SQL Developer

SQL Developer

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
Top Rated
Oracle SQL Developer

Overview

Recent Reviews

Great lightweight tool

6 out of 10
July 27, 2021
Oracle SQL Developer is used primarily by the staff within the Information Technology department. It is used almost exclusively by our …
Continue reading

Easiest SQL IDE

7 out of 10
April 27, 2021
We are using Oracle SQL Developer to query our data from Database. It is being used across entire organization. It helps to query data …
Continue reading

Must-have SQL editor

7 out of 10
April 12, 2021
Oracle SQL Developer is used across the company by different users depending on their preferences. Since it’s free, anyone can download …
Continue reading

SQL Developer Review

9 out of 10
December 13, 2019
We use SQL Developer in our IT organization as well as in our functional side of the organization as well. It solves our issues for …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of SQL Developer, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is SQL Developer?

Oracle SQL Developer is an integrated development environment (IDE) which provides editors for working with SQL, PL/SQL, Stored Java Procedures, and XML in Oracle databases.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is IntelliJ IDEA?

IntelliJ IDEA is an IDE for Java Virtual Machine (JVM) from JetBrains. The vendor states IntelliJ IDEA analyzes code, looking for connections between symbols across all project files and languages. Using this information it provides indepth coding assistance, quick navigation, clever error analysis,…

What is DbVisualizer?

DbVisualizer is a multi-database tool for developers, analysts and database administrators, providing a single interface across a wide variety of operating systems. Boasting an easy-to-use and clean interface, the vendor states that DbVisualizer has proven to be one of the most cost effective…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is SQL Developer?

Oracle SQL Developer is an integrated development environment (IDE) which provides editors for working with SQL, PL/SQL, Stored Java Procedures, and XML in Oracle databases.

SQL Developer Video

What is Oracle SQL Developer?

SQL Developer Competitors

SQL Developer Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SQL Developer?

Oracle SQL Developer is an integrated development environment (IDE) which provides editors for working with SQL, PL/SQL, Stored Java Procedures, and XML in Oracle databases.

What is SQL Developer's best feature?

Reviewers rate Oracle University Experience highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses SQL Developer?

The most common users of SQL Developer are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (486)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 73)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
September 17, 2021

Best for Limited Data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Oracle SQL Developer for past 10 years in our organization. We have created our data warehouse in Oracle DB. It is used in our entire organization. Most of our MDM solution is built in Oracle DB as backend data storage and we used to create materialist views on top of the MDM database using SQL Developer.
  • Creating partitions on the tables is pretty easy compared to other database.
  • Fetching data and export of the data from the table.
  • Updating index of the table through UI.
  • Can work on volume of the data, as it is limited.
  • Constraints on the table can be managed in a better way.
  • Some time run time errors are frustrating.
I am working in the MDM team. In general, MDM data volume is less and SQL developer works excellent when is volume is less. We load data into MDM through the UI but it stores in Oracle DB and creates views on top of that data. It is simpler in Oracle.

When we process our sales data and append MDM data, SQL Developer gets stuck. Serious work needs to be done on the volume of the data.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
I was looking for Oracle Cloud Services as we are moving our entire system into cloud services. It will be very useful for us if we migrate our old database into the cloud services.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used primarily by the staff within the Information Technology department. It is used almost exclusively by our Database Administrators.
  • It has allowed for very seamless integration with all versions of Oracle databases without the need for complicated setup.
  • It has a very easy set-up and installation process and has maintained cross-OS compatibility exceptionally well.
  • It allows for native Oracle SQL database features integration.
  • There are constant unexplained crashes that are not particularly well explained.
  • There is very little documentation about how to use features.
  • there seems to be no way to extend the tool for custom plugins.
In order to be used in an environment where installation restrictions are high, SQL Developer is a very portable, non-intrusive SQL IDE.
No
Ankur Karmakar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used to solve production issues for our client. It is used across the whole organization by different support and development teams. The business problems that it solves is production issue that occur when the business runs. Using Oracle SQL Developer we ensure that our business runs smoothly.
  • The various contents of a database can be viewed using the connection tree
  • We can run SQL queries to generate reports in various formats
  • Debugging of queries is smooth
  • More RAM usage by SQL Developer which makes it slow sometimes for big queries
  • The database automatically gets disconnected when it is idle for sometime
  • Auto-completion of queries is not available
SQL Developer is well suited for solving production issues by doing data fixes. SQL Developer is well suited for extracting reports from database. It is well suited for debugging queries. It is well suited for designing and developing new database.PL/SQL development can easily be done through it. It is best suited for doing DML and DDl updates of database.
No
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the part of the data migration and integration process, we are analyzing end-points in front-end and in back-end also. For backend data analysis and extract purposes, we use the Oracle SQL developer tool for DB connectivity. It works fine with Oracle and also relational databases. We mostly work on SQL developer editors for SQL, PL/SQL query testing, executions, and data extracting from instances.
  • The efficient connectivity with various Oracle and relational databases.
  • The options for fastest query building and execution. The debugging options also displays exact error message of the query, if any bug in query.
  • We can export extracted data in various file formats.
  • Simple user interface and effective functions for user friendliness.
  • When the connected database is disconnected due to some issues, the re-connection option does not work properly all the time.
  • For the long time executions, tool gets unstable state.
  • The report and documentation features need to updated.
The Oracle SQL Developer tool performing well in most of the data analyzing process stages except one or two processes. We can develop and analyze SQL queries by connecting multiple databases in a single frame. In the complex or huge line query executions, we cannot find the exact execution status. It needs to be added for better understanding in the execution stage.
No
Rohit Goyal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I create web and desktop applications which use SQL developer as back end and stores all the data in it. It is used by whole department and all the users to read and write. It used to maintain historic data and generate monthly reports. It's also help us to generate multiple queries and format the data when needed
  • Better Performance
  • Good User interface
  • Advance Options
  • Big Data
  • Syntax
  • Intellisense
  • Type casting
There are many scenarios where Oracle SQL Developer is suited. Where we need historic data and huge amount of data is need and searched every minute this help us for fast response from data base. When organizations need strict business and regulatory requirements. Oracle works best with Linux environments and gives best performance results.
No
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Oracle] SQL Developer is a free to use IDE that allows to manage and use Oracle databases both on premise and in the cloud. We used it in the different development teams to design and develop Oracle databases, allowing to easily create tables, views, procedures and functions. We also used some of the features to troubleshoot or monitor small incidents (like performance bottleneck) in our development and testing environments.
  • Ability to browse across all database components and easily modify or drop them, or create new ones.
  • Very simple to use and learn, yet includes many personalization options (like snippets and SQL history)
  • You can define window border colors for different connections, thus easily identifying production or sensitive environments at glance!
  • Import and Export data in a very simple way
  • Being a JAVA application, response times are sometimes not as good as native applications
  • Sometimes it uses more RAM than expected
  • Sometimes gets disconnected from DB
Almost all development activities (the tool is called "SQL Developer", not "DBA Toolset") can be done easily and quick with [Oracle] SQL Developer. From data model creation (tables, views) to development (creation of procedures, functions, packages) and then testing (SQL Developer includes an easy to use debugger), all tasks can be performed in a single tool.
It may not be as complete as other solutions for DBA tasks like instance monitoring, but it is usually OK for development and testing environments if you want to do some basic troubleshooting.
Yes
I'm a member of AROUG (Argentina Oracle User Group) and I really value the chance of sharing experiences with members of the group and with the entire community. I've participated since 2013 in former OTN Latin America Tour as a speaker, both in Argentina and Uruguay, and last year even at global level since the tour was done online.
Joe He | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, Oracle SQL Developer is using by Oracle developer by default in AppDev department across the global. We use Oracle SQL Developer since Oracle 11g, replaced the license product Toad for Oracle. Oracle SQL Developer able to provide all the feature required by database development activities.
  • Object Browser in SQL Developer allows you to explore the contents of your database using the connection tree.
  • The SQL Worksheet is an editor that allows for execution of SQL statements, scripts, and PL/SQL anonymous blocks. SELECT statements can be executed to return results in a spreadsheet-like 'grid' or can be executed as a script such to emulate SQL*Plus behavior and output
  • DBA Console allows users with administrative privileges to access DBA features such as database init file configuration, RMAN backup, storage, etc.
  • Showing more detail on real-time database performance data
  • Integration with AWR report
  • Show more diagnostic info on Oracle RAC
The Procedure Editor is a complete IDE for the PL/SQL programming language. Stored Procedures, Functions, Packages, Types, and Triggers can be executed, compiled, refactored and more using the Procedure Editor. Access the Procedure Editor by clicking on a PL/SQL object in the connection tree or by opening a file with a file extension mapped to PL/SQL objects.
No
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Oracle] SQL developer is used as [a] graphical interface to oracle DB. The main user of SQL developer is [a] user [that] can access the DB very efficiently. It is used by [the] IT department in our organization. [Writing] and executing the query is easy and we can easily address in the query. Also, we can easily connect with multiple database through this so the work can be happen in faster way.
  • [You] can connect multiple databases [very] easily.
  • [Anyone] can write [queries] easily and see the errors.
  • [It] generates [an] execution plan, which helps to optimize the query.
  • [Good] filtering and reporting is not available.
  • [More] documentation should be available in software so that user will get all the help in it.
  • [Memory] usage should be less.
When you have multiple databases to connect, it is the best software to user. [You] will get to know [the] full report for your query execution. [The] [history] feature is very useful to check [the] query. [Importing] and [exporting] data is very easy and is in various format, such as: Excel, CSV etc. [Installation] or Setup is very and [easily] handy.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
[N/A]
April 27, 2021

Easiest SQL IDE

Binoy Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle SQL Developer to query our data from Database. It is being used across entire organization. It helps to query data from the database also helps to conduct advance SQL operations.
  • Very simple UI. Also quite user friendly.
  • Debugging seems very easy if there is any issue.
  • It's a freeware and easy to install.
  • Also does support to connect with various kinds of databases.
  • When usage is really heavy, it lags a lot.
  • It automatically gets disconnected if haven't used for some amount of time.
  • Needs more detailed documentation.
[Oracle SQL Developer is] best suited if your company works with different databases and needs a common SQL editor to manage and query data for its user. Oracle SQL Developer works very well with Oracle but also some other relational databases. If you do lot of querying and import/export in database, then this is tool for you. It's ideal for DBAs as well for data modeling, management, session monitoring, logging, versioning, etc.

It’s not ideal for no relational/noSQL or big data. It is not tool for visualization. It’s best suited for querying using SQL. Companies that are looking for free tools that are robust and most useful should definitely look at it.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
April 24, 2021

SQL Developer Review

Suhas Kashyap RR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL developer is a tool used to access the database of various applications. It can be used to access multiple database / schemas simultaneously.
The Database & Application team were using the SQL developer to access the client DB for verifying the data stored in application.
Earlier, we did not have common tool to access DB and was having few issues. Later it got resolved with SQL developer.
  • Able to query the DB and get results easily and can easily execute scripts.
  • Able to connect with multiple schemas / DB simultaneously.
  • Able to export the results in required format (Excel / Csv)
  • Able to customize the features that are required.
  • UI of SQL developer is nice and easily accessible.
  • Inconsistency and data incompatibility in date and time syntax, string concatenation and is case sensitivity.
  • Reconnect menu item does not always work when the database has been unexpectedly disconnected
  • Not stable when query is taking long time to execute
  • When reconnected to DB, the previous SQL query window could have been opened instead of opening new query window
SQL developer is suited where we have to connect to multiple Database and execute query simultaneously. This tool can be used to export the data in different formats and is suited where we have to show the results immidiately.
SQL developer tool can be integrated with the SVN / GIT, so results can be shared across the team easily.

But SQL developer is not suited if a query should be executed on multiple database, as it becomes slow. Sometimes it gets crashed suddenly without any information and the query, results may be lost.
Yes
I belong to Oracle community, where I will be discussing on the issues faced while installing, configuring SQL Developer & connecting to different schemas. Also discussing regarding execution of query, optimization of query so that, results can be obtained easily (without any crashing of application). By being member of group, I got more technical knowledge about the application and its usage.
Lee Luchs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is using Oracle SQL Developer as the main interface utility for a large patient related database. Oracle SQL Developer functions as a report writing tool, maintenance, upgrade validation, and testing utility.
  • Easy interface with large selection of useful utilities.
  • Import and export of pre-configured SQL connections for easy duplication.
  • Snippets, history, and other utilities add quick custom functionality.
  • Some database design tools found in other SQL tools are not yet available.
  • Customizing utility windows does not save after restarting application.
The Oracle SQL Developer utility is excellent for common scenarios requiring access to Oracle for report writing, maintenance, and validation tasks. For advanced scheduling of procedures or other event related processes, various other tools provide additional functionality.
No
Sushant goyal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used by each and every department in my organization but not all employees work on it. Mainly it is used to store data my organization works on. It is used to keep records of my company for a long time without any need to delete--also hassle free maintenance of data.
  • Simple UI. Even new joiners can easily use it.
  • Autocomplete feature. It recommends a completion for every line.
  • Debugging is easy. Oracle SQL Developer displays what ever the error is.
  • Supports various kind of DB. Not just SQL.
  • Easy installation and setup.
  • It is free to use and one doesn't need to buy anything.
  • Easily export data into different formats like Excel, TSV file, text file, html, etc.
  • There are fewer features compared to other software available in market.
  • Good quality reporting, sorting ,filtering features are not available.
  • Lags upon heavy usage.
  • Connection from DB gets disconnected if query is stopped.
  • Query running status still comes even if at the backend the query has been stopped and person keeps on waiting.
It is well suited when one doesn't need to work heavily on DB; a person who has just started learning SQL or working on SQL can work easily using SQL developer.

SQL developer is not suited to a person who is a database administrator or works on creating big stored procedures, as it will feel laggy and supports fewer features.
No
April 12, 2021

Must-have SQL editor

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used across the company by different users depending on their preferences. Since it’s free, anyone can download and use it. It is best SQL editor for Oracle and other databases--lots of features and easy to use. It’s reliable and performs better than other similar tools. It helps database users to query, manage data in large enterprise databases like Oracle and Teradata. Oracle SQL Developer also has features for database migration, data modeling, data mining, import/export, versioning, analytics reports, change management, debugging, and logging.
  • Database querying SQL
  • Data modeling and design
  • Database explorer
  • Data filtering, export/import
  • Database object management
  • Data migration
  • Debugging
  • Version control
  • OLAP
  • Analytics reports
  • Sessions
  • Database comparision
  • Better user interface
  • Native support for other databases
  • Autocompletion
  • Performance
It’s best suited if your company works with different databases and needs a common SQL editor to manage and query data for its user. Oracle SQL Developer works very well with Oracle but also some other relational databases. If you do lot of querying and import/export in database, then this is tool for you. It's ideal for DBAs as well for data modeling, management, session monitoring, logging, versioning, etc.

It’s not ideal for no relational/noSQL or big data. It is not tool for visualization. It’s best suited for querying using SQL. Companies that are looking for free tools that are robust and most useful should definitely look at it.
No
Large user community support
Satishbabu Gunukula, Oracle ACE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer used by different groups for running queries, scripting, and compiling packages and procedures, etc . It really helps to connect multiple database at same time and manage day to day activities for end user needs.
  • Build and analyze SQL queries by connecting multiple databases.
  • User friendly GUI and easy to navigate through various features easily.
  • Import data easily from text files, Excel files, and CSV files.
  • Easy to install and config.
  • It uses lot of system memory.
  • Lack of scheduling jobs.
  • Export or import data from on-prem to cloud and vice versa easily.
  • Nice to have drag and [desktop] feature.
It is well suited to develop code and create new objects. It is well suited to view current data and alter based upon requirement.
Yes
IOUG, UKOUG - The user groups are good to share and learn.
December 13, 2019

SQL Developer Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SQL Developer in our IT organization as well as in our functional side of the organization as well. It solves our issues for querying the data being open source and free and also have a very intuitive GUI to easily write queries and DB packages.
  • Ease of writing SQL queries and fine tuning it.
  • Very intuitive GUI.
  • It's a very heavy tool, and it doesn't work well with low memory computers.
  • It's doesn't show users the TNS entries for databases.
Its free and very intuitive tool to use for new people who are new to SQL. The only drawback it has is its bulky software.
No
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL developer is still being used as one of the main tools for manipulating our databases. Although for development, the built-in tools suffice, this professional tool is still used widely by our DBAs. A reliable, and well-supported tool, which is excellent to utilize the power of PL/SQL and Oracle databases.
  • Database manipulation and SQL editing.
  • PL/SQL code development.
  • Modern IDE like features, like wider linting support.
  • More customization.
This is a free, very easy to use tool, and also quite widely used. If somebody wants to learn SQL and PL/SQL, this is the number one tool to begin with. Also, for Oracle databases, this tool works quite well and has some integrated solutions that other SQL IDE's lack. This functions well as a platform for new users and for highly trained professionals as well.
Yes
Hungarian Oracle Users group. We have regular meetups, and a big community, which provides us with many job opportunities, as well as knowledge and experience sharing.
December 09, 2019

SQL Developer FOC

Ken Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 3 Oracle DBAs in our group. We use SQL Developer every day for running queries, writing script, running dml, ddl and compiling packages and procedures. We also use SQL Developer for administrative functions, such as creating or manipulating user accounts within the database. SQL Developer helps with organization of connections to multiple databases by allowing lots of connections to different databases and allows you to create folders.
  • DML and DDL.
  • Organization of connections to databases.
  • Export and import of external data.
  • SQL Developer does most everything TOAD can do.
  • Easier way to manipulate packages and procedures.
  • Better documentation and location of documentation easier to find online.
  • Maybe a little better look and feel to the GUI.
Well suited for querying the database and doing administrative functions on the database. SQL Developer is also well suited for writing new functions and procedures. It compiles quickly and allows you to see where the error is quickly. Not well suited from my perspective for bouncing the the database or restarting the database. The best thing is it is free.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
December 04, 2019

SQL Developer Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a database administrator and I have recently started using SQL Developer command line (12.2) since it's been enhanced to be a successor to SQL Plus. I have always been interested in the graphical SQL Developer but as a dba, I required the command line functionality of SQL Plus. Now that SQL Developer command line exists, I have started using it. I really like some of the functionality but I am very new to using SQL Developer and wish that more robust documentation was available. I often find there are things in SQL Plus that I cannot do in SQL Developer command line, and I am unable to find the answers online. Using SQL Developer command line allows me to better perform my job functions as a dba.
  • Extract DDL for tables and indexes.
  • Provide statistical information from the data dictionary in an easy manner.
  • Help interface for command syntax is good when it works.
  • Help for legacy commands from SQL Plus- Some commands are deprecated but there is no explanation for what type of syntax to use instead.
  • Ability to start SQL Developer command line in the directory from which the command was launched (instead of SQL Developer home).
  • Spool without control characters.
Oracle SQL is well suited for:
  • Extracting DDL for tables and index is great.
  • Extracting DDL for constraints is not and using dbms_metadata is required.
  • Obtaining help for SQL commands would be great, like "help alter table".
  • Same for easily looking up Oracle errors (so merge SQL developer command line with the OERR facility)
  • Procedural interfaces with data pump import/export would be great too (automatically generate the calls to dbms_datapump).
No
Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our full department is using Oracle SQL Developer. It is used by the business intelligence team to run queries and manage the reporting database. It is also used by developers to manage production databases and run their own set of tests and reports. It addresses the issue of having a single area for everyone on a team to manage the same environments.
  • Oracle SQL Developer's navigation bar has a lot of useful tools. When first learning how to use this product, it was very easy to move around and figure out what needed to be done.
  • This product allows you to organize schemas on a side bar view, which is very useful when working with multiple databases.
  • You can customize schema names to your liking, it does not have to be the same as others on the team.
  • Oracle SQL Developer is not the best tool for extracting data. If you want an excel sheet for all the outputted result data, it can take a very long time. This is tough for business users.
  • This tool does not allow you to monitor a system that is running as easy as other products similar to it.
  • Oracle SQL Developer is not as advanced in functionality as some other tools. For basic developers, this tool gets the job done. For more complex database management, I would suggest other software.
Oracle SQL Developer is an excellent tool for running queries that may be needed by a business. It is a great tool for viewing the different tables in your relational database. For DBAs, would usually work on monitoring databases and viewing permissions, other tools would be better suited than this one.
No
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is being used by your organization especially in the IT Department and Health Department.
We use Oracle SQL Developer to:
  • Connect to Oracle Databases
  • Create database objects like tables, views, triggers, jobs, users, stored procedures, functions.
  • Build and execute SQL queries
  • Execute SQL scripts
  • Easy to install, configure and use.
  • You can Import data easily from text files, Excel files, and CSV files.
  • Excellent GUI.
  • Oracle SQL Developer uses a big amount of RAM.
Pros:
  • You can use it for PL/SQL programming
  • You can execute SQL scripts
  • You can connect with different databases
No
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is the IDE tool that we use to connect Oracle Database and we don't use its all the functionalities. So, we use this tool just to fetch SQL queries. All the object structure is maintained in a GitLab repository and all scripts are executed with VS Code.
  • Structure Oracle Database objects
  • Intuitive navigation
  • Useful Snippets
  • Java dependecy
  • Autocomplete issues
Oracle SQL Developer is a free tool to access Oracle Database and I don't see any scope where it can't be less appropriate may if you're a DBA.
No
November 16, 2019

SQL developer for dummies

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is used in our organization by our department and by some other business users. SQL Developer is a freeware that comes with no additional cost, which is appealing to users and helps in connecting to multiple instances of Oracle EBS and other Oracle related applications. It has no licensing or cost issue, and we can query and develop various database objects. SQL Developer fetches query results in different formats like in Excel, Text, etc., which is user-friendly, unlike the command line SQL Plus, where you have to use formatting options.
  • SQL Developer is easy to navigate and open database structures like tables, packages, procedures, etc.
  • Easy to connect to set up database connectivity using service name/SID information.
  • SQL Developer UI is very simple to understand and operate by the users and has a quick connect and load time of applications.
  • Easy to check the Explain plan assessing the cost of the SQL queries and thus helping in tuning.
  • Lacks the advanced options for a professional developer like accessing the dependent objects of a particular database object like Indexes, triggers, etc.
  • Lacks features do not have the SQL session monitoring capability and managing other Oracle sessions.
  • It does not give a clear indication of query status, whether it is running or stuck.
SQL Developer is a free application, so always recommended for non-DBA and amateur developers. The features provided in SQL Developer are user-friendly and simple to understand, so it is better recommended for non-expert users. Although the features provided in SQL Developer are limited, they function seamlessly, like any other licensed application or paid software. For advanced users like DBA and SQL experts, the SQL developer features do not suffice and have to go for advanced applications like TOAD, but it comes with a cost.
Yes
I'm a member of Oracle Application User Group and I have attended a few seminars which are very useful for me to understand the emerging technologies and how Oracle is used to cater to different industrial verticals.
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is our go-to application when needing to run quick queries against Oracle, get a quick overview of our schema, extract various DDL components, and other basic Oracle functionalities. We have never used it to do any Oracle DB Management or the like, preferring to go command line in these instances.
  • Build and analyze SQL.
  • Extract DDL.
  • Provides a quick overview of the Schema Structure.
  • Clunky, could use some basic UI improvements.
  • Returns only 100 lines at a time when querying DB.
  • Basic Oracle management functionality would be nice (check sizes of tablespaces, etc).
For software development purposes, Oracle SQL Developer is great. It quickly connects to an Oracle instance and allows developers to test their SQL quickly and efficiently. Likewise, when trying to replicate various database structures, the ability to retrieve the DDL is also very useful.
Yes
I am a member of various Forums and user groups for Oracle and Java. I primarily use Oracle's user groups for Oracle related information, but use a plethora of Java sources when searching out Java problems.
November 08, 2019

Great for non-DBA users

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is currently used by our IT department. Various business users also have SQL Developer, but we discourage that in favor of business reports being written by our IT and BI teams. Some users in our IT department use TOAD, instead. Because SQL Oracle Developer is free, it is the preferred choice by management. Having an application to query our databases allows non-expert users to write and query SQL without the use of command-line applications, like SQL Plus. This "user-friendly" attribute is appealing to non-DBAs.
  • SQL Developer is useful for navigating the DDL of a table.
  • Easy-to-understand errors and explanations on incorrect queries.
  • Quick load time of application from start-up.
  • Explain plans are very helpful in tuning.
  • Never know when a query has been truly terminated. Even if one has access to the SQL Monitoring or Monitoring SQL Sessions, it still may show as being terminated but in actuality, within OEM, the query could still be running and need to be killed there. The inability to truly know when a session has ended results in frustration because the next query may not be able to run because the last is actually still running.
  • The tuning advisor runs very long and is not always helpful.
  • Not knowing the status of a query can be frustrating. That is, if a query is running long, it may show as "running" (i.e. the horizontal bar moving back and forth at the bottom of the screen), but in actuality, it may be hung up.
Factoring into my rating is the fact that the use of SQL Developer is free. I would suggest SQL Developer because it performs as well as any non-free application. That is, SQL Developer is not a "bare-bones" product- it is able to perform the same functions and aid in tuning a query just as well as any other product.
For non-DBAs, the interface is relatively easy to understand, with a straightforward feeling and very few buttons. This 'plain' feeling can help non-expert users not feel intimidated or inundated.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used by our entire organization but in my department, I know we use this daily and pretty heavily. We use SQL Developer to quickly and easily pull data dependent on certain criteria, often there would be no other way to gather this kind of data without the help and database of the Oracle SQL Developer. This functionality serves us with requests from the business side for meter configurations, sample meter tests for the years exchanges, time window accruing Field Activities that need to reapply, and hundreds if not thousands of other functions that apply. Often, there is something brand new to us that we use this tool to help us narrow down what data we are looking for.
  • Searches for and gathers data quickly and efficiently.
  • If you error during writing your queries, this usually provides accurate reasons why your query errored, allowing you to quickly make the correct fixes.
  • Allows for customization.
  • I am stretching to come up with cons for SQL Developer, it could possibly have more tips and tricks for easily writing queries. Maybe more user-friendly functionality.
Oracle SQL Developer is best suited anytime data is requested or we need to investigate an issue. Often, everything you might be looking for is not found on the same table, so joining tables to pull all of the information you might need or want is a very helpful tool. Doing this and branching out with your query writing skills takes time but this is where SQL is best suited. You will see while you're doing this that it may prompt you to help you more easily connect the tables.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
I am currently not a member of any Oracle User Groups, however, I am interested in this and what benefits this could provide me and the job responsibilities I provide for the business side of our company.