OutSystems Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
172 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 75)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2020

OutSystems Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Mendix or custom SW development are a couple of examples where you could typically think that OutSystems can meet your requirements. However, the "view and do" approach of this type of tool helps the user to think about the process and not only about the technology. The focus should be on the process, step-by-step level and not only at technical level.
Read this authenticated review
Nuno Miguel da C F Verdasca | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems - The platform that builds the future today

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Although I haven't tried much of other low-code platforms, what I know, what I read, what they share with me ... there is currently no better platform than OutSystems in the low code market. And the tendency is for OutSystems to be increasingly disruptive.
Read Nuno Miguel da C F Verdasca's full review
Stefan Parijs | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems -- a fairy tale that keeps on going

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did two analyses of a POC of a week, comparing OutSystems and Mendix. From our point of view, OutSystems was a better fit for bigger enterprises, and IT can still keep an eye on a possible wide growth of new applications and solutions. After this POC, we also had a look at Betty Blocks, which wasn't mature enough.
Read Stefan Parijs's full review
Dave Lardinois | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Solid platform, helping companies with their digital ambitions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The vision and strategy of OutSystems (developer oriented) fits our company. Also the technology stack and scalabilty options outperform the competition. We have now also learned that the platform keeps developing, releasing new relevant features frequently. Another advantage of OutSystems is the mature partner network in our region. The OutSystems licensing model however was a drawback for us, because it makes business cases more difficult due to recurring costs for application objects used by the solution to be built.
Read Dave Lardinois's full review
Lennie Sutton | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

OutSystems Review by a satisfied user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

OutSystems can be thought of as a combination of all three of the thing listed above. Service Studio lets you manage your code and business logic, your entities (database tables), and provides access to your web server where you can deploy, run or debug your code step-by-step, if needed. They also offer recommendations on how to split your application into modules that can be reused between applications using the 4-layer-canvas approach.
Read Lennie Sutton's full review
Robert Lathrop | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Great platform to help increase application delivery cadence

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The two platforms are similar in a lot of respects but Mendix has a strong project management side where OutSystems put a focus on the devops. We had an existing project management solution so the increased focus on devops was a better fit. We are also a .NET shop and OutSystems being based in .NET made it an easy choice.
Read Robert Lathrop's full review
Timothy J. Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Convinced me that low-code really works at all the levels of complexity and delivery

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We spent a year on our due diligence to make sure Outsystems would be able to satisfy current replacement application needs as well as deliver on new experiences. We looked at competitive products, custom coding, and best-of-breed combinations of all our current application.
Read Timothy J. Morris's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems, easy and fast

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

OutSystems had many more possibilities and a good user community. The stability, reliability, and performance of the tool were much higher compared to any other RAD platforms.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Using OutSystems...Yes or No?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had a very comprehensive comparison between Mendix and OutSystems. We had multiple demonstrations of the platform and we had them both build a mockup or dummy application within a day at our office. After those meetings it was a pretty easy pick between the both of them. It won on features, possibilities and price.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

OutSystems Delivers!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Kony seemed to have most everything that OutSystems has. However, getting up and running was much easier and the development process was much more efficient. Also, the ability to move between environments was easier. Overall, OutSystems was a better product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

OutSystems - a great product and a great company.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked a couple of platforms - but limited our research to those in the Gartner magic quadrant. They were all similar, or at least each had strengths and weaknesses. We choose OutSystems because: 1) they were .Net based as opposed to Java 2) they were SQL server-based and 3) they had on-prem installation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

So far so good

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When evaluating new platforms, this was the only platform we looked at that was no/low-code.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (43)
7.9
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (43)
8.0
Platform Security (42)
7.8
Platform User Management (41)
7.5
Reusability (45)
7.9
Platform Scalability (42)
8.0

About OutSystems

OutSystems is designed to help users build enterprise-grade apps incredibly fast. The vendor says their low-code platform is ranked number one by Forrester. This solution lets users visually develop their entire application, easily integrate with existing systems, and add their own custom code when they need it.

OutSystems Features

Has featureVisual development environment, extensible with your custom code
Has featureIntegrate any existing system and database
Has featureDeploy to any device
Has featureNo technology lock-in
Has featureModel complex offline behavior
Has featureIntegrate native device capabilities (GPS, barcode, etc.)

OutSystems Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

OutSystems Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

OutSystems Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Web-based, Android, iPhone-iPad, Windows Phone, Mobile Web App
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Taiwanese, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian