another place in the system to finalize the change such as running the SJT class update, which leads to that step being missed until you don't see your change in the system hours later!
Criss Laidlaw | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Payroll processing has been stable for the entire time we've used HCM and generally has the flexibility to handle a variety of situations we encounter in paying students, faculty and staff, including many cases of multiple jobs.
  • Self-service using the classic pages has worked well for us and has relieved HR staff from answering many questions individually.
  • The PeopleTools technology framework has allowed us to add new capabilities not supported by the product, including creating a way for managers of student workers to hire them without HR involvement.
  • We have issues with students using Time & Labor for multiple jobs, where time is incorrectly calculated, including negative balances where none exist.
  • The application is complex and some areas, especially Time & Labor, are very difficult to troubleshoot. The overall level of complexity has increased over the years.
  • We also use Campus Solutions and had to split apart HCM and CS, significantly increasing our maintenance overhead and creating inter-system issues that aren't always resolvable.
  • Campus Solutions has developed a solution for managing preferred names and gender identity that is missing/ incompatible with the HCM product.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It has the most robust and mature functionality
  • It has the best flexibility to configure and customize
  • There is a huge community of users and consultants to share experience and help with support
  • Improve the automatic updates of time and attendance regulatory rules
  • Improve the mobile time entry configuration
Talukdar S Asgar, Ph.D. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Employee Payroll is divided into weekly and monthly, and we have different employees such as contingent worker and temps. All these are properly and tactfully handled by Position Management.
  • We keep our system up to date with latest tax update versions. Our payroll is smooth flawless since the introduction of Payroll for NA.
  • Base benefits allow proper maintenance of employee and dependent health benefits as well as vacation and leave accruals.
  • There is not much self-correcting ability in BAS Benefits, if Ben Admin can be more robust and informative it can help operation smoothen further.
  • COBOLS can be a concern and at times depends on running certain DMS, a clearer instruction can help admins and developers to troubleshoot. At times we need to spend hours in MOS to find the proper documents. If all these docs are combined in an ordered way it could become a one-stop point for troubleshooting.
February 27, 2018

PeopleSoft - Just Okay..

John Pavarini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The system allows for a lot of customization. Our talent acquisition platform is almost completely customized to communicate with our financial and compensation teams who aide in the position request and approval process. While the updates certainly take time, we utilize Oracle support to make our systems our own in order to meet business needs.
  • The dashboards are user-friendly both for employees and managers. The self-service features are great tools for allowing employees to set up their payroll and tax preferences, distribute pay stubs, and monitor PTO. For orders or invoice pay requests this is all built in to communicate with our procurement and accounts payable teams. This is a great tool to help effectively get requests through and approved in a hierarchy format.
  • As a large organization, there is a plethora of information stored and made available to the organization. Having the ability to house so much data and have the system run as quickly as it does is certainly impressive. With such emphasis on less paper trail, this has certainly been a cost-effective means to make information available electronically.
  • Although the customization is a strength, this is largely due to some business systems of PeopleSoft being out of date. The HR system for talent management is pretty poorly designed out of the box. There are updates from Oracle that may have the system more comparable to other popular applicant tracking systems, but ours is fairly bare bones. As a result we’ve customized this entirely, and unfortunately deal with a fair amount of internal errors. Luckily from the outside our applicants and candidates do not face issues.
  • Our current PeopleSoft version is not mobile compatible and overall they were behind the ball in implementing mobile friendly systems. As a business and society of always on the go, the inability to effectively utilize all services from a tablet or phone is disappointing. Again, there are rumors of mobile compatibility upgrades, but the upgrade is too pricey for us to take on at this time.
  • The performance management function was very old fashioned. It was difficult to manage and utilize by both team leaders and employees. Our organization recently removed the performance management function and went with an entirely different system. As a rapidly changing and evolving business strategy the check a box and numerical rating on individual performance was not adaptable to a more personalized goal setting performance review process.
February 21, 2018

PeopleSoft is great

Kathleen Thomas  CCP, CBP, GRP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The reporting tool is quite intuitive. I report every day on various data segments. The data comes down very organized.
  • Oracle interfaces quite well with many of our other systems. We use PeopleFluent and other systems.
  • The input for HR data into PeopleSoft is also very organized. We can enter data one-by-one for employees or do mass uploads. It really helps with the workload.
  • I have heard from my recruiting and talent acquisition groups that the interface to the ATS took a lot of work to integrate effectively.
Teal Sexton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • PeopleSoft HCM captures detailed information about each employee in the organization, based on a variety of fields and effective dates.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is able to capture and track Position information for budgeting and planning purposes, separate from the Employee information.
  • PeopleSoft HCM can handle very detailed and complicated benefit plans.
  • PeopleSoft HCM allows for flexible reporting off of relational tables.
  • The reporting feature is not intuitive for basic users. It requires someone a little more advanced to set up queries and save them for other users.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is very expensive and implementation is complex and challenging.
  • PeopleSoft HCM is not very intuitive to use. It requires training and a well documented and defined business process to ensure the fields are used correctly to get the most out of the system, particularly when it comes to reporting.
April 09, 2018

PeopleSoft HCM

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It stores all basic biodemo data for all persons in our HCM, CS, and Financials systems
  • Effective dating logic is fairly robust, yet easy to understand
  • Table structure is relatively straightforward
  • Our users have expressed concerns about talent acquisition functionality, ended up going with another vendor
Christopher Pokorny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The navigation for looking up personnel data is intuitive.
  • Closing combination codes is a very easy process.
  • Query reporting tools are very powerful -- query manager, connected query, and BI Publisher.
  • I don't know if this an institution issue or not, but the process of adding new combination codes is cumbersome at times. We do it through an Excel spreadsheet, and if we make a mistake/typo, it's a real pain to delete or inactivate it and insert a new row.
Chrissy Disibio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Well known and long standing in the industry
  • Making advancements in Cloud (Oracle)
  • Having their modules all connected
  • Easy to integrate
  • Needs to have more focus on the future- especially cloud, and look at competitors like Workday in terms of User Experience (the system isn't as engaging and user-friendly as it could be)
  • Needs better reporting capability

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Human Resource Management (7)
80%
8.0
Employee demographic data (65)
79%
7.9
Employment history (63)
88%
8.8
Job profiles and administration (65)
86%
8.6
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (63)
79%
7.9
Organizational charting (55)
79%
7.9
Organization and location management (60)
79%
7.9
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (53)
74%
7.4
Payroll Management (7)
77%
7.7
Pay calculation (56)
80%
8.0
Support for external payroll vendors (40)
77%
7.7
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (3)
70%
7.0
Benefit plan administration (51)
77%
7.7
Direct deposit files (54)
77%
7.7
Salary revision and increment management (52)
80%
8.0
Reimbursement management (39)
78%
7.8
Leave and Attendance Management (3)
85%
8.5
Approval workflow (40)
90%
9.0
Balance details (46)
86%
8.6
Annual carry-forward and encashment (36)
79%
7.9
Employee Self Service (5)
81%
8.1
View and generate pay and benefit information (58)
86%
8.6
Update personal information (66)
88%
8.8
View company policy documentation (45)
80%
8.0
Employee recognition (38)
68%
6.8
View job history (62)
81%
8.1
Asset Management (1)
80%
8.0
Tracking of all physical assets (26)
80%
8.0
HR Reporting (3)
81%
8.1
Report builder (61)
82%
8.2
Pre-built reports (59)
78%
7.8
Ability to combine HR data with external data (54)
82%
8.2
Onboarding (2)
80%
8.0
New hire portal (45)
81%
8.1
Manager tracking tools (41)
79%
7.9
Performance and Goals (4)
75%
7.5
Corporate goal setting (32)
73%
7.3
Individual goal setting (34)
76%
7.6
Line-of sight-visibility (32)
72%
7.2
Performance tracking (34)
79%
7.9
Performance Management (5)
72%
7.2
Performance plans (38)
78%
7.8
Performance improvement plans (37)
75%
7.5
Review status tracking (37)
73%
7.3
Review reminders (32)
62%
6.2
Multiple review frequency (35)
73%
7.3
Succession Planning (4)
76%
7.6
Create succession plans/pools (29)
77%
7.7
Candidate ranking (28)
73%
7.3
Candidate search (29)
84%
8.4
Candidate development (26)
72%
7.2
Recruiting / ATS (7)
73%
7.3
Job Requisition Management (32)
75%
7.5
Company Website Posting (30)
67%
6.7
Publish to Social Media (28)
74%
7.4
Job Search Site Posting (31)
77%
7.7
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (24)
77%
7.7
Applicant Tracking (33)
72%
7.2
Notifications and Alerts (32)
73%
7.3

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete, customizable suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management. PeopleSoft can be integrated to run on the Oracle Cloud.

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Integrations

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Competitors

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Pricing

More Pricing Information

More pricing information from Oracle PeopleSoft HCM

SaaS Editions Pricing
Pricing DetailsTerms
Human Resources$185.00Per User Per Month
Benefits$85.00Per User Per Month
Pension Administration$85.00Per User Per Month
Payroll$225.00Per User Per Month

Oracle PeopleSoft HCM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete, customizable suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management. PeopleSoft can be integrated to run on the Oracle Cloud.

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM's best feature?

Reviewers rate Approval workflow highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

The most common users of Oracle PeopleSoft HCM are from Enterprises and the Higher Education industry.