TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/DS/BU/ULEO0WQAHCO8.PNGPalo is about as good as it gets.We have PA firewalls throughout the City, sizing and capabilities based on the needs of the department.,Having two engines: Routing Engine—The Routing Engine provides three main functions: Creates the packet forwarding switch fabric for the Services Router, providing route lookup, filtering, and switching on incoming data packets, then directing outbound packets to the appropriate interface for transmission to the network. Maintains the routing tables used by the router and controls the routing protocols that run on the router. Provides control and monitoring functions for the router, including controlling power and monitoring system status. Packet Forwarding Engine—Processes packets; applies filters, routing policies, and other features; and forwards packets to the next hop along the route to their final destination. The search functions of the appliances and the OS is pretty good. Better than most firewalls. Engaging support was quicker, which can really make or break your day\week when it comes to an outage.,Building an OSPF tunnel with another vendor is proving difficult. Support cant seem to fix it even in their sandbox environment. The Firewall is extremely granular, sometimes searching can prove tedious and frustrating if you're new to the OS.,9,Great up-time and reliability. May cost a little more but is worth it. Between our PA firewalls and our Juniper switching infrastructure, we are pulling almost .9999 of up-time. There are always problems with vendors working VPN tunnels and protocols together and we have a known issue with OSPF with one of our PA's and another vendor and PA cant seem to figure it out. We're planning on replacing the old legacy box soon to alleviate this dilemma.,SonicWALL Aventail, Fortinet FortiGate and WatchGuard NGFW,VMware ESXi, Hyper-V, Compellent, NimbleGreat Enterprise Level Networks Next-Generation FirewallsWe use Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls as our primary firewall and our VPN solution for the company. It is very easy to set up and the firewall itself proves to be very effective in managing traffic. They are an industry leader for Enterprise NGFW appliances with numerous security features to protect companies and their networks.,Very good security features including hardware-level antivirus and intrusion prevention. Customizable firewall rules and NAT policies that will match any network's needs. Great management interface. Different size of appliances for different purposes/environments.,We have seen that occasionally the reporting feature can be buggy and that certain options might be missing from the menu in the report section. This seems to be a known bug and we have been working with PAN support to apply a hotfix patch to address the issue.,9,Technical support is excellent without a doubt, qualified support engineers and responsive. We had a few crises and managed to push through under pressure thanks to the tech support. The ease of use was a strong selling point. The management console is very simple to use and we were up and running in a production environment very quickly without any issues. I like the application awareness of the firewall. Really allows you to monitor what is going on and what users are doing.,SonicWall TZ,Veriato 360, eFax, SonicWall TZPANTASTICIt's used across the organization, for threat prevention and continuity of operation .,Visibility into traffic Risk reduction High performance without cutting corners on security,The endpoint protection price is not competitive The Ldap integration and user mapping could be more intuitive The client-less VPN can use native RDP client,10,Intrusion reduction . High availability uptime Data leak prevention,Azure Multi-Factor Authentication, FortiSIEM, Microsoft Azure, Sophos Endpoint Protection and Nutanix Acropolis,Nutanix Acropolis, Microsoft Azure, Sophos Endpoint ProtectionPalo Alto will stop the bad guys for you!We utilize Palo Alto Next Generation Firewalls to protect our perimeter network and provide VPN connectivity for site-to-site and endpoint access. The firewall helps to mitigate potential misuse of the internet as well as stopping attacks from shady websites.,AppID is able to see what the actual internet traffic is. For instance instead of port 443 just being "Internet traffic" we can define access to Facebook-base or all the other facets of facebook. UserID allows us to define policies based on group or user access and integrates with our Active Directory. This helps to configure a least access privilege and if we find misuse of the network we can tighten specific users to a stricter policy. GlobalProtect VPN connection helps our employee's connect from home remotely. This provides a very secure connection with minimal configuration. Wildfire provides very up-to-date information regarding global attack mitigations and stopping techniques.,Our specific model is a bit slow and outdated and takes up to 10 minutes to commit a configuration change. Nested security rules would be helpful instead of a linear approach. But rule creation in general is very simple. Documentation gives a very straight forward answer to some items but is very vague in others. Support could be a little better. An issue we had a tech was insistent it was the "other guy" and it ended up being the very latest PAN OS upgrade.,9,We used to outsource our Firewall and it's management. Not only did we find their SLA's to be lacking, in general, but communication between us was horrible. Many times we could not understand them and that resulted in less than desirable rule creation or troubleshooting. Since we no longer have to pay a company for 24/7 management (and SLOW SLA's) we are saving a ton of money each year. Also our fellow employee's are much happier that things can be resolved in a timely manner.,Not Beginner-friendly, but Powerful and ComprehensiveWe used our Palo Alto firewalls to analyze and filter all traffic coming into and leaving our network, including the DMZ.,Web Filtering - Analysis is fast and comprehensive, with all the options one should expect from a professional Web filter. Admins can set options to audit, warn, click-through, password-protect, or block sites based on numerous criteria. Changing site categories is easy and Palo Alto do a good job of being pretty up-to-date on their site catalog. Packet Identification - This is an area where Palo Alto excels. Want to allow your users to use Facebook, but block IM and/or file transfers? Easy. Have an inbound file that says it's a jpeg but is really an Excel spreadsheet? Busted. WildFire - I hated it at first, but it's come a long way. Unknown files can be sent to WildFire for them to sandbox and analyze. The result is fairly fast return times and a process that contributes to the improvement of your firewall's function.,Updates - They happen often and are quick to install, but new definitions with a threat level of critical should be blocked by default, not set to audit-only. SSL Proxy - This works great if you have very little traffic on your PA. If you turn this on, expect to cut the firewall's performance in half. Even then, no SSL Proxy is perfect, so some sites just won't work.,9,Within minutes of installing a PA in passive mode, we were able to identify dozens of attacks on our network. In the first month, we were able to provide executive reviews of attacks on our network, usage statistics of our Internet connections, and use of our cloud resources. Our PA installation helped us discover a major exfiltration attempt, document it, and bring a compelling case against the perpetrator.,Juniper SRX, Smoothwall SWG and Barracuda Web Filter
Unspecified
Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series
37 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Reviews

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series
37 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 37 vetted Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Michael Haberkern profile photo
December 08, 2018

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "Palo is about as good as it gets."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have PA firewalls throughout the City, sizing and capabilities based on the needs of the department.
  • Having two engines:
  • Routing Engine—The Routing Engine provides three main functions:
  • Creates the packet forwarding switch fabric for the Services Router, providing route lookup, filtering, and switching on incoming data packets, then directing outbound packets to the appropriate interface for transmission to the network.
  • Maintains the routing tables used by the router and controls the routing protocols that run on the router.
  • Provides control and monitoring functions for the router, including controlling power and monitoring system status.
  • Packet Forwarding Engine—Processes packets; applies filters, routing policies, and other features; and forwards packets to the next hop along the route to their final destination.
  • The search functions of the appliances and the OS is pretty good. Better than most firewalls.
  • Engaging support was quicker, which can really make or break your day\week when it comes to an outage.
  • Building an OSPF tunnel with another vendor is proving difficult. Support cant seem to fix it even in their sandbox environment.
  • The Firewall is extremely granular, sometimes searching can prove tedious and frustrating if you're new to the OS.
Palo Alto ranks as one of the best nex-gen firewalls. Their OS, real-time analytics and their wildfire product is pretty top-notch. They are even branching out in the AV side, just don't have the GUIs integrated well, so it more sites to go to. Instead, one global GUI would be nice.
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
Alex Leung profile photo
November 21, 2018

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "Great Enterprise Level Networks Next-Generation Firewalls"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls as our primary firewall and our VPN solution for the company. It is very easy to set up and the firewall itself proves to be very effective in managing traffic. They are an industry leader for Enterprise NGFW appliances with numerous security features to protect companies and their networks.
  • Very good security features including hardware-level antivirus and intrusion prevention.
  • Customizable firewall rules and NAT policies that will match any network's needs.
  • Great management interface.
  • Different size of appliances for different purposes/environments.
  • We have seen that occasionally the reporting feature can be buggy and that certain options might be missing from the menu in the report section. This seems to be a known bug and we have been working with PAN support to apply a hotfix patch to address the issue.
Great product and great company to do business with. We are a long time customer and are currently using many of their security products. We find that they focus heavily on ease of use and making deployment as simple as possible which is always a plus for my organization.
Read Alex Leung's full review
Eric V. Zarghami profile photo
October 12, 2018

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "PANTASTIC"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the organization, for threat prevention and continuity of operation .
  • Visibility into traffic
  • Risk reduction
  • High performance without cutting corners on security
  • The endpoint protection price is not competitive
  • The Ldap integration and user mapping could be more intuitive
  • The client-less VPN can use native RDP client
It's definitely an upgrade. It offers visibility into network. PAN HA configuration pays the dividends. Expands with the network. The firewall can handle high throughput networks while applying security. The 5000 series is a bit an overkill for small businesses. There is going to be a bit of learning curve for Cisco power users who are used to CLI as it heavily relies on GUI .
Read Eric V. Zarghami's full review
Christopher St.Amand profile photo
January 30, 2018

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "Palo Alto will stop the bad guys for you!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Palo Alto Next Generation Firewalls to protect our perimeter network and provide VPN connectivity for site-to-site and endpoint access. The firewall helps to mitigate potential misuse of the internet as well as stopping attacks from shady websites.
  • AppID is able to see what the actual internet traffic is. For instance instead of port 443 just being "Internet traffic" we can define access to Facebook-base or all the other facets of facebook.
  • UserID allows us to define policies based on group or user access and integrates with our Active Directory. This helps to configure a least access privilege and if we find misuse of the network we can tighten specific users to a stricter policy.
  • GlobalProtect VPN connection helps our employee's connect from home remotely. This provides a very secure connection with minimal configuration.
  • Wildfire provides very up-to-date information regarding global attack mitigations and stopping techniques.
  • Our specific model is a bit slow and outdated and takes up to 10 minutes to commit a configuration change.
  • Nested security rules would be helpful instead of a linear approach. But rule creation in general is very simple.
  • Documentation gives a very straight forward answer to some items but is very vague in others.
  • Support could be a little better. An issue we had a tech was insistent it was the "other guy" and it ended up being the very latest PAN OS upgrade.
These are easy to configure devices where a super technical security engineer is not necessarily needed to manage the device. From a small corporate office with the PA-220 to a very large office PA-5x series, management is very similar across the whole line of products. Security rules, objects and other building blocks are easy to find. The interface is easily navigable. There are some quirks in regards to the interface but nothing horrible, especially since v7 update. Utilizing UserID is beneficial in a corporate environment that uses LDAP/Active Directory to in order to create policies according to users/groups. AppID helps to reduce attack surfaces. Wildfire and the other antivirus/malware features are automatically updated to provide a very up to date protection package.
Read Christopher St.Amand's full review
John Orleans, CISSP profile photo
October 17, 2017

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "Not Beginner-friendly, but Powerful and Comprehensive"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used our Palo Alto firewalls to analyze and filter all traffic coming into and leaving our network, including the DMZ.
  • Web Filtering - Analysis is fast and comprehensive, with all the options one should expect from a professional Web filter. Admins can set options to audit, warn, click-through, password-protect, or block sites based on numerous criteria. Changing site categories is easy and Palo Alto do a good job of being pretty up-to-date on their site catalog.
  • Packet Identification - This is an area where Palo Alto excels. Want to allow your users to use Facebook, but block IM and/or file transfers? Easy. Have an inbound file that says it's a jpeg but is really an Excel spreadsheet? Busted.
  • WildFire - I hated it at first, but it's come a long way. Unknown files can be sent to WildFire for them to sandbox and analyze. The result is fairly fast return times and a process that contributes to the improvement of your firewall's function.
  • Updates - They happen often and are quick to install, but new definitions with a threat level of critical should be blocked by default, not set to audit-only.
  • SSL Proxy - This works great if you have very little traffic on your PA. If you turn this on, expect to cut the firewall's performance in half. Even then, no SSL Proxy is perfect, so some sites just won't work.
If you don't have the money to have a good VAR set it up or don't have the desire/expertise in-house to properly configure Palo Alto, then take a pass and use something like a Cisco ASA or Sophos XG. Also, expect to spend a lot of time fine-tuning it. Also, since there are so many ways of doing the same thing, it's important for your team to be disciplined about how and where they use rules. However, Palo Alto firewalls are well worth the effort. After they're properly set up, you'll have a very good, comprehensive view of your traffic with excellent reporting and alerting ability.
Read John Orleans, CISSP's full review
No photo available
June 28, 2017

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "Solid multi-function security solution, but it's not cheap!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the PA-3000 firewalls to secure our perimeter at our data centers. Our entire organization uses these devices to secure all Internet traffic. We use these firewalls for multiple purposes, including anti-virus, threat detection, DMZ, routing, URL filtering, and malware protection, in both layer 3 active/standby mode as well as vwire mode.
  • Performs a lot of security functionality all in one device - this is important because especially in today's world, there are a lot of point products out there and it can be difficult for a small or medium-sized business to manage all of them. Having one product saves time, money, and complexity.
  • High availability performance is very good, failover is seamless, which is important for business continuity.
  • GUI is excellent, which makes it very easy for administrators to manage the firewall and see exactly what is happening.
  • The CLI is a bit confusing, and it's difficult to find what you're looking for. Takes a lot of practice. Definitely not as good as the Cisco CLI.
  • Updating the firmware is often a very dangerous process, especially when jumping minor or major releases. More QA should be done to validate and ensure no issues during upgrades. I'll admit it's gotten better over time, but there is still room for improvement.
Great for a small to medium sized business, with connectivity requirements at around 1GBPS. Once you go over that, especially when A VPN is involved, resources can become taxed and you might be better off looking at a higher end model. Though note these devices are not cheap, and can be especially expensive with all of the licenses added on.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 31, 2017

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "The Next Generation is Here - I'm not talking about Millenials!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PA's NGFW is being used to secure our internal network, servers and a wide variety of devices from external and in conjunction with the implemented software, internal threats. It is being used across the entire organization including the provision of protective services to several remote areas via VPN & VSAT. It has been implemented to help the company recover from a dearth of support previously provided (or not) by an outside vendor.
  • It seamlessly performs simultaneous scanning at all levels of the packet, looking for irregularities and/or evidence potential threat activity. This is a most helpful tool, in that it looks to prevent known and/or suspicious packets from entering uninspected into the environment.
  • Additionally, it provides blocking services for known hostile URLs, which helps cut down dramatically on the potential for phishing and other types of intrusions.
  • Finally, PA's NGFW and associated software takes identified suspicious items and "sandboxes" them - sends them for examination /evaluation. The feedback & other support we get from PAN and its local partner is just far above expectation.
  • The only thing I can suggest is a little more information on available dashboards and how to use them. It could be that I haven't looked in the right place, but at my level, I don't often have the time go surfing through sites to find things. Perhaps a CIO/CSO dashboard with immediate access to other dashboards and high level information.
I don't have enough experience yet to comment on its applicability in other environments, but I can confidently say that it appears to be a real godsend for any company truly concerned about the integrity of their perimeter and their internal assets! In the strongest way, I wholeheartedly recommend you research Palo Alto Networks - go to their site, ask your colleagues, take a test drive! You won't be disappointed.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Greulich, GSED, GSEC profile photo
March 17, 2017

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series: "Palo Alto Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Palo Alto is used as our primary firewalls. It addresses the problem of outside intrusions and are configured with both basic and advanced firewall features. We are able to protect against application-level threats and it is also used to manage our VPN and MPLS networks. Many features such as dynamic block lists, DLP, web content filtering, advanced threat protection, wildfire, and DDoS protection are available and are in use with our company.
  • Protects against common threats such as unauthorized vulnerability scans
  • Protects against malware applications and ransomware such as Cryptowall
  • Allows very secure VPN connections for external users
  • The web content filtering is good, but could be improved
  • Wildfire can take a long time to analyze files
  • Alerts and logs could contain a little more information or intelligence to help narrow down a threat.
Palo Alto is great for mid to large size businesses with 200 users or more. They provide amazing protection that is extremely customizable. Almost nothing gets a chance to get into the network for our endpoint protection to pick up. For smaller businesses, Palo Alto would be overkill. It can be complicated to configure and manage and might be too robust for small, simple networks.
Read Jennifer Greulich, GSED, GSEC's full review
No photo available
March 08, 2017

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "High performance, rock solid firewall solution for Medium to Large businesses."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed a solution that would detect threats before they were detected by endpoint software and eliminate the threats of exploits and viruses to our end users, including ransomware attacks.
  • Monitoring and detecting unwanted application access by our users, such as streaming and torrent download sites.
  • Preventing exploits and malware from hitting our network and infecting all end-user PCs and servers.
  • Excellent secure VPN access for our outside staff and partners. The VPN software client is available for PC & Mac as well as mobile client options on Android and Apple stores.
  • The products are a bit pricey, but feature filled. Their annual services can really add up quickly.
  • The models of devices are somewhat confusing. For instance, we wanted a firewall that had the ability to use Active & Passive fault tolerance, and only the very advanced models (more expensive) do this. It might bring smaller customers in by adding more advanced features to lower-priced models.
The firewalls we purchased are excellent. They are very fast as well. This is really important as we want to collect as much data as possible without the end user being impacted by the performance. We are using a 100Mbps fiber connection to the Internet, so we want to get all the speed we can push through these devices. Having the fault tolerance option in the lower-end models would be a nice feature to add.
Read this authenticated review
Gary Halbedel profile photo
June 29, 2016

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "Palo Alto PA-3000 series - a valuable and reliable resource for protecting your network"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Palo Alto Networks PA-3020 to control internet access for the entire organization. The business problems being addressed are:
1. availability of services and information, e.g. protecting against malicious activity that would attempt to destroy or otherwise prevent access to services and information.
2. confidentiality of data and resources
3. integrity of data and resources
  • It manages software updates particularly well as well as the ability to downgrade software versions. This is a strength because of the need to stay current with patches to fix discovered vulnerabilities and also assurance that if an update causes a serious problem, it is relatively easy to roll it back.
  • Reliability is good. We have not had any unscheduled downtime from the device since we've put it into production.
  • It does a good job identifying threats and potential threats based on vulnerabilities and blocking suspect connections automatically.
  • I would like to see some guidance on suggested action to take on an identified threat or potential threat beyond just blocking the access.
  • In the Monitor tab/threat, I would like to be able to copy an item in the listing (ip address, url, etc.) directly rather than having to click on the item which automatically puts it into the filter where I can then mark and copy the item. Also, if I want to copy the URL and I click on it, it puts it into the filter as an IP address which I may not necessarily want to copy.
The PA-3000 Series is well suited as a single point of control for internet access. The PA-3000 series also provides support for internal network segmentation. I can't speak from experience for other scenarios but I have a colleague at another organization who uses multiple Palo Alto firewalls in their deployment and is very happy with them.
Read Gary Halbedel's full review
No photo available
October 14, 2016

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Review: "Firewall and Wildfire? Great!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PA-500 is being used across our entire organization. We currently use it to filter web traffic with geoblocking, implement our VPN, and for general logging of network activity.
  • The VPN (GlobalProtect) is easy to use.
  • Logging is done well and in an easy to use situation.
  • The GeoBlocking is exceptional.
  • The web interface to look at real time events is very slow and clunky.
  • The searching feature is hard to figure out what parameters you use.
  • The GlobalProtect VPN client has a few strange features that have increased support hours. It's easy to work around but caused a few unnecessary tickets.
Palo Alto is an excellent product when you are running small to medium networks and are not trying to do real-time analysis of the traffic. I think a large network or an especially active network (for instance hosting web servers) would require something more robust. If you need something to protect your network, it's a great place to start.
Read this authenticated review

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Scorecard Summary

About Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series

Palo Alto next-generation firewalls classify all traffic, including encrypted traffic, based on application, application function, user and content. Users can create security policies, resulting in enablement of applications. This lets only authorized users run sanctioned applications, reducing the surface area of cyber attacks across the organization.
Categories:  Firewall

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Competitors

Cisco, Checkpoint, Barracuda

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No