Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
127 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 37)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 28, 2021
Vinit Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • GUI is really easy to Manage
  • Security is highly improved so we don't need to worry about attacks & data breach
  • Cost is justified according to features they are providing
Read Vinit Sharma's full review
June 21, 2021
Binita Kharbanda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Application control.
  • User friendly GUI.
  • Documentations availability.
  • Site to Site VPN configuration issue with a policy based method.
  • Hotfixes availability.
Read Binita Kharbanda's full review
December 28, 2020
Sunil Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It eliminates the need to use multiple vendor boxes for different inspections (e.g., URL filtering, IPS, UID, VPN, etc.)
  • Its VM series help us to tighten our cloud security
  • Its complete GUI base administration make our admins work easier
Read Sunil Kumar's full review
December 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Utilizing Panorama to manage all of our Firewalls Policies by creating device groups is a real time saver. We only need to configure policies once and push them to the appropriate firewalls saving a lot of time.
  • Having the added security feature protection is good peace of mind in an ever-increasing threat landscape.
  • Monitoring traffic by IP, URL or username provides excellent insight into our traffic.
Read this authenticated review
February 29, 2020
Paul Luchini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has decreased the number of individual devices we have deployed, saving costs and management required.
  • It has maintained high uptime for our services.
  • When we replaced our 5000 series firewalls with 5200 series firewalls the performance increased so much we were able to move down a model and actually save money over three years by upgrading (when including support costs).
Read Paul Luchini's full review
January 13, 2020
Adam Morrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The Palo Alto has helped us achieve our main goal of security segmenting our back of house and gaming system from each other in a way that we can easily verify.
Read Adam Morrison's full review
October 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Prior to the purchase of Palo Alto NGFW firewalls, we used various other technologies along with our prior firewalls. After the purchase of the PA5220s, we were able to sunset these other technologies. Retired tech, along with a single pane of glass provides us with more resources to move forward with on other areas. Positive impact for our organization with the purchase of our PA-5220s.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Palo Alto firewalls dramatically improved web filtering capabilities due to the effective category-based filtering. There is less of a need to block web sites manually, reducing administrative workload.
  • Blocking Applications (App-ID) allowed our organization to have more control over the network and generally proved effective even against applications usually able to avoid firewall filtering (torrent clients, remote access software).
  • Logging capabilities of the firewalls were effectively used for cyber security investigations and compliance. Robust filtering options saved many work hours of investigation.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Great product if you can afford it. PA firewall provide best in class NextGen protection
  • Price are too high - depends on what subscription you deployed
Read this authenticated review
March 21, 2019
Irteza Rana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With Palo Alto we have the ability to grow and accommodate all our network infrastructure needs. Even a firewall that is 5 years old is still capable of handling advance requests that come to our business.
  • As our business grows, our presence in the public cloud is growing exponentially. With Palo Alto firewalls we are able to keep up with the pace of this growth and still keep our infrastructure secure.
  • Its ability to integrate with multi-vendor gives us the freedom to be with any network vendor as we grow.
Read Irteza Rana's full review
December 08, 2018
Michael Haberkern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Great up-time and reliability. May cost a little more but is worth it.
  • Between our PA firewalls and our Juniper switching infrastructure, we are pulling almost .9999 of up-time.
  • There are always problems with vendors working VPN tunnels and protocols together and we have a known issue with OSPF with one of our PA's and another vendor and PA cant seem to figure it out. We're planning on replacing the old legacy box soon to alleviate this dilemma.
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
November 21, 2018
Alex Leung | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Technical support is excellent without a doubt, qualified support engineers and responsive. We had a few crises and managed to push through under pressure thanks to the tech support.
  • The ease of use was a strong selling point. The management console is very simple to use and we were up and running in a production environment very quickly without any issues.
  • I like the application awareness of the firewall. Really allows you to monitor what is going on and what users are doing.
Read Alex Leung's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (21)
9.6
Visualization Tools (21)
9.0
Content Inspection (21)
9.8
Policy-based Controls (21)
9.7
Active Directory and LDAP (20)
9.6
Firewall Management Console (21)
9.5
Reporting and Logging (21)
9.5
VPN (21)
9.4
High Availability (20)
9.9
Stateful Inspection (20)
9.9
Proxy Server (10)
9.1

What is Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series?

Palo Alto Network’s Next-Generation Firewalls is a firewall option integrated with other Palo Alto security products. NGFWs classify and monitor all traffic, including encrypted and internal traffic, based on application, function, user, and content. Palo Alto emphasizes the Zero Trust policy, through which users can create security policies to enable only authorized users to run sanctioned applications, reducing the surface area of cyber attacks across the organization.


Palo Alto’s NGFW provides in-firewall encryption and decryption, as well as data and application segmentation. It integrates with PA’s WildFire malware prevention service and supports easy adoption with an open-source tool for firewall migration. It encompasses on-premises and cloud environments for full-system security.

Categories:  Firewall

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Competitors

Cisco, Checkpoint, Barracuda

Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series?

Palo Alto next-generation firewalls classify all traffic, including encrypted and internal traffic, based on application, application function, user and content. Users can create security policies to enable only authorized users to run sanctioned applications.

What is Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series's best feature?

Reviewers rate High Availability and Stateful Inspection highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series?

The most common users of Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.