SQL Developer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
434 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 62)

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL developer is still being used as one of the main tools for manipulating our databases. Although for development, the built-in tools suffice, this professional tool is still used widely by our DBAs. A reliable, and well-supported tool, which is excellent to utilize the power of PL/SQL and Oracle databases.
  • Database manipulation and SQL editing.
  • PL/SQL code development.
  • Modern IDE like features, like wider linting support.
  • More customization.
This is a free, very easy to use tool, and also quite widely used. If somebody wants to learn SQL and PL/SQL, this is the number one tool to begin with. Also, for Oracle databases, this tool works quite well and has some integrated solutions that other SQL IDE's lack. This functions well as a platform for new users and for highly trained professionals as well.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Ken Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

SQL Developer FOC

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 3 Oracle DBAs in our group. We use SQL Developer every day for running queries, writing script, running dml, ddl and compiling packages and procedures. We also use SQL Developer for administrative functions, such as creating or manipulating user accounts within the database. SQL Developer helps with organization of connections to multiple databases by allowing lots of connections to different databases and allows you to create folders.
  • DML and DDL.
  • Organization of connections to databases.
  • Export and import of external data.
  • SQL Developer does most everything TOAD can do.
  • Easier way to manipulate packages and procedures.
  • Better documentation and location of documentation easier to find online.
  • Maybe a little better look and feel to the GUI.
Well suited for querying the database and doing administrative functions on the database. SQL Developer is also well suited for writing new functions and procedures. It compiles quickly and allows you to see where the error is quickly. Not well suited from my perspective for bouncing the the database or restarting the database. The best thing is it is free.
Read Ken Turner's full review
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

SQL Developer Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a database administrator and I have recently started using SQL Developer command line (12.2) since it's been enhanced to be a successor to SQL Plus. I have always been interested in the graphical SQL Developer but as a dba, I required the command line functionality of SQL Plus. Now that SQL Developer command line exists, I have started using it. I really like some of the functionality but I am very new to using SQL Developer and wish that more robust documentation was available. I often find there are things in SQL Plus that I cannot do in SQL Developer command line, and I am unable to find the answers online. Using SQL Developer command line allows me to better perform my job functions as a dba.
  • Extract DDL for tables and indexes.
  • Provide statistical information from the data dictionary in an easy manner.
  • Help interface for command syntax is good when it works.
  • Help for legacy commands from SQL Plus- Some commands are deprecated but there is no explanation for what type of syntax to use instead.
  • Ability to start SQL Developer command line in the directory from which the command was launched (instead of SQL Developer home).
  • Spool without control characters.
Oracle SQL is well suited for:
  • Extracting DDL for tables and index is great.
  • Extracting DDL for constraints is not and using dbms_metadata is required.
  • Obtaining help for SQL commands would be great, like "help alter table".
  • Same for easily looking up Oracle errors (so merge SQL developer command line with the OERR facility)
  • Procedural interfaces with data pump import/export would be great too (automatically generate the calls to dbms_datapump).
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our full department is using Oracle SQL Developer. It is used by the business intelligence team to run queries and manage the reporting database. It is also used by developers to manage production databases and run their own set of tests and reports. It addresses the issue of having a single area for everyone on a team to manage the same environments.
  • Oracle SQL Developer's navigation bar has a lot of useful tools. When first learning how to use this product, it was very easy to move around and figure out what needed to be done.
  • This product allows you to organize schemas on a side bar view, which is very useful when working with multiple databases.
  • You can customize schema names to your liking, it does not have to be the same as others on the team.
  • Oracle SQL Developer is not the best tool for extracting data. If you want an excel sheet for all the outputted result data, it can take a very long time. This is tough for business users.
  • This tool does not allow you to monitor a system that is running as easy as other products similar to it.
  • Oracle SQL Developer is not as advanced in functionality as some other tools. For basic developers, this tool gets the job done. For more complex database management, I would suggest other software.
Oracle SQL Developer is an excellent tool for running queries that may be needed by a business. It is a great tool for viewing the different tables in your relational database. For DBAs, would usually work on monitoring databases and viewing permissions, other tools would be better suited than this one.
Read Jatel Desai's full review
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is our go-to application when needing to run quick queries against Oracle, get a quick overview of our schema, extract various DDL components, and other basic Oracle functionalities. We have never used it to do any Oracle DB Management or the like, preferring to go command line in these instances.
  • Build and analyze SQL.
  • Extract DDL.
  • Provides a quick overview of the Schema Structure.
  • Clunky, could use some basic UI improvements.
  • Returns only 100 lines at a time when querying DB.
  • Basic Oracle management functionality would be nice (check sizes of tablespaces, etc).
For software development purposes, Oracle SQL Developer is great. It quickly connects to an Oracle instance and allows developers to test their SQL quickly and efficiently. Likewise, when trying to replicate various database structures, the ability to retrieve the DDL is also very useful.
Read Zhann Goloborodko's full review
Chris Oros | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Great for non-DBA users

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is currently used by our IT department. Various business users also have SQL Developer, but we discourage that in favor of business reports being written by our IT and BI teams. Some users in our IT department use TOAD, instead. Because SQL Oracle Developer is free, it is the preferred choice by management. Having an application to query our databases allows non-expert users to write and query SQL without the use of command-line applications, like SQL Plus. This "user-friendly" attribute is appealing to non-DBAs.
  • SQL Developer is useful for navigating the DDL of a table.
  • Easy-to-understand errors and explanations on incorrect queries.
  • Quick load time of application from start-up.
  • Explain plans are very helpful in tuning.
  • Never know when a query has been truly terminated. Even if one has access to the SQL Monitoring or Monitoring SQL Sessions, it still may show as being terminated but in actuality, within OEM, the query could still be running and need to be killed there. The inability to truly know when a session has ended results in frustration because the next query may not be able to run because the last is actually still running.
  • The tuning advisor runs very long and is not always helpful.
  • Not knowing the status of a query can be frustrating. That is, if a query is running long, it may show as "running" (i.e. the horizontal bar moving back and forth at the bottom of the screen), but in actuality, it may be hung up.
Factoring into my rating is the fact that the use of SQL Developer is free. I would suggest SQL Developer because it performs as well as any non-free application. That is, SQL Developer is not a "bare-bones" product- it is able to perform the same functions and aid in tuning a query just as well as any other product.
For non-DBAs, the interface is relatively easy to understand, with a straightforward feeling and very few buttons. This 'plain' feeling can help non-expert users not feel intimidated or inundated.
Read Chris Oros's full review
Aaron Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Easy-to-use tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is used at Duquesne Light Company to query our Oracle Utility Suite databases (CCB, MDM, MWM). We use it for standard selects, DDL and DML. It is being used across multiple departments in both IT and non-IT disciplines. It is also used to build reports. It addresses the need for a simple user-friendly database connection and querying tool for those who know how to write SQL and need information from the OUS databases.
  • User-friendly.
  • Easy to install.
  • Allows users to write PL/SQL.
  • You can't run more than one query against the same database at one time. This is a capability for TOAD.
  • Sometimes it doesn't allow you to use parallel threads in query execution and the error message isn't very descriptive or explain why.
  • Editing your display preferences could be a little easier. I had to watch several YouTube videos before I was able to figure out where those settings are kept.
SQL Developer is well-suited for low to medium volume select, update, insert, and delete queries where the number of records touched is <1,000,000 records. SQL Developer is less suited for real PL/SQL development. Our software engineers use other tools to write and compile larger PL/SQL packages. It isn't a bad thing but it's something that could be looked into.
Read Aaron Baker's full review
Kevin Chu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Dev is used for all of our Oracle databases for analytics. We've chosen SQL Dev as a reliable product, and will continue to use it indefinitely.
  • Ease of use.
  • It's designed with human factors in mind.
  • Continuous improvement.
  • More color scheme options.
  • Query development help.
  • It could use more specific query errors than the generic Oracle codes.
SQL dev is great for new users. I've also used SQL Nav and Toad in the past, and SQL dev is a strong competitor.
Read Kevin Chu's full review
Jennifer Honciano | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Oracle SQL Developer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used by developers in Stanford for retrieving data for reporting purposes. I take the necessary data and use Excel or report tools to create reports for management. We also use the application to create quality control scripts for the application that we support for our users.
  • It's easy to navigate among the dashboard.
  • It's easy to find errors when debugging.
  • It's easy to run SQL scripts.
  • To more easily go back to the dashboard that I had set up before.
  • Finding tables and Views more easily.
  • Finding certain columns and which tables or views have these.
If you need to pull quick data, you can save the data and have it open in Excel.
Read Jennifer Honciano's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our database administration team is using Oracle SQL Developer for the sake of increased productivity. Instead of writing SQL queries out, they use Oracle SQL Developer's IDE interface to quickly create complex queries. Some other features we use include browsing/managing data, ad-hoc reporting, migrating 3rd party RDBMS systems over to Oracle, and data modeling.
  • Flexible GUI. The UI updates of the latest version have made navigating through the various features of Oracle SQL Developer quite easy.
  • Great Tools for Testing and Developing SQL Scripts. SQL scripting can be a hassle when working with large tables and such. Oracle SQL Developer makes it easy to preview how many rows and tables will be affected.
  • Ability to Load Data from Different File Formats. Some of our data comes in the form of Excel spreadsheets, XML, and JSON. Oracle SQL Developer allows our database administrators to easily push the data from these formats into our database tables automatically.
  • Inability to run multiple queries on the same database. You can only run one query on a given database.
  • Analytical models created from complex tables isn't accurate, and needs work.
  • Inability to view multiple tables of a database side-by-side. When trying to find correlations between tables, it would help to be able to see them at once on the same page.
Oracle SQL Developer is well-suited for all companies that are using Oracle SQL Databases. First and foremost, it is absolutely free, and there are many free in-depth tutorials and documentation online to answer all of your questions. No matter the amount of experience, I am sure all database administrators will be able to work much more productively with their organization's databases through this IDE.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is being used by our development team to provide introspection to the performance of our production baseline. Additionally, it's used during development to pilot capabilities, integrations and for rapid proof of concept implementation.
  • Seamless database management integration
  • Process stack analysis
  • Modeling and visualizations
  • Setup can be challenging if your schemas aren't well formed or managed. Also, the ability to model/develop extensions for an existing database solution will depend on how robust the DBA provisioned roles and designed the respective schemas.
  • Detailed analysis of models can be clunky for complex relational models.
You can utilize Oracle SQL Developer for package analysis, prototyping, troubleshooting for all phases of the SDLC.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is being used by your organization especially in the IT Department and Health Department.
We use Oracle SQL Developer to:
  • Connect to Oracle Databases
  • Create database objects like tables, views, triggers, jobs, users, stored procedures, functions.
  • Build and execute SQL queries
  • Execute SQL scripts
  • Easy to install, configure and use.
  • You can Import data easily from text files, Excel files, and CSV files.
  • Excellent GUI.
  • Oracle SQL Developer uses a big amount of RAM.
Pros:
  • You can use it for PL/SQL programming
  • You can execute SQL scripts
  • You can connect with different databases
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

SQL developer for dummies

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is used in our organization by our department and by some other business users. SQL Developer is a freeware that comes with no additional cost, which is appealing to users and helps in connecting to multiple instances of Oracle EBS and other Oracle related applications. It has no licensing or cost issue, and we can query and develop various database objects. SQL Developer fetches query results in different formats like in Excel, Text, etc., which is user-friendly, unlike the command line SQL Plus, where you have to use formatting options.
  • SQL Developer is easy to navigate and open database structures like tables, packages, procedures, etc.
  • Easy to connect to set up database connectivity using service name/SID information.
  • SQL Developer UI is very simple to understand and operate by the users and has a quick connect and load time of applications.
  • Easy to check the Explain plan assessing the cost of the SQL queries and thus helping in tuning.
  • Lacks the advanced options for a professional developer like accessing the dependent objects of a particular database object like Indexes, triggers, etc.
  • Lacks features do not have the SQL session monitoring capability and managing other Oracle sessions.
  • It does not give a clear indication of query status, whether it is running or stuck.
SQL Developer is a free application, so always recommended for non-DBA and amateur developers. The features provided in SQL Developer are user-friendly and simple to understand, so it is better recommended for non-expert users. Although the features provided in SQL Developer are limited, they function seamlessly, like any other licensed application or paid software. For advanced users like DBA and SQL experts, the SQL developer features do not suffice and have to go for advanced applications like TOAD, but it comes with a cost.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used by our entire organization but in my department, I know we use this daily and pretty heavily. We use SQL Developer to quickly and easily pull data dependent on certain criteria, often there would be no other way to gather this kind of data without the help and database of the Oracle SQL Developer. This functionality serves us with requests from the business side for meter configurations, sample meter tests for the years exchanges, time window accruing Field Activities that need to reapply, and hundreds if not thousands of other functions that apply. Often, there is something brand new to us that we use this tool to help us narrow down what data we are looking for.
  • Searches for and gathers data quickly and efficiently.
  • If you error during writing your queries, this usually provides accurate reasons why your query errored, allowing you to quickly make the correct fixes.
  • Allows for customization.
  • I am stretching to come up with cons for SQL Developer, it could possibly have more tips and tricks for easily writing queries. Maybe more user-friendly functionality.
Oracle SQL Developer is best suited anytime data is requested or we need to investigate an issue. Often, everything you might be looking for is not found on the same table, so joining tables to pull all of the information you might need or want is a very helpful tool. Doing this and branching out with your query writing skills takes time but this is where SQL is best suited. You will see while you're doing this that it may prompt you to help you more easily connect the tables.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source



Oracle SQL Developer is a popular tool we use here at our organization. Developers, DBAs and data architects all use this tool. We use it for running queries, DBA administration, and Data Modeling. In the DBA section, it provides database configuration - initialization parameters, current database properties, and database stats—the instance viewer is super nice.



  • DBA section: automatic undo management, initialization parameters, database feature usage, instance viewer (CPU, session, top SQL, processes,etc.).
  • Memory/storage: beautiful graphics, performance, backup/recovery, security (roles, users, profiles, and auditing). All is nicely displayed!
  • SQL Worksheet: I can run queries in a database, hop to a different database, run the same query or different one. All can be done in one console.
  • I have connections set up for 40 databases, switch between databases - very convenient. Queries can be kept in History or save to a notepad.
  • Tools: 1.Modeling is a nice addition in SQL Developer. I don't use it for creating logical models. However, I find it very helpful to look at the model and understand the relationship between tables and schemas.
  • Database copy: make a copy of the database from source to destination with many different options - object copy, tablespace copy, schema copy, copy DDL, copy data.
  • Database diff: make comparisons between databases
  • Database export with many options based on requirements.
  • SQL Worksheet: listed above
  • Session monitoring: who is logged in.
  • Real-time SQL monitoring: insight into how to tune a poorly written query. It does, however, need an additional license.
  • General: tables are nicely displayed. I used it every day. I can see column, data model, constraints, grants, statistics, triggers, dependencies, partitions, indexes and I can generate SQL DDL!
  • A dashboard to display database status: all database connected/registered, general info, database up/down, version, size and which server it's on.
  • Schedule jobs to be run.
In general, it's well suited for developers, DBAs and data architects to run queries, display databases, database object info, DBA activities, and modeling. However, I am not sure it is best suited for generating DDL to automate the ETL process for example. Overall, this is my go-to tool for daily database activities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is being used across our entire company. It allows us to interact with our databases to review and correct data.
  • Easy to use.
  • Beginner and power user-friendly.
  • I wish that you could view multiple tables in the same database at the same time.
  • I wish that you could easily open multiple databases at the same time in the same instance.
  • I often misclick when opening a database, so it would be nice to either launch it faster or not immediately open (or at least have the option to enable a soft validation).
It works well for visually examining/altering a database. It fails at multitasking in databases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle SQL Developer Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is the choice of product to write pl/sql code and is easy to connect to multiple databases. This is a tool which allows to connection to Oracle products as well and hence why it is useful when you need one glass pane for all your tools.
  • Oracle SQL Developer is one glass pane to look for all connections across all databases.
  • This can work across various environments and provides good value for money.
  • This is developer oriented and maintains great connection pool to databases.
  • Not easy to install - our IT and compliance policies made it hard to get this installed.
  • If there are security policies across companies, it is not easy to work way out to get product installed. The product is good, but the way it is delivered is not the best.
  • This product need better UI to search data across various panes.
Oracle SQL Developer allows one pane of glass to make it valuable, and saves times while working on various other products of Oracle and other software. Oracle SQL Developer is good for any type of company, big or small, that needs it for development. The catch is, the way people are using it needs to be monitored. This is because it is a single product that connects to production and non-production, it is easy to make a mistake and push to the wrong instance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle developer is our main development tool for PL/SQL and database management. It is being used by our department and across the company. It simplifies the development and management of our various databases and data warehouses.
  • Presentation of objects contained in the database
  • Autocomplete of SQL code
  • Running multiple statements at the same time
  • Importing and exporting data to the cloud from on-prem
  • Code versioning
  • Prettier and smoother UI graphics
It's well suited for all things database related.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To develop SQL Code and design database objects along with data migration across the whole organization. It allows us to import and export data to other data platforms. And we can generate quick DDL and review the tables/views and contents effectively. Since we are new to the tool and trying to migrate our data to the cloud, it would be helpful if the data export feature to the cloud could be improved.
  • It lets us create new objects easily and modify the DDL within the tool quite easily.
  • I love the data review tab that shows the data quickly and helps us profile the data.
  • Exporting data from one object to another is great.
  • Import/export data to the cloud.
  • Does not do a good job of auto-connecting to a previous connection and you have to go through a couple of clicks and refresh.
It is well suited to develop new SQL code and create new objects.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

SQL Developer Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SQL Developer in our IT organization as well as in our functional side of the organization as well. It solves our issues for querying the data being open source and free and also have a very intuitive GUI to easily write queries and DB packages.
  • Ease of writing SQL queries and fine tuning it.
  • Very intuitive GUI.
  • It's a very heavy tool, and it doesn't work well with low memory computers.
  • It's doesn't show users the TNS entries for databases.
Its free and very intuitive tool to use for new people who are new to SQL. The only drawback it has is its bulky software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

Highly recommended!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software is management software for the IT department for the creation of queries, updates to the data, and to development and programming procedures and functions stored in the database.
  • Links easy to different databases.
  • The SQL scripts are executed with no issues.
  • Really easy to install.
  • You can create all kinds of objects for the database.
  • You need a high standard machine with enough RAM and a strong processor to avoid the blocking of the different applications you are executing at the same time.
Oracle SQL is great for creating inquiries, managing tables and users, and creating programmed tasks or jobs in the database.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is the IDE tool that we use to connect Oracle Database and we don't use its all the functionalities. So, we use this tool just to fetch SQL queries. All the object structure is maintained in a GitLab repository and all scripts are executed with VS Code.
  • Structure Oracle Database objects
  • Intuitive navigation
  • Useful Snippets
  • Java dependecy
  • Autocomplete issues
Oracle SQL Developer is a free tool to access Oracle Database and I don't see any scope where it can't be less appropriate may if you're a DBA.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle SQL Developer to extract, create database objects such as views, stored procedures, packages, etc and to also report out info. We use it in the IT department. I find it to be a generally good tool.
  • Run queries
  • Export Data
  • When displaying errors it locates the error on the exact line and position.
  • I would like to drag and drop from and to any of the areas.
  • I would like to have more capabilities to export.
  • Have help info handy when I have a doubt with extensive help.
Oracle SQL developer is well suited to run quick reports or to extract quick info and create or change objects, but I would think is less appropriate when using it everyday to report when another tool should be used.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used by my department. It is used for writing and testing SQL scripts, for debugging as well. It is also used to mostly access the data used for data analytics.
  • Easy to install.
  • Good for debugging SQL scripts.
  • Exporting to Excel.
Oracle SQL Developer should be used for extracting data from a database and importing into a data analytics tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Great lightweight tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used primarily by the staff within the Information Technology department. It is used almost exclusively by our Database Administrators.
  • It has allowed for very seamless integration with all versions of Oracle databases without the need for complicated setup.
  • It has a very easy set-up and installation process and has maintained cross-OS compatibility exceptionally well.
  • It allows for native Oracle SQL database features integration.
  • There are constant unexplained crashes that are not particularly well explained.
  • There is very little documentation about how to use features.
  • there seems to be no way to extend the tool for custom plugins.
In order to be used in an environment where installation restrictions are high, SQL Developer is a very portable, non-intrusive SQL IDE.
Read this authenticated review

About SQL Developer

Oracle SQL Developer is an integrated development environment (IDE) which provides editors for working with SQL, PL/SQL, Stored Java Procedures, and XML in Oracle databases.

SQL Developer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No