OutSystems Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
171 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 122)

Victor van Well | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems application management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very good user interface. Easy and simple to use. We were able to make a website for external users, without giving them training or an explanation.
  • The ability to upload/download documents as transport papers and customs papers.
  • The ease of developing. Development really speeds us up, and is very simple.
  • The possibility to solve defects/do changes in a very short time.
  • We had very much trouble with synchronizing data between an app in the central database. We had to take into account that the app was temporarily not online. Data synchronization gave us a hard time.
  • Changing characteristics of data elements. E.g. if the length/name of a data element has to change, a new data element is created and we need to adjust all software using this data model.
Read Victor van Well's full review
Nuno Miguel da C F Verdasca | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems - The platform that builds the future today

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It can put an application into production in less time than other technologies, ensuring good performance and safety.
  • It is a rapidly growing technology that has always available support to help its partners and customers no matter what the problem.
  • It seeks to innovate with each version, and is always looking for new solutions to everyday problems by adapting new trends and introducing them into their development platform.
  • I think the key point I would like to see improved would really be the issue of versioning. I think you can try to find a better solution to create versioning.
Read Nuno Miguel da C F Verdasca's full review
Dave Lardinois | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Solid platform, helping companies with their digital ambitions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Scalable: being a cloud native platform with great usability, scalability is almost unlimited.
  • Innovation, releasing new features: the platform keeps developing, you keep getting more value for your money.
  • Strong, solid technology. Performance has not been an issue so far at all
  • Great usability and easy to manage.
  • Adhering to the latest security standards.
  • Support desk response times. We had several occasions with non-critical issues where we had to wait more than a week to get a proper response.
Read Dave Lardinois's full review
Richard Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Great for development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Rapid development allows developers to clear their backlogs easily.
  • Low code allows for a steep learning curve without the pain. I was fully functional within 2 months.
  • The look and feel of OutSystems applications are impressive. Especially when moving to mobile web apps.
  • The menu should automatically adjust to page rights rather than requiring manual adjustment.
  • Guidance over the integration of C# could be improved. Instructions were not that clear to me.
Read Richard Ward's full review
Erik Hagen | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Becoming a real application engineer thanks to OutSystems

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being low-code, even people without any experience can start building with OutSystems immediately.
  • OutSystems has a great and very helpful community, giving advice and pre-build features to beginning engineers.
  • OutSystems is very flexible and easy to use; it enables us to build something useful within minutes.
  • Being relatively new in the IT world, I could use some kind of quick reference guide inside OutSystems (instead of going to the website or forum)
  • Filtering aggregates could perhaps be done in an easier way. I struggle with them, sometimes.
  • I'd like more pre-made layouts.
Read Erik Hagen's full review
Steffen zander | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems is great to use - even for a non-software developer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to start using OutSystems.
  • Easy use of external APIs or to use JS
  • Even if your computer is lost or damaged you can continue working with another computer
  • Easy to test your apps
  • Synchronizing from the local storage to the server database
  • Implementation of other Code-snippets like Java or C
  • Debugging Server actions
Read Steffen zander's full review
Cristina Dragomir | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Easy to use and learn

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reusable nuggets of code and UI.
  • Good support and development community.
  • Easy to create mobile apps without being an expert in native mobile dev languages.
  • CSS styling and customizing of templates.
  • Better preview functionality in the development environment.
Read Cristina Dragomir's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

OutSystems, easy and fast

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The rapidity.
  • The fact that you can easily make a good looking application.
  • The flexibility.
  • The vendor lock-in.
  • Maybe integrate better with the Apple store.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Using OutSystems...Yes or No?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Rapid visible results
  • Easy integration with APIs
  • Customizing styles
  • Development of interaction elements outside the "defaults" is a lot of work.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

The easy of use of Outsystems developing platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The quick drag and drop way of building the application
  • Easy way to deploy to next stage in development process
  • Nice look and feel
  • Upgrade to next version of product is slow
  • Support doesn't communicate very well in an escalation
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Great low code dev IDE

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Low code development for apps
  • Quick onboarding
  • Low entry barrier
  • Complex apps tend to take more time than hybrid.
  • It is not easy to get around bugs or blocking issues.
  • UI bugs in iOS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2019

Fast and good!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility - We can do anything in it.
  • Speed - The solutions are done much quicker.
  • Quality - We make good user experiences both for our staff and our customers.
  • The upgrade processes have been pretty painful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2019

OutSystems is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visual insight in your code since it is modular.
  • Quick but not dirty.
  • Easy of use.
  • Ability to peer review code changes.
  • Integration with Okta.
  • New templates.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2019

Great for citizen developers

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to develop a new program without IT education.
  • Easy to change parts of your program.
  • Helps in fast digital transformation.
  • More help in setting up the correct architecture.
  • Problems with multiple developers working and then publishing the same module.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

So far so good

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple - The product itself is simple to use with its low-code drag and drop interface.
  • Extensible - I hate systems that don't allow me to extend them as and when I need to. OutSystems lets me extend in whatever way I want to, which could be support for a foreign database, to custom C# to integrate something completely different.
  • Supported - The system is supported really, really well. there is a forum that is incredibly active, both the partners and OutSystems are responsive.
  • "The OutSystems way" - As a web designer and developer, I often feel that some of the components, and the way that some "web blocks" work could be improved.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (42)
7.9
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (42)
8.0
Platform Security (41)
7.8
Platform User Management (40)
7.4
Reusability (44)
7.9
Platform Scalability (41)
8.0

About OutSystems

OutSystems is designed to help users build enterprise-grade apps incredibly fast. The vendor says their low-code platform is ranked number one by Forrester. This solution lets users visually develop their entire application, easily integrate with existing systems, and add their own custom code when they need it.

OutSystems Features

Has featureVisual development environment, extensible with your custom code
Has featureIntegrate any existing system and database
Has featureDeploy to any device
Has featureNo technology lock-in
Has featureModel complex offline behavior
Has featureIntegrate native device capabilities (GPS, barcode, etc.)

OutSystems Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

OutSystems Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

OutSystems Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Web-based, Android, iPhone-iPad, Windows Phone, Mobile Web App
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Europe, Germany, India, Japan, Latin America, Mexico, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Taiwanese, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian