Skip to main content
TrustRadius
OutSystems

OutSystems

Starting at $4,000 per month
View Pricing

Overview

What is OutSystems?

The OutSystems Platform is a Platform-as-a-Service solution for rapid delivery of responsive web and mobile applications. It includes functionalities required to develop, deploy, manage and change web and mobile applications. It is targeted at the delivery of enterprise applications that…

Read more
Recent Reviews

A tale of awesomeness

8 out of 10
March 05, 2024
I help clients utilize OutSystems technology and help build cloud based sites that run a full force. It allows the user the architecture …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

OutSystems has a wide range of use cases, making it a versatile tool for various industries and departments. Customers have used …
Continue reading

Happy Outsystems User

10 out of 10
March 30, 2023
Hi Everyone

As an outsystem's user, It's a best way to create a top class applications within a short span of time. We just need to know …
Continue reading

OutSystems Review

10 out of 10
September 02, 2022
I develop applications for customers. We use it to provide solutions to very complex problems that any customer or organization might …
Continue reading

Build for speed.

10 out of 10
April 28, 2021
Incentivized
We use OutSystems for all kinds of internal business processes, where a full fledged externally exposed user interface is not required. …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 6 features
  • Reusability (52)
    9.5
    95%
  • Drag-and-drop Interfaces (50)
    9.0
    90%
  • Platform Security (49)
    8.5
    85%
  • Visual Modeling (49)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Basic

$4,000.00

Cloud
per month

Pro

$10,000.00

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Low Code Platforms - OutSystems - Arabic

YouTube

How to Create an Internet-connected AI-powered Candy Dispenser

YouTube

OutPower Tutorial - Reactive web applications - Escape Content (OutSystems)

YouTube

OutSystems Demo Part1: Build a Mobile Supplier Directory (1 of 3)

YouTube

OutPower Tutorial - Reactive web application - Sending an Email (OutSystems)

YouTube

Order Management Demo OutSystems

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Low-Code Development

Low-code development tools allow non developers to build simple process applications with little oversight. These tools simplify the application building process, and are frequently used for simple process applications.

8.8
Avg 8.6
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is OutSystems?

OutSystems is a low-code platform that aims to drive productivity, creating apps with continuous innovation. Visual development tools and automation powered by AI help customers tackle strategic challenges such as application modernization, workplace innovation, business process automation, and customer experience transformation. OutSystems helps to ensure that solutions are secure, resilient, cloud-ready, and built to scale.

OutSystems Features

  • Supported: Visual development environment, extensible with custom code
  • Supported: Integrate any existing system and database
  • Supported: Deploy to any device
  • Supported: No technology lock-in
  • Supported: Model complex offline behavior
  • Supported: Integrate native device capabilities (GPS, barcode, etc.)

OutSystems Video

OutSystems 2 Minute Overview

OutSystems Competitors

OutSystems Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac, Web-based, Android, iPhone-iPad, Windows Phone, Mobile Web App
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesAsia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported LanguagesArabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Taiwanese, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian

Frequently Asked Questions

The OutSystems Platform is a Platform-as-a-Service solution for rapid delivery of responsive web and mobile applications. It includes functionalities required to develop, deploy, manage and change web and mobile applications. It is targeted at the delivery of enterprise applications that require integration with backend systems, complex business rules and logic, usable interfaces and flexibility to change. It can be deployed in the cloud, on-premises or in hybrid environments.

Mendix, Temenos Quantum, and Quickbase are common alternatives for OutSystems.

Reviewers rate Reusability highest, with a score of 9.5.

The most common users of OutSystems are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(211)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

OutSystems has a wide range of use cases, making it a versatile tool for various industries and departments. Customers have used OutSystems to build applications that support sales, back-office processes, complex authorization issues, and point of sale systems. It has also been utilized in industries such as banking, insurance, utilities, and healthcare to develop B2B applications and improve operational efficiency. OutSystems is known for its ability to reduce time to market and the number of developers required for projects. It has been used to deliver web and mobile applications for financial services, insurance, and other industries. Customers appreciate the platform's rapid application development capabilities and its effectiveness in reacting quickly to business changes. OutSystems not only helps improve business processes but also enhances online sales capabilities for companies in the insurance industry. It has been widely implemented company-wide to create in-house solutions tailored to specific business needs. With OutSystems' API integration and database creation functionalities, users have successfully addressed various business problems across different departments. The platform has been instrumental in migrating old software, improving HR processes, and creating highly interactive web and mobile applications. Organizations have also used OutSystems as their preferred platform for custom development of large-scale enterprise applications. Deloitte has adopted OutSystems as one of its main development tools, allowing them to deliver faster and better products to clients in various markets. Overall, OutSystems helps organizations digitize their operations quickly, provides quick development and delivery of applications, improves user engagement through better user experience design, and aids in digital transformation initiatives.

Valuable Tool for Rapid Application Development: Users find that OutSystems is a valuable tool for developing applications quickly, especially for those who don't have coding experience. Many reviewers appreciate the low-code development environment which allows for faster application development compared to traditional methods.

Highly Praised Visual Design and Logic Structure: The visual design and structure of the application's logic in OutSystems are highly praised by users. Reviewers have found the modeling part of OutSystems easy to understand and appreciated it for rapid development and changes.

Cross-Platform Mobile Development Capabilities: Users appreciate OutSystems' ability to handle cross-platform mobile development for both iOS and Android platforms, eliminating the usual challenges associated with multi-platform development. Many reviewers value that OutSystems provides a single platform for web, iOS, and Android development.

Expensive Licensing Model: Users have found the licensing model of OutSystems to be expensive, making it less accessible for small-scale businesses. Several reviewers have expressed concerns about the high cost associated with using the platform.

Challenges in Customization: Some users have encountered difficulties when customizing already implemented themes in OutSystems. This process often requires overwriting styles of SilkUI, which can be complex and time-consuming. A number of reviewers have mentioned this as a drawback of the platform.

Longer Deployment Time: Compared to other technologies like C# or Java, deploying and publishing new versions of applications in OutSystems can take longer. Several users have stated that the process of deploying applications is slower with OutSystems, leading to delays in releasing updates and new features.

Users commonly recommend the following actions for utilizing OutSystems effectively:

  1. Start with small applications and invest in training and professional services to maximize benefits.

  2. Engage OutSystems in designing the governance model from the beginning and establish a Center of Expertise to govern adoption.

  3. Utilize OutSystems' training and implementation support, consider test automation and automated deployments, and establish a training program for developers.

These recommendations highlight the importance of careful planning and utilizing available resources for successful implementation and increased productivity with OutSystems.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 129)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
March 05, 2024

A tale of awesomeness

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I help clients utilize OutSystems technology and help build cloud based sites that run a full force. It allows the user the architecture it needs to build. It's in my opinion one of the top providers in its field and I highly recommend it to my clients and those looking to make there company thrive.
Nandhakumar Sureshbabu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We primarily use Outsystems as our Low-Code platform. Since the day I started using it, I was wondering that the exposing and consuming the API's and Creating Databases are this easy. It saves hours of time and it increases our productivity by creating the interface with the help of built-in widgets and patterns. I highly recommend Outsystems for the person or the organization who is looking forward to Low-Code.
March 30, 2023

Happy Outsystems User

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Hi Everyone

As an outsystem's user, It's a best way to create a top class applications within a short span of time. We just need to know logic and flows, that's also we can learn with the help of training courses, that are already predefined in OutSystems website. You can use Forums also to clary any of your doubts within a short span of time
September 02, 2022

OutSystems Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I develop applications for customers. We use it to provide solutions to very complex problems that any customer or organization might have. We offer web, mobile and pwa solutions. I use OutSystems to help me develop these things. I have developed web and mobile applications with the help of this platform in a short period of time. Rapid development is the next big thing because it saves so much time and money.The customer gets what they need, when they need it to serve their employees or customers better.
January 10, 2022

An Amazing platform

Nivaldo Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use OutSystems to develop mainly B2B Applications. I have used it in Banking, insurance, utilities, etc.
I used it to develop web and mobile applications.
I have used OutSystems to develop B2B apps in cases like creating apps for insurance, to provide Call Center staff and Processors the information that they need, when they need it to better serve customers. Also in Banking to create a B2C app for Mortgage Platform development. And others.
October 24, 2021

Outsystems review

Carlos Alberto Aponte Roa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I am a consultant and have been used platform in three large companies and two small ones. Three of those industries are insurance companies and others are communication companies. We have helped to build main web portals with different kind of transactional modules to allow companies' clients to perform online procedures/transactions/processes by themselves. We have integrated with AD and web services (soap and rest). Development is fast if requirements are well defined but even when those are not, changes are faster than doing them using other programming languages or IDEs.
April 28, 2021

Build for speed.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use OutSystems for all kinds of internal business processes, where a full fledged externally exposed user interface is not required. Most of them are monitoring related, like invoice or payments overviews. But we also use it as a service layer, where the OutSystems application contains API's. OutSystems provides a way to implement a business solution in a seriously fast way.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
The platform enables innovation and speeding up your software delivery. It can integrate with everything, enables you to create great UX from scratch or by accelerators (like Experience Builder). It is scalable, performant and has built-in security. The platform is open to integrate with regarding its services like deployments and analytics, so no need to ditch existing processes/apps that already have deployments in scope (like Jenkins).
AI assisted development can help speed up new developers.
Pretty much everything is documented and easily accessible and OutSystems offers a lot of online training video materials which is well curated and organised.
With OutSystems driving innovation to bring disrupting and enabling cost reductions and increase user engagement by more and better UX applications.
Miguel Correia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used by our department to build applications that the entire organization uses to cover our retail stores in sales. It's also used for the life of our product since it is designed to production; for SAP integration, to book flights, serve the POS, and some other utilities that cover company needs.
Nuno Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
OutSystems is actually being used across the whole organization. From the very start, we wanted to implement a web application that could support all business needs in our company from the very start (consultation, quotation, etc, all the way to worker reported hours and validation). In the end, we wanted our whole business to go through this application.
Victor van Well | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use OutSystems as an addition to our SAP systems. We especially do web and app development in OutSystems with a connection to our SAP environment. The connection is both ways. The developments we've done have met their goals, and we were able to speed up the arrival and departure of the barge handling (inland waterway) process by about 40%.
The event manager we built in OutSystems was a big success, as we could extend the SAP functionality but also improved the process tremendously.
On other terminals, SAP is not used, but Navision. Our goal is to have our external web sides integrated with SAP in Navision. At this moment it's a big challenge.
Ricardo Monteiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
OutSystems is being used by Meivcore's IT department to develop an industry solution to modernize and make Meivcore's data and processes digital. Meivcore's core business is industrial maintenance and everything was done in paper. This had a lot of impact on the productivity in the company because they wasted a lot of time filling forms and checking data on paper. With the solution that we developed, we managed to make the workload a lot easier and helped with productivity and general happiness with our employees.
Nuno Miguel da C F Verdasca | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Low-Code technology from OutSystems is the main technology used by my organization. With it we help companies from different industries evolve their digital transformation journey, helping to create solutions that enhance the different usability experiences, both B2B and B2C.
November 12, 2019

OutSystems, easy and fast

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for specific user groups within our organization. The objective is for it to be used across the entire organization by creating a fully integrated Customer Portal.
At the moment, we use it for our drivers, for maintenance repairs, and for a select group of our customers. We have at the moment a fully functioning OutSystems applications within our company.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have multiple applications. Serving citys, and housing companies in the Netherlands. Our software excels at matching houses to people with very complex rules. We serve 15 different areas in the Netherlands with over 400 customers in the housing industry. Our matching software makes available houses visible on the website currently used by over 1 million people from the Netherlands each month.
Stefan Parijs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It started small and now is used more throughout the complete organization, and with our customers and partners. It solves the need in time to market, and adapts to the changing environment. We are currently at the point of deciding to go full speed with OutSystems and build several components covering complete business processes and replacing legacy and technical debt systems.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently it is only used by a selection of people because we are exploring the features and fit with the business cases. We now only focus on fast to solve problems so we can build some expertise and confidence in the business. The first use is well received so we have a start.
Steffen zander | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Right now we use it for prototyping. With this prototyping we do user research. We are working on using this product company-wide. The idea is that other departments can use it for app development or for internal communication.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is used in the mother company and in one of the daughter companies. They are both based in the Netherlands. In our case - at the mother company - we are developing a mobile app that is spread in more than 11 countries.
Dave Lardinois | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Driving innovation, building applications and services to address our customer's needs
  • Integration of internal applications
  • ERP modernization
  • Operational efficiency and process automation/improvement
  • Custom applications which replace off-the-shelf solutions with are not extensively used (reduce licensing costs)
We currently use OutSystems company wide, with the ambition to make it the core of our IT landscape. Over time we learned that OutSystems can be used for almost all business problems/questions.
Return to navigation