Parallels RAS Reviews

115 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 70)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 30, 2021
Joe Castle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)
Most Citrix deployments I have seen involve a lot of servers. With Parallels RAS, we were able to deploy just 1 server to cover our needs.
Read Joe Castle's full review
September 01, 2020
Ayman Dasa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In order to have RAS on all company ships on a low budget, we chose to go with Parallels Remote Application Server. Citrix was another option but it was pricey in comparison. We knew that Citrix might work better in the future, but our company didn't require the additional functions that Citrix provides.
Read Ayman Dasa's full review
April 17, 2020
Bryan Tavares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It has been quite a while ago. I remember reading about it on the internet and decided to try it. We have used TightVNC and Dameware and they work but still a bit clunky. Dameware is the slower of these two.
Read Bryan Tavares's full review
April 01, 2020
Jorge Acopa Galera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) and Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection Manager (RDCMan)
Parallels RAS is easier to setup, use and mantain than other options I have tried. It really works and we had great reviews from our users on the trial period prior to fully deploy the solution across 3 cities. Parallels has a great visual presentation and excellent user interface response, we can even publish personal PC's and Virtual Desktops very easily thanks to Nutanix integration. It really has a lot of options for the price we paid.
Read Jorge Acopa Galera's full review
February 11, 2020
iain Stephen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Well, of course, we use Terminal Services and Remote Desktop Protocol. That is an everyday occurrence. We use Parallels to provide RDP from the server to LAN workstations for some users as they travel. Works very well as a secure RDP gateway. We also used Citrix for many years for our paramedics to publish ICA files for scheduling systems as well as for remote access to some other software. Citrix is hard to beat but Parallels is a very close cousin.
Read iain Stephen's full review
April 04, 2020
Clint Rankin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection Manager (RDCMan)
Parallels compared to just using Microsoft's straight built-in functionally to their Windows Server is simply a cost vs reward scenario. In other words, you can save a bunch of money not using Parallels and just using MS built-in functionally. However, it likely won't work as well if you have multiple devices that your remote apps need to work perfectly on. That's where PRAS shines.
Read Clint Rankin's full review
April 03, 2020
Jason Chafin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Parallels RAS stacks up against other options, but each has its own pros and cons; it is important to know what a company is trying to accomplish with the solution to make the best decision as they're all good products. The same is true across the board with IT. For instance, if someone is trying to edit video for a marketing campaign, then I'm going to recommend a MacBook Pro. However, if someone just wants to work on QuickBooks and update spreadsheets, I'm going to recommend a basic Windows laptop or Chromebook. Both will do the job for both situations; however, one is a better solution than the other.
Read Jason Chafin's full review
March 31, 2020
Adrian Alessi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)
At the time of deployment, I found XenApp required multiple servers and session brokers, etc. Whereas I could have all my applications on the one server for my small environment.
Read Adrian Alessi's full review
March 25, 2020
Andreas Hermann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) and Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection Manager (RDCMan)
Citrix is at the same level , but Parallels is cheaper.
Microsoft Connection Broker is not so stable and not at this level, Microsoft Universal Printing doesn't work as good as the Parallels solution.
Read Andreas Hermann's full review
March 24, 2020
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp) and Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops (formerly XenDesktop)
Parallels Remote Application Server competes against Citrix on a one-for-one feature setlist. It provides many of the same services and capabilities. It is, overall, a simpler product to use and configure. It does not compete perfectly in the VDI space, as the Citrix offering is designed for a much larger organization, but for the mid-size enterprise, it fits the 80/20 rule perfectly and works very well.
Read Joe Foran's full review
March 22, 2020
Udo Janssen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops (formerly XenDesktop)
Setting up and managing Parallels RAS is extremely quick and easy. Support in the form of manufacturer support is better. In general, support for resellers is better at Parallels and easier for resellers.
Read Udo Janssen's full review
March 09, 2020
Darrin Salt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We've used both Citrix Virtual Apps (aka XenApp) and both Microsoft Remote Desktop session hosts. Both are good products but they cannot compare with the ease and cost savings delivered by Parallels RAS:
Citrix is an excellent product but very expensive. Additionally, VDI and Remote PC access are not possible with Virtual Apps - you also need the desktops option as well.
Microsoft's solution is less expensive than Citrix's, but it's a pain to set up, requires a lot of hardware to "do it right" and you'll find numerous issues around things like printing and remote scanning, etc - all of which are pretty seamless and "just like being there" when using Parallels RAS.
Read Darrin Salt's full review
March 07, 2020
Jeff Dyck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Citrix Virtual Apps (formerly XenApp)
The much simpler licensing and management aspects of Parallels Application Server were hugely important to us. Other than the initial setup, application installation and configuration, and the occasional maintenance (software updates, disk cleanup, restart, etc.) it has been a very low maintenance solution for us.
Read Jeff Dyck's full review
March 07, 2020
Donny McIver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

First and foremost, Parallels Remote Application Server is a game changer in price performance compared to Citrix. In addition, the security and flexibility compared to a traditional Microsoft RDS solution is night and day better both in terms of security and configuration options. Most people will equate it to Citrix, where you can publish both the traditional remote desktop interface as well as a set of applications using a wide variety of clients to access (Windows / Mac / iOS / etc.).
Read Donny McIver's full review
February 26, 2020
Brian Medford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I'll take Parallels RAS 10 out of 10 times compared to Citrix, just for the ease of set-up and maintenance. RAS is far more user/client friendly with fewer headaches.
Read Brian Medford's full review
February 26, 2020
Joel Menezes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our previous Citrix environment was aging, and when we spoke with our ERP vendor, and discovered that they were using Parallels Remote Application Server as their own hosting platform for hosted clients, it made it an easier decision to deploy knowing that they were using the platform themselves successfully.
Read Joel Menezes's full review
February 14, 2020
Jason Stevenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were deploying a new version of XenServer (many years ago). My tech was getting some help from Citrix tech support and was told to watch videos on youtube on how to configure the server installation. The cost between Citrix and parallels ras was a no brainer too.
Read Jason Stevenson's full review
February 14, 2020
Jean Huveneers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops (formerly XenDesktop) and Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection Manager (RDCMan)
Parallels Remote Application Server is easier for implementation and maintenance. Cheaper than Citrix.
Read Jean Huveneers's full review

What is Parallels RAS?

Parallels® Remote Application Server (RAS) is an all-in-one application delivery and virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) solution that enables users to work remotely from anywhere, on any device, at any time. The cloud-ready software is designed to enable organizations to centralize IT infrastructure management, integrate with Windows Virtual Desktop, streamline multi-cloud deployment, reinforce data security and improve IT process automation. Its architecture enables organizations to adapt to critical business demands. The vendor states its key benefits include:

  • Outstanding user experience (UX) on any device
  • Enhanced data security
  • IT agility and business readiness
  • Easy deployment, configuration and maintenance
  • Reduced total cost of ownership (TCO)

Parallels RAS Features

Parallels RAS Screenshots

Parallels RAS Videos (3)

Parallels RAS Downloadables

Parallels RAS Integrations

Parallels RAS Competitors

Parallels RAS Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Parallels RAS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Parallels RAS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Windows Servers 2008/R2, 2012/R2, 2016 and 2019
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, German, Japanese, Russian, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean