SQL Developer Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
465 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 75)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 13, 2021
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Oracle] SQL Developer is a free to use IDE that allows to manage and use Oracle databases both on premise and in the cloud. We used it in the different development teams to design and develop Oracle databases, allowing to easily create tables, views, procedures and functions. We also used some of the features to troubleshoot or monitor small incidents (like performance bottleneck) in our development and testing environments.
  • Ability to browse across all database components and easily modify or drop them, or create new ones.
  • Very simple to use and learn, yet includes many personalization options (like snippets and SQL history)
  • You can define window border colors for different connections, thus easily identifying production or sensitive environments at glance!
  • Import and Export data in a very simple way
  • Being a JAVA application, response times are sometimes not as good as native applications
  • Sometimes it uses more RAM than expected
  • Sometimes gets disconnected from DB
Almost all development activities (the tool is called "SQL Developer", not "DBA Toolset") can be done easily and quick with [Oracle] SQL Developer. From data model creation (tables, views) to development (creation of procedures, functions, packages) and then testing (SQL Developer includes an easy to use debugger), all tasks can be performed in a single tool.
It may not be as complete as other solutions for DBA tasks like instance monitoring, but it is usually OK for development and testing environments if you want to do some basic troubleshooting.
Yes - I'm a member of AROUG (Argentina Oracle User Group) and I really value the chance of sharing experiences with members of the group and with the entire community. I've participated since 2013 in former OTN Latin America Tour as a speaker, both in Argentina and Uruguay, and last year even at global level since the tour was done online.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
April 29, 2021
Joe He | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, Oracle SQL Developer is using by Oracle developer by default in AppDev department across the global. We use Oracle SQL Developer since Oracle 11g, replaced the license product Toad for Oracle. Oracle SQL Developer able to provide all the feature required by database development activities.
  • Object Browser in SQL Developer allows you to explore the contents of your database using the connection tree.
  • The SQL Worksheet is an editor that allows for execution of SQL statements, scripts, and PL/SQL anonymous blocks. SELECT statements can be executed to return results in a spreadsheet-like 'grid' or can be executed as a script such to emulate SQL*Plus behavior and output
  • DBA Console allows users with administrative privileges to access DBA features such as database init file configuration, RMAN backup, storage, etc.
  • Showing more detail on real-time database performance data
  • Integration with AWR report
  • Show more diagnostic info on Oracle RAC
The Procedure Editor is a complete IDE for the PL/SQL programming language. Stored Procedures, Functions, Packages, Types, and Triggers can be executed, compiled, refactored and more using the Procedure Editor. Access the Procedure Editor by clicking on a PL/SQL object in the connection tree or by opening a file with a file extension mapped to PL/SQL objects.
Read Joe He's full review
April 26, 2021
Binoy Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle SQL Developer to query our data from Database. It is being used across entire organization. It helps to query data from the database also helps to conduct advance SQL operations.
  • Very simple UI. Also quite user friendly.
  • Debugging seems very easy if there is any issue.
  • It's a freeware and easy to install.
  • Also does support to connect with various kinds of databases.
  • When usage is really heavy, it lags a lot.
  • It automatically gets disconnected if haven't used for some amount of time.
  • Needs more detailed documentation.
[Oracle SQL Developer is] best suited if your company works with different databases and needs a common SQL editor to manage and query data for its user. Oracle SQL Developer works very well with Oracle but also some other relational databases. If you do lot of querying and import/export in database, then this is tool for you. It's ideal for DBAs as well for data modeling, management, session monitoring, logging, versioning, etc.

It’s not ideal for no relational/noSQL or big data. It is not tool for visualization. It’s best suited for querying using SQL. Companies that are looking for free tools that are robust and most useful should definitely look at it.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Binoy Shah's full review
May 14, 2021
Rohit Goyal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I create web and desktop applications which use SQL developer as back end and stores all the data in it. It is used by whole department and all the users to read and write. It used to maintain historic data and generate monthly reports. It's also help us to generate multiple queries and format the data when needed
  • Better Performance
  • Good User interface
  • Advance Options
  • Big Data
  • Syntax
  • Intellisense
  • Type casting
There are many scenarios where Oracle SQL Developer is suited. Where we need historic data and huge amount of data is need and searched every minute this help us for fast response from data base. When organizations need strict business and regulatory requirements. Oracle works best with Linux environments and gives best performance results.
Read Rohit Goyal's full review
April 24, 2021
Suhas Kashyap RR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL developer is a tool used to access the database of various applications. It can be used to access multiple database / schemas simultaneously.
The Database & Application team were using the SQL developer to access the client DB for verifying the data stored in application.
Earlier, we did not have common tool to access DB and was having few issues. Later it got resolved with SQL developer.
  • Able to query the DB and get results easily and can easily execute scripts.
  • Able to connect with multiple schemas / DB simultaneously.
  • Able to export the results in required format (Excel / Csv)
  • Able to customize the features that are required.
  • UI of SQL developer is nice and easily accessible.
  • Inconsistency and data incompatibility in date and time syntax, string concatenation and is case sensitivity.
  • Reconnect menu item does not always work when the database has been unexpectedly disconnected
  • Not stable when query is taking long time to execute
  • When reconnected to DB, the previous SQL query window could have been opened instead of opening new query window
SQL developer is suited where we have to connect to multiple Database and execute query simultaneously. This tool can be used to export the data in different formats and is suited where we have to show the results immidiately.
SQL developer tool can be integrated with the SVN / GIT, so results can be shared across the team easily.

But SQL developer is not suited if a query should be executed on multiple database, as it becomes slow. Sometimes it gets crashed suddenly without any information and the query, results may be lost.
Yes - I belong to Oracle community, where I will be discussing on the issues faced while installing, configuring SQL Developer &amp; connecting to different schemas. Also discussing regarding execution of query, optimization of query so that, results can be obtained easily (without any crashing of application). By being member of group, I got more technical knowledge about the application and its usage.
Read Suhas Kashyap RR's full review
April 15, 2021
Lee Luchs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is using Oracle SQL Developer as the main interface utility for a large patient related database. Oracle SQL Developer functions as a report writing tool, maintenance, upgrade validation, and testing utility.
  • Easy interface with large selection of useful utilities.
  • Import and export of pre-configured SQL connections for easy duplication.
  • Snippets, history, and other utilities add quick custom functionality.
  • Some database design tools found in other SQL tools are not yet available.
  • Customizing utility windows does not save after restarting application.
The Oracle SQL Developer utility is excellent for common scenarios requiring access to Oracle for report writing, maintenance, and validation tasks. For advanced scheduling of procedures or other event related processes, various other tools provide additional functionality.
Read Lee Luchs's full review
April 13, 2021
Sushant goyal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used by each and every department in my organization but not all employees work on it. Mainly it is used to store data my organization works on. It is used to keep records of my company for a long time without any need to delete--also hassle free maintenance of data.
  • Simple UI. Even new joiners can easily use it.
  • Autocomplete feature. It recommends a completion for every line.
  • Debugging is easy. Oracle SQL Developer displays what ever the error is.
  • Supports various kind of DB. Not just SQL.
  • Easy installation and setup.
  • It is free to use and one doesn't need to buy anything.
  • Easily export data into different formats like Excel, TSV file, text file, html, etc.
  • There are fewer features compared to other software available in market.
  • Good quality reporting, sorting ,filtering features are not available.
  • Lags upon heavy usage.
  • Connection from DB gets disconnected if query is stopped.
  • Query running status still comes even if at the backend the query has been stopped and person keeps on waiting.
It is well suited when one doesn't need to work heavily on DB; a person who has just started learning SQL or working on SQL can work easily using SQL developer.

SQL developer is not suited to a person who is a database administrator or works on creating big stored procedures, as it will feel laggy and supports fewer features.
Read Sushant goyal's full review
April 09, 2021
Panav Beri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is the primary tool used by me and my team to query the databases and make changes to them. It is one of the best and reliable tools available for SQL development. We are using SQL Developer in many of the application servers to query the production databases and generate the reports.
  • Easy to install and use.
  • Freeware
  • Best user interface with many options.
  • Regular updates and support from Oracle.
  • Needs more detailed documentation for certain inbuilt UI options.
  • Command Line needs to be improved with more options.
Oracle Developer is best suited for scenarios where the team needs a reliable and best-in-class IDE to query the databases and do PL/SQL development. It is free, hence, cost-effective, and solves the purpose. Also, it can be easily deployed for small as well as large projects where the requirement of end developers is to generate data reports from the databases.
Read Panav Beri's full review
April 09, 2021
Satishbabu Gunukula, Oracle ACE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer used by different groups for running queries, scripting, and compiling packages and procedures, etc . It really helps to connect multiple database at same time and manage day to day activities for end user needs.
  • Build and analyze SQL queries by connecting multiple databases.
  • User friendly GUI and easy to navigate through various features easily.
  • Import data easily from text files, Excel files, and CSV files.
  • Easy to install and config.
  • It uses lot of system memory.
  • Lack of scheduling jobs.
  • Export or import data from on-prem to cloud and vice versa easily.
  • Nice to have drag and [desktop] feature.
It is well suited to develop code and create new objects. It is well suited to view current data and alter based upon requirement.
Yes - IOUG, UKOUG - The user groups are good to share and learn.
Read Satishbabu Gunukula, Oracle ACE's full review
May 06, 2021
Aleksei Jegorov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of our project customers prefers to use Oracle SQL Developer. It is quite unusual, but I have discovered the standalone version: we can also run an Oracle client without installation. We can import data from excel and other sources, it simplifies the insert data process. UI has a nice design, intuitive and reliable to write native SQL and operate with tables.
  • The dashboard is easy for navigation: everything where it should be.
  • Tables and columns are nicely displayed. I can operate with constraints and indexes.
  • SQL queries are easy to run and debug.
  • In case of misspelled or other situation - the error could be easily located.
  • Oracle client is very developer-oriented, not for the regular operators.
  • Consumes a lot of memory, need to be ready to enlarge RAM.
  • Only 1 query could be run at the same time in 1 Database.
Well suited when you need to find fast property value. Otherwise, [suited] for scenarios when you need to run many queries in parallel process.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Aleksei Jegorov's full review
June 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used to solve production issues for our client. It is used across the whole organization by different support and development teams. The business problems that it solves is production issue that occur when the business runs. Using Oracle SQL Developer we ensure that our business runs smoothly.
  • The various contents of a database can be viewed using the connection tree
  • We can run SQL queries to generate reports in various formats
  • Debugging of queries is smooth
  • More RAM usage by SQL Developer which makes it slow sometimes for big queries
  • The database automatically gets disconnected when it is idle for sometime
  • Auto-completion of queries is not available
SQL Developer is well suited for solving production issues by doing data fixes. SQL Developer is well suited for extracting reports from database. It is well suited for debugging queries. It is well suited for designing and developing new database.PL/SQL development can easily be done through it. It is best suited for doing DML and DDl updates of database.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the part of the data migration and integration process, we are analyzing end-points in front-end and in back-end also. For backend data analysis and extract purposes, we use the Oracle SQL developer tool for DB connectivity. It works fine with Oracle and also relational databases. We mostly work on SQL developer editors for SQL, PL/SQL query testing, executions, and data extracting from instances.
  • The efficient connectivity with various Oracle and relational databases.
  • The options for fastest query building and execution. The debugging options also displays exact error message of the query, if any bug in query.
  • We can export extracted data in various file formats.
  • Simple user interface and effective functions for user friendliness.
  • When the connected database is disconnected due to some issues, the re-connection option does not work properly all the time.
  • For the long time executions, tool gets unstable state.
  • The report and documentation features need to updated.
The Oracle SQL Developer tool performing well in most of the data analyzing process stages except one or two processes. We can develop and analyze SQL queries by connecting multiple databases in a single frame. In the complex or huge line query executions, we cannot find the exact execution status. It needs to be added for better understanding in the execution stage.
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Oracle] SQL developer is used as [a] graphical interface to oracle DB. The main user of SQL developer is [a] user [that] can access the DB very efficiently. It is used by [the] IT department in our organization. [Writing] and executing the query is easy and we can easily address in the query. Also, we can easily connect with multiple database through this so the work can be happen in faster way.
  • [You] can connect multiple databases [very] easily.
  • [Anyone] can write [queries] easily and see the errors.
  • [It] generates [an] execution plan, which helps to optimize the query.
  • [Good] filtering and reporting is not available.
  • [More] documentation should be available in software so that user will get all the help in it.
  • [Memory] usage should be less.
When you have multiple databases to connect, it is the best software to user. [You] will get to know [the] full report for your query execution. [The] [history] feature is very useful to check [the] query. [Importing] and [exporting] data is very easy and is in various format, such as: Excel, CSV etc. [Installation] or Setup is very and [easily] handy.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - [N/A]
Read this authenticated review
April 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used across the company by different users depending on their preferences. Since it’s free, anyone can download and use it. It is best SQL editor for Oracle and other databases--lots of features and easy to use. It’s reliable and performs better than other similar tools. It helps database users to query, manage data in large enterprise databases like Oracle and Teradata. Oracle SQL Developer also has features for database migration, data modeling, data mining, import/export, versioning, analytics reports, change management, debugging, and logging.
  • Database querying SQL
  • Data modeling and design
  • Database explorer
  • Data filtering, export/import
  • Database object management
  • Data migration
  • Debugging
  • Version control
  • OLAP
  • Analytics reports
  • Sessions
  • Database comparision
  • Better user interface
  • Native support for other databases
  • Autocompletion
  • Performance
It’s best suited if your company works with different databases and needs a common SQL editor to manage and query data for its user. Oracle SQL Developer works very well with Oracle but also some other relational databases. If you do lot of querying and import/export in database, then this is tool for you. It's ideal for DBAs as well for data modeling, management, session monitoring, logging, versioning, etc.

It’s not ideal for no relational/noSQL or big data. It is not tool for visualization. It’s best suited for querying using SQL. Companies that are looking for free tools that are robust and most useful should definitely look at it.
Large user community support
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2019
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL developer is still being used as one of the main tools for manipulating our databases. Although for development, the built-in tools suffice, this professional tool is still used widely by our DBAs. A reliable, and well-supported tool, which is excellent to utilize the power of PL/SQL and Oracle databases.
  • Database manipulation and SQL editing.
  • PL/SQL code development.
  • Modern IDE like features, like wider linting support.
  • More customization.
This is a free, very easy to use tool, and also quite widely used. If somebody wants to learn SQL and PL/SQL, this is the number one tool to begin with. Also, for Oracle databases, this tool works quite well and has some integrated solutions that other SQL IDE's lack. This functions well as a platform for new users and for highly trained professionals as well.
Yes - Hungarian Oracle Users group. We have regular meetups, and a big community, which provides us with many job opportunities, as well as knowledge and experience sharing.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
December 09, 2019
Ken Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 3 Oracle DBAs in our group. We use SQL Developer every day for running queries, writing script, running dml, ddl and compiling packages and procedures. We also use SQL Developer for administrative functions, such as creating or manipulating user accounts within the database. SQL Developer helps with organization of connections to multiple databases by allowing lots of connections to different databases and allows you to create folders.
  • DML and DDL.
  • Organization of connections to databases.
  • Export and import of external data.
  • SQL Developer does most everything TOAD can do.
  • Easier way to manipulate packages and procedures.
  • Better documentation and location of documentation easier to find online.
  • Maybe a little better look and feel to the GUI.
Well suited for querying the database and doing administrative functions on the database. SQL Developer is also well suited for writing new functions and procedures. It compiles quickly and allows you to see where the error is quickly. Not well suited from my perspective for bouncing the the database or restarting the database. The best thing is it is free.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Ken Turner's full review
December 03, 2019
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a database administrator and I have recently started using SQL Developer command line (12.2) since it's been enhanced to be a successor to SQL Plus. I have always been interested in the graphical SQL Developer but as a dba, I required the command line functionality of SQL Plus. Now that SQL Developer command line exists, I have started using it. I really like some of the functionality but I am very new to using SQL Developer and wish that more robust documentation was available. I often find there are things in SQL Plus that I cannot do in SQL Developer command line, and I am unable to find the answers online. Using SQL Developer command line allows me to better perform my job functions as a dba.
  • Extract DDL for tables and indexes.
  • Provide statistical information from the data dictionary in an easy manner.
  • Help interface for command syntax is good when it works.
  • Help for legacy commands from SQL Plus- Some commands are deprecated but there is no explanation for what type of syntax to use instead.
  • Ability to start SQL Developer command line in the directory from which the command was launched (instead of SQL Developer home).
  • Spool without control characters.
Oracle SQL is well suited for:
  • Extracting DDL for tables and index is great.
  • Extracting DDL for constraints is not and using dbms_metadata is required.
  • Obtaining help for SQL commands would be great, like "help alter table".
  • Same for easily looking up Oracle errors (so merge SQL developer command line with the OERR facility)
  • Procedural interfaces with data pump import/export would be great too (automatically generate the calls to dbms_datapump).
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
December 02, 2019
Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our full department is using Oracle SQL Developer. It is used by the business intelligence team to run queries and manage the reporting database. It is also used by developers to manage production databases and run their own set of tests and reports. It addresses the issue of having a single area for everyone on a team to manage the same environments.
  • Oracle SQL Developer's navigation bar has a lot of useful tools. When first learning how to use this product, it was very easy to move around and figure out what needed to be done.
  • This product allows you to organize schemas on a side bar view, which is very useful when working with multiple databases.
  • You can customize schema names to your liking, it does not have to be the same as others on the team.
  • Oracle SQL Developer is not the best tool for extracting data. If you want an excel sheet for all the outputted result data, it can take a very long time. This is tough for business users.
  • This tool does not allow you to monitor a system that is running as easy as other products similar to it.
  • Oracle SQL Developer is not as advanced in functionality as some other tools. For basic developers, this tool gets the job done. For more complex database management, I would suggest other software.
Oracle SQL Developer is an excellent tool for running queries that may be needed by a business. It is a great tool for viewing the different tables in your relational database. For DBAs, would usually work on monitoring databases and viewing permissions, other tools would be better suited than this one.
Read Jatel Desai's full review
November 15, 2019
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is our go-to application when needing to run quick queries against Oracle, get a quick overview of our schema, extract various DDL components, and other basic Oracle functionalities. We have never used it to do any Oracle DB Management or the like, preferring to go command line in these instances.
  • Build and analyze SQL.
  • Extract DDL.
  • Provides a quick overview of the Schema Structure.
  • Clunky, could use some basic UI improvements.
  • Returns only 100 lines at a time when querying DB.
  • Basic Oracle management functionality would be nice (check sizes of tablespaces, etc).
For software development purposes, Oracle SQL Developer is great. It quickly connects to an Oracle instance and allows developers to test their SQL quickly and efficiently. Likewise, when trying to replicate various database structures, the ability to retrieve the DDL is also very useful.
Yes - I am a member of various Forums and user groups for Oracle and Java. I primarily use Oracle's user groups for Oracle related information, but use a plethora of Java sources when searching out Java problems.
Read Zhann Goloborodko's full review
November 07, 2019
Chris Oros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is currently used by our IT department. Various business users also have SQL Developer, but we discourage that in favor of business reports being written by our IT and BI teams. Some users in our IT department use TOAD, instead. Because SQL Oracle Developer is free, it is the preferred choice by management. Having an application to query our databases allows non-expert users to write and query SQL without the use of command-line applications, like SQL Plus. This "user-friendly" attribute is appealing to non-DBAs.
  • SQL Developer is useful for navigating the DDL of a table.
  • Easy-to-understand errors and explanations on incorrect queries.
  • Quick load time of application from start-up.
  • Explain plans are very helpful in tuning.
  • Never know when a query has been truly terminated. Even if one has access to the SQL Monitoring or Monitoring SQL Sessions, it still may show as being terminated but in actuality, within OEM, the query could still be running and need to be killed there. The inability to truly know when a session has ended results in frustration because the next query may not be able to run because the last is actually still running.
  • The tuning advisor runs very long and is not always helpful.
  • Not knowing the status of a query can be frustrating. That is, if a query is running long, it may show as "running" (i.e. the horizontal bar moving back and forth at the bottom of the screen), but in actuality, it may be hung up.
Factoring into my rating is the fact that the use of SQL Developer is free. I would suggest SQL Developer because it performs as well as any non-free application. That is, SQL Developer is not a "bare-bones" product- it is able to perform the same functions and aid in tuning a query just as well as any other product.
For non-DBAs, the interface is relatively easy to understand, with a straightforward feeling and very few buttons. This 'plain' feeling can help non-expert users not feel intimidated or inundated.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Chris Oros's full review
September 30, 2019
Aaron Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Developer is used at Duquesne Light Company to query our Oracle Utility Suite databases (CCB, MDM, MWM). We use it for standard selects, DDL and DML. It is being used across multiple departments in both IT and non-IT disciplines. It is also used to build reports. It addresses the need for a simple user-friendly database connection and querying tool for those who know how to write SQL and need information from the OUS databases.
  • User-friendly.
  • Easy to install.
  • Allows users to write PL/SQL.
  • You can't run more than one query against the same database at one time. This is a capability for TOAD.
  • Sometimes it doesn't allow you to use parallel threads in query execution and the error message isn't very descriptive or explain why.
  • Editing your display preferences could be a little easier. I had to watch several YouTube videos before I was able to figure out where those settings are kept.
SQL Developer is well-suited for low to medium volume select, update, insert, and delete queries where the number of records touched is <1,000,000 records. SQL Developer is less suited for real PL/SQL development. Our software engineers use other tools to write and compile larger PL/SQL packages. It isn't a bad thing but it's something that could be looked into.
Yes - Oracle Utilities Meter Data Management User Group. It's good to learn from a larger community of users who are going through the same implementation, upgrade, defect, or patching issues we experience. Some users have provided very good, simple ideas for how to improve our implementation of the software product and are eager to help.
Read Aaron Baker's full review
October 13, 2019
Kevin Chu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Dev is used for all of our Oracle databases for analytics. We've chosen SQL Dev as a reliable product, and will continue to use it indefinitely.
  • Ease of use.
  • It's designed with human factors in mind.
  • Continuous improvement.
  • More color scheme options.
  • Query development help.
  • It could use more specific query errors than the generic Oracle codes.
SQL dev is great for new users. I've also used SQL Nav and Toad in the past, and SQL dev is a strong competitor.
Read Kevin Chu's full review
September 26, 2019
Jennifer Honciano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is used by developers in Stanford for retrieving data for reporting purposes. I take the necessary data and use Excel or report tools to create reports for management. We also use the application to create quality control scripts for the application that we support for our users.
  • It's easy to navigate among the dashboard.
  • It's easy to find errors when debugging.
  • It's easy to run SQL scripts.
  • To more easily go back to the dashboard that I had set up before.
  • Finding tables and Views more easily.
  • Finding certain columns and which tables or views have these.
If you need to pull quick data, you can save the data and have it open in Excel.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - I would like to be part of Java and My SQL.
Read Jennifer Honciano's full review
October 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our database administration team is using Oracle SQL Developer for the sake of increased productivity. Instead of writing SQL queries out, they use Oracle SQL Developer's IDE interface to quickly create complex queries. Some other features we use include browsing/managing data, ad-hoc reporting, migrating 3rd party RDBMS systems over to Oracle, and data modeling.
  • Flexible GUI. The UI updates of the latest version have made navigating through the various features of Oracle SQL Developer quite easy.
  • Great Tools for Testing and Developing SQL Scripts. SQL scripting can be a hassle when working with large tables and such. Oracle SQL Developer makes it easy to preview how many rows and tables will be affected.
  • Ability to Load Data from Different File Formats. Some of our data comes in the form of Excel spreadsheets, XML, and JSON. Oracle SQL Developer allows our database administrators to easily push the data from these formats into our database tables automatically.
  • Inability to run multiple queries on the same database. You can only run one query on a given database.
  • Analytical models created from complex tables isn't accurate, and needs work.
  • Inability to view multiple tables of a database side-by-side. When trying to find correlations between tables, it would help to be able to see them at once on the same page.
Oracle SQL Developer is well-suited for all companies that are using Oracle SQL Databases. First and foremost, it is absolutely free, and there are many free in-depth tutorials and documentation online to answer all of your questions. No matter the amount of experience, I am sure all database administrators will be able to work much more productively with their organization's databases through this IDE.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle SQL Developer is being used by our development team to provide introspection to the performance of our production baseline. Additionally, it's used during development to pilot capabilities, integrations and for rapid proof of concept implementation.
  • Seamless database management integration
  • Process stack analysis
  • Modeling and visualizations
  • Setup can be challenging if your schemas aren't well formed or managed. Also, the ability to model/develop extensions for an existing database solution will depend on how robust the DBA provisioned roles and designed the respective schemas.
  • Detailed analysis of models can be clunky for complex relational models.
You can utilize Oracle SQL Developer for package analysis, prototyping, troubleshooting for all phases of the SDLC.
Yes - I was a member of NoVAJUG (Northern Virginia Java Users Group) for years. There's deep value in learning from peers and colleagues alike. User Groups provide a unique experience where there's a cross-section of ideas, industry around a common technology vertical or problem domain. For me, it's helped with everything from finding solutions to nonobvious system issues to finding leads for new employment.
Read this authenticated review

What is SQL Developer?

Oracle SQL Developer is an integrated development environment (IDE) which provides editors for working with SQL, PL/SQL, Stored Java Procedures, and XML in Oracle databases.

SQL Developer Video

What is Oracle SQL Developer?

SQL Developer Competitors

SQL Developer Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SQL Developer Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SQL Developer?

Oracle SQL Developer is an integrated development environment (IDE) which provides editors for working with SQL, PL/SQL, Stored Java Procedures, and XML in Oracle databases.

Who uses SQL Developer?

The most common users of SQL Developer are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.