Parallels RAS Reviews

115 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 30, 2021
Joe Castle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

By configuring two factor authentication, we provided a very secure method of external access.
Read Joe Castle's full review
September 01, 2020
Ayman Dasa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

In order to access this server remotely using Windows Remote Desktop and open network ports, which was very risky, Parallels Remote Application Server provided what we needed in one step.
Read Ayman Dasa's full review
August 24, 2020
Waqas Anjum Akram Javid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

Parallels RAS can work with granular permission policies, multi-factor authentication, encryption, user access control, and Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) to secure the envoironment. This gives you an extra layer of protection for your Parallels account data against unauthorized access. This is particularly important if you are using remote computers with Parallels Access, or being an administrator of business account.
Read Waqas Anjum Akram Javid's full review
April 17, 2020
Bryan Tavares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

We use on such a small scale that this does not come into play. Our connection from China to US is a dedicated MPLS line.
Read Bryan Tavares's full review
August 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

Security and data protection is the top priority for all businesses. SSL and MFA have helped the organization to comply with ISO requirements.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2020
Jorge Acopa Galera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

Active directory integration with Parallels RAS helped us to use the same accounts we already have on our AD, so all the user policies and restrictions can be set based on AD users and groups in a very granular way, all our communications are sent thru SSL encrypted data. In case we need to restrict access it's easy to disable or delete user account in AD users and computers.
Read Jorge Acopa Galera's full review
March 11, 2020
Bret Benziger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

As our business moves to more web-apps, vendor security becomes an issue. Despite running vendor risk assessments and scanning for vulnerabilities, it gives us peace of mind to hide our sensitive web-apps behind the RAS gateways. Our security scanning tool has never found a vulnerability in 3 years with the secure gateway Parallels RAS provides.
Read Bret Benziger's full review
February 11, 2020
iain Stephen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

Security is always a concern. We use a host of tools to verify the end user's identity and we assign permissions based on the user who is connecting. We set up granular permissions for those in our finance department, and we encrypt everything at 2048-bit at this time. We are considering some multi-factor authentication for some users but at this time have not gone that route.
Read iain Stephen's full review
April 04, 2020
Clint Rankin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

PRAS can be set where end-users need to use 2-factor authentication in order to log into their accounts. Part of our security policy states this as a requirement. Having this set is essential to ensuring that even if someone were to gain an employee's password and attempted to log in, they would be halted at the prompt for 2-factor authentication. So many apps don't support 2-factor authentication, so it's a blessing that Parallels Remote Application Server does.
Read Clint Rankin's full review
April 03, 2020
Jason Chafin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

Combining Parallels RAS, with SSL, encryption, and multi-factor authentication is wonderful, because it allows us to stay in compliance with HIPAA when access SPI remotely. When combine with local firewall hardware and local firewall software, the layers of security continue to grow. Now add a few additional layers and what you now have is a highly secure and versatile solution for many different environments.
Read Jason Chafin's full review
March 24, 2020
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

We audit every logon, application launch, and file access throughout the organization as part of company policy (we are healthcare non-profit). Parallels Remote Application Server also allows us to separately log and record application access, launch, and use for granular auditing. It's easy integration with other tools also allows our central alerting system to pick up and monitor it.
Read Joe Foran's full review
March 22, 2020
Udo Janssen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

In particular, the out-of-the-box presets for the secure provision of the Parallels RAS environment have been solved well. "Free" HA load balancers virtual appliances are offered for external publication. The connection of countless 2FA solutions is easily realized.
Read Udo Janssen's full review
March 17, 2020
Mike Memme | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

No breaches related to remote access using Parallels to date.

We use remote Mac computers in guest mode so no client data is stored on the remote computers. Many are exposed to the public and could be easily stolen. Using a terminal server enables us to keep all client and corporate data in our locked server room while providing access to the data from anywhere.
Read Mike Memme's full review
March 09, 2020
Darrin Salt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

Every organisation should operate a security-first approach these days and Parallels RAS allows us to deliver applications without compromise. In fact, it helps us deliver internal resources and data to our users from relatively "insecure" applications (e.g. those that just use a single password) to the outside world, wrapping them in an encrypted, secure form. Adding MFA/2FA further bolsters this security with no access to the apps and data being allowed directly - it's all via Parallels RAS.
Read Darrin Salt's full review
March 07, 2020
Donny McIver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

Specifically, having groups or individual users' ability to have granular sets of permissions (or exceptions) has been a lifesaver. With the HTML5 gateway, we expected SSL protection as a given - anytime you're exposing authentication against Active Directory, you need as much security as possible. Implementing 2FA in conjunction becomes a necessary approach, and we'd like to see additional documentation specifically around this topic and best practices approach to ensure policies are in place to protect AD from malicious behavior.
Read Donny McIver's full review
March 03, 2020
Scott Shorey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

We only use user access control to limit what applications certain users need to use. This works very well, and it is easy to make changes to provide what the users need.
Read Scott Shorey's full review
February 26, 2020
Brian Medford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

User Access Control via communication with Microsoft Windows Active Directory (LDAP) allows us to control who has access to our software, while we secure the data on a different location that no user can access. This keeps all customer data safe within our company and prevents data leakage.
Read Brian Medford's full review
February 26, 2020
Joel Menezes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

We have been able to use groups more effectively to deploy applications to users and quickly expand the user base by adding new groups to an application deployment list.
Read Joel Menezes's full review
February 14, 2020
Jason Stevenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

When publishing apps I can restrict it to either AD security groups or individual users. The same goes for published desktops either virtual or physical. This gives us peace of mind around our network security instead of giving users full VPN access to the network.
Read Jason Stevenson's full review
February 14, 2020
Jean Huveneers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Parallels RAS Security

All the benefits of native RDP, without the security issues. Simple and great.
The new built-in MFA solution makes security even simpler and cheaper. No discussion with the customer about extra costs for RSA-tokens or other paid MFA solutions, it's in the package. No extra servers or services, it's integrated. Security is right out of the box.
Read Jean Huveneers's full review

What is Parallels RAS?

Parallels® Remote Application Server (RAS) is an all-in-one application delivery and virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) solution that enables users to work remotely from anywhere, on any device, at any time. The cloud-ready software is designed to enable organizations to centralize IT infrastructure management, integrate with Windows Virtual Desktop, streamline multi-cloud deployment, reinforce data security and improve IT process automation. Its architecture enables organizations to adapt to critical business demands. The vendor states its key benefits include:

  • Outstanding user experience (UX) on any device
  • Enhanced data security
  • IT agility and business readiness
  • Easy deployment, configuration and maintenance
  • Reduced total cost of ownership (TCO)

Parallels RAS Features

Parallels RAS Screenshots

Parallels RAS Videos (3)

Parallels RAS Downloadables

Parallels RAS Integrations

Parallels RAS Competitors

Parallels RAS Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Parallels RAS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Parallels RAS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Windows Servers 2008/R2, 2012/R2, 2016 and 2019
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, German, Japanese, Russian, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean