Oracle WebLogic Suite Reviews

32 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 30, 2021
Surbhi Singhal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As we are in the Business Intelligence team, we require solutions related to database, management, and delivery. We have used Oracle's WebLogic suite for our customer's development and its solutions. In our day-to-day business, it's needed to have the optimum solution in place to cater to our business requirements. Nowadays Oracle is in demand and we continue to use it.
  • Business solutions
  • Reporting
  • Management
  • Costing
For handing large data on a quicker note we recommend using this application solution but if your organization has a smaller dataset and data load is high then you shouldn't go with it. It requires steady data approaches and management. But we have gained benefits from this infrastructure in recent times.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Surbhi Singhal's full review
April 30, 2021
Scott Kennedy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle WebLogic Suite application is being used to simplify the management for our development teams. The really easy lightweight distribution of the IDE (integrated development environment) makes the process of coding happen much faster than using other closely related systems. In general, we use this platform to development much of our backend code.
  • Simplified management of development
  • solid performance and reliability
  • great bug monitoring capabilities
  • The integration stand up time takes a little longer than we anticipated
  • The automated failover process is a bit slow
  • The java fight recorder crashes from time to time
In general, I would recommend this technology to other companies attempting to install a cohesive integrated development environment for your development department. The cross domain management and comprehensive diagnostic tooling capabilities are really nice. The java mission control and java flight recorder does have a memory buffer that is pretty nice and can be persisted for post incident analysis by the development team.
Read Scott Kennedy's full review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Weblogic is an amazing application server that is being used by some of the departments in the organization. It easily manages all the critical workloads. Currently, we are using more than 4 WebLogic servers with all having different applications. It is used as a middleware for all our web-based applications.
  • Load Sharing and Load Balancing
  • Easy Deployment
  • Integrated Application console for deployment and other settings
  • This requires expensive servers
  • Training and understanding this is bit hard
  • Image configuration is very length
This is very well suited to be used with web-based applications as it provides immense performance and is a centralized load-sharing solution. If you have multiple applications then this is an appropriate server as it can handle them easily and it is completely flexible and secure. For Images, the configuration part could be a bit hard to handle on this server.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle WebLogic Suite as our application server for development and production deployment. It is also used for connection management and application deployment.
  • Starting and stopping the application is easy using the WebLogic console.
  • Database configurations can be done easily.
  • Easy to add any new configuration param or jar.
  • WAR file deployment sometimes tricky.
  • Thread dump to read.
  • Database's live connection usage.
It is well suited for our production environment where we have to manage 100+ servers. With Oracle WebLogic Suite, we can create clusters, have deployment plans created, and use the same ones for deployment at our convenience.
Yes - I am a JAVA user group member. I can get information related to the latest release or any new updates or items that are coming in.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I like the administration console, since it makes administration tasks very easy. It's very easy to deploy/undeploy applications, see the status of a connection, connection pools etc.
  • Very good WebLogic console dashboard
  • Control all instances of WebLogic servers
  • Create some more awareness. It's hard to find WebLogic skill set.
If you are running web applications it's the best application server you can find with support.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2016
Ryan Payne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently migrating to WebLogic Suite as our primary application server platform. Previously we were only running WebLogic in conjunction with Oracle Discoverer and Oracle Customer Care and Billing. WebLogic is a powerful application server platform and is already showing increases in efficiency and scalability for us.
  • Provides a robust application server platform and standardized skill set
  • Provides infinite scalability options
  • Easy integration accross the organization
  • Allows for advanced configuration and automation of configurations and the creation of new environments
  • The UI is not as robust as the tool and lacks some useful fuctionality
  • Cost is significant depending on use and how it will be leveraged
  • Oracle needs to produce a better guide for getting started
WebLogic is fantastic for building and deploying applications and web services. It offers advanced, scalable building and configurations for a wide range of applications. It simplifies the creation of new products and environments and consolidates the skill sets required to maintain an organization's application domains. It is, however, a significant investment depending on the number of nodes in place and is more suited for large organizations, especially those which have licensing volumes warranting entering an enterprise licensing agreement with oracle.
Read Ryan Payne's full review
November 01, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use the Oracle WebLogic suite in one of our departments only, a robust application server by Oracle which comes free with the database. Based on our experience with this product, it has been really cost-effective and not a lot of maintenance was necessary.
  • Enhanced clustering capabilities with easy deployment
  • Surprisingly superior debugging/logging functionality
  • WLST(WebLogic Scripting tool) and the WebLogic console are extremely useful
  • Out the box configuration might not be ideal for supporting heavy loads (25+ apps per instance)
  • There is a learning curve with the tools provided but isn't a big con IMO
All in all a very robust product for Oracle application deployments with its ease of use, scalability, packed functionality and scalability.
Read this authenticated review
November 18, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle weblogic suite is one of our go to middleware platforms at my company. It is used across the company as a whole for hosting various internally developed applications. More than any other middleware hosting platform, this is the one that we use. True, most of the company are end users and are unaware of what their applications sit on, but that back end is Oracle weblogic, with tools like OSB, SOA, WebMethods and in-house applications deployed on top of the suite.
  • First and foremost it is (as far as these things go) relatively simple to install. The whole process, for at least a small server set up can take an hour or two manually, or as with our company, about half an hour when run through bladelogic scripts. This is key for being able to stage up new instances on demand.
  • Flexibility. You can configure and develop just about any kind of Java web app to be hosted on Oracle Weblogic. That adaptability is important in the industry these days.
  • Support. Oracle has an amazing back end support group for any issues you encounter with their products. I make this comment about any Oracle Product I review - their support and ticketing team is fantastic (at least, that has been my consistent experience). Having that to fall back on is a must.
  • Error messages. This is perhaps the biggest area that needs improvement. They can be cryptic as all get out sometimes. Then again, that can be a fault for the whole system.
  • Backend configuration - sometimes you just don't know where things lay on the backend: where data-stores are located, what directory is this really pulling a deployed file from. There are reasons that Oracle provides (for a fee) training and certification classes.
If you have one or two users needing to access the same set of data or process something, then you really don't need to go full core on an Oracle WebLogic Suite. It’s designed for handling a lot of users accessing applications, and supporting high availability/fail-over nodes for web hosted applications. That is where the product thrives. You can configure it to aggregate data from multiple back end data sources, allow users to access hosted applications, filter, route, and host. This is where it shines.
Read this authenticated review

Oracle WebLogic Suite Scorecard Summary

What is Oracle WebLogic Suite?

The Oracle WebLogic Suite provides an application infrastructure.

For more information visit https://www.oracle.com/middleware/weblogic/suite.html

Oracle WebLogic Suite Competitors

Apache HTTP Server, IBM, Microsoft

Oracle WebLogic Suite Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle WebLogic Suite?

The Oracle WebLogic Suite provides an application infrastructure.

Who uses Oracle WebLogic Suite?

The most common users of Oracle WebLogic Suite are from Enterprises and the Unknown industry.